The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,451 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. the GOB SHOULD HONOUR OUR OWN DR WAYNE GREAVES, WHO HELPED DEVELOP THE VACCINE AT PFIZER

2. I worked at Merck with Wayne. He is a HC guy and a St. Lucy man .

3. The United States hasn’t seen the full impact that Thanksgiving gatherings likely will have on rising Covid-19 cases and hospitalizations, Dr. Anthony Fauci said on Monday. “The blip from Thanksgiving isn’t even here yet,” Fauci, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, told CBS’ Norah O’Donnell during the Milken Institute Future of Health Summit. “So we’re getting those staggering numbers of new cases and hospitalizations before we even feel the full brunt of the Thanksgiving holiday,” Fauci said. Health experts warned before the holiday that Americans should gather virtually rather than risk exposure. As the US nears an average of 200,000 Covid-19 cases a day, experts say “BEHAVIOR and cold weather” are behind the current surge gripping American communities. “People are going indoors, THEY’RE NOT MINDING THE THREE W’s, HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES SECRETARY ALEX AZAR told Fox News’
    Chris Wallace on Sunday. “Our advice is always the same. WASH YOUR HANDS, WATCH YOUR DISTANCE, WEAR YOUR FACE COVERINGS.

Source: CNN

4. @Cuhdear Bajan November 30, 2020 5:05 PM “Like HIV, until an effective vaccination program is implemented , Covid19 can be accelerated or slowed down by HUMAN BEHAVIOR.”

Perhaps that is why Barbados wisely appointed a behavioral scientist instead of a medical scientist as covid czar, because human is much more complex, much more variable, much more unpredictable that math, or biology of chemistry or physics.

Perhaps other countries should do the same, because right now and until a vaccine is available, HUMAN BEHAVIOR is driving the pandemic. Which is exactly the United States the free-est country in the world has the most cases, because in the lifetimes of all living Americans that have not had to obey anybody.

I once had a conversation with a military official and remarked that military governments fail, not because militaries are not strong, smart and well armed, but because militaries do not comprehend how truly unruly we civilians are.

5. Congrats to the Bajan Doctor. Can we see his bio?

6. Thanks Hants, will have a read.

7. Two more CoVid victims. And surprise, surprise, they are both visitors.

8. ” Canada already had enough potential Covid-19 vaccines secured to protect a population almost four times its size. It just added another 20 million doses to the pile and accelerated its vaccination calendar.

The government doubled its order from Moderna Inc. to 40 million doses, the U.S. pharmaceutical company said Monday. And the first 249,000 doses from another supplier, Pfizer Inc. and BioNTech SE, are set to arrive next week, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said Monday, kick-starting a vaccination campaign ahead of schedule.”

Mia can call Justin and beg for some.

9. Health Canada juat provided approval for Pfizer COVID19 vaccine

https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/vaccine-rollout-plan-phac-1.5833912

10. @Sargeant

Persons with allergies have been asked to Pfizer vaccine.

11. British warning:

After two health-care workers reacted adversely to injections of the new Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine, British regulators on Wednesday ordered hospitals not to inject people who have a history of “significant” allergic reactions.

Two staffers with Britain’s National Health Service suffered symptoms of “anaphylactoid reaction” when they received vaccinations at a hospital on Tuesday.

NHS officials said both workers have a history of serious allergies and carry adrenaline pens to quickly quell symptoms, which can include skin reactions, low blood pressure, constricted airways and dizziness or fainting.

“Both are recovering well,” said NHS medical director Stephen Powis.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/pfizer-allergic-warnings-vaccine/2020/12/09/4e79ec72-3a16-11eb-aad9-8959227280c4_story.html

12. RE Congrats to the Bajan Doctor. Can we see his bio?
    THERE WAS A LOCAL NEWSPAER ARTICLE ON WAYNE SOME TIME WITHIN PERHAPS THE LAST THREE YEARS OR SO

13. Cuhdear Bajan,

Good job flushing the jobby!

14. @GP December 7, 2020 5:36 PM “the GOB SHOULD HONOUR OUR OWN DR WAYNE GREAVES, WHO HELPED DEVELOP THE VACCINE AT PFIZER”

You are right. Indeed the government should honour Dr. Greaves for both his HIV and his COVID work.

15. This is what we do.

Top leisure company cuts off Barbados because of strict protocols
    Marlon Madden
    Article by
    Marlon Madden
    Published on
    December 10, 2020

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Senator-Lisa-Cummins-730×456.jpg

One of the world’s leading leisure and travel companies is reportedly bypassing Barbados as a destination of choice for its customers in favour of others with less stringent COVID-19 protocols regarding testing.

And while acknowledging she was aware of this news regarding the German-based TUI Group (Touristik Union International) Minister of Tourism Senator Lisa Cummins says Barbados is willing to sacrifice some business from major industry partners rather than putting the population at “risk”.

She made the comments on Wednesday in response to concerns that Barbados could be losing some major business from the influential TUI Group which has decided to sever ties with destinations with strict protocols and only deal with those with more relaxed or no protocols in place.

It is understood that TUI has already informed authorities in Bridgetown of its intention not to do business with a destination where there is a requirement for a second test or quarantine.

During the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association’s (BHTA) fourth quarterly general meeting, which was held virtually, immediate past president of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association Patricia Affonso-Dass raised the concern, asking what plans were in place to fill that void.

In response, Cummins said she has already spoken to officials of the group, which owns travel agencies, airlines, cruise ships and hotels and was made aware of their position.

However, Cummins categorically stated that Barbados prides itself on being a safe destination and would continue to do whatever it takes to maintain that status.

“What makes us safe has been the level of diligence being practised by our public health officials. When we started with the second test there was a lot of resistance in some instances, but over time we have begun to see more countries reaching out to me and our public health officials, looking to introduce a second test. We have seen across the region that has been the case,” said Cummins.

She said this decision was taken by Barbados to ensure that residents and guests were kept safe. She explained that the data currently showed that about 95 per cent of the positive cases of COVID-19 detected were due to the second test.

“We are very happy that partners like British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, American Airlines and others, and even in our conversations with IATA, have been supportive of the measures that Barbados has put in place.

“On the other hand, there are partners who, in my view, are making a decision that puts their guests at risk and Barbados will not be a part of that. That is a choice they will make on their own,” said Cummins, who insisted that the second test “will remain in place”.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/10/top-leisure-company-cuts-off-barbados-because-of-strict-protocols/

16. These people are thinking of nothing except profits for the shareholders. And we Bajans own no shares in the company. I never forget that these people are from the same culture which enslaved my ancestors and Ms. Cummins’ and went to church every Sunday praising their false god while doing so. And developed a philosophy that people who look like me and Ms, Cummins were/are sub-human; things without souls; even while raping black women whom they held not to be human. A culture which developed laws which permitted them to enslave their own mixed race children, and who bought and sold their own children like cattle/chattle. We should not be advised nor guided by such people.

17. Not good.

Another record-high number of COVID-19 cases were logged in Ontario today as the province processed more than 60,000 tests, the highest number of tests conducted in a 24-hour period.

Ontario health officials are reporting 1,983 new infections today, surpassing the previous record of 1,925 set on Dec. 7.

https://www.cp24.com/news/ontario-reporting-record-number-of-both-new-covid-19-cases-and-tests-today-1.5225372

18. Why is there no mail between Barbados and the UK, and there is the other way round?

19. What spectacular nonsense. Canada has bought enough vaccines to immunise its population five times; are we now going to see Trudeau launching vaccine diplomacy?
    Rich countries account fora 14 per cent of the global population, but have bought 96 per cent of the Pfiger vaccines and all of Moderna’s. Only one in ten of people in poor countries will get vaccines; does that mean the rich and well-connected only?
    How can a public health official in a poor country suggest that this may be a positive because it means tourists from rich countries will be able to visit?
    Where is the CARICOM joint policy? What is this deal we are doing with PAHO? I have already asked if Barbados has done some deal with PAHO for 56000 vaccine, and each patient must be immunise twice within 21 days, that is only enough for 28000 people. Who are these people?
    Will private doctors and clinics have access to any of the vaccines in Barbados? Why the secrecy.

20. One more CoVid victim – and yes, she is visitor.

21. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin December 10, 2020 2:15 PM
    That is a great thing. Let the rich countries be their own guinea pigs for once.

The first mRNA vaccine to ever be approved after only 6 months worth of testing. Long term efficacy and risks are totally unknown. That takes years to come out if they don’t hide it within the statistics.

I will keep my vitamin D, C and zinc levels up and take my chances with the virus. That will take care of COVID and Flu for added benefit.

22. TORONTO — The number of new COVID-19-related deaths has spiked in Ontario as the province logs more than 1,800 new cases of the disease on Friday.

Forty-five people infected with COVID-19 died in the last 24 hours, marking the highest number of deaths recorded since June 4, when the same number of deaths was added.

Ontario’s COVID-19 death toll now sits at 3,916.

23. One more CoVid victim, and yes it is another visitor.

24. ” Canada will begin its Covid-19 immunization campaign as early as Monday, with 30,000 initial doses of the Pfizer Inc. and BioNTech SE vaccine making their way from Belgium.”

25. This is good Hants, hopefully herd immunity will be achieve earlier in the new year.

26. GRENADA
    “The Ministry of Health informs that a cluster of 26 positive COVID-19 cases has been diagnosed, originating from the SANDALS RESORT. The positive cases include guests and employees, as well as their contacts.

Hope Barbados good luck continues.

27. [caption id="attachment_69526" align="alignleft" width="860"] Just saw report from St Lucia that over this weekend the Grenada authorities found 26 new Covid-19 cases at Sandals Grenada. Appropriate urgent action is being taken. The graphs / incidence for the other countries are tracking in the same pattern exhibited for several months now – Lyall Small[/caption]

28. Oh what appalling ignorance. What is herd immunity? How can we have herd immunity and yet an insignificant number of locals have contracted the virus? Are we going for herd immunity or the vaccines?
    What we want is for the government/ministry of health/coroner to publish the monthly mortality figures for 2019 and 2020 so far. We want to know the epidemiological model, moreso if we are going for herd immunity.

29. The comment was directed at Hants and his Canada situation. Keep up.

30. ” Herd immunity occurs when a large portion of a community (the herd) becomes immune to a disease, making the spread of disease from person to person unlikely. As a result, the whole community becomes protected — not just those who are immune”
    https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth/herd-immunity-and-coronavirus/art-20486808

Coronavirus: Toronto and Ottawa to begin COVID-19 vaccinations Tuesday
    Ontario will begin its first COVID-19 vaccinations on Tuesday as 30,000 doses make their way across the country with health-care workers first in line

When my turn come and I get vaccinated I will let my BU friends know,,,,if God spare life.

31. @Hants

Note the vaccine is meant to fight of the virus. The numbers being infected with the virus count towards herd immunity. The blogmaster is will to be corrected.

32. @ David,

My simplistic understanding is that infected people can spread the virus and vaccinated people don’t.

We need the opinions of the BU Medical experts.

33. Read ePaper
    Home / Top Featured Article / ‘New variant’ of coronavirus identified says UK Health Secretary

‘New variant’ of coronavirus identified says UK Health Secretary – by Barbados Today December 14, 2020
    SOURCE: BBC – A new variant of coronavirus has been found which is growing faster in some parts of England, MPs have been told.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock said at least 60 different local authorities had recorded Covid infections caused by the new variant.

He said the World Health Organization had been notified and UK scientists were doing detailed studies.

He said there was “nothing to suggest” it caused worse disease or that vaccines would no longer work.

He told MPs in the House of Commons that over the last week, there had been sharp, exponential rises in coronavirus infections across London, Kent, parts of Essex and Hertfordshire.

“We’ve currently identified over 1,000 cases with this variant predominantly in the South of England although cases have been identified in nearly 60 different local authority areas.

“We do not know the extent to which this is because of the new variant but no matter its cause we have to take swift and decisive action which unfortunately is absolutely essential to control this deadly disease while the vaccine is rolled out.”

Prof Alan McNally, an expert at the University of Birmingham, said UK testing labs had picked up on this new variant in the last few weeks.

“Huge efforts are ongoing at characterising the variant and understanding its emergence. It is important to keep a calm and rational perspective on the strain as this is normal virus evolution and we expect new variants to come and go and emerge over time.”

There is a simple rule for understanding all “new strain” or “new variants”: Ask whether the behaviour of the virus has changed.

This is crucial as viruses mutate all the time, it’s just what they do. And so far we’ve been given the “scare” but not the “answer”.

Matt Hancock said the new variant of coronavirus “may be associated” with the faster spread in the South East of England.

This is not the same as saying it “is causing” the rise and Mr Hancock did not say this virus has evolved to spread from person-to-person more readily.

New strains can become more common for reasons that have nothing to do with the virus.

One explanation for the emergence of the “Spanish strain” over the summer was tourism.

So at the moment there are scary headlines everywhere, but still no scientific detail to know how significant this is.

Prof Jonathan Ball, Professor of Molecular Virology at Nottingham University, said: “The genetic information in many viruses can change very rapidly and sometimes these changes can benefit the virus – by allowing it to transmit more efficiently or to escape from vaccines or treatments – but many changes have no effect at all.

“Even though a new genetic variant of the virus has emerged and is spreading in many parts of the UK and across the world, this can happen purely by chance.

“Therefore, it is important that we study any genetic changes as they occur, to work out if they are affecting how the virus behaves, and until we have done that important work it is premature to make any claims about the potential impacts of virus mutation

34. Yeap keep leaving the borders open
    Ok

35. The borders are open and there is a protocol in place to test and screen that has been working well so far. Can you appreciate although there is a vaccine the USA and other developed countries have signaled it is not mandatory to take it? What this means is that we have to live with the virus like we do the common cold.

36. Two more victims, and surprise, surprise, they are both are visitors. How are we going to get herd immunity?

37. The idea behind the “herd immunity approach” is that we should allow Covid to run through the majority of the population, who will supposedly have very minor symptoms, while shielding our most vulnerable members of society. The belief is that this would generate immunity to the extent that the virus would have insufficient hosts to infect, and would die out. The problem with this hypothesis is that is completely scientifically flawed, and there is no data to support it. And yet it continues to be pushed. In March, Gupta and colleagues raised the possibility that half of the UK population had already been infected by Sars-CoV-2. This was subsequently shown to be false. In September she stated that the worst-case scenario presented by Whitty and Vallance, of 50,000 cases per day, was very likely wrong – but it has been proved largely right….(Quote)

38. Herd immunity is only an effective strategy for infectious diseases when it’s achieved via vaccination, not by natural infection. A study of the Brazilian city of Manaus suggested that, left to spread unchecked, Covid can infect up to 75% of the population with devastating consequences. In short there is no “safe” way to allow Covid to run through a population without upending the healthcare system and experiencing an unacceptable number of fatalities. This is not just my opinion, it is the mainstream view of every respected infectious disease researcher in the country (and across the world, as evidenced by the John Snow memorandum)….(Quote)

39. The last person( Trump) the one person who tried to play down the COVID virus in its early stages
    Now BU scientist David evokes his scientific knowledge(not) saying having to lived with the mutating COVID would be just like living with common cold
    Man yuh better stick to yuh day job because yu are no expert in medical science

40. @Hal Austin December 14, 2020 9:06 AM “Oh what appalling ignorance. What is herd immunity? How can we have herd immunity and yet an insignificant number of locals have contracted the virus? Are we going for herd immunity or the vaccines?”

We Bajans are NOT going for natural herd immunity. We understood from the beginning how dangerous it would be to allow a dangerous and deadly virus to run through the population. That was NEVER our plan. Our plan always has been to limit the number of infections so that the health system was not overwhelmed, and to immunize the population once vaccines became available. Seems like an excellent plan to me.

Could you have suggested a better plan?

41. @Hal Austin December 14, 2020 9:06 AM “Oh what appalling ignorance. What is herd immunity? How can we have herd immunity and yet an insignificant number of locals have contracted the virus? Are we going for herd immunity or the vaccines?”

So why didn’t you tell your Prime Minister Boris Johnson this at the beginning of the pandemic or sometime during the pandemic, before the death U.K. death toll had reached 64,402?

“Boris Johnson is still secretly seeking to create “herd immunity” to defeat the Covid-19 pandemic, a former chief scientific adviser has suggested – despite official denials. David King said hints that the lockdown will be eased provided the NHS is not “overwhelmed” pointed to the government still expecting most people to catch coronavirus and develop antibodies. The herd immunity theory was floated by advisers in early March, but appeared to be dropped when ministers were warned the UK death toll could reach a terrifying 250,000.”
    Source: The Independent, April 30, 2020

42. Sidique Ali-Hosein had to appeal to his government in Trindad and Tobago for permission to come to Canada this year — now he’s among more than 100 migrant farm workers trying to find a way to go home.

The Caribbean country’s border has been closed since March because of COVID-19, and Canada’s rising case numbers have officials reluctant to let workers return.

It’s a situation that’s left farm workers in limbo after labouring through the pandemic. And, as the holidays approach, they’re unsure of whether they’ll be able to leave or how they’ll support themselves while stranded far from their loved ones.

“As bad as it is with COVID and everything, you’re still looking forward to spending that time with your siblings and extended family and having that special time. You know, that Christmas spirit,” explained Ali-Hosein, who has worked in Canada for seven seasons.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/hamilton/migrant-farm-workers-trinidad-tobago-1.5836127

43. Yet some here will discussed challenges posed by Covid-19 in a vacuum.

44. When officials at the Long Island Jewish Medical Center asked for staff volunteers to be among the first to take the coronavirus vaccine, Sandra Lindsay raised her hand.

Because of lingering skepticism about the vaccine, even among some on her own staff, Ms. Lindsay, the director of critical care nursing, said she wanted to lead by example — particularly as a Black woman who understands the legacy of unequal and racist medical treatment and experimentation on people of color.

“That was the goal today,” she said in a phone interview on Monday. “Not to be the first one to take the vaccine, but to inspire people who look like me, who are skeptical in general about taking vaccines.”

Shortly after 9:20 a.m. on Monday, Ms. Lindsay, 52, became one of the most famous nurses in the United States when state officials said she was the first person in the country vaccinated for the coronavirus.

“It feels surreal,” she said. “It is a huge sense of relief for me, and hope.”

Growing up in Jamaica, before she immigrated to the United States 30 years ago, Ms. Lindsay helped take care of her grandmother, her primary caregiver, who had hypertension and diabetes. She was often asked by teachers what she wanted to be when she grew up. The answer was always: a nurse.

&

Ms. Lindsay said she was not trying to make history but had volunteered in an effort to appeal directly to men and women of color who are skeptical of vaccinations in general. She mentioned the legacy of the Tuskegee study, which began in 1932 and withheld treatment from Black men with syphilis to analyze the effects.

She said that she wanted everyone to know that the coronavirus vaccine was critical in keeping all New Yorkers safe.

“It is rooted in science, I trust science, and the alternative and what I have seen and experienced is far worse,” she said. “So it’s important that everyone pulls together to take the vaccine, not only to protect themselves but also to protect everyone they will come into contact with.”

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/14/nyregion/us-covid-vaccine-first-sandra-lindsay.html?action=click&module=Spotlight&pgtype=Homepage

45. Another victim, and once more he is a visitor. This government has CoVid control down to a Tee.

46. You are correct.