Considering how Barbados has been ‘progressing’ on the social and economic landscape in the last 30 years, one is left to repeat the question – how did we get here? Especially since, albeit briefly, Barbados was in lockstep with Singapore in the 60s.

Although we are all in it together as a civil society; labour, government, non governmental organisations, the challenge for leadership to coax different groups to shared positions has been elusive. At the root of the challenge is buying into the theory of cultural relativism. What is cultural relativism?

Cultural relativism refers to not judging a culture to our own standards of what is right or wrong, strange or normal. Instead, we should try to understand cultural practices of other groups in its own cultural context – Wikipedia

We have been happy in recent years to be influenced and brainwashed by a way of life from other countries at the sacrifice of our own. There is nothing wrong with embracing an eclectic approach to living life but at all times foreign ideas should be filtered through a home-grown lens. The Barbados leadership (intelligentsia) has a responsibility to safeguard the Barbados identity. Children of the 60s and 70s shouted The National Pledge with pride. Community spirit was sky high with the nuclear family nurturing and protecting traditional values. There was a willingness to engage in public service and voluntaristic tasks without realising financial reward.. There was an unequivocal understanding about what was right or wrong along with many other elements that defined our national identity. Sadly we have surrendered to the torrent of cultural penetration.

We need to have a national conversation what is required to ‘rightsize’ our tiny society. We often hear our leaders pontificating about making our country more resilient framed to mean, the economy. What about a fit for purpose education system that trains the minds of citizens to nurture independent thinking? More focus (not token programs) on community activities and construct a robust governance framework to nurture public trust to address increasing apathy and cynicism in the country.

In the old world philosophers played an important role as “intellectual pioneers who used reason and critical thinking to explore fundamental questions about the universe, human nature, ethics, politics, and knowledge, often challenging existing myths and beliefs by attempting to understand the world through rational inquiry, laying the foundation for Western philosophy and thought as we know it today.” It begs the question who are playing the role as philosophers and intellectuals in our present day society? It seems the role is vacant and opportunistic politicians have been recruited to do a job.

Whither our intellectuals? Whither our actors in academia?

Based on research the role of academia is critical to national development for any country and all the elements that go with it.

• Educating the Population
  • Research for Local Development
  • Preserving and Promoting culture
  • Informing Policy and Governance
  • Enhancing Global Competitiveness
  • Encouraging Critical Thinking and Social Progress
  • Reducing Dependence on Foreign Expertise

The question to be asked, are we getting an acceptable Return on Education (ROE) given the current state of our social and economic conditions.

83 responses to “Local intellectuals are intimidated by politicians”

1. Yes, the title is correct and has so been for years. However, that culture of intimidation did not start yesterday and is now impossible to be evicted from faculty.

For it was well inbred into the very fabric of every institution from kindergarten to university.

But it did not start with intimidation alone for intimidation spawned other subcultures within educational institutions, especially the university, where, for example, insidious responses to political intimidation were developed as weapons within the quiver of chancellory.

For example, faculty itself developed means by which resources allocated could be deployed to build cuadres around them, these then acted to protect themselves and their positions.

Higher ups have developed and extended traditions of pretending to be free thinkers, public academicians, and the like, in ways purely intended to serve narrow interests.

But on the history of intimidation, we remember what Barrow had to say about voices from Cave Hill which were strongly opposed to him, intellectually.

We well recall how Tom Adams went to war with the former ‘communist’ Ralph Gonzales, now prime minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

During recent years these extreme manifestations of intimidation were vastly less present. However, the damage was already done to the very DNA of critical scholarship, radical public discourses, developmental ethos.

What we are now left with are the vicious and nascent influences of resources, from government and within, and the distribution of institutional power within higher education.

These forces are acting in unison to make sure there will never be the constitution of any radical, developmental, ethos within Barbados or the West Indies. A necessary even if insufficient precondition to support our young people.

2. I am not an intellectual, more of a one cent philosopher.

None of us can undo yesterday.
    All of us can do better today.
    None of us can live tomorrow today.

That said I have been a loving daughter, mother, grandmother, neighbor and friend.

In addition I have paid my taxes and spent tens of thousands of hours in volunteer work, the nature of which I will not reveal here less I identify myself.

My question [wunna know I always have questions]: Is this enough?

And if it is not enough, what else can I do?

And don’t anybody dare suggest that I stop posting on BU.

3. But it is not just the intellectuals.
    The WHOLE society… Clergy, professionals, professional bodies, educators, journalists, Jurists… not to mention ‘economists’ (whatever the Hell THOSE are…) – ALL.

Even the damn Ministers of government are frighten to say what they REALLY think, and seem to have to keep on with the lotta childish praise of the PM …like dem is little girls.
    Steupsss….
    Marcia Weeks, Caswell, Tricia, Adrian are but a very few examples of those who are willing to behave EXACTLY AS MIA DID – WHEN SHE WAS IN OPPOSITION.

Everybody too damn committed to materialism, and as a result, have too many skeletons in closets – to have the FREEDOM to say what they TRULY think…

Our freedom of thought, speech and actions are held hostage to our albino-centric inclinations.

Even outstanding independent thinkers like the blog master and PLT tend to verbalize in such a manner as NOT to offend ‘power’.

Bushmen, on the other hand, have been known to be crucified for less…

The TRUTH is the truth! and sometimes it hurts a bit… sometimes a LOT!!
    BUT it is the ONLY thing that will set us free from brassbowlery.

4. @Bush Tea

Aren’t they intellectuals operating within the groups you identified?

5. Intellectual means involving a person’s ability to think and to understand ideas and information.

There are no political thinkers intellectuals anymore they are just are partisan talking parrots.

How can I stop being an intellectual?
    Try Buddhist mindfulness practices.

Being an intellectual means that you are too much in your mind.

6. I have long noticed the absence of thought leaders in our country. The “intellectuals” have been muted. They are missing in action. I suspect that they too “have lost that that loving feeling” the Righteous Brothers sang about. They have, I suspect, lost their love for the “idea of Barbados” and moved on from the love of educating the masses to the love of money and position.

They’re not looking to risk it by being radical.

7. And I start with the unpopular opinion that there are very few true intellectuals in the region.

We see a number of cut and paste artist who regurgitate what they see elsewhere. We see initiatives stalling because we lack the power to implement after pasting.

We see gurus repacking old diatribes and selling it as new wine. We take sweet sounding words that adds nothing to the discussion as inspirational.

Girunts and pseudo intellectuals appearing as one-eyed men in a blind country. Mediocrity accepted as brilliance.

Harsh but accurate.

8. @Hants
    I am back there in the dust.
    I saw three, then five and before I could ‘investigate’ the additional two the number six is posted.

I do not know what the AG can do, but something needs to be done .. Here is an idea for him…. stop faking it and resign

9. But I understand why he will not resign…
    The fear of having a greater intellectual f…er-upper take over from him is real

10. @ Goeht

Government ministers in Barbados do not resign unless they have a “financially rewarding ” alternative.

11. Working hard.

12. @ David
    Bush Tea – Aren’t they intellectuals operating within the groups you identified?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Wuh part?!! ha ha ha
    Aren’t ‘intellectuals’ people who have the ability to think outside of the shiite box, and to do so logically and coherently..?

Name two in the Parliamentary group…
    Name two who are senior Public servants…
    Don’t even bother with the lawyer pack – whose key skill is to talk shiite sweet.
    ..and the ‘economist’ gang are just economic lawyers…bare talk..

Boss, the intersection between intellectuals and our local groups is a MINIMAL one.

it is so bad that when one of our TRUE intellectuals speak, the hoards of BBs all conclude that he/she MUST be mad as shiite…
    Murduh!!! ..”The first shall be last, and the last first.”

Notwithstanding this, within the ‘groups’ are sections who KNOW FIRSTHAND of the lotta shiite that is ongoing…. and who pinch their noses, look away, and swallow their PRIDE.
    There are Permanent Secretaries who MUST actually pay out the Nations funds on instructions from crooks…
    There are department officials who HAVE the sordid details of the infelicities – and who barely manage to sleep at nights …for their guilty conscience…
    But everyone wants next month’s salary, the travel allowance, car loan …and to become ‘Most Honorable’ someday…. Just like Judas.

Gone are the days when personal and family PRINCIPLES came first, when MORALS and ETHICS meant more that ‘things’… and when HONESTY was king.

When the question was asked of Sodom & Gamorrah “can you find 10 honest citizens..” the place HAD TO BURN….

13. “The country’s newest political party, Conservative Barbados Leadership Party (CBL), officially introduced the core members of its leadership team on Saturday.”

14. Kolij.

15. Conservative Barbados Leadership Party (CBL), the name does not imbue hope, seriousness or even deep analysis

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wondering if they know the history of Clearwater Bay Limited (CBL). No problem, most Bajans don’t know what CBL is either 😂😂

17. The blogmaster wondered about the choice of name as well but some might suggest what is in a name.

18. CBL Party or CBLP.
    We all know that P stands for party.
    What could a party that cannot handle acronyms ring to the table.
    What’s next, headed by Hants we get the
    Canadian Democratic Loyalist Party… CDL Party or CDLP?

The shortage of ideas astounds me.

19. Hants…keep it local
    Caribbean Democratic Loyalist Party ….
    CDL Party

20. What name what??!!
    Is this just another set of clueless jokers looking to see how they can exploit the gullible BBs to build their fortunes…?

PUBLISH THEIR CVs!!

That is what a potential job applicant does INITIALLY – to show what they are bringing to the table.
    Let us see what the are COMPETENT to achieve; AND WHAT THEY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO ACCOMPLISH SO FAR.

Lotta shiite!!!
    Bunch of jokers telling us shiite stories about what ‘great things’ they will do for us… when they have never even managed to botch a peg…

Just another ‘give us the vote and watch muh’ GIMMICK.

RIDDLE….
    How many times can a brass bowl be used as a topsy???

ANSWER..
    OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER.

Steupsss
    -Arthur did it
    -Thompson tried to out-shit him
    -Froon like he had diarrhea
    -..and we here watching a whole lot of borrowing & shiite now..

What they offering now…?
    Constipation, But Likable?

What a place…

21. William Skinner Avatar

An elitist educational system will produce elitists. The article has some merit but it’s addressing the question from within the same worn matrix by placing its context within the political realm. Education, like anything else can excrete what is put into its production : garbage in garbage out.

22. Here is another example of a vacuum of intellect. So many years ago pioneer Oliver Headley started the prove into solar energy, when he died others at UWI mouthed that the entity was committed to furthering his research in the area. Where are we today?

LIGHT BILL HIKE
    However, BL&P says customers spared the worst

By Shawn Cumberbatch

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

Customers of the Barbados Light & Power Co. (BL& P) ended 2024 and started the new year with higher electricity bills linked to increased fuel cost but the company has indicated that they were spared the worst.

Information from BL& P shows that after holding steady at 33.1904 cents per kilowatt hour (kWh) in September, October and November, the Fuel Clause Adjustment (FCA) paid by its customers rose to 34.9611 cents per kWh in December, which was maintained this month.

While Barbados paid more FCA and hence had higher electricity bills in the last two months, the utility company said it “passed on the benefits of lower international oil prices during the year to its customers through the FCA”.

“The FCA reflected on customers’ electricity bills during 2024 was on average the lowest since 2021,” it noted.

Based on information from the United States Energy Information Administration (EIA), the West Texas Intermediate Spot Price for a barrel of oil was US$76.68 in August, US$70.24 in September, US$71.99 in October, US$69.95 in November, US$70.12 in December.

The highest for the year was US$85.35 in April.

BL& P reminded that the FCA “is revised monthly according to the fuel costs incurred in electricity generation”.

It said these fuel costs were influenced by international oil prices, which it had no control over, but explained that customers were spared price shocks.

“It is important to note . . . that BLPC uses a smoothing process when the price of fuel increases drastically to mitigate the impact of the prices on customers.

“In other words, notwithstanding the international prices, the company does its best to hold prices steady – ensuring some predictability for customers – and to keep the cost as manageable as possible for customers. This essentially absorbs any price shocks to customers.”

In terms of electricity usage by Barbadians during the recent

Christmas season, BL& P said “contrary to some beliefs, residential customers do not utilise significantly more electricity during the Christmas period”.

“Electricity consumption by residential customers during the Christmas period is comparable with other months of the year. During 2024 the usage during December was similar to May to August, October and November,” it noted.

About half of BL& P’s customers are not utilising the early payment discount.

“The number of customers utilising the early payment discount has remained stable relative to previous years. There has not been an increase in customers taking advantage of the saving but rather steady at approximately 50 per cent of customers,” BL& P reported.

In sharing information on the FCA recently, the company said the December/January FCA of 34.9611 cents per kWh comprised fossil fuel costs of 34.0933 per kWh and renewable energy purchase costs of 40.7920 per kWh.

“The difference in measurement reflects the disparity in costs to produce electricity from fossil fuel and that from renewable sources.

“The cost of fossil fuel in the calculation of the FCA during the month is based on international fuel prices, while the cost of energy purchased from renewable energy suppliers is based on prices determined by the Fair Trading Commission that should be paid to renewable energy customers that supply energy to the electricity grid.”

The EIA predicted last week that crude oil prices “will fall from an average of US$81 per barrel in 2024 to US$74 per barrel this year and US$66 per barrel in 2026, as strong global growth in production of petroleum and other liquids and slower demand growth put downward pressure on prices and help offset heightened geopolitical risks and voluntary production restraint from OPEC+ members”.

This forecast was completed before the US issued additional sanctions targeting Russia’s oil sector on January 10, which the EIA said had “the potential to reduce Russia’s oil exports to the global market”.

23. @William

Who will drive the change you want? The new policies will fall from the sky?

24. The simple point is that a progressive society is made so from ideas born from its intellectual class.

25. Before you and others get in a tizzy, it does not mean it is the only place ideas and disruptive innovations are hatched.

26. Unless Barbados can find ways of delivering cheap electricity, fuels and food, nothing good will happen in the country until.

Nothing!

This writer has already stated how these, or a few of them, must be done. All those means require the breaking of these old paradigms.

Paradigms which make heroes and heroines out of minions.

Maybe the problems of minds or mindsets is the really where cause lies.

27. Conservative implies right wing extremism nowadays which gets funded by racist billionaires who want to rule the world in dominion. America will eventually make moves for control of the Caribbean even if it is just to offset China’s presence.
    Elections could be rigged for Trump friendly regimes.

Re Search > Donald Trump’s Remarks On Musk & Computers Spark Rigged Elections Theory

28. Conservative in a Barbados context means an attempt to ring fence traditional values.

29. Bushie

Dey put a bee up your bonnet with another third party shiiite!

Gah to church today man. And ask the Boss Man teh bless yuh old soul!

30. “Conservative in a Barbados context means an attempt to ring fence traditional values. ”

But a liberal Caribbean vocal about Reparations is a clear and present danger to the White World just like all Black intellectuals messengers activists singers and players of instruments and prophets who were blacklisted targeted or killed by agents. Liberal thinking is categorised as communist and whitewashed in Agenda 47*.

(*) Not arguing just chitchatting

31. Not unpopular wirh me. The reason for my use of intellectuals”. Those progressive, leftist intellectuals I listened to in my youth are gone. Those who saw capitalism as inherently exploitative are no more, it seems.

32. What the hell does “conservative” mean in the Barbadian context? Then, what the hell is a leadership party?

Then, could a name be any more clumsy?

Sounds more silly than “Solutions Barbados”!

33. No!

Conservatism within the Bajan context means being like you.

Being a conservator of all that is and has been while pretending that they should work better or disappointment that they are not.

Has there ever been anything within the history of Barbados which has been radically transformed?

Even the use of word ‘radically’ is anathema to that mind set of the Bajan, that’s why this writer deliberately uses it, and often!

The best the Bajan can muster is to avoid all requirements for vision, while hanging around until everything collapses, and then present a begging bowl to the same people thought to have known best, when they too could not help themselves.

Are Bajan not still referring to China as “Communist China”? Are Bajans not still refusing to see the growth of the Eurasian bloc? Are Bajans not still expecting that the lies about this Western architecture can save them? Have you not called any reference to ancient Afrikan history nostalgic? Conservatism in Barbados means going back to 1627, no further, no?

These are what conservative means – Whiteness! And it is killing the country, and must!

34. The simple point Kiki is that conservative politics means something different in the USA for example compared to the Caribbean. Others will have different views.

35. In MY context.. Conservative means Capitalists and C___ Words
    They are the Bad Guys of Politicks

36. We are discussing the political situation in Barbados. You can have the last word.

37. We ask again and again and again.

Will the real leaders please stand up?

38. “We are discussing the political situation in Barbados. You can have the last word.”

Perhaps Barbados needs some skilled developed thinkers from outside Little Island.
    As mentioned I was not arguing just joining and adding value to the discussion.
    Grumpy old BT has poisoned your mind to exclude me as an intellectual original thinking righteous enlightened World Citizen and good seed, a member of the Human Race not pigeonholed in any specific Nation and Black Rights Advocate, but don’t overthink my ideas from out in leftfield, it is just food for thought to get the creative juices flowing for those who want to pick it up which is their business

39. @ David
    We have long accepted that the so-called intellectual class is inherently snobbish. Very few have any commitment to radically changing the system. They were not “educated” to so do. We had a few back in the late 60s and 70s but they have not been replaced. To put it bluntly : there are no Walter Rodneys at this time.
    Furthermore, we must accept that free education created a middle class that has now grown into a privileged upper class and its offspring was not raised to take up social justice causes.

40. “Furthermore, we must accept that free education created a middle class that has now grown into a privileged upper class and its offspring was not raised to take up social justice causes.”

Easy Squeeze Make No Riot
    Capitalism and membership into the World of Privilege is the next new way to exclude the poor ugly raggedy nappy headed lumpenproletariat.
    Barbados is probably too chilled for an uprising revolution but poverty is a ticking time bomb that could trigger events when push comes to shove for those in the shadows of society especially for the next generation of intellectual youths who may consider or embrace concepts like left wing liberalism socialism marxism. There are links between growing unemployment and crime and social living is the solution.

41. Will the real leaders please stand up?
    ~~~~~~~~
    Stop asking that question @Observing
    It is NOT the root problem.

The REAL question to ask is ;
    Will the REAL PEOPLE PLEASE stand up and be counted, and INSIST on being treated like REAL people – and NOT like brass bowls aka ‘topsies’?
    …THEN you will see the REAL leaders …

@ Kiki
    “…Grumpy old BT has poisoned your mind to exclude…”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    False!
    You have NOT been banned, and Bushie has NOT been loaned the ‘Ban Key’.
    Obviously the Blogmaster has endorsed your intellectual status…
    LOL – But not stinking Bushie doh!!!

@ Pacha
    “Gah to church today man. And ask the Boss Man teh bless yuh old soul!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Just this morning Bushie was here reflecting on what POSSIBLE REASON there could be for such UNENDING blessing coming his way…. Without even asking…

Then Psalms 91 (especially verse 12) came to mind….
    Not even a stumped toe den!!!
    LOL..

Can you IMAGINE what would happen if Bushie actually ASKED..???!!
    Let us leave well Enuff alone.

42. William Skinner

On Walter Rodney we highly credit him for writing one of the most magisterial works within the last century by any scholar anywhere.

No doubt being one of the leading thinkers of the second half of the last century. That work remains an essential ingredient in understanding present realities, is widely cited by researchers.

However, the popular sayings about him are inconsistent with his lived reality.

Those who still hold on to those narratives, and knowing who he really was, should explain his deep political associations with Indian-Guyanese politicians.

At a time when Forbes Burham could have been more closely, politically, for they were both from the same reaches of leftist politics.

They are yet to explain how such a deep thinker could have ended up with a bomb in his lap in the front seat of a car with an associate of questionable character who delivered said bomb.

They should explain why Rodney was expelled from several African countries.

We could go on and on. However, he’s not with us to defend himself, and it seems a bit unfair.

This writer, unlike you. much prefers looking towards systems, not personalities, for guidance. Not leaders. A rubric not dependent on personality types. So whether any one person is snobbish or not, or any other descriptor given should be irrelevant to the implementation of systems.

It is time for the lies told by Henry Forde and the BLP from that time which served American interests in discrediting Forbes Burham and the Cooperative Republic of Guyana be removed from the collective imagination of Bajans.

How else can such recent histories be properly and dispationately be assessed.

43. @ Pacha
    We simply stated that there are no Rodneys ; never stated he was perfect ! We were merely looking at the intellectuals who came after and trying to draw a comparison. You ought to know that the deeds of Henry Forde et al. will go unpunished. As for systems we remain committed to systems that ultimately reflect a deep commitment to the poor and those that promote the interests of the Black race. There is no perfect system and we have never put personality or any trait before ideology and philosophy when it comes to leadership. There are several synonyms of selfish , don’t get dragged into believing it means one thing and one thing only , in broad discussions such as these.

44. @Bush Tea January 26, 2025 at 8:12 am “PUBLISH THEIR CVs!!”

Sometimes CV’s contain a lot of unverifiable stuff, what some people might call lies. So in addition to the unverifiable CV’s I would like to see the high school/community college/university transcripts, sent directly from those institutions to the media, not having passed through the hands of the owners of those transcripts.

Actually I would like to see those of the current political class too, and Bush Tea’s as well.

45. @William

In an ideal Caribbean region intellectual learnings if we call it that should be transferred or accepted by succeeding generations to learn and build on. This is how mature societies with a real vision can advance. Whether it is because of the makeup of the region and the insularity it breeds, we struggle with this process. Also we should recognize that academics like to separate themselves from others including those who would be described as intellectuals.

46. @ Pacha
    Should read : there are several synonyms for snobbish………..

47. “Conservative in a Barbados context means an attempt to ring fence traditional values.”

Black Conservatives also means white wannabees
    What are traditional values of transplanted Africans
    The materialistic West is great if you got loads of money
    Whereas Africa is a spirtual vibe and a sense of purpose
    A linkup could be a political platform and long term national strategy
    The intuitive best plan for Barbados is the 3,000 mile journey eastwards back to Africa. Zion symbolizes a longing by wandering peoples for a safe homeland.
    This could be an actual place such as Ethiopia for Rastafari.
    Rastafari, identify themselves and Africa as Zion.
    Ethiopia is acknowledged as the mountains of Zion.

Going Back to My Roots
    Zippin’ up my boots
    Goin’ back to my roots
    To the place of my birth
    Back down to Earth

Not talkin’ ’bout the roots in the land
    I’m talkin’ ’bout the roots in the man
    Zippin’ up my boots, goin’ back to my roots
    I’m homeward bound, got my head turned around

Goin’ back to find myself
    I can’t live with nobody else
    Who’s living in the world and not be seen?
    Goin’ back, goin’ back right there and be me

Going home, I’m going home
    Going home, going home, right to be loved
    Not for my riches that I’ve got the time
    Finding out happiness is just a state of mind
    Just a state of mind
    Just a state of mind, yeah

It’s not black, it’s not white
    It’s not red, it’s not yellow
    It’s down to Earth

48. @ Cuhdear
    “Actually I would like to see those of the current political class too, and Bush Tea’s as well.”
    ~~~~
    Meet Bushie in the ZR stand at noon on Monday – with a pack of conkies
    …and bring long yuh eyeglasses – Dum is plenty to read….

BUT…
    No conkies – No deal!!
    Bushie will be as silent as the debate in Parliament on the legal qualifications issue….

49. @David January 26, 2025 at 9:11 am “Conservative in a Barbados context means an attempt to ring fence traditional values.”

I am still waiting for somebody to explain to me exactly what is meant by “traditional values”