The following article was published in a local newspaper yesterday and prompted the following questions from BU family member Bentley – Blogmaster

1. What ever happened to the agriculture campus of SJPI proposed for somewhere in the All Saints area of St Peter?
  2. Why don’t we have meaningful praedial larceny legislation (possibly modelled off the Trinidad act of 1968)?
  3. Why can’t we get a wide range of seeds that actually grow and produce in Barbados?
  4. Where are the government incentives for such undertakings.
  5. Why are we not addressing the problems presented by the various crop pests, especially monkeys.

Until we address these and other issues large scale backyard gardening will be but a pipe dream.

‘Embrace homegrown food’ as backyard bounty initiative launches

A woman in a yellow blazer speaks passionately at a podium during the launch of the Backyard Bounty Initiative, promoting homegrown food and sustainable farming practices.

Barbadians are being called to plant more of their own food and embrace climate-smart farming practices, after the government’s new Backyard Bounty Initiative was launched in St James as part of a wider push to tackle import dependence and boost national food security.

The initiative, under the Community Agricultural Response and Empowerment Programme (CARE), was officially launched on the Melbourne Playing Field in Haynesville, St James on Wednesday, and forms part of the government’s wider food security strategy, which aims to reduce dependence on imports while empowering citizens to grow their own produce, even in limited spaces.
Minister of Training and Tertiary Education Sandra Husbands, the national project’s deputy chair, said the initiative was designed to help people make the most of small spaces while adopting modern, climate-smart farming practices.

“Backyard Bounty was created by the Ministry of Agriculture for one powerful purpose — to enable us to allow all Barbadians, regardless of where they live, to grow healthy food,” she explained. “Being able to do gardening in small spaces and doing it effectively, using some of the new climate smart and agricultural smart technology, is critical for our succeeding in growing as much food as possible in small spaces.”

The programme, launched in St James as part of the We Gatherin’ celebrations for the parish in September, will eventually expand to all 11 parishes.

“The aim and objective of the Ministry of Agriculture is to ensure that every single parish has access to this training, and has access to the new technologies which we’re offering today,” Husbands said.

Demonstrations at the launch included aquaponics systems for raising tilapia fish, which is supported with help from Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology students, potato slip planting for home starch production, cheese making, and fowl rearing.

“You know that we have the aquaponics and your ability to be able to grow your own tilapia fish… you are able to grow your starches with the potato slips and so on,” Husbands said.

“Then there’s cheese making and then there’s fowl rearing and other things that are going to be demonstrated today.”

The Backyard Bounty Initiative is only one element of a broader national drive to modernise agriculture and encourage food security, the minister stressed.
The Farming and Fishing Gateway Programme will soon be introduced to provide students and young persons with hands-on training in agriculture and fisheries, preparing them for careers or entrepreneurship, she added.
The Barbados Institute for Food and Agriculture at Hope, St Lucy, soon to be established, will serve as a hub for research, training, and innovation.

“Lots of things are happening in agriculture.

We want Barbadians to embrace the soil, we want them to embrace healthy living, healthy foods, and we do that by growing our own stuff wherever we can and buying local when we can’t,” Husbands said.
(SB)

34 responses to “‘Embrace homegrown food’ – Really?”

1. $20,000BDS IN MELONS GONE!!! WHAT THE “rats” DIDN’T BITE-UP – #Bernie & THE OTHER RAT-HOLES #MadeOff WITH THE BOUNTY TO BE SOLD WHERE-EVER YOU SEE MELONS BEING SOLD FOR $1.00/per pound ALONG THE HIGHWAYS & BYWAYS

#Welcome2BIM* – a land of “INGRATES”, “IMBECILES” & “IGNORAMUSES” whose values are no different to that of a “KING COBRA”!!!

The above-citation relates to a hard-working young woman who due to a life-changing incident left her farm in the hands of what I can only call a “TIER-LEVEL 3 IMBECILE” who for all intents & purposes was probably part of the snatch & grab (orchestrating the “POSSE” to come by night & level the cotton-pickin’ watermelon patch), afterward pretending that he was not around when the “THIEF & THEM” loaded up the wagons & “DID A BERNIE”)!!!

After a solid month on that LIL ROCK*, the amount of stories I fell prey to – it boggles my mind that so much “GROWS ON” right under the noses of the average Bajan & it is almost as if “MOST” live in a parallel universe or are just #Ignert!!!

Be that as it may, given “WAGE STAGNATION”; some folks trying 2 live up with the “JONESES” ( or whoever is HELL* is pushing the latest damn fashion trend of the day), no wonder as the #OJays rhythmically opined: “FOR THE LOVE OF MONEY – A MAN WOULD SELL HIS OWN MOTHER”!!!

2. I CONTINUE 2 ARGUE THAT BRITAIN DID THE ENTIRE WORLD AN ONGOING DIS-SERVICE & IF LEFT TO THE DIRTY BASTERDS – FISCAL FREEDOM WOULD BE A PUNISHABLE CRIME

#SeeWhy

#BlessedSHABBAT*

3. Maybe the ‘blogmaster’ should find another way of dealing with the underlying causation of the country’s centuries old inability to feed itself.

For rehashing these old near canards will not shut down a single suppermarket. Will not remove Barbados from its mandatory membership of the WTO. Will not prevent American agri-business from dumping their bad food on the country. Will not remove from the political culture not a single feckless imbecile as captioned above. Will not prevent the continued domination of the class of degenerate merchants, all, who have never transformed themselves into genuine producers. And on and on.

Not even the spectre of a global war. The total collapse of Western lending agencies which provide the debt for the country to buy foolish food. The destruction of empire. ……………………………..

Only the cultural death which the country yearns could fix the determination of the country to find its kitchen within another’s house.

You have long betrayed the specious boundaries of any notions of pragmatism

4. Barbados Underground’s success and relevance are measured by the quality of its contributors. The blogmaster provides the platform and will opine on issues like contributors, however, it is the contributions of readers that keep it alive and meaningful. If the blog remains relevant, it is because the BU family chooses to make it so.

5. Still growing much of my own food, in spite of sometimes being teased by the BU gurus, many of whom don’t even live here, and have never grown a bunch of seasoning in their lives.
    Nice pear on the counter waiting to be eaten. several hundred on the tree.
    Dried cassava left over from last year in the pantry. Fresh cassava in the field,
    Frozen pumpkin in the freezer. Fresh in the field.
    Yams in the field.
    Sweet potatoes in the field.
    Frozen okras in the freezer, fresh on the counter, some in the field.
    A little spinach in the backyard.
    Locally grown black belly lamb and chicken in the freezer.
    Locally harvested bill fish in the freezer. Maybe cou-cou and steamed bill fish tomorrow.
    Ate perhaps too many mangoes this season.
    And breadfruits too. But there is no such thing as too much breadfruit, right?
    Make some lemon cake with wild yard fowl eggs earlier this week. The grands though it was yummy. About ten eggs left so I will make some more next week.

But is Barbados and all Bajans food secure? No.

Do we have to import much of our inputs? Yes.

Can we do better? I think so.

But I will continue to do my bit for as long as I can. I enjoy fresh local food.

6. The problems with those who show pretenses about living in Barbados and growing a little thing here and a little thing there are many.

They are no different from the degenerate merchant class when one looks at the totality of what they eat, rice, chicken, pork, for example.

They make not a single impression on the food import bill and therefore the national debt.

They live no better, health wise, or longer, than the majority constantly crowding the supermarkets to reap what was not planted. No less incidence of HBP, diabetes etc.

They are the exceptions which prove the golden rule, centralized in Barbados, that food really grows in supermarkets.

They make not a single impression on the limited kinds for plant foods around. No custard apples, no mamey apples, no calloloo bush, no chia leaf, no variety at all – just like the mentality of the merchants.

They prove that Barbados is truly a food desert, minus los supermercados!

7. So @Pacha…
    Apart from talking a roll of shiite on a myriad of topics – (almost as much as Bushie does), and wishing for the arrival of the ‘big Dick’ nuclear cleansing,
    …how are YOU any different from the other brass bowl BU talkers that you are berating?

What examples of NEW thinking or novel concepts have YOU championed?
    You may know a lot about what is WRONG glocally, but can you ALSO re-construct?

Or are you like Enuff’s crew,
    Who only TALK about ‘de-constructing and RE-constructing’,
    but who, DESPITE having MANY hands (almost 30 in all), CANNOT get one shiite constructed…?

Come on!!!
    Lead by example Pacha…

8. Perhaps the backyard farming can help to change an ensconced mindset of consuming to one of producing. A long journey stays with the first shuffle.

9. Well, Pacha is different because of efforts to advance discussions, not like some who forever have based every topic on a single fucked up book.

People like you are a creature of circumstances. As you applaud the cooperative in their dealings with energy, sugar. Not knowing that what they are doing is dated technology and will be so shown.

This is one difference between Pacha and the crew. These are issues not to be discussed here with the likes of you.

But there are so many transformations in agriculture such that even serious small farmers have a vastly different orientation than your dated conception, backyardism.

By your own many judgements this “what a place” system cannot be transformed or re-constructed unless there are no other options. It’s criminal christians like you who made Little England one of the most backward places on earth.

Fifty years ago Barbados produced a wider variety of fruits than today. It had a better agriculture. You should ask why. Look at the markets around Bridgetown because there’s no broad culture of producing a wide range of fruits and vegetables which are available seven days a week, even if seasonally. Even supermarkets have narrow ranges.

So to presume that a bit of dated gardening here and there, regardless of the number of people doing it, in the absence of vibrant customer demand, storage, canning and central organization, is no different than 100 years ago and does not make contact with national development objectives as perceived.

Pacha seeks not lead anybody, unlike you! Just give opinions and that’s it. Everybody should lead self, like in a church?

10. Where is the Seed Vault promised by successive governments? Who believe food security can happen without food sovereignty? When we remove tress and fauna, then replace them with concrete who will we blame for extreme flooding, reduced crop yields, increased heat index, monkey invasion and vermins onslaught?

11. Steel frame houses ?

12. Concrete for the fence post? Read again

13. Bushie
    Suspend the shadow boxing. And since you seek leadership “here am I, send me”.

The project is the collapse of Western countries and the heightened World War Three which weee are now in and will be now surged to prevent that destruction. The lost of power of the West.

In these circumstances food would be scare in Barbados, for the near abroad, which your accolytes seem to conveniently dislike, unless it serves their begging interests, will be a frontline theatre.

And since you seem to believe that the current state of backyardism can be integral to the country, why not seek to solve this problem which looms on the horizon. However, you don’t have much time to complete this project life, as you are want to call it.

Weee must warn you that that war, which could end all wars, and will see the use of nuclear weapons because of the relative weaknesses of the West, on all military dimensions, shall be with us before the end of 2026. This is the zeitgeist.

So strat your little mercantile farming and food preservation practices immediately, at scale. For there will be a hungry nation to feed. You, the true believer, must lead this sacred project, “with the cross of Jesús marching on before.”

14. LOL @ Pacha
    Boss, you are preaching at the converted.
    Bushie is only trying to enlist YOUR clearly superior persuasive skills to convince the brass bowls of our imminent predicament, PARTICULARLY since you have so RELENTLESSLY knocked Bushie’s attempt to explain this EXACT situation as CLEARLY outlined in a clearly inspired book that gets your ire (for some unexplained reason).

Like you, the BBs don’t want to know what the Bible says.
    Unlike you, they can’t see the storm clouds gathering…

Over to you to provide the spectacles boss….

What a place!
    What a time!

15. Bushie

Your position has long faced considerable hurdles which have never been confronted by you.

One, are the lines of custody of those fables.

Two, are the many traditions of apocalypse predating the imposed existence of your god which you in your misguidance continue to ignore.

Three, these traditions contain five (5) previous and provable mass extinctions this earth has seen long before modern humans were even here. The last of which occurred 65 million years ago when 90 percent of all living things were made ‘un-alive’.

The next one is likely to distinguish itself by having causation with humans.

Of course, climate change induced by man comes in a close second.

Bushie, your nonexistent Boss Man is nowhere within these schemas. Far less the book, recently concocted, drawing from oral traditions and writings, just to give meaning to a made up White man’s acili.

16. The only planting I see bajans doing is planting down dem credit card on chefette and Kentucky counter on a daily basis.

We have a generation that can’t even cook and lives between the food vans and fast food outlets and you want them to grow produce? Boss you cant even get them to cook anything farless grow it! First thing you would have to do is change Bajans outlook on the stove first then go from there.

17. @Pachamama yesterday “No custard apples, no mamey apples.”

But plenty golden apples though. I ate a few this morning.

18. @John A September 27, 2025 at 11:36 am “Boss you cant even get them to cook anything farless grow it!”

This week I was gifted 30 nice fat guavas and 15 hard green golden apples, so today I made ten 8 oz jars of guava/golden apple jelly. Some for those who gifted me the fruit, some for Little Johhny and Little Susie, and one jar for myself, because there is nothing like a little fresh jelly. Store bought just cannot compete.

19. Cuhdear

The golden apples are great, juice made from them too, never were plentiful enough though, unless yuh have a tree. Haven’t seen them in many other places either.

20. Pacha the golden apples from my sister’s tree which are now in the fridge will be juiced tomorrow. Lovely fresh sparkling green juice.

21. @ Cuhdear

Sadly you are one in a thousand that have the skills. Our new generation is all about buying it as opposed to making it..

22. Guavas on the tree, sour sops just gone, golden apple tree trying its best, sugar apple tree did not thrive, paw paw neither, figs coming soon, mangoes gone two months now, pomegranates on the counter, coconuts always. Lime tree struggling. Ackees and heaven knows what else next door at my brother’s, breadfruit next door at my cousin’s. Just started up the garden again.

We may not be able to be fully self-sufficient at present, but there is no need to starve. A lot of us could do with a litlle less eating anyway!

I have grown almost everything I could ever need here on my little side plot, almost every crop, as a novice! Had plenty to give away. Why are we so pessimistic? I just don’t understand why it is that we always find reasons why something cannot be done.

Why can’t it? Why, why, why? We are a 2×3 country with a mere two hundred and seventy thousand people. That should make certain endeavours easier in many cases. This is just pessimism breeding unjustified feelings of being overwhelmed. WTO be damned! We can be more efficient and we can do better!

If the end comes by mushroom deckie or by higher power (and NOBODY here knows the future) it will find me doing my best with what I have to brighten the corner where I am.

That to me is far more enjoyable than standing still with hands thrown in the air in between moaning on Barbados Underground.

I’m off to make an omelette with the eggs I bought from my cousin down the hill. Cheese-making, they say? If it comes near me, I will be ready! New Zealand cheddar does spoil too fas’. Coming from too damn far!

P.S. I know plenty of young people who can and do cook. You think that the whole of Barbados can be accommodated by Chefette and Kentucky?

23. @Donna September 29, 2025 at 11:00 am “Just started up the garden again.”

Good to her this.

24. Correction: Good to hear this.

25. Cuhdear,

I just needed a break. Always intended to return.

P.S. Forgot to mention the struggling Bajan cherry tree.

26. Caricom to develop sweet potato industry

Sweet potato is poised to take centre stage again as regional leaders move to revive traditional staples, strengthen South-South trade ties, and tackle the high cost of living.

Chair of the Council for Trade and Economic Development (COTED), Indar Weir, said CARICOM ministers agreed at last Thursday’s meeting in Bassettere, St Kitts to develop a regional sweet potato industry, complete with research support, training, and a focus on building out the entire value chain – from flour and fries to processed food products.

“Sweet potato was once called big-grain rice because after World War II, when we had to feed ourselves and couldn’t rely on imports, it became a staple,” Weir explained. “Now, with several varieties on trial, we’re looking at how we can not only plant but build industries – flour, processed products, fries – the full value chain.”

Weir reaffirmed that the Ministerial Task Force on Agriculture will continue to drive implementation of the 25 by 25 plan, ensuring the region stays on track to reduce its food import bill and strengthen regional supply chains.

“The task force is set up specifically for us to work together in delivering the reduction of our food import bill from extra-regional sources by 25 per cent by 2030,” he said.

Weir, who is also Barbados’ Minister of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Security, said the discussions underscored the region’s determination to feed itself affordably in an era of shifting global trade dynamics and rising tariffs.

Regional trade

Among the significant outcomes, Weir announced progress on a preclearance agreement that would allow goods to move seamlessly among CARICOM states with fewer restrictions, and the ongoing development of an electronic marketing system to support regional trade.

“The ministers of the region are really committed to this objective,” he said. “We made it clear that we should seek to make sure that we do a risk analysis between member states so that we can trade with each other.”

Weir also highlighted the region’s shared determination to tackle high food costs and strengthen food security, noting that affordability remained one of the region’s most pressing concerns.

Technical partnerships

“One of the complaints we constantly hear is the cost of living in the region,” he said. “The cost of food is particularly high, and that came out today as well. How do we seek to reduce and make food secure and affordable? These are questions that will stand not only before COTED but also before the Heads of Government.”

Ministers also agreed that leveraging South-South cooperation – through deeper trade and technical partnerships with Latin America and Africa – will be central to achieving these goals.

“We have to open new gateways while tapping into the opportunities available within CARICOM as a trade block,” Weir said. “That’s why today we had a presentation from Argentina – to see how we can collaborate, access technical support, and improve skill sets across the region.”

Commitment

He noted that such global South partnerships could provide crucial research, technical expertise, and investment, helping Caribbean states strengthen their agri-food systems and develop industries that reduce reliance on imports.

“Global South-South cooperation will be of greater importance now,” Weir said. “It’s not just between the Caribbean and Latin America, but also with our brothers and sisters on the African continent.”

The University of the West Indies (UWI) and the Caribbean Agricultural Research and Development Institute (CARDI) also pledged critical support – UWI through training extension officers and CARDI by leading agricultural research, particularly on the sweet potato initiative.

“It’s encouraging to see that commitment,” Weir said. “We now have a real opportunity to transform agriculture and improve food security across the region.”

Expressing appreciation to the government and people of St Kitts and Nevis for hosting the week-long sessions, Weir described the meeting as a “spirited” and “forwardlooking” exchange that reaffirmed the region’s readiness to act.

(NS)

27. Bushie thought that the Minister of Agriculture was suffering from ‘Wood-induced’ laryngitis…
    Good to see that he is recovering …with aid from sweet potatoes.

Hopefully he will soon to answer the outstanding questions on the not-so-sweet BAMC….
    What a place!

28. The traditional media and so-called social media influencers allow them to cherry pick issues they feel comfortable talking about.

29. A sobering opening paragraph.

$3b spent on imports

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

BARBADOS’ SPENDING ON IMPORTS surged to $3.03 billion in the first eight months of the year, as total exports in the same period fell to $567.4 million to leave the island with a $2.47 billion trade deficit.

This has been reported in the monthly trade bulletin for August published by the Barbados Statistical Service (BSS).

The information does not specify any impact from the United States’ (US) imposition of tariffs but shows that the value of imports from that country – Barbados’ main trading partner – increased to $1.09 billion between January and August, up from $1.05 billion in the same period in 2024.

On the other hand, Barbados’ exports to the US fell from the $120.5 million worth sold in the first eight months of 2024 to $94.3 million in that period this year.

The US and Trinidad and Tobago are still the island’s main trading partners. The BSS numbers showed that after the $1.09 billion in goods purchased from the US between January and August, Trinidad and Tobago was next with $512.8 million in goods ($644.4 million in 2024).

These were followed by China’s $251.1 million ($104.4 million in 2024), the Netherlands’ $190.4 million ($176.4 million in 2024), the United Kingdom’s $143.6 million ($126 million in 2024), Japan’s $93.2 million ($77.5 million in 2024) and Canada’s $76.4 million ($57.5 million in 2024).

“For the period January to August 2025, the value of imports to Barbados was $3.03 billion, whilst the value of total exports was $567.4 million representing an accumulated visible trade deficit of $2.47 billion as compared to a similar deficit of $2.21 billion for January to August 2024,” the BSS bulletin stated.

“Imports for January to August 2025 were $182.1 million more than imports for the same period 2024, an increase of 6.4 per cent. Total exports showed a decrease of some $74.7 million or 11.6 per cent over the January to August 2024 figure.

“Domestic exports decreased by $31.7 million or 9.7 per cent over January to August 2024. The value of re-exports decreased by $43 million or 13.7 per cent over the corresponding period 2024.”

As its imports from the US expanded, Barbados purchased less goods in value from fellow CARICOM member states overall.

Goods worth $611.2 million were imported from CARICOM countries, down from $737.7 million in the same eight-month period last year. Exports to CARICOM fell from $215.1 million in the period last year to $200.3 million this year.

Most CARICOM imports came from Trinidad and Tobago. The majority of spending on goods from the neighbouring twin island republic between January and August was the $352.8 million spent on refined petroleum products.

Barbados exported $33.3 million in goods to Trinidad and Tobago in the same time, down from about $43 million last year. The majority of Barbados’ CARICOM exports – $40.4 million – were sold to Jamaica, down from $45.7 million in the same period in 2024.

Jamaica trailed Trinidad and Tobago as the CARICOM country which sold Barbados the most goods. Imports from Jamaica were $50.5 million, up from $46.3 million in the same period in 2024.

“For the period January to August 2025, total imports from CARICOM were valued at $611.2 million, whilst total exports were $200.3 million resulting in an accumulated visible trade deficit of $410.9 million as compared with a deficit of $522.6 million for the same period of 2024,” the BSS said.

“During this period, CARICOM imports were approximately $126.6 million less than those over the same period in 2024, a decrease of 17.2 per cent. Total exports to CARICOM for January to August 2025 were $14.9 million less than total exports for the corresponding period 2024, a decrease of 6.9 per cent.”

The state agency added: “Domestic exports decreased by approximately $17.1 million or 9.6 per cent over the same period 2024. The value of re-exports increased by $2.2 million or 6.1 per cent over the January to August 2024 figure.”

China, whose main exports to Barbados between January and August totalled $163.2 million in value, was grouped among the “all other countries” from which Barbados imported goods valued at $963.4 million over the eight months, up from $734.7 million in the same time last year.

In terms of merchandise categories, Barbados spent the most on machinery and transport equipment – $823.6 million – in the first eight months of this year. This was an increase over the $645 million spent on this category in January to August 2024.

Imports of food and live animals was next at $559.7 million, up from $536.3 million in the same period last year, followed by imports of mineral fuels, lubricants and related materials were next at $541.4 million, down from $683 million in the same period last year.

30. In Canada….

“Canadians are spending less on food, with declining grocery sales by volume and fewer visits to restaurants, a trend driven by the affordability crisis, rising costs, and interest rate increases that are tightening household budgets”

31. Barbados eyes growth through agro-processing

Expanding and diversifying production, strengthening regional partnerships, and modernising logistics are among the key strategies identified to transform Barbados’ manufacturing landscape and boost its contribution to the national economy.

President of the Barbados Manufacturers’ Association (BMA), Rakeesh Bernard, in the recently released Caribbean Business & Travel 2025 Report, said it is targeting an increase in the sector’s contribution to Gross Domestic Product (GDP) – from just under six per cent to between seven and 15 per cent in the coming years.

“This can be done by increasing the agro-processing aspect, improving value-added food and beverage manufacturing, as well as cosmetics, and advancing export diversification by engaging new markets and adopting digital trade and technological platforms,” Bernard said.

As managing director of Roberts Manufacturing, Bernard said one of the biggest opportunities for investment lies in agro-processing, particularly in scaling production and developing new export markets.

“We are looking not just for capital but also technical expertise,” he said. “One of the most important connections in our manufacturing sector is through agro-processing, where locally grown fruits, vegetables, herbs, and meats are transformed into value-added products. This not only adds value to agriculture but reduces post-harvest losses and supports rural development.”

Expanding Reach and Building Capacity

With more than 10 200 Barbadians employed in manufacturing, Bernard said there were opportunities to expand production in pharmaceuticals, high-end apparel, and leather goods, while also strengthening links with tourism through locally made products such as toiletries, linens, and decor.

He said Barbados’ larger food and beverage manufacturers have the capacity to supply a range of goods to the cruise industry, including flour, oil, biscuits, chicken nuggets, tenders, water, and juices.

The BMA has led successful trade missions to Guyana and other CARICOM territories, opening new markets for Barbadian products.

“In Guyana particularly, there is strong demand for processed foods, construction supplies, and technical expertise. These missions have helped establish new distribution networks, uncover joint venture possibilities, and assess market readiness for Barbadian goods.”

Roberts Manufacturing, he added, has already built a robust regional footprint.

“We currently supply our products to over 15 countries. Our focus now is twofold – to deepen our presence within these markets and to ensure we continue meeting evolving customer needs with consistency and quality.”

Supportive Environment for Investors

Bernard said potential investors can expect a strong policy framework that supports local and international manufacturing ventures.

Government incentives include duty-free imports on raw materials and production equipment, capital allowances on fixed assets and training grants to build capacity during startup phases.

“Exporters also enjoy dutyfree access within CARICOM and preferential access to major international markets, including the European Union and Canada,” he said.

The BMA president pointed to recent logistics and infrastructure improvements, particularly at Barbados Port Inc., that have boosted efficiency, capacity, and sustainability.

Digital systems such as the Port Community System and Maritime Single Window now allow for better cargo traceability and streamlined Customs processing.

Upgrades to the cruise terminal and air routes have further strengthened the country’s position as a regional logistics and cruise hub.

“These developments have helped reduce delays and improved Barbados’ standing as a regional logistics and cruise hub while supporting environmental and economic resilience goals,” Bernard said.

New air cargo connections linking Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, and Puerto Rico, are opening additional trade corridors and plans for expanded routes to Miami and Panama further integrating Barbados into global air cargo networks.

The country is also advancing legislation – such as the Seaport Industry (Management, Operations and Development) Bill, 2025 – to position itself as a regional transshipment hub, while its involvement in a CARICOM-backed regional ferry system is expected to improve the movement of goods and people across the Eastern Caribbean.

“The ferry service will include rollon/ roll-off capacity for transporting goods like containers and vehicles,” Bernard said.

“It provides an affordable, reliable option for small manufacturers and traders, and deepens regional integration.”

Innovation, Partnerships and Resilience

Bernard highlighted the success of the BMA’s International Business Conference (IBC) and the launch of the Ration Pack Initiative (RPI) as examples of private sector innovation aligned with national priorities such as food security and climate resilience.

“These initiatives demonstrate that our manufacturers are not only producers – they’re problem-solvers,” he said.

He also commended the work of the Caribbean Manufacturers’ Association (CMA) and the CARICOM Private Sector Organisation (CPSO) for strengthening the region’s ability to respond collectively to global challenges, including shifting trade regulations and supply chain disruptions.

“The CMA has helped elevate Caribbean manufacturing as a cohesive, competitive bloc with the ability to seize emerging opportunities across Latin America and beyond,” Bernard said.

With continued investment in logistics, technology, and regional trade partnerships, Bernard believed Barbados’ manufacturing sector was poised for steady expansion.

“Manufacturing is not just about production – it’s about resilience, innovation, and national development,” he said. “If we continue building strategically, Barbados can secure its place as a true manufacturing hub within the Caribbean.” (NS)