The Corporate Income Tax (CIT) takes effect from January 31, 2025 after an extension was approved by the Barbados Revenue Authority from the original proposed implementation date of January 1, 2025. The CIT is a system that requires companies with a gross income greater then $2,000,000 to make monthly prepayments of CIT calculated on taxable income from the year before the preceding income year to be paid no later than the 15th of each month. Failure to make the prepayment will result in a 10% or $10.00 penalty, whichever is greater , as well as interest rate of .5% per month.

Accounting firm KPMG explains on its company website this prepayment system is part of government’s fiscal policy to reduce public debt and ensure long term economic sustainability. By demanding companies to prepay taxes, the aim is to minimise the risk of tax arrears and defaults, promote greater accountability and simplify the tax collection system. KPMG also highlights that the decision by government aligning with the OECD Base Erosion and profit Shifting (BEPS)initiatives which Barbados has been party to implementing in order to improve tax compliance and transparency.

However BU family member John A disagrees with the adoption of CIT by government. He explains  that the corporation tax was paid before with a  single prepayment of 50% made the following year based on prior year profit – this meant if sales were way down in the actual year you would not have encountered a problem providing your profit did not fall to 50% of the last year (the value of prepayment made). There was also a provision for the business to write to the Commissioner of Barbados Revenue Authority to advise of a drastic occurrence in the performance of the busniness that affected the making of the 6 month prepayment.

John A is of the opinion the implementation of CIT is a major signal by the state that it has critical cash problem. The challenge as he see it is that a business does not operate in a linear way. For example, if you manage a toy shop and 90% of sales and profit was generated in December, “well skippa you cripple, cause where the money coming from to run the other 11 months? Supposed December is the only profitable month then you pay in the tax on sales in January, where the money coming from to feed the next 6 months to June if your financial year is July to June?”

83 responses to “Is Government ‘pressed’ for cash?”

1. On income of 2 000 000 (toy shop in bim ???)

Previously they paid 50% lump sum payments at beginning of year will now be spread out over the first 6 months

Advantage to both government and business

Mr doom and gloom once used to advocate for government to be gett better at tax collection smdh

2. All you have done from the above comment is prove to everyone that you do not have a clue how business operates. Congratulations.

3. As we are at it why don’t we move the VAT period to 30 days instead of 60? Or why not 15 days to be safe.

Have you not noticed everything we have is for sale? From historic monuments to state land. Bring the money and come. Also don’t forget the urgent move back to local borrowing. Watch the flood of government bonds and paper offerings coming next. Yes we will finance the deficit by borrowing no different than sinkyuh did in the lost decade.

As I said before 6 of 1 and half dozen of the next. Of course the party faithfuls will say different and find excuses for this change of heart, as the Dems faithfuls did back in sinkyuh time. Remember the short man from St Lucy when sinkyuh was raiding the NIS? “”WHO BETTER TO SPEND THE MONEY ON THAN US.” Yes and look where that got us!

4. It is not a ‘tax prepayment’ when you make an interim payment for income earned during a shorter period than an accounting year

Trump got got for Tax Fraud where he declared a Lawyers invoice as a business expense, when forensic accounting showed it was for a big titty porn star who he paid off to be quiet while running for President, which was deemed not a valid business expense

Better To Be Good
    Let the wicked who is wicked be wicked still
    And let the righteous who is righteous be righteous still
    Man it is better to be good than to be bad
    Oh gosh, look at that

5. While U are at at it why don’t u break down the numbers for me/ us and show how a 2M income toy shop would be disadvantage with the new policy?
    Do a comparison between the old and the new!
    Your way like how u break down the inflation numbers etc
    Instead of rehashing comments from yesterday or previous blogs.

6. “Is Government ‘pressed’ for cash?”

If they don’t maintain their monthly debt payments it’s G A M E_ _O V E R

Due to lack of investment
    Bank start to trade in corruption
    But due to lack of political strength
    Nough man a get a death sentence

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

Small Gov’ts always have cash flow challenges. Either they foot the bill via overdraft or similar, or the taxpayer/feepayer foots the bill. This change merely tips the scale in Gov’t favour in this area. Whether it is fair or reasonable, has to be taken along with many other rules and regulations.

I’m unsure if indicates they have any more serious flow issues than in 2018.

8. enjoy.

9. Nothing new here!

This regime, the one previously and the one before were always ‘pressed for cash’.

What else should weeee have expected, especially when the shit hit the fan after the so-called lost decade.

Of recent and after the SD, haircuts to investors in government paper, extreme conditionalities imposed by the IMF, most importantly the inability of this Mottley regime to qualitatively make any material change in the fundamental structure of the one-tier economy, and many more negative indicators.

That this regime is possibly ‘pressed for cash’ should be seen as less ‘bad’ that this writer had anticipated.

For countries which have let in the wolves by doing a SD normally end up having to revisit cycles of SDs as being ‘pressed for cash’ then turns into endless downward spirals, absent a radical economic transformation at base by the regime in Bridgetown.

10. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

HOW MUCH OF BARBADOS DOES CHINA OWNED? HAS THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* PUBLISHED ANY TRANSPARENCY ON THIS ISSUE SEEING THAT THERE IS NO PARLIAMENTARY SCRUTINY WHATEVER GIVEN THE AUTOCRATIC RULE THAT THE PEOPLE HAVE LEVELLED UPON THEMSELVES???

Barbados got a lotta’ monies in supposed financial assistance, as well as investment largesse from China, which include “SO-CALLED” soft loans for infrastructure projects. However, some in & out of GOV* continue 2 argue that these investments do not equate to a slice of the pie or a stake in the crown jewels of the country, because they themselves have benefited big time…

Specifically, China provided support for various projects such as the Wildey Gymnasium, the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference & Cultural Centre, as well as the Cheapside Market building renovation project. (DO WE HAVE A SPREADSHEET OF HOW THAT MONEY WAS USED)???

Additionally, Barbados signed agreements to join the “BELT & ROAD INITIATIVE”, which includes commitments for technical assistance & funding for infrastructure development – “BUZZWORDS” that can mean almost anything!!!

BIM IS NOW A REPUBLIC HAVING SEVERED ANCIENT TIES WITH HER COLONIAL MASTER BUT HAS SOMEONE EMBRACED POSTMODERN LOVERS

In the “INVESTMENT MONITOR”, Sebastian Sehadi argues that “within the Commonwealth, Barbados’s bold decision is the first of its kind in many decades, and it was, for all intents and purposes, completely symbolic since the country has been independent of the UK for 56 years (albeit with Queen Elizabeth as its ceremonial head of state).”

He further opined that “numerous factors lie behind the move, among them vast support within Barbados for the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement. However, critics, royalists and Sino hawks have given undue emphasis to the role of China, demonising Beijing while simultaneously belittling Barbados’s agency – in other words, an ugly cocktail of fearmongering and geopolitical mansplaining.”

He cites that “take, for example, the reaction of Henry Bolton, leader of the UK Independence Party between 2017 and 2018, who tweeted: “Barbados is now a Republic. The Queen is no longer the head of state. This is a result of China pouring £bns into the Caribbean, including into the Barbadian army. Britain’s timid foreign policy and neglect of the Commonwealth is strengthening China and undermining global stability”.”

He concludes that the “Barbadian officials have also stated that claims of high indebtedness to China are false and that less than 2.5% of the country’s external debt is owed to China, which amounts to approximately $300 million.”

JUST OF A TASTE OF THE INTERNATIONAL FLAVOUR ON THE ISSUE OF BARABDOS & ITS BEGGARDLY POSITION AS A CAP IN HAND NATION

SEE: https://www.investmentmonitor.ai/opinion/opinion-china-barbados-west-investment/?cf-view

The “MAIL ONLINE” in 2020 plastered a piece across the “FADING PATCHWORK” poignantly suggesting that the cloak ‘n’ dagger intrigue of geo-POLYTRICKS* all hinges around “POlieTICAL PROSTITUTION” & who has the biggest “JOHNSON” (in this case, the “BIGGEST WALLET”)!!!

SEE: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8764715/How-China-poured-billions-Caribbean.html

“NO COUNTRY” without tangible natural resources can “SUSTAIN” spiralling public debt that is reaching such stratospheric levels, given that Barbados has had to “RESTRUCTURE” its debt to restore some form of macroeconomic stability without having to fall on the sword of “DEVALUATION”!!!

Hurricane Elsa, the eruption of Soufriere, the “PLANDEMIC” & recently “BERYL” have all posited shocks – disrupting the economic fabric – making an already ugly situation, almost “OGRETLY FRANKENSTEINIAN”!!!

The “PLANDEMIC” to some degree impacted economic drivers by slowing down tourism as a major employer, & the main source of foreign exchange – however, offshore banking & international business remain key sectors which do not do “ENOUGH” to impact “WORKING CLASS BLACK FOLKS” – given that the upper middle class & those above them are the ones who profit from whatever largesse comes from these global entities which make reform efforts virtually impossible in the current climate!!!

SO WHILE THE HOUSE NEGROES PLAY THE GAMES THEY HAVE ALWAYS PLAYED – BOOTLICKING* WILL REMAIN A SCIENCE THAT BLACK FOLKS KNOW ONLY TOO WELL HOW TO PLAY WELL

#NothingChanges
    #MoreOfTheSame

11. @ Pacha

Your comments are more than fair. My concern is if we had levels of debt that were unsustainable and required a debt restructuring, what level of debt are we carrying now compared to 2018? Also with anemic growth in the period between 2018 and now, how does our true economic growth percentage wise compare with our debt growth percentage wise between 2018 and 2024?

In other words are we in a worst position now debt wise than in 2018 when a restructuring was called, or have we recorded enough growth to make the current debt load cariable? REMEMBER I AM SPEAKING OF DEBT NOT ANNUAL DEBT SERVICE COST?

Northern as a man of research do you have these figures close to hand?

12. Will our Government collapse like this one?

13. John A

What is more dangerous than being ‘pressed for cash’, a danger nobody in Barbados wants to confront is the spate of observers forecasting a 1929, 2008/9, 1634 ‘reset’ during 2025.

We say again during 2025.

Indeed, a few observers are saying as early as before the end of January!

This will even be a much bigger problem than merely being pressed for cash. For this is likely to make all the hardships we’ve experienced pale in comparison.

This writer could never understand why our local economists seem never to be able to talk about what is likely to happen in the future.

Yes, we understand they are not soothsayers. However, what sense does it make understanding the past, even the present, but failing to see the future.

14. @Terrence Blackett at 4:48 PM “He cites that “take, for example, the reaction of Henry Bolton, leader of the UK Independence Party between 2017 and 2018, who tweeted…”

You completely lost me when you started quoting the UKIP leader.

15. @ Pacha

When you see certain large investors going to cash you got to sit up and take note. God forbid 2025 turns down, the last thing you want to be is heavily indebted. if you struggling to pay you bills when things good God help you when cash get tight.

16. John A

True!

And the entry of Trump seems to be adding additional uncertainty.

He certainly was not pressed for cash during his one percent defeat of Harris, nationally.

But now he is in, or near, power he’s done a few things already adding jitters to the Jewish moneymen.

One, he signaled that the ban on TikTok campaigned for by the ADL and Greenblack, a Jew, will be reversed tomorrow. TIKtok was being force sold or being wound up.

Two, he forced Netanyahu to stop the war in Gaza.

Both these actions could be contrude as actions against money interests.

We’ll see!

17. “Indeed, a few observers are saying as early as before the end of January!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @ Pacha
    You like you is some kinda clairvoyant yuh!! ..or you secretly reading the Bible pun we..?

Bushie was here reflecting on the global chaos of 2024 and noting with trepidation, that three MAJOR events will now preceed the end of January 2025.

1- There will be the ‘sound of the second trump’ tomorrow at an infamous inauguration.
    And, while you may be unaware of this, (since you avoid this particular research literature), AT THE SOUND OF THE SECOND TRUMP, “…something like a great mountain, burning with fire, was thrown into the sea, and a third of the sea became blood…”..
    Of course this ‘2nd trump’ thing may be a mere coincidence…

2 – The utterly ridiculous genocide by Israel on Palestinians is set to end with a ceasefire deal shortly. No doubt everyone will be singing the good sounds of PEACE.
    But prophet Bob Marley, and an array of reggae preachers, warned us that just when they shout ‘Peace and Safety’ …shall come sudden destruction…
    Perhaps they are all wrong about 1 Thessalonians 5:

3 – BBs in Brassbados are AGAIN ignoring the REAL problems afflicting the country, …and focussing on ‘We Gatherin’.
    Last time we did this shiite, within weeks, the SAME ‘We Gatherin’ advocates were locking up Bajans …just for talking face to face with friends and neighbors…
    …and we were all scattering.
    Who knows, it may now be a case of ‘if at first we don’t succeed…’, rather than one of doing the same shiite over and over…and expecting different results.

What a time in history…

18. @John A

If Straughn had to respond to your concern he would say that the debt to gdp is just above 100 and not 200 which it was in period leading in to 2018.

19. @ David.

He could respond that way. It does
    Not however answer my question and its this.

WHAT PERCENTAGE HAS OUR DEBT GROWN BETWEEN APRIL OF 2019 AND APRIL OF 2024 COMPARED TO WHAT PERCENTAGE HAS OUR ECONOMY GROWN OVER THE SAME PERIOD? IN OTHER WORDS THE FIRST MONTH OF GOVERNMENT’S NEW FINANCIAL YEAR IN 2019 VS THAT OF 2024.

Anyone with this information please share it.

Now as for Mr Straughn’ s response I will say this. if you restructure and right off billions, therby causing your debt to fall, then obviously you going say your debt to gdp better. As I always say you can play with numbers but it does not change the truth. My question however compares apples with apples not apples with oranges.

20. David I would bet you a snack box that our debt is back where it was in 2018 if not higher today. Remember Debt not Debt service. Cause we been trading debt service wherever we could find little ease, but it don’t reduce the DEBT. I would further bet our debt between 2019 and now has increased greater PERCENTAGE WISE than our economic growth has. Based on this a cash crunch is therefore inevitable.

21. Well Straughn will say to you, like Governor Greenidge, we have the capacity to repay AND the incumbent government policies have unlocked capital on the open market making it possible to address the rehabilitation of crumbling infrastructure in the country.

22. David the policies have unlocked loans that have to be serviced thereby further increasing our debt.

23. Bushie

Yes!

Predictions about the future are always highly problematic for systems as the Russian economist, Dmitry Trenin reminds us.

However, proper planning should embrace a wide range of scenarios, at least!

These same people see nothing wrong with the contradictions of doing estimates for budgets and so on while ignoring the deeper emerging trends with the potential to make idiots of us all.

Do we not look to the future for these as well? And why should that same “spirit” be not more deeply applied?

Then again, they may still argue that your God is a Bajan! Implying that He will babysit the country forever.

It certainly does not help for us to constantly find ourselves playing catch up, constantly embroiled in the trite of being “pressed for cash”, when a higher state of consciousness is required.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    I keep no stats on growth.
    As far as Debt goes, one never knows close to a full story, because they don’t report.
    They have so many tricks. In Sinkyuh time, I had them grinding to a financial halt. Little did I know, he was taking NIS contributions, as if it were Gov’t revenue. It wasn’t formally recognised beyond an IOU, until the GoB sent the NIS J series Bonds.
    All we know is either there is no more loan availability at the bi/multi lateral level, Or, the IMF has put a stop to it.(external borrowing).

25. @John A

Not since the days of Errol Barrow have we operated with balanced budget and the idea that we should earn what we need to spend. Unfortunately it is about deficit financing and borrowing with the same attitude adopted at the household level. We have a government with no popular challenger therefore it is under no obligation to ‘listen’. Give dem the vote and watch dem.

26. William Skinner Avatar

Nothing wrong with fooling ourselves. The simple truth is with no progressive innovation and struggling to find some iota of food security coupled with a decaying infrastructure and an impending environmental crisis because of wild construction projects, not to mention climate change threats, we really would only have an economy on paper.
    In other words, if tourism is barely threatened, our economy would collapse within hours.
    The country is essentially broke like a citizen , living on a credit card.

27. @ Pacha
    “These same people see nothing wrong with the contradictions of doing estimates for budgets and so on while ignoring the deeper emerging trends with the potential to make idiots of us all.”
    ~~~~~~~~
    You know the game Boss…
    They know the emerging trends just as well as we do. In fact, these shocks are extremely convenient for them in explaining their ineptness….
    – ‘the Covid 19 pandemic disrupted our great plans..’
    – ‘the ash fall has to be addressed, so that explains the mess..’
    – ‘the storm is to blame for the increased loan requirements..’
    – ‘BU upset the BBs and caused them to ask unanswerable questions…’

It is as if they seriously expected that someone else would be planning and preparing for such INEVITABLE shocks… when we all know that these will occur from time to time…

Our government is therefore no different to the fishermen – with no storm insurance. When it hits, their ‘plan’ is to blame Mother Nature ..and go cap in hand begging.

BTW…
    The greatest of all ‘inevitabilities’ is personal death, and eventually, the end of ‘Project Life on Earth’….
    Hopefully your plans are all set up and sorted out….??
    Don’t mind those unenlightened BBs hear..!!

28. Bushie

How profound!

We should never allow death to surprise us.

29. Make America White Again!

Well, if this ‘inauguration’ is not all that is wrong with America…

One, a woman visiting from Mars would never have believed that Washington DC, built by Afrikans, with a majority Afrikan population still, could be the venue.

Two, that everything this here new president proposes will do nothing but hasten empire’s decline. No need to adumbrate , is there?

Three, though Trump’s word were less racist than his first incarnation, there was still an obvious attempt to permit as little coffee as posible into the milk. Normally, the roles of singing and praying or preaching are reserved for the Afrikan. Sing and pray ‘boy’. Only a preacher this time. But the audience was as lilly White as could be.

Four, that 80 million people could have voted for this clown. Give cause that he be a near martyr. Given his previous four years would expect anything more than a presidency of rinse and repeat shall soon come to know how stupid they are.

Five, the staid pomp, song and pageantry, liberally imbued with false religious dogma could have hardly cover the self and implicit murder, domination of others, the conquest of lands, the genocide of peoples, the use of nuclear weapons and the threats to do more of the same for four more years.

Six, once more promising to make America White again, he sets an agenda which not ever FDR could have achieved in 50 years far less a Donald Trump in four!

And on and on. America has duly sealed its fate!

30. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THE RE-IMMORTALIZATION OF MARTIN LUTHER KING jr ON HIS MEMORIAL DAY

31. The Gaza ceasefire deal is only temporary, according to Netanyahu.

Bombings to resume with a buffet previously denied.

32. “America has duly sealed its fate!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @ Pacha
    Trump is not the reason that America’s fate has been duly sealed.
    He is just the mechanism – through which it is being sealed.

Karma is a special kind of woman. Her speciality is captured in the Bajan saying..
    “Wuh sweeteh goat mout, does bun he tail…”

Wealth and power is sweet like sugar,
    but then comes the diabetes and cancer in yuh tail…

What a time in history to be around…

33. Bushie

No. For there is a clear line of the same kinds of leaders over a span of 50 years.

Trump replaces a man who was an Alhiezmer’s sufferer from before he became president.

On a visit to the Vatican he even soiled his diaper, in the presence of the Pope. There was a stench, we’ve read.

This writer sees a clear line of failed presidents and systems between Carter and Trump. Possibly, Obama the ‘exceptional’ one. This maybe unclear.

Historically speaking, America is a replay of the collapse of the Western Roman Empire, after which it has, in all other ways, been a direct and more vicious copy.

Trump has taken on an impossible job. For there is no analog within the history of empires where the extension of dominance has beaten back the centrifugal forces, you’ll say karma, driving it into the dustbin.

Separately

This writer is no persuaded that Trump comes to the war in West Asia with clean hands. He also has an ax to grind with Netanyahu and may want to prove that that he is the big dog waging the Israeli tail before following his immediate predecessor.

Of course, he’s been backed by a lot by Jewish money including Musk, a donation of 240 million from him alone we’ve read.

The Zionists have not stopped bombing Lebanon every day even as a sixty day ceasefire comes to a close.

They have invaded Syria and are intent on igniting a wider war with Iran, using America as the edge of their spear, to do the dying. For them, in this their weakest state, Iran is the real war aim.

We look forward to the failures of Trump as empire slides.

34. @Pachamama January 20, 2025 at 8:24 pm “…an Alhiezmer’s sufferer from before he became president.”

People with Alheizmer’s are not suffering.

However their families and care givers do suffer.

35. Pachamama January 20, 2025 at 8:13 am “We should never allow death to surprise us.”

You can’t be unaware and surprised at the same time.

If you are lucky you will be completely unaware.

36. Pachamama
    January 20, 2025 at 8:24 pm

Trump replaces a man who was an Alhiezmer’s sufferer from before he became president.

I agree!!

Biden’s election was clearly fraud.

37. Trump is the new Jerry Hitler
    The Trump legacy of copycat fascists continues
    There are many Trump Cunts all over the world

38. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

A RAFT OF EXECUTIVE ACTIONS BY #PREZ_DJT: WHERE DOES THIS *GUY* GET THE ENERGY AT HIS AGE??? I AM ALREADY TIRED WATCHING HIM & I AM A LITTLE LESS THAN A DECADE YOUNGER THAN HE IS

#Unbeweaveable

39. John

That was not our point. Fraud was always a central ingredient in American elections. There are reports that Musk gave Trump 240 million. And Adelson’s wife promised 100 million but only delivered about half, concerned about disloyalty fears.

Our point was about the deep failures at the centre of empire. For Trump has his own hard limiitations as well. He had been a failure the first time around and is most likely to be again. For once an empire starts to slide downwards any recovery is greater than the task of which the mystical Sisyphus was so bedeviled.

America was not made “great again’ last time around and shall not be this time either, nor any other time hereafter.

40. There are many non-white people in America who won’t want to be put back in the shadows or be maids to whitey

WWE Trump Wrestling
    If you have ever been to a WWE show you will notice it is fake
    people don’t really get hit with chairs in the head it’s all camera angles for TV
    Trump’s Education Secretary is Linda McMahon former WWE performer and WWE CEO
    Perhaps Trump’s Rallies and shooting were staged events too

Trump is a White Supremacist and so are his picks and friends around the world
    Dealing with white supremacists is nothing new for black people and it’s back to the sports fields days to fight for civil rights human rights truth and rights and equal rights

41. @Terence Blackett January 21, 2025 at 7:55 am “A RAFT OF EXECUTIVE ACTIONS BY #PREZ_DJT: WHERE DOES THIS *GUY* GET THE ENERGY AT HIS AGE???”

I am not sure that you know how government works, but I trust that you know that executive orders are prepared by hard working, competent, long serving, CIVIL SERVANTS, and all the President has to do is sign.

It does not take much energy to sign a few papers.

42. Note that as of today I have not heard any of 2M income club come out against the new arrangement of paying taxes
    None of the “business “ groups /associations

@ John A. What do you think is this reason for this?

43. @ John A. What do you think is this reason for this?
    ~~~~~~~~
    Bushie is not John A,
    …but what taxes do these people REALLY pay?
    Taxes are paid by the gullible middle class through ridiculous land, income, consumption, …even death taxes,
    …and by the lower classes via vat and levies.

Is the electrick company not now in court fighting to refuse to pay back the millions in taxes they took, when the government was forced to slash corporation tax? …money that was paid by their poor CONSUMERS..??

The 2M income club know all the tricks to avoid taxes, and those that they DO pay, are easily recovered in ‘quid pro quo’ arrangements…

All PR gimmicks….

44. David, The discourse on this blog continues to disappoint. The speculation put forward about the government’s fiscal position and outlook is strange, given that the country’s fiscal performance between March and September can be found in detail on the Central Bank of Barbados’ website in its last economic review. https://www.centralbank.org.bb/viewPDF/documents/2024-10-30-14-02-17-Review-of-Barbados-Economy-January-September-2024.pdf

On page 12 you can find the fiscal performance for the first six months of the fiscal year (March to September). the data shows that there was a primary surplus (before interest payments) of 4 percent of GDP, which exceeded the government’s targets under BERT 2.0. There was actually a rare overall surplus( after interest payments) of 1.4 percent. This means that the government was on track to record an overall fiscal surplus in FY 2024/2025. This would be the first time in years and one of the few times since independence.

by the way, Government spending actually fell slightly compared to the same period in FY 2023/2024. There was also a record corporate tax revenue.

The greater question is, will these sustained primary surpluses and improved fiscal position allow the GOB to engage in greater public investment in key areas?

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@General
    The cash flow discourse is speculative without factual backup.
    So is the the CBB report?
    Ignoring they are the chief monetary authority, reporting on fiscal matters, how can we trust any of it to be accurate?

The CBB can Report on overall revenue and expenditure, while most of the main entities cannot offer similar Reports on their activity?
    So the totals are accurate, even though the items being totalled are secrets? We haven’t heard from the Govt’s Auditor since Sept 2023.

I share your closing thought. The proof is in the pudding.

46. @ General

At the time of the CBB report how many statuary bodies and SOES had filed ALL up to date financials? Does the state even know what their gross payables and receivables are as of December 2024? NO is the answer. How could they when none of the SOES have filed audited financials for years.

So I can say I have $10,000 in my account and not lie, but without knowing who I owe and who owes me currently, what is my above statement worth? My point is as Northern says time will soon tell. If we see a large offering in the area if $100M to $200M come out shortly well we know the truth.

47. @General

Thank you for your comment. Feel free to join the discourse to share your thoughts as well.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    The reality many entities have failed to comply with the local law, may only mean they have chosen not to comply. Not that information doesn’t exist.
    All those multi/bi-lateral lenders, aren’t lending without verified financial information. Nor can they force a Sovereign to comply with its own laws.
    Now you need to figure out why 🧐

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

A Bahamian friend told me a Bahamian lady is the Alternate Director at WB for the area that Sinkyuh was appointed for. Canada, Ireland, et al. Since last year according to him.
    You heard anything? I thought those appointments were for 4 years.

50. @NO

Spotted him in Barbados a few weeks ago, have not seen anything official but he is not listed as an alternate director on WB’s website.

https://thedocs.worldbank.org/en/doc/bb59d0763541241f684b8e784ea9aa07-0330032021/original/BankExecutiveDirectors.pdf