When law enforcement hides behind silence, it invites public distrust, erodes its moral authority, and signals that accountability is optional — a dangerous message in any democracy, but especially damning in Barbados where promises of transparency have become hollow echoes from authority figures.

ABUSE OF POWER

Richard Boyce and Dale Marshall
Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce and Attorney General Dale Marshall

Police transparency is not a luxury; it is the foundation of public trust and legitimacy. When officers abuse their power — as in the widely circulated incident on Kadooment Day 2025 where a policeman slapped a citizen — swift, open investigation is not optional; it’s a democratic imperative – see video on the BU Sidebar. Yet, despite public outcry, the Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce has failed to release any findings or even a status update. Boyce’s silence is deafening and undermines the tenets of a democratic society. It signals to the public that there are two sets of rules: one for citizens and another for those in uniform. In a small society like Barbados, where everyone knows someone in power, this breeds cynicism, fear, and growing resentment. When the police cannot be trusted to police themselves, the social contract with citizens breaks down. People begin to question the integrity of the entire justice system. Transparency is not about appeasing critics — it’s about proving that no one is above the law. The Bajan public deserves more than promises; it deserves answers. And until those come, the stain of that slap is on the entire force.

WANTON LAWLESSNESS

Are we beginning to reap the whirlwind of our inaction given the rampant lawlessness being witnessed here there and everywhere on our small island? There was a time not too long ago the number of murders every year were in the single digits, motorists ‘feared’ getting report and having to suffer the indignity of appearing in the courts, elderly people were respected enough for us to abhor the idea of violently assaulting and robbing them, smoking a spliff was done behind a paling. Do not mention PSVs. How many blogs have been posted in this space about Nero fiddling while Rome burns or the weeds sprouting on well manicured lawns?

CANT BEAT THEM, JOIN THEM

This week the Barbados Police Service (BPS) held a Police Pun D Road parade where the hierachy of law enforcement and policymaking – including Commissioner Richard Boyce and Attorney General Dale Marshall – were seen slow-jamming to soca music on Broad Street. Although the most openminded understands what the public relations arm of the BPS attempted to do, when placed under the glare of cold analysis, it failed the optics given the prevailing high crime rate in the country. The blogmaster would have prefered if interventions were at the community and parish level in the attempt to win back trust from citizens ‘block by block’.

It is unfortunate the issue of crime has evolved to be uber-political with BOTH BLP and DLP. Clearly crime is an issue that should be taken off the table as one for political parties to win brownie points. We have to learn from the Jamaica experience because we do not have a prominent person to match Robert Nesta Marley to sponsor a one love peace occasion.

Allow the blogmaster to be clear by using words from the Bajan lexicon ALL Bajans should understand.

Commissioner, wuh happen to de report? Yuh forget, or yuh hopin we forget?You stood up, clear as day, and promised the people a report. You weren’t misquoted. You weren’t misunderstood. You made a public commitment. And now? Silence.Bajans ain’t foolish. We know delay when we see it — and we know a disappearing act when it playing out in real time.So leh we ask you plain: Where is your report about the slapping incident? What is the holdup? Why the hush? Don’t mistake our decency for stupidity. Don’t insult the public. Transparency is not a favour. It’s your duty. You made the promise — now honour it.

52 responses to “Where is the damn report Commissioner?”

1. Youth violence our wake-up call

Sometimes, the most powerful columns are the ones you didn’t write first. Reading Dr Zhané Bridgeman-Maxwell’s searing piece, “Violence Is a Symptom, Not the Cause,” I felt what many in Barbados and the wider Caribbean must have felt: a mix of sorrow, urgency and above all, the gnawing realisation that we can’t keep doing what we’ve always done.

Bridgeman-Maxwell has articulated the failures of systems, not just individuals. She has reminded us that youth violence is not simply a behavioural issue, but a survival response in a society that has too often left its young people behind.

And so, I add my voice today not to compete with hers, but to amplify it and offer a fresh initiative – a Caribbean Youth Recovery Initiative that can be a turning point, if we have the courage to act.

The crisis facing our youth in Barbados mirrors the challenges across the Caribbean. Rising violence, school dropouts, the lure of the underground economy and the deep disillusionment with politics and institutions are not Bajan problems alone. They are Jamaica’s problems, Trinidad’s problems, Belize’s problems, Guyana’s problems – they are Caribbean problems.

We are watching an entire generation navigate a world where the promise of “work hard and succeed” has crumbled under economic pressures, rigid education models and absent or performative leadership.

Bridgeman-Maxwell rightly asks why we only show up in communities during election season or for press conferences. Why do we not meet young people on their terms, in their spaces, with humility and respect? Why do we focus on punishment rather than support, on blame rather than listening? This is where we can – and must – do better. I propose we launch a Youth Futures Pact across the Caribbean, a shared commitment by governments, civil society, the private sector, artistes and the youth themselves. This initiative would not be another one-size-fits-all programme cooked up in a boardroom but a collaborative process, rooted in listening tours, youth-led forums and cocreated solutions. Here are some practical pillars for action:

• National Youth Listening Tours: Send trusted teams, not just politicians, into communities to hear directly from young people about what they need: mental health support, mentorship, job opportunities, creative spaces, or simply the presence of adults who care.

• Mentorship Networks: Develop regional mentorship programmes that connect young people with entrepreneurs, artistes, community leaders and innovators who understand their challenges and can open doors to opportunities.

• Non-Traditional Learning Pathways: Recognise that not all bright minds excel in traditional classroom settings. Create pathways for trades, technology, creative arts and entrepreneurship, supported by public-private partnerships.

• Youth Innovation and Creativity Hubs: Establish safe spaces where young people can collaborate, learn, experiment and build, whether in the arts, sciences or community leadership.

• A Regional Youth Leadership Platform: Elevate youth voices in policymaking, not as an afterthought but as equal partners in shaping their futures.

And let us not be so naive as to think this can be done with top-down declarations. Bridgeman-Maxwell reminded us that today’s youth can spot pretence a mile away. This work demands humility, consistency and a commitment that stretches far beyond election cycles and photo opportunities.

We in the media also have a role to play. We must change how we tell the stories of our youth. We need to spotlight their creativity, resilience and dreams as often as we report on their struggles. We must stop treating young people as the problem and start recognising them as the most underutilised part of the solution.

This is why I joined this conversation today – because it’s not too late to add our voices, offer our platforms and push for action. Youth violence is not just a headline, it is our wake-up call. Will we answer it, or will we, once again, let the news cycle move on while another generation loses faith?

With gratitude to Bridgeman-Maxwell for reminding us of the stakes, I say this: let us rise, as a region, with vision and with urgency. Our young people are waiting. More important, they are watching.

Julian Rogers, journalist and commentator can be reached at julian@caribbeanbridges.com

2. Nationals without stakes in the nation

The most dangerous person in any society is the person who feels like they don’t have a stake in it. If you are feeling like Barbados is becoming more dangerous it may be because Barbados is producing more people who feel like they do not have a stake in this society.

You might think that I am speaking only about so-called at-risk youth. Yes, we do seem to have an issue with some young people who seem so disconnected from the national project that they get involved in antisocial and asocial behaviour. However, it is not only or even particularly them that I am talking about.

There are also several people who are peaceful, law-abiding and maybe even very pleasant and likeable individuals, who feel like they don’t have a stake in this society. They feel disconnected from the culture, the politics and/or the social life. For them, Barbados is not their nation. It is their residence. Or worse, it is their site of confinement. The accident of birth or circumstance that brought them here looms heavy, and any chance they get to flee they will take it.

Until then, they are just doing wuh dey cuh do and minding their own business. If there is voter apathy it stems in part from this.

A nation full of people who do not feel like they have a stake in it cannot stand. Even if those people pay taxes, abide by the law and don’t trouble anyone, that is not a nation, that is a benevolent concentration camp. Many people feel interned in Barbados rather than invested in it.

Invested in success

What a nation must produce more than anything else is nationals. Barbados needs Barbadians. This means more than handing out passports and IDs. This means more than producing people who speak with a Bajan accent, eat Cou-Cou on Saturday and love soca. Barbados needs people who are invested in the success, stability and sustainability of this island as their home.

I say this with full awareness that the majority of the Barbadians are descended from people who did not come here voluntarily. The majority of Barbadians are descended from people who had all their rights and dignity stripped and were forcibly kept in that condition for centuries.

Even when certain rights were granted most of your ancestors faced continued exploitation, abuse and manipulation. This abuse and manipulation was mental and physical. It was carried out by the same institutions which we are supposed to look to for support today. The church, the government, the police force, the schools, they were all a part of an orchestrated system of control to underdevelop and exploit the majority of Barbadians for the benefit of a few.

And yet, your ancestors managed to gradually take control of these institutions and reshape them in ways that greatly improved the lives of people. But not nearly enough. The job is not nearly completed. Unfortunately, our ancestors, after centuries of oppression may have underestimated what it would take to rebuild a people and a nation. For example, the fathers and mothers of Independence understood education reform as providing free access. They did not recognise the urgent need to reform education to help undo the damage of mental slavery and internalised colonialism. In all fairness to them, many don’t understand this all now.

Lack of understanding

Herein lies the problem. Too many of us underestimate how far we have come and the sacrifice and work to get us here. Too many also underestimate how far we have to go as a people and the sacrifice that will take us there. A lack of understanding of the past leads to a lack of understanding in the present and a lack of vision for the future.

It is difficult to break cycles you are not aware that you are in. We may realise that we are going nowhere but we may not understand why. Or, we may think we are progressing but if that progress is on a weak foundation, it will stagnate and eventually roll backwards. There will be those who rise and prosper but this is typical of the plantation society where the majority feel they don’t have a stake in the system. That feeling will lead to some people being violent, some being apathetic and some just looking to exploit. This is a dangerous situation all around.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email Adriangreen14@gmail.com

3. This article by Adrian is a brilliant masterpiece.

It explains EXACTLY how the idiots we have had in positions of authority have failed us.

– Lotta SHIITE about ‘sourcing wealthy citizens from abroad’ by Arthur …
    – and now sourcing them – apparently from Africa from the Empress
    – Stupid CARICOM open borders with people who do not particularly like us
    – GREEDILY chasing after ‘easy’ dollars from rich ‘GREEKS bearing gifts’

A TRUE Bajan is one who would DIE for Barbados and for other true Bajans… not some leach who will jump on a plane and run at the hint of discomfort… or who will sell (and even GIVE AWAY) their BIRTHRIGHTS for a shiite BRIBE….

Such unique persons MUST be courted, promoted, developed and HONORED….

…and leave the commissioner alone do…
    Shiite, wuh he did not even apply for the job…
    The DLP appointed him because they were at war with all those who really wanted to do the job.
    It is the jokers in charge…
    SPOT DE LIGHT THERE!!!

Thanks Adrian….

What a place…
    ONLY a curse can explain it…

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Glad to see the police and other security people enjoying a l’il wuk-up the other day.

Glad to see the wife or former wife of a former Cabinet Minister prosecuted for, and convicted of murder. Awaiting the sentencing.

Glad to see that the family/former family/friends of Cabinet or former Cabinet Ministers are not above the law.

5. Green does a great job here. Yes, I said ‘Great job”.

But he left out a class of Barbadians.
    Those who love the country, left the country and are convinced that. with our current shenanigans, there is no recovery in sight. The wheels are off the bus and we are sliding downhill.

The optimists will reject the summary, but let me misquote one person “those who knows it. feel it”

6. Adrian has condensed it all into one short column.

I don’t think we truly understand the damage that was done when our ancestors were ripped away from everything and everyone they knew, never to connect again even to this day. We experienced “developmental interruptus” as a people, forced to adopt a lifestyle that we did not evolve into naturally. We should not underestimate the effect of being taught over centuries to hate everything about ourselves. Reversing that takes time. A long time. And a systematic and sustained effort. Nowhere is that happening.

This White White Western World is not our home. We are not under a special curse. We in Barbados are not the only ones dealing with it. Even colonised Africans are dealing with it. It is simply that we do not fully accept what is at the root of our problems and have settled uncomfortably into the mindset of those who colonised us.

The great effort it would take to rewire the minds seems daunting, especially when we are still living in a world created by and for others. Withdrawing abruptly from this western world would be extremely uncomfortable, in the short run. Unfortunately, our minds are now western wired for instant, though fleeting, gratification. It would take a great leader to inspire us to think past the present.

The voices of the few who understand our problem cry in the wilderness, as they usually do for a while. Human beings are resistant to change, even change for the better, and tend to learn the hard way that change is necessary. Sometimes, things need to hit rock bottom before that lesson is learnt. Unfortunately, the rock bottom experience is never pleasant. Some of us will not survive it.

7. Julian Rogers article is equally as pointed in its exposure of the challenge at hand. The high incidence of crime is only a symptom and can only be arrested by positively influencing our youth.

8. The Bajan Public are little Children that can be lied to by the adults if and when they become agitated and unruly protesting about something. There is nothing they go do as they are powerless and will remain so until they grow up and and reach adulthood and can stand up and fight for their rights for themselves. Another problem is protesting in the streets about Police, burning cars, stores and looting can also mean they will be arrested by Police using more extreme violence. People need to lose their common sense and self preservation and eventually snap and lose it and go crazy like a berserker fighter in a trance-like fury who does not care about the consequences.

9. David

Ironically, while ‘government’ seems obsessed with immediately introducing the new, vehicle window tint regulations, hundreds of Barbadians are driving around the island under the influence of alcohol, and, in some cases, herb mixed with ‘fanta,’ on a daily basis.

I’m wondering why the AG isn’t displaying an equal level of eagerness in introducing breathalyser testing
    Amendments were made to the Road Traffic Act make provision for breathalyser testing and the implementation date was set for January 1, 2020, but ‘was stalled pending training for police officers and a public education programme.’

After Police Public Relations Officer, the late Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss, announced in March 2022 that the breathalyser testing would be rolled out from April 1, 2022, following extensive training, Attorney General Dale Marshall later revealed that Cabinet had agreed not to proceed with the measure before the introduction of metered taxis, as the two initiatives go “hand in hand.”

🤣🤣🤣🤣

10. @Artax

You know the answer, the AG and many in Blue are known across the land for “firing one”!

It is this level of hypocrisy and double standards that is fueling our decline.

11. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Artax June 8, 2025 at 1:45 pm “…that the breathalyser testing would be rolled out from April 1, 2022, following extensive training, Attorney General Dale Marshall later revealed that Cabinet had agreed not to proceed with the measure before the introduction of metered taxis, as the two initiatives go “hand in hand.”

One: So this was 2022, so what is the keep back?
    Two: Do WE PAY Cabinet to go to work every Tuesday or not?
    Three: 52 Tuesdays in every year X 3 years=156 Tuesday Cabinet meetings.
    Four: If WE PAY CABINET to go to work, why are they not doing their jobs?
    Five: I am not too bright, so can anybody explain to me what metered taxis and breathylyzer testing have to do with one another?

I must admit that I am unsympathetic about the foot dragging, because even though I take a little alcohol from time to time, one alcoholic drink does nothing for me and the 2nd drink just makes me sleepy, so I don’t care if the whole world stops manufacturing alcohol, because I just don’t get the jollies that some people/many people seem to get from it.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 8, 2025 at 2:13 pm “You know the answer, the AG and many in Blue are known across the land for “firing one”!”

Firing one, of drinking until drunk?

13. @Simple

The logic explained at the time is that if drivers are tested positive they will have to call a taxi sometimes to complete their journey. It logically follows that the pricing for a taxi must be standardised and be equitable.

14. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Nonsense David. It would be ideal if the drunks were required to walk home. From East Point to River Bay if necessary.

And a l’il taxi fare is nothing for people who can afford to buy and drink enough alcohol until drunk.

15. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna June 8, 2025 at 9:46 am “I don’t think we truly understand the damage that was done when our ancestors were ripped away from everything and everyone they knew.”

Please note that ALL of the MEN and the BOY charged for murder so far this year were born between 1971 and 2010, long removed from the period of enslavement and the 100 years after. Also note and they are not killing the descendants of the enslavers of their fore parents. They are killing each other.

Even while enslavement and the years which have followed caused serious damage, why is it that the BLACK MEN born since 1970 are killing each other, when their dads and grandads who were born much closer to slavery, that is between 1838 and 1969 were not murdering each other at the rate we see today?

My old man, born in 1911 told me that there were maybe 2 or 3 murders per year in the 1930’s when he was a young man.

16. Nature of Nuture?

People are the same, but a culture of violence has set root and becomes normalised

When people are challenged to a fight they don’t want to back down and get into their fighting stance ready to go

17. take a timeout.

18. “why is it that the BLACK MEN born since 1970 are killing each other”

people born in 1970 will be 55 this year, OAPs have less energy to do the deed

19. “The logic explained at the time is that if drivers are tested positive they will have to call a taxi sometimes to complete their journey. It logically follows that the pricing for a taxi must be standardised and be equitable.”

‘Fair enough.’

A few years ago (before 2022, for sure), some taxi drivers operating from the Airport were overcharging visitors, especially those persons going to the northern parts of Barbados.

The authorities hastily introduced a schedule outlining taxi rates from GAIA to various parts of the island.

After THREE (3) YEARS, ‘government’ has been UNABLE to conceptualise ANY policy to ensure “that the pricing for a taxi must be standardised and be equitable,”…… hence, the delay in implementing breathalyser testing?

Again, I have to quote your friend, Bushie……

“What a place!!”

20. If tested positive they should be taken to the Police Station and charged.

If drinking and driving is a gamble whether you can get away with it, without getting caught or crashing the car or killing or injuring someone, then people may take their chances if they feel lucky that they can get away with it scot free.

But, if more arrests were made then the message will filter through that it is not worth the risk and the culture and mindset changes and drunk ‘n drive becomes a thing of the past.

In some countries you can slip $20 dollars with your license when you hand it over to the Police to check and they will pocket it and say you are free to drive on, same goes with speeding checks.

21. Taxis should have meters and people should not get into them otherwise, or if they know what the cost is for a journey from A to B from past experience then they can negotiate and agree that price with the driver.

22. WHEN ANY COUNTRY IS MIRED IN MUCK* – A CONSCIENTIOUS POPULACE HAS TO “MUCK-IN” & CLEAN UP THE MESS*, WHETHER IT SPIRITUALLY, MORALLY, ENVIRONMENTALLY OR OTHERWISE – IF NOT, YOU WILL BE SWALLOWED UP IN THE MOUNT STINKEROO HEAPING PILE OF TOXIC EFFLUENT

#KeepSleepingFolks

23. Sister Cuhdear,

Behold, another silly session of “too much information”!

Maybe you recall that I was born in England, and spent my formative years being raised by a white, English family. I came to Barbados over half a century ago with an accent I have tried hard to shake. But after a few sentences to strangers, I am reminded that I have not quite done so. My accent tends to change depending on how comfortable I am with the listener. And it changes according to the accent of the person with whom I am conversing. If I hang out with Trinis, I have noticed I sound Trinidadian. If I hang out with Jamaicans, I pick up their rhythm. If I hang out with Brits I revert to the accent I came with. My accent is all over the place, easily influenced, easily moved. It was never grounded.

When one is anchored, one is hard to move.

Our identity was never anchored, therefore it waa never stable. It was easy for the American culture of individualism and materialism to infiltrate through television, and rip us away from the remnants of our roots.

When I came here, many neighbourhood children were still catching a bit of television on evenings through my grandparent’s window. For a few decades now, we have had all day programming and a television in every room. Now, we walk with them in our pockets.

The American government formally recognises this as having been very effective in spreading their culture.

Why were there fewer murders before? Because we are now individualistic and materialistic creatures of instant gratification. When I was growing up, the transformation was not complete. The British beat most of our culture out of us. The Americans replaced it with theirs.

Hear Granny talk today, “I got my own life tuh live. I raise my chrildren ahready”.

Bashment Granny done got she skimpy crop over costume ready! Semi-nakedness and gyrations is as far as many grannies go in celebrating our “Africanness”.

But the old African proverb says, “It takes a village to raise a child.”

24. Maybe you recall that I was born in England, and spent my formative years being raised by a white, English family.”

The same applies to the Slaves of Barbados who were raised by white, English families who were Plantation owners.

Barbados Culture is British Culture

British Culture is present in all English Speaking Countries

“My accent tends to change depending on how comfortable I am with the listener.”

Accents variations are a bit like a different language

the same but different
    like some pop groups costumes

25. Report this.

“Deep beneath the streets of Oistins crews with shovels are pulling out sand, debris and oil-soaked material from a drainage system that tells a deeper story of the extent of Friday’s oil spill.”

26. Dub,

The big difference – there were no black people in my home, my neighbourhood, my school or my life for all but one day of the month when my mother would visit for a few hours.

The enslaved had each other, all day, every day. Their contact with the enslavers was not social. Barbados culture always had elements of African culture. Still does. It is impossible to erase them all.

If British culture and Barbadian culture were exactly the same, then I would not have been seen as a strange specimen for the first few years of my life in Barbados. And still today I am noticeably different.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna “For a few decades now, we have had all day programming and a television in every room”

Not be Donna. My children born were born between 1982 and 1993 and in our home there was only ever 1 television. As a matter of fact I have only ever bought 2 TV’s in my whole life. No TV in their rooms. No telephones in their rooms either. Still only 1 television at my home except that I have turned it on fewer than 6 times in the past 2 years or so. Lol!!! The children turned out ok.

28. “And still today I am noticeably different.”

You are you

People cannot understand a different culture comparing it with their own culture
    Their own cultural perspective is different and hinders understanding
    They have to learn different cultures like a child starts learning about life

Barbados and it’s British Legacy Culture seems to be stuck behind in the past,
    and is not progressing fast enough in terms of Government, Courts, Police changes and Improvements etc

Meanwhile it is absorbing an American Culture of Crime Gangs and Murder
    collecting statistics not solving problems

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

The kid who has kids has only 1 TV as well.
    In our family bedrooms are for sleeping, not for TV. None of my many siblings have TV in their bedrooms either. In our families a TV in the bedroom would be considered very weird. No computer, nor cell phone in my bedroom either. A landline in case of an emergency. Sadly used once when one of our teens died in a traffic accident.

30. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna “the American culture of individualism and materialism to infiltrate through television”

And not only through TV. From time to time, maybe once or twice a year I will buy something from Amazon. I am NOT a material girl. A few years ago what turned up on my bank card but a charge for $100 USD for Amazon Prime, which I think is some kinda thing where they can deliver your stuff to your door in 24 hours. At that time and maybe now Amazon must know very well that that does not happen in the case of Barbados, what with Customs checks and everything and that they had no such arrangement in place. Anyhow I went to my bank and “made a noise” and got back my $100 USD. No way will some monster sized corporation get $100 UDS free from the ZR woman.

Materialism: Last week a man with a Nigerian accent called me at 6:10 AM offering me an IPhone [I do NOT want an IPhone because I do not like what I read about Steve Jobs], a car [I do not want a car not when ZR’s are so plentiful up by me, and Transport Board too] and $800,000.

So I told the fella the truth, which is that I do not like fancy phones, a cars, nor money. He hung up on me. Lol!!!

I doubt that he will ever call again. They have likely put a note in their files about me.

I just came in from 4 hours in the hot sun, so having a l’il recreation on BU.

31. @ Cuhdear
    ” Last week a man with a Nigerian accent called me at 6:10 AM offering me an IPhone [I do NOT want an IPhone because I do not like what I read about Steve Jobs], a car [I do not want a car not when ZR’s are so plentiful up by me, and Transport Board too] and $800,000.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Probably the Afreximbank people looking for some more Judases to give away our birthrights….
    BTW
    … what was the reason for dismissing the $800,000?
    You wanted the same amount that they offered for the Bay Street gift…??

32. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea June 9, 2025 at 7:32 pm “…what was the reason for dismissing the $800,000?”

As I told the fella. I don’t really like money that much.
    Neither money nor alcohol gives me the jollies that they seem to give other people and I really don’t know why.

33. The Scotland District Road Rehabilitation Project is funded by the Exim Bank of China. The project is executed by COMPLANT in association with Barbadian contractors and engineers.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/06/09/60m-spent-so-far-on-scotland-district-road-works/

34. Is it fair to suggest had the package containing the drugs reached Barbados it would have passed through to the streets undetected?

Police probing contraband held in Canada bound for Barbados

zoom-inzoom-inzoom-in
    by MARIA BRADSHAW

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

POLICE ARE INVESTIGATING a CAN$12 million (BDS$17.6 million) drug find by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) in cargo which was destined for Barbados.

Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce has confirmed this to the DAILY NATION, stressing that “we will continue in our efforts to uproot the local players in this illegal transnational network”.

The CBSA uncovered 1 610 kilogrammes of cannabis on May 5 in a marine container which was “falsely declared as tiles on the documentation”. The illegal drugs were concealed in 80 boxes throughout the container. Reports indicate that the cargo was destined for a company in Barbados.

“The police service is aware of the narcotics interception that was made in Canada. We in the police service have a long-standing relationship with the Canadian authorities as it relates to transnational organised crime, which includes drugs,” Boyce said.

“We, as partners in both jurisdictions, share our resources with the single intent of dismantling the criminal elements in our countries, and we have been making some headway.”

He added: “The Barbados Police Service will do what is necessary from our side to have the person or persons who are involved in this trafficking of narcotics brought to justice and, moreover, to dismantle their illicit narcotics organisations. We will continue in our efforts to uproot the local players in this illegal transnational network.”

Photos of the drugs showed the vegetable matter sealed in clear plastic bags.

Canadian authorities did not arrest anyone and while they told this newspaper that their investigations were closed, they intimated that they had communicated with Barbados officials on the matter.

In an email following queries by the DAILY NATION, Corporal Guillaume Tremblay, Halifax Regional Detachment public information officer, stated: “Transnational drug exportation investigations are complex in nature. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) Eastern Region Federal Policing (Nova Scotia) liaises with international law enforcement partners and other government stakeholders on a regular basis in efforts to keep Canadians and the public safe.

Investigative avenues

“Regarding the seizure, at this time all investigative avenues have been exhausted. The cannabis has been destroyed and the investigation is considered closed.”

Likewise, Allan Donovan, media relations, CBSA, said that department had passed on all information regarding the seizure to Nova Scotia police.

“When illegal drugs are located by the CBSA, as was the case with the cannabis seizure in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in early May 2025, border services officers seized the drugs and turned all evidence over to the RCMP for further investigation. Depending on the circumstances, the CBSA may also conduct a parallel investigation under the Customs Act,” he stated.

Donovan noted that the CBSA works closely, in an investigative capacity, with the RCMP and other domestic and international law enforcement partners, to combat the impact that cross-border criminal activity was having on Canadian communities and beyond.

He pointed out that under the Cannabis Act, it was illegal to import into Canada, or export from Canada, cannabis without a valid permit, issued by the government of Canada.

“Smuggling cannabis across the border is a serious criminal offence, subject to enforcement up to and including criminal investigation and prosecution,” Donovan said.

Canada has invested CAN$1.3 billion to bolster security at the border and strengthen its immigration system. CBSA officers at the Container Examination Facility in Halifax are responsible for examining high-risk containers, and cargo arriving and leaving Canada by sea via the Port of Halifax.

The agency conducts intelligence operations and investigations to identify and interdict contraband.

35. The BPS has ‘promised’ to support the elderly with educating them about crime.

Police to step up education for elderly amid increase in attacks

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY

colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

THE BARBADOS POLICE SERVICE is ramping up crime prevention education targeting senior citizens in response to a recent wave of violent incidents, including the rape of a 76-year-old woman that has left the country outraged.

As part of the new thrust, police are also encouraging the elderly to embrace technology such as personal alert devices and cashless payment systems to reduce their vulnerability.

Crime prevention officer Inspector Roger Babb said the use of life-alert systems and electronic transactions could play a significant role in deterring opportunistic criminals who target older people.

Heightened concern

“From a crime prevention standpoint, anything you can do to assist yourself, I would suggest – once it’s within the laws of Barbados,” he told the DAILY NATION. “If you have tools you can put in place to counter crime, then go for it.”

The recent sexual assault against the woman at her home has heightened national concern over the safety of elderly Barbadians, many of whom live alone or suffer from health-related limitations. The incident comes on the heels of two robberies of two elderly men.

Babb said police had already been conducting outreach through community Senior lawman says some not following messages from police groups and organisations but this effort will be expanded.

“We’ve been doing quite a few presentations with different organisations, trying to make the elderly more aware of situations that can give rise to crime or fear of crime. We need to continue doing this, and I encourage anyone who wants to engage with me as the crime prevention officer to make contact through the commissioner’s office,” he said.

The lawman added that although some crimes against the person happened suddenly and were difficult to prevent, education remained the first line of defence. He lamented that while police regularly disseminated safety information via radio and other media, there remained a gap in how seriously these warnings were taken.

“We may be putting out the information, but for some, they are not really following the message. So the only thing we can do is continue the push and try to reach as many people as possible.”

Babb encouraged seniors to avoid isolated areas and to move about in pairs or with a trusted companion whenever possible – especially when conducting financial transactions.

“Going to the ATM is one of the riskiest activities,” he said. “If you must go, then don’t go alone. As an elderly person, you may be seen as vulnerable and anything can happen at that moment.”

That vulnerability is part of what has driven the push for more use of wearable personal alarms and a transition to digital financial platforms. Babb noted that many seniors still preferred cash and were hesitant to adopt new technology, but argued that the shift could significantly reduce their exposure to criminal acts.

“Crime can change its face at any time. One day it’s one method, tomorrow it’s another. If technology can help you stay one step ahead. Use it,” he urged.

Babb called on families, faith groups and civil society to take a more active role in safeguarding the elderly. He also encouraged community-based organisations to request police-led sessions on crime prevention.

“This is my remit, and I enjoy doing it. The more sessions I give, the more people I can reach and, hopefully, the fewer victims we’ll have,” he said.

36. The blogmaster read about the shooting today at a secondary high school where teachers and students were shot dead. If we do not excoriate this culture of violence that has taken root in Barbados, one is left to wonder.

37. Dub,

Before I began studying others, I studied myself. Many of the differences were cultural.

I came here loving the Beatles, the first music I would have heard. Still love them, and I can still lose myself in the later rock music, but I really love Caribbean music as well. Some days, I feel a longing for only Caribbean music. And then I revert to the usual – the whitest rock around. The kind you can’t dance to. I do love African music as well. African drumming can get my feet going. But always it’s back to wailing guitars and head-bobbing.

And that love of Caribbean music does not translate into a waistline full of shots.

Funny story….over forty years ago, my part-time workplace implored me to carry the banner for their beautiful float entry in the donkey cart parade. I told them that I may be dramatic, but not from the waist. A Bajan girl from Black Rock was to hold the other end of the banner. I extracted a promise from her not to put me to shame.

Boy oh boy, we left Independence Square with a nicely waist-winding Hyacinth, but only a little wine. I could match that. But fifty metres up Bay Street de music hit she and it was pop kite flying and wuk up like a skeete! I never knew you could walk and wuk like that! There was no way to reach Hyacinth. She was in a trance. And poor me, enjoying the sweet soca but still aware of my surroundings, forced to accompany her all the way to the Garrison, unable to “uninhibit” in front of a jeering roadside audience.

Well, I guess I could have let the banner go. But somehow it never occurred to me. Stiff upper lip, I suppose.

Culture is real! Adrian is right.

38. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 10, 2025 at 5:45 am “…If we do not excoriate this culture of violence that has taken root in Barbados.”

I keep telling people that Barbados because of its history of slavery has ALWAYS been a violent place. Masters routinely beat and raped their slaves. Why do you think that virtually all Bajans are of mixed race? Do you think that that happened as a result of loving life long marriages between masters and slaves?

Bajans beat their children.
    Some husbands and boyfriends beat their wives and girlfriends.
    Some wives and girlfriends beat their husbands and boyfriends.
    Teachers beat children.
    And it was no so long ago that police sargeants could take off their leather belts and beat little “bad” boys without trial.
    The headmistress at my 50’s-60’s rural elementary school kept a large leather strap coiled on her desk and used it, and all of us at that school were younger than 10 years old.

Nothing new ’bout hey, except the guns which make killing each other so much easier.

B for Barbados.
    B for Beat.

39. Cuhdear,

Wasn’t it you who asked why, if it was down to slavery, there were fewer murders in our younger days than there are today, and why it is that the murders are mostly among the youth?

40. David

It’s true the “police regularly disseminate safety information via radio and other media, there remained a gap in how seriously these warnings were taken.”

Reminds me, every year before hurricane season, the meteorological department disseminate information via electronic and print media relative to safety preparations in the likelihood of a tropical storm or hurricane ‘hitting’ the island. Yet those warnings aren’t taken seriously as well.

On the pending approach of a hurricane, Bajans would ‘wait until the last minute’ to buy food and supplies, and quarrel when the hardware stores and supermarkets close early to allow their staff to likewise prepare for any inclement weather.

If we’re spared, while some Bajans would say ‘God is a Bajan,’ others curse the meteorologists for, in their opinion, giving them wrong information and making them waste money buying sardines, corned beef and biscuits.

41. @cuhdear
    “Why do you think that virtually all Bajans are of mixed race? ”

Is this true?
    What do you consider mixed race?

42. A culture is something that evolves or changes over time. We have a drug culture that promotes violence. We have the Internet and convenient travel that shape how we think, many of us. We have the change to the nuclear family and all that it translates to.

As always the blogmaster urges that we are practical in our analysis. Note no mention of the influence of the Church in bygone days.

We have to formulate solutions in a modern context.

43. @Artax

We have developed a culture of being a crisis response people. There is that word culture again.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

You too like to ask rhetorical questions? Reporting done. At least anything shared in public.
    Even ICBL, a publicly traded company still hasn’t reported since Q3 of 2023. Effin the GoB could dodge reporting why not us? Somehow despite this breach, they can still bid of local projects, like Holetown Hotel.
    In most places, this stock would have had trading halted, pending their compliance with BSE rules and requirements. Not bout hey.

45. D are we just rambling on in our own conversation ..
    Politics is for squares ..
    ▣ ◩ ◪ ▧ ◰ ■ □

“Many of the differences were cultural.”
    “I can still lose myself in the later rock music, but I really love Caribbean music”

When Rhythm Was King
    Caribbean Music Rhythm & Blues Soul Jazz Blues etc are all ‘African’ beats
    Fusion
    Rock and soul and jazz and reggae can combine (R.I.P. Sly Stone)
    Hip Hop samples all kinds of sounds

All Music can be filed in the category of World Music in the record shop
    Music breaks cultural barriers and can be imported around the World
    Even if you don’t relate to another culture’s music it sounds normal to the locals, young girls and boys, and after a while you won’t even notice it is foreign

Sound Dimension
    Music people movements thoughts emotions energy..
    cells in the human animal body plants atoms all material matter liquids and gasses..
    everything in the universe..
    .. are all vibrations resonating at various frequencies

Within a culture all people are individuals all are unique and different

they’re also split up as groups tribes families villages friends religions or sects etc

Africans don’t go around describing each other as ‘that African guy’

Children and friends who grow up together in schools have their own sub-culture and will be linked and similar in some ways regardless of parents’ background race etc

Cultures merge over time with new groups of people, Cosmopolitan Centres can have communities sectors and influences from all around the world and a generation immigrant families in various districts spread out across the land

being different is a super power that makes you stand out having different perspectives which also includes knowing understanding relating to the local people around you

Transitions in Life
    Sometimes it is stressful moving and adjusting socialising making friends understanding new towns countries cultures, unlearning what you are used to,
    getting lost, learning directions, finding out where to get things, missing things people etc,

youngest adapt quicker but can still struggle and may be excluded by cliques

Some people have to move several times in various careers

UK is racist and was very racist but racists are like sheep when a couple of people like you they will begrudgingly pretend to be friendly too, but you discern who is insincere or blatantly racist about others groups thinking that’s ok and you will agree and you quickly ditch them

the worst types of people who show interest just to ask questions like where do you work where do you come from where do you live what car do you drive have you got a mortgage and prove to be creeps

The best thing about UK is the different types of people from around the world
    who are much more interesting variety of flavours than the vanilla locals. I speak to them when the English are cold and reserved to them. Immigrants from some nations set up businesses for their community but then branch out in business for the whole community. Some immigrants come from nations without communities and are spread out. I have never been to China but I love Chinese Food. Despite the ignorant and prejudiced trope about immigrants only a small minority of a small minority are gangsters.

… Now back to the matter in hand

… A big Tune

.. Oldies but Goodies

.. Dance All Music

Mad Mad Lyrics: They will talk, talk a lot about you, (Talk about you) Let them talk, there is nothing you can do (you can do) (They will say) say things so …

46. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TheOG June 10, 2025 at 11:06 am “cuhdear What do you consider mixed race?”

One of our writers, I can’t remember whom, described a woman of color as having hair the “colour of molasses foam”

Like my maternal grandmother, and my maternal grandfather, and one of my brothers and perhaps one of yours too, or as commonly described in Barbados snuffy head, red, high brown, brown skin, clear skin etc.

I am not sure what is on the census form now, but in 1990 when I worked in the census people were required to racially self identify. One of my cousins who I happened to census identified as “mixed” I was surprised but since we were instructed that people self identify, I did not say anything, but filled in the mixed bubble on the census form. The mother of that person was Afric in appearance, but the father in Barbados terms is a red man, maybe like our Hants.

You and others know very well what I mean.

47. If he can’t answer about the malfunctioning scanner at the Port, you expect any less?

How are there no statistics about the nature of contraband seized (if any)?

Was the Marcia Weekes movie Vigilante, with Kirk Browne and Malissa Alanna, prophetic?

https://is.gd/246WhatsApp