The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David January 4, 2021 6:26 AM

Brit star Zara Holland to appear in court Wednesday

I hope she appears before the same Magistrate the Jamaican get.

2. @Sargeant January 1, 2021 11:22 PM “Recently I saw where people were requested not to pick up their relatives at the airport: Were relatives allowed to pick up family members to transport them to quarantine hotels?What barriers were in place for taxi drivers or others transporting people to quarantine?Would appreciate if someone could provide some insight into the above”

Little Susie arrived the week before Christmas with a negative PCR test. The government quarantine center was full so health officials at the airport directed her to a quarantine hotel which our family paid for by giving the hotel our credit card information over the phone. She went to the hotel by taxi whose driver had had a covid19 training course. Both she and the driver had to wear masks on the short journey.

About 40 hours after arrival she was picked up at the hotel by a certified taxi taken to a polyclinic where she had to sit outdoors under a tent and wearing a mask and was given a covid test. The taxi drivers have been instructed not to pick up customers in between but to wait for the customer and to sanitize in-between customers The wait at the clinic was less than one hour and the driver waited and was paid for the wait. The hotel [small hotel, less than 25 rooms] provided a snack the first night and a hot breakfast the next morning. In any event I had instructed Susie to travel with her favorite non-perishable snacks just in case of delays. The hotel appeared to be not quite ready for the heavy influx of visitors so the kitchen was not fully open. However those in quarantine could go online and order food from their favorite fast food place which delivered it to the front desk. The health officials emailed her the test results in about 48 hours and then she was free to go. The hotel had excellent wifi and guests could wait in their rooms or on their balconies. The housekeeping staff quite rightly did not enter the rooms during the quarantine period. I had reminded Susie not to socialize with other guests, and to be especially careful to avoid any contact with people from the United Kingdom where the covid19 infection rate is 3 times higher than it is in Canada. Yesterday she had another covid test in preparation for her departure. The wait at the clinic was about half an hour. Again outdoors under a tent, seated 6 feet apart and everybody wearing masks. Staff wearing full PPE.

Our family is not by any means rich and incurred a few hundred dollars in unexpected expenses, hotel, taxi, fast food, but at the beginning of the pandemic I had told my family that this pandemic would take some value off all of us, and we had put down a li’l something oneside for this eventuality.

Our system has worked very well until recently. I expect that there have been DELIBERATE breeches by people, [VERY LIKELY DISRESPECTFUL FOREIGNERS] who were instructed to remain in quarantine but who CHOSE to do otherwise, because they have ZERO respect for us and for our culture.

P.S. Please note that I do not dislike foreigners, white, black, brown or any other color, but I do dislike disrespectful people of any color, gender, religion, nationality etc. Many of my family members have long lived in and traveled to foreign parts, including the Caribbean, North and South America, Europe, Africa, Asia and even Australia [but not Antarctica] and my job took me to dozens of foreign places. Our practice always is not to be disrespectful to the people “born there”

Cudear Bajan
    Who has been fortunate to experience the world, and LOVES this 2 x 3 island.

3. PLT should be applauded for the remote nomad scheme. Unfortunately, a promising idea has now been rendered obsolete by an incompetent government.

It was evident to me that this scheme was high risk and if was to work it would require a high level of planning. Given the circumstances it would have made sense for this government to have gently rolled out a plan that would trial out its feasibility.

If we had a small number of fifty to hundred individuals we would have been able to test out the system. Unfortunately what we had was a mad dash to bring in the tourists and their money.

What is the saying: fail to plan; plan to fail.

The moral of the story is evident. Irrespective of who we elect our government will always fall short due to their incompetence.

4. Britain has imposed travel restrictions on South Africa because of the new variant there. Why7 is Barbados still opened to travellers from the UK?

5. So here we are the first monday of jan 2021 hearing the grave news of over five hundred people tested positive for the virus including the new strain
    Govt has yet to confirm or deny
    Be safe

6. Britain has imposed travel restrictions on South Africa because of the new variant there. Why7 is Barbados still opened to travellers from the UK?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE 2 x 3 ISLAND A THIRD WORLD COUNTRY THINKS IT KNOWS MORE THAN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES AND IS PUNCHING ABOVE THEM.

7. Here we go again! The Third World country of Black people think they know more than the First World country of white people.

Looks like the white people are right. We are inferior. We must always follow their lead.

We leave nothing for the white people to say!

8. Why are we allowing flights from the UK in to Barbados?

9. I’ve read the new, more contagious strain of COVID-19 that first emerged in the southeast of England was already spreading rapidly even during the nation’s second lockdown in November last year. As a result, more than ¾ of England is under the strictest TIER FOUR coronavirus measures, Ireland placed restrictions on travel to and from England and mainland Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales are under lockdown.

The restrictions in tier four include:

….. Residents should stay at home, unless they have a “reasonable excuse” such as work or education
    ….. All non-essential shops must close
    ….. Hairdressers and nail bars must close
    ….. Indoor entertainment venues must close
    ….. Gyms and indoor swimming pools, indoor sports courts and dance studios must close
    ….. You cannot meet other people indoors, unless you live with them or they are part of your support bubble
    ….. People should not leave tier four areas or travel abroad, except for limited reasons (including work and education)
    ….. Weddings and civil partnership ceremonies are only allowed in exceptional circumstances
    ….. “Clinically extremely vulnerable” people in tier four areas are advised to stay at home “as much as possible”. The government says if they can’t work from home, they shouldn’t go to work.

It’s clear the UK has been struggling in its efforts to combat this new variant of COVID-19. As I mentioned previously, it is my personal opinion ‘government’ should have closed the borders to visitors from the UK and other ‘hot spots’ or place certain restrictions on travel to and from those countries, as soon as it was realised they were contending with a new strain of coronavirus. At least, until the health authorities accumulated enough information on this new strain and how they plan to go about confronting it. In other words, it’s best to be proactive than reactive.

Please note, this is NOT meant to be a CRITICISM of our ‘government’s’ overall COVID policies, which, so far, have been successful. We are constantly reminded about adhering to the protocols via messages through the GIS, print and electronic media. The onus is on all Barbadians and visitors to comply rather than become complacent.

10. To ensure that there are fewer infected Brits in Britain to spread it to you.

11. In light of the recent outbreaks absorbing public health resources consideration to banning flights from high risk countries must be looked at seriously.

12. Well breaches were made
    The onus is on govt to revamp their policies on containment by closing the border
    Govt is in denial arrogance and stubbornness would be the cause of barbados final downfall
    The wheels has finally fallen off
    Now it is up to govt to step up with all diligence and protect the health of its citizens
    500 infected people is nothing to be taking chance a chance that is very slim and hard to control
    Many countries had to make hard but wise decisions to cut off Britain as their source of income
    These countries are still up and around
    This is the time for small island nation to practice singularity but to help each other
    Yes Mia took a path hoping for the better
    Unfortunately the worst has turned out

13. Worldometers numbers have been updated to 556.

That seems to reflect the information given at the last press conference. I will await the official numbers. There may be a lag or there may not be. I don’t go on facebook, Instagram or Twitter and put out allegations from any old person just to fit my agenda. Some of you are just as bad as the Trump loonies.

COVID cannot hide in Barbados. Mia knows that just as well as I do.

The truth will out. Soon, through the official channels, we will know what we are facing.

14. Oops those in denial would now have to face facts
    Facts can work in or against ones own agenda

15. We should look at that COVID-19 situation reasonably and rationally. Those individuals following the usual ‘alarmist script’ are not prepared to do so.

For example, I read the contribution of a ‘BU regular,’ in which it was being implied the Jamaican national who was recently jailed for 6 months, was not being fed and hunger forced him to leave the quarantine centre. However, the news reports suggested otherwise.

What some people are also doing, is going on social media platforms such as Facebook, to copy and paste to BU, those worst case, alarmist posts that support their particular agenda, and then elaborate on the information as though it was true, irregardless of the credibility of its source.

16. @ Mariposa

Things are getting much worse in the UK. Some teachers are in tears having to return to the class rooms; Boris is addressing the nation this evening and it is predicted he will order a complete lockdown, as Scotland has.
    If Britain is locking down from itself, why is Barbados allowing people to travel from the UK to Barbados?

17. Hal arrogance and stubbornness the two main ingredients

18. David
    It appears Boris is about to shutdown the UK anyway so that means no UK tourists for us. Only last week some here were accusing the government of hiding cases. Jesus take de wheel.

19. We had a good run, relaxed and got burnt.

20. Why do the majority of tourist go to Barbados ? What do they do especially who stay in All inclusive resorts ?

They drink nuff nuff RUM, wine, beer and various imported whiskey gin and vodka.

I doan have o read and spell fuh wunna dat got sense.

21. “We had a good run, relaxed and got burnt.”

@ David BU

Exactly.

22. @ Hal,
    Our good ole Boris makes Auntie Mia look like an Einstein. What an incompetent fool he has turned out to be. This lockdown which he will shortly announce should have commenced today. Can you imagine the likely surge from this new variant as both pupils and workers struggled in for their commute journey after having returned from their long vacation.

Expect an announcement from Auntie Mia stating that travellers from the UK will be banned. It’s what you call leading from the front.

23. Artax

For example, I read the contribution of a ‘BU regular,’ in which it was being implied the Jamaican national who was recently jailed for 6 months, was not being fed and hunger forced him to leave the quarantine centre. However, the news reports suggested otherwise

What did the news report

24. I’m going to take a ‘leaf from your book’ and ‘say,’ the onus is on you to prove me wrong.

25. @TLSN

Mia and Boris have one thing in common. They were both highly rated before they assumed high office, then to fail. There is a lesson there for all of us.
    Talking and throwing your arms around, or in Boris’ case, quoting Ancient Greek, does not a politician make. It comes down to policy, policy, policy. Mia is not a policy person.
    With Boris, if he does not perform he will be thrown out. Who will bell Mia’s cat?

26. Artax u brought up the subject
    Hence u have to submit evidence of proof of your statement
    I asked for u to submit the report
    Did not say u were wring

27. TLSN
    Leading from the front after the bottom has fallen out is not called leadership
    Such leadership is called in recovery mode

28. Never mentioned anything about you ‘saying’ I was wrong.

According to the December 31, 2020 edition of ‘Barbados Today,’ Dean George Scott said:

“I went on the road to get some juice and some stuff on the 7th. They never told me I should not have gone on the road. I got a Fanta,”

“Asked whether he had not been fed at the quarantine centre, the first-time visitor disclosed that he had asked for something to drink earlier in the morning and was told that HE SHOULD WAIT.”

29. Mia and the BLP will prove once again why they are the right choice. Tek it light.🤐

30. Artax
    So why would he go to get food stuff

31. It is looking as if England will lock down for a month, similar to Scotland. Will Barbados now bar travel from the UK?

32. “So why would he go to get food stuff.”

The article clearly stated Scott asked for something to drink, he was told to wait, but decided instead to leave the premises and “went on the road to get some juice and SOME stuff…..”

Perhaps you may want to indicate to me where in the article any reference was made to him going “to get food stuff.”

Unless, you’ve chosen to interpret ‘SOME stuff” to mean ‘FOOD stuff.’

Otherwise, just let us deal with the facts and leave out the melodramatics.

33. @Artax

You are aware a Fanta is slang term for ?

34. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David January 4, 2021 2:44 PM

@Artax

You are aware a Fanta is slang term for ?

You are so right. I completely forgot that. The whole incident makes more sense now you remind me of that.

35. The Covid 19 briefing is at 6pm today.

36. @ Critical

Is this a further smear against Jamaicans? Why not look at our flawed criminal justice system in which magistrates, the lowest of tribunal judges, have a relatively free hand at sentencing.
    Why not give magistrates a sentencing limit of six months, and for longer sentences they wi have to send the accused to a higher court? It is not re-inventing the wheel.
    How about setting up a sentencing council which will lay down rules for sentencing which ALL courts must adhere to? Are we going to allow the unfortunate sentencing of this man to side-track us from discussing the vaccines and what preparations we have made to protect Barbadians.

37. @ David BU

‘Fanta’ is a Jamaican term used to describe a particular type of tobacco that people usually smoke separately or mix with herb to ‘camouflage’ the scent. When I read guy bought ‘fanta,’ a soft drink was the furthest thing from my thoughts.

If it was indeed that ‘fanta,’ then it’s obvious the media and Court thought it was the soft drink.

38. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Artax January 4, 2021 3:35 PM
    The media maybe, but not the court. That maybe why he got the six months.

Had he said frutee, he probably would have been deported or reprimanded and discharged for stupidity.

39. Sometimes we have to read between the lines.

40. https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/IMG_4273-730×456.jpg

Barbados recorded 211 new positive cases of COVID-19 between Friday, January 1, and Saturday, January 2, 2021, from a combined 2, 570 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

41. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin
    Our whole sentencing process needs revamping. The only people in jail should be people posing a risk to the public or for serious crimes.

Hopefully, now they have these tracking devices, they can get more creative with sentencing and sentence non violent offenders with geofencing for the length of the sentence. It certainly would save taxpayers some good money and free up our jails.

42. @ Critical

Spot on. The only problem with your suggestion, one I fully agree with, is that magistrates from working class backgrounds will not have an opportunity to brutalise people less fortunate than themselves mainly through fear of falling back in to such social situations.
    Prison performs a class function in Barbados; it has little to do with the punishment fitting the crime.

43. Mia will be taking calls. Some of the BU moutas should call in.

44. @ Critical Analyzer January 4, 2021 3:43 PM

I disagree.

‘Fanta’ should not be confused with marijuana, nor is it deemed to be an illegal controlled substance in Barbados.

So, even if we assumed the guy left the isolation centre to buy tobacco or a soft drink, despite his irresponsible actions, you’ll have to admit the Magistrate was a bit too harsh in sentencing him to 6 months.

45. @Artax

Agree with you if it had occurred pre outbreak of Covid 19. What we have to watch ihowever s the sentence the white tourist gets who tried to flee via GAIA

46. Critical Analyzer Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/04/covid-19-update-275-people-in-insolation/

With 170 positive from the prison, it seems the super spreader event was not the bus crawl.

What I want to know is how many of the remaining 41 were from the bus crawl?

47. UK in lockdown until February.

48. @CA

It looks that way, it does not excuse what we observed on the videos.

49. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Not sure what the law states but Zara might get the maximum fine and deportation especially with the situation at the prison and her being negative. Assuming she had gotten her negative test result before they tried to flee the country, I don’t think she would have broken quarantine depending on the timeline.

However, there certainly has to be some charge for trying to help her boyfriend break the law.