A morning with stylish legends, wannabee legends and styless hats. Diana Ross (blue hat, yellow ribbon), Leontine Price, Patti LaBelle, Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey, Tina Turner, Oprah Winfrey, Della Reese, Yolanda Adams, Maya Angelou, Denetria Champ, Shirley Caesar, Gladys Knight, Dionne Warwick, Chaka Khan, Ashford & Simpson, Tyra Banks, Usher, Iman, Sidney Poitier, Ashanti, Alicia Keys, Tyler Perry, Angela Bassett, The Edwin Hawkins Singers. Although I miss some essential legends

This week we have pummeled the BU family with our views on the need for our authorities to retrieve our open door immigration policy. More prudence and foresight MUST be exercised given the several indicators which have raised concerns in many quarters. We wish to reiterate that this is not an issue to pussyfoot around because it has deep rooted implications for the future of our proud nation which has navigated many world’s challenges over the years, even to this day we basked with pride at what we have been able to achieve.

It seems appropriate that in the month of February we should remember that this is Black History Month which is celebrated in the United States. Unlike the former Prime Minister Owen Arthur who attempted to use symbolism to raise black consciousness in Barbados, we believe in focusing on those things which people can reach-out and touch and leave nebulous behaviour to the academics.

Of course Arthur’s experiment failed miserably. He created Heroes Square but left Admiral Nelson ‘smack dab’ at the centre of things, he created thirteen National Heroes but agreed to host CWC 2007 on dates which clashed with National Heroes Day and consequently cricket lovely cricket won out over any joyous celebrations caused by National heroes Day. To bring it home, he created the Pan African Commission and somehow was able to appoint Ikael Tafari to be its Head, a man who by his pigmentation appears at more than a glance to be Caucasian even if his lineage says differently. Remember that Arthur was into symbolism.

So on this first day of February, Black History Month, the matriarch in the BU household insisted that we use this medium to remember the role of the Black Woman as the underpinning force who is responsible for where we are today as a Black race. Although many Blacks remain psychological scared, caused by our links to our time in bondage, many of us have taken strength from our fallen Black soldiers who have sought by their struggle to take us back to the pinnacle which we once occupied in our Mother Lands. Do you remember Martin Luther King and Malcolm X to name two?

Watch the video, let it remind those who rush headlong to wallow in relativism and materialism and sinfully abandon the struggle.

We Shall Continue To Over Come!

30 responses to “Black Is Beautiful, Beautiful Like A Black Woman”

1. Black is n’t beautiful, any more – it’s sullied with unbounded materialism, greed and lack of caring for each other and neither are black women, any more, who are desperate to look more white than black! So, let’s get it straight!!!!

2. Black is Beautiful, just look at that nice Richard Sealy, oh my I wonder how old is he. He looks young in the picture, but since he is a government minister he could be a youngie oldie, as we say in Guyana, which means a person that looks young, but is old. Anyway, if he is about 34 years of age I could make an arrangement between my niece and him.
    Happy Black History Month Barbados USA, What does Sista Rosa Parks, Dr. Mary McLoud Bethune and Miss Harriett Tubman have to do with you all. Are you all heading for statehood now, so that you do not have to come to Guyana when BIM disappears under the sea. I would have thought you would have celebrated Barbados month, even Barbados Guyana Historical ties month, but isn’t Black History Month an American thing. My goodness.

3. Now the first lady that shows up on that video is Dr. Mary MCleod Bethune, the foundress of Bethune-Cookman College in Daytona Beach FL. Now Mrs. Bethune did not like any form of racism and so all this talk about Guyanese dis and dat would have terrified this most gracious of ladies. Mrs. Bethune was a personal friend of President Roosevelt and Mrs. Roosevelt. In fact on many occassions Mrs. Roosevelt invited Mrs. Bethune to the White House. Now I admire and love Mrs. Bethune because here is a lady that founded a college to educate our people under cicumstances that were difficult. Today Bethune-Cookman College is one of America’s priemere colleges and draws students from around the world including East Indians. My great respect to Bishop Wiley founder of Wiley College and in the 30’s Wiley College won the debate championship by beating Harvard University, or we look at Bishop Lane who founded Lane College in Tenenesse. And then we come to General Oliver Otis Howard the founder of one of America’s great univeristies Howard University in the great city of Washington. Now this is how I like to celebrate Black History Month. By the way Dr. Cheddi Jagan graduated from Howard University in the 30’s. Bye

4. Sister Baby~your constant attempts to be provocative does not escape us. This is your right of freedom of speech. However if we strip away the facade which you like to hide behind, don’t you think you might share information with us all in a way the majority would better understand?

If Backs can internalize the need to be proud of who they are and derive confidence from the obstacles which has a race we had to overcome then and only then treating with issues of race might take on a different tenor.

5. Another thing you all sometimes attack Adrian the hotel owner, leave Adrian alone, he loves the Caribbean that is why he is there, or could it be he was coming to Guyana and his jet broke down in BGI and he decided to stay there. Adrain is really nice, I can tell from his hotel website, you can see he takes great pride in his hotel. I know that, and besides I am an Obeah woman, because I knew long time ago some of you were Guyana born, now you come out and say so. I knew.

6. One good day I might be able to work-out what both of you said!!!! 🙂 Lord!!!!

Rianna forever!!!! 🙂

7. I caan onstan Bajan nuh mo – been away too, long!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadddddddd!! 🙂

8. Bimbro, You mek me laugh suh hard oh laudo. Yes, Rihanna forever, and may I kindly throw into the pressure cooker that she is half Guyanese.

9. I write this in context of Barbados. If the few whites and the handful of other ‘colors’ were removed from the society leaving 100% black people here… I’m suggesting black people would still have a ‘color’ problem. It’s not what’s wrong with the others, it’s what’s wrong with US.

10. Celebrate Black History Month by remembering the good works of James (Jimmy) and Grace Lee Boggs. This husband and wife team brought changes of better working conditions and wages for all people in the Detroit auto factories. These organic civil rights leaders paved the way for an integrated Detroit and helped Mayor Coleman Young becomethe first black mayor of Detroit. Grace Lee Boggs is still alive and lives in Detroit and 93 years of age still lectures across America, and is very active in Detoit Summer bringing jobs to inner city kids.
    Great Moments in Black History who can forget Madame CJ Walker who sold hair tonics across America, thus becoming the first black millionaire. You can see Madam’s mansion in the Husdson Valley in New York State for it is now a museum in her honour.

Dr. Charles Drew, the inventor of plasma.
    Mr. Johnson founder of BET
    Mr. Berry Gordy founder of Motown
    Mayor Walter Washington first black mayor of the great City of Washington, and first mayor at that too, since Washington was ruled directly by the Dept. of Interior
    Bernie Grant, UK member of Parliament
    The Hunt Family Hunt Wesson Foods

11. You all remind me of the City of Compton California. Compton is 10 miles south of Los Angeles. Well in the begining Compton was white, (Barbados once had a white majority)the white people children went to college and never returned home to Compton, the white people die of old age, and the blacks coming from the South began to buy the homes and pretty soon Compton is a City mostly with a black population. Well the black people kids went to college and never returned, old black residents died and pretty soon Mexicans began to come in and buy the old dead black peoples homes, so now Compton has a Mexican majority and the next mayor will be a Hispanic. The world is a small place and it changes. I predict Guyana will have a Brazilian majority one day, and I know the Brazilians love Guyana, and will care for Guyana, then you will see what will happen to all those original plantation workers who behaving badly in Guyana

12. Centipede, You right. It happens all the time, I can tell you stories, but I would not.

13. David

I see you are finally catching on to see what I have been saying about dis sister baby and her contributions.

Now go back and take a look at the inane ramblings she posted above which to me devalues the article and the issue you are trying to get us to focus on ,and then tell me if you don’t agree that the freedom to post should come with some responsibility – and should not be carte blanche.

14. Sister Baby,

I like your talk.

Please come and spend some time with me on

Black Bajan Boy

15. Sister Baby,

I like your talk.

Black Bajan Boy

16. Sister Baby // February 1, 2008 at 7:42 am

Bimbro, You mek me laugh suh hard oh laudo. Yes, Rihanna forever, and may I kindly throw into the pressure cooker that she is half Guyanese.

That’s ok, Sis!!!! I knew that u would say that!!!! That’s alright, Rihanna n any Guyanese who will give us another Rihanna or an Einstein is readily, welcome but de rest can guh to hell!!!! Laaaaaaaaaaddd!! 🙂

Doan call me a hypocrite, do!!!! 🙂

17. But, seriously, Sister Babe, are n’t you worried about a possible, Brazillian, take-over of Guyana!!!! They’re just next door and I’m sure must ‘have designs’ on your country!!

They’re plentiful, enough here in the UK, these days 4k miles away, never mind your neighbouring country?!!!!

18. Sister Babe, don’t take any notice of that pompous git. You write what u want to write Babe. For the most part I’ve found it both interesting and relevant! Ignore he!!!!

19. Personally, I always believes Black History Month is an American thing. But then again if America says so then we go along with it. Why one month though, why keep black history seperate from other races’ history? Why not incorporate ALL history (THRUTHFULLY) into one history and share it with everyone, accessible in its entirety. Teach THIS HISTORY in each school, not ‘history’ and then ‘black history’.

Also we should stop praising and looking up to American heroes (black and white) and celebrate our own. American history is not Caribbean history, not by any means.

Its no wonder we know more about America and its history, people, and culture than we do about our own.

Comments of one American that I find quite intresting were those of Bill Cosby when he asked “why one month, why not all twleve months, is that all the history that we have that can fit into only one month?”

20. Question, if you teach ‘Black History’ to ‘black’ people, is it not then just ‘history’. Sounds only logical.

21. #

Anonymous // February 1, 2008 at 10:41 am

Sister Baby,

I like your talk.

Black Bajan Boy

Please do not invite him/her, the immigration laws will not protect you

22. Sister Baby said “Barbados once had a white majority”.

There is a good summary of our population history to be found at the e-mail address below (Sister Baby is right):

http://www.totallybarbados.com/barbados/About_Barbados/Local_Information/People/Population/

(People assume that because I object to racism against Indians that I must be a hindu.) I am a Bajan who lived in the UK for a while, became a professor at an ancient British university and have subsequently returned home to enjoy my retirement from formal work. When I look at where we are today as a nation and where we were when I left, I think we do need to explain our history and black history far more to our people.

I think we have an ambivalent view of our history and try to avoid its details because it may lead to conflict between white and black.

I am not a “back to Africa” man but I think we cannot progress until we understand fully where we come from and the roles played in that journey by those who still own a majority of the capital in this country, by those British who became rich off slavery and by the Anglican church. This is the yolk that we continue to struggle underneath. (This is why I dont understand the focus on Guyanese Indians when it is a few white people who own this country, its land and capital, but that is another story that we have covered enough.)

I think more detailed knowledge and understanding of black history and the economics and social background to slavery will not cause more conflict, but will help to focus our efforts to grow out of our past and build our “New Jerusalem” in this beautiful land.

I also think it is important to teach more about black struggle elsewhere and to do so in a way that inspires our people to greatness beyond ourselves. My three heroes are Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and a person that insired both of them, Mahatma Ghandi. If Black History month meant that every kind in Barbados knew their stories as well as that of Grantly Adams and Errol Barrow, then it will have gone a long way to giving us the self-confidence and inspiration required to develop our country further. I wish each and everyone one of you happy Black History Month!

23. This emphasis on black history, always reminds me of the image of a person walking forward whilst looking back, at the same time. It is n’t easy and does n’t get u far!!!!

Forget it! Look ahead, think of the present and the future and don’t dwell on the past!!!!

24. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

I don`t know the full background of this discussion since I dont live in here/there.
    But in my opinion,there is an ever bigger raceissue for me to go to Barbados then to live as a black woman in a white country in Europe.
    Here I am black. Period.
    Never am I so aware of the lack of some pigments or my straight to wavy,long hair as here.
    And my features.
    And never have I been told so clearly to not believe I am special because I`m a socalled “mulatto” or even less Bajan.
    Some black people favour me in a kinky way,and other(generally women),see the schance to put me down a bit…
    To be honest,I don`t look very mulatto,either,but more like an indian.
    Some men suggest i`m a Trini.
    I have been checked up by indian men in Barbados,but as soon as they realize I am not indian,they are quick to leave..
    Its very interesting to be “mixed and shaken” as me in Barbados.
    I could write a book about it.
    Personally,I don`t see colour as a way og valiate people.
    I have had family,friends and lovers of all races.
    I don`t really care,and wonder when all bajans can start see beauty(and not a victim) in the face they
    see in the mirror every morning??
    And black bajans of all tones,stop putting each other down,for gods sake!
    We are all blacks politically.

25. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

I should have written there(in Barbados )when i tell about my hair and lack of pigment etc.
    excuse moi.

26. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

I think our common past with slavery and abduction and loss of spirit that lurks in our souls,needs healing.
    REAL healing!
    I dont think angelican church and stuff can help us here,but more a kind of obeahpractitioner from old Africa.
    We need a refill of the thing we left behind there.
    peace.

27. My three heroes are Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and a person that insired both of them, Mahatma Ghandi.

########################

Good choices, but remember Nelson Mandela picked up arms against a racist force that was unrelentingly cruel.

I admire the Mahatma’s struggle for his people, but remember that he took great pains not to make any comment about the way Africans were being treated in South Africa. In fact, the apartheid regime eventually conceded a measure of autonomy to Indians and Coloureds, allowing them to run their own schools, and even electing parliamentary rfepresentation. Of course some Indians rejected this and joined Mandela in the armed struggle.

The problem with teaching black history is that too many take the same mythical version created by oppressors and pass it along as black History.

Unless people are prepared to deal with the uncensored analysis of the John Hendrick Clarks, the Doctor Bens, The Ivan Van Sertimas and the Cheik Ante Diops, I would suggest that it would better for them if they stayed within the comfort zone of English School History, where they can all pretend to be black englishmen. “What ho Chappy, and all that sort of thing”

28. Partly Bajan girl Avatar
    Partly Bajan girl

I recently visited the english city of Bristol.
    I was invited by a friend to go there.
    I never knew much about Bristols history,and when we visited the old markethalls where the slaveships left and returned,I got a very strange feeling.
    Like I was burning,whithout knowing much about this place.
    I want to give you some links to the city and its struggle to heal the wounds.
    I think we have to transform the harsh memories into something new…
    And the europeans must let us do this,even if their landmarks will be a bitt different..

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/this-britain/mandela-boycotts-bristols-slavery-commemoration-441786.html

29. Partly Bajan girl Avatar
    Partly Bajan girl

Here is one more serious link:
    http://www.hlf.org.uk/NR/rdonlyres/2BA87E97-7579-46AD-A4C7-A06F553A598A/0/HLFSLAVERYreprint_web.pdf
    As earlier said,I think we shall not forget,but know it as it was.
    To try to avoid it by not telling our kids,isn`t good,.
    But we must transform it into something positive!
    Important how schoolbooks are written,I think.
    How museums show the history.
    And remember; its also a trauma to white people,even if they are not aware of it!
    All traumas you put on other people,you also put on yourself…eventually…

Knowlegde,healing and peace.

30. I think tthis iis among the most significant info for me.

And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things,
    The website style is perfect, the articles is
    really great : D. Good job, cheers