Image Source Nation Newspaper

Gusfield “Gus” JosephYesterday 75 year old Gusfield “Gus” Joseph formerly of Foul Bay, St. Philip was killed in a smash-up with minibus B76, reported to be driven by Bernard Atkins, 34, of Maxwell Hill, Christ Church. Based on what we have heard and read, Mr. Joseph was a naturalized Barbadian citizen who has made a significant contribution to Barbados. Where he is said to have made an even greater contribution is as a family man. After hearing about this needless killing we could help but to direct our anger at the Barbados authorities.

How long must Barbadians complain and cry-out at the behaviour exhibited by many Public Service Vehicles (PSVs) operators on the highways and byways of Barbados? How often have we heard our teachers express concern at the ‘minibus’ culture which is wrecking havoc on the learning of our young people each and every day? How many Permanent Secretaries in the Ministry of Transport through the years have stifled their consciences when PSV permits were SOLD by successive Minister of Government shortly before they demitted office? How many PSV traffic violations have been ‘fixed’ in our courts because of who own the PSVs? How many traffic violations are committed on the road everyday and John Citizen ignores it all by consoling themselves that we need the PSV to get to work, school or play?

We received a note from a BU family member that only the day before, on the same route, driving the same bus, the driver Bernard Atkins was observed driving without due care and attention. It is reported that in one instance the bus ‘rode’ the sidewalk when the driver turn his eyes from the road while in search of passengers coming from side roads. We are our own worst enemies.

The BU household have believed for a long time that when a law abiding citizen is killed or maimed by a PSV, the stain of the deceased blood should be on the hands of the authorities, who have absolutely refused to do anything to arrest the runaway PSV industry through the years. The PSV industry has shown over the years that it cannot regulate itself. The government has used punitive tax measures to act as a deterrent but that has failed. The time has come for the David Thompson government to respond to this matter which has become a ‘lie-sore’.

How long is too long when it is so bad? May Gus Joseph rest in peace.

99 responses to “Public Service Vehicles Continue to Cause Mayhem On Barbados Roads”

1. BU,
    I cannot agree with you more. I do not know the circumstances of the accident but it is possible that that early in the morning the minibus driver might have been driving fast and reckless. If so I hope he is prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. It could have been my mother who drives on the road early in the morning. These reckless and uncouth minibus drivers have to be stopped. It is going to take some law abiding citizen to take the law into his/her hands by physically hurting one of these drivers in order for this nonsense to stop. I blame the courts 100% because when these drivers are put before the courts by the police for repeated offences the magistrates are very lenient with them. The citizenry then blame the respective gov’t agency and the police. No, it is the fault of the magistrates. They have the power to put some of these reckless drivers behind bars and they are not doing it enough.

2. We understand that MP Kenneth Best say that the music should come out all the psvs. what is so difficult about this to do? We all know that that the psvs play some vile music which attracts a bad crowd. why can;t we stop the music?

3. But we do not yet know the cause of the accident. I have heard that the road was wet.

A week ago there was also an early morning traffic accident a Bagatelle. The road was wet. It was not a single vehicle accident, a truck was involved also. Should we then before we know all the facts start publicly castigating all truck drivers?

To the best of my knowledge nobody has yet been charged in either accident maybe because the police and the director of public prosecutions have not yet established the facts on which to press (or not press) charges.
    Sometimes in a traffic accident no charges are laid because nobody is at fault. Somtimes charges are laid against the survivor because both parties bore some fault.

I think that we should let due process take its course. No need to beat up on the PSV’s yet.

4. This same driver has a number of pending charges against his name not only is he the one that caused the accident both he and the owner of the Minibus should be charged for improper maintainence of the said vehicle.

This same drivr was recently before the courts for reckless driving and has a number of pending charges but yet he is allowed to continue to drive in an unsafe manner on the public roads moving women, children and men on PUBLIC SERVICE VEHICLES.
    If you were to watch the video of the accident you will clearly see that the old man was on his correct and proper side when this idiot wiped him out.

Also ask the police how many brakes were working when the bus was road tested???

I understand that the right back was the only brake working on this piece of trash for a public service vehicle.

5. The Daily Nation Newspaper on Tuesday, June 3, 2008, carried a story captioned FREE RIDE, by Mr. Tony Best, veteran journalist of the Nation Newspaper. In this story, Mr. Best sought to raise three main proposals that form part of a so-called plan to overhaul the bus transportation system in Barbados:

1) That school children would be travelling free on Transport Board buses,

2) That lower income workers from agricultural and industrial estates would also be travelling free on these buses, and finally

3) That there would be the integration of a sizeable proportion of private and state-owned means of mass transit public transport into a single overall national service.

Well, the truth is this: that these three proposals exactly mirror the current state of the mass transit public transportation system in Barbados. What else would anyone expect of these proposals that are so unorganized, ill-structured, defective and contentious – just like the said mass transit public transportation system is?

One could imagine how this journalist so miserably failed to come up with a better article than this one which is based on pure speculation and contradictions and which is totally anamalous. The Editor in charge at the time should NEVER have let that article see the light of the day. What a substandard article that patently but cheaply pandered to warming the cockles of the heart of Government!! No introduction of meretricious social programs by this already failing DLP government at this stage are going to be sufficient to appease the long suffering broad masses and middle classes of people who wish really to be financially and materially better off, now and in the long term!!!

To get back on track however, could anyone imagine Mr Best so carelessly serving up this: “As the official explained, a key element of the plan WAS (sic) to eliminate bus fares for school children travelling on Transport Board buses. This MIGHT (sic) involve the introduction of a full school bus service.”?

Could you imagine Mr. Best suggesting that school children and lower income workers would be travelling free on Transport Board buses at a time when oil prices are so skyrocketing high and at a time when the Board’s operational costs must therefore be severely increasing?

Could anyone imagine that Mr. Best starkly failed to point out the legal and financial basis upon which these proposals and the wider so-called plan are being advanced? Where does the so-called Transport Authority fit in in regard of
    these kinds of ill-considerations?

As far as the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) is concerned any mass transit public transportation system that, et al, continues to realize the State WRONGLY AND DEMONICALLY TAXING portions of the incomes of private owners of the means of such transportation, while at the same time allowing the Transport Board (which a future PDC Government would have re-constituted into a vibrant, more efficient and productive entity) to, in that sense, unfairly compete with those private people, esp. as highlighted by the Board receiving subsidies; that fails to make too many commuters pay directly for part of the costs of his/her own travel (except those already granted the privilege of NOT paying (police ought to be made to pay however – no wonder few Transport Board Buses are ever reported); that fails to realize that the time is ripe for a modern and efficient railway system for Barbados; and that fails to realize that the private and state-owned public transport means MUST complement each other rather than become integrated into one, and this is based on fundamental political, social, material and financial factors, is bound to experience severe dysfunctional crises from time to time. For a better set of propoals for the reform of the mass transit public transportation system in Barbados see our 2008 Pre-election Manifesto @www.somassfreedem.org.

6. Unfortunately for that driver (and hopefully for the rest of us) his reputation precedes him. He is well known on that route as a reckless and dangerous driver who apparently is often ‘high’ while working. Was he tested immediately after this accident? Are people tested for drugs and alcohol after accidents ?

It is hard for me to believe that he is innocent in the untimely death of this retired man.

As someone who has lost a close relative in a road accident caused by reckless driving I can tell you that it HURTS when the law courts are lenient on these guys!

Enough already!

7. I meant to say unfortunately for him but hopefully fortunate for the rest of us…

8. Why is it that Barbadians must have irrefutable evidence to come to a conclusion about anything? Is it not a fact that PSVs in Barbados have they own culture and are generally known to be disorderly? Do you refute that fact that only the day before this driver was seen driving recklessly on the same route? Do you deny that as a country we need to regulate this industry?

Why then are you grabbing a red herring argument? Now we hear that there is a Transport Authority coming which will see the PSVs integrated into the public transport.
    May God have mercy on our souls!

9. xenophobe chick Avatar
    xenophobe chick

How about the ZR’s crammed full with schoolkids and oversized trucks overloaded with concrete slabs overtaking each other at high speeds in both directions between Almond Beach and Port St. Charles?

10. NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN

No other civilised country would allow drivers of vehicles carrying fare-paying passengers to drink beer and text messages whilst moving.

No other civilised country would allow such drivers to drink beer before or during their working time.

11. But yet we sit in these PSVs and say or do nothing.
    I have been asked to get off on so many occasions because I had to tell the driver I am not cattle.
    I always demand my money back, even if I am at my destination.
    WE are too passive in this country. This driver has so many charges against him, it would make you wonder who would hire him. His friends were betting he would hit the bus by month end, well he went much further and took a life.
    Sad to say he is not the only one out there….the Transport Board are hiring these guys too….a Bus was clocked doing 80 in a 50 (km/h) stretch of road recently.

12. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Let’s talk about Crop Over or wukking up or sex or gays or something useless…how long ago did the Midnight Assassin accident happen? What did we (the country, the authorities) do about this state of affairs since then? Nothing! No wonder Cable and Wireless and Digicel making so much money, we just love to talk.

OK rant over, ignore me…deep sigh…

My condolences to the family of Mr Gus Joseph. He was a quiet, decent and very useful man who cared deeply for his family, his community, his country, the Caribbean and for humanity and for his God.

13. Technician,
    I totally agree that Barbadians take a lot for granted and are too passive. When I was home I was in an Eden Lodge bus and the driver was driving recklessly. Passengers were fussing but no one had the guts to do something about it. I rang the bell and went up front and told the driver in no uncertain terms that I paid my money and that he is going to drive in a safe manner until I get to my destination. The conductor told him to “chill out because I was right”. He was vex but he drove safely for the duration of my trip. Could you imagine when I was getting off the bus a matured looking woman cussed me and told me that I come from “over in away” to stir up trouble? I just smiled at her ignorance and walked away. I try not to take PSVs when I am in Barbados.

14. In today’s Nation there is an article about a PSV driver who has just racked up his 277th conviction and for this he received a CRD. Should he now go and kill someone , who bears the blame? This has gone on too damn long and will only stop when someone “who matters” has someone close to them killed or maimed for life. How in God’s name in this day and age can this men still hold a liscence when he thumbs his nose at the judiciary and they fold to his direspect. This has become a national disgrace and far from a joke any more. Once again……..someone must die !

15. After an incedent like this, there would be a big harahhhh and then somthing else comes along and it’s all forgotten. It is time we stop being so reactionary. Put traffic cops on the road with the authority to pull over these PSV’s or any reckless driver and take them straight to court. the demerit system also needs to be taken seriously. The problem is that in this small country, too many people have contacts with the “big boys” and nothing comes out of these incedents.

16. I hope that MP Kenneth Best sets an example and becomes the first owner to take the radios out of his buses

17. Thewhiterabbit Avatar
    Thewhiterabbit

In this inbred little corner of Paradise where vice is nice but incest is best, the problem is not enactment of laws in regard to PSV’s, the problem is enforcement of the extant laws. No one will stop that ZR because it belongs to PC ###, or to the cousin, niece, nephew, brother or sister of PC###, or to MP so and so, or the PM, or to the Chief Justice, or whomever. Or if the ZR is stopped by an ignorant (meaning unenlightened) PC then when the case gets to court nothing ever happens because that ZR belongs to PC###, or the cousin, nephew, niece, brother or sister of PC###, or MP so and so, or the PM, or the Chief Justice, or whomever. This problem is not limited to ZR’s and minibuses, it permeates the entire society, and will be the death of ITAL if such legislation ever makes it through Parliament, hahahaha. The problem is not enactment of laws, they by and large exist. The problem is enforcement. Wish I had a solution.

18. Has anyone seen today’s dead-tree edition of the Weekend Nation? Look at the Court section – Paul Alleyne has 277 convictions on his license! WHY IS HE STILL ALLOWED ON THE ROADS? What will it take for Govt to get serious??

19. If this bus was in such a bad condition (only one brake working!?) then as with aircraft after an accident, the whole fleet should be grounded.

I cannot agree with someone who said it might have been caused by a wet road! That’s a bit like saying it was the tree’s fault that I ran into it! There are very few accidents for which no-one is to blame. Even a failed brake or a falling rock or piece of masonry is nearly always the result of poor maintenance. An earthquake, a bolt of lightning or a cat which jumps you (not a dog, it shouldn’t be loose) might absolve all persons. Personally, I would kill both the cat and the dog!

20. Did Mr Joseph look both ways before exiting the gas station. Do we know how the accident happened?

21. Me, didn’t you know? The last Minister of Transport said there are only “tired” people driving, no drunk ones.

22. There isn’t anything that i can think of right now that would encourage me to take a minivan, particularly if i am on vacation in Bimshire. On vacation i never in a rush to go anywhere or be anywhere, certainly not to meet my maker,…A likely occur event, when a minivan is involved.

23. Adrian…

I would argue you have not fully framed the issue.

*All* road users in Barbados are put in danger because of the fact that a minority are placed in a situation where it is to their economic advantage to be physically ahead of others…

Flat rates, scheduling, monitoring, enforcement. There are many solutions which simply need application. Oh, and of course, let’s not forget we also need the political will…

24. The problem as we see it is two fold. We have an inadequate public transportation system which drives Barbadians to default to the mini-buses and ZRs. On the flip side we have a sector of the society who are driven by the vile lyrics, flouting of law etc to the ZRs and minibuses.

25. Simple and short. The same politicians, law enforcers, civil servants et al are the owners of the said vehicles we crying down for the loud music, overloading, off route and reckless manipulation of our roads. Do you expect any different?

We need to start penalising the owners. If you charge the drivers $1,000.00 for speeding, charge the owners the same $1,000.00 as partners in crime. Get my drift!!!!!!!!!

26. Over the years if it is one thing which has not worked is punitive financial measures. It is the owners who have to pay the outrageous insurance rates currently. Some standards need to be established in the transportation industry for all PSVs with a regulatory body to ENFORCE the standards. Isn’t the Transport Authority suppose to provide such a role?

27. Is there anywhere we can find who owns any given PSV? Big ups will be a lot more sensitive to the bad press than to the financial penalties!

28. 6hp many registered names hide who the beneficial owners are so to print the owners may partially do the job.

29. Reuters.com is stating that “oil jumped nearly 9 per cent to a record US $ 139 per barrel on Friday, extending a two-day rally to more than US $ 16, as the slumping US Dollar and mounting tensions between Israel and Iran, attracted a stampede of buyers”.

It goes on to state, citing investment bank Morgan Stanley, that oil could top US $ 150 by July 4, one of the busiest US travel holidays, as strong demand in Asia triggers a slowdown in shipments of crude to the United States.

The 7 am BBC World News on BBS FM is presently reporting that there is a conference in Japan involving Energy Ministers and other officials from some of the top consuming countries of oil (US, China, India, S.Korea and Japan), and which is examining ways of dealing with skyrocketing world oil prices. It is also reporting that this conference is, et al, looking at the question of countries removing subsidies as a way of supposedly tackling these astronomically high oil prices.

The fact, though, is that we in Barbados must do greater more than we are presently doing to tackle the very harmful social, political, material and financial effects of these tremendously high oil prices on the country and on the country’s masses and middle classes of Barbados. But surely this DLP Government is doing very little, as is expected by the PDC, to help combat the effects of these prices.

Finally, we are calling for voters of Barbados to stop electing DLP and BLP Governments in this country, and to alternatively start thinking about electing a PDC Government that, et al, shall make sure that Imports of Goods and Services into Barbados are Zero-“priced” at all points of entry; shall make sure that Taxation is Abolished in Barbados, and that shall ensure ALL Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar are Abolished.

30. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Only such reckless and doan-carish behaviour can be exhibited in Barbados – A country that practices Convenient Law. The psychotic drivers of some PSVs are absolute crazy. I think citizens of Barbados should completely boycott them and the transport board should seek to bring in their version of the smaller vehicle with an aim of improving service and safety (Not forgetting to mention a little AC comfort as well)

Maybe this will send a message to some of the corrupt and derange owners. And when the same indifferent and insufferable brutes who endanger many lives on the roads of Barbados cry out their famous poor man speech, Let’s all shout to the top of voices….SHUT THE HELL UP!!!!! GO LEARN TO DRIVE!!!!

31. David wrote “Over the years if it is one thing which has not worked is punitive financial measures.”

I would argue that financial incentives (and dis-incentives) are about the only thing most people understand. If punitive fines have not changed the behaviour, then it simply means that they’re not set high enough, and/or are not applied often enough.

The study of economics shows that independent, autonomous actors within a system will work towards their own advancement. Even if this results in loss to others (the “zero-sum game”).

Clearly, the situation currently is that it is to various players (drivers, owners) advantage for the current “ZR culture” of speeding, dangerous passing, intentionally blocking traffic when picking up and dropping off of passengers. Any current fines (or high insurance rates) are simply the cost of doing business.

“Free market economics” is heartless. It is up to the policy and law makes to ensure the marketplace is designed and implemented to re-introduce the larger concerns of the many. Left to its own tendencies, a market will simply converge on the optimal returns possible to the agents using any means at their disposal.

Again, to be clear, it is the current marketplace which is encouraging the observed lawlessness. No amount of complaining is going to change this. The fundamental parameters must be altered.

32. Recently an elderly man was at the bus stop and a man came and cleaned him up “literally”.

Funny enough, I saw the man who “cleaned him up” driveng the next two days.

hmmmmmmmm

33. The problem is that some of these same reckless PSV drivers have switched to the Transport Board but they have brought over the same PSV culture. God help us if the Transport Board becomes a enlarged PSV operation

34. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Forgive my ignorance, but will someone please explain to me the different kinds of buses on the road?

When you talk about a PSV, are youy referring to the ZR vans or the big yellow buses?

Are these yellow buses alos considered minibuses?

I’m confuse.

(i realize the blue buses are Transport Board)

35. In the context of what we blogged we are referring to ZRs and Minibuses and not the public transport buses.

36. for clarification :

which route was this minibus travelling

Reasons for that is for a couple of times i observed a minibus being driven in a manner that i considered crazy along a st phillip route

i came to the conclusion that it was only a matter of time before the driver who seemed to be very happy found himself in serious problems

37. could someone point out where exactly the accident occured ?

i do not know st.philip very well

38. Ian bourne
    ” Paul Alleyne has 277 convictions on his license! WHY IS HE STILL ALLOWED ON THE ROADS? ”

Hey Ian

i know this guy

would you believe that ordinarily speaking that the guy is a very pleasant and helpful individual who would go all out to make sure that people in general are happy and who seems to care about people more than himself. Most of those offences , i believe , come from his wanting to please some passenger or the other.

not stopping at a bus stop is the commonest along with being off-route.– a lot of people-mostly females hate to go to the bus stop

39. Asiba wrote “Most of those offences , i believe , come from his wanting to please some passenger or the other.”

I am sorry Asiba, and with all due respect to Mr. Alleyne, this is *exactly* the type of attitude which must change. “He only broke the law because his customers wanted him to.” This same argument could be used to (try to) justify the trafficking and selling of illegal drugs.

A society is only as strong as its (enforced) laws. Otherwise anarchy will manifest, as it could be argued has happened upon our roads.

40. Asiba ,the accident occurred right outside the Shell kirtons gas station. I think mr.Joseph was pulling out of the station.

41. Fred mentioned video of the accident.Where is this video by the way?

42. I was in Toronto recently and the Toronto Transit Commission has advised females travelling alone at night that they can ask the bus driver to permit them to disembark at a place other than the bus stop. The driver is required to comply with these requests and police do not ticket the drivers for doing so. And yes I do understand that TO has a better road system than does Barbados, but the law must always serve the needs of the pepole not the other way around or as a very wise man said so long ago: “The law was made for man and not man for the law”

If we take away the convictons for stopping at a place other than a bus stop and being off-route, and loud music (none of which generally cause injuries or fatalities) my feeling is that PSV drivers are not any worse that other drivers on the road.

In fact considering the number of passengers carried by PSV’s and the number of trips made each day I expect that PSV travel is safer that travel by private cars. By the way most traffic deaths and serious injuries occur with private cars and with pedestrians and do not involve PSV’s and PSV’s make many more trips per year than private cars.

43. Where there is no vision the people perish. Until some big boy child gets eaten by one of these road hogs NOTHING will happen. That man was doing foolishness for long and everybody on that route knows it. Many people refuse to get in that minibus for fear on their lives. But wha. “da frighten to talk”

44. Chris
    you are right

i really do not support the guy breaking the law for any reason——no justification for breaking the law -would not entertain that any how

just wanted to point out that the guy is really not a bad person perse
    ——————————>
    CHEESE CUTTER
    i dont know where that is KIRTONS —–! SHELL !

i am lost !!!!

45. Scout !

which route this bus ran on ?

46. Straight talk Avatar

Bimbro:

Although as a matter of intellectual purity, I studiously ignore your comments, it has been brought to my attention you are attempting to ensnare me in your far flung web of confusion.

Suffice it to say I will NEVER respond to your entreaties.

You listening ‘Bro NEVER.

I found your early submissions trite, devoid of content and downright racist.

As such I , for one , and I suspect many more intelligent bloggers, skip over any Bimbro submission for the same reason …. much froth, no substance.

Because you have had more comebacks than the late Frank Sinatra, I am sure you will respond to this.

Be assured, my policy will prevail, I shall never, ever read a Bimbro signed comment.

The next time you say you are leaving, don’t lie.

47. Asiba
    Pass GA Adams Airport , follow road due east, turn right by the “y” junction just up from the airport. Continue on the main road, pass St.Martin’s anglican church and follow main road for about 400 meters. You would see the Kirtons station on the right alongside the road.

It’s Not a Shell station; it is a TEXACO station

48. David,

Unfortunately, PSV operators have for the past several years flouted the country’s traffic laws, exhibited offensive behaviour to the rest of the driving public and perpetuated what is now called the “ZR culture” to the extent that they have totally alienated the rest of the population, who now seem to dismiss out of hand any request to look at the situation rationally.

I have sought to inject some reason in my article submitted here:

I would sincerely appreciate if you would read it and see if anything I have said will have a moderating influence on your strong anti PSV stance.

By the way, this article was written and published before the price of diesel was increased from $1.46 to $2.57 per liter. Consider what effect this further imposition would have on the industry, while bus fares have been restricted to $1.50, a level at which they have been restricted since 1991.

Every industry in Barbados has the ability to pass on increasing operating costs to the end user as we have seen over the entire economic spectrum in Barbados, EXCEPT the PSV. But people are so turned off by the PSV that they cannot see the inequity, which I postulate is the MAJOR cause of the problem.

I would appreciate your comments

49. That link did not come out properly. Please copy and paste if necessary.

50. Sorry all, seems the original link is in fact working.