Considering how Barbados has been ‘progressing’ on the social and economic landscape in the last 30 years, one is left to repeat the question – how did we get here? Especially since, albeit briefly, Barbados was in lockstep with Singapore in the 60s.

Although we are all in it together as a civil society; labour, government, non governmental organisations, the challenge for leadership to coax different groups to shared positions has been elusive. At the root of the challenge is buying into the theory of cultural relativism. What is cultural relativism?

Cultural relativism refers to not judging a culture to our own standards of what is right or wrong, strange or normal. Instead, we should try to understand cultural practices of other groups in its own cultural context – Wikipedia

We have been happy in recent years to be influenced and brainwashed by a way of life from other countries at the sacrifice of our own. There is nothing wrong with embracing an eclectic approach to living life but at all times foreign ideas should be filtered through a home-grown lens. The Barbados leadership (intelligentsia) has a responsibility to safeguard the Barbados identity. Children of the 60s and 70s shouted The National Pledge with pride. Community spirit was sky high with the nuclear family nurturing and protecting traditional values. There was a willingness to engage in public service and voluntaristic tasks without realising financial reward.. There was an unequivocal understanding about what was right or wrong along with many other elements that defined our national identity. Sadly we have surrendered to the torrent of cultural penetration.

We need to have a national conversation what is required to ‘rightsize’ our tiny society. We often hear our leaders pontificating about making our country more resilient framed to mean, the economy. What about a fit for purpose education system that trains the minds of citizens to nurture independent thinking? More focus (not token programs) on community activities and construct a robust governance framework to nurture public trust to address increasing apathy and cynicism in the country.

In the old world philosophers played an important role as “intellectual pioneers who used reason and critical thinking to explore fundamental questions about the universe, human nature, ethics, politics, and knowledge, often challenging existing myths and beliefs by attempting to understand the world through rational inquiry, laying the foundation for Western philosophy and thought as we know it today.” It begs the question who are playing the role as philosophers and intellectuals in our present day society? It seems the role is vacant and opportunistic politicians have been recruited to do a job.

Whither our intellectuals? Whither our actors in academia?

Based on research the role of academia is critical to national development for any country and all the elements that go with it.

• Educating the Population
  • Research for Local Development
  • Preserving and Promoting culture
  • Informing Policy and Governance
  • Enhancing Global Competitiveness
  • Encouraging Critical Thinking and Social Progress
  • Reducing Dependence on Foreign Expertise

The question to be asked, are we getting an acceptable Return on Education (ROE) given the current state of our social and economic conditions.

83 responses to “Local intellectuals are intimidated by politicians”

1. Bush Tea January 26, 2025 at 1:19 pm “Meet Bushie in the ZR stand at noon on Monday – with a pack of conkies…and bring long yuh eyeglasses – Dum is plenty to read…”

Deal.

But ya din tell me which ZR stand. There is more than one in Town, and Oistins and Speightstown ya know.

I bought some new eyes from the doctor a few years ago, so my eyes are as good as a 16 year old’s, so look for the old woman, without glasses.

2. @Pachamama January 26, 2025 at 9:37 am “Are Bajan not still referring to China as “Communist China”?”

NO.

I’ve NEVER once heard any Bajan refer to China as “communist China”

NEVER.

Not even once.

3. William Skinner January 26, 2025 at 10:14 am “Furthermore, we must accept that free education created a middle class that has now grown into a privileged upper class.”

What upper class are you talking about.

I put it to you that if any of these you call “upper class” have a serious illness, for example one that cost them $100,000+ or suffered a one or two year loss of income they would be in trouble. And that is so for most people in the world. Even in a country as wealthy as the USA, people run into serious trouble when met with serious unexpected expenses.

It happens in Canada too. Read the case of former long time MPP [Member of Ontario’s Provincial Parliament] Lorenzo Berardinetti. Salary $100,000+ for many years, a serious illness in middle age, a divorce=homeless shelter for months until some former collegues helped out. Believe me for most Bajans it is the same including those sitting in Parliament [although they may not have contemplated it] and those whom you label as middle or upper class.

4. Once a collegue had a very sick young child. Fortunately the parent was part of a robust group health plan. Over $1 million was spent on the child’s care. The insurer then raised the premiums for all of us who were part of the group.

Most people never contemplate a very serious illness, or worse a lifetime disability, or a drug addicted child who must be treated, or a young son charged with murder, or a divorce in middle or old age, when earning capacity is much reduced, or a major hurricane, or the next pandemic.

Are most Bajans, including those you call middle class and upper class capable of recovering without assistance from a major hurricane? Or a pandemic? Pandemics int done yet ya know. If we keep on effing with Mother Nature she may well teach us “which God we serving”

5. Trump’s Shiite has entered full gear. He sends military plane loads of illegals to Colombia and Mexico. Refused landing of course. We are hearing that another military plane load of Bajan illegal intellectuals are heading home tomorrow.

6. Trump also want ALL the people of Gaza in Jordan and/or Egypt under the treats of sanctions. Like he’s also threatening Mexico and Colombia which he’s done already.

Nuff shiiite coming down the pike. Just when I thought the Palestinians were given a rest.

We’re back to the future of a nuclear war! Expect the worst.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

My observation is most, whether deemed intellectual or not, are intimidated.
    Governments everywhere, have very subtle, and concealed ways of ‘sending messages’. Someone can object to a policy or operations implementation, and it can get flipped to personal. One does not have to be a CF or CH to know this.
    The Party machinery is so well developed in Barbados, that even the hint anything is politically based, brings the worms out of the wood.
    I find it revealing, that whether they have political stripes or ambitions or not, so many of those frequently quoted in local news sources live away.
    Those who are local tend to be gentle, the outermost hint of disapproval is via an unanswered question. The media rarely ask a probing question on topics considered untouchable.
    The simple answer is they fear retribution.

8. The middle class in Barbados is best described as lazy and disengaged from discharging its civic responsibilities.

9. And of all of life’s unexpected catastrophes what if your middle aged kid develops dementia/Alzheimers before you do?

Didn’t think that can happen?

I know of at least one family that has had to deal with that.

So very few Bajans are “upper class” enough to easily manage a catastrophic event or events.

10. Be afraid! Be very afraid!

The Government won two consecutive mandates of what their supporters like to boast as 30 love, yet that didn’t stop it from harassing two candidates who happened to be teachers and ran on the platform of the opposing party for violating some obscure rule that exists to stop people from exercising their democratic right if they are Government employees. Who in their right mind would place themselves in positions to be bullied for having political views contrary to the party in power.

No wonder parliament is filled with flotsam and jetsam and people who could make worthwhile contributions stay silent and far away from politics.

BTW does anyone know if restrictions on who could run for parliament was addressed in the long-awaited constitution?

11. @Sargeant

The draft report submitted by the CRC does not prevent the government from including. A quick scan of the documents did not turn-up that it was addressed in the recommendations.

12. William Skinner Avatar

This thread/ topic is really about the class structure of our island and how the development via education has socially uplifted some born into poverty to a higher social class.
    We are questioning the fear /sincerity of the intellectual class that limits it from more engagement within the society.
    Contrary to popular opinion , there are Black people who extremely comfortably off financially. We fail to accept that there is a highly successful professional class that passes on wealth to their children and their children are also quite comfortable financially and the wealth easily reaches the grandchildren.
    Unfortunately, we use Black failures in the retail and other trades as the only yardsticks to pass on general wealth. We seldom examine the professional groups.
    We are not saying that this group is as large as it should or could be but it’s there.
    It is obvious that any calamity can affect or strain the financial stability of any group ; that does not remove or eliminate the presence of that group .

13. Proving that one should never expect anything good from Donald J. Trump, regardless of one’s sources. As a narcissist, his is true I-deology.

Trump sees Gaza as “great beachfront property with excellent weather.” “One could do something with that,” he said, a few months ago. If one listens well enough, one will find that a person’s words always betray him. I listen. I listened. He cannot fool me.

Trump does not care about Israelis. Trump does not care about Palestinians. Trump does not care about Americans. Trump cares about his children only insofar as they reflect on himself.

Trump wants the occupants of Gaza gone, never to return. He wants to be in on the development to make money for himself. Gazans will not be able to afford the prices.

He will change his goal only if it appears unattainable.

The End.

14. 80 years after the Holocaust the World War II victors established two apartheid regions and put up signs on beaches saying “No Coloureds Allowed”.

Racist United Kingdom and Racist America now want Banks and Investors to put their money into even more War to boost / save their economies.

15. Not only is Gaza a great beachfront property, it is also a future money spinner for Israel through the planned Ben Gurion canal.

The Arab brotherhood better get their heads around the fact that Israel is not going to let the Arabs who formerly lived in Gaza just waltz back in.

Better for them to end up in Jordan or Saudi Arabia.

16. And your sick mind cannot see how wrong that is. I feel sorry for you.

17. The Brits are twigging now!!!

Why have people in your country who hate your guts and commit all sorts of heinous crimes.

Send them out!!

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/donald-trump-has-just-shown-the-uk-exactly-how-to-stop-the-boats/ar-AA1xWnu5?ocid=msedgntp&pc=W069&cvid=27d3ba1322654019c6ec1bf88cfac809&ei=38

18. I agree! Send back all Africans and they’ll have no choice but to fix their “shithole” countries! Of course, that would involve kicking out the Europeans and their American cousins and seizing all the stolen assets.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

Donna
    Ever heard of Kurdistan? It welcomes Palestine. The Kurds and Palestinians, two Nationless people looking for a homeland.
    Possibly somebody will annex land, and like the UN in ’48, provide the Kurds and Palestinians with a physical homeland.

20. Johnny

You just like Donald Drumpf, the German descended Nazi!

And the Anglo Saxons never liked the Germans. That’s why Drumpf is currently seeking to remove both governments.

Are these same British the ones who took over nearly all the peoples of the world.

The same people who starved Indians to death in their millions.

The same people who enslaved most of the world.

The same people who killed their kif and kin in a colonial USA.

Your punishment comes. It shall involve a large mushroom, many times over.

21. NO,

What land? Who is willing to give it up? And why should Palestinians move??????

22. @William

What we know for sure is that our intellectuals are obviously educated but it does not mean it is a prerequisite for them to be an advocate for causes or be imbued with an overwhelming desire to be civic minded.

23. “What we know for sure is that our intellectuals are obviously educated….”
    ~~~~~~
    You mean “obviously eddykated”….

‘Education’ went away with co-education…. and the RESULTS clearly demonstrate this fact…

The ‘eddykated intellectuals’ have become our MAIN problem…

24. @Bush Tea

We have to agree they are educated if the certificate is on the wall.

25. War Stories (people’s experiences exaggerated)
    “Educated” is a very long time ago when you were in your 20s and younger before starting work careers. People who harp on about their education in old age are just boring and probably assume that nobody else is as educated as them, when they are wrong.

26. @ David
    Education:
    “the act or process of imparting or acquiring general knowledge, developing the powers of reasoning and judgment, and generally of preparing oneself or others intellectually for mature life.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You were saying….?

27. The blogmaster stands corrected.

28. The GENERAL idea of EDUCATION is that by age 18-21, a young person has been through a formal process that helps them to develop their powers of reasoning, judgement and logic to the point where they are prepared to meet the challenges of mature life.

For 10 marks, assess OUR system against such a yardstick, and explain how we have managed to move so far BACKWARDS from our days of aspiring to be ‘first world’,
    .. to our current global Parro status of beggars, borrowers and mourners about ‘reparations’.

No need to exceed 200 words…

29. Who are the real criminals and terrorists?

It took Africa about 100+ years to decolonise the European Governments and 40+ years to reverse Apartheid in South Africa.

Palestine and United States of America still await decolonisation of Europeans.

30. @Bush Tea

To use a worn cliche our education system is ‘not fit for purpose’?

This is where @William will say I told you so.

31. Donna
    January 28, 2025 at 8:09 am

NO,

What land? Who is willing to give it up? And why should Palestinians move??????

Just as elections have consequences, wars also have consequences.

32. “Just as elections have consequences, wars also have consequences.”

Your Man Crush / Hero is an ignorant fool who was against Civil Rights of 60s and is still full on racist today as shown by the white trash in politics he calls friends.

There are 10,000+ Undocumented Irish in USA but they’re white and not guilty of the crime of being born black / brown.

Biden was a C-word with his support of Israel
    Trump is a F%6%** C-word with his plans to ethnically cleanse the Holy Lands
    Which proves all whites are of a feather

33. ” Trump floats foreign imprisonment of American criminals who are ‘repeat offenders”
    “President Donald Trump on Monday told Republican members of the House that he would launch a plan to subject recidivist American criminals to a punishment never before used in the United States and last used in the United Kingdom nearly two centuries ago: Forced exile.”