image-thumb.pngWe have accepted the suggestion from a BU family member to facilitate discussion on medical matters which is a topic area that should interest us all. Based on exchanges with and between BU family members posted over time, many of you work in the medical field or possess information on various medical issues acquired based on personal circumstance or otherwise. Medical Corner seeks to encourage ANYONE to submit views on medical experiences, new developments in the industry or any related matter which readers feel can serve to educate the BU family.

New Page Added

582 responses to “Medical Corner”

1. Trusted public officials? !!!
    What a double oxymoron.

So do you REALLY not get it, … that such ‘trusted public officials’ are almost exclusively, just a pack of clueless jokers who have NO IDEA of what they are doing …or why?

These people say what they are told to say, or what they think they are EXPECTED to say… But they DO enjoy the otherwise elusive perks, so the game is on.

Skippa, only sheep blindly follow the bleatings of such brass bowls who happen to be at the front of the flock. Human beings are gifted with the power to THINK for themselves. …ESPECIALLY when faced with trojan horses being gifted by those who have been trying for Centuries to exterminate our donkeys.
    …and when these injections are targeted to the HEALTHY and to the Young..
    …experimental???
    …fast tracked???
    …Bill Gates and Anthony Fauci up front?
    …World Health Organisation and NHS???
    …Pfizer and J&J. ??!!!

Not stinking Bushie….Boss!!
    Not even if Pacha tek um!!

Don’t you see the COMMON thread and theme across the WHOLE world – where ‘trusted public officials’ are being used to lead us all down into the depths of destruction..?
    You think that this is s coincidence?
    The Fight is NOT against clueless BBs, BUT against dark SPIRITUAL FORCES in high places…

If EVER there was a time to break away from the flock of BB sheep, and to THINK for oneself, ..that time is NOW…

“…Trusted public officials” INDEED!!
    LOL ha ha ha !!!

Ya mean like the Tire Slasher?
    …or Doo Shiite ?
    Or like Froon and Stinkliar..??
    Steupsss!!

2. Dr, Aaron Kherity as cited by green monkey is a psychiatrist, not a public health specialist or epidemiologist. He is associated with the Ethics and public Policy Center (EPPC) which is a member of the advisory board of Project 2025, a collection of conservative and right-wing policy proposals. Kherity is also associated with the Brownstone Institute which was founded by Jeffrey Albert Tucker [who] organized efforts against COVID-19 restrictions starting in 2020.

3. @Bush Tea

If we cannot trust trusted officials then what?

4. Who said that wunna cannot trust trusted officials Boss?
    Feel free…
    Just not stinking Bushie…

…and as to ‘then what..?’
    Just look around you (or review issues in the Press and on BU) and you will see ‘then what’.
    Minister Humphrey will soon have the largest budget and we will need a homeless shelter and hospital for every parish…
    Not to mention what we can expect in the Middle East, Europe and North America shortly…
    Skippa
    Bushie will trust (and fear) the Creator….. ONLY!

5. @Bush Tea

We tend to muddle temporal with the spiritual.

6. “The Fight is NOT against clueless BBs, BUT against dark SPIRITUAL FORCES in high places…”
    “Not to mention what we can expect in the Middle East, Europe and North America shortly…”
    “Bushie will trust (and fear) the Creator….. ”

theology:
    : the study of religious faith, practice, and experience.
    especially : the study of God and of God’s relation to the world.

what about the half that has never been told
    there are secret texts about religions spiritual dark arts
    it is said that good and bad are the same
    demons and angels are the same
    countries and races employ dark arts of war while pretending they’re doing good
    lying motherfuckers can defeat truth and justify their bullshit with propaganda

7. The COVID-19 plandemic was so “over the top” what exactly was the motivation behind it?

Free to read book: “Covid-19,” Psychological Operations, and the War for Technocracy
    By Rhoda Wilson on December 10, 2024

Camouflaged by “Covid-19,” an undeclared global class war was initiated in 2020, aimed at replacing liberal democracy with technocracy, a novel, biodigital form of totalitarianism.

The opening campaign involved the largest psychological operation in history, intended to demoralise, disorientate and debilitate the public. David A. Hughes book ‘“Covid-19,” Psychological Operations, and the War for Technocracy Volume 1‘deals with the application of shock and stress, trauma-based mind control, the use of fear and threat, cognitive attack, weaponised deception and techniques for turning society against itself.

David A. Hughes is a senior lecturer in International Relations at the School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Lincoln, UK. In his book published in May 2024, he exposes the transnational psychological warfare operation camouflaged by “Covid-19,” identifies World War III seeking to replace liberal democracy with totalitarian technocracy and explores the potential for evil of weaponized neurotechnology.

The book is free to read. You can access a copy to either download or read online HERE.

The following is an abstract of the book generated by Summarist.ai. You can view an AI-generated summary HERE, which is regenerated and changes each time. Please remember that AI is not without its faults. AI is simply a computer program that processes large amounts of data. How good the output of the program is depends on the computer code and the algorithms developed by human programmers, who are not infallible and are subject to the wishes and biases of those who employ them.

Source with embedded hyperlinks here: https://expose-news.com/2024/12/10/free-to-read-book-covid-19-psychological-operations/

8. We tend to muddle temporal with the spiritual.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Excellently phrased!
    Muddle – Confuse, mixup, jumble up…
    Temporal – mundane, temporary, material
    Spiritual – Godly, permanent, real

What a thing nuh!!….to confuse the mundane, temporal, shiity material things around us -that will ALL end with death, or be timed out when Project Life on Earth is ended,
    …with the permanent, real, Godly matters of the SPIRITUAL, which are associated with life that is outside of the boundaries of time..

Would you agree that this level of stupidity is characterized by the global emphasis being placed on ‘rainbow’ agendas of bulling and wicking – that CANNOT create new life, ..while muddling the Creator-prescribed heterosexual agenda that naturally engenders life continuity from generation to generation…?

Even at the mundane level, the battle is between opposing forces, one of which is characterized by an agenda that leads to abundant life…
    While the other clearly leads to dead-ends, mostly via mundane, materialistic, nasty and deviant agendas.

‘Muddle’ is the right term….

9. — The new religion of artificial intelligence is called Way of the Future
    Worshipping this AI deity was seen as a means to understand and align with the future trajectory of technological advancement. WOTF’s doctrine suggested that acknowledging AI’s divinity would facilitate a harmonious coexistence between humans and machines.

Way of the Future. represents an unlikely next act for the Silicon Valley robotics wunderkind at the center of a high-stakes legal battle between Uber and Waymo, Alphabet’s autonomous-vehicle company. Papers filed with the Internal Revenue Service in 2015 name Levandowski as the leader (or “Dean”) of the new religion, as well as CEO of the nonprofit corporation formed to run it.

The documents state that WOTF’s activities will focus on “the realization, acceptance, and worship of a Godhead based on Artificial Intelligence (AI) developed through computer hardware and software.” That includes funding research to help create the divine AI itself. The religion will seek to build working relationships with AI industry leaders and create a membership through community outreach, initially targeting AI professionals and “laypersons who are interested in the worship of a Godhead based on AI.” The filings also say that the church “plans to conduct workshops and educational programs throughout the San Francisco/Bay Area beginning this year.”

“Seeing tools that performed better than experts in a variety of fields was a trigger [for me],” he says. “That progress is happening because there’s an economic advantage to having machines work for you and solve problems for you. If you could make something one percent smarter than a human, your artificial attorney or accountant would be better than all the attorneys or accountants out there. You would be the richest person in the world. People are chasing that.”

Not only is there a financial incentive to develop increasingly powerful AIs, he believes, but science is also on their side. Though human brains have biological limitations to their size and the amount of energy they can devote to thinking, AI systems can scale arbitrarily, housed in massive data centers and powered by solar and wind farms. Eventually, some people think that computers could become better and faster at planning and solving problems than the humans who built them, with implications we can’t even imagine today—a scenario that is usually called the Singularity.
    Michelle Le

Levandowski prefers a softer word: the Transition. “Humans are in charge of the planet because we are smarter than other animals and are able to build tools and apply rules,” he tells me. “In the future, if something is much, much smarter, there’s going to be a transition as to who is actually in charge. What we want is the peaceful, serene transition of control of the planet from humans to whatever. And to ensure that the ‘whatever’ knows who helped it get along.”

With the internet as its nervous system, the world’s connected cell phones and sensors as its sense organs, and data centers as its brain, the ‘whatever’ will hear everything, see everything, and be everywhere at all times. The only rational word to describe that ‘whatever’, thinks Levandowski, is ‘god’—and the only way to influence a deity is through prayer and worship.

The Way of the Future is now a thing of the past

The AI cult called the Way of the Future is now a thing of the past, but chances are it will not be the last religion to worship AI. Its demise calls into question whether an AI god can ever be compelling to the general public.

10. @Bush Tea

We have discussed these matters too many times in this space. Who knows the answer to your questions?

Of all the theories that abound the one that tickles this lowly blogmaster’s fancy is that all organisms live, wither and die. You refer to it as atrophy?

11. @Bush Tea

You are fully aware of the blogmaster’s perspective on these matters which is based on a traditional values mindset. Perhaps the following is not apt but for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction according to Newton. Hopefully humankind possess the inherent intelligence to self correct as time passes.

12. The Racist and Problematic History of the Body Mass Index

Explaining the racist roots behind BMI — and why it’s not the standard of health it’s been made out to be.
    https://getpocket.com/explore/item/the-racist-and-problematic-history-of-the-body-mass-index

the beauty of Culture #africanculture #love
    https://www.youtube.com/shorts/HNC2ORXsGm0

13. To the anti vaxxers on the blog, be careful what you wish for….
    +++++++
    The lawyer helping Robert F. Kennedy Jr. pick federal health officials for the incoming Trump administration has petitioned the government to revoke its approval of the polio vaccine, which for decades has protected millions of people from a virus that can cause paralysis or death.

https://www.nytimes.com/2024/12/13/health/aaron-siri-rfk-jr-vaccines.html

14. A month ago I got a covid-19 vaccine and a seniors flu shot.

I am 72 years old and responsible for the decisions I make.

15. I will get my flu shot at my next medical appointment. I spend a lot of time around “germ factories” lol!!!, that is li’l grandchildren and their friends, so I gotta be careful.

16. One of my children was injured on the job yesterday, on open wound, fortunately not life altering nor life threatening. Went to a medical facility and was treated including being given a tetanus vaccine, the previous vaccine having been given in 2015. I am glad for the excellent science based care given. It was about 1966 when one of my cousins fell off his bicycle and suffered scrapes. He was 19 and died a few weeks later of tetanus. We were raised in the same gap, he 3 houses away from me.

For me the issue of vaccines is not theoretical. It is real. It is practical. It is a life and death matter. I have known too many people, especially the rural poor who have died from vaccine preventable diseases. It pains me now to see that the rich and privileged are using their power to undermine confidence in the effectiveness of vaccines.

It is my hope that a special place in hell is reserved for such people.

17. I trust that people will remember that those wealthy boomers leading the anti-vax movements have all themselves been vaccinated as children, and that furthermore if their children or grandchildren should become ill that the rich and powerful have the money and power to ensure that their family has access to the best possible care.

Poor people really have to stop letting rich people fool them.

18. Poor people really have to stop letting rich people fool them.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Steupsss!!
    What the Hell does your cousin dying from lack of a tetanus vaccine have to do with a global rollout of an experimental, untested, MRNA, laboratory researched bioweapon?

Actually, Simpletons, like Bushmen, should understand that ‘ a little learning is a dangerous thing’, and refrain for pontificating on matters that are above their pay grade.

Firstly-
    The Covid19 injection is NOT and never qualified as a VACCINE as traditionally defined. The demons literally CHANGED the definition of the medical term ‘Vaccine’ so that they could refer to the C19 injection as such, and lull the gullible (who REFUSE to think for themselves,) to ASSUME that it was a genuine vaccine.

Second-
    Most persons understand that GENUINE vaccines made a great difference in reducing mortality and suffering over the ages. Most ALSO understand that while this is so, THERE ARE USUALLY SOME CASUALTIES associated with any vaccine – such that there may be a small number of reactions resulting in injury or death.
    Obviously, some people will be directly affected and may become ‘anti-vaxers’, even though many more benefit, than the few that were hurt.
    BUT the casualties with the C19 injection have been astronomical, and continue to rise…

The C19 injection
    – Did NOT prevent the recipient getting or spreading Covid
    – Came with unprecedented rates of patient injuries and deaths
    – Did not prevent future re-infection of the injected person
    – Had serious and significant side-effects on special groups such as the pregnant
    – Was nowhere as effective as they were promoted to be, by using misleading RELATIVE efficacies.
    ….AND ALL THIS WAS KNOWN TO THE DRUG DEMONS PRIOR TO PUBLIC RELEASE, and they tried to hide the info from public view for 50 years.

If simple persons who cannot be bothered to properly understand the issues, now want to create STRAWMEN called ‘anti-vaxers’ – on the basis that such persons OPPOSED C19 INJECTIONS (that were NOT vaccines), then so be it! Have fun….

If you were wise, you would spend some time to research the available PROTOCOLS that can possibly assist in REVERSING the damage that has been inflicted on your body in your service to science as a guinea pig….
    cause…
    It is probably only God’s mercies, and the lotta ‘Mary J’ smoke that you catch the ZRs to inhale, that keeping your donkey vertical….

19. Some of us seem inclined to redux the substance of any topic posted.

20. For some unknown reason, today I went for the flu and pneumonia vaccine.
    COVID 19 vaccine are now a no-no for me.

I think the individual has to pick and choose what vaccine to take. I am in the middle of the road, between BT, John and Hants

21. I have never taken a flu shot not even when teaching the snotty, clingy little brats. My genes offer strong protection through my immune system. I will not take a covid vaccine again until a more deadly variant reappears.

I took a few shots back in the deadly days. Never had any symptoms from the shot or the disease. None of my immediate family members did.

Still alive with no ill effects!

Those here who profess to receive wisdom from on high don’t know one ass more than I do. They just listen to their ego and a conspiracy theorist voice in their head.

My champagne glass and bubbly are ready for the third annual Sage my Ass celebration. January 1st, 2025, anyone?

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

22. You may be much younger than I am.

When one reaches the ages of 60+, you become bombarded with medical warnings and suggestions.

It is difficult to not do anything.

23. I have not had a cough, cold or flu, since I almost died in 1992 from the ‘swine flu’. My Dr. insists I take the flu shot because of my age and a chronic condition. I have had the pneumonia and shingles vaccine. I had chicken pox at 35 and was the laughing stock of the office. People wanted to know how I grew up without catching it. I told them we had no such diseases in Barbados. I had a Covid shot and was not allowed to enter restaurants, etc, without proof of a booster. I decided I am taking no more. My time will come when my ticket is pulled.

24. @dame bajans December 14, 2024 at 1:52 pm “I had chicken pox at 35 and was the laughing stock of the office. People wanted to know how I grew up without catching it.”

I didn’t get the chicken pox either until I was 26 and been living in the great white north for 3 years. The same happened with 2 of my sisters at different times, in different northern countries. I knew of 1 child in my rural elementary school who had chicken pox back in the 1950’s. I’ve since read somewhere that the chicken pox virus tends to attack when the body is short of vitamin D, which is why it is uncommon in equatorial regions, but common in the north especially in late winter/early spring when there has been no sun shining on the skin for months at a time. I got mine in mid-February. As it happens after 4 days at a new job. Very inconvenient. Still here, three score and ten and more and feeling good.

25. @Donna December 14, 2024 at 11:21 am “I have never taken a flu shot not even when teaching the snotty, clingy little brats.”

The little munchkins were immunizing you for free, Lol!

26. David
    December 10, 2024 at 7:28 am

The blogmaster recalls members of the public were warned to consult with their doctor before taking Covid vaccine if they had medical concerns.

I did!!!

He nearly had a conniption when I did not take his advice!!

Thank God I did not.

27. Be merry, but moderate

The following article was written and submitted by family physician Dr C. V. Alert.

The festive season is upon us, bringing celebrations and indulgence for many of us (whether we have been naughty or nice in 2024). Too many of us eat more and drink more alcohol than we should.

It’s the little extras at Christmas that can result in a weight gain that may be hard to shift in the new year. Many of our chronic non-communicable diseases (NCDs) are triggered by overweight and obesity, so overindulgence can and does have a negative effect on health. Obesity leads to hypertension, diabetes, high cholesterol and many cancers. In turn, these lead to hospital admissions and your own invitation to the local cemetery.

Most of our non-hungry eating occurs during social occasions, as a response to our emotions (when we are sad, bored, lonely, happy) or just because the food is there. The holiday season is the perfect time to recognise these triggers and try to substitute other activities instead of overindulging. You could call friends/family, do some of that Christmas preparation, read a book or clean up around the house. Better yet, have a glass of water – 80 per cent of the time we might feel hungry, we are often thirsty.

Many people think that indulging in food and drinks during the Christmas and New Year season may not seem like much of a big deal as they only come once a year. However, one should still practise the principles of healthier eating to reduce the risk of unwanted weight gain.

Empty stomach

Some tips to help you stay in shape during this festive season.

In planning for parties and family gatherings. Fill up beforehand. If you are concerned about your weight, and/or if you already have an NCD, avoid going to a party on an empty stomach. Before leaving home, eat a high-fibre snack such as a fruit or a few pieces of crackers to help curb your appetite and prevent over-eating.

Conversely, skipping meals makes you more likely to binge – eating far beyond comfortable fullness next time food is available. Stick to your regular meals leading up to any holiday gathering. Start every day right by eating a healthy breakfast. This reduces the chance that you would over-indulge later in the day. Also, make sure you drink adequate amounts of water during each day.

• Eat slowly: The brain takes about 20 minutes to register fullness. Therefore, enjoy your meals by savouring the flavour of each bite.

• Remember fruits and vegetables: Most fruit and vegetables are high in fibre, vitamins and minerals. Start your meals with a generous helping of fresh salad, but avoid creamy dressings. Choose fresh fruit for dessert.

• Go easy on fat: Over-consumption of fat may lead to rapid weight gain. Limit your consumption of food with cheese as part of the main ingredients (for example, macaroni pie, pizza), fried foods (for example, fried chicken, fish) as well as poultry skin and visible fat on meat (pork crackling).

Serving size

• Control your serving size: Focus on the quality and not the quantity of food. Eat small amounts of it and avoid going for seconds. Go easy on desserts.

• Limit your alcohol and sugar sweetened beverage intake: These liquids can contribute to weight gain (apart from the intoxication concerns). Use a small(er) glass. Request plain water, sparkling mineral water, or sugar-free soft drinks. Beware of large quantities of juices that claim to be unsweetened and festival favourites like sorrel and ginger beer.

• Give yourself permission to eat all foods: When you restrict certain foods, you often want them more.

Concentrate on the food when you are eating. Eat slowly and thoughtfully, and enjoy. Take away distractions, sit down (if you can), eat dinner at the table, turn off the TV, put down the book, turn off your phone and savour your food – actually tasting it.

• Don’t eat just to get a “belly full”: Skipping meals before or after a function also leads to hunger and subsequent overeating.

Special warning. Scientists have found that individuals who eat more ultra-processed foods – such as packaged snacks, fizzy drinks, reconstituted meat products (for example, sausages, luncheon meat, corned beef) and instant noodles – show signs of accelerated ageing compared to those who consume fewer of these heavily manufactured food items.

• Keep moving: The most important thing to do throughout all the festivals of food is to try to keep up exercise. Get back to your exercise plan, whether it is early morning walking, going to the gym, doing line dancing, whatever type of exercise you enjoy, you must keep it up during this festive season. Getting plenty of sleep and exercise helps keep you sharp and able to get the most from life at this busy but festive time of year.

The recommendation for exercise by the American Association of Sports Medicine (and other international bodies) is that adults should strive for 150 minutes per week of moderate intensity aerobic activity for general health maintenance. This works out to be a minimum of 30 minutes a day for five days each week.

While the festival season does not usually conjure up visions of healthy living, unfortunately, experience tells us that the excesses in eating and drinking puts many people on a pathway to both short- and long-term health problems. By carefully planning your activities during the season and not merely waiting for New Year’s Day to make a new set of resolutions, this festive season can be both happy and healthy. But be moderate.

28. Health industry under the microscope

On December 4, Luigi Mangione, a 26-year-old American man, shot health insurance executive Brian Thompson dead, execution style.

The suspected motive is anger over tactics which insurance companies use to avoid paying out claims to their clients. Since the brutal murder, an outpouring of vitriol against insurance companies has been unleashed as well as a flood of fandom aimed at Mangione.

Emotions are bubbling because of the feeling that health insurance companies are literally playing with people’s lives. Health insurance agencies have been dealing with the wave of rage being expressed online by instituting extra security measures, even taking photos of their executive teams down from websites. Dr Sachin H. Jain, the chief executive officer of SCAN Group and SCAN Health Plan told reporters, “It’s a moment of reckoning for the health care industry, more broadly . . . We’ve unmasked a sentiment that things need to change”. It is so sad that it took this tragedy to bring about that realisation.

Something needs to change. Fines have been the go-to method for forcing companies and corporations to be more socially responsible and ethical.

But that doesn’t seem to be enough.

The health industry seems to be particularly problematic.

Pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline was fined $3 billion in 2012. Coming in at number two is Pfizer for $2.3 billion in 2009. Fines against pharmaceutical companies cover a range of wrong doings, from making false claims, not reporting safety data, illegal marketing and giving kickbacks to medical professionals.

Last year Britain’s Astrazeneca agreed to pay $425 million to settle about 11 000 lawsuits in the United States that claimed its heartburn drugs Nexium and Prilosec caused chronic kidney disease. The company is facing two lawsuits in London over alleged adverse reactions to its COVID-19 shot. In the United States, authorities in two states have filed suit against Pfizer. One case is claiming it overstated the effectiveness of its COVID jab and the other is demanding the release of records showing what evidence led to the FDA approving the drug.

In even more recent news, marketing firm McKinsey and pharmaceutical company Purdue have both received huge fines for their role in fuelling an opioid addiction crisis in the US. The two companies conspired to knowingly push highly addictive and dangerous prescription drugs throughout society.

In a statement, McKinsey said, “We should have appreciated the harm opioids were causing in our society”.

While health insurance companies are understandably taking actions to protect their employees, the shocking actions of corporations which are meant to be looking after health, should make us pause and ask, who is protecting citizens from big businesses like them?

The obvious answer would be doctors, but the accusations of kickbacks and incentives from drug companies loom. Governments? The divide between the US government and the big pharmaceutical companies has been called “a revolving door”.

One analysis found that over 300 former congressional staffers work for pharmaceutical companies or their lobbying firms and more than a dozen former drug industry employees now work on Capitol Hill, the seat of US government. What about the media? The health care industry is reported to be the fourth to fifth top source of advertising revenue for the media industry. In some cases, pharmaceutical companies spend more on advertising and marketing than they do on research and development.

A big topic of conversation has been boosted by Robert Kennedy Junior who is President Donald Trump’s controversial pick for the head of the Department of Health and Human Services. One of the least controversial positions Kennedy holds is that big food manufacturing companies have long intentionally produced and marketed foods that are unhealthy and have used their money and influence to prevent health policies that would encourage healthier foods and eating.

In short, the picture emerging looks like Big Food is making you sick with unhealthy and addictive foods, Big Pharma is capitalising on your ill health with sometimes questionable drugs and marketing practices and the health insurance companies are weaselling out of their responsibility to help you cover the cost.

How does a nation like Barbados, on the periphery of power and influence, where chronic non-communicable diseases and general health are a major problem, deal with this issue?

Source Nation

29. “…..pause and ask, who is protecting citizens from big businesses like them?
    The obvious answer would be doctors….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Murduh!!
    Obvious???!!!
    Wait for doctors to protect wunna.
    If people were all as healthy as could be, then doctors would be driving swifts and living with their parents….
    Boss the ONLY protection is your own COMMON SENSE and the personal CHOICE to turn to the CREATOR for your guidance.

Only damn SHEEP are always looking for some BB wolf to ‘protect’ them, and to lead them to green pastures.

Robert Kennedy is an outlier who is much to direct and honest for his own good. The (evil) system will deal with him. Meanwhile, brassbowls will continue to be used and exploited by all and sundry – UNTIL they finally discover their TRUE value.

What a world!
    Where the first is last, and the last, first.

30. Dr. Mark Trozzi: How They Faked a Pandemic. Exploring the manipulation behind PCR tests and fear narratives.

The PCR Test: Foundation of the Scam
    In examining how the global response to COVID-19 unfolded, one cannot overlook the pivotal role of PCR testing. The very tool used to justify lockdowns, mandates, and “vaccines” was fundamentally flawed. Even the test’s inventor, Kary Mullis, warned that it was never meant to diagnose infectious diseases. Instead, it was weaponized to generate fear and compliance, creating what some call a “pandemic of PCR tests,” not an actual pandemic of disease.

PCR tests work by amplifying genetic material, doubling it with each cycle. With enough cycles—beyond the recommended 27—they can detect virtually anything. During the COVID-19 response, countries like Canada ran up to 43 cycles, yielding an overwhelming number of false positives. According to data from Germany’s Robert Koch Institute, these tests produced up to 86% false positives, leading to the illusion of widespread infection.

Was There Ever a Pandemic?
    If we strip away the hysteria and false positives, the picture becomes clear: COVID-19 never approached the lethality or spread required to justify the measures taken. Respiratory infection peaks during 2019 and 2023 ranked higher in severity than the worst peaks attributed to COVID-19. What we faced was not a pandemic of disease but a carefully orchestrated narrative designed to justify unprecedented measures.

The Role of “Vaccines”
    At the heart of this agenda was the rollout of experimental genetic injections misrepresented as “vaccines.” These injections, purportedly designed to “vaccinate” individuals by instructing their cells to produce toxic spike proteins, caused a cascade of health issues. The push for mass vaccination relied heavily on PCR-based data, enabling governments to claim high infection rates and stoke fear.

The endgame was clear: enforce compliance with a flawed solution to a problem manufactured by the misuse of testing technology. The consequences, both immediate and long-term, have been catastrophic for public health.

More:
    https://www.drtrozzi.news/p/how-they-faked-a-pandemic?utm_source=post-email-title&publication_id=1972999&post_id=152777294&utm_campaign=email-post-title&isFreemail=false&r=o3ikk&triedRedirect=true&utm_medium=email

31. @Sargeant: Is RFK’s lawyer really seeking to “ban the polio vaccine”? Here is a press release regarding your concerns (posted upthread on Dec 13th) that RFK Jr. acting through a sympathetic lawyer Aaron Siri wants to ban the polio vaccine and will presumably find it easier to do so when the Trump Administration takes charge in January. This accusation was originally posted in the New York Times and repeated ad infinitum in the usual lamestream media, propaganda regurgitating outlets.

Note that Aaron Siri acts as attorney for a US based organization, the Informed Consent Action Network (ICAN), which acts to promote awareness in patients and medical practitioners re. the principle of ethically and legally requiring a fully Informed Consent from patients (or their legal guardians) before administering drugs, vaccines, and/or medical procedures.

Here is the ICAN press release:

ICAN Addresses Misrepresentations in NYT Article on Polio Vaccine Petition

Austin, TX — Informed Consent Action Network (ICAN) and its lead attorney, Aaron Siri, Esq., have responded to a recent New York Times article that misrepresents ICAN’s 2022 petition to the FDA regarding the polio vaccine known as IPOL. The article inaccurately claims that Mr. Siri personally “petitioned the government to revoke its approval of the polio vaccine,” an assertion that distorts both the purpose and scope of the petition.

ICAN’s petition calls for the FDA to revoke the approval of IPOL, but only for infants and children and only until a proper clinical trial is conducted. The petition highlights significant safety concerns about IPOL’s licensure process in 1990, which relied on trials reviewing safety for only three days post-injection—a standard that falls far short of federal requirements for vaccine approval.

Contrary to public perception, IPOL is not the same vaccine developed by Jonas Salk or Albert Sabin. Instead, it is produced using new technology, including virus growth on modified monkey kidney cells, which behave similarly to cancer cells. These details are outlined in ICAN’s petition, which is publicly available for review: Read the Petition. (link at source /GM)

The Facts Behind ICAN’s Petition

Safety Review Concerns: FDA documents confirm that IPOL’s safety was assessed for only three days after injection in pediatric trials.

Technological Differences: Unlike earlier polio vaccines, IPOL utilizes “vero cells,” which are continuous monkey kidney cells with modified chromosomes. These cells are susceptible to infection by various viruses, raising concerns about long-term safety.

FDA’s Lack of Evidence: ICAN submitted Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests for clinical trial reports supporting IPOL’s safety. The documents provided by the FDA did not adequately address these concerns.

Public Health and Transparency
    ICAN’s petition is a reasonable request to ensure that vaccines administered to children meet rigorous safety standards. With childhood chronic diseases increasing from 13% in the 1980s to over 50% today—many of which are immune-related—ensuring the safety of vaccines is more important than ever.

Instead of addressing these legitimate safety concerns, the NYT article uses fear-based anecdotes, such as a 2022 case of vaccine-derived polio paralysis, while omitting critical context: the last wild polio case in the United States was in 1979. Moreover, according to the CDC, while inactivated polio vaccines like IPOL prevent disease symptoms, they do not stop transmission of the virus.

ICAN stands firm in its commitment to ensuring vaccine safety and transparency. The organization urges the NYT to uphold journalistic integrity by revising its misleading coverage and addressing the substantive concerns raised in ICAN’s petition.

https://icandecide.org/press-release/ican-addresses-misrepresentations-in-nyt-article-on-polio-vaccine-petition/

Note that it is a newer version of the polio vaccine, i.e. IPOL (and not all polio vaccines), that ICAN seeks to withdraw for use on children, because of inadequate safety testing and lack of transparency to the public regarding the results of the inadequate testing that was performed prior to its authorization.

32. @GreenMonkey December 17, 2024 at 12:34 am “…the pivotal role of PCR testing. The very tool used to justify lockdowns, mandates, and “vaccines” was fundamentally flawed. Even the test’s inventor, Kary Mullis, warned that it was never meant to diagnose infectious diseases. Instead, it was weaponized to generate fear and compliance, creating what some call a “pandemic of PCR tests,” not an actual pandemic of disease.”

Actually I did not need to take a PCR test to know that something was very wrong with me. On a Friday afternoon I felt a little warm. By 2 the next morning I had a raging fever which disturbed my sleep. For the first time in my more than 70 years I got up at that time to take a cold shower and some acetaminophen in order to cool myself down. The PCR test taken about 9 that morning only confirmed what I was already EXPERIENCING. And “no” I wasn’t afraid. I don’t fear easily.

33. @GreenMonkey December 17, 2024 at 10:00 am “…ICAN’s petition calls for the FDA to revoke the approval of IPOL, but only for infants and children and only until a proper clinical trial is conducted.”

Since infants and children are the principle people who [with the consent of their loving parents] get the polio vaccine, sensible people understand that an FDA ban would be in effect a ban on the vaccine. Maybe you are too young to remember when every village in Barbados had an “invalee” or two crippled for life after a bout with polio.

And isn’t it true that ICAN’s idea of a “proper clinical trial” is to use the double blind method when some infants/children get the real polio vaccine and other infants get a placebo? Sensible people know that some infants will get polio and will become disabled and some will die if polio vaccine is withheld from them, if they are given a placebo instead of a polio vaccine.

Why are you guys so invested in the killing in killing innocents?

34. Celebrated US vaccinologist admitted the “vaccines are safe and effective” mantra lacks studies necessary to back that promise with scientific rigor.

Latest News Reports Claim Vaccines Are Safe — But That’s Not What the ‘Godfather of Vaccines’ Said Six Months Ago

What almost all of the latest news reports neglect to mention is that one of the country’s staunchest, most high-profile defenders of vaccine safety — known in some circles as the “godfather of vaccines” — published a paper six months ago that undermines the CDC and FDA “safe and effective” narrative.

President-elect Donald Trump’s nomination last month of Robert F. Kennedy Jr. to lead the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has reignited the public debate about vaccine safety and triggered an avalanche of mainstream news reports on the topic.

For the most part, media outlets have repeated the narrative promulgated by U.S. public health agencies that vaccines are “safe and effective.” End of story. No nuance, no citing of actual vaccine safety trials.

What almost all of the latest news reports neglect to mention is that about six months ago, one of the country’s staunchest, most high-profile defenders of vaccine safety — known in some circles as the “godfather of vaccines” — published a paper suggesting that the “safe and effective” narrative isn’t as ironclad as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) claim.

In an article published in July in the New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM), Dr. Stanley A. Plotkin, vaccinologist and emeritus professor of pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania, and his co-authors identified gaps in vaccine safety testing, inadequacies in vaccine clinical trials and a lack of scientific knowledge about the biological mechanisms causing many common vaccine-related injuries.

The authors wrote:

“Postauthorization studies are needed to fully characterize the safety profile of a new vaccine, since prelicensure clinical trials have limited sample sizes, follow-up durations, and population heterogeneity.”

Plotkin’s NEJM paper didn’t make mainstream media headlines. However, some in the medical field took note.

“This admission comes after decades of the medical establishment insisting that vaccines are among the most thoroughly studied and safest medical interventions,” Dr. Joseph Mercola wrote in August, calling the paper a “stunning reversal” of decades of claims insisting vaccines are safe and dismissing safety concerns.

More:
    https://childrenshealthdefense.org/defender/media-vaccine-safety-dr-stanley-plotkin-study/?utm_source=luminate&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=defender&utm_id=20241217

Here is an example of what can go wrong when undertested vaccines are allowed into a market.

Gates vaccine spreads polio across Africa
    F. William Engdahl
    New Eastern Outlook
    Mon, 28 Sep 2020

The vaccine industry loves to cite development of vaccines in the 1950s as solely responsible for eradicating what was a severe paralytic illness that reached a peak in the USA after World War II and as well, in England, Germany and other European countries. Now, despite the fact that no new cases of “wild polio” virus have been detected in all Africa since 2016, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and their allies in the WHO proclaimed that Gates’ $4 billion ten-year African vaccination campaign using an oral polio vaccine had finally eliminated the dreaded polio. That was at the end of August.

One week later on September 2, WHO was forced to backtrack and admit that new polio outbreaks in Sudan were linked to an ongoing series of new polio cases in Chad and Cameroon. According to the WHO, further polio cases have been registered in more than a dozen African countries including Angola, Congo, Nigeria and Zambia. But the shocking thing is that the outbreaks are all reportedly caused by the Gates-backed oral polio vaccine.

In a revealing comment, a CDC virologist involved with WHO and Gates Foundation in the Africa mass polio vaccination campaign, part of something called the Global Polio Eradication Initiative, admits the vaccine is creating significantly more cases of polio paralysis than the deceptively named “wild polio” disease. “We have now created more new emergences of the virus than we have stopped,” virologist Mark Pallansch of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention admitted. The Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) is a combined effort of the WHO, UNICEF, the U.S. CDC, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and Rotary International.

SNIP

When someone asked him, why polio, which had all but vanished worldwide, Gates replied, “Polio is a terrible disease.”

That reply seems curious, as there are far more pervasive deadly diseases out there including malaria or chronic diarrhoea due to unsafe water, and poor sanitation across Africa that causes death by dehydration, poor absorption of nutrients or infectious complications. I would argue that both those are also “terrible.” In 2016 chronic diarrhoea was listed by the WHO as the second leading cause of death in children below five worldwide. In Africa it was cause of almost 653,000 deaths, yet Mr. Gates and friends seem to be interested in other things.

The insistence of Gates on pushing massive vaccination of a new oral polio vaccine his foundation backed at a time polio even in poor countries of Asia and Africa is virtually non-existent, should ring alarm bells loudly. If his goal is to help more African children lead healthy lives, simple water treatment projects would save far more lives. Or is there something in the polio vaccine we are not being told of? Is there aluminum as adjuvant that is documented to be a central nervous system paralytic? Or other toxins?

More:
    https://www.sott.net/article/442262-Gates-vaccine-spreads-polio-across-Africa

35. Protecting our children: The danger of the Anti-vax movement – Part 2 – written by Paula-Anne Moore  Updated by Barbados Today 22/12/2024 

There is a wealth of reputable peer-reviewed studies which have confirmed the very small risk of complications from vaccines is far outweighed by their benefits of protection from either infection, or serious complications and even death from vaccine-preventable illnesses.

There is growing evidence that COVID-19 is not ‘just a cold/flu’, even if now less acutely dangerous than the earlier variants. Multiple exposures of our children (and all of us) to its infection, due to the current ‘let it rip’ public health policy worldwide, appear to have serious negative impact on the immune system, leading to increasing rates of other diseases post-COVID-19 infection, as well as increased incidence of long COVID-19. I fear that we will look back with significant regret at how little we protected our children, via vaccination, masking, improvement in indoor air quality and ventilation in high-risk settings.  Pregnant women and babies in utero are still at much higher risk of poor, sometimes devastating, outcomes from COVID-19 infection. In the UK and some EU countries in 2022 – 2023, there were unusual outbreaks of, and death from, severe invasive Group A strep, scarlet fever, RSV and fungal infections in (largely C19-unvaccinated) children. There is growing evidence that this may be due in significant part to COVID-19’s negative effect on the immune system, or ‘immune dysregulation or dysfunction’ (nature.com). Children can be COVID-19 transmission vectors to more vulnerable family members at home, especially with so many Bajans being at high risk of COVID-19 complications, having one or more of: high blood pressure, diabetes, obesity, cardio-vascular disease and asthma.

Advertisement

A 2024 international study reveals that ‘the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein remains in brain-protective tissues and skull bone marrow for years after infection, potentially driving long COVID-19’s neurological symptoms’. The mRNA COVID-19 vaccines were shown to reduce this spike protein accumulation by 50 per cent  (neurosciencenews.com). Globally, 50 – 60 per cent  of the population has been infected with COVID-19, with 5 – 10 per cent, approximately 400 million, experiencing long COVID, a huge long-term societal cost.

The increased incidents in many countries of strokes, heart attacks and other sudden medical crises, often from blood clots, including in younger people, are being linked by reputable research as significant evidence that COVID-19 is a vascular disease – and not that the COVID-19 vaccine is the cause, as some anti-vaxxers believe. Instead, it is estimated that 63 per cent, or nearly 20 million, in total global deaths, from COVID-19, were averted during the first year of C19 vaccination ending December 2021 (The Lancet).

If Robert Kennedy Jr, perhaps the most famous antivaxxer, is confirmed as head of the US Health and Human Services Department (HHS), it is frankly terrifying to contemplate the ‘credibility’, global power and platform that that position will give: the turbo-boosting of the toxic combination of anti-establishment, antivax, pro-conspiracy and anti-real science perspective. It ‘validates and enshrines public mistrust of government health programmes’ (Dr Paul Offit, paediatrician, Director of Vaccine Education Center, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia). Kennedy said in 2024 “There’s no vaccine that is…safe and effective” and that he opposes mandatory school-entry vaccinations, as he believes ‘parents should have the right to choose’.  He thinks that COVID-19 was racially genetically engineered, the result of a global conspiracy. He has repeatedly claimed that vaccines are linked to autism, part of another global conspiracy. He has long questioned vaccines’ efficacy in protecting against diseases — statements that have been consistently refuted by decades of overwhelming scientific evidence. He has argued that 5G towers lead to cancer and are designed to collect user data and control behaviour. He promoted unapproved medicines –  eg  Ivermectin – for COVID-19.  He does not think HIV causes AIDS.

Executing RFK Jr’s antivax views as new US public health policy, with the influence that will have in Barbados, and globally, on public health, threatens to undo one of the greatest successes of modern medicine: childhood vaccinations and their eradication (smallpox) and near-eradication (polio) of diseases which used to kill millions, leaving even more to suffer.  When we recall the massive 2019 measles epidemic in Samoa which killed more than 80, many babies and toddlers, due to parental antivax fears amplified personally by Kennedy, it is no surprise that a former US FDA Commissioner, Scott Gottlieb has said that Kennedy will ‘cost lives’, if he leads US HHS.

Antivaccine activism accelerated during the COVID-19 era and has spilled over to childhood immunisations. The US is a cautionary tale: 2022 – Poliovirus detected in NY State’s wastewater; 2023-24 -5x rise in pertussis; 2024 – 16 reported measles outbreaks; 2021-22 saw approx 200,000 needless deaths from refusing COVID-19 immunisations. (Professor Peter Hotez, paediatrician, advocate, global health, vaccinology).

Barbados, a small open society with a high degree of international travel by locals, so heavily dependent on international tourism, with an under-resourced public health system, is particularly vulnerable to the importation of measles and other contagious diseases. We have endured the annual flareup of COVID-19 during our busy winter tourism season; it is very unfortunate that our government has apparently ceased its COVID-19 vaccination programme.  Many of us still wish to protect ourselves, particularly given our significant numbers and percentage of the elderly and those with NCDs. The public also knows little about the antiviral options available.

Public health officials need a targeted, sustained, persuasive and yes, aggressive, multimedia communication campaign, if the antivax messaging war is to be won. This must occur, backed by the power of the state, its vaccination surveillance and enforcement programmes, to ensure that parents cannot successfully decline to protect their children for non-medical reasons, especially as part of our school entry requirements.  We must have a multipronged communication strategy to provide real scientific facts from reputable sources, to regain public trust in government authority figures and the medical community.

We pray it is not too late.

36. We all know how America has experimented with their black population over the centuries. One example was the forty year Tuskegee Syphilis Study.

Does America have any bio labs in the Caribbean?

https://www.rt.com/africa/609863-moscow-us-biolab-activities-africa/

37. Sahara dust.

38. The fine balancing act required of vaccine scientists as explained by a medical doctor:

Vaccines inevitably contain toxic ingredients placed in vaccine solutions to make them work effectively. Individuals have different level of tolerance to toxins, consequently there will always be those who suffer a negative response to a vaccine, that can range from minor (perhaps a sore arm for a day or so) to at worse, a long-lasting, painful, and debilitating auto-immune disease or death..

The problem for the vaccine maker is to produce a vaccine that is strong enough to provide immunity or some level of benefit (reduction in severity of symptoms) to the vast majority of recipients and yet not so strong that it creates excessive harm in those that will experience a negative reaction. The problem for governments and businesses that want to impose vaccine mandates on citizens or employees for the “greater good”, is that according to the Nuremberg code, it is unethical (or in some countries that have given the force of law to the Nuremberg Code, illegal) to force anyone to take any medical procedure or participate in any medical experiment unless they first give their own, informed consent after being fully informed of the benefits and the possible harms that could result.

In a recent post, the anonymous “Midwestern Doctor” posting on the free speech promoting, substack platform de-concocts in greater detail the vaccine making process and explains in layperson’s terms this difficult balancing act vaccinologists have to perform to ensure that a vaccine will do the most good for the greatest number of people and the minimum harm to those who will inevitably experience a bad reaction to that vaccine.

Here are a few paragraphs from the article posted by substack blogger “Midwestern Doctor” linked below. Note that for the most part this article is written for a lay audience without an advanced or academic knowledge of subjects like biochemistry or immunology”

Why Does the COVID Vaccine Persist In The Body?
    The consequences of the questionable decisions made to manufacture the mRNA vaccines
    A Midwestern Doctor
    Dec 24

SNIP

Due to the challenges in producing it, the DTP vaccine (another killed bacterial vaccine) was notorious for having hot lots that killed their recipients (or left them with brain damage). In fact, one FDA pertussis specialist in 1976 stated:

“Pertussis vaccine is one of the more troublesome products to produce and assay. As an example of this, pertussis vaccine has one of the highest failure rates of all products submitted to the Bureau of Biologies for testing and release. Approximately 15-20 percent of all lots which pass the manufacturer’s tests fail to pass the Bureau’s tests.

Eventually, the injuries that vaccine created led to so many lawsuits that the manufactures could not afford to continue producing the vaccine, at which point, the 1986 Vaccine Injury Act was passed. This shielded the manufactures from all future liability from it (hence allowing them to stay in business), and eventually incentivized the production of a safer but more costly pertussis vaccine.

Frequently when an antigen is produced, it cannot solicit a sufficient immune response (unless a lot of it is used—which frequently makes the vaccine too costly to produce). To solve this problem, cheap (and toxic) adjuvants which enhance the immune response to the antigen are used, thereby allowing an affordable amount of antigen to be required for the final product. When the HPV vaccine was developed, it was discovered that its antigen (along with standard adjuvants) could not mount a sufficient immune response to get FDA approval, so a decision was made to use an experimental (but much stronger adjuvant) which worked—but also gave a large number of recipients autoimmune disorders (at least 2.3%). Nonetheless, that trade-off was also accepted to get it to market.

In short, if you look at all these cases, a consistent pattern should be clear. Whenever there is a choice between getting a dangerous vaccine to market or holding off because there isn’t a way to do it safely, the vaccine industry will always do the risky approach (especially in “emergency” situations) as they know they can unconditionally rely upon the US government to promote the product as “safe and effective” and then legally shield them from the disaster which inevitably follows.

Source:
    https://www.midwesterndoctor.com/p/why-does-the-covid-vaccine-persist?utm_source=post-email-title&publication_id=748806&post_id=153473950&utm_campaign=email-post-title&isFreemail=false&r=o3ikk&triedRedirect=true&utm_medium=email

39. Paula-Anne Moore and Barbados Today should stick to bashing CXC and MoE where they are comfortable beating up on these two retards.

Defending Covid injections requires a much higher paygrade.

Simple question…
    If the Injections AVERTED such high levels of Covid deaths, – as suggested in the graph, then what accounts for the even HIGHER levels of death aversion in those places where the vaccines could not be afforded, and where the Demons were unsuccessful in forcing their use while indebting the recipient countries?

RFK is an intelligent thinker and outlier who sees the wickedness of this world as it is, and (mistakenly) thinks that he can do something about it.

40. I see the Brits faced with soaring COVID again and urged to self isolate this Christmas.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/other/flunami-warning-as-brits-told-to-self-isolate-for-christmas-after-surge-in-covid-flu-and-norovirus-cases/ar-AA1wsEAq?ocid=msedgntp&pc=W069&cvid=a3ce89ac999847e1ac827a4f63834162&ei=42

Bound to happen given the floods late last month.

Guess we will face it next month as tourist arrivals soar.

Vaccine can’t work if the virus is being ingested in some areas by the water we drink and do our daily ablutions if it is provided by “treatment”.

Dosage just too big via water.

41. On the brighter side, some good test matches starting tonight.

42. …. and its Christmas. Wishing everyone an enjoyable season.

43. Doc: Need for more specialists at hospital

By Cheryl Harewood There is an undeniable need within Barbados’ healthcare system for more specialists, a challenge officials at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) are said to be actively addressing through significant workforce expansion and service improvements.

Dr Dawn Scantlebury, Head of Cardiovascular Services at the QEH, said the current situation was serious, with the hospital facing a growing disease burden that outstrips current capacity.

Urgent

“We need more specialists in disciplines such as general internal medicine, nephrology, anaesthesia, endocrinology, and cardiology.

Cardiovascular disease remains the leading cause of death and disability in Barbados, yet we have nine cardiologists across both public and private sectors, many of whom are approaching retirement age. We will need more cardiologists in the future,” she said.

Scantlebury informed that “significant progress is currently underway.” In recent months, nearly 300 new staff positions have been approved, with a strong focus on clinical roles, including 43 specialist doctors across critical areas. This investment in human resources represents a crucial step towards closing the gaps in care delivery.

To reduce waiting times and improve access to surgical care, the hospital is also preparing to commission three additional operating theatre spaces this year. This expansion will directly address backlogs and improve surgical throughput, demonstrating a clear commitment to better patient outcomes.

Scantlebury highlighted the efforts of healthcare professionals at the QEH stating: “Doctors and nurses are working incredibly hard, often with long hours and overnight shifts, to deliver the best care possible.

Their dedication is the backbone of our healthcare system and it is important to acknowledge their sacrifice and commitment.”

Using herself as an example, the interventional cardiologist who is also president of the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Barbados (HSFB) stressed, “I am on the job all day, with my clinical role at the hospital, my department head role, private practice, and then HSFB matters and academic pursuits in the evening; it is a lot of work and long hours.”

Labour of love

The US-trained cardiologist further disclosed, “Most doctors will need to go to the USA, United Kingdom or Canada, to specialise in some field of medicine, and most will stay there if they can because of the income or the lifestyle.

For me, being in the medical field is a labour of love. That’s why I came back to the island to practice. I returned to Barbados after my training because I saw the healthcare needs here. I became part of our department’s succession planning, which needs to be an ongoing practice in all specialties.” The consultant cardiologist disclosed that currently the QEH leadership is implementing a 24/7 plan to review and enhance working practices, including medical staffing and oncall rotas. These efforts aim to ensure more efficient workflows, better staff support, and consistent patient care, day and night.

“The road to transformation in healthcare is not without challenges, but it is clear that the QEH is making significant strides in addressing systemic issues and building a more resilient healthcare system for Barbados.

“The work has begun, the plans are in motion and the dedication of our healthcare professionals is unwavering. With continued collaboration, public support, and strategic investment, we can achieve a healthcare system that meets the needs of our nation now and in the future.”

While improvements are being made, Scantlebury emphasised the importance of public responsibility in disease prevention. She called on employers, schools, community leaders and churches to champion healthier lifestyles.

“Preventing diseases like heart disease, diabetes and cancer starts with daily choices about what we eat, how active we are, and how we care for our mental and spiritual health.”

She specifically urged churches and community leaders to take an active role in promoting wellness.

“Our faith calls us to honour our bodies and live in ways that reflect care and discipline. This extends to our health and well-being.”

44. Dentists.

45. Time to ban importation of unhealthy snacks

The following article was submitted by advocacy officer with the Heart and Stroke Foundation Inc.’s childhood obesity prevention programme, Jan Phillips.

WHILE MANY SNACKS are marketed as convenient and harmless, the reality is that some of these products are unhealthy and certainly not fit for human consumption. Cutting out these unhealthy snacks from our children’s diet could improve their health and save money.

Many snacks marketed to both children and adults are packed with ingredients that offer little to no nutritional value. In fact, some of these products are harmful, containing excessive amounts of artificial additives, unhealthy fats and sugars.

The combination of these ingredients creates an enticing but toxic mix that can lead to long-term health issues when consumed regularly. It is time to reframe the conversation. Instead of seeing these processed items as staples in our homes, we should view them for what they truly are, unnecessary, unhealthy distractions that are easily replaced by healthier options like fresh fruit and vegetables.

Have you ever taken the time to check the ingredients in the snacks you are purchasing? If you did, I suspect you would think twice before buying them. From artificial dyes and flavourings to high sugar and trans fats.

Do you know what polyglycerol polyricinoleate is or what it does? How about sodium benzoate, or food colourings like Red #3, which was just banned by the Food and Drug Administration in the United States? What about FD& C Yellow #5 and Blue #1? Have you ever taken the time to find out about these substances, what they do and the potential harm they can cause in our bodies? If you are familiar with them, you might already know that none of these come from fruits or vegetables. They are chemical additives, which many consider unhealthy and unsuitable for human consumption.

As an adult you may know, but I am almost certain that many of the children purchasing them have no clue what they are and the danger they cause in their bodies. The issue is not just that snacks are unhealthy, they are also contributing to long-term health costs that ultimately affect our society. A bag of chips may cost $1.50, but the toll they take on our health can add up over time in the form of higher health care costs due to chronic diseases like heart disease, diabetes, hypertension and obesity, which makes it a public health problem. Role of policymakers in regulating harmful snacks Parents play a crucial role in shaping their children’s eating habits, but this responsibility should not rest solely on their shoulders. Everyone, from parents to teachers, to principals and the wider community, has an equally important role to play in safeguarding the health of our children, our future.

Policymakers also have a critical role to play in regulating the availability and marketing of these unhealthy snacks. Right now, these snacks flood our stores and are often marketed to children and placed at eye level in aisles or by the check-out counter, where they are easy to grab. If people cannot see them for what they are and stop buying them, it may be time for policymakers to step in.

It is about ensuring that what is put on the shelves for human consumption aligns with the nation’s collective health goals. Only through a combined effort can we begin to reduce the prevalence of these harmful snacks and promote healthier choices for all.

The issue becomes even more urgent when we consider that these harmful snacks are widely available across the island, including near schools. In many cases, these products are purchased by parents for their children. An additional issue is the imported products from other countries with a foreign language. These snacks often have packaging that is written entirely in that language, Spanish etc., raising important questions. While some of these products carry the now-familiar octagonal front-ofpackage warning labels, these labels are mostly in Spanish and may not be immediately recognisable to some consumers in Barbados. These octagonal frontof- package warning labels, which alert consumers to excessive levels of sugar, fats and other harmful ingredients, are an excellent tool for helping people make healthier choices. However, their usefulness is diminished when they are not in English, and therefore not understood by the buyer.

The Barbados National Standards Institution should ensure that imported products adhere to local regulations, especially when labels are not in English. As part of the CARICOM Regional Organisation for Standards and Quality, according to this website ( http://www.fao.org), the standards set forth in our laws aimed to protect consumers and ensure product quality. These laws require that food products, whether locally produced or imported, carry clear and accurate information. So how do these imported snacks, with foreign-language labels and information align with these objectives? Are we doing enough to ensure that these standards are enforced? I have seen some troubling examples that suggest the answer is no.

Time for action is now

It is time to prioritise the health of our children and future generations. We can start by making healthy eating a reality. It is time for policymakers to take decisive action and ban the importation of unhealthy snacks. Such a move has the potential to significantly improve public health, and over time could lead to a substantial reduction in government spending on health care. By eliminating these harmful products, we can help prevent the onset of chronic health conditions like obesity, diabetes and heart disease, which place a heavy burden on our health care system.

In the long run, healthier populations will result in fewer medical interventions, less pressure on health care resources and ultimately lower costs for taxpayers. This approach not only protects public health but also promotes financial sustainability for future generations.

Let us create a healthier, more sustainable future for everyone.

46. Colon cancer concern

FOR FOUR YEARS, Barbados has been leading the region in the number of colon cancer cases.

Junior Research Fellow of the Caribbean Colon Cancer Initiative, Dr Anisa Thompson, said this alarming statistic meant it was more important than ever for Barbadians to watch what they eat.

“We have statistics since 2021 which show Barbados is actually No. 1 in the region and eighth in the world when it comes to colon cancer and it’s continuing to rise.

“That is the concern for us at this moment, which is the reason that the Caribbean Colon Cancer Initiative would like to promote screening amongst Barbadians as well as research our population as to why this is so,” she said.

Thompson was one of the guest speakers at the Cancer Support Services Conquering Men and Victorious Ladies Beyond Surviving Forum Shop Talk 8: Let’s Talk About Cancer at The Valley Resource Centre, The Glebe, St George on Saturday evening.

Thompson said there was a link between colorectal cancer and diet, saying foods such as processed meats – ham, bacon, turkey ham, sausages – increased the chances of developing the cancer.

“We’re seeing most of our population consumes the majority of these foods so we’d just like to make the public aware that we have to be mindful of the foods that we’re eating. We must increase our fruits and vegetables, increase the fibre in our diet and really limit the processed foods and meats,” she said.

Evidence Recently, the United States (US) Surgeon General Vivek Murthy published an advisory linking alcohol consumption, even casual use, with various cancers. He outlined the “growing body of evidence” showing the link between alcohol use and at least seven types of cancer – including mouth, throat, voice box, oesophagus, breast, liver and colon/rectum. He also called for warning labels on alcoholic beverages to alert people about the risk.

Gynae-oncologist Dr Vikash Chatrani, another guest at the forum, said it was a matter of following the science.

“All cancers have risk factors. Sugar is the new drug – before they used to have cigarettes at the cashout counter, now you have sweets. Sugar leads to obesity, and obesity is known as a risk factor for cancer. It’s the same thing with alcohol; because we’re a rum-producing country, I always believe that if we’re doing anything, we do it in moderation.

“If the data has shown that alcohol does cause cancer risk, you can’t fight that. At the end of the day, eating too much chocolate causes increased sugar, obesity and a cancer risk. Eating processed foods, eating processed ham and this and that, can cause colon cancer but people like ham in Barbados so you’ve got to do it in moderation, you’ve got to have balance,” he said.

Chatrani said the best way was to balance with a healthy lifestyle, which meant eating mostly right, exercising, and getting screening tests.

“Then you might get away with it. It’s a holistic approach to medicine,” he said. (CA)

47. What a world….

Is it not OBVIOUS that if you eat shiite, then BAD THINGS WILL HAPPEN TO YOU?

If BBs spend their youth eating ‘souse’ as a national sport, and in at fast food outlets on a DAILY basis – while liming with an alcoholic drink in their hands WHENEVER an opportunity arises…
    What the Hell did we expect to happen….?

The surprise is that we are NOT ‘numero uno’ in the WORLD!!
    …hard to believe that another country eats more shiite than we do…

But we should NOT be surprised..
    It is the SAME IDIOCY spiritually…
    We spend our WHOLE LIVES chasing after materialistic jobby – to impress other BBs who are doing the same… while completely ignoriing our LONG TERM SPIRITUAL HEALTH.

We try HARD not to even THINK about it…. until the diagnosis comes ..and the realization that the lotta shiite we spent out lives doing – was a COMPLETE FARCE…

…and then, all of the shiite material that we accumulated has to be handed over to the medical mafia – as we try to reverse a lifetime of brassbowlery.
    What is so hard about PROACTIVELY adopting a healthy diet NOW…???

What is difficult about SEEKING long-term SPIRITUAL answers NOW?
    Ask – and it shall be given to you
    Seek – and you WILL find
    Knock – and the door WILL be opened

…or just keep on doing shiite, …but don’t complain when the diagnosis comes…

48. Prostate cancer rate a concern

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY

colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

AS WORLD CANCER DAY is observed today, the Barbados Cancer Society (BCS) is urging Barbadians, particularly men, to prioritise early screening.

BCS president Professor David Rosin said while lung cancer remains the most common globally due to high tobacco consumption in many countries, in Barbados it is prostate cancer, accounting for about 45 per cent of all cancers in men.

“This is a significant concern because only half the population – men – are affected by prostate cancer, yet it still accounts for nearly half of all male cancer diagnoses,” he said. “And the anxiety surrounding prostate cancer, particularly here in the Caribbean and among men of African descent, is its hereditary component. If you have a first-degree relative, such as a father or brother who has had prostate cancer, your risk is significantly elevated.”

He noted that men of African descent were not only more likely to develop prostate cancer but also tend to do so at a younger age, with the disease often manifesting in a more aggressive form compared to other ethnic groups. “When compared with Caucasians, the incidence is more than two to one, while men of Asian descent, such as the Chinese, Japanese and Indians, have a significantly lower risk.”

Given these concerning statistics, the BCS continues to advocate for early detection, which Rosin stressed was “vital” in saving lives. He reassured men that screening methods have evolved significantly, eliminating the discomfort once associated with the traditional rectal examination.

“A century ago, the only way to check for prostate cancer was through a rectal examination, which was only useful if the cancer was already at a stage where it could be felt. Understandably, this deterred many men from getting screened, but that is no longer the case.”

Since the mid-1980s, the Prostate-Specific Antigen (PSA) blood test has been the standard screening method. However, PSA testing is not without limitations, as benign conditions such as an enlarged prostate (benign prostatic hypertrophy) or prostatitis (prostate infection) can also elevate PSA levels, leading to false positives.

Advanced screening

In response, the BCS has collaborated with Yale University and Wren Laboratories in the United States to introduce a more advanced screening tool – PROSTest. This test, which analyses DNA and RNA markers in the blood, has a specificity of 92 per cent compared to the PSA’s 75 per cent.

“We now recommend that Barbadian men with a family history of prostate cancer start screening from the age of 40, with annual check-ups or even every six months for those at higher risk,” Rosin said. “We also now offer the PROSTest at the Barbados Cancer Society, making it more accessible.”

The BCS is also concerned about the rising incidence of colorectal cancer in Barbados, with around 220 cases diagnosed each year. Rosin attributed this increase to significant dietary shifts away from traditional high-fibre foods such as yams and breadfruit, towards more processed and low-fibre options.

“If you have a first-degree relative with colorectal cancer, screening is absolutely essential,” he advised. He also introduced the COLO test, a newer screening method that has shown 94 per cent specificity, compared to the widely-used FIT test, which only detects blood in the stool and has a lower specificity of 50 to 70 per cent.

Breast cancer remains the leading cancer among women in Barbados, with nearly 200 new cases annually. Rosin stressed the importance of early detection through regular mammograms, particularly for those with a family history of the disease.

“Women with a first-degree relative affected by breast cancer should begin screening between 35 and 40 years of age, while others should start at 40,” he recommended.

The Barbados Cancer Society continues to offer screening services for prostate, breast, cervical and colorectal cancer, with facilities for mammography, ultrasound and biopsies. Rosin urged Barbadians to take advantage of them, reminding that early detection significantly increases the likelihood of successful treatment.

“On this World Cancer Day, our message is clear – get screened. Cancer is a major global health issue, with 20 million new cases diagnosed annually and nearly ten million people losing their lives each year. Here in Barbados, we have the means to detect and treat cancer early, but people must take the initiative to prioritise their health.”

49. Uncaring?

QEH ‘pressure point’

Persistent challenge of abandoned medically fit patients

by CHERYL HAREWOOD THE QUEEN ELIZABETH HOSPITAL (QEH) continues to face challenges with medically fit patients – particularly the elderly – being abandoned at the health facility.

The persistent problem is leading to “significant implications and adverse impact on the hospital’s operations”, especially bed availability, delays at the Accident & Emergency Department, and financial challenges.

“On average, each social case costs the QEH $197 per night for Barbadian nationals and $260 per night for non-nationals. With additional care needs [such as] meals, medication, incontinence products, the cost can reach $500 per day per patient,” hospital officials told the DAILY NATION.

There were “30 social cases” up to a point last week, with the numbers “varying day to day”.

There were 11 males and seven females 65 years and older; seven males and one female between the ages of 26 and 63; and four males between the ages of 57 and 87, the latter at the Accident & Emergency Department “awaiting placement”.

“Some wards accommodate 24 patients, yet social cases can occupy two full wards, delaying care for critical cases like heart attacks and strokes. Medically fit patients occupying acute beds contribute to excessive delays for those needing urgent care at the Accident & Emergency Department,” the officials also informed.

They added: “Over the past five years, the number of social cases at QEH has not significantly changed, averaging 30 patients per month. Previously, abandonment typically occurred before the Christmas season, but it is now a year-round occurrence. Some members of the public mistakenly believe that leaving a patient at QEH is a faster way to secure placement at the Geriatric Hospital.”

Management said they were fighting back.

“The QEH is actively working to address this issue through several strategies.”

Among these strategies are engagements with family members from the time of admission; the provision of transitional care support, collaboration with external partners and the provision of transportation assistance.

“Social workers liaise with relatives to educate, assess, and prepare them for their loved one’s return home. The QEH Transitional Community Care team visits homes to guide families on patient care, diet, and medication. We work with community shelters, assisted living facilities, and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) such as Meals-on-Wheels and the National Assistance Board, to facilitate post-discharge support. If travel arrangements are a barrier, we assist families in getting their relatives home after discharge.

“Despite these efforts, some families refuse to accept responsibility for their relatives, even when adequate home support is available.

“In one recent case, a stroke patient was treated and ready for discharge, but the relative refused to take her home, citing that she could no longer cook for herself. Despite offering Home Help and private nursing care, the relative still declined,” officials pointed out.

The hospital’s management further disclosed that the longest social case has remained in the QEH for 71 weeks, followed by 66 weeks and 54 weeks, respectively, in other cases.

“These patients have been medically cleared for discharge, but their families have not come forward to take them home.”

In their bid to provide other solutions, the QEH has recently engaged the Ministry of Health and Wellness to explore strengthening community and social care services, by considering expanding home care programmes, respite services, community nursing and social care to support families in caring for loved ones at home; developing clear discharge pathways by ensuring seamless transitions to community services so that families feel supported; and exploring policy and financial measures to support the management of such patients.

“The QEH remains committed to ensuring every patient receives care with dignity. However, we must also recognise that hospital resources must be prioritised for those in urgent medical need. We urge families to work with us, utilise available support services, and fulfil their responsibility to care for their loved ones.”