Dear Prime Minister Mottley,

I write in support of the concerns recently raised regarding the current state of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and its alarming decline due to financial mismanagement, lack of visionary leadership, and an abuse of public funds, it is now facing a crisis that threatens its sustainability and credibility. Throughout its existence, information has always been “leaked” from the financial Department of CBC, not because officers want to hang CBC’s dirty linen in public, but because it is disturbing having to handle and authorise evidence of injustice and misplaced priorities supported by the minister, the Board and CEO. Officers will prepare for the victimisation to follow, but union representation is available.

The recent exposé, The Sad State of CBC at 60, has highlighted the following troubling issues:

1. Financial Mismanagement and Employee Welfare: CBC employees are not being able to enter any lending agreement with financial institutions, because of the publicised uncertainty of the Corporation. We cannot buy land, we cannot but any of the houses from the HOPE project, we cannot buy a car.

2. Lack of Leadership and Vision: It is deeply concerning that CBC, an institution built on communication, is suffering from a total absence of internal engagement. The failure to convene board meetings, management meetings, and staff meetings suggests a leadership structure that lacks both transparency and accountability.

3. Vindictive Leadership and Misplaced Priorities: The ill treatment and disrespect of junior staff members because they do not share your views. The decision to dismiss promising young talent, particularly at a time when CBC desperately needs innovation and fresh perspectives. The decision to push and elevate based on personal friendship although the lady is incompetent and out of her depth is pitiful. The resignation of six news anchors in less than 18 months, and other staff members and freelancers is cause for concern.

4. Dubious Employment Practices: The employment of a lady within the Christ Church East constituency while being compensated through CBC’s payroll. A gross misuse of state resources and an unacceptable breach of ethical governance. The submitted invoices present dates and time when the individual was working not at CBC, but with/for the MP (kindly request the invoices that clearly detail dates and times, find out who at the CBC approves and signs these invoices for work done in the constituency of Christ Church East, while being fully aware that the lady is not working for CBC). Such actions raise serious ethical and fiduciary concerns. It is in your interest to find out if the same lady is not being paid by the National Council on Substance Abuse also. Ask for the records from NCSA. You may wish to find out the other establishment where she is “employed.” 

While other news reporters are heard nightly presenting two or three reports because they are assigned work, there is one who chooses the stories she wants to work on. She is assigned a photographer, who submits his invoices to CBC. She is assigned an internal video editor, and a script writer in the newsroom, yet is paid above and beyond what is paid to the work horse reporters who perform the donkey work daily and cannot object to requests from their supervisor. Give thought to an investigation into the personal relationships, and how these are contributing to the financial decline at CBC.

5.Workplace Disparities: While other departments are forced to work for weeks without air conditioning and endure challenging environmental conditions due to a so-called “lack of funds,” any issue suspected in the Finance Department is met with an immediate shutdown. Professional cleaners and environmental specialists are swiftly called in to conduct assessments, highlighting a clear disparity in treatment. This blatant disregard for other departments must come to an end. It’s astonishing how funds can always be found to ensure that some are comfortable, while others—like those in the newsroom, who generate revenue—are consistently overlooked.

In the light of these disturbing revelations, I strongly urge you, Prime Minister, to launch an immediate and thorough investigation into the affairs of CBC. This investigation should include:

• A forensic audit of CBC’s finances to determine the extent of mismanagement and improper allocations, including that which is given to two ladies, closely connected to the Minister. 
  • An inquiry into the employment practices within CBC, particularly the misuse of funds to pay an individual working within the Minister’s constituency. Could such an individual continue to sit in the cabinet of Barbados?
  • A review of CBC’s leadership structure to assess its effectiveness and the necessity of reform.

One final caution, be careful what you accept as the way forward for CBC from novices. CBC is too important an institution to be allowed to collapse because of negligence and poor leadership. As we work toward a modern and progressive republic, we must ensure that it is managed with integrity, transparency, and accountability. 

I trust in your commitment to good governance and hope that you will take swift action to address these pressing concerns. 

Yours sincerely,

Concerned Citizen of Barbados

29 responses to “Urgent Call for Investigation into CBC”

1. While they are at it, can they please look at paying the pensions of employees who have served faithfully at the Corporation in the past?

2. Terence Blackett Avatar

IF THE MOTTLEY CREW NEEDS SOME CASH AS WE KNOW THEIR FEEBLE GOV* IS HARD-UP 4 LIQUIDITY, IN SPITE OF ALL THE SPIN FROM THE NOTORIOUS CENTRAL BANK

Maybe it’s time 4 the BIMGOV* 2 look at what #JayPowell (FED CHAIR) is saying & doing with *CRYPTOCURRENCIES* & its deployment within the US FINANCIAL SYSTEM – an adoption that will be front & centre of every nation on earth (AS BLOCKCHAIN TECH TAKES OVER AS THE NEW MONETARY FRAMEWORK) to undergird the US$$$!!!

Maybe, the #MottleyCrewGOV* can leverage some “CRYPTO” to pay the “UNPAID” civil servants et al who are still waiting for a tuppence in order that they may eat a loaf of stale bread!!!

#GotCrypto??? (IF NOT)

#YouAreScrewed

#StayTunedFOLKS*

3. Effective management requires a discipline approach that must be supported by those at the highest level. In its absence, the quest for financial advancement will tend to cause workers at any level to milk the system. In this case, one can only empathize, knowing full well little will be done to address the issues raised.

4. If this news is a ‘revelation’ to the powers that be at CBC, then we have a much bigger problem than the letter seems to suggest.

1- If no financial and management reports were being presented to the Board, Minister, and Cabinet, – then their collective failure to address this BASIC administrative requirement speaks volumes about their competence.

2- If reports were being presented, and such reports turn out to be false and misleading, then questions must be directed to the independent auditors /Auditor General’s competence…

3- If, despite accurate reports being presented to authorities, the situation continued to deteriorate as seems to be the case, then clearly accountability resides at an altogether different level…

So ,from whatever angle we view this mess, Sanka is among birds of a feather…

Interestingly, VERY SIMILAR situations seem to persist WHEREVER certain assignments are located…. and the result ALWAYS seem to be silence, …relocation to greener pastures, ..and/or promotions to more ‘senior’ responsibilities.

One has to express amazement at the extended lack of progress with the promised ‘HOPE inquiry’ into the $60million- that was highlighted in no less a forum than Parliament, during Budget debate…
    As always, transparency seems to be clouded with ‘relationships’…

What a place!!

5. @Bush Tea

Are the various actors acquainted with the obligation which comes from fiduciary responsibility?

6. A glaring omission from your analysis @Bush Tea is to question the role of the union?

7. Join the queue
    Everything needs investigating
    And promised/ongoing investigations needs to be updated

8. A glaring omission from your analysis @Bush Tea is to question the role of the union?
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    You are correct…
    The union is NOT represented in the cabinet, ..only on the back bench.

LOL…
    What union what!!??

9. CBC has a way bigger problem than just its management and its structure, in that its model for business is obselete. Those running this entity have failed to keep up with change and while it may still have a few old faithfuls as clients on their subscription service, younger clients will not pay for such an offering.

This happens when you have consecutive boards running an entity they do not understand. Change was never pursued and now if this entity is to be viable, it basically equates to a horse being last at the 7 furlong mark with 1 furlong left to run. It’s competition via things like Google TV, Netflix and Firestick offerings all via the internet, have left CBC In the dark ages. Not to mention 4k Tv services all being offered online as well. A basic information service via a GIS type format is the only thing left for CBC now, in light of the fact that their STV service offers an outdated product at 3 times the cost of its completion.

That my friends is the reality of what CBC has become.

10. I would suggest you merge CBC with the GIS and keep a basic local service for news and information, along with local products that could benefit the public in terms of employment. In other words use it as a teaching channel with opportunities for self employment and self improvement.

This could be run from a small location and get rid then of that blood sucking entity known as CBC. If a small subvention annually is needed from the state, along with what advertising revenue it can accrue, then so be it. God knows it would be better that trying to prop up an entity whose business plan is rooted in 1970.

11. @JohnA
    You realize the MP for the constituency questioned, is the same Minister who promised updated financials 5 years ago.
    @plt suggested, sell the assets and close it down. Seems like the best idea, as the GoB refuses to share information via Annual Reports.
    They will do as they please, and the peaceful and polite taxpayers will do little, so why change?
    Just don’t buy a Bond or TBill.

12. What has caused this concern?
    Gov’t agencies have been hiring friends, family, gf/bf, mistresses or boytoys for eons. So you know people aren’t getting paid. Either current or past or both.
    The CBC hasn’t issued an Annual Report in 13 years, and now the “Concerned” want a phensic audit?
    Steupse. The onliest time Bajans speak out, is when their own money is on the line. So all of a sudden the nameless skeletons fall out the closet.

13. @ Northern

Well you know as the government mouthpiece neither B or D going want it shut LOL

The fact is the business plan is outdated but if they want to keep channel eight and one radio station for public service, then shut the facility down and sell the building and land. The equipment can go to the landfill. At least the bleeding will stop and what I outlined could be run with 5 people. A small subvention and some advertising money would then carry it. Merged with GIS it could serve some use still.

The bigger problem of lack of finnancials still plagues us as a country in a major way though!

14. leadership.

15. @John A

A national broadcasting entity should not be about head to head competition with the streaming services you mentioned.

16. Even if you merged CBC with GIS the structure inefficiencies plaguing the CBC would probably be transported to the new entity anyway.

17. @ David

I would imagine their inefficiency would prevail but hopefully at a lower level. So here is the thing.

CBC went on air in 1966 showing Dark Shadows and Zorro. This we were all grateful for because there was no alternative. We had channel 8 that came on at 5 in black and white and all was good.

Fast forward to 2025 and we can get all we want via the internet in terms of entertainment using instruments like Google TV and others. CBC or Direct TV can not compete with the offerings from their internet competitors, neither in price nor variety fullstop. So when you add government mis management to this the entity is doomed. So what do you do? You can either shut it all together, or take it back to a local service entity by merging it with the GIS. This new entity will cover local events and have maybe I radio station with channel 8 done wid dat. Between the 2 of these you can cover weather events and local news along with local or regional content and all GIS announcements. That is as far as CBCGIS should go!

18. CBC has been bankrupt now for YEARS.

It only continues to exist because there are a set of brass bowls who can be bamboozled into subsidizing its dead carcass with their taxes.
    This is why no annual reports are published.

…how would it look for them to publish the CBC autopsy – when they are extracting monthly child payments from hapless BBs via taxes, VAT, and the repayment of foolish loans and associated interest?

And the autopsies HAD to have been done. Otherwise there could NOT have been the lotta talk of selling it off to private sector buyers. Something HAD to be shared.

The BASIC problem is SIMPLE…. N.O. said it CLEARLY a few comments above..
    “Gov’t agencies have been hiring friends, family, gf/bf, mistresses or boytoys for eons.”

What is the chance that “somebody’s gf/bf or cousin” will be qualified and competent to manage a complex modern organisation – particularly one that is in effective competition with Google, Starlink and X, …not to mention Flow and Digicel…?
    Steupsss…
    …and this SICKNESS is endemic throughout our political system…
    SO NOT A SHIOITE WORKS…. except the destruction of the ‘fatted calf”…

19. @Northern Observer February 12, 2025 at 11:00 am “Gov’t agencies have been hiring friends, family, gf/bf, mistresses or toy boys for eons.”

I see!!! So this is why I was never able to get a government pick.

Too old now to be a toy girl, so I give up.

20. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@ John A wrote
    February 12, 2025 at 9:06 am

“I would suggest you merge CBC with the GIS…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sadly, a merger of the CBC and GIS would simply further damage the GIS. The GIS needs to be properly brought into the 21st century not saddled with a poisoned and dysfunctional legacy.

The GIS should be re-incorporated under the auspices of the Barbados mission to the United Nations. This is so that it can monetize its viewership on various social media platforms… Barbadian entities are largely prohibited from doing so.

Then most of GIS staff should be offered early retirement and the printing presses sold off.

The new GIS should be purely digital, staffed by half a dozen bright young sparks out of Cave Hill. That’s all it takes in the 21st century.

However such rationality will never prevail because Barbadian decision makers are so entrapped by the sunk cost fallacy that they will continue to throw good money after bad for generation after generation. It is one of our most grievous cultural flaws and a huge hinderance to national development.

21. @ PLT
    Practically ANYTHING that is properly staffed by the most competent among us has a good chance of success. Bajans who leave here, generally get exceptional results in other jurisdictions.
    The difference occurs where meritocracy is the guiding factor in decision-making rather than nepotism and connections.

The throwing of good money after bad is not a cultural flaw, it is the act of incompetent idiots – who are ONLY in position because “Gov’t agencies (and private businesses) have been hiring friends, family, gf/bf, mistresses or boytoys for eons. ”

The SIMPLE ACT of appointing COMPETENT leaders, based on MERIT and RESULTS would revolutionize the place in short order.

BTW
    ..the term ‘Bright sparks’ is NOT properly qualified by the addition of ‘out of Cave Hill’.

Indeed, such a combination is a refreshingly rare find.
    ‘Cave Hill graduates’ have generally been meek conformists, who are eddykated to be subservient “toers of the line”, and who make GREAT serfs.
    …and whose idea of ‘research’ is to find and read old newspapers on VOB every damn day…

@ Cuhdear
    Don’t give up the toy girl dream… Bushie has a plan..

You still have a few years left…
    making conkies!!

22. John A
    February 12, 2025 at 2:41 pm

Exactly. Long time.

And Bushie is right on the nepotism. It is blatant when each new government puts their own man in charge.

That has always been hilarious.

23. Not a young bright spark, but an old fart here.
    I am hoping that these brilliant recommendations will also tell us what happens to the displaced workers. Any solution should address where these workers will go after the lights are turned off and the doors closed.

Now, I am not suggesting that we keep inefficient and money wasting departments running just to keep folks employed, but I am suggesting that any proposed solution should also address the problems it will/would create.

24. @ PLT

I Agree with you that CBC has been poorly run and that the word ” Innovation” never crossed their door, but used for local programming with 1 channel from a 1 door room with 6 people can it be of use to us? That is my question. Can we use it to educate people about opportunities and use the format to teach people to be self employed or to grow more food for example? Would one radio station for use by the GIS and to reach the public be of any use?

In other words my question is should we just bury it or can some form of middle ground be found? One thing we know is that it can not continue as is so something must be done and soon!

But going further is CBC just an example of everything else government does? If so we screwed propper!

25. @BT
    Abandon that plan.
    Elder abuse is real. Too besides, I suspect cuhdear will be walking with a scissors or a very sharp knife. Does your plan include hospitalization? If no, forget it.

26. @ Goeth
    Thanks.
    Will do.

27. she in evah ting.

28. “Prime Minister, Mia Amor Mottley, has underscored the pressing challenge of a dwindling nursing workforce, attributing the exodus to global demand and a failure to replenish local numbers.”