Please discuss for 15 marks.

62 responses to “All ‘Eyes’ on the distraction”

1. Auditor General breaks silence on HOPE Inc. controversy

written by Barbados Today 19/03/2025 

Auditor General Leigh Trotman has broken his silence on a special investigation into Home Ownership Providing Energy Inc. (HOPE Inc.), clarifying that recent media reports were based on a draft document that has not been finalised or officially issued.

In a statement, Trotman explained that his office is currently finalising the audit and is awaiting responses to the draft report, which are expected by Friday. He gave an assurance that the final report would be issued shortly after receiving these responses.

The Auditor General’s Office is “in the process of finalising the audit” and is “currently awaiting a response to the Draft Report,” he said. This response is expected by “March 21, 2025” and “the final Report will be issued shortly after.”

Trotman’s comments come as the government moves to address speculation sparked by the draft report. Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance Dwight Sutherland, speaking at a St Michael South Barbados Labour Party branch meeting on Sunday, urged the public to “dispel the notion of a lawsuit” against HOPE Inc., confirming that no legal action is planned.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley also weighed in, dismissing claims made in an article and stressing that there is neither a lawsuit nor a pre-action protocol letter, which is necessary before initiating civil court proceedings. She further noted that Parliament has not published any official report on the special audit of HOPE Inc.’s building programme.

She insisted: “Not only is there no lawsuit, there is not a pre-action protocol letter that is necessary before you bring any lawsuit against any party in the civil courts of this country.”

Reading from a “statement issued by Parliament earlier that day,” Mottley declared: “The Parliament of Barbados had not published any report of any special audit on the building programme HOPE by the Auditor General.”

(BT)

2. Believe Auditor General is nearing retirement. Wonder who will take over as AuG

3. Bajan in Exile Avatar

Adrift at sea facing HUGE iceberg upcoming:

REMEMBER THE TITANIC.

4. The Hope project no doubt will remain a state secret, so all those who think a copy of the report will be published in the media, wunna can rest easy as that will not happen. We all know the story there even though we dont have the actual numbers. I shall therefore hence forth refer to it as HARDWOOD 2.0

Now as for the NISSS I have this question. Based on what audited data did wunna arrive at the fact that contributions need to be increased? Did some one look in the cheque book and say ” em looking light let we carry en up?” I mean how did one arrive at such a conclusion that will affect thousands of Bajans without audited data?

Then again i only talking jobby, cause we produced our estimates and budget this year without having audited reports from practically all of our state entities, most of whom have not filed returns for years. I guess we used the “cheque book looking light” approach there as well.

Anyhow dont worry reggae on the hill soon here and we going up there and party so all will be well.

5. @John A

There are management reports and financials which must be the source of information in lieu of audited documents.

6. “There are management reports and financials which must be the source of information in lieu of audited documents.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss..
    It is this kind of thinking that allows us to be ripped off by any and every scam artist in town.
    ‘Management reports’ are nothing but PR exercises designed by ‘management’, to cover up inefficiencies, mistakes and GRAFT.
    Why do you think so many organizations hire high profile PR consultants and lawyers?.. and so few analysts and problem solvers?

It is ONLY when FORCED to submit to PROFESSIONAL INDEPENDENT AUDIT that any semblance of TRUTH and actual FINANCIAL status can be assured… and issues addressed.

The ONLY REASON for avoiding professional independent audit is where an organizatiom has shiite to HIDE. Indeed, good management SEEKS OUT such independent scrutiny in efforts to FURTHER IMPROVE their performances.

NOTHING demonstrates the high level of crookedness in Brassbados generally, better than the almost NON-EXISTENCE of publicly available audited annual reports (WHICH, by the way, ARE MANDATED BY THE LAWS OF OF THE LAND).

What a place!!
    What a people that wallows in mediocrity and graft.
    What a price we will all pay…

7. @ David

In house reports are simply what is referred to as BROUGHT FORWARD ERRORS. So you start with an inhouse figure that says you have $100 in your pocket, when an audited report would show you actually only have $60 that is truly yours to spend.

Why do you think that these entities always come for supplimentairies? They start the year not truly knowing where they are, as a result they dont really know what they neeed and the figures they present to the PM for the estimates is realy no more than guestimates. A company would never be allowed to run that way by its owner, yet we allow the state to function using this approach.

You would be amased even with a company that does independant annual audits, how many adjustments the audit company does on the inhouse numbers at audit time and that is only over a 12 month period. Imagine then the result of years of compunded errors inhouse on an entity when or if an actual independent audit is done!

8. Yes Bush Tea. This is the thinking. We are ignorant to the difference.

Like NO opined, we prefer Trump conveys and what is unraveling in the land of the free.

9. @John A

Hope you are not of the opinion the blogmaster is unaware?

10. David I would know you ain’t! You would be amazed though to know how many are not.
    Did our greatest minister of finance to date not say that he did not need audited figures as he had faith in his in inhouse figures? We know how that turned out didnt we!

11. The same minister who mixed his decimal point and was rewarded for his blunder with a cushy job in Washington?

12. How you know so good!

13. What many yard fowls fail to grasp is that his recommendation for the job was made by Mottley. For those who struggle with ‘deduction’ (yardducks) this is how members of the political class roll,

14. The problem with a ‘gang culture’ is that once it takes hold on a community, it becomes VERY DIFFICULT to break the cycle.
    Typically gangs are only replaced by MORE RUTHLESS gangs, and the idea of wholesome and righteous citizens rising up and making a difference is mostly a pipe dream.
    ONLY BY A COLLECTIVE UPRISING of the total community in unison – with demands for truth, transparency and justice – is it possible to break the gang culture.

Such an uprising is highly UNLIKELY where the majority in that community are mobsters themselves – with skeletons littering their closets.
    We can therefore see exactly WHY a community ALWAYS gets exactly what it deserves.

Likewise, when a whole country essentially becomes a ‘Mafia’ styled dictatorship, the situation is even more dire, as the designated ‘guardians of truth and transparency’ can then be either SELECTED to conform to the mob’s rules, ..or may be coerced to do so – if they are known to have skeletons in their closets… or are otherwise UNABLE to resist the inevitable pressures..

Outliers who speak out, tend to be UNSUPPORTED by the public at large, and indeed may be crucified by those petty lackies looking to prove their own mob-loyalties.

When we therefore see a situation;
    – where ‘all big works’ reside at the end of a single road….
    – where appointments and promotions are UNASSOCIATED with performance and merit
    – where designated ‘decision-makers’ are really mere messengers and bag-persons
    – where RESULTS (at least publicly desired results) seem NOT to matter

Those with eyes to see SHOULD be able to decipher where we are…in the USA or in Brassbados… Of course, many will CHOOSE NOT to see in their hopeless blindness.
    BUT…
    Righteousness [moral and spiritual integrity and virtuous character] exalts a nation, whereas sin is a disgrace to any people.

15. @David April 12, 2025 at 10:15 am “…was rewarded for his blunder with a cushy job in Washington?”

Washington really int that good.. The air is often quite bad.

Gimmee the fresh air on the gullyside where I was born and raised.

16. “There are management reports and financials which must be the source of information in lieu of audited documents.”

For a fee, I can provide the GOB with audited reports and financials. They don’t even have to “show me the corner where the money pass.”

17. You may have coined a new work without intending to do so
    “deducktions”
    “For those who struggle with ‘deduction’ (yardducks) this is how members of the political class roll,”

18. @Hants
    “Young people engaged in meaningful activity.”

General comment
    Great effort. Some of this teaching can be reinforced by having a short video on kite making on the 4H or some public website.

Do we make full use of what is available in this technological era? A well-intentioned trainer may leave and go somewhere else or become engaged in a completely different activity. The knowledge may still be present, but the trainer may have his effort and time focused elsewhere. Let technology be our friend

19. Cuhdear,

Unfortunately, the really important things in life are no longer appreciated. And therein lies the source of all of humankind’s problems.

20. David,

Every Bajan dun know what time it is in Barbados. We have normal people doing normal corrupt stuff. That will not change until more people turn up for protests marches more consistently than for crop over fetes and parades.

The Donald Duck Show is next level corruption, far more enthralling, as were the signs at the one thousand four hundred extremely well-attended protest marches last weekend in all fifty states across America. Apparently, there is another round scheduled for next weekend.

If we wanted to march, we could march about the absence of reporting. But we prefer to wuk away our lives half-naked.

And be buried in our three piece suits.

21. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WELCOME 🤗😁 TO THE EMPIRE OF ARTIFICIAL HAPPINESS

#NoTruerWordsSpoken

22. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THE SCRIPT FOR THE “EMPIRE OF ARTIFICIAL HAPPINESS” – THE ART OF DISTRACTION

(A contemplative exploration of technology’s promise & pitfalls in shaping human joy)

Prologue

The Digital Mirage

[Visuals – Glowing screens, avatars in virtual worlds, crowds scrolling through social media]

Narrator (V.O.) –

“In a world where reality bends to pixels, we’ve built empires of artificial happiness – a labyrinth of likes, filters, & infinite scrolls. But beneath the glow of curated joy lies a paradox: can technology truly fulfill us, or does it merely mirror our longing?”

Act I (Scene 1) – The Allure of Engineered Euphoria

[Visuals – VR headsets, AI chatbots, holographic classrooms]

Narrator (V.O.) –

“From the metaverse’s boundless realms to AI tutors reshaping education, technology promises transcendence. Psychologists like Dr. Laurie Santos argue that happiness isn’t a luxury – it’s a catalyst for creativity & resilience. Simple acts like gratitude journals, mindful pauses, virtual hugs. Yet, as screens mediate our connections, do we risk losing the raw texture of the human touch?”

Quote Overlay –

“Happiness is not just nice to have – it’s what lets us innovate.” (Dr. Laurie Santos)

Act II (Scene II) – The Cracks in the Algorithm

[Visuals – Distorted avatars, data privacy warnings, a teenager isolating in a VR headset]

Narrator (V.O.) –

“But empires crumble. The metaverse, hailed as a utopia, grapples with addiction, deepfakes, & digital divides. In Iran, a writer translates forbidden novels, masking himself in virtual panels – a metaphor for how technology both liberates & imprisons. Meanwhile, AI’s ‘nuclear Gandhi’ glitch – a meme born from coding errors – reminds us that systems reflect their creators’ biases, not our ideals”

Montage –

A parent hesitates as their child interacts with an AI tutor

A protestor’s face blurred by facial recognition tech

Act III (Scene III) – The Spectacle of Control

[Visuals – Propaganda reels, dystopian cityscapes, a theatrical stage depicting historical battles]

Narrator (V.O.)

“Empires thrive on spectacle. Superamas’ Art & Politics dissects this – from Napoleon’s fabricated victories to modern leaders weaponizing social media. ‘Victory’ is now measured in viral trends. Yet, as we swipe through filtered realities, are we complicit in our own subjugation?”

Dramatic Interlude:#

A dancer merges with a hologram, symbolizing the collision of art & artificiality

Act IV (Scene IV) – The Quest for Authenticity

[Visuals – A community garden, hands planting seeds, a classroom discussing ethics in AI]

Narrator (V.O.) –

“Amid the noise, a counter-movement emerges. Schools teach ‘AI literacy’ – not to fear machines, but to reclaim agency. Translators like Moeen Farrokhi navigate linguistic limbo, finding freedom in the gaps between Farsi & English. Happiness, it seems, blooms where algorithms falter – in vulnerability, rebellion, & imperfect human bonds.”

Quote Overlay –

“Translation always comes with guilt, shame, grief for what is lost.” (Moeen Farrokhi)

Epilogue – Rewriting the Code

[Visuals – Sunset over a hybrid city, children playing in both parks & VR]

Narrator (V.O.) –

“The empire of artificial happiness need not be a dystopia. Let us code systems that amplify empathy, not escapism. For as techno-optimist Dr. Cori Lathan opine – ‘Technology plus humanity is more than the sum of its parts’. The future is not a binary – it’s a canvas. Paint it with courage.”

[Text on Screen] –

“Invention is the art of remembering what we’ve forgotten.”

Credits –

Inspired by the socio-technical critiques in Metaverse – Multidisciplinary Perspectives

Happiness research from CSBA’s AEC Conference

Cultural narratives from Moeen Farrokhi’s ‘The Second Life’

This script blends speculative futurism with grounded critiques, urging viewers to interrogate technology’s role in shaping joy. It balances hope with caution, mirroring the dual-edged nature of innovation & “DISTRACTION”

23. @Donna

Our priorities are misplaced. Why is this the case? Is it poor education, misplaced values, ignorance, cultural penetration OR lack of leadership.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

Contagion.
    A few weeks ago, Ansa in T&T announced, it was suspending it’s dividend for THREE years!!!
    So what? Dem en bout here. Yet, several pension funds own that entity to provide a steady flow of cash.
    Just last week GEL confirmed it’s first dividend of 2025 was suspended. AND, there was to be an ‘independent’ inquiry into its cocoa operation. AND, that a recently appointed director, has resigned over issues related to this inquiry. He wasn’t from bout here either!!
    These in addition to the ICBL fiasco currently afoot.
    But wuh ya want muh tah do?
    Yah rite. Imagine effin the GoB entities did report?
    We would likely discover they were bastions of excellence 😂 😂 Excellence in financial management and governance.
    Listen. Don’t touch a RH GoB Bond or TBill UNTIL they Report. It isn’t unpatriotic, it is smart.

25. David,

A combination of everything but the cultural penetration, perhaps. No

26. “Is it poor education, misplaced values, ignorance, cultural penetration OR lack of leadership.”

My vote is for a lack of leadership. We confuse PR stunts and hogging the microphone with leadership. Mia flying all over the place and delivering big speeches; the international press and gives her a big write up and proclaim her the best thing since slice bread. And at home everything is falling apart.

The bus has gone over cliff, but we have some who want more of this type of leadership. Oops, I am changing my mind, perhaps it is ignorance.

Oops! My mind is change again. But what is misplaced values? I think he means “missing values”.

I give up

27. When words fail: another great speech; minus action; equals nothing.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JYGirEMsR6c

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

So wait
    ‘goods manufactured in the USA, or passing through the USA’, are a legacy of our colonial dependence.
    Glad those were Mia words.

29. Reduce appetite for borrowing

IT IS A SOURCE of national concern that the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) continues to communicate erroneous information to the public that the national debt is on a downward trajectory.

The most recent attempt was in the Budget. Pages 144-145 state that “contrary to all the lotta long talk that is misleading people, this Government is not increasing debt. It has been consistently lowering the debt and barring nothing unforseen this year, we look forward to reducing our debt to GDP (gross domestic product) ratio from three figures to two figures”.

To suggest that the debt has been consistently lowered in circumstances where every citizen knows that the Government is engaged in excessive borrowing is untrue.

The facts about the public debt are as follows. First, the public debt was $15.84 billion or 158.3 per cent of nominal GDP when the BLP initiated the debt restructuring with the default component in late 2018. Second, the only time there was a reduction in the debt was with the unprecedented decision to default on the country’s debt. This action resulted in a reduction of approximately $4 billion or 26 per cent of the debt. The debt was reduced to around $11.7 billion or 117 per cent of GDP.

Third, subsequently, the country’s debt has increased consistently despite two debt swaps and reached about $15 billion on March 31, 2025. The debt to GDP ratio declined to 103 per cent as a result of an increase in GDP and not a reduction in the level of debt.

Fourth, between June 2018 and February 2025, gross borrowing was $7.3 billion (and net borrowing $3.3 billion). Borrowing increased from $427.96 million in the financial year 2018-2019 to $1.64 billion in 2024-2025.

Fifth, debt repayment between financial years 2018-2019 and 2024-2025 increased from $484.4 million to a record $2.2 billion. From the financial year 2025-2026 through to 2029-2030, debt service is projected conservatively to be $8.45 billion, an annual average of $1.69 billion.

It should be easy to comprehend that debt and debt to GDP ratio are not the same measures. The absolute level of debt is indicative of a country’s indebtedness, while the debt to GDP ratio is an indicator of a country’s ability to repay its debt.

Using the two terms synonymously is misleading and not expected from a person with training in economics. A country repays its absolute level of debt over time through amortisation and interest payments irrespective of movement in the debt to GDP ratio.

The best way of achieving a lower debt to GDP ratio from a sustainable economic management perspective is through the reduction of the level of debt rather than via the growth in nominal GDP, which can be influenced in a disproportionate way by price increases in a high-inflation environment (Wood, 2025).

Of course, it is desirable that the reduction in the level of debt be achieved through interest and amortisation payments rather than via debt default or debt repudiation.

The administration should face the reality that focusing on the debt to GDP ratio (at the expense of the level of debt) is a convenient simplification in its debt management policy. The real focus should be moderating its appetite for borrowing, reducing the level of debt and diversifying the economy in order to contain the debt overhang challenge.

– ANTHONY P. WOOD

30. Does Mr Wood actually think that the decision maker in the BLP understands ANY of this? …or cares about consequences – even if they did?
    Does Mr Wood understand how the decision maker in the BLP thinks?

As with the current financial / economic quagmire in the USA with THEIR decision-maker, ..where the elephant in the room is NOT the obvious ILLOGIC of the economic situation with tariffs…

The elephant in OUR room is the missing FINANCIAL REPORTS, the HOPEless MISUSE of state funds, and the HIDDEN AGENDAs that drive decision making.

…it is why we CANNOT have transparency in government business.

31. Good summary and guidance by Mr.Wood. Who have ears, listen.

32. Well I glad to see a brand name economist said so. I stated the same thing on this blog a few weeks back and a party faithfull called me Mr Doom and Gloom. Anyhow the point then as now, is that numbers can be manipulated but never changed.

Question now is who we going borrow from in 2025 to 2030, an average of $1.69 billion a year to service the debt payment we got from borrowing in previous years? This sound like a pyramid scheme and not an economic plan! Plus cuh dear if we did borrowing less as the faithfuls claim, how the debt service increasing and not coming down?

33. 3 and a half months 17 murders.

34. @John A

When it suits the government during times of prosperity it uses debt to GDP as the perfect economic indicator to boast of performance. When the same bunch is in opposition the debt burden becomes the mantra for opposition attacks.

In the meanwhile the usual suspects remain unaware by their ignorance, disengagement or blind loyalty.

35. Everything points to the inescapable FACT…
    …that the drivers cannot drive….

Like Trump, ANYBODY can talk shiite – and even sound plausible…
    BUT THE FINAL RESULTS are all that matters…

36. @ David

Well Mr. Wood has put it in simple terms rhat even the most devoted fowl can not question. You dont need to be a a maths major to understand our reality. We looking for 1.69 billion a year for the next 4 years JUST TO SERVICE DEBT PAYMENT. That is before we even pay a civil servant or pay a light bill for a single government office!

37. The guvmunt will reply that the economy is buoyant – on the back of the reliable tourism sector- with debt to GDP ratio good, therefore debt service ratio is manageable.

When will it end?

38. Well I think Mr. Wood has burst that bubble with the figures he has shared. If 1.69 billion a year is managable for 4 years, well clearly Bim got income we dont know bout!

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

All governments expect to be able to refinance their debt. Thus ‘paying off’ means replacing existing monies owing with new monies owing.
    With the new emerging world order, and given much of the island’s external debt is from bi and multi lateral agencies, the unknown is the fate of these lending bodies.

40. @ Northern

The problem is debt is getting bigger hence the debt service is growing too, but the economy is not growing fast enough to keep up with the payments. So what’s the future then, we borrowing till we cant service it no more and then default, or do we attempt to control the run away horse, if its not too late that is?

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Not necessarily true. Like the swaps, we are told, they are swapping more expensive debt for cheaper debt. The focus has been on finding less expensive (to service) debt, with concessionary terms. The less costly to service, the more you can have.
    The question should really be WHAT is the debt used for.
    When a politician’s client get it’s debts paid for it, by the taxpayers, we understand the value to the client. What is the value to the taxpayer?
    In the end what was the cost of each metal structure home?
    The monies get placed in a big pot, and we aren’t sure who exactly gets what, or what is produced. But we are happy, cause it is US doing it. And WE looks out for each other.

42. @ Northern

” The more you can have” is where the problem lies. Because we have gotten cheaper money, we are taking the ease in cash flow to borrow more money again. So unless we can continue to find cheaper money this approach is unsustainable, as there is no interest rate below zero. There is also no bank that will pay you to borrow from them, so the closer our loan rate gets to say 1%, the closer our day of reckoning comes. It would also mean that by then we will also have a much larger debt than today, as we are basically borrowing more than we can repay to keep the island going.

43. The problem may soon be compounded by a possible Middle East war.

Today the news says that the US Secretary has warned that they are willing to strike deep and far if necessary, if nuclear restriction demands are not met.

I fear that Iran may not buckle and with the volume of the weaponry that has recently been moved into the ME, major strike ifs likely, if not probable.

The question then is, what will be the outcome.

Iran will undoubtedly strike back at US allies in the region and hence, a full blown LE war could result.

We are then looking at shortages of some goods and raised prices of others, beginning with oil prices.

I hope that the government is preparing and securing both oil shipments and essential items, such as medical supplies, rice, flour etc.

At least until this blows over, if it actually does.

But then, we still have the continuing tensions that will simmer across the globe.

Geopolitically, it has not been this unstable since 9/11.

44. I have to confess that I get my economics/business knowledge from men like BT, John A and NO.

I see the blogmaster is in the same boat as I am … struggling; though he pretends otherwise.

I have no clue where J2 is, but he will claim he is on the ball though what he writes says otherwise. Funny how his brains never match his claims.

All of that to say… John A, NO … you are losing me

Keep it at this level if you wish me to keep up
    “The monies get placed in a big pot, and we aren’t sure who exactly gets what, or what is produced.”

An almost perfect sentence… just add “or where it has gone” and I am back on the train.

45. oh Canada.

“The Bank of Canada on Wednesday held its key policy rate at 2.75 per cent, its first pause after seven consecutive cuts, and said the uncertainty around U.S. tariffs made it impossible to issue regular economic forecasts.

Instead, the central bank produced two scenarios on what could happen, including one that predicted a deep recession in Canada and a spike in inflation. “

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    What day of reckoning. Wasn’t the SD such a day? You borrow until you cannot borrow?
    You push for more low cost fund availability. With more concessions.
    And when you cannot borrow, as was the case in 2018, you cancel some of the existing highest cost debt, and you borrow again.
    It’s like the famous Hotel, where you can check-in anytime, but you can never leave.