The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. The cynics around might claim the GOB is testing to create a surge leading up to elections but if that is their aim, it is going to be horrendously expensive because there are going to be fewer and fewer positives and they would have to test real peeps.

If they could arrange a proper flood now, but even then they couldn’t get a surge for 3-5 weeks, too long.

By then elections would be done.

Of course they could import some from up north as tourists.

2. John; Re Your 8:21 am reply. Obviously you jest! But as an Acolyte of Rush Limbaugh and Donald Trump, you are merely practicing the big lie.

3. lyallsmallJanuary 9, 2022 3:40 PM

John; Re Your 8:21 am reply. Obviously you jest! But as an Acolyte of Rush Limbaugh and Donald Trump, you are merely practicing the big lie.

Just making the point that the incidence of COVID infections is declining in Barbados!!

… and exposing the big lie.

The only way the GOB can find 3,500 cases per day is if it tests 25,000 people and increases daily that number.

As time goes on it will have to test the whole population and all the tourists to turn up 3,500 positives in one day.

4. Plot the positivity ratio and it will hit you like a ton of bricks!!

5. … if it hasn’t hit you already!!

6. The Australian Government is going to look like a bunch of idiots over their treatment of my boy Novax Jokeavich.

They don’t realise he is playing a joke on them!!

7. Win or lose in the court of law, he is not going to set foot on the tennis court!!

They don’t seem to realise they are being setup.

8. “The Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory identified 495 new COVID-19 cases – 225 males and 270 females – on Friday, January 7, from the 2,475 tests conducted.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/08/barbados-records-495-new-cases-of-covid-19/

9. Ok Hants

Can you predict what the numbers will be like on the 8th January, 2022?

SATURDAY!!

10. ” A total of 342 new COVID-19 cases (149 males and 193 females) were recorded by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory on Saturday, January 8, from the 1 833 tests conducted.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/01/09/342-new-covid-cases-january-8/

Friday 495 cases 2,475 tests conducted.
    Saturday 342 cases 1833 tests conducted.

11. There you go.

495X1833/2475~367 vs 342 actual

Existence of COVID in the population continues to fall.

If half the tests had been done there may have been 171.

Can this number get to <100 by Friday as per my prediction?

Any bets?

In one day looks like it fell by 25 if the numbers of tests for today and yesterday are factored into the number of cases found.

I still backing my hunch cases will be in double digits (<100) by Friday, 6 days hence based on ~1,000 tests being done!!

Wish the GOB would give us imported cases as well.

12. I think it is pretty obvious we can throw out UWI’s worst case hypothesis of 3,500 cases.

Time will tell.

By the time elections roll around we should be pretty low.

13. John; Check out Covid-19 data and charts for Cayman Islands. Cayman Covid incidence charts look very much like Barbados’. The Delta spike and the Omicron spike look very much like ours, except they are smaller, Grand Cayman’s population was about 12,000 people when I lived there.

The problem is that water is standing throughout the year in the biggest Island, Grand Cayman. Grand Cayman is absolutely flat with the highest natural point being a small hillock in Little Cayman standing less than 12 feet high. Grand Cayman has been essentially built on swamplands so swampwater is omnipresent throughout the year. They use a lot of bottled water but I suspect that there is probably a desal plant that produces potable water. Close proximity to the US, Offshore Banking, the Turtle trade and a small Tourism sector have ensured that the Islands are exceptionally prosperous and have no difficulty in funding any aspect of the Covid expenses that would be beyond the reach of the typical Caribbean Island. eg The Islands are fully vaccinated.

I was trying to copy their latest Covid daily incidence charts but with no success so far. I think you would probably be able to do that easily with imgur.

I think it might be worthwhile to test your hypothesis against the conditions in Grand Cayman.

14. Looks like Grand Cayman and Barbados in 2021/2 are slightly out of phase in the first surge and also in this second spike.

https://imgur.com/0VJ35KS

Let’s look at the first surge first.

Looks like Cayman Islands surged a month after Barbados and it reached about 4X the level of cases per million before falling to a minimum which was higher than Barbados.

True the population is only 66K, less than 20% of Barbados so we are dealing with small numbers so one would expect the characteristic curve for the Cayman Islands to be not as smooth as Barbados.

All of its water comes from desal even though there are fresh water lenses close to the surface which appear as swamplands.

Expect they would be brackish.

Cayman’s water sources are extremely susceptible to contamination from flooding, both the fresh water lenses and the near shore from runoff.

So, how did flooding affect the Cayman Islands in 2020 and 2021?

Seems to have been limited to 2021 and more specifically Hurricane Grace in August, one month after Elsa which would explain the phase shift for the first surge.

https://imgur.com/vuFIoZR

I would expect even though microbiologists tell me that it is impossible for the virus to get through the membranes in an RODI plant that desal is going to be iffy when the source is heavily contaminated.

Things always go wrong in manufacturing plants and the result can be alot of product with major defects.

So I would expect that since the population is 100% served by desal according to the internet, unlike Barbados, the impact on the cases per million would be higher.

My opinion for what its worth is the Cayman Islands need to spend some of their money on Quality Assurance in their desal plant in anticipation of future flooding in the next hurricane season.

The current spike is intriguing.

Begins after Barbados.

Guessing, I would say lots of Brits and expats for Xmas/New Years.

Cruise Ships?

Imported cases?

How is the population made up … young vs old?

Any floods/plant breakdowns around that time?

15. Hurricane Grace, Caymans.

16. Grenada’s response curve to flooding after Elsa is sharper than Barbados’.

You can see the one month separation here between Elsa and Grace when the Caymans and Grenada are compared.

https://imgur.com/iCEH2Ja

17. John;
    Good Research on the Caymans situation!

18. Pretty sure about the first surge being Grace but second spike, don’t know enough firsthand about what went on there and if the slight shift in time for the spike being different from Bdos is even significant.

Grenada has the sane spike too.

Maybe all are they same and it was spreeing and airborne transmission.

If that is the case, should not see many deaths coming out of the spikes as the mode of transmission kept the numbers of virus particles to a minimum.

Got to wait it out to see.

Barbados I am pretty sure is coming down and will be low come elections.

But if you see low deaths in Grenada, Barbados and the Caymans vs what happened after the waterborne surge, it may be the ohmigod strain is not so bad but it may also be that the mode of transmission was different.

By the end of February we will know.

Meantime tell the authorities in the Caymans to beef up their QA in the desal plant(s). Sounds like they are like the Netherlands or Low countries.

Dominica I reckon is best in the region, then Grenada. The flatter the worser.

I suspect from the Pacific numbers this year will be bad for storms.

https://origin.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/analysis_monitoring/ensostuff/ONI_v5.php

Elsa and Grace may have been babies.

Look at Trump’s suggestion, Ultra Violet, and talk to technical people in Singapore even though they have also been hit by floods.

You know they are going to solve it.

19. Here is some good info and describes the viruses in water UV will deactivate and how long it takes.

NB, it takes 0.23 seconds to deactivate the Influenza virus found in Water.

So flu is also waterborne, but then again I’ve been saying that for a while!!

https://www.knowyourh2o.com/indoor-4/uv-disinfection

20. JohnJanuary 10, 2022 10:50 AM

Here is some good info and describes the viruses in water UV will deactivate and how long it takes.

NB, it takes 0.23 seconds to deactivate the Influenza virus found in Water.

So flu is also waterborne, but then again I’ve been saying that for a while!!

https://www.knowyourh2o.com/indoor-4/uv-disinfection

Hepatitis seems to be present in water and UV can deactivate it.

But we are told it can’t spread through water in swimming pools, ditto COVID!!.

However, Hepatitis deaths have been rising for several years.

https://www.who.int/hepatitis/news-events/WorldHepatitisSummit2015-PressRelease.pdf

Maybe the Ground Keeper can check this one out.

21. Any catastrophic event that limits peoples ability to use a toilet and have access to clean water could see a spread of Covid. and not just the usual Dysentery etc.

After a flood, hurricane, tornado …..

I leave it to you maguffees to continue the research you are doing.

22. Useful guidance to the Ground Keeper from Hants in Canada.

23. Any predictions for the number of cases today?

Looked pretty slow at the Sky Mall testing site so tests could be down, say 1,200 down from 1,800 or thereabouts.

We might break the 200 mark!!

24. Worse today.

Sao Paolo in ruins.

Looks like those numbers for low sea surface temperatures in the Pacific are pretty good predictors.

25. This year is going to be tough

26. Actually Brazil being experiencing floods from November after 6 months almost flood free.

27. Check Philippines.

Had a major cyclone Dec 16.

COVID cases rising through the roof.

28. Province reporting at least 9,706 additional COVID-19 cases on Monday

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/covid-19-ontario-jan-10-2022-1.6309476

29. Friday 495 cases 2,475 tests conducted.
    Saturday 342 cases 1833 tests conducted.
    Sunday 387 cases 1 690 tests conducted

There were 387 new COVID-19 cases recorded on Sunday, January 9, from the 1 690 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

84 were under the age of 18, and 303 were ( voting age ? ) 18 years and older.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/10/barbados-records-387-new-covid-19-cases/

30. Cases up but tests down.

Interesting numbers.

Should know how to interpret them from Monday’s and Tuesday’s numbers.

Falling tests suggest less need to be tested so falling cases but contradicted by rising case numbers from Sunday.

Still holding to prediction that case numbers will be in double digits by Friday.

If the trend in testing continues, tests should be 2475, 1833, 1690, to be followed possibly by ~1400, Monday, ~1100 Tuesday, 900 Wednesday so by Friday we should be well under 1000 tests.

By Wednesday if # of tests continue to fall as they are we should be in the 200’s for cases and on target for double digits by Friday.

We’ll see when Friday’s numbers come out on Saturday.

31. Whatever happens Friday/Saturday what is apparent is that the ohmigod strain is not really as contagious as was claimed … at least in Barbados.

Since we know all humans are the same physically, then it can’t be as contagious as is claimed elsewhere and the scientists are feeding themselves and us pure BS.

Just another pointer to the fact that there has to be some way to vector the virus into households and the airborne way can’t cut it … assuming air is something we all share in common.

Plus, completely wrong fluid dynamics.

Water on the other hand fits the bill, perfectly matched fluid dynamics and the culprit according to WHO in 80% of other diseases.

… as in 80%!!

If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and walks like a duck, its a duck!!

32. Sounds like apart from Bhutan, Samoa and Vanuatu, the only COVID free place in the world is Mustique and it’s right on our doorstep.

https://www.thedailybeast.com/where-did-the-super-rich-escape-to-during-the-pandemic-mustique-of-course

33. The reality is that COVID is an affliction of the high income peoples, like gout!!

https://imgur.com/Oop0Jhx

However, the high income countries in their conceit, research water, sanitary and hygenic practices in the low income countries and not in their own.

Here is an example.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32911161/

“Leaving no stone unturned in light of the COVID-19 faecal-oral hypothesis? A water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) perspective targeting low-income countries”

It seems as though the inaccessibility of water to those in low income countries is a shield against COVID!!

Just how many more peeps in the high income countries need to die before a stop is put to it remains to be seen.

For the moment as the high income population is culled a new meaning to “the meek shall inherit the earth” seems on the cards.

Then again, maybe it has more to do with pride.

18 Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall.

19 Better it is to be of an humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud.

34. Isolation facilities’ numbers

AS AT 11 A.M. YESTERDAY, there were 92 patients in isolation facilities (16 in primary, 30 in secondary and 46 in tertiary isolation).
    Of these, 50 (55 per cent) were unvaccinated, and 39 (42 per cent) were fully vaccinated. Of those fully vaccinated, four patients were in primary isolation, 16 in secondary and 19 were in tertiary isolation.
    Three people, all in secondary isolation, were partially vaccinated.
    Additionally, the unvaccinated comprised 12 people in primary, 11 in secondary and 27 in tertiary isolation.
    ( BGIS)

35. “Omicron to infect over 50pc of Europeans in weeks:

https://aje.io/5urfvk

36. DavidJanuary 11, 2022 8:18 AM

“Omicron to infect over 50pc of Europeans in weeks:

https://aje.io/5urfvk

The vaccinated or the unvaccinated?

37. How many will it infect in Barbados, or Western Australia?

Ohmigod is not infectious in itself.

It needs the water supply to get to its hosts so it can infect them.

That’s why it ent saying nuffin in Western Australia or here.

It can’t get in de water supply.

WA had 8 cases of COVID yesterday, 10th January.

Australia had >630K between 27th December and 9th January all of which come from the states with floods.

In a single day on 9th January, the day before, Australia had >73K whereas WA had ZERO!!

38. Environment Canada issued an extreme cold warning for the GTA on Tuesday, with temperatures plunging to between –20 C and –28 C in various parts of the region.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/extreme-cold-warning-toronto-environment-canada-1.6310641

39. Sorry Hants

But up your side is going to be hell this year.

If your folks don’t fix the water you will have COVID out the Wazoo!!

40. And on a further note wth the environment seems as though airborne transmission of COVID must be minimal if this report is true.

So you understand how totally incompetent the experts and politicians have been.

Between them they have racked up 5.5 million kills.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/covid-loses-90-of-ability-to-infect-within-five-minutes-in-air-study/ar-AASF6xA?ocid=msedgntp

41. Hants boy

I was looking back at winters in Ontario a decade ago and came across this.

We are in another La Nina year, you may not remember but we had Tomas about 10 years ago and it was not easy.

Electricity was off for weeks.

https://www.theweathernetwork.com/ca/news/article/this-day-in-weather-history-december-6-2010-lucan-ontario-record-snow

https://reliefweb.int/report/barbados/situation-report-1-tropical-storm-tomas-impacts-barbados-strengthens-category-1

42. Look how these politicians running round like chickens with their heads chopped off.

They collectively and individually need to be addressing the water supplies of their individual countries.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/german-climate-minister-says-speed-of-carbon-cuts-needs-to-be-trebled/ar-AASFyiv?ocid=msedgntp

43. Look at the cyclic nature of the weather.

You can spot three other periods of La Nina which match what we are experiencing worldwide.

Two observations we can make in the periods …. extreme floods and extreme cold/winters.

https://imgur.com/z8D4eaA

44. Hants

So what sort of weather were people in Quebec experiencing in 1998?

Remember when!!

45. The Ice Storm of 1998.

46. It is stretching it a bit but what if you go back in ~10’s (decades) to 1949?

… then to the Spanish Flu and the 6 year deluge!!

https://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2020/10/study-offers-clues-to-how-climate-affected-1918-pandemic/#:~:text=A%20new%20collaborative%20study%20by,and%20torrential%20rain%20from%20the

47. A total of 567 people – 239 males and 328 females – tested positive for COVID-19 on Monday, January 10, from the 2 488 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

The positive cases comprised 100 people under the age of 18, and 467 who were Voting age 18 years and older.

567 people tested positive from 2 488 tests

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/11/barbados-records-567-new-covid-19-cases/

48. Interesting numbers.

Tests way up in the air but what I saw at one testing centre both yesterday and today is very few cars.

What does the ratio of cases to tests tell us?

How many of the cases are imported?

How many of the 2,488 are tourists?

That would explain the apparent lack of candidates lining up at the one testing centre I saw.