There has always been consensus by the BU family that at the root of our problems is an irrelevant and dysfunctional education system. It was therefore important to listen to Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw as she and her team appeared before the 2019 House Appropriation Debate – Standing Finance Committee OWN the problems with a promise to reform the education system.
It was interesting to note Bradshaw’s assessment of the current education system if compared to her predecessor Ronald Jones. He offered no similar critiques during his lengthy tenure as minister of education. What a difference a general election makes!
A poignant moment came in the presentation when Minister Bradshaw stated that problems identified by the criterion test at 9 years old were not remediated before the child had to do the 11+. It there translated to young children condemned as failures by society. Some may suggest another poignant moment occurred when the Prime Minister asked Chief Education Officer what recommendation would she make to improve the leadership in the schools. Her response will floor you!
Watch Santia Bradshaw, Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training share the challenges and opportunities faced by her ministry.
A must listen for all Barbadians!
RE but she is a Professor and I am a layman.
THANK GOD FOR THAT!
I second that! Forty years ain’t forty days
Interesting stuff, Hants. These children are different from the way we were. They don’t work well without stimulation and they are more likely to rebel and give up if pressurized. We need to rethink our education system. Too many are semi-literate and many are functionally illiterate. Many are disengaged and disillusioned. Many are lazy-brained and inarticulate. We have to do something different or continue to fail.
We cannot carry on like this!
“A leading physician, healthy lifestyle advocate and paediatrician has blamed the exam for contributing to the thickening waistlines of Barbados’ children”
Hahaha. Murdah!
More sno cones does sell when in Bdos during Wimbledon Championship.
Wimbledon tournament responsible for increased sno cone sales.
Murdah!
I didn’t question Dr.St.John’s credentials or her ability, I just didn’t comprehend how she reached her conclusion. The comments I made are as a result of viewing part of her address on TV and the subsequent newspaper report.
RE I didn’t question Dr.St.John’s credentials or her ability, YOU CANT!
RE I just didn’t comprehend how she reached her conclusion. WELL IF YOUR COMPREHENSION IS LACKING IS THAT ANNE’S FAULT?
RE The comments I made are as a result of viewing part of her address on TV and the subsequent newspaper report.
viewing part of her address on TV PART?
the subsequent newspaper report. LIKELY PARTIAL AND AS USUAL INACCURATE?
AGAIN
JESUS SAID IN JOHN 7:24
JUDGE RIGHTEOUS JUDGEMENT AND NOT BY THE APPEARANCE
I.E YOU CANT NOT ADJUDICATE PROPERLY WITH OUT ALL THE FACTS
We have to give Dr. St. John some credit. She is not a jackass who likes to bray like some on the blog.
We have to give Dr. St. John some credit.
Maybe she deserves lots of credit. Who knows? But the reports of this “study” don’t deserve much credit at all. The analysis sounds dicey.
Is Ms St John beyond scrutiny?
@ Dullard.
Absolutely. You are spot on. We should deal with the ideas, not the personalities. Here we have a chairman of the blog criticising contributors to his blog. Would you as a businessperson criticise your clients? David is a one-off.
If the newspaper report of Dr St John’s speech is accurate, it is crap. She does not know what she is talking about.
The newspaper reports a snippet from a survey done and you would condemn some of who offer caution on using the snippet to rubbish a health care professional with an impeccable reputation. You one big buffoon!
Wuhlaus!
A journalist should know about credibility of sources. If a source has been proven to be credible on multiple occasions, more weight can be given subsequent information provided by them. This does not mean one does not seek to verify their information but it does mean that one is not inclined to dismiss it outright. Reputation does and should count for something in most if not all spheres of life.
This was an online snippet designed to be provocative or a soundbite designed to grab attention. The smart thing to do would be to seek to find out what she said in total instead of making fun of her .
There is a difference between scrutiny and mockery.
This was an online snippet designed to be provocative or a soundbite designed to grab attention. The smart thing to do would be to seek to find out what she said in total instead of making fun of her. [Quote]
I agree with you. Any journalist worth his or her salt would know this.
This is the same person who read a snippet of the crime statistics and dismissed it as rubbish, without reading the entire report.
It looks as though some people have an obsession with criticising EVERYTHING Barbadian, even when criticisms are not warranted, or they go as far as to misinterpret
something just to give them a reason to criticise.
@ David BU,
You are so spectacularly dumb it is embarrassing. In fact, in my opinion, you are the most ill-informed person on BU. What do you know about news reporting? Have you ever reported anything in your life? Can you read? If so, it is a hidden secret. Stick to what you are good at, crawling – a health care professional with an impeccable reputation. Learning by rote should be declared a mental disease.
So how do we challenge health care professionals with impeccable reputations? Does one just accept everything they say? Plse explain the logic of what she said. Are you really a Barbadian? I thought Barbadians were cleverer than that.
I repeat, if the newspaper report is accurate, she is talking crap. Nonsense. Gibberish. Her health care reputation is irrelevant.
DR ANNE ST JOHN IS INDEED A DEDICATED, DEVOTED, DUTIFUL health care professional with an impeccable reputation! THIS FACT CAN NOT BE DENIED OR REFUTED!
RE So how do we challenge health care professionals with impeccable reputations? Does one just accept everything they say?
MEDICAL ILLITERATES WHO ARE STUPID ENOUGH TO ARGUE THAT THE BRAIN IS A MUSCLE IS IN NO POSITION TO challenge health care professionals with impeccable reputations.
Are you really a Barbadian HAL AUSTIN ? I thought Barbadians were cleverer than TO TALK THE SHITE YOU DO SUCH AS TO ARGUE THAT THE BRAIN IS A MUSCLE.inter alia
.DR ANNE ST JOHN HAS SEEN AND SPOKEN TO MORE BAJAN CHILDREN AND THEIR PARENTS IN THE LAST 40 YEARS + THAN YOU AND THE OTHER MORONS CRITICIZING HER ON BU.
GIVE IT UP MORONS
Why, why, why???????????????
I am getting tired of this nonsense!
Dr. St. John went to the same school I did. I remember learning some things by rote. I also remember being encouraged to think and figure some things out. Some things are better learnt by rote. Others are better learnt by discovery. Both methods were employed.
Quite frankly, I don’t believe our problem can be summed up solely by poor critical thinking skills. Our problem is often “bad-mindedness’. There are and have always been good ideas floating around in Barbados. At the risk of sounding as though I am kissing up, GP seems to have had some good ideas that would have cost us very little by way of funding to implement. Many of them seemed to have been about systems and better use of resources. Efficiency. Some of his ideas were not implemented simply because they came from him. They would have made him look too good. And instead of realizing that recognizing a good idea and running with it is an equally great talent, the bad-minded boss killed the idea. There is a way to make the boss think that it is his idea, One can also allow the boss to present it as his and take the credit. Sometimes that is the only way to make him feel less threatened in this climate.
The thinking that needs to change is the idea that in order for us to rise, somebody else needs to be kept down. There is enough for all of us if we all use our skills for the common good. Instead of raw competition we need to reconfigure for co-operation. We must build teams where all team members are valued and bosses reinvent themselves as team leaders or facilitators.
We need to understand that –
“We must all hang together, or assuredly we shall all hang separately.”
Dear Hal,
If a man opens his home and allow you enter, to participate in the conversation and when it is the man’s turn to speak, you ridicule and insults him, then you are not a good guest.
I value your opinion on some things, but I think you are wrong when you try to belittle the blogmaster. He is a better man than I am, because I would not allow you to have the last word. I would tell you what, who, when, and where to suck and what and to haul your ass.
So, if I were you, I would look at the blogmaster’s comments and let them pass if to insult is your only response.
Let me leave you with two of the phrases that I see here quite often.
“You may have the last word”
“Doing this for a friend”.
Kind regards,
TheoG
dearest darling donna
you can kiss up and kiss me anytime……..even if it hurts TheoG’s feelings and breaks his heart! murdah
I remember learning some things by rote. I also remember being encouraged to think and figure some things out. Some things are better learnt by rote. Others are better learnt by discovery. Both methods were employed.
SOME THINGS MUST BE LEARNED BY ROTE IN ALL SUBJECTS AND SPHERES OF ENDEAVOR.
THATS WHERE YOU BEGIN ABC 123 DOH RAY ME, ETC
IN MEDICINE IT IS ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY, FOR DISEASE (PATHOLOGY) OCCURS WHEN
THESE TWO GO WRONG
IT IS UPON SUCH PEBBLES THAT THE BUILD THE BIG ROCKS OF GREAT DISCOVERY
@ Theo,
Many thanks for your well-thought out comments. It is not part of my usual behaviour to be rude to people, but I fight back, no matter who the opponent is.
One of the newspaper quoted Dr St John as saying, more or less, that the 11 Plus was responsible for obesity in young people. This was a comment made at the launch of a survey carried out by CADRES of just over 800 people. Who were these people? How was the study done?.
If the newspaper report was accurate, then she is talking nonsense. If she is misquoted then someone – the researchers, Dr St John or the publication – should correct it..
I contributed a piece to BU stating the opinions quoted were waffle, nonsense. Then we got the usual BU response: that Dr St John was a good sprinter at school, that as a health care professional she has a high reputation, that she went to some school, that I said the brain was a muscle, that the credibility of the person quoted is important, and that good journalists would seek out sources, on and on.
No evidence was produced to substantiate her claim; no study was produced; no methodology was explained, no discussion about obesity. A woman in a white coat and a stethoscope.
I do not know Dr St John, nor do I care to know her; I have no interest in her athletic ability, nor her health care reputation nor her social status. I was dealing with a specific claim. I will not lose any sleep over upsetting her fan club.
About entering a man’s home and being rude to him? As I have said, if you are rude to me I reserve the right to be rude in return. My responsibility is to history, to future generations so they know we were not all irrational and wrong on key policy issues. I do not look at who says things, but what they have said.
I am not looking for validation when I make comments on BU. I am not in a popularity competition. My working life is over and it was fulfilling.
hal austin
you contributed a piece to BU stating the opinions quoted were waffle, nonsense WITHOUT HAVING ALL THE FACTS!.
AS YOU SAID “No evidence was produced to substantiate her claim; no study was produced; no methodology was explained, no discussion about obesity.” SO HOW COULD YOU COME TO YOUR OPINION THAT the opinions quoted were waffle, nonsense WITHOUT HAVING ALL THE FACTS!.
HAS IT OCCURRED TO YOU THAT ALL THE FACTS WERE NOT GIVEN?
HAS IT OCCURRED TO YOU THAT THOSE OF US WHO KNOW ANNE, AND KNOW ABOUT her health care reputation WOULD KNOW THAT SHE IS VERY UNLIKELY TO TALK SHITE IN PUBLIC …….LIKE HOW YOU ARGUED VEHEMENTLY HERE ON BU THAT THE BRAIN IS A MUSCLE?
AND YOU HAVE NOT UPSET ME, YOU HAVE ONLY DEMONSTRATED THAT PERHAPS YOU DO HAVE AN INBORN ERROR OF METABOLISM IN WHICH THERE IS REALLY MUSCLE IN YOUR BRAIN!
My responsibility is to history, to future generations so they know we were not all irrational and wrong on key policy issues.
HISTORY AND FUTURE GENERATIONS WILL SEE THAT YOU WERE INDEED IRRATIONAL, AS YOU SERIOUSLY THINK THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE
My working life is over and it was fulfilling ALSO, EVEN THOUGH THERE IS .NO MUSCLE IN MY BRAIN!
RE but I fight back, no matter who the opponent is.
SOMETIMES THERE IS NO NEED TO FIGHT.
SOMETIMES THERE IS NO NEED TO FIGHT AND MAKE AN ASS OF YOURSELF, UNLESS THERE IS INDEED, REALLY MUSCLE IN YOUR BRAIN!.
HAL AUSTIN
HAVE YOU ANY evidence TO produce to substantiate YOUR CLAIM THAT THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE?
YOU PRODUCED no study OR explained,no methodology OR GAVE no discussion TO SHOW THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE, BUT YOU ARGUED VEHEMENTLY AND VOICIFEROUSLY WITH VIM AND VITRIOL THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE.
IS THAT NOT SO MR AUSTIN? .IS THAT NOT SO ?
DO YOU HAVE A UK APHASIA?
OR ARE YOU JUST LEXICONIC OR DPD-ESQUE IN THE EFFLUXING OF BOVINE EXCREMENT FROM THE REGIONS OF YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON.
Is the brain is a muscle?
It is not a muscle but it behaves as a muscle. Strictly speaking and at the physical level, the brain is an organ, the most important one. However, there are some theories that describe the brain as a muscle in the sense that it can be trained to improve different cognitive functions like working memory or math skills.
Does the brain have muscle tissue?
The brain actually does not have muscles but it controls muscles. The cerebrum is the largest part of the brain and it controls all voluntary muscles.
Can the brain be trained like a muscle?
Yet most people don’t know that your body’s controlling organ – your brain – is similar to a muscle, too. In fact, keeping your brain “fit” with plenty of mental stimulation is a great way to support your healthy cognition, mental function and memory throughout your life.
having studied or taught or applied Anatomy & Physiology since I was aged 22, i.e 45 years I CAN SAY THAT THE BRAIN
IS NOT A MUSCLE
IS NOT SIMILR TO A MUSCLE
CAN NOT BE TRAINED LIKE A MUSCLE
DOES NOT CONTAIN MUSCLE FIBRES
DOES NOT CONTRACT LIKE MUSCLES DO
DOES NOT BEHAVE LIKE A MUSCLE
DOES NOT HEAL LIKE MUSCLES DO
HISTOLOGICALLY THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF NERVE FIBERS NOT MUSCLE FIBERS
THERE IS NO SIMILARITY OF NERVE TISSUE TO MUSCLE TISSUE IN DESIGN STRUCTURE OR FUNCTION
THE POST ABOVE IS SPURRIOUS AND TOTALLY CONTRARY TO WHAT IS KNOWN TO MEDICAL SCIENCE .
MEDICAL ILLITERATES SHOULD REFRAIN FROM PUTTING OUT BULL SHIT ON THE BLOG CONCERNING STUFF THAT THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT
HE POST ABOVE IS SPURRIOUS AND TOTALLY CONTRARY TO WHAT IS KNOWN TO MEDICAL SCIENCE .
MEDICAL ILLITERATES SHOULD REFRAIN FROM PUTTING OUT BULL SHIT ON THE BLOG CONCERNING STUFF THAT THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
I copied and posted the above information from several Medical Articles Online word for word.
Last time I checked there must be at least 1 million Doctors worldwide specialising in various fields in a worldwide population of over 7 billion people.
Somehow you seem to think you are the one and only.
You may have the last word.
When at the end of this life’s journey ALL OF YOU will see that my fellow myope Dr. GP is Right AND THE BRAIN IS NOT A MUSCLE!
And I ent care how many millions of doctors say so
Consciousness and brain functions ARE NOT THE SAME
ONE IS, IT JUST IS!!! while the other, the brain, is just a physiological mechanism to manage or conduit our responses in this casing.
But few of you have ever experienced that, while not under the influence of anything but life itself, a spontaneous disassociation that gives you true “association” with BEING so
At any rate, one digresses, but the good Doctor is right and it’s not a muscle.
And with that aside de madmen’s cry is launched heheheheh
HERE IS A GOOD PPT ON MUSCULAR TISSUE
By: Kristin Tuccillo. What are the main functions of muscular tissue? Movement; Maintenance of posture; Joint stabilization; Heat generation.
https://www.google.com/search?q=POWERPOINT+ON+MUSCLE+TISSUE&rlz=1C1LENN_enUS622US622&oq=POWERPOINT+ON+MUSCLE+TISSUE+&aqs=chrome..69i57j0.29142j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
HERE IS A GOOD PPT OF NERVOUS TISSUE
https://www.google.com/search?q=POWERPOINT+ON+BRAIN+TISSUE&rlz=1C1LENN_enUS622US622&oq=POWERPOINT+ON+BRAIN+TISSUE&aqs=chrome..69i57.16670j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
YOU FOLK CAN JUDGE FOR YOURSELF IF THERE IS A DIFFERENCE
HERE IS THE LAST WORD
RE I copied and posted the above information from several Medical Articles Online word for word.
SEEMS YOU COPIED THE WRONG SHITE OR YOU DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU COPIED
Last time I checked there must be at least 1 million Doctors worldwide specialising in various fields in a worldwide population of over 7 billion people.
THAT IS VERY TRUE BUT IT SEEMS YOU COPIED THE WRONG SHITE OR YOU DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU COPIED
Somehow you seem to think you are the one and only.
I CERTAINLY DO NOT THINK SO………………..BUT I KNOW AND UNDERSTAND VERY WELL THE BASIC HISTOLOGY AND THE ANATOMY AND PKYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN NERVOUS TISSUE AMD MUSCLE TISSUE WHICH CLEARLY YOU DONT KNOW………….SO YOU COPIED AND POSTED STUFF THAT YOU DONT UNDERSTAND
I have not yet been to the library and therefore I have not got all the facts. One thing I do know about the news media is that they tend to take out a statement that will tantalize the reader to want to know more. That is how they sell their product. Often when you read the full story, thereby putting the statement in its context, you realize that they were being deliberately provocative and thereby distorting the meaning of the speaker.
Not being in possession of the facts, I decided not to ridicule the doctor with a proven record of talking sense as opposed to nonsense. It is not because I bow to social status or which school the person went to or even educational qualifications. We all know some educated idiots. It is because I do not see how a person of her PROVEN intelligence could make a leap like the one published in that article.
It may be that she did make such a leap. But my experience with news media would cause me to give the benefit of the doubt to Dr. St. John. This is the logical response, i think. To judge people by their proven track record until in possession of all the necessary facts is the ONLY SMART WAY TO PROCEED. My response to the article is that I obviously need to know more.
But really… the onus is on the one who wants to mock to pursue the facts.
I don’t have the facts. Neither it seems do you. I will acquaint you with them when I do get them because it seems that the journalist does not want to exert himself so we can have the enlightened discussion he desperately wants to have. WOW!
PS. My reference to the school she and I went to was in response to the standard criticism of “learning by rote” in Barbadian schools as being the reason for our problems. At that school we did not learn everything by rote.
Sometimes this site depresses me. It seems as though some people come here with no intention of being reasonable.
Why, why, why???????
Cristina Gil Lopez, PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher
Answered Aug 4, 2015
It is not a muscle but it behaves as a muscle. Strictly speaking and at the physical level, the brain is an organ, the most important one.
However, there are some theories that describe the brain as a muscle in the sense that it can be trained to improve different cognitive functions like working memory or math skills. Maybe here is where the confusion appears.
The fact is that new evidence shows the brain can be developed and function like a muscle.
The main claim is “the more you use it the stronger it got” ( see Carol Dweck: Brain exercise boosts motivation). Thus, the conclusion is that, as in physical exercise the more you challenge your brain the more you increase your neurons connections resulting in a “smarter brain”
(Farrington, C. A. (2013). Academic mindsets as a critical component of deeper learning. University of Chicago: Consortium on Chicago School Research.)
https://www.quora.com/Is-the-brain-a-muscle-or-are-there-muscles-inside-your-brain
YOU PRODUCED no study OR explained,no methodology OR GAVE no discussion TO SHOW THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE, BUT YOU ARGUED VEHEMENTLY AND VOICIFEROUSLY WITH VIM AND VITRIOL THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE. (Quote)
Although I prefer to leave this nonsense alone, I have always talked about the fabrication of issues on BU. I can only assume the good doctor must have been reading something else. Plse re-post all the contributions on the original.
At that school we did not learn everything by rote.
True!!
But that is not the gist of Mr Austin’s comments. Why criticize the man for telling uncomfortable truths?
Any right thinking person knows that there is TOO MUCH rote learning in Bim, in the sense that there is little encouragement to think independently and figure out problems. It is a cultural issue where “children should be seen and not heard”. Where “the credibility of experts should not be questioned”. Where some one is right “because they are an expert”.
The returns on the multi-billion dollar free education experiment have been disappointing.
You doubt the Dullard?
Just have a look around the island — literally or figuratively.
@Dullard
The chickens coming home to roost.
Barbados Underground Whistleblower March 18, 2019 2:34 AM
Cristina Gil Lopez, PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher
Answered Aug 4, 2015
ALL THAT YOU HAVE COPIED IS BULL SHIT
THE HISTOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE IS VERY CLEAR
THE PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE IS VERY CLEAR
A PIECE OF SCUM WHO CALLS THEMSELF A Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher
CAN OPINE ALL THE SHITE THAT THEY LIKE BUT BOTH THE THE HISTOLOGY & THE PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE ARE VERY CLEAR
YOU, HAL AUSTIN AND Cristina Gil Lopez, PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher ARE ALL MEDICAL ILLITERATES
YOU AND , HAL AUSTIN NEED TO READ WITH UNDERSTANDING AND DISCERNMENT
HAL AUSTIN I READ ALL THE SHITE YOU POSTED AND I SAY AGAIN THAT YOU PRODUCED no study OR explained,no methodology OR GAVE no discussion TO SHOW THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE, BUT YOU ARGUED VEHEMENTLY AND VOICIFEROUSLY WITH VIM AND VITRIOL THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE.
YOU EVEN TALKED THE SAME SHITE OF WHICH Barbados Underground Whistleblower SPOKE
BECAUSE SOME PIECE OF SCUM WID A PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher PUTS SOME BULL SHIT ONLINE YOU IDIOTS GOBBLE IT UP
SHIT IS SHIT WHO EVER WRITE IT BUT BOTH THE THE HISTOLOGY & THE PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE ARE VERY CLEAR
ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY IS THE BASIS OF THINGS MEDICINE
Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience IS CLEARLY BULL SHIT
REAL NEUROSCIENCE IS THE TRUE STUDY OF THE ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND NEURAL TISUUES………..NOT THE COGNITIVE BULL SHIT RAMBLINGS OF SOME STUPID WANNABE WOMAN SOMEWHERE
THE ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND NEURAL TISUUES..IS SET IN STONE!
Is this senator now the minister of health or, as usual, she is over-stepping her bounds?
Heart disease, stroke and diabetes cost the taxpayer $64 million to treat, acting Minister of Education Senator Lucille Moe revealed today.
She said: “We have seen from the World Health Organisation (WHO) figures that the Government of Barbados has spent approximately $64M dollars a year on cardiovascular diseases and diabetes.
“We can all agree that this extravagant cost to Government has resulted from poor dietary habits and unhealthy food choices. Let me remind you that this figure will increase substantially if the dietary habits of all school-aged children are not changed.”
The minister implored parents and guardians to be aware of the foods that they feed their children.
She said: “My appeal to parents and caregivers of our nation’s children is to be cognizant of the pivotal role in making this campaign a success.
“We are adults and we must always be aware that the way in which we nourish and nurture our children from infancy will impact on what they do at present and what they will do in the future and how they will develop in the future.”
Senator Moe was speaking at the launch of the Switch It Up: Protect Our Children mass media campaign the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.
She said Barbadians must seek to reduce their thirst for sugary drinks and have a more active lifestyle.
She added: “The school should continue to reinforce its best practices of this campaign and continue their Water Wednesdays and their Fruit Fridays as well as have a vibrant physical education programme.
“The vendors around our learning institutions must be mindful that they too must play a part in feeding our nation’s children. In addition, the community too can also play a part by leading by example.”
With childhood obesity rates in the Caribbean being higher than the global average, therefore, Barbadians must play their part in eradicating obesity, she said.
“Our children need our intervention let us do our part, let us strive to stamp out this scourge. Let us strive to live healthy lives free of obesity,” she said.(Quote)
Now the evidence is real. Trainees entering the Samuel Jackson Prescot are so innumerate and illiterate they need remedial classes. Since these are school leavers ie age 16 and over, then we can honestly blame both BLP and DLP governments.
For 20 years the Arthur/Thompson/Stuart governments have allowed our educational system to decline. Who were the education minsters over those years?
Codrington School is applying for work permits to bring in a number of teachers, including maths, PE and Spanish. Are they joking Where are the teaching unions? Are they going to take legal action if these applications are approved?
Is the minister going to speak out? Is the DLP going to speak out? Is Solutions going to speak out?
@ Mr Hal Austin
Hal, here you go again
RABBLE ROUSING!
about a thing that shows that local stakeholders ARE NOT DOING THEIR JOBS,
Cause dem dont give one badword Hal, or, while they all been to school and are educated, like you, dont give one really badword badword!!!
I said that already didn’t I?
@Hal AustinNovember 8, 2019 2:16 PM “Codrington School is applying for work permits to bring in a number of teachers, including maths, PE and Spanish. Are they joking Where are the teaching unions? Are they going to take legal action if these applications are approved?
Is the minister going to speak out? Is the DLP going to speak out? Is Solutions going to speak out?”
On page 3 of the Nation of Friday November 8, Codrington School states that “having received no suitable applications…it is our intention to submit work permit applications for non-nationals…persons objecting to the granting of these work permits should respond to the Chief Immigration Officer by 19 November, 2019.”
Below is some propaganda to defend the application for overseas staff recruitment. So no to this bogus essay, paid for in Barbados Today.
By the way, editors have the right to reject advertisements.
Is your child completely prepared, academically, socially and otherwise, for universities admissions, university and life beyond academia? If your answer is “I think so” or “I hope”, read on!
As parents our roles are diverse and we endeavour to raise our children to be the best versions of themselves in today’s global and ever changing world. One of the most important aspects of our role is to guide their education. Discussion continually abounds on which curricula, which schools and which countries are better. The fact of the matter is no school or curricula are perfect. The key question/discussion should always be which school, curricula, and later on university, is best for my child? This should be the most important question for all parents.
Education is not solely about achieving academically or doing well in examinations. Equally if not more important, is the development of the whole child. It is about equipping each and every student with a “toolbox” of the skills, experiences and attitudes, not only to get into the university of his/her choice but to succeed in that university and beyond. At The Codrington School, that is not only our goal but our mission and the reason we became an International Baccalaureate (IB) World School.
The Codrington School offers many enrichment activities including music
The Codrington School, The International School of Barbados has been an IB World school since 2002. From the first 8 students, it has grown into a thriving, 170 strong, International Baccalaureate (IB) community catering for students between the ages of 3 – 18 within its 3 academic programmes.
The school is a member of the Council of International Schools (CIS), the European Council of International School (ECIS) and is fully accredited by the International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) as an IB World School offering the Primary, Middle and Diploma Programmes.
The goal of Codrington and the IB encompass developing future leaders – people who know how to communicate, collaborate and who know the value of teamwork. People who can problem solve, analyze, who are versatile and have a global perspective. The IB curricula develop what our ever changing world needs: individuals that can make a difference – who have developed the compassion and sense of public duty to contribute. Individuals who do not only think locally but globally and strive to be the best they can be.
The Codrington School teachers cater to different learning styles and personal interests
The IB accomplishes this through a student centered approach that focuses upon inquiry, action and reflection and which develops globally engaged and internationally minded individuals. Codrington students of all ages come to school with their own learning styles, strengths and challenges; they have combinations of unique and shared patterns of values, knowledge and experience of the world. Promoting open communication based on understanding and respect, the IB encourages students to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners.
University Readiness
As we talk of university readiness and embarking upon the university admissions process, we ultimately focus our attention on the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (16-19). This globally respected Diploma Programme is known for its academic rigor combined with a broad educational experience and a holistic approach. The Diploma Programme develops students that top universities seek: students with expert subject knowledge; with a skill set essential for university success (research and evaluation, essay writing, presentation skills, referencing,); a thirst for intellectual inquiry; the ability to think critically and to continually challenge ideas and ask questions.
Universities are exceptionally aware of this. It is reflected in the offer and acceptance rates for IB Diploma students; which is higher than any other post-16 system (e.g. A-levels, Cape, AP, etc.). Universities in many countries, especially the US, Canada and the UK hold the programme in very high regard. So great is the influence of the IB Diploma Programme on university acceptance that it has prompted Marlyn McGrath Lewis, Dean of Admissions at Harvard University to comment:
“Success in an IB program correlates well with success at Harvard. We are always pleased to see the credentials of the IB Diploma Program on the transcript. GPA is not nearly as important a factor in university admission as the IB Diploma. If a student has to choose, choose the Diploma over protecting the GPA.”
The above has also been confirmed by independent studies, and it is understood that the IB increases students’ academic achievement, college readiness, university acceptance rate and the probability of high school graduation and college enrollment. Other independent studies prove that IB students are well-prepared to succeed in post-secondary study. And, perhaps most importantly, they are set to make important and inspiring contributions to their communities, and will help achieve the IB’s mission of education for a better world.(Quote)