Submitted by Kaszab 

It looks like this message is in English

I know people lucky enough to have excess discretionary funds to invest. Lucky dogs. They are looking at investment opportunities in the retail, manufacturing and services sectors. I have told them to keep their dough in an account with the highest interest for now. Why? Have you have been watching the government advertisements that shoot off a wave of nationalistic pride with promises that Canadians will become their own suppliers and customers? These advertisements both Federal and Provincial are not new in their message or purpose. Diverting our gaze towards the south by promising us a better more prosperous future. Diversion tactics 101. The BBB has estimated that Canadians will enter a mild recession by the end of 2026, possibly into early 2027. You know what that means don’t you?

If you want to invest look for protected Banking Institutions. There are just to many scams going around these days. 

Where to not invest?

Restaurants and Bars: According to Dalhousie University over 4000 restaurants or bars will close before the end of 2026  It a projection. Restaurants have suffered since the pandemic. Bars are suffering from the fact that more Canadians drink less or non at all. Not a growth sector.

Weed Retail: Perhaps invest in online operations, but not into the retail sector which is over saturated forcing profitability way down. The Black Market is holding its place as the preferred supplier of weed products in Canada. Weed enterprises will begin to disappear once their investors am-scray. 

Electronics Stores: Cannot compete with online sources, so they concentrate upon repairs and maintenance. Clothing Stores face the price wars all except for the high end brands that somehow continue to flourish. 

Farming and Agriculture: The family farm will become extinct. Agri-Corporations create profit through their abundant patent control. Agri stocks are costly. Look to the long term always. 

With the event of tariffs making money in the money markets has become very difficult. Projecting the growth or declines of costs are near impossible these days. 

Investing in Medical Establishments: Groups of Doctors offering a multiple of services to the public. Looks like a good hefty investment but look out for governmental regulatory issues, government demands upon the medical front and how the Doctors are going to respond. 

You can always buy gold if you have to ability to, or silver. Then you will need to find someone to buy it which could be impossible when the economy slows down. Become a coin collector perhaps. In the end one must always look into ways to protect your investment. Protection often means not making a sizeable profit. The cost of doing business I guess. 

Please realize there will be a economic down turn. How do I know this? Investors like Warren Buffett are on a buying spree getting their hands onto firms and corporations of the future. Corporations that will service the public and business world like railroads. When financial predators go on a buying spree they see a down turn in the markets that can become a profit making machine for them now or in the near future. 

24 responses to “Where to invest?”

1. Weeee could never tell why this Kazsab fellow remains so integral to all that BU is, at least the faculty here.

These well-curated suggestions only make essential contact with an economy which has failed and continues to so fail.

Even the hedge fund Canadian PM has started to smell the coffee and in the face of US irrational sanctions has opted to differently anchor the Canadian economy to México, to China, to Greenland, to primary manufacturing, new trade corridors – more properly.

And in the face of the construction of a totally different, multi-nodal, global economic system, the faculty of Kazsab and his chief acolyte on BU, insist on requiring more of the same warm-over, neoliberal, excesses of the past.

For if even a Mark Carney a former Goldman Sachs bankster, now Canada’s PM, could smell a different coffee brewing why can’t a Kaszab, and his peon here on BU?

For Kazsab continues as the perceived genius when there remains a deeper, richer, wider, set of discourses, on all topics, which remain untapped by a faculty here which continues to throw his easily reachable, bullshiite, out on a regular basis.

2. STEVEN, IF YOU ARE TRUMP* & THE 0.1% YOUR INVESTMENTS HAVE QUADRUPLED – SO THE RICH GETS RICHER & THE POOR GET POORER (THE UNNATURAL STATE OF THINGS) – A SYSTEM CREATED BEFORE THE CAESARS (#AncientAndModern) EXISTED

I was looking @GOLD in 2014 when a “TROY OUNCE stood @$1,266.06 – that same #TroyOunce today stand @$4,642.48, a 70.08% appreciation!!!

I was also looking @CRYPTO the year after my daughter passed away & in 2013, while in BIM*, #Bitcoin saw a dramatic price surge, (having leaped from $2 in 2008).

The “SURGE” started in 2013 @$13.30, reaching $1,156 by December, with reports as high as $1,242 by November 29!!!

By the end of 2013, while still in Hastings Towers, over looking the beachfront & the ‘ole Caribbee Hotel, Bitcoin had closed @$754 – $758, reflecting a 5,500% increase 4 the year!!!

Today, that same Bitcoin et al is now trading @$95,600 & set 2 rise to God know what!!!

#GoldmanSachs has projected a $200,000 price target for Bitcoin by 2026!!!

TRUMP HAS RAKED IN $10 BILLION IN THE LAST FISCAL YEAR BUT NO ONE PAYS ATTENTION TO THAT BECAUSE HE IS THE PLAYGROUND BULLY – BUT GOV(s) WANT TO KEEP THE POOR MAN POOR WHILE HANDING HIM TRINCKETS WHILE THE OTHERS GROVEL & GROPE INCESSANTLY FOR A MORSEL OF STALE BREAD!!!

Poor people have “NUTTIN” to “INVEST” – as most are living on “NOODLES”, “SARDINE & BISCUITS” or “TRYING ” LIVE UP WITH THE JONESES*” by using a “CREDIT CARD” (which they cannot pay off in “FULL”) every month; as well those who make a living from the “ILL-GOTTEN GAINZ” (that number increasing as the years go by)!!!

A HOUSE & CAR ARE NOT INVESTMENTS – THEY ARE DEPRECIATING ASSETS WHEN MARKET TURMOIL HITS THE BLOODY FAN!!! *LAND* ON THE OTHER IS AN APPRECIABLE ASSET!!!

50 hectares in Costa Rica can cost the price of a 4 bedroom house in Britain – so why “BUY” a house next to a neighbour where there’s no “PRIVACY” or “LAND” & have to repay a 25 year mortgage!!!

If anyone thinks that “INVESTING TODAY” ( #Legitimately ) will earn them any kinda’ serious monetary returns – “THINK AGAIN”!!!

DO ANY ON BU HAVE GOLD, SILVER, CRYPTO, GOLD & SILVER COINS???

#HereIsSomeInvestmentAdvice

MOVE TO BURKINA FASO & BUY A PIECE OF LAND IN A GOLD MINING AREA & START MINING!!!

#CaptainIbrahimTraoré just made US$18 BILLION from #BurkinaFasosGoldMines!!!

If you haven’t been “SAVVY” enough to use the techniques of the “RICH” in regards to your investments & done that 20 years or more ago – then you are “SUCKERED”, bar winning the “LOTTERY” (with a 1 in 23 million chance) – money down the bloody drain!!!

The “RICH” own “NOTHING” – so they can never be “SUED” (unless, its the “WIFE”) who will take “HALF”, as in the case of “BUTCH” (from SANDALS*)!!!

A WOMAN BROUGHT – ONE IS LIKELY 2 CARRY YOU

The rich & (UBER) riche put all their assets in “TRUSTS”, “FOUNDATIONS” & other domiciled entities including “SHELL” companies in outside jurisdiction – where you can only find then from a “PANAMA PAPERS LEAK”!!!

#NiceAttemptSteven

#Time2ThinkOutsideTheBox

3. WHERE ARE THE LEADERS WHOSE SOLE AIM IS BUILDING UP THEIR COUNTRIES* & THEIR PEOPLE??? I CAN ONLY THINK OF JUST #One – CAPTAIN IBRAHIM TRAORE

#GoodLuckBrassbados

2026 WILL TEST YOUR METAL

Who is “SMART” enough to have your “POLIETICIANS” pay for your “VOTE”???

#NotAGrantley but 1000s of ‘grantleys’ or “NO DEAL”!!!

I won’t be expecting a genuine answer!!!

MEANTIME…..

#StayTuned

4. THE MOST POWERFUL “investment” ANY BAJAN CAN MAKE TODAY IS TO MOVE TO THE AFRICAN CONTINENT IF YOU WANT 2 INVEST IN YOUR FAMILY’s FUTURE (short & possible long-term – whatever period we are granted [#HereBelow] )

Your current leaders “TALK” a lotta “SHYTE” but does “NOTHING AT ALL 4 YOU” (except now, as the “COURT JESTER” emerges in his tellurized suit of #PoLIEticalIntrigue, manipulation & brainWARPING* weak individuals 2 “TRUST THEM” 4 another “TERM IN OFFICE” (when GOOD GOVERNANCE” dictates “TERM LIMITS”) on those “FOOKERS”!!!

They “HOARD” your wealth & “GIVE YOU SLOP” in return!!!

“CHEAP, NASTY DANGEROUSLY PROCESSED FOOD”; “TOXIC-SPRAYED VEGETABLES SYNTHESIZED WITH HERBACIDES, PESTICIDES & THE LOT; GENETICALLY MANIPULATED & PRODUCED MEAT & THE LIST IS ENDLESS – that produces #Cancers, #Hypertension #Diabetes #HeartDisease #ProstateIssues #LowSpermCount & every form of “IMMUNE COMPROMISED CONDITIONS”!!!

They are in bed with #BIGBIZ* 2 exploit your “ARSE” to the max – while pretending to do something 2 address cost-of-living pressures!!!

You remain “BLINGFOLDED”, “CHAINED” & “HOGTIED” by “DECEPTION” – now the “8TH WONDER OF THIS CROOKED, NASTY, STINKING WORLD”!!!

But according to the #ProphetJeremiah – “THE PEOPLE LIKE IT SO”!!!

#SoWhatThen

#ImDun (ITS THE SHABBAT*)

5. The ONLY safe investment that ANYONE can make today, is in forging a spiritual alignment with the CREATOR of all that exists.

This world has served its DESIGNED purpose as the cauldron needed to refine the ‘diamonds of righteous character’ that are needed by the great ‘I AM’.

Having forged and cleansed the new baby, the remaining bath-water will be duly discarded – no matter how much gold, silver, dollars or assets they have accumulated.

Nothing is more OBVIOUS now, …than that the tub is being ‘swished’ around in preparation for the disposal of the shiite waters…

What a period..!

6. Best investment now if you have cash but have loans with interest payments above 6% is clear them off. When you debt free then go from there with investment.

7. Every investment carries inherent risks. The extent of one’s risk appetite is determined by where you are located on the data life line.

8. @TB

How is your suggestion practical for the average Barbadian? Do we have frequent and affordable airlift between the continent and Barbados?

9. Bushie

Foolishness! That kind of thinking cannot be the product of the evil genius mind which men and particularly White men, have designed.

For it is no more difficult to make a fortune in a bear market than a bull market. Sophisticated investors care not.

We go further. The general tendencies for investors is to neither seek the bull or the bear, but to bet on both sides.

Meaning, that by a hedging strategy, using puts and calls, optiins, whatever happens the investor wins. Of course, the additional costs on the other side of the trade will slightly reduce the winning side. That is an equation market pros can easily live with.

10. @ Pacha
    So what does it profit a BB to use hedging strategy to become a billionaire – only to be discarded with the bath-water used to cleanse the baby?

Wuh that would be like breaking the slot machines on the Titanic by using statistical strategies…
    Wuh yuh going do then? …bribe de sharks…??!

Bushie holding on pun de lifeboat…

11. Steve Martin - Stock Market Avatar
    Steve Martin – Stock Market

You got to have long money if you want to get the panties

12. I invested my money in my children’s heads.
    So far paying great economic and social dividends.

13. And since Kaszab has noted that “The Black Market is holding its place as the preferred supplier of weed products”

I think that I will also invest in the supply of black market weed, since here as in Canada there seems to be an unlimited desire for that product.

I’ll also follow Bushie’s advice “he ONLY safe investment that ANYONE can make today, is in forging a spiritual alignment with the CREATOR of all that exists.”

So I’ll put something in the collection plate in the hope that the pastor will help me to forge an alignment with the creator.

I think that these strategies are called “hedging your bets”

14. @ Cuhdear
    You could have hedged your bets long ago – with a few conkies
    – particularly some wid de raisins thrown in…
    But no…!!
    You play dat you endorsing the grands instead…

Good luck with the pastor and de ZR crew…!

15. Barbados does not have a complicated investment offering. Besides flipping land and a couple funds like fortress and Sagicor, not to forget BOSS+. The local BSE is a joke. Where can regular people invest with confidence?

16. You’ve answered your own question. For if Barbados has not a complicated investment offering, people can invest with confidence as the market suggests – Fortress, Sagicor, BOSS+, etc.

But even these can hardly and consistently give returns much over inflation. These relatively weak returns show up in national income measures, investment or re-investment statistics, etc.

Of course, there’s a cottage of people who have some money outside generating much higher returns, maybe up to 14 percent. However, these too might tend to make the local problems worse.

As we go around in cycles we’ll eventually return to all the features of local productivity, the base of the local economy, the inability to stand up more productive industrial sectors, and so on.

The truth has long been that the “economy” has been dying and only keep alive by consistently borrowing, rolling over old debt for new loans, running too-high debt burdens, for things which do not transform the underlying structure of the economy.

Coming soon, given present trajectories, the country will be forced to address this conundrum one way or the other. We’re afraid that things will more likely get worse, for a long time, before they get better, if at all. The more likely scenario will not be a better investment climate but cultural death.

We have long suggested that the lack of local investment could be resolved, in the absence of borrowing, by a new international architecture as first suggested by Keynes.

That system would require that the balance of payments be made to actually balance by requiring the trade deficits to foreign countries demand equivalent investments from countries registering surplusses. This is the fundamental problem the country faces but you, you and you have always been too wedded to neoliberalism to see this point of view.

17. Our national investment strategy is to put our money into Japanese, Chinese, European and other automobiles and appliances that are DESIGNED to rot away in a few years and require continuous ‘re-investment’.
    All productive investment opportunities are GIVEN to foreign predators who extract both profits, and even retained earnings – while our government BORROWS and taxes locals to compensate the losses.

The tourism industry is a colossal joke – with the hotels owned overseas, the payments from visitors channelled off-island, products IMPORTED, senior positions belonging to foreigners… while the menial jobs, the garbage, and the environmental damage are absorbed locally.
    Foreigners control our money, (via their banks)…. our insurance, …our retail businesses and prices, …and our utilities.

So what the Hell do we need ‘investment offerings’ for…?
    Do CHILDREN who are controlled by their parents need to bother about investment?
    First they need to GROW UP…. ent it?

After 500 years of slavery and degradation, Bajans have adjusted SO WELL to being chattel, that we actually DEGRADE OURSELVES without any prompting from others.
    This is what DEFINES a ‘brass bowl’.

We then CHOOSE to elect the most MENDICANT among us as political leaders, those who talk shiite about…
    – Giving handouts to the POOR (rather than enfranchising and LIFTING them up)
    – Fixing potholes and garbage management (instead of building QUALITY)
    – Spending money on the hospital with increasingly WORSE results.
    – Borrowing more CREATIVELY – (Like a Parro with pretty talk)

After 500 years of our brightest and best being culled by the earthly demons, it is no surprise that we are left ONLY with the REMNANTS of a once great people.
    Indeed, the only SIGN of true greatness is that we have ANY survivors at all…

So that any truly enlightened who are actually living among us, therefore MUST BE a sign of supernatural intervention that belies human explanation…

What a place nuh!!

18. @Bush Tea

Despite your comment many sensible are left in the cold looking for investments. You should refrain from broad brushing the issue.

19. “You should refrain from broad brushing the issue.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Why Boss…?
    Um is true!

Yuh want Bushie to change to he name to ‘narrow brush tea’ ?
    ha ha

20. For those with significant resources real estate is the obvious best option along with the time to navigate end to end.

21. LOL @ David
    Real estate?

You mean to pay land taxes that are CLEARLY designed to dispossess local land owners?

You mean facing increasing threats about penalties for debushing etc? – when government owned properties are like forests?

Then who will you sell your ‘investment’ to when you need to liquidate?
    Poor-assed Bajans who are scrunting to pay the credit union for their vehicles? …and Massy for some rice?
    …or do like the government, and sell to foreigners with dirty money?

Wait!!!
    Perhaps you mean to start an AirBnb business…?

What a place!!

22. @Bush Tea

Your assessment of the real estate market is not correct.