Concerned Barbadians Unite for the LOVE BARBADOS MARCH to Protest Land Sales and Heritage Destruction
Concerned citizens from all walks of life, diverse racial backgrounds, and varying political affiliations—including members of the current government—are coming together in a powerful demonstration of patriotism. The Love Barbados March, scheduled for Saturday, March 22nd, at 10 AM, will begin at Folkestone and culminate at the Holetown Civic Centre with a vibrant celebration of national pride and heritage.
This march is a collective response to what many perceive as reckless government policies that prioritize profit over the people, culture, and legacy of Barbados. At the heart of the protest is the growing concern over the sale and giveaway of prime national land to foreign developers. Recently, acres of prime Barbadian real estate have been handed over—free of cost—to a profit-driven foreign bank, highlighting a troubling trend of diminishing national assets. “We are expressing our love for Barbados because we see a government that has gone out of control when it comes to selling our land to foreign interests,” said a spokesperson for the movement. “Decisions to sell our lands and erase our heritage are often made before the public even has a chance to weigh in.” The privatization of Barbados’ coastal lands is happening at an alarming rate, with local citizens increasingly finding themselves pushed inland, while high-rise hotels and villas obstruct their access to the beaches. As walls rise for foreign investors, the cherished ocean views disappear, along with the cultural and historical landmarks that define Barbados’ identity. Among the areas at risk or already affected are Oistins, Joe’s River, Jemmotts Lane, Holetown Civic Centre, Gibbs Gully, BDF Headquarters, Dover, East Coast, Bay Street, the UNESCO-listed Screw Dock, and Brighton.
“Are we turning Barbados into a playground for the rich and famous while Barbadians are displaced?” the spokesperson continued. “Our ancestors fought, died, and were buried here. Even sacred sites like the Newton Burial Ground, where enslaved ancestors rest, have faced threats from greedy developments. If we don’t push back, what will be left for future generations?”
*The Love Barbados March* is a call to action for all Barbadians, *regardless of political affiliation*, to come together in a peaceful but firm demonstration against the loss of national heritage and land. This is a fight not just for today, but for the future of Barbados.
Event Details:
Date: Saturday, *March 22, 2025*
Time: *10 AM*
Starting Point: * Folkestone*
Ending Point: *Holetown Civic Centre*
All Barbadians who care about the preservation of their homeland are urged to attend and make their voices heard. It is time to take a stand against the profit-driven redevelopment of our country. Barbados belongs to its people—let’s protect it together!
For media inquiries, interviews, or further information, please contact: 1246 282 9176 or 1246 237 5555#TeeWhite
54 responses to “Holetown Civic Centre Protest March”
Bummy Howe
With all the protests and marches, Mia and her cousin’s husband will never reverse a dun deal in Holetown. The same way that the inevitable protest for giving away Government land in Bay Street will make no difference. Will anyone be able to tell me whose name will be on the deed for the property as owners? While we are checking will we know who is the real owner of Paradise? Also who’s name will be on the deed for the Geriatri property in Beckles Road along with the Government Headquatrers on Bay Street? Just asking and don’t ever expect to get answers.
Loading…
Lee
In order to make the most of such a demonstration, the organizer should distribute a questionnaire sheet and envelope to all participants that they can take home and fill out after they have heard the details of the proposal.
A box would be provided at the Police Station for the collection of opinions. The survey will serve as a basis for an expanded social impact assessment in which every Barbadian household from Molyneaux to Porters corner and up to Highway 2A will be a participate and inform the planning of the project.
Loading…
Hants
Please support *The Love Barbados March*
Loading…
Enuff
Stuupse. All political, not a thing to do with love for Barbados. Build the hotel do. Yuh sell, dem complain. Yuh vest, them complain. See a trend?
Loading…
Hants
I am requesting that the Blog master and Bush Tea march on Saturday for and on the behalf of this 73 year old former resident of Holetown from 1952 until we had to move our chattel house.
Walking is good for your health. lol
Not only did I march on your behalf I also spoke on your behalf too!!
Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne has issued a direct challenge to the Government over the planned sale of the Holetown Civic Centre, declaring that the proposed development threatens not only public access to beaches, but the very freedoms of Barbadians.
Addressing yesterday’s public rally organised by the Marcia Weekes-led People’s Parliament, Thorne described the Civic Centre site and surrounding beachfront as part of Barbados’ cultural and social fabric.
“Beaches are important to Barbadians. Beaches represent zones of freedom and when you take away our beaches, you’re taking away our freedom and when you put up buildings, you’re creating barriers to our freedom. They can keep the buildings but we want our freedom back. We are not afraid.”
He urged those gathered to stand united, regardless of political affiliation.
Controversy
“There are no Bees [Barbados Labour Party] here this morning. There are no Dems [Democratic Labour Party] here this morning. We are free people and we want to spread this freedom across Barbados.”
Thorne also raised concerns about sites he said had historically housed institutions of health and education.
“They’re taking that from us. We want our institution of health back. We want our institution of education back,” he added.
The controversy stems from the Government’s intention to sell the Holetown Civic Centre property, located on prime land adjacent to the beach in historic Holetown in St James. The facility, which formerly housed a clinic and other public services, is currently closed. Community members and cultural advocates have raised concerns that the land could be repurposed for commercial or hotel development, reducing public access to the coast and erasing the historical character of the area.
While details of the proposed sale have not been formally released, reports indicate that the site is under consideration for private development.
Archaeologist Alessandro Giustolisi supported the call for a halt to the planned sale, arguing that the site might hold important historical and archaeological value not yet studied.
“This country is new, maybe for some, but it’s a very old country,” Giustolisi said. “This is a symbolic point for all this country. We need to do some work here to see what is below. . . If we build a hotel, we are cancelling history.”
He called on the authorities to pause the process and consider an alternative plan that preserves the site while enhancing local and visitor experiences.
“We can build hotels wherever, but this point we have really to be careful. We cannot think always just about the tourists. We need to think about us,” he said.
Businessman Andy Armstrong revealed that he and fellow businessman Peter Downes had been invited to meet with Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to discuss the site.
“She did say at the end, go back to the community and if you can come with an alternative plan for this site, I am willing to entertain it,” Armstrong said.
He added: “If enough people in the community feel strongly about this and feel that something different needs to happen, I believe there’s hope. I believe that we can make a difference.”
(CLM)
Loading…
John A
Well Mr Armstrong i suggest you get in contact with PLT, as what he has propsed offers what I believe is an alternative where Bajans can benefit in many ways. It will also ensure access to the beach for visitors who many be staying in other parts of the island, that want to come spend a day on the west coast.
Why wouldn’t the government have socialized the plan with stakeholders for the site before now? It is the same with the hired car industry for example where feedback is that the $10 charge will be negative on legal operators.
It always is about #bigworks intervening.
Loading…
John A
When have you known this government willing to seek the opinion of Bajans BEFORE making a decision? After all they will tell you they have 2 mandates of 30 to 0.
On one front they want to talk about preserving the Heritage of Holetown at the Holetown Festival this year, while at the same time quietly entering into discussions to sell the historic site and beach access.
Loading…
Enuff
“Thorne we want our freedom back”
This article is sophistry and reaching and I am gonna respond in pieces.
With respect to the archaeologist’s comments, this land was excavated for the construction of the buildings on it and as such has already been disturbed. More importantly, the sale of the land does not prevent further study. Indeed, development proposals on sites of archaeological interests require an archaeological assessment including evaluation, investigation, recording and post-excavation analysis. This exercise has nothing to do with land sales but comes at the actual planning stage, which are two distinct processes. His proposal to create a setting rooted in the 1600 and 1700s Barbados is laughable and tells me that he can’t be serious.
The significance of the site has nothing to do with the buildings on it. A position shared by the archaeologist. Therefore, whether hotel or civic centre, its significance remains intact. Truth be told, in terms of heritage, the principle of a hotel on this site is far less egregious than what occurred at the old eye hospital, a project strongly supported by the BU intelligentsia. The issue of heritage in terms of archaeology and the first landing of the British is a red herring. The other big topic is beach access, which I’ll speak to in my second post.
Thanks Hants. Would never have found it under announcements.
Loading…
TLSN
How’s the restoration of Sam Lord’s Castle developing. Has it been put into cold storage?
Does anyone seriously believe that this government will halt the proposed development on the site in Holetown? Get real people!!!
All coastal land in Barbados: north, east, south and west WILL BE DEVELOPED. The only reason why people are protesting about this site is due to its historical reference for Bajan whites whom appear to have recognised, finally, that their sheltered and isolated lives living within their whites only enclaves on the island is being neutralised. The time for fighting for that elusive window view has long since passed.
Mia dreams of an island that imitates the luxury lifestyle of Monaco which has the highest density of millionaires in the world. The link below indicates the direction in which Barbados is heading. Sam Lord’s Castle lies in the shadows of this monstrous hotel complex. Should we expect anything more from our Philistine leaders who have probably been handsomely rewarded for their treachery.
No doubt, there is no public mention of them. Did a quick scan of the latest report (2022) posted and there is no mention.
Loading…
Enuff
Thorne: We want our freedom back
Now to the LOTO comments. With no planning application to reference, on what basis can he proclaim that the project threatens beach access? The gentleman is always setting up himself to be proved wrong and from what I’ve read in the newspaper and based on how PM thinks, I’d bet my pension that any hotel the government agrees to will have far better beach access and facilities. Because a building housed a school or health facility it must remain publicly-owned even if inadequate, obsolete and or redundant infrastructure? Even where government can leverage these assets to secure improved accommodation for public servants and/or enhance our tourism product? All over the world, redundant institutional buildings are sold to private developers for hotels and housing. Too many in Barbados, including RAT, pretend or seem not to understand how public land and government’s land acquisition powers can be used to facilitate development beyond roads and housing.
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ Enuff
“All over the world, redundant institutional buildings are sold to private developers for hotels and housing.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
‘All over the world’ is a BIG place.
Barbados is a little shiite dot…!
Are all your ‘solutions’ contingent on selling our country’s VERY LIMITED assets to the private sector and to foreigners?
If we were talking about an individual… would your example not be called a whore?
Have you EVER considered BUILDING SOMETHING BY AND FOR BARBADIANS…?
…or don’t you consider us to be WORTHY of such ownership?
When is Enuff enough ??!!
Loading…
Enuff
“All over the world’ is a BIG place. Barbados is a little shiite dot…!Are all your ‘solutions’ contingent on selling our country’s VERY LIMITED assets to the private sector and to foreigners?…..Have you EVER considered BUILDING SOMETHING BY AND FOR BARBADIANS…? …or don’t you consider us to be WORTHY of such ownership?
——————————————————
But the limited land space is exactly why these sites should not be sitting idle or under utilised. The problem is that government simply does not have the money and to stop people like you from constantly saying for instance Bridgetown looks run down, it has to rely on private capital. Again, a normal practice internationally. The second problem is that most of the buildings do not provide the level of intensification necessary on an island with limited space. With specific reference to the Holetown case, isn’t the government as a result of this sale acquiring a new civic centre? Who is it for? My approach is not whoring, it is actually to avoid us having to whore–fire sales, high interest loans tied to downgrades etc. In another post, you mentioned innovation, hard work, creativity etc as key competences to succeed. You however forgot pragmatism. You are rigid and clearly have never had to negotiate a single agreement.
By the way, the Barbados private sector consists only of foreigners? You need to stop contradicting yourself in your rush to be hyperbolic and reductive.
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ Enuff
“But the limited land space is exactly why these sites should not be sitting idle or under utilised…”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Bushie truly appreciates your perspective and is willing to accept that you are well intentioned…
However your line of thinking betrays your obviously affluent background – which is diametrically opposite to Bushie’s… no wonder we differ…
So are you saying that since Bushie lives in a little chattle house in Bank Hall that needs repairs and where the water bill is always marked for disconnection…
That Bushie should seriously consider renting his yard to some drug dealers who can bring some dollars to the table?
That it makes sense to open our kitchen for strangers- hoping to give us handouts..?
That because Bushie is poor, he does NOT deserve some relaxation and peace and quiet – sitting by a top class beach?
It may be difficult Enuff for you…
But try to imagine being poor…
How about helping us to find productive and DECENT PAYING opportunities – so that we can improve our situations…?
Yuh Shiite Enuff….
How about a little compassion nuh???
Andrew Mallalieu asked a relevant question in the Senate last week, if there are so many vacant lots in Barbados why are we continuing to grab other lands that can be used for other productive purposes?
Loading…
Hants
Bush Tea did you march
Loading…
John
I marched for him too if he didn’t …. and spoke.
A Bajan lady left the US and made her way down here just to take part.
Some overseas Bajans taking this real serious.
There is another march this Saturday, from Ms. Ram to Jemmott’s Lane.
Loading…
Enuff
I know when I am winning, you resort to the ridiculous. This brings me to my last piece on “Thorne: We want our freedom back”.
In this whole debate, no one is talking about the fact that the sale of the site funds a brand new civic centre. For instance, are the alternatives viable and can afford the sale price/contribution to the new civic centre? Has RAT, Bushie and the other objectors had any conversations with the public servants about their current accommodation? What is the composition of the marchers/objectors? Economic diversification need not include complacency and neglect of your key money earner. No more from me on this.
Loading…
John A
@ Bush Tea
You wasting your time with some who believe Mia could sell all of St Michael and nothing would be wrong with it. These are the die hard loyalist enshrined with The Jim Jones Syndrone. In other words ” can I have another cup of the red stuff please oh divine leaders?”
I guess it boils down to what one thinks the Bajan deserves and how are they to be seen in the bigger picture. Are we part of, barely imcluded, or 3rd class on lookers?
So tell us now about the next thing on the hit list which is the Geriatric Hospital/Government headquarters project.
Loading…
Hants
“The Geriatric Hospital, formerly the St Michael’s District Hospital, on the grounds of the Victorian-era St Michael’s Almshouse on Beckles Road, is to become a convention and conference centre, as the government continues on a path to transform Barbados into a premier hub for commerce, trade, and conventions.”
Loading…
Bummy Howe
Did anyone realized that same Saturday morning there was Mothet Sally in Bridgetown (in my estimation)as a distraction to lower participation from Holetown! There is no backing off from the HOTELS construction. Where will the tourists be coming from?
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ Bummy
“There is no backing off from the HOTELS construction. Where will the tourists be coming from?”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
How does someone ‘back off’ from a deal with Demons?
…and what ‘tourists’ are you talking about?
The millions to be made from these CONSTRUCTION and Real Estate projects will be made long before BBs realize that we have been had….
Ask Northern Observer – how much was made from Four Seasons and CBL….?
Do you see ANY ‘tourists’ bout there?
How much $$$$ do you think was made from HOPE?
…from the STEAL houses?
…from that travesty being built by a foreigner … in Bathsheba…?
…from the Holetown real estate scam..?
…from the coming convention center – ‘needed’ to join with Sam Lords in scrunting for business…(and to line some pockets with $$$$)
It is like the joke of the fellow who was searched when leaving a jobsite every night with an EMPTY bag …. for weeks!!
… before the BBs realized it was bags he was stealing…