Click on image to hear BBC report on Guyana massacre

Analysts Fear Racial Tension Could Spark Further Violence

Calm was reported on Tuesday, in areas of Guyana affected by tensions fueled by the murders of 11 people by a suspected criminal gang last weekend. On Monday, police fired teargas and pellets to disperse hundreds of protesters blocking roads along the country’s east coast. Some groups and analysts, including the human rights association, have expressed concern that tension between Guyana’s ethnic communities could boil over into further violence.

Source: BBC Report

It is prophetic that BU published the article entitled Can Barbados Avoid Escalating Crime & Violence In Neighbouring Trinidad & Guyana? on the 26 January 2008. Our article coincided with the massacre of 11 persons in rural Guyana which is reported to have escalated ethic tensions there. This was a tragic incident and we extend our sympathy to the affected families.

As Barbadians, the unfortunate incident serves to highlight the present danger of an open door immigration policy. We have written ad nauseam on the subject, specifically the impact of Indo-Guyanese on a dominantly Negro nation like Barbados – do a search of our archives using key word ‘Immigration’. It is instructive that Guyana is a country which is split almost down the middle by race, i.e. Indian and Black. It is a country where although the Blacks have enjoyed political power, the Indians have been the economic force in the country. There has been irrefutable evidence manifested through the years of the racial tensions in Guyana. It is a society which continues to struggle to find a basis for sustained harmony between the races. Anyone who challenges this assertion we liken to the proverbial ostrich.

We agree with one commenter who forwarded the view that self-preservation is a natural instinct of animals, the uncivilized kind and it is one which human can do well to learn. We have repeatedly stated that our immigration policy needs to become more efficient. Immigrant labour should be regulated to match demand and the process should be copiously documented. We are amused by the politicians, theoreticians and intellectuals who continue to spout positions based on text book positions. In the Caribbean, we have two living examples of multi-ethnic societies which continue to struggle to find the formula to support coexistence. Why should Barbados experiment with the idea of a growing multi-ethnic society and ignore the perennial racial tensions in Guyana and Trinidad?

We again wish to send out a word of caution to those responsible in our new government to closely examine the current open door policy supported by the past government. It has gotten so bad that illegal immigrants don’t even bother to move around Barbados clandestinely. Ordinary Barbadians can with ease direct the authorities to areas in Barbados where illegal Guyanese can be found in bushels. We have nothing against Guyanese, Indian or Black i.e. in theory. In practice, however, we think that there is sufficient evidence to be concerned. The vast number of Guyanese immigrants are of the unskilled variety and we strongly believe that with a world recession forecasted and the new DLP government’s commitment to slowing capital projects roll-out, excess labour in the construction sector is bound to occur.

Will anyone hear our cry?

246 responses to “Can Indians And Blacks Co-exist In Barbados?”

1. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

The racial tensions in Guyana and Trinidad owes much to the political history of both of those countries. Where Barbados had the politics of inclusion (and it’s acompanying ills), politicians in those countries specifically practised the politics of EXCLUSION . As in a black president openly favoured the black population and vice versa. This road leads only to one destination; where the country is split into two camps and they practice a zero sum game, “as in all for me, none for you”.

Politicians in Barbados have always taken the position of being relatively even handed. This tradition goes back to Grantley Adam and Errol Barrow. Also there would appear to be a greater respect for the rule of law in Barbados than either Trinidad or Guyana.

I do think that increasing numbers of indo-Guyanese will add to the mix of tensions that we have in Barbados. However increasing numbers of Afro Guyanese also come with many of the same issues so I could not classify that as “racial” in nature.

I do believe that if the rules were applied fairly to the illegal Guyanese workers (NIS deducted and paid, taxes deducted, health and safety standards enforced, employers of illegal immigrants punished) you would find that much of the illegal immigration would stop as the demand for that would be much lower.

Marginal

2. Indians and Blacks do co-exist in Barbados. This has been going on from my days at secondary school. There might be religious differences and also some elements who might thrive on seeing a division but Barbadian society is generally tolerant.

3. Idiot.

Barbados is not Guyana.

Barbados is not Trinidad.

Indian people have been living peacefully in Barbados for hundreds of years.

It make me sick to see how far you would go to give expression to your racist hatred of Indians.

If you want to stir up racist strife in Barbados, look no further than Bajan whites and foreign whites like Adrian Loveridge whose backside you so much delight in licking.

Banished For Preaching Evil

4. Banished For Preaching Evil Avatar

Idiot.

Barbados is not Guyana.

Barbados is not Trinidad.

Indian people have been living peacefully in Barbados for hundreds of years.

It make me sick to see how far you would go to give expression to your racist hatred of Indians.

If you want to stir up racist strife in Barbados, look no further than Bajan whites and foreign whites like Adrian Loveridge whose backside you so much delight in licking.

5. Indians and Blacks do co-exist in Barbados. This has been going on from my days at secondary school. There might be religious differences and also some elements who might thrive on seeing a division but Barbadian society is generally tolerant.

This is true but certainly you must acknowledge that the magnitude of the immigrant population is much larger compared to the time to which you speak and there are different social dynamics at work as well.

6. Yes, going to school with them is one thing, but wait until you have to go to them to get a job and they give the job to the own kind so they could pay low wages and overwork and maltreat them, then you will re-cant what you have said, wait until you fall in love with one of them and Mamu, she mother gets a heart attack and then her father kills her, or none of the above happens, but you have to jump on board a Caribbean Airlines jet before you can kiss her, and then go all the way to Belize so you can be together. Or wait until you try to rent from them, and the only reason you got the flat is because Mamu wants a black person in her flat so that the PNC people can see she is not racist. And I can go on and on. The above are all true stories that I have seen or heard of, and I am not a racist, but a God fearing Holiness Guyanaese Christian. You know if you meet an East Indian from Guyana in a foreign country they don’t say they are Guyanese, but East Indian, then you have prod them like say some thing like you have a Caribeban accent, so you must be from Trinidad, then they say South America, well besides Guyana they could be from Suriname or Cayenne. To them Guyanese denotes black people. I am black therefore I am Guyanese. They are Est Indians born in Guyana.

7. I beg to differ with your statement that Black President has excluded them. Are you telling me Burnham excluded them, not in the least, he went our of his way to make them feel at home. Look Burnham was no fool, he bent backwards for them and a lot of them became wealthy during Burnham’s rule. There were lots of East Indians in Burnham’s cabinet, but they left because they did not agree with some of LFSB’s policies, and these policies were made by Burnham to appease the Jagans. Now I like Dr. Jagan very much, and I chatted with him one time. Oh such a lovely man, and so compassionate about the plight of our people. I cried when Dr. Jagan died, I really did.

8. As a student of Guyanese History it is safe for me to say that Barbados in the future will not become like Guyana. You see in nutshell Dr. Jagan married Janet Rosenburg brought her to BG in a PAN-AM plane that landed in the Demerara River. Here we were in our colony growing our cane and enjoying life, but Mrs. Jagan did not like what she saw and she began to disrespect our British rulers by disobeying our colony’s rules and forming her political action committee. The PAC became the PPP and won the first British held elections, but the government was suspended because of communistic leanings. Then LFSB left the PPP and formed the PNC thus carrying away all the black vote, the mixed race vote and some of the white vote, which left the Jagans PPP as an East Indian party……and here is the root of the problem.

9. Please kindly allow me to say that the statement made on the other section of this blog about the same Black Guyanese and East Indian Guyanese attacking each other in Guyana are now down the road in B’dos and will act likewise. That is a false statement, because the recent vicious act against innocent Guyanese was done a a criminal gang. The gang has a black leader, and the area that he attacked is a predominately East Indian area, so the chances of an East Indian being hurt in his brutal rampage is feasable due to the demogaphics of the area. Had he struck in the Upper Demerara area and attacked homes in Linden, most likely his victims would have been Black Guyanese since that area is predominantly Black. Had he struck in Georgetown it could have been any body.

10. So far, I’ve only read the main headline and the answer is, ‘yes, they can’!! With the Indians on top and the blacks underneath them, as usual – AND, I IN FUH DAH ONE BIT!!!!

So, I say, allow a few in, but ONLY A FEW, and keep a very, close eye on them!!!!

Back fuh mo hot-licks, soon!!!! 🙂

P.S. Rihanna, is my heroine, so her daddy can stay any time of the night or day, as far as I’m concerned!!!! 🙂

11. I know I am saying too much, but before the white Guyanese left Guyana in droves they and the East Indians were battling it out. They fire bombed a school bus carrying white Guyanese children, and if my memory serves me well two white Guyanese school girls were killed, then the Abraham family was almost wiped out, only Ann, Diana and their Mum lived and that was because they were at a cocktail party that night. Mr. Abraham and 7 sons and daughters perished in a fire bombing of their Hadfield St. GT home. They hated Peter D’Aguiar, the man that brought you all Banks Beer. Just the other day in Stabroek News a person sent a racism letter to the editor of said paper attacking Chinese Guyanese, and then signed the name to reflect an East Indian. Mr. Faria the Guyana Honourary Consel in Bridgetown had to write a letter to the editor of said paper stating that the letter was so offensive that it should not have been published. So you see this thing involves other people not only black Guyanese. The population is 43% African, 43% East Indian, 7% Amerinidian, 2% Chinese and 1% white, plus 375 Barbadians, and as high as 30,000 illegal Brasilians

12. Well, I can see it now, Welcome to Barbadostan, and you nice Cave Hill boys have married a devi plucked from the heart of Barbadostan, and then you have forgotten to give your mother-in-law a box of Cadbury for her birthday. Your mother-in-law is offended so she called Bhougie in Trinidad to tell her that you don’t like Indian people because you forgot her birthday. And then Radio Barbados will blare out those Hindi ballards at all hours of the night, and then of course Cassandra will be chatting with Avinash and then your East Indian mother-in-law will call to chat and tell Avinash that she has East Indian girl for him. Of course Roebuck St. will now have sari shops and Indian gift and groceries and when ships depart Barbadostan they will smell that pungent wift of curry 10 miles offshore. The Barbados Hilton will become Oberoi Barbadostan Hotel, and Queen Elizabeth Hospital will be Shemoti Indira Gandhi Hospital

13. Maybe this is why some Barbadians are afraid. To visualize the future where there is a large population of Black/Indian mix which will change the Barbados which many traditional Barbadians are so proud. To visualize a PM or MP of East Indian ancestry. This is not inconceivable when we consider that many of these immigrant populations are concentrated in only a few districts.

14. I am telling you all from experience. Adrian Hotel will become the Radhna Krishna Mandir. The carneage will be considered the holy Ganges so you will see mamu and bhapu and devi walking down to the carneage to take a dip in the holy water, since the water there will be considered to come underground from the Holy Ganges River in India. Then Bhapu will decide that he can grow good basmati rice so he will replace the front lawn with a rice field, then the cow will wonder into you all yard and eat the grass, cow in street, cow in field at Kennsington Oval. Jhandi flags flying from bamboo. Mamu is sick at QE 11 Hospital which is now Indira Gandhi Hospital and of course Bhapu, and Dev and Devi and Shalendra all them want to spend the night, with Bhapu in the same bed with the patient. Of course they are not going home so instead of eating at the hospital cafeteria they decide to cut a few branches from a tree to make a fire and cook some curry on the hospital grounds. Mullens Road is now Mohammed Ali Jinnah Road, and Transport Barbados is no more, because Bhapu is now running a mini bus service to the airport and all points in between. The Oberoi Barbadostan Hotel the once Hitlon Barbados beach is now used for creamations and Cave Shepherd isnow Kiraplani’s with everything from Hindustan even the Cadbury Chocolate. Take a trip to Guyana and see or better yet Suriname

15. A devi???? Sister Babe, what is that????

I must really be out of touch, in the UK!!!

Back soon!!!! Laaddddddddddddd:)

16. How often have i stated that Guyan is a failed state. Well i have been saying such since the 80’s when my childhood sweetheart now my wife visited Guyana and Venezuela in some exchange program. Her response then on what her impression of Guyana were are to this day my opinion of Guyana.

—————-IT IS A FAILED STATE.————–

There is a distinct difference in attitudes and personalities between Indians from India and Africa as Dr. Mohammed the one time pharmiacist in strathclyde was and the Patels who came around the village selling their goods and wares, and these Indo Guyanese, …big difference. I don’t know why this is as i have not given it much thought, but one difference to be noted was Dr.Mohammed and the Patels where muslims and most of the Indo-Guyanese are from a Hindu background. Again i am not suggesting that this is the reason although the Muslim minority in India would probably say it is.

17. OK Bimbro, a devi is like a young lady and a dev a young man, mamu is mother, and bhapu is father. Morning Barbados is now Namaste Barbadostan. Say good bye to movies like Bend it like Beckham or Big Mama’s Family because cinemas with names like the Indra Mahal and Moti Mahal are now showing Geeta Hindustan memshos Hoagie a Mahendra Wallah. Look I had better go before I get into trouble. Those of you that have visited Guyana the Indra Mahal is on the road to Georgetown from Timehri. And finally Bridgetown is now Bridgetown Nagar and Holetown is now Holebad

18. I was a student at Hindu College in Georgetown in the 60’s and we had food day, so I made prawn curry and nice Karibbean rice to accompany my dish. Well the judge was Dr. Shurti Kant from India and now Guyana. I won first prize and Dr. Kant said to me Baby you can cook better Indian food than these Indians. I thanked him, but besides my jheera and cardomon and curry and garlic, oinon and salt I added a little MSG for flavour, and to this day I always walk with curry powder with a tince of MSG for special flavour when I am asked to make curry dishes for people. Well I am Guyanese what else is there to do. My dear late Mum use to say no trick no living int his world. Look I have cooked for the Bookers Tate people in Guyana, the headman and his wife. The said Aunty Baby they have never tasted such fine Guyanese food, and of course they asked my what I put inside, I say just salt and local herbs, but it’s my MSG

19. Can Indians And Blacks Co-exist In Barbados?

The answer is yes, and they have been, but not all Indians have the same background, beliefs, and cultural practices.

Get up early a moring in Bridgetown and see the muslims Indian carring out the teachings of their faith by feeding the poor and homeless. Dr. Mohammed was a known importer of goods and many a black small shopper owner benefited from him, which angered the white merchant class in Bridgetown who went about the process of closing down his business, via thier monolistic attitudes. The Patels, well i don’t have to speak about them any Barbadian from rural Barbados can speak about these people, what a blessing they were. But these racist Indo-Guyanese blood suckers are a different story.

20. Thanks, Sis Babe, back soon!!!!

Adrian, u been ok?!!

Wrote lots of stuff to u in the ‘Guyanese’ forum & don’t think I got a reply!!! What happened?!!!!

21. Or was it the homosexuals, forum?!!!!

22. I tell you what the difference is, You see Adrian these Indo Guyanese are in reality Afro-Indian Guyanese. The Black culture in Guyana is the dominant culture, and so the Indo Guyanese have had to adapt to that culture, but by the same token they clinging to India, so they get confused. I use to say Guyana is a black country until I went to some Chinese Guyanese home for dinner to discover they had the very same Afro Guyanese traditons as I. And of course the Guyanese accent is technically an African accent, for all Guyanse sound like some one from Ghana. It’s true. Fancy this Guyanse Chinese season their Chinese food with Lea and Perrins worchetershire sauce as opposed to soy sauce.

23. Namaskar Mems Sahibs, Where are all the Cave Hill people? I guess since I am here ranting and raving about Hindustani mem shogie Guyanastan they have decided to stay away. Well I am not going to write anymore so Namaste Barbadostan

24. Barbados must not persue any policy which appears racist however our immigration apparatus needs to be regulated, strengthened and our laws enforced. Illegal aliens must be firmly put out of the country. The legal ones can stay and are welcome. As long as we have our immigration policy clearly spelt out and the accompanying laws followed we should not have a problem with Guyanese, Chinese or those illegal white people who are encouraged here by local whites.

Now that Owen Arthur has thankfully demitted PM’s office the immigration officers can do their jobs fairly and without fear. Arthur directed a lot of unwarranted abuse at the immigration and police of our beloved island. Good riddance to him.

25. David et al,

What of Indians who are not from Guyana, or T&T, i.e., their parents are from India and they were born in Bim. What are your thoughts on that, or do you not make any distinction?

The Indians (Hindus), and by that I mean those with parents from India who came off ‘the boat’ (so to speak 🙂 ), and settled in Bim, are a definite minority. Their numbers add up to less (someone correct me if I’m wrong please), than the Guy-Indo/Black and Muslim population.

Their reasons for coming to Bim, I think, are the same as most of us C’bbean folks when we look to move to the US/Europe/Canada, i.e., that of a higher standard of living (either socially, economically or politically).

However, I think I see the point that David is trying to make. That being, in a small island, a large influx of non-nationals may disrupt the country’s ‘harmony’, either socially, economically or politically.

We’re seeing disruption in all three right now.

Socially: When non-nationals migrate to a country, they bring with them their own norms, cultures and attitudes (including violent behaviour). Barbados has always been a quite, polite and peaceful country.

Economically: This is the most apparent one. Guyanese labourers, who in trying to seek a better life than that of their own back home, upset the apple cart by offering labour and accepting a lower price than Barbadians. That’s the free market at work. Happens all around the World. Look at India and the US. Jobs are leaving the US to go to India because labour is cheaper, not because they want to send them.

Mind you, and this is subject to how much money, if any at all the Guyanese/TT send back home, some of the money they earn is being spent in Bim’s economy in the form of rent, food stuff, entertainment, etc. I’m not sure about taxes/NIS. I’m a firm believer in paying taxes. If you come into a country other than your own and live there and enjoy their social services, then you should definitely pay taxes.

Politically: This is tricky. Is Bim ready for a non-black PM, no, I doubt it. We are still paranoid and not trusting enough. I think, please correct me if I’m wrong, we’d always choose a black PM any day over a non-black PM. Better the devil you know than the devil you don’t? Or how about, the lesser of two evils? Yet, as black people, we still pull each other down. Why?

What would happen if (and I speak hypothetically ofcourse), the World turned against the Caribbean (unlikely that this would happen without just cause), would we see a united Caribbean people rising up in defence? Mind you, some would argue that this is already happening, that’s why we have CARICOM/CSME etcetera…

In conclusion I would ask that people remember we all share the same air and the same space. We may not be of the same colour/culture, but we come from and live on the same planet.

No, I’m not a hippie and I’m not daft. I watch the news, read the papers and talk to people, I see what’s happening.

26. Sister Babe, thanks for the description of Guyana! I have n’t been there and have no reason to suppose I ever will but your knowledge is consumate!

Please remind me of one event! Sometime in the 70s or 80s I recall reading about an incident here in the UK, possibly during the Burnham administration, about a man chasing a white churchman down the street, possibly even in Georgetown, with an axe and maybe, killing him!!

I think it had something to do with the political situ there, at the time. Can u recall the incident!!

Otherwise, thanks for the history and speak soon!!

BTW, how’re you finding life in Bim!!!!

27. Yes Bimbro, They were protesting against Burnham, but as I say Burnham was no fool, Burnham brought in the Jonestown People’s Temple and Rabbi Washington with his House of Israel group, well the Guyanese were protesting and led by a white Roman Catholic Jesuit priest and Rabbi went after him with an axe, oh my. That was something. Listen you should see the Guyana Parliment in action in those days. Burnham told the white lady member of Parliament to sit down you stupid white lady and shut up. Anyway when Burnham died President Hoyte who they said is a Grenadian turned Rabbi over to USA authorities and I beleive he died in a US jail. Rabbi was from East St. Louis IL and so he and his group were sent packing to East St. Louis and of course the Jonestown people commited mass suicide. Burnham had a Barbadian connection, but it is had to say if he was born in Guyana since they could have changed his birth certificate to reflect such

28. you do know there is a flip side to the Mamu and Bhapu story that I have told above. Well lets look at Granny Wilson the wealthy black Guyanese socialite who would not rent her flats to Indians because they cook too much curry and her white Burger Paint wall will get stained up, and besides east Indians are heathens, Granny would not rent to such since granny is an Anglican and prides herself in all things English. Granny does not rent to black Guyanese either because they are always late with the rent, and as for Chinese well they are dirty and many years ago a Chinese Guyanese man stole her pet doggie Prancer that was given to her by Captain Renson the last overseer of planatation that Granny inhertited and that Chinese Guyanese man cooked Granny doggie and ate him. Granny is waiting for a nice English man to come and rent. Granny lives in Guyana, but refers to the Jaganites and Burnhamnites as the Sugar Hill Gang. Granny says bring the English back to Guyana and let the good times roll. Granny can’t see an Indian doctor for it’s a sin for a heathen to see a naked Anglican Granny, but she can’t see a Black Guyanese doctor either as he might want to have carnal knowledge with her and I can go on and on but you get the idea. By the way Granny is referd to as Granny because she is old. she never married because she was waiting in her great house for the Lord to send her a good English husband, but it never happened, so now she feels she is at the mercies of the Sugar Hill, but as Granny says what goes around comes around and as she says pretty soon the English will be back in Guyana and she can hear Green sleaves and White Christmas playing once again on Guyana NCN Radio instead of some heathen singing Christmas in Guyana and she can’t understand a word he is saying

29. BU…. You need to specify whether you mean Indians for Guyana or Indians from India or of Indian parents born in Bim.

There has been a history of harmony between Bajans and Indians from India/Indians born in Bim of Indian parents…which no one can object to.
    They have played an integral part of our social and economic life in Barbados prior and after Independence. They are also many mix mariages ( with no one getting abused or murdered)because the Indians form India have actually become so bajanised that they are tolerant and don’t act in the eratic manner of those in the subcontinent.
    Now enter the Guyanesse connection( I’m not being racist here)

Both the Afro and Indo Guyanese are bringing their racial tension over to Barbados which is a serious cause for concern. This will definitely put the Racial balance between Indians from India and the Bajan public out of order.

We agree that Barbadians, Indians, Vincentians, St. Lucians and others have coexisted. Even although this is true the escalating illegal immigration has clouded the issue. Barbadians now see the Indian problem as part of a bigger problem of an immigration issue which is out of control.

30. Burnham’s second wife was half Chinese/Guyanese and half Black, President Hoyte’s wife was half Portuguese/Guyanese and half Black, Peter D’Aguiar the man that brought you Banks Beer and Guyana Minister of Finance and Deputy PM had a white Guyanese wife and of course Dr. Jagan married a white American Jew. I wonder why these leaders did such.

31. Thanks for all the above, SB. I think we can do without all that headache, in Bim!!

How’re u finding life in Bim!!!!

32. David // January 30, 2008 at 5:57 am

Maybe this is why some Barbadians are afraid. To visualize the future where there is a large population of Black/Indian mix which will change the Barbados which many traditional Barbadians are so proud. To visualize a PM or MP of East Indian ancestry. This is not inconceivable when we consider that many of these immigrant populations are concentrated in only a few districts.

You racist idiot.

We just got a prime minister who is half-white.

Why don’t you go about attacking him too, because if you don’t want people in government who are of East Indian descent then you shouldn’t accept any red boy or ecky-becky either. And like you said, we know that those red-legs are all concentrated in St. John and the other east coast parishes.

Why don’t you start by getting rid of them, eh?

It is low-thinking animals like you who were responsible for going on the airwaves and fueling genocide in Rwanda, and also the ethnic cleansing we see in Kenya today.

The killing always starts with swine like YOU.

Foolish racist pig.

33. What really angers me is hypocrites like David of BU who want to keep Barbados racially pure, yet think that black Bajans have an automatic right to migrate to white majority countries such as the USA, Canada and the UK.

Your blog carries information that it is run by a couple nearing retirement. I really hope that’s true, because that indicates old age which indicates near death. I really really really really really hope that you will “dead off” real soon, so that all your hatred will die with you.

If you have any, I hope that all your children marry Indians.

Racist hypocrite pig.

34. We are a small island and this creates many understandable insecurities. But for our people and country to grow and develop, we need to broaden our horizons beyond the caribbean sea, travel, learn and experience the way things happen elsewhere. We are too small to be an autarky.

Hopefully our students and youth will return with their experience and knowledge or we can enjoy their knowledge in other ways (this blog connects many Bajans living abroad). The Barbadian member of Al Gore’s Nobel Prize winning team has done well for himself, but also for Barbados. He will inspire our kids beyond their immediate surroundings and he has enlarged our country’s name and reputation.

We do not want favours for our people when they live abroad, but we want them to be welcome and treated fairly and when they stay and settle to have rights as others do. So how should we treat people who come here? Especially those who come here under CSME as graduates who can bring skills and capital? If we are to grow and develop, having those who come with different skills will also contribute. Personally, I would like a few Indian traders, not graduates, come and shake up our cosy distributive trades sector and make it as competitive as it is in Trinidad.

Contrast our insecurities now with Singapore.
    Our national hero, Errol Barrow thought there was much we could learn from Singapore. Singapore is one of the most successful economies in the world. It now ranks as one of the richest having been one of the poorest in 1960. Its land area is just one half larger than Barbados and it has 3 million people with plans to grow to 5 million, primarily through immigration. Yes. 3 million people and plans for 5 million and just one half bigger than Barbados – as you may guess they have lifted the 30ft building height restriction! They are targeting India as a source for graduates to come and settle in Singapore. Today around 10% of the population are Indian by descent, some 60-70% are Chinese origin. It has a strong culture – Bajans think the place sounds to repressed and controlled – but whatever it is, it is stong. Their self-confidence in their culture is directly related to their willingness to invite others to come and live in Singapore and that is directly related to their path out of developing country status. Barbados is not Singapore but we should see what we can learn. No successful country has been successful by being inward looking and resistant to immigration, even large ones like America. In America, a country with 300 million people, their economic successes are almost all tales of down trodden immigrants made good for many to benefit from.

35. David

All I can tell you is to be strong and develop a backbone of steel because there are vested interest in this country who want to see the influx of these persons of indian descent increase their numbers here in barbados, and they will use any bogus argument to try and pretend that it isn’t so.

I am watching to see if bajans will come out here on this blog and say publicly what they have been saying privately about their objection to this large number of non nationals in increasing numbers coming to this country.

36. Wow…As a huge fan of Barbados and its people, I am very disappointed to hear the racist comments being made in this forum. I am an Indian whose ancestors moved to East Africa and now live in Canada, which is a VERY diverse country. I thank GOD, for the sake of ALL immigrants, that Canada does not have attitudes like displayed here when it comes to immigration. This xenophobia is dangerous and only hinders any unity of the Carribean. Somehow an unrealisticl freight has been created against Indians, where does this come from? MY, if all we needed to do is pick a few ‘horror stories’ of any race to create very scary stereotypes of an entire segment of people, how would any race not be seen as dangerous?

37. Nat, Please don’t make me come there to Canada and give you two hits with my belna. There is no unrealistic freight, as you say created here about Indians, for everything that I have said here is based on experience. The US is facing a similiar situation with Mexico that they are building a fence, liekwise Barbados is facing a similiar problem with Guyanese both black and Indians, and the other Guyanese. No one here is creating scary steroetypes of anybody. We just talking. And let me tell you that the same lovely Canada has stereotyped Indians and Chinese in Vancouver, so don’t come here and try to lambaste Barbardian. And as for Caribbean unity, well that can only be in the 700 island of the Bahamas, because every Caribbean nation is unique in its own way.

38. Nat, I guess you’re trying to tell us that your people are angels, are n’t you. Fortunately, we’re not that stupid!!!!

39. Nat // January 30, 2008 at 11:32 am

Wow…As a huge fan of Barbados and its people, I am very disappointed to hear the racist comments being made in this forum. I am an Indian whose ancestors moved to East Africa and now live in Canada, which is a VERY diverse country. I thank GOD, for the sake of ALL immigrants, that Canada does not have attitudes like displayed here when it comes to immigration. This xenophobia is dangerous and only hinders any unity of the Carribean. Somehow an unrealisticl freight has been created against Indians, where does this come from? MY, if all we needed to do is pick a few ‘horror stories’ of any race to create very scary stereotypes of an entire segment of people, how would any race not be seen as dangerous?
    ==============================
    Nat don’t fool youself that anyone in Barbados could care anything for your disappointment. Immigration concerns are at the forefront of the thought of citizens all across the globe. Canada’s predicament is understandable, as is their need for immigrants, but you can continue to Thank God while ignoring the reality of population growth by immigration. I live in North America, my Son was born in Canada, and i am as informed as you or anyone else about Canada. While born and bred Canadians have been leaving Canada primarily as a result of the cold, other reasons have led to the exodus, and Canada’s unchecked immigration is one of them. 29 or so Million people and a rapidly aging population make immigration a neccessity, but don’t try to fool us that it comes without significant social cost. Canadians tend to suffer from a milder version of the British stiff upper lip, so becuase they are not talking does not mean that the demonstrated negative practices of bulk immigration are not present in Looney Land. Plus Canada has the expanse of Land so that native Canadians can move further away from the negative effects of their government’s open immigration policies.

40. I love everyone, and I am accustomed to Black, Indian, Chinese, Amerinidan and white and every mixture. Oh I love the English, maybe I will move to Barbados and work at Adrian’s and for free, you see thats the Guyanese spirit in me, and in spite of the fact that every day is turmoil in Guyana. I still love Guyana with all my heart and all her Tajah, Obeah, Umbanda, Hakka, English duck, Bucktuh people. Bye

41. Sister Baby // January 30, 2008 at 8:20 am

I tell you what the difference is, You see Adrian these Indo Guyanese are in reality Afro-Indian Guyanese. The Black culture in Guyana is the dominant culture, and so the Indo Guyanese have had to adapt to that culture, but by the same token they clinging to India, so they get confused. I use to say Guyana is a black country until I went to some Chinese Guyanese home for dinner to discover they had the very same Afro Guyanese traditons as I. And of course the Guyanese accent is technically an African accent, for all Guyanse sound like some one from Ghana. It’s true. Fancy this Guyanse Chinese season their Chinese food with Lea and Perrins worchetershire sauce as opposed to soy sauce.

Sister Baby i am not highlighting Indo-Guyanese in Barbados as the problem out of malice.Whatever the origins of their cultural practice and were the ILLEGAL GUYANESE IN Barbados of a different colour, hue, creed, yeT some how exhibit the same attitudes as the ones that are currently here then my position would not differ other than how i would identify the culprits.

42. Sister Baby // January 30, 2008 at 12:13 pm

I love everyone, and I am accustomed to Black, Indian, Chinese, Amerinidan and white and every mixture. Oh I love the English, maybe I will move to Barbados and work at Adrian’s and for free, you see thats the Guyanese spirit in me, and in spite of the fact that every day is turmoil in Guyana. I still love Guyana with all my heart and all her Tajah, Obeah, Umbanda, Hakka, English duck, Bucktuh people. Bye

I love everyone too. But i do not love all behavours, all attitudes, or all practices. One such behaviour is by those Barbadians who would encourage illegal immigration, and for those immigrants who on arriving in their newly adopted homeland, not to attempt to assimilate, and while i also believe that a free people in a society cannot be force to do anything, here in lies my missgivings about open immigration. The rumoured benefits it brings has many more unintended side effects.

43. Another day, another torrent of racism in BU dressed up as ‘discussion’. The whole question of ethnic tension in Guyana is simply a smokescreen for this sort of diatribe. It’s the same as someones saying, “There’s massive violence in Jamaica so all black people are violent and we should restrict black immigration” or “The US has one of the highest gun crime rates in the world and is mainly white so all white people are gun nuts”. You have the right to your opinions, I have the right to label you homophobic and racist.

44. nonsense // January 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm

Another day, another torrent of racism in BU dressed up as ‘discussion’. The whole question of ethnic tension in Guyana is simply a smokescreen for this sort of diatribe. It’s the same as someones saying, “There’s massive violence in Jamaica so all black people are violent and we should restrict black immigration” or “The US has one of the highest gun crime rates in the world and is mainly white so all white people are gun nuts”. You have the right to your opinions, I have the right to label you homophobic and racist.

ha ha ha ha well you stick to your RIGTHS and “uh gine LEFT yuh tuh own devises”.

The attempted similarities are poorly made. Americans have been at odds with their government for many years over immigration. It mattered little where they were coming from. Don’t be fooled by the high influx of the Irish, who have now assimilated and now exhibit many of the attitudes towards blacks and others that was once directed towards them, by other European Americans. The fact is that concerns about immigration were hardly as prevalent in Barbados 15 years ago as they are today, yet i can remember as boy, the many accents of the many different people living, going school and working around me. I can recall being fascinated with the Caribbean accents and pride myself of being able to distinguish a Kit-titian accent from that of a Antiguan, Vincentian from Grenadian etc., having never left Barbados, not even on a vacation. Immigration concerns in Barbados is a recent phenomenon, and on closer inspection it is as a result of the INDO-GUYANESE, and i go further to state that it is as a result of the attitudes and personality trait of these people. I believe that they have brought their suspicions of Afro-Guyanese to bare on Black Barbadians in Barbados, and that this is the primary reason for the unified position of Barbadians across all classes and profession on these people.

45. I NEVER meant to say Canada is perfect. Lord knows it is FAR from pefect. However it is probably the best model we have for diversity and pluralism in the world right now. And if many Canadians held the same viewpoints on immigration as I have seen here, I would be in trouble, many black people would be, many Asians would be etc etc. However this fear-based attitude does remind me of the immigration policies of Canada in the 1800’s when Canada started seeing (needing) immigrants from outside England and France and Europe. I guess it is a natural initial response.
    Sister Baby- your few stories you have posted about Guyanese and Guyanese Indians IS EXACTLY Stereotyping. One cannot judge an entire people based on the actions of a few- just as ‘nonsense’ pointed out.
    It is almost like a scapegoat attitude- where we seem to be blaming many economic problems (ie unemployment) on a particular group of people.

46. immigration does come with costs- I am not opposed to the idea of Barbados tightening its immigration policy or whatever else. What is shocking and uphauling is the RACIST attitude on this forum against the Guyanese…both Indian and Afro.

47. passing through south Avatar
    passing through south

blacks bring their own problems upon themselves.look around the whole world e.g kenya and point proven.shut up and move on with life.blacks hold back their own selves and cause their own problems, not guyanese or whites or indians

48. Nat don’t you think you should address those particular comments and commentators who have to your mind exhibit, and or uttered racist, xenophobic, and fear mongering comments?, because when you make your blanket statements, such as “this blog” and “Barbados or Barbadians this or that” you are including all of us, and I would like to think that i can defend my positions. Is there something in my comments so far that you can accurately attribute any of those blanket labelS you have thrown up?

1800: how could anything occuring today remind you of that period? where you an eyewitness then? or are you likely to be referencing someone’s else’s account of that time? The convenience for such an association is too easy to make but if challenge will probably be much more difficult to substantiate. want to give a try?

Stereotyping: are you suggesting that stereotying in of itself is bad? what about the truth? If i can prove that the much talk about ebonics is in reality “Toddler speak” spoken by an abundance of African American adults whom it seems have never been taught to correctly pronunce the two FF in the word FiFty or who have pronunce “ASK” as if to say “AXE” (bajans does this too) If i can prove this to be TRUE, why would this particular Stereotyping for telling the truth be a bad thing? 😀 Political correctness may have had good intention when first practice but it has gone to far in allowing all kinds of behaviours that is having untold negative effects in schools, villages, and society as a whole.

49. Nat // January 30, 2008 at 1:46 pm

immigration does come with costs- I am not opposed to the idea of Barbados tightening its immigration policy or whatever else. What is shocking and uphauling is the RACIST attitude on this forum against the Guyanese…both Indian and Afro.
    =============================

Can i recommend that you highlight those offending comments and deal with them, unless you really believe that this forum which includes everyone is guilty,….then i would ask you to lay out your evidence to substantiate your charge.

50. Marginal made some good points. It goes back to the approch that Leroy Trotman enunciated by way of an employment registry which was dismiss out of hand without a cogent explanation as to why this would not be good thing. Leroy Trotman also spoke about a minimum wage, that even illegals would qualify for, but again he was dismissed. He further went on too suggest that caricom should do whatever it can to help Guyana provide an envoirnment AT HOME for it’s citizen since the major reason given for what can only be characterize as “FLIGHT” is the lack of opportunity to make a basic living in Guyana.