marinas barbadosLast month BU highlighted the story of the action which the Spanish government is taking to protect its coastline, The Costa Del Sol. It was reported that the Spanish government has taken the surprising decision to confiscate and demolish luxury homes built within 550 yards of the beach. Unlike Barbados where many of the properties built on our coastline have been approved by the Town Planning department, the properties in Spain were adjudged to have been constructed illegally.

What Barbadians should observe by the action of the Spanish government is the fearless decision making they are prepared to take to protect their coastline. There is a growing number of concerned Barbadians who have become alarmed at the disappearance of many of the windows to the sea to our West coast, and to a lesser extent the South coast of Barbados. Thank God our East Coast appears up to now to have escaped the destruction! The lack of will shown by the last government to protect the ‘character’ of our little, tropical, exotic island paradise must be viewed as a violation of the trust of Barbadians,both current and future.

The Times Online is reporting that there is a slow down in the demand for luxury properties on Spain along the Costa Del Sol region, despite falling property prices. The main reason cited is the exchange rate factor. Of interest to Barbadians is the forecast by analysts that the British investors, in light of the changing market will turn to the Caribbean, specifically Barbados to redirect their real estate investments.

People are being more cautious about the lesser-known smaller islands and going back to Barbados, where there’s an established resale market with reasonably balanced supply and demand,” says Julian Cunningham, a senior negotiator in Knight Frank’s international department.

Source: Times online

What does all of this tell us? The new Democratic Labour Party (DLP) party will have to demonstrate in quick time their resolve to tackle the the issue of a land use policy in Barbados. This is critical as far as the development of our coastline which is in heavy demand from foreign investors.

Here is a relevant exerpt from the DLP Manifesto:

A crude economism reflected in the dictum that“land must fetch its highest economic value” is serving to thoughtlessly transfer large tracts of land in Barbados into hotel/condominium development projected on the South and West coasts. The developments proposed for Bathsheba, and Brown’s Beach, the recently announced upscale condominium and private villa development in St Philip, and presumably others not yet unveiled, show that under Prime Minister Arthur, nothing is safe from this scourge. Cove Bay, Archers Bay, River Bay, Bath – all spots that Barbadians have traditionally used as escapes from the rigours of life – will be put on the “auction block” to be sold to the highest bidder. The BLP argument that land sales to foreigners generates foreign exchange makes no sense if that income is used to finance unprofitable projects. These policies are putting considerable pressure on agriculture and the natural environment.

Barbadians are not known to be activists and maybe this can explain why a drive along the West coast of Barbados has become the most depressing experience for many. Several horses have escaped from the barn already, however there is still time to STOP a few that remain.

44 responses to “Barbados Coastline Faces Renewed Onslaught From British Investors”

1. […] Newsstand wrote an interesting post today on Barbados Coastline Faces Renewed Onslaught From British InvestorsHere’s a quick excerptThe new Democratic Labour Party (DLP) party will have to demonstrate in quick time their resolve to tackle the the issue of a land use policy… […]

2. NO MORE MARINAS EVER Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER

How do we return Barbados to being visitor-friendly? By making it locals-friendly too.

Make the drive along the West Coast a joyous experience for everyone.

We are blessed with a paradise on earth. And we’re slowly destroying it.

It is definitely not too late.

3. I meet a lot of tourists in my work, increasing amounts of them comment on the fact that you can hardly see the sea along the West Coast, one lady told me they love the West Coast beaches but found it difficult to access them.

I drove along there on Sunday, first time for a few months, and was appalled at what I saw, Paynes Bay could be a beach front in Marbella , and The Sands is the most hideous monstrosity, to allow a building to dominate the coastline is criminal.

We’re destroying what tourists come here to see, there are plenty of other Islands, unspoilt, and believe me they will go there!

4. I am a frequent visitor to the beautiful island of Barbados and a big fan of Bajans and their sense of humor and philosophy of life. My wife and I even got married in Barbados in a beautiful beachside ceremony – already 12 years ago.

Recently we have been noticing the horrendous construction projects sprouting up all over the place, which apart from often being quite atrocious in and of themselves also block scenic views, are constructed like fortresses to keep the ‘riff raff’ out and even are specially designed in such a way to make access to the beachfront difficult or impossible – even though the beaches in Barbados are PUBLIC property.

Back in Los Angeles and especially the Malibu region we have been seeing a lot of this kind of blatant violation of the law by the ‘rich and famous’. Even though there too citizens have every right to move freely along the entire beach front they are blocked, chased by guards and thrown off public land. The rich houseowners know full well that these ‘mere mortals’ can not afford to sue or maintain lengthy legal battles. Often the local mayor or other politicians are their personal friends so these supposedly VIP (read more important that you and I because they have more money for some reason – most likely their lack of ethics in my opinion) feel they have nothing to worry about.

I commend you on recognizing and publicizing this terrible trend. Once the rich investors have taken over these lovely spots you will never be able to dislodge them again. Barbados proudly fought for independence. Please keep up the fight!

I can’t wait for my next visit hopefully this fall.

5. Ian Marsden Bajans thank you for this perspective on the vexing issue of our disappearing coastline. Our governments seem to be caught in the headlights a little on whether they should spurn foreign investment which might lead to a negative belief in the overseas market that we don’t like ‘foreigners’. What they have failed to grasp is that measures to protect what the local people want is important as well to ensure social harmony. Many ordinary Barbadians seem powerless to demonstrate against the momentum of foreign investment. In fact there seem to be a ready resignation that the battle is done.

The belief in quarters that there is a relationship between foreign investment and corruption is also a factor at play.

6. xenophobe chick Avatar
    xenophobe chick

As the day progresses and they get to their precious laptops the polo crowd will start telling us that Barbados needs foreign investment to keep us all buying the products and services they (the polo crowd) sell us at grossly inflated prices.

What utter BS!

These people have no regard to the beauty of this island. Only the beauty of money.

Don’t let them get away with it.

7. More BU crap.

If you want to see the sea along the West Coast, get out of your car and walk to the beach like the rest of us do.

You useless idiots spreading lies on the web.

8. To the blogger, Ian Marsden

While we in PDC recognize that you wrote most of your piece about the murderous rape of some of Barbados’ coastlines by some locals and foreigners, and you did it in a very precise, graphic and telling way, and to this effect we agree with you, what we are concerned about is the part that you wrote: ” I commend you (meaning BU) for recognizing and publicizing this terrible trend. Once the rich investors have taken over these lovely spots you will never be able to dislodge them….”.

You are writing absolute rubbish!! The PDC nor many other conscious Barbadians will never allow rich investors to last too long in Barbados. Many Barbadians are only tolerating those folks for now, especially given that they are being misled by the two wretched older parties BLP and DLP.

9. xenophobe chick Avatar
    xenophobe chick

Just as I predicted – BU Crap – what took you so long? Had to supervise the feeding of the ponies first?

There may have been a time when we bought this money-grubbing selfish island-raping attitude.

Those days are over. You cannot silence us.

10. I live near the beach on the West Coast and recently several more priveate properties have been sold for in excess of 25 million Barbados dollars.
    The investors know that they just have to wait until the old people who owned the land die and offer the the children enough money to make them millionaires sevral times over.

There many more beach front properties near LoneStar that are being targeted .Just wait until the old people die.The children and grandchildren will sell.

By the way BU, you say get out and walk to the beach.Tell me how many places along the west coast can you get out and walk to the beach without trespassing on someone’s property.

11. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

Can anyone please tell me why BU is the only “organ” discussing this issue?

Maybe an “established media” insider could use a pseudonym and tell us. Or, not being disrespectful, could Carl Moore use his 650 words in his next column to say why instead of mocking a blogger who is doing the island a great service.

And while I’m on the line can any insider using a pseudonym tell us who is behind “The Sands” the ugliest building in the West Indies. Who owns it, who designed(?) it and who APPROVED it?

12. This is sad very sad that is all I cn say. I am ashamed to be a BAJAN. Believe me, my friends will testify that I am the firsty to blind you with curse for my country, but not this time every one has taken over. the guyanese the chinese the foreignese every body. The only person who aint sayin SHIT is me. It is indeed a sad day

13. I grew up on the west coast. Aside from climbing one or two rocky areas we could walk from near Sandy lane to Bridgetown on the beach with out hindrance. We could also walk beach side from the same Sandy Lane area to Weston/ount Standfast unimpeded aside from one or two climbs because of natural rocky areas. We did this as boys growing up down there. Then along came Sunset Crest, the boulders and the first attempt at creating a private beach along the west coast. Try walking from Sandy Lane to Holetown/cheffette now. There is very little beach to walk on any more. Those boulders at Sunset Crest did a huge damage to the coastline between Sandy Lane and Cheffete. As a boy I used to climb up on the jetty located just off of cheffette. There was the “forbidden” sign which had the equivalent translations in Spanish, French and German. The jetty has long gone, and the beach front has gone also. Did anyone even notice that the public access at Paynesbay opposit the BArtel substation has been pretty much cut in half as the devolopers there have claimed the other half of that entrance. How will it be before the residents of Paynesbay will have to walk to Holetown in order to gain access to the beach?

14. NO MORE MARINAS EVER Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER

tstt – same problem further north. Try walking on the beach from Six Mens to Speightstown. You can’t because someone dug a channel too wide and too deep to even swim across to allow polo players to chug in and out of Port St. Charles in their weekend-only vessels.

For people living north of Haywoods this has destroyed their “quality of life.”

15. I was in BArbados last year. Landed on the evening that the hurricane was supposed to pass by the island. So there I am on the night after the hurricane passed walking on Highway One, and right in front of me are four white tourist trying to access the beach. This started at around the former location of the Coach House. they tried every entrance possible from the Coach House. They kicked the gates at Bamboo beach bar. They tried the entrance way at the St James. THey were othes that they tried before that. Eventually accessing the beach at the entrance next to the St James Hotel. Obviously these tourist were staying above the road, and were experiencing some of the problems which the locals are now accustomed. eventually those folks in Paynesbay wuill be walking to Holetown to gain beach access. Once that area by the fish market is cordoned off, it is good night nurse.

16. Although I grew up on the South Coast, I had wonderful times on the West when the beach and sea were easily accessible. Memories that our children will not have.

This is just so sad but is only a symptom of a far more serious problem i.e. we are forced to sell our heritage because we have nothing else of value left to sell.

17. Sadly you are right. The beach and its access will always be an emotional argument. Unfortunately, economics dictate that Barbados like a common drug addict must continue to sell all its possessions inorder to maintian its standard of living.

I just wish that previous governments had the foresight to have created permanent public acesses to the beaches along the west coast.

18. Agree, tstt.
    We need to ensure that this government and future governments do not let this happen to any other coasts. The South Coast is under threat now.

19. Easy to say, harder to do. This is the same government which brought us Royal Westmoreland. And isn’t the same Raoyal Westmoreland now hogging the beach at Mullins?

Owen might have allowed for the largest land sale in the history of the island, but I won’t be surprised if David is not to far behind him (in terms of land sales) when he eventually leaves office.

Better pray that there is really oil off the coast of Barbados.

20. As a patriotic Bajan, I concur with almost all of your sentiments re this vexing issue, its no good at all that these wonderful ‘windows’ to the sea, that we took for granted are fastly being closed off to so-called development.

However, while this subject is of vital concern to all of us, and should never be trivialized , we also have many other serious issues within the boundary of our society, that are rapidly eroding the very ‘foundation’ upon which our nation was built, and don’t for a moment believe that it was only liberation from our Colonial past, but, the Spiritual base many of our forefathers had in JESUS CHRIST, for He ‘Only’ is the true ‘rock’ upon which any man, family, or nation of people can hope to survive, especially in these end-time world affairs. Our society is immersed in secular materialism, from which also spring forth all of the other associated evil, gross immorality, humanisn, cultural relativism, and the list goes on. Unless, we as a people, individually, and collectively, ‘REPENT’ and turn back to JESUS CHRIST, as the only Saviour of mankind, terrible calamity is headed our way!

“Unless the Lord builds the house (nation) They labor in vain who build it. Unless the Lord guards the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa. 127:1). Be warned Barbados, all of the signs that Jesus said would converge world-wide, in a particular era, season, generation, are literally unfolding before our very eyes, daily, in unprecedented ways, the answers and solutions to which, cannot be found in man’s wisdom.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” (Matt. 6:33).

21. Change happens deal with it…

Its my land and I should be able to sell it to who I want to and fo what i am willing to accept…

Town and Country planning should be blamed for us lsoing the windows to the sea ( NOT THE LAND OWNERS)…

Who are YOU to tell me what to do with mine! I dont tell you what to do with YOURS!

22. Me you are correct of course and it is a view which many subscribe to, sell the land for its greatest economic value. Some people may tell you however that a government is elected to manage the national treasure for the overall benefit of the country. The questionable change of land use policy in recent years must concern you as a citizen?

23. My heart hurts – I’ve been saying it for years…the West Coast isn’t right! I even told the former Prime Minister to his face – it was a gross error to sell land that locals can never hope to buy back.

People forget that the west coast historically was swamp land – but when you drive past Sands now (simply atrocious I agree) you get that feeling again – its still and choked along there.

The Mighty Gabby sang about our beaches, and its long been a Bajan pride to know that all beaches are public. All that has happened now, is that they have made them hard to get to…unless you can “pass for a tourist” and walk through hotels (you better believe I do that!), the beaches are no longer ours.

A crying shame.

24. I am a black bajan and I go to every and all beaches as I wish…

I could also say that the bashment crowd have and are ruining beaches such as Bath and River Bay so that I can never go those places on a bank holiday…

And finally I still do not see as many bajans using the beach as they should…

If we all insisted on going to the beach ( all beaches) just like attending POLO, Golf and whatever else is available on the island then we could not claim that these things were EXCLUSIVE!

25. There are “many” who do not have horses for polo,they cannot afford the fees for golf, they do not deny others the rights to those activities…they are just satisfied to be able to view and walk unimpeded to the beaches…not much to wish for.

26. Years ago when we were young, my wife and I would walk along the beach at sunset and hope to see the green flash. We never did see it but we saw so much more – each other. We talked and laughed and dreamt of the things we would do together.

Now we don’t go much anymore. Too busy, too tired, too afraid of the dark but mainly it’s just too difficult to get to the beach . I miss that place where I was young and all the possibilities stretched before me like that dark, deep ocean.

As Barbados races towards developed status, we seem to lose bit by bit all that made us whole and happy and alive.

27. Rumour has it The Sands pillars are ‘sinking’!

28. Sundowner – I believe the expression would be “God don’t sleep – he just blinks”! I live in hope.

29. i never thought i will live to see the day barbados would becomes the most ugly place to live after living in a cemeted country for so long all i worked for was to come back to the most beauiful place i was born in now i have to rethink my plans great barbados for letting the rich take over and destroy our country

30. Sundowner…I heard that too. Kinda confirms Carlos’ thesis that the man who builds his house on the “Sand” is what the Bible calls a fool. Wha’ he gine do when dem big ugly pillars disappear down in de west coast sand? Many years ago, when I was a li’l boy I heard some ole timers saying that the only thing the west coast was good for was breeding mosquitoes and blisterin’ people feet wid manchineels. Maybe after the tsunami carries away all de villas, it’ll be back to dat!

31. west coast lover Avatar
    west coast lover

When is “The Sands “finishing? Its contruction is endless. Is it hotel/villas/apts? Whose money is behind it foreign or local whites? Its a foreboding sight.

32. WCL, why ya don’t make a call to the appropriate Ministry and find out fuh yuhself instead of always lookin’ fuh “white” bogeymen? Guarantee yuh wud find out it’s foreign money, approved by the appropriate black-led government ministry which issued the company licence AND the black-run TCPO. Yuh better hope that the “white” foreigners aren’t Russians.

33. Diaspora-ite – my husband worked at The Sands project at the beginning, everytime it rained the men had to run cause of the flooding, some men had to be pulled out of the foundations from rising water! should have been called The Swamp not The Sands

If I remember its apartments, but HUGE apartments, sleep up to 16, will be offered ‘abroad’ for sale not here.

34. west coast lover Avatar
    west coast lover

Diaspora-ite; Foreign money local frontmen. Its a daily occurence in big real estate deals on the west coast. Ask Altman Alleyne Aguilar.You ought to know Diaspora-ite. You protest too much. Russians never participated in African slave trade.

35. Sundowner, exactly right! The site on which The Sands is being built was always “swampy.” Glad I ‘en de project engineer!

WCL, you too are correct. Not protesting too much, but just raising a warning flag. It’s been said that “The devil ya know is better than the devil ya don’t know.” I’m on your side regarding much of the west coast development, but ask some people in Dade County, Florida about what happens when the Russians move in. They make the Cuban and Italian Mafia look like choirboys.

Russians may not have participated in the African Slave Trade, but they enslaved many other peoples. It is my understanding that some of the recent racism problems at a major West Coast hotel came from Russian guests who were using racist expletives towards employees. Hence my warning.

36. BTW, WCL, does the name Roman Abramowich [sp?] mean anything to you?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=562305&in_page_id=1770

37. y is it that bajans think that they need windows to the sea,when then have little or no concern for the environment itself. we all cry foul for developments going up on the west coast blocking windows to the sea. Do you guys thing that the beaches will alls be as beautiful as they were years ago.NO BECAUSE WE AS A PEOPLE have lost the ab

38. […] Barbados Coastline Faces Renewed Onslaught From British Investors […]

39. […] Barbados Coastline Faces Renewed Onslaught From British Investors […]

40. I have just come across this site and found it enlightening. I am not what you would call a very intellectual person, or pretend to know a lot about governmental issues – but one thing I do know is that my husband and I absolutely love Barbados and its people. We have been visiting Barbados since 1994 and have been saddened to see how land development is destroying the beauty of this island. Barbados is for Bajans and her Government should keep that in mind instead of thinking of how much money they can put in their pockets. When we travel along the west Coast I could cry when I see the sea and beach disappearing from view by the “oversized hotels and million £ private houses”. We are not against anyone or any country going forward and improving their situation – but is blocking out nature, sea and beauty and improvement? I don’t think so. Do these hotels and houses ever contribute directly to the stability of Barbados or just pull in the money and push the local people into the background?? The Bajan people must be at their wits end to see their beautiful island turn into another over developed holiday destination – our hearts go out to them!

41. BARBADOS SOIL SHOULD NEVER BE SOLD TO FOREIGHNERS .
    ONLY LEASED.! YOU ARE NOW LOOKING AT CRIMES AGAINST ENGLISH PEOPLE IF THIS GOES ON.!
    I WISH THEY WOULD ALL LEAVE AS THEY WERE MY ENSLAVERS,
    HOW ABOUT YOU?DID THEY NOT ENSLAVE YOU ALL ALSO

42. barbados always should be a well kept secret for a select few. not flogged as a place where foreighners can just come and buy us.
    do we have no pride.
    no sale skipper but you can rent.
    barbados for bajans.we can grow our own food and need nothing from any one if we restructure.otherwise i am afraid barbados will be poluted and destroyed more than it already is.are you following me?

43. Reblogged this on Barbados Tripadvisor and commented:

where did this go from bu?i can not seem to find it.!! strange???????