The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. The model is a formula on borrowing
    There is no home made formula
    Barbados saving grace lies in that it is a small population and does not have the large influx of immigrants like the USA or Uk or other international countries
    Hence govt can boost itself as being hands on in the fight of the virus

2. Concentrate on wearing your mask in UK country. In Barbados people are out inn numbers preparing for Xmas, at the beach, attending Xmas parties and many other activities.

3. A college student from Georgia has been sentenced to four months in prison in the Cayman Islands after breaking the British Caribbean territory's Covid-19 protocol while visiting her boyfriend for a jet skiing competition, according to her family https://t.co/iVSJBAuVVf— CNN (@CNN) December 19, 2020

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

4. England COVID mutation "out of control" health secretary says https://t.co/jkgRM4tLus— Newsweek (@Newsweek) December 20, 2020

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

5. Ontario reports 2,357 new cases of COVID-19 and 27 new deaths on Saturday

Toronto had 665 new cases, Peel Region had 448, York Region had 174 and Windsor-Essex had 170

Quebec also set a new case record Saturday after reporting 2,038 new cases and 44 more deaths, the province’s highest single-day jump since the start of the pandemic

Take off to Barbados
    – Non-stop flights from Toronto: 3 flights per week
    – Non-stop flights from Montreal: 2 flights per week starting December 16

6. Read ePaper
    Home / Covid-19 / Countries ban flights from UK over more infectious variant of COVID-19

Countries ban flights from UK over more infectious variant of COVID-19 – by Barbados Today December 20, 2020
    A number of European countries have or are considering banning travel from the UK to prevent the spread of a more infectious variant of coronavirus.

Both the Netherlands and Belgium have suspended flights. Trains to Belgium have also been banned.

Italy’s foreign minister has indicated his government plans to ban flights. France and Germany are reportedly planning similar action.

The new variant has spread fast in London and south-East England

7. How do we know CoVid-202012 is not already in Barbados. It went undetected and only a minority of victims die? We have the president claiming on Saturday that the minister of tourism was already on top of the issue, when it was only on Friday that PHE scientists informed the government and they announced the lockdown on Saturday.
    The president was being economic with the actualite.

8. Because we not have people dying like flies and undertakers retrofitting containers with refrigerators. Also the local public health authorities is on record to state they are working with clinics and private doctors to file reports with COVID symptoms.

9. Cnn

The Dutch government said the same variant of the virus had been detected in the Netherlands in a sample from a case from early December, and that it is conducting further investigations to determine if there are any other related cases.

10. David,

You got time to waste with Hal Austin? If we have it eventually it will show. Covid cannot hide in Barbados. But we wear our masks, social distance and practise good hand hygiene because we know that any day it may slip through the net. And we intend to minimise the
    damage.

In the meantime, we who live here are not blowing our fuses. Whether Hal Austin blows his is immaterial.

Having consistently said how stupid and incompetent we all are down here and how savage, he simply cannot understand how the humans are losing to the Bajan monkeys in the handling of this pandemic.

Imagine the humans fleeing the great civilized cities to seek safety from disease among the animals in the jungle!

Wuhlaus! 😎😎😎😎😎😎

11. It seems he is hoping for community spread in Barbados. It may occur but five the authorities and the majority of the population credit.

12. Has WHO removed barbados from level red status

13. Barbados appears to have done a great job dealing with Covid 19 so far.

Let us hope this continues.

There are no reports of community spread. If any of you know differently post it.

14. I find it amazing that in the face of continued success by the government, some still think that this is a topic that they can easily exploit.

There is no need to maintain a position so that one can claim ‘I told you so’, if things fall apart.

Of course, I am concerned by the continuous introduction of new cases to the island, but the GOB has demonstrated that they can identify and manage new cases.

15. The strategy Barbados government has employed with some success is the requirement for the second test after 3 to 7 days. It has been critical in detecting those infected after the first test.

16. Why is it that if question are asked about govt strategy that some gets offended
    I have asked many a time how much is it costing govt
    Then the answer remains the same as if cost does not matter
    When all.is said an done if cost out weighs benefit
    The end result would be that of a penny wise and a pound foolish
    especially when the virus has been entering the island by visitors
    Then to say the govt is using preventive measures is not entirely true when prevention starts by abstaining which cost nothing

17. Bostic: Don’t drop guard
    Health Minister warns Bajans leading up to Christmas
    MINISTER OF HEALTH Jeffrey Bostic last night warned shoppers, hoteliers and businesses ahead of the frenzied last days of Christmas preparation in a COVID-19 environment and against a background of 14 new cases in the last two days.
    “As we get set to commence this week of Christmas preparations, I urge each of you to be on your guard. Already in the past 24 hours we have heard of eight new cases and, as Minister of Health and Wellness, I have the authority to notify you that already today we have confirmed six additional cases. Three of these involving a single non-Barbadian family. There are potential developments related to that particular series of screenings, and these will be relayed to you, if the situation warrants,” he stated in a prime time Christmas address carried on radio, television and social media.
    Bostic was speaking a day after UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced a lockdown of several areas there to combat a rapidly spreading strain of the coronavirus, a move that is likely to have an impact on Barbados’ winter tourist season. Bostic said the next eight to 12 weeks will be testing with the opening of our ports to air and cruise traffic.
    ‘Play your part’
    “It is expected that our surveillance and testing will pick up more cases. We must continue to be ever vigilant and not drop our guard. It is therefore important that every Barbadian plays his or her part and cooperate with public health officials so as to ensure that we do not have local or community spread, especially during the Yuletide season,” Bostic said.
    There have been 46 confirmed cases so far December out of the 9 991 COVID-19 PCR tests carried out for the month and while the majority of Barbadians and visitors have complied with the regulations and protocols, there have been some “who have deliberately chosen not to do so,” Bostic stated, adding the small minority remained a large threat to all.
    But there were some entities he singled out particularly because of the Christmas season.
    “Business operators, do not force more people into your stores, simply because you need the business. Shoppers, do not remove your masks or force yourself into crowded situations, merely to get that curtain rod or the perfect cut of pork, Bajan lamb or beef. Your family would appreciate it more if you are safe and well on Christmas Day and into the New Year,” the minister warned.
    He had a sterner word for hoteliers instructing them to pull their weight and make sure that visitors adhered to the protocols as he also encouraged workers to speak up if something was wrong.
    “We need you as partners to pull your weight to ensure minimal, if not zero, breaches of our protocol regulations. Quarantine is quarantine. There is nothing ambiguous about the word. Persons who are in quarantine should remain in quarantine until the relevant authority says otherwise. Hotel workers, similarly – if you see something, please say something!”
    Bostic said the ministry remained committed to having equitable and timely distribution of the recently approved COVID-19 vaccines now being administered in the UK and the United States.
    He wished Barbadians a “good Christmas”, saying that would be one without “a breach of protocols in our management or handling of the coronavirus pandemic” or “dangerous, selfish or reckless behaviour” in eating, driving, socialising or interacting with others. He urged Barbadians to have an approach “tempered with common sense and appreciation for national responsibility”. (AC)

18. Vaccine won’t be here before March
    THE FIRST, small batch of COVID-19 vaccines are not expected in Barbados or the rest of the Caribbean before March next year and supply to the region is already under threat from big countries snapping up doses through direct deals with manufacturers.
    Word of this came last Friday from University of the West Indies (UWI) Professor Peter Figueroa, a member of the World Health Organisation (WHO) SAGE Working Group on COVID Vaccines, in an online UWI Vice-Chancellor’s Forum on COVID-19 Vaccination via UWI TV.
    “Low and middle income countries are unlikely to get vaccines before March or April and it will be very little initially. We’ll get a bit more in the middle of the year and then we’ll get some more towards the end of the year,” he said in his presentation on COVID-19 Vaccines: Access and Equity.
    Figueroa reinforced his estimated timeline for regional countries relying on access to COVID-19 vaccines through the COVAX Facility during the question and answer segment, saying: “So, we just have to be patient, it’s coming.”
    Barbados is one of the 189 countries working with COVAX, which is one of three pillars of the Access to COVID-19 Tools (ACT) Accelerator, which was launched in April by the WHO, the European Commission and France in response to the pandemic. The Government has already made a $1.2 million downpayment to secure shots for Barbadians against the dreaded disease.
    Figueroa, who is one of the 26 independent experts of the WHO SAGE Working Group on COVID Vaccines meeting every week to determine vaccination policy and strategy, said the region’s wait for COVID-19 vaccines and limited availability was being compounded by a rush to manufacturers of the inoculations by countries bypassing the COVAX Facility.
    “Now we do have a challenge, because while the COVAX Facility is aiming to get two billion doses by the end of next year [for global supply], what we’re finding is that many countries are having bilateral agreements with the manufactures. There is an estimated 7.5 billion vaccine doses that may become available throughout 2021.
    “The bilateral agreements, when you add them up based on the supply vaccine market dashboard of UNICEF, you realise 7.4 billion doses are already accounted for, within which COVAX would have 700 million.
    “So, they are short of their two billion doses unless some of the countries that have agreements to get more vaccines than they have for their population, if they get some of those vaccines, then they would get the two billion,” Figueroa explained.
    He said the aim of the COVAX Facility, which is being led by the Vaccine Alliance, the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations and the WHO, was to finance procurement and deployment of COVID vaccines “in a fair and equitable manner globally”.
    COVAX, he added, was negotiating the best possible price, averaging US$11 per dose, with manufacturers on behalf of the bloc of countries it represented.
    (SNR)

19. @David
    A variant of the virus has been found in Britain and flights from that country have been suspended by several countries, has the Barbados Gov’t made an announcement in that regard?

20. Don’t want to be an alarmist but Britain’s European neighbours are raising the red flag but in Bim it is BAU.

BTW another variant different from the strain in Britain has raised its head in South Africa, some folks were hoping to see the back of 2020 but 2021 will have its challenges.

https://www.reuters.com/article/health-coronavirus-safrica/south-africa-experiencing-a-new-covid-19-strain-health-minister-idUSL8N2IY4RU

21. ” Ontario reported 2,123 new COVID-19 cases on Monday and 17 deaths, a decline from the previous three days of data, as the Ford government prepares to announce a widespread lockdown to prevent breakdowns in the healthcare system.”

The time may have come for Barbados to expand Covid treatment facilities.

22. @Hants

What do you mean expand facilities.

23. Jamaica has banned flights to the UK.

24. Virologists now believe the virus mutated in a single individual.

25. @ David,

Barbados could have a spread of Covid that overwhelms the existing facilities.

Actually I should shut up. I am letting the situation where I live influence what I write.

So far Barbados has done an amazing job controlling the spread of the virus in Barbados.

26. @Hants

Not disagreeing with you, asked for a clarification. We have several facilities air marked in case there is an out break, including schools.

27. @ David,

TORONTO — Ontario will go into a strict province-wide lockdown on Dec. 26, forcing nearly all non-essential businesses to close.

The lockdown will begin at 12:01 a.m. on Dec. 26 and will last until Jan. 23 for all regions in southern Ontario, the government has announced. The health units not in southern Ontario will remain in lockdown until Jan. 9.

The lockdown was originally set to begin on Dec. 24 but was pushed back two days by cabinet on Monday.

28. Hmmm… if the thing is that contagious these protocols may need revisiting. That is unless it proves to have milder symptoms. Mutations are not always worse.

29. @Donna

That is what the health official implied in the UK press conference earlier. The new strain seems to be more contagious but the treatments appear to be working the same as for the old virus. It will be interesting to see how Barbados government responds.

30. 2 Former Pfizer top Executives Issue Stay Motion to EU Medicine Agency Warning “Vaccines Could Cause Permanent Infertility”
    https://sarahwestall.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/COVID-19-Vaccine.jpg

Former Pfizer head of respiratory research, Dr. Michael Yeadon, and the former head of the public health department, Dr. Wolfgang Wodarg, have filed a petition for a stay of action asking the European Medicine Agency to suspend phase III of the clinical trials for Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine and all other clinical trials. They site “significant” safety concerns and request all trials are halted until specific criteria outlined in their stay action is met which will ensure efficiency and safety.

Yeadon and Wodarg claim that it’s not only possible the vaccine could provoke serious unwanted antibody and immune reactions, but it must be “absolutely ruled out” that the vaccine would not render women infertile by disrupting their placentas, should they become pregnant.

The grounds of the statement further states:

“…without the requested stay, the Petitioner and many EU residents/citizens will suffer irreparable harm, (ii) the request is not frivolous and is being pursued in good faith, (iii) the request demonstrates sound public policy, and (iv) the public interest favors granting a stay.”

the petition also states:

https://www.blacklistednews.com/article/78713/2-former-pfizer-top-executives-issue-stay-motion-to-eu-medicine-agency-warning-vaccines-could-cause.html

31. Look at Lyall’s charts and you will see that Jamaica has been doing a horrible job.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/12/21/jamaica-bans-uk-flights/

32. I believe that Barbados hoteliers will pay a heavy price if community spread of covid-19 is brought to the island by their clients.

The finger of blame would be pointed in their direction by a disgruntled and fiery public. We need to put on ice our tourist industry for a minimum of four months.

Did anybody see the propaganda Crane Hotel video sent by Hants?

33. @ Cuhdear Bajan December 15, 2020 4:05 PM

“… in the early 60’s. …. No sweet drinks/soft drinks/pop/soda for us back in those good old days.”

The “early 60´s” were under British rule.

34. Infertility
    Another form of population control
    Unfortunately the younger generation who might have received the vaccine still have years to know if the revelation is true
    Kind of reminds me of the Johnson and Johnson cancer story

35. @Hants

This is not good. Delayed results mean visitors waiting will be tempted to break quarantine. Also if the government has an open border policy this is a provisioning that should have been factored.

36. QEH ready for vaccine
    by BARRY ALLEYNE
    barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    FRONT LINE WORKERS are ready to be at the top of the line to receive a COVID-19 vaccine.
    Director of Medical Services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), Dr Clyde Cave, told the
    DAILY NATION that the majority of staff there had already agreed to take whichever version of the vaccine became available in Barbados.
    The QEH also expects to be one of the leading agencies in immunising Barbadians when the medicine does arrive.
    “Many staff members have indicated their interest in both receiving the vaccine and knowing more about it,” Cave said.
    “The QEH is involved in the national plan to provide the COVID-19 vaccine to the people of Barbados once it is available. Any proposals will obviously have to take into account the amount of vaccine available and when it becomes available. We certainly support protection of those most vulnerable as well as those at highest risk.”
    The senior doctor noted that as the largest health institution and tertiary care hospital in Barbados, the QEH would naturally expect to be part of any COVID-19 response, including an immunisation programme for the most vulnerable in society.
    Polyclinics are also expected to play a major role in providing immunisations to thousands of Barbadians when vaccines arrive.
    Last week, acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George said the vaccine was not yet in Barbados, but that staff in the Ministry of Health would take their cue from two international health entities.
    Barbados will be provided vaccines through facilitation from the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) and World Health Organisation (WHO), in conjunction with their COVAX (Vaccine Global Access) facility sometime in the new year.
    COVAX is co-led by international organisation Gavi, the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations and the WHO. Its aim is to accelerate the development and manufacture of COVID-19 vaccines, and to guarantee fair and equitable access for each country.
    George also explained last week that while the United States and United Kingdom had fast-tracked approval of coronavirus vaccine access, it was for emergency workers, but Barbados had not done that and would continue to take its cue from PAHO and WHO.
    The Ministry of Health, in preparation for arrival of the vaccine, has already brought on extra staff in the areas of coordination and support, training, transport, storage and the delivery of the immunisation to individuals.
    The QEH has been at the forefront of providing essential workers for the battle against the pandemic which struck here earlier this year, and has provided staff and logistics for the quarantine facilities at Paragon, Christ Church, in addition to the Isolation Facility at Harrison Point, St Lucy, under the direction of isolation facilities manager Dr Corey Forde.
    Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic is soon expected to roll out a comprehensive programme for how the vaccine will be distributed in Barbados.
    Last week, international companies Pfizer and Moderna were both granted emergency use authorisation of their COVID-19 vaccines by the US Food and Drug Administration.
    Vaccines have also been provided to front line workers in the US and England.

37. Here is an example of an article that says nothing, a case of optimism overload. When will the vaccines be arriving in Barbados? We are told not until March.
    Who will they be coming from? We are given waffle about PAHO and Covax. Previously we were told that a deal had been done with PAHO for 56000 vaccines, divided by two that is 28000 people. What is the priority list? Here we have a top doctor at the QEH telling us that frontline staff (what he means are frontline medical staff, but the reality is that the cleaners, bus drivers, shop attendants, as shown in Europe and North America, are the main victims).
    Then you get the comic: QEH staff are volunteering to take the vaccines, no matter which, and at the same time they want to know more about them. So they are prepared to inject poisons in to their bodies without knowing what these poisons are.
    Finally, who determines policy, a top doctor at the QEH, the minister, or a team of experts?

38. The vaccines will be purchased by PAHO on behalf of the regional governments, the point has been made many times in the media -our tiny islands have no priority in the procurement process. We have to wait on the world health organizations to advise. At this point you do not know one rh who will be given the vaccine. If hot, wait greedy will cool.

39. New vaccine against the new variant within six weeks.

40. @ David,

The PM can call a ” friend ” and beg for some.

When will the expatriate staff of the UK High Commission, the USA Embassy and the Canadian High Commission get vaccinated ?
    Doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

41. @Hants

If it is one attribute the incumbent prime minister has compared to her predecessor is her comfort operating in that international space. Let us see how it plays out.

42. Reports in local media states that a small cluster of Covid infected people who arrived recently from the UK has been residing in ST.James
    It has stated that these visitors on arrival produce the necessary documentation which show them to be COVID negative

43. Five more CoVid victims, all visitors again. Is it true that visitors, or at least many of them, are no longer tested at the airport but are visited at their hotels or residents later by ministry officials?
    If that is true, why is there no transmissions to locals? What are the monthly mortality rates for 2019 and 2020?