It does not take much acuity – even from the armchair political observer – to see that the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has slipped into full electioneering mode. One glance at the Nation’s front page is enough to chuckle at how a routine public relations exercise is inflated into headline news. Clearly the leading daily has invited a critique that it is complicit.

This week, Minister of Transportation Santia Bradshaw, flanked by her entourage, was given the full monty coverage for the arrival of 35 electric buses manufactured in China. Social media influencers were mobilized to broadcast the spectacle of buses rolling from the Port Authority to Transport Board headquarters, as if this were a transformative moment in our transport history.

But here is a question for Minister Bradshaw: it is good to expand the fleet. Yet Barbadians know what to expect in a couple of years, given government’s chronic neglect of maintenance. Meanwhile, the daily chaos on our highways and byways remains unaddressed. For over half a century, minister after minister has failed to bring order to the roads. Minister Santia Bradshaw continues the tradition of cluelessness on how to bring order to the transport sector in Barbados. Just off Halls Road roundabout heading to Queens Park what do you see? At the junction from QEH to the River Road, what do you see? At the entrance and exit from the River Bus terminal, what do you see?

An efficient public transportation system remains elusive. Instead we have to endure gridlock every hour of the say, negatively impacting national productivity. The Barbados Licensing Authority continues to underperform. Potholes multiply, draining foreign exchange as rims, tyres, and suspensions are replaced.

Yes, we love the spectacle of shiny electric buses. But on our pothole riddled roads, they will soon pick up the ‘rattle’. However beyond the optics, there are deeper concerns: international data shows hybrid and electric vehicles carry unique safety risks — higher fire hazards, complex crash responses, and aging battery failures. Yet Barbados has no clear plan for specialised training of first responders, no transparent maintenance regime, and no accountability framework for agencies tasked with oversight.

So, Minister Bradshaw, give us more than a parade. Tell us what the Transport Authority has achieved, where it has failed, and how it intends to confront the structural rot. Because it is incredible — and unacceptable — that moribund agencies continue to suckle at the taxpayer’s expense while government feels no obligation to be accountable to the citizens it was elected to serve.

What confidence can we have in any government that is unable to solve a 50 year old problem? Maybe it has to do with who controls the sector.

53 responses to “Shiny buses, pothole roads”

1. They loudly say we have a fleet of 121 electric busses what they fail to say is about 21 of them are up at mangrove out of service from accidents waiting for parts or don’t have mechanics with the knowledge to repair them ,politicians will never tell you the complete story ,but love to be there for a photo op we do need a photo op of how many electric busses are out of service

2. Why should anybody except those predisposed to the Christmas of the electoral season be animated by either new buses or potholes.

Every time these two woe men are seen notions of an eternal ‘female’ leadership core seem to be in the offing.

This government seems to have taken a long series of actions to remove any man who might have been a threat to this ‘feminine’ order. An example may be the retirement of the attorney general from active politics.

Of course, this ‘couple’ is not the only two seemingly so destined. This government seems to have studious built a deep bench of a Bajan-Amazonian political subculture.

Pacha locates this kind of an apparent predetermination within a context where woke-ist and fascist forces have emerged conjoined within the centre, the political core, not only locally.

Why is this formation by ‘women’ any less a threat to social order than in the past when men believed that it was to be them, be them alone, leading the country?

How can this emerging normalcy help a country which continues to be guided by an outdated understanding about leadership to find that person with the requisite abilities if a thumb is place on the scale favoring those on a certain side of the ledger?

3. It is reported that the Chinese technical support is on island.

4. WAKE UP BRASSBADOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WAKE UP CARICOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*HELLSCAPE* HAS BEEN UNLEASHED IN YOU SO-CALLED ZONE OF PEACE

5. VENEZUELA IS NOT DONE!!!

#StayTuned

6. The Kamla fool is frantically distancing herself from the invasion of Venezuela!

Murdaaaaah! De cat got pups!

7. Listen the buses are not my concern today. I went to town to go in the market this morning and the city was sealed up with police with machine guns. They were tourist walking up from the port as they were 2 large cruise ships in today as well. I personally saw several of these turn around when they got just past the fish market, where one could see cones with numbers on them in the road. It was like a scene from SWAT.

This nonesence can not continue. We have to address this quickly or the island will pay the ultimate price. Barbados was not, or should never be a country seen as Gang Central. We need the foreign investment and this can not be lost to a handful of thugs, who think Bridgetown is their own personal shooting ground.

8. @John A

You are an alarmist.

9. @ David

Well boy say what you like I can tell you what I saw not what I heard. This is madness now. City secured, hospital secured what de ass I seeing.

10. @John A

Majority of Barbadians don’t seem to care or have become numb by it. We are not the same people.

11. @ David

But we have to care. This is not what we want visitors to see when they walk from the port to the city. Police armed with automatic rifles does not give me the impression of a country blessed with peace and tranquility. I mean I understand why the officers needed to be heavily armed don’t get me wrong, but I really hope the authorities can get a handle on this madness in 2026.

12. What EXACTLY did you people expect the end game to be like…?
    Wuh the REAL shiite ain’t even STARTED yet..!

Wunna don’t know that “there will be very much trouble and pain and sorrow. It has never been this bad from the beginning of the world and never will be again”.

History is REPLETE will unbelievable pain and suffering that was almost beyond belief… consider what it will take to EXCEED that..!

Trump knows that the Epstein records will finally dig his grave, Bushie suspects that he has decided to take the whole ship down with him and his wealthy degenerate pals.

What a world!
    It will take SUPERNATURAL intervention to avoid total destruction – which, as Bob Marley points out, is the only other ‘solution’.

13. Bushie

He may appear as if wanting to take the world down with him, but that’s only an appearance. He’s a coward and a fool!:Even as your scenario is quite right but this fool can’t see or cares about that.

And it is because he’s a fool pretending to be intelligent that unlimited madness is happening everyday. He just gave Netanyahu permission to attack Iran again. He’s a madman with power, more perceived than real.

What Trump is really doing is to make as much money as possible, for himself, his friends and his family. This is his central pre-ocupation. Nothing else really matters.

And for this narcissist that’s all that matters. Everything else is merely background noise.

14. @John A

You must note what is playing out in the so-called zone of peace with the cancellation of flights etc? Hopefully the disruption will be short lived but the fickle nature of tourism is with us again.

15. @ David

I was thinking the same thing. It takes you back to all the talk about diversifying the economy away from tourism dependency after covid. It proved to be nothing but talk of course, but today shows we learnt nothing from the past when it comes to putting all our eggs in the tourism basket. As for the zone of peace I find that comical. When Maduro had his gunboats in the Esequibo river, where was the zone of peace then? When Guyana was under threat where was caricom’s voice then in terms of calling for peace? Totally unheard is where it was, as we were like parros hoping for cheap oil from the invaders efforts.

16. MISSING LINK

By Maria Bradshaw

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

A United Kingdom car dealer who ships luxury vehicles to Barbados says the country needs a third-party inspection company which would certify vehicles when they arrive and before they are handed over to the buyer.

Austin Hamilton, managing director of Hamilton Cars Ltd, believed this added layer of security could prevent what occurred back in June when police seized several luxury vehicles which were smuggled into Barbados as part of an international car racket.

Police here have not made any arrest as yet, telling the Sunday Sun the matter was still under investigation. Likewise, their counterparts from the National Vehicle Crime Intelligence Service in the UK stated: “We can’t comment as it is an active investigation.”

Hamilton, who has been exporting vehicles to Barbados for the past three years, said he was surprised to discover that Barbados did not have a thirdparty authentication system, which he said was in place in most of the countries where they export vehicles.

“A lot of countries that we sell cars to, there’s an inspection before the car goes out. In Kenya, you have the QISJ inspection. In Uganda, you’ve got the EAA inspection; Seychelles has Veritas inspection. Every country that I can name to you has some sort of inspection. Even Guyana in South America has got the EAA inspection.

“But there’s nothing for Barbados. I don’t know why there isn’t. There should be some sort of check; you know the chassis number, make sure that matches the V5 document . . . . I’m guessing with something like that in place it would probably be a lot harder for these people to scam people out of their money.”

He explained that usually the third-party inspection company was not operated by government.

“They’re third party so they’re completely unbiased and you have to have the agent from that company who will come out to your location and check the car over – the engine number, the chassis number, the documentation is all up to date – and once they’ve done that, they issue you a certificate and you can only bring that car in once you’ve got that certificate, and that’s part of the clearing process in that country. Without that, they won’t let the car in.”

Hamilton, however, explained that without that process in place in Barbados, his company carried out all of the necessary checks.

“I’ll find you the vehicle that you like. I will quote you for the vehicle. I’ll give you the pricing and so on. Once you’ve sent us money for the car, we as a company undergo our own inspections on the car. So we’ll do the background checks, the MOT check which is the Ministry of Transport check. We will check the service history on the vehicle and we will physically go and inspect the car in person and do all our checks.

“Once we’ve picked up the car we bring it back here to our compound, we photograph it, we video it for the customer and then it gets dropped off at the port and away it goes.

“So we are the ones doing the inspections on behalf of the customers.”

Hamilton said when the incident was highlighted, his company did receive queries from customers but he said: “I know for a fact none of our vehicles were involved in this scandal,” as he pointed out that Hamilton Cars Ltd, exported vehicles to 20 countries.

“We use the same shipper all the time and we’ve sold to private individuals and dealers in Barbados as well,” as he confirmed that his company also posted a message on its social media pages distancing itself from the situation.

Hamilton said he also personally visited Barbados last year to meet with dealers and customers.

When contacted, David Jean-Marie, chief executive officer of Barbados Port Inc. (BPI), said: “The mandate of Barbados Port Inc. is the receipt, storage and delivery of cargo. Our standard operating procedure dictates that cargo is delivered to consignees only after it has been cleared and released by the Customs and Excise Department, as well as other border protection agencies including Port Health, under the Ministry of Health and Wellness, Plant Quarantine and Veterinary Services Units, under the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Security. BPI continues to invest in the digital, physical and human resources necessary to support a more robust border security framework.”

He added that the implementation of a third-party inspection “is perhaps best addressed by agencies responsible for enforcing vehicle import regulations compliance”.

The Sunday Sun also reached out to Ryan Straughn, Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance, but no response was forthcoming.

17. Same old talk.

TRANSPORT OWNERS ARE SEEKING CLARITY ON GOVERNMENT’S MASS TRANSIT AUTHORITY PLANS.

NEWS SOCIAL POSTING - 2026-01-02T064844.829

As the New Year begins, the Association of Public Transport Owners is calling for decisive action to improve safety, accountability and modernization within the sector.

Chairman of the Association, Anwar Nana says a key priority moving forward is a significant reduction in serious road accidents involving public transport.

He is also urging authorities to move swiftly on the introduction of a cashless system stressing that modernizing the payment process would bring greater efficiency to public transport.

Mr. Nana also raised concern about the lack of information being shared with transport owners on Government’s proposed Mass Transit Authority plans.

Source: Starcom news

18. Steupsss!
    What clarity are they seeking?
    What could be more obvious?
    This government is COMPLETELY CLUELESS in matters of management.

Our government’s area of expertise is in manipulating BB poor people to vote for the group of secretly selected idiots that are put up as ‘candidates’ every four or five years.

Ongoing FALSE promises, downright LIES, complete LACK of transparency, and CONSISTENTLY POOR RESULTS characterize our last 20 years.

The choices we had for ‘leadership’ have almost ALWAYS been between an Idiot, a lackie, and a JA.
    There has been NO history of successful implementation in the last 20 years, beyond;
    – Borrowing and begging from EVERY POSSIBLE source
    – Selling off every possible piece of silverware that our fore parents had accumulated
    – Writing off debts owed to LOCAL bondholders – and touting this as ‘debt reduction’
    – Further enriching the VERY SAME albino-centric people who tormented our enslaved ancestors for CENTURIES.

Steupsss!
    ‘Clarity’ would REQUIRE that a list of COMPETENT, QUALIFIED, and morally acceptable candidates be convinced to step forward and set this shiite place on a track for possible survival – and perhaps even success…
    But apparently such persons are all asleep.

Anything else is spitting into the air and looking for rain…

19. The blogmaster observed the BPS was out in force today at the locations where PSVs cause congestion and confusion. Keep it up!

20. Could it be that Arthur and MAM tried a sleight of hand by delaying the retirement of Arthur’s retirement to ease Tyra in the do?

21. Could it be that, in an effort to FURTHER manipulate the composition of parliament with compliant lackies and bosom buddies, Arthur was promised the newly created ‘independent Speakership’ – in exchange for his late resignation and public support for the ‘young ting’?
    Why else make THAT particular constitutional change now?

It would certainly be easier than;
    -promising the Presidency for four years,
    -changing the constitution for foreign eddykashun assets,
    -seeking to break the laws to get the Indian boy in the senate,
    -or handing out ambassadorships to get rid of MALE impediments to dictatorship

The problem with leaders who, like Trump, have sought to hide their financial dealings from public scrutiny, … or who fail to publish reports of their financial dealings with public funds such as NISSS and various ‘big works’, … is that they then need to PUT lackies in place to continue to protect their secrets down the road…

Can’t have ‘big-mout’, upright, independent people coming into office and spilling the beans…

What a world of EVIL!
    …where honesty and righteousness is laughed at…
    …and where brassbowlery is par for the course.

22. The following was sent via the blogmaster’s confidential inbox.”

Hosptal on Lockdown

This is a recipe for anarchy.
    We oftimes hear and read about business establishments, offices and event centres on “Lockdown” when there is pendin danger to public safety. There are two institutions that remain open and available because its concern is safety. Thats the Police, Ambulance services, Fireservice , Hospital Medical institutions
    To have the QEH Hospital on Lockdown is the initial steps to Anarchy.
    Yes, Anarchy
    Mr Master Bloer can you post this to invite comments?”

23. Wunna pathetic and desperate. Don’t buy buses until all the roads fixed? That was the 2008-2018 DLP strategy?🤣🤣

The BUI are transport planners now. The same BUI that supported David Thompson’s cancellation of the flyovers and the implementation of a reactive, non-strategic, shortsighted rally circuit in Wildey as a long-term traffic solution.

FYI, more shiny buses is part of the solution to addressing the chaos–more TB buses means more capacity. With ac, wifi, no loud music, new routes and an improved service, the ZRs can’t compete with TB. Things may very well come full circle.🤐

24. Enuff…
    It is beyond wunna BLP capacity to maintain a working fleet of busses AND to fix potholes at the same time then?
    Ever heard of walking AND chewing gum simultaneously?

So wunna will divest pothole patching too…?
    To whom?
    …the people wunna planning to import from Dominica (that Trump send them?)
    …with precast concrete patches from Malmoney?

What a place!
    Your interventions USED to be occasionally enlightening…
    …now they seem to be panicky…
    Wonder why??!!

25. “… the ZRs can’t compete with TB.”
    ~~~~~~~~
    Ha Ha Ha
    Murduh!!!
    @Enuff, … Do you live on Mars?

No wonder wunna CANNOT get ANYTHING to work.
    WUNNA HAVE NO CLUE ABOUT ANYTHING.

The TB could install beds and sofas, and run every 10 minutes – and the ZR would eat their lunch EVERY TIME.

Firstly:
    The ZRs understand the CULTURE of their publics.
    – Bashment
    – Milkshakes and police defiance
    – Stop anywhere, anytime, anyhow – at the convenience of passengers / drivers
    – Go off route to ‘drop home’ loyal customers
    – Run errands on route for friends (pick up packages etc)

Why do you think so many of our school children have CHOSEN to wear their hair in ‘bad-boy’ stylee?

This is NOT a ‘bus quality’ issue. It IS a CULTURE battle, and wunna LOST THE WAR when wunna allowed the school children to walk around looking like goons (or like many of our unkempt politicians do)

Secondly:
    -The ZRs have been given (or were they SOLD?) the short, lucrative, easy routes by POLITICIANS for personal profit. Some of these politicians have become BLP heroes.
    -The ZRs can close down operations whenever they wish – or when it becomes unprofitable for them.
    -They can SLOW DOWN operations (and ALL OTHER TRAFFIC) at times during the day when it suit THEIR pocket to do so.
    -They can run their vehicles until kingdom come before replacement
    -They are IMMUNE from traffic rules and regulations and FEARED by the courts

Not to mention that, based on their INCENTIVE pay system, they may be able to ‘incentivize’ TB drivers to assist them in meeting their targets. (You would understand this Enuff, politicians do it ALL THE TIME with national projects like HOPE)

Meanwhile, The TB is run by a pack of clueless, political appointees who have never even successfully run a canteen at Kadooment before – and whose ONLY ‘solution’ is to keep buying new busses…

…and you got the GALL to come here telling us shiite about ‘buying new busses’…??!!
    Steupsss…

26. The bottomline is that the transportation system is in chaos and this not mean the TB, it means the system that includes private and support areas e.g. BLA and BRA.

27. @ David

Transport Board requires at least 200 buses to ADEQUATELY and EFFICIENTLY service ALL routes.

IN ALL FAIRNESS, this current BLP administration inherited a TB with approximately 65 buses available for service, and a significant number of other units in need of repairs.

To their credit, they immediately began to repair and refurbish buses, increasing the daily availability from 65 units to 92.

Also, bear in mind TB has an aging fleet, the last buses being 65 Mercedes-Benz T270R Marcopolo Torino with Allison Transmission, which were purchased TWENTY YEARS (20) ago in 2006.

Under those circumstances, in an effort to INCREASE and MAINTAIN the daily availability requirement to service all routes, the OBVIOUS solution would be to PURCHASE more units.

According to several drivers I know, one of TB’s major problems is MAINTENANCE, overseen by an INCOMPETENT Quality Assurance Department.

Additionally, unlike previous General Managers, the current TB’s CEO has considerable experience in the public transportation sector.

He is the former public relations officer of the Public Service Vehicles Workers’ Association (PSVWA), and owner of several PSVs.

28. @Artax

As stated in the previous comment, making transportation in Barbados efficient is more than procuring buses.

29. @ David

Seems as though you’ve not read my comments thoroughly and are missing the point.

As it relates specifically to TB, we cannot IGNORE or DENY the fact that “procuring buses” is an IMPORTANT PART of the PROCESS.

Without the recommended daily required availability of buses, it REMAINS impossible for TB to provide an EFFICIENT SERVICE, to ADEQUATELY service all routes.

Inefficiency in the service is defined by passengers complaining about waiting 3 or 4 hours for buses to their particular destinations.

30. @Artax

Your comment as always was read with diligence. The simple point is that when we had a full fleet there were still the problems of maintenance and other issues associated with mismanagement.

31. Bushtea
    Sir you are of the opinion that the repair of the bridges and roads in the Scotland District is a waste of money. You know everything about nothing and Rayly makes sense. I stop taking you seriously a long time ago.

The chaos is in part due to the TB lack of capacity, obsolescent service and outdated routes which forces the public to rely on the main cuplrits of the chaos–ZRs. More buses, a more efficient service (reliable, real time schedules on apps/bus stops) and revamped routes would remove such a heavy reliance on ZRs. The majority of Bajans would prefer safe, comfortable TB buses than to squeeze up ZRs with frowzy conductors loud ass music and reckless driving. Frequent service is an essential element of an efficient bus service. Without capacity your service can’t be frequent, you can’t properly introduce transfers, extended or 24-hr routes etc. New infrastructure like bus lanes and YES flyovers can help too. When was the last time the TB had a full fleet?🤣🤣 But isn’t proper maintenance tied to fleet size? You cant tek buses off the road to service if you only have 50! Even if maintenance is scheduled during 12-5am. The BUI is pure comedy fuh trute.

32. “The simple point is that when we had a full fleet there were still the problems of maintenance and other issues associated with mismanagement.”

Evidence indicates otherwise, David.

The most recent time TB had, according to you, “a full fleet,” was during the early to mid 1980s, a time when there were MORE buses than routes.

There were enough units that could’ve been allocated to service INDIVIDUAL routes such as Deacons Road, Brighton, Grazettes, Cave Hill, Walmer Lodge, Wansted Drive, Paynes Bay, Speightstown, Boscobelle, Indian Ground, St. Lucy Church, Pie Corner, Josey Hill, and Connell Town……

…… rather than a combination of routes (Deacons Road/Grazettes/Cave Hill, Boscobelle/Indian Ground, St. Lucy Church/Pie Corner, Connell Town/Josey Hill), which is the current situation.

Additionally, there weren’t any major problems with maintenance, a fact that would be corroborated by many former workshop employees who worked with TB, before the days of UCAL.

33. @ Enuff
    NOBODY needs to take Bushie seriously.
    The bushman is NOT in any position to waste taxpayers’ money like you and your bunch.
    Besides, Bushie is rich as shiite – with a father that keeps his cup overflowing.
    Bushie just finds wunna and wunna ‘many hands’ that can’t make one shiite work, to be funny as hell…

On the OTHER hand, WE HAVE to take you seriously…
    Cause any set of people with the ability to make $60 million of HOPE disappear…
    …to change Steel houses into millions of STEAL…
    …to DISAPPEAR ONE BILLION DOLLARS in NIS funds like magic…
    …to sink $50 million into a closed BAMC last year alone…
    …to cover up the Four Seasons scam

…And who keeps repeating shiite about rebuilding bridges (which bridges wunna rebuild?) by begging for Chinese largesse – when BAJANS have, for years, refined the appropriate techniques needed for St Andrew …

In much the same way that the USA NEEDS to take their idiot Trump seriously, … cause HE WILL be the death of their donkeys…

WE got the same shiite bout here with wunna…

What a place!

34. @Artax

We can agree to disagree.

35. “Frequent service is an essential element of an efficient bus service. Without capacity your service can’t be frequent……”

Enuff

Agree with you 100%.

Some sources define an efficient public transport system as ‘the effectiveness with which transportation systems move people from one place to another, while minimising resource consumption, time, and environmental impact.’

Reliability and frequency, which have a direct correlation with route efficiency (e.g. consistent bus schedules and decreased waiting times), are among the core essentialities of an efficient public transport system.
    Simply increasing frequency is a very effective method of improving service and passenger satisfaction.

Transport Board CANNOT achieve those objectives WITHOUT purchasing an adequate fleet of buses.

David would “agree to disagree,” because it’s more CONVENIENT for him to do so, rather than ADMITTING his opinions on the issue are questionable.

Also, institutional integration, by establishing governing agency to coordinate both public and privately owned PSVs, services, and routes.

Sustainability, which simply refers to minimising greenhouse gas emissions and environmental impacts, (e.g. reducing the reliance on fossil fuels to focus on electrification).

Passenger information systems that provide real-time data (location, arrival times, disruptions), via apps and display monitors in the bus terminals, for example.

And, cashless fare systems.

In all fairness, however, using the above core elements of an efficient public transport system, credit must be given to the Mottley administration for moving to electrification by purchasing electric buses, and proposals for implementing a passenger information and cashless fare systems, and establishing a ‘Mass Transit Authority.’

Unfortunately, the current road infrastructure would present some difficulties in constructing flyovers and creating road sections exclusively for buses, as you suggested.

36. @Artax

The blogmaster recalls it was in the 80s that we saw the rise of the PSV sector. Why did this occur? It was the time Tom Adams also decided to raise the tax on PSVs. The issue with transportation in Barbados is not only about buying buses. The blogmaster will not be surprised that by the end of the year – even with the fancy electric fleet- we will be back to square one.

37. Based on the blogmaster’s research, the TB had never been run efficiently and never will be by government.

38. “Based on the blogmaster’s research, the TB had never been run efficiently and never will be by government.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Did that research uncover ANYTHING that was efficiently run by our politicians in the last 30 years?
    Steupsss…
    Only in Brassbados could it take so long to recognize that a system is NOT working.

Sleeping BBs MUST get what they deserve…

39. The Transport Board was never run efficiently. But I never waited three hours for a Sam Lord’s Castle or a Bayfield bus when I was a school girl. Two hours was the maximum and not norm. The school bus always came and so did the Marley Vale bus.

Things have deteriorated significantly if people are waiting for three and four hours, usually after noon, and I am told that they are. And the old reliable Marley Vale bus is no longer guranteed.

During the DLP debacle, even the school buses were unreliable. And our dear Freundel, when informed that children were on the road after 10.00 a.m. remarked that buses were still running and children were still going to school.

I don’t understand how we can talk about increasing productivity improved education and better home cooked diets when people have this much difficulty getting first to work and then back home to supervise and feed their children.

40. @ David

RE: “The blogmaster recalls it was in the 80s that we saw the rise of the PSV sector. Why did this occur?”

You’re essentially suggesting that “the rise of the PSV sector” “in the 80s,” was as a result of an inefficient Transport Board, which is not accurate.

Privately owned public transport in Barbados evolved from horse drawn trams in circa 1881 until circa 1925, trains until circa 1937, to electrically drawn trams and open-sided omnibuses in the early 1900s.

The private concessionaires (e.g. Progressive, General, St. George, Leeward, Boston and Blades Hill bus companies), could be considered among the first PSVs in Barbados as well, since they were assigned to service specific routes.

During the early 1970s there were ‘open-back vans,’ popularly known as ‘pick-ups,’ that serviced routes in rural Barbados. I’m more familiar with those vans plying northern routes.

The origin of several current Speightstown mini-buses.

This suggests there was a thriving private sector led public transportation sector in Barbados, even after the establishment of Transport Board in 1955……

…… and which coexisted thereafter.

Two (2) important facts you’re missing are, whereas Transport Board operates a schedules service, private PSVs do not.
    And whereas PSVs are assigned to SPECIFIC routes, TB buses are not.

Let’s assume, for example, TB has an hourly service for Speightstown. A bus leaves the terminal at 10 am, the next one being 11am.

Here is where PSVs fill the void. Ten (10) mini buses could go to Speightstown between 10 and 11 am, which is impossible for TB.

Hence, there would always be a need for PSV to provide supplemental services.

Additionally, you often refer to the fact that successive Ministers of Transport are responsible for the excessive number of PSVs in the island……

…… a fact you’ve NOW chosen to either conveniently or purposely ignore.

41. RE: “The issue with transportation in Barbados is not only about buying buses.”

Who mentioned anything about buying buses is the only issue with transportation in Barbados?

Certainly NOT Enuff…… and certainly not me.

42. Bushie

The fact that you rely on hyperbole like $60M Hope money disappeared proves my point. I guess the HOPE houses that we see with our eyes were built with air. You Rayly offer any thing of substance, just a swell head misogynist that went school in Waterford.

43. “Based on the blogmaster’s research, the TB had never been run efficiently and never will be by government.”

What is the basis of your research?

Please provide the forum with the results.

Or are you using the term “research” to substantiate your opinions?

When I refer to research on public transport in Barbados, I’m referring to ‘FACT BASED RESEARCH,’ and not relying on information that confirms particular biases (i.e. confirmation bias).

I often present ‘facts and figures’ to substantiate my comments, which are based on the fact that I’ve been researching the evolution of public transportation in Barbados for over 20 years, during which time I’ve collected several news articles, photos, talked to former bus drivers, and joined forums that focus primarily on historical Barbados.

All in an effort to secure information. It’s a hobby.

I’ve heard people saying government divesting TB, means an increase in bus fares. Divestment is essentially a return to the days of private concessionaires.

Government regulated bus fares during that era.

During the 1950s, buses fares were controlled by Highways & Transport. For example, on Friday, August 18, 1950, Director of Highways & Transport, A. B. Skinner, informed the public about an increase in bus fares from October 01, 1950.
    (Read page five (5) of Saturday, August 19, 1950, edition of the Barbados Advocate).

Government currently regulates bus fares.

This is the type of research I’m referring to.

44. @ Enuff
    It seems like that HOPE scam is a particularly bitter pill for you to swallow…

Wunna CANNOT publish the report
    Wunna CANNOT deal with the culprits (they too big)
    Wunna CANNOT rely on the Bajan seven-day-wonder (wait it out)
    Wunna CANNOT get any progress with the housing

Looks like another early election is wunna only option again…
    Murduh!!

Only this time um could backfire yuh!!
    So far some of the new DLP personalities have been quite IMPRESSIVE – since they got rid of the idiots… including the ‘Lashes’ that wunna just tek.

-Worrell has been making some positive waves as health shadow..
    -Stephen Lashley was VERY mature and rational on a ‘Brass Tacks Sunday’ last year…
    -Lone ranger Thorne has been sharing licks like peas in parliament
    -and last week this Greenidge fellow from St Philip definitely impressed … although he has two strikes against him…
    1 – He is a lawyer…
    2 – He brother….

In Bushies humble opinion
    Wunna donkey is in TROUBLE Enuff!!!
    murduh!!!

All the DLP has to do now is…
    – promise to complete the BAMC transfer to the sugar workers
    – commission an independent externally run forensic audit of all government projects with outstanding audited reports
    – reverse the stupid Tint, Airbnb, and other mock laws dat wunna write
    – and tek back we land dat wunna give way to foreigners…

and the DLP gone clear.

By the way …
    Bushie went to schools all over the world (and other places – just like Sir G).

45. @Bush Tea

Unsure about your read of perceived strength of DLP candidates on offer. What we know is that there is a thirst by voters for a good alternative.

46. OK! ok! Before you say it, I am going to say it. “America has potholes too. Every country has potholes”.

Had a good shake up as I crisscrossed the country. At one stage I though my driver was seeing ghosts for he would suddenly dart to one side from the other as if he was swerving to miss what I thought was an invisible pedestrian.

At one stage, I sat up front and became a front seat navigator as I tried to help him navigate what was a bit of straight road.

I agree that there are potholes everywhere. Safe navigation to you.

47. @ The most honorable TheOG. Where I live it is going to be -11 degrees Celsius tomorrow. Stop complaining and go and get a sea bath.lol

The City of Toronto began its first pothole repair blitz of the year Friday with crews working to fill potholes across the city overnight and into Saturday.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/toronto-pothole-repair-blitz-2026-9.7041098

48. Who said anything about perceived strength Boss?
    Bushie listed FOUR persons who were able to make rational and relatively sane contributions is public fora recently. This is something that ANY BB high school graduate should be able to do….
    BUT when last did you hear ANY such kind of rational public rant from a BLP high roller?

Those jokers have been worse than pathetic…

The QEH is a complete MESS – and THAT minister CANNOT be found – and when seen, looks like HE need the QEH services more than anyone else

The Agriculture minister has been tongue-tied about key issues, all the while writing shiite articles about economics, international loans, and loan policies… while admitting to David Ellis that he has to await Mascoll before talking about BAMC.

The Transport minister looks like someone we should pity… Hopelessly entangled in matters that are CLEARLY above her COMPETENCY grade – even if her pay grade has been padded.

This (third?) Energy minister has excelled at speaking with great confidence about things that she has NO CLUE about, taking foolish advice from predators, and moving the energy ministry ever closer to disaster.

Let’s not mention Education, Innovation, Water, Housing, or the various others whose woes have been so well documented…

So even a brass tacks session of coherency from a few NON BLP persons willing to actually discuss facts will be refreshing.
    “A one-eyed man is king in blind man land”.

Obviously once elected, and compromised with bribes, threats and gifts, those one-eyed prophets will ALSO become blinded – just like Sampson, but cuhdear man, a bushman could HOPE….
    Steupsss…
    We ass is grass.