Please discuss for 15 marks.

62 responses to “All ‘Eyes’ on the distraction”

1. We have billions in savings loitering in banks that may come into play.

2. @ Northern

Lord you Pace bowling today!! LOL

Well I dont know what will ever happen to us if we defaulted again. But yes you are right if we follow the effect of not being able to borrow cheaper than zero percent, then this shuffling of cards will be over for sure. Then as you say the next step would have to be another 2018 scenario. Thing is though if that happened NOBODY will ever buy government paper again!

Although i did read a fellow here saying STAY FAR FROM GOVERENMENT PAPER. One NO by name. LOL

The Boss Lady would probably at that stage force paper on the central bank and NISSS. After all you can always come back and right it off down the road as you did in 2018.

Lord what a mess. Dont worry man Easter Weekend here and we going fete and wuk up so all is good.

3. @ David

What the state going do lean on peoples personal savings? They can increase the percentage of deposit that each bank must place with the central bank as Sinkyuh did, but the day they try to lean on personal savings in ANY FORM, the whole pack of cards will come tumbling down. What they have to do is try and instill confidence in their government paper going forward, not cast more doubts on the desperation of the state for cash. What we must learn is that confidence is at the very core of investment.

Remember Clico went down offering 9% return on investments. Greedy investors ran behind returns and did not do their home work. They were not the first or the last that will do so either.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

That was discussed in 2018?
    A tough pill to swallow.

@JohnA
    The quote is do not buy Gov’t paper UNTIL they issue outstanding Reports.
    Q. Who is buying Gov’t paper today?

5. @ David,
    Some on this blog are allowing Mr. Wood to baamboozle them. Mr. Wood states that debt payments were $484 million in 2018. What he did not mention, however is that debt payments were only that low because the new government had suspended all debt payments except for a few loans from China and Canada I believe. As you know, this suspension of debt payments was followed by a debt restructuring in which the government made an agreement with creditors to gradually “step-up” interest payments over 5 years. The increase in debt service you are now seeing, is as a result of those interest payments being stepped up and well as the debt incurred to make it through covid. All 200 or so countries incurred debt during covid.

If you actually want to know how much new debt a government is responsible for, you can find it under a heading called “Net New Borrowing”. This is simply calculated as The amount borrowed in the current year minus debt payments in the current year. Over the last seven year net new borrowing has been negative. As boring as that is, those are just the facts.
    There are real risks to the country’s outlook from external shocks, but I don’t see another full blown debt crisis on the horizon. The current obsession with scrutinizing debt seems odd given that this is probably the most fiscally conservative governments since independence. Even some of the government’s critics like Dr. Don Marshally thinks they’ve been too fiscally conservative if anything.

6. 1.69 billion in debt service a year for 4 years starting 2025 is our reality and that is an undeniable fact. How ever you try to spin that don’t matter today. We the people of Barbados have to find it. Whether Tom, Barrow, Thompson, Freundel or Mia borrow it is irrelevant to me as a Bajan at this point.

The problem is that our economy is not growing fast enough and our expenses are not falling to the point where we can fiance this debt service without further borrowing. Lets forget party and tap dancing for now and start discussing what is the plan going to be.

7. Also I have heard no one in power speak to what the plan is in the event that any considerable revenue fall this year, as a result of the tariff war and instabilty in our main toursim markets should occur. If revenue from that sector comes up short, how do we plan to deal with the adjustment on spend at state level? Or will we just borrow a few extra dollars from China “to see we through?”

8. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THE LINES BETWEEN REALITY & FICTION IS NOW SO BLURRED THAT JEFF “BOZO” BEZOS IS ABLE 2 LAUNCH A DICK-HEAD-PROTO-TYPE-ROCKET & USE KATY PERRY ET AL 2 UNDERMINE THE WHOLE WORLD INTO BELIEVING THAT THEY HAD A 3-MINUTE ASTRONAUT EXPERIENCE IN OUTER SPACE & GULLIBLE *HUMANS* FELL 4 THE SOPHISTRY & INTRIGUE – IN THE SAME WAY, DECADES EARLIER MEN BELIEVED THAT THE MOON LANDING TOOK PLACE – MAKING FLAT-EARTH-THEORISTS LOOK LIKE JOKERS IN A PACK OF CASINO CARDS

#WhenWillTheMadnessEND*

The #ArtOfDISTRACTION* is #LyingSubterfuge fomented by “DEVILS”, “DEMONS” & “DARK FORCES” intent on dragging “HUMANS” down into the gutter-most “REGIONS” where the aptitude of “CRITICAL THINKING” would be forever lost!!!

The “GIFT OF PARADOX” was meant 2 open our eyes but too many have their eyes “WIDE-SHUT” in the blazing heat of the “SUN’S RAYZ”!!!

IS THERE NO END 2 THE MADNESS, INTRIGUE & OBSOLESCENCE OF HUMAN DEPRAVITY

You can #SpinNumbers – yet “MATHEMATICAL SOPHISTRY IS AN OXYMORON” 2 those who understand the trigonometric underpinnings of how they work!!!

#CookingBooks is a salacious practice that in the end never wins 4 the “NUMBERS DO NOT LIE”!!!

Sooner than later, these “CHARLATANS” get found out as we are seeing in the emerging case of #Letitia_Tish_James who is the 67th Attorney General of New York, given the mandate by “JOE ‘SLEEPY-HEAD’ BIDEN” 2 prosecute TRUMP* using “LAWFARE” that she herself is now “UNDER SCRUTINY” for given her “FALSE REPRESENTATIONS” while in office to access “REAL ESTATE LOANS” by even citing that “HER FATHER WAS HER HUSBAND” in docxs to the effect!!!

WELCOME 2 THE WORLD OF DISTRACTION & INTRIGUE – A WORLD WHERE BOTH THE POT & THE KETTLE ARE SMOTHERED IN BLACK SOOT WITH EACH ONE CALLING THE OTHER NAMES

#WhatAMESS*
    #WhatMoreHas2Happen
    #WhenDoesTheEndCome

9. ” the Barbados Port Inc., which denied media access to the public auction ”

https://nationnews.com/2025/04/17/port-auctions-off-seven-vehicles/