The Corporate Income Tax (CIT) takes effect from January 31, 2025 after an extension was approved by the Barbados Revenue Authority from the original proposed implementation date of January 1, 2025. The CIT is a system that requires companies with a gross income greater then $2,000,000 to make monthly prepayments of CIT calculated on taxable income from the year before the preceding income year to be paid no later than the 15th of each month. Failure to make the prepayment will result in a 10% or $10.00 penalty, whichever is greater , as well as interest rate of .5% per month.

Accounting firm KPMG explains on its company website this prepayment system is part of government’s fiscal policy to reduce public debt and ensure long term economic sustainability. By demanding companies to prepay taxes, the aim is to minimise the risk of tax arrears and defaults, promote greater accountability and simplify the tax collection system. KPMG also highlights that the decision by government aligning with the OECD Base Erosion and profit Shifting (BEPS)initiatives which Barbados has been party to implementing in order to improve tax compliance and transparency.

However BU family member John A disagrees with the adoption of CIT by government. He explains  that the corporation tax was paid before with a  single prepayment of 50% made the following year based on prior year profit – this meant if sales were way down in the actual year you would not have encountered a problem providing your profit did not fall to 50% of the last year (the value of prepayment made). There was also a provision for the business to write to the Commissioner of Barbados Revenue Authority to advise of a drastic occurrence in the performance of the busniness that affected the making of the 6 month prepayment.

John A is of the opinion the implementation of CIT is a major signal by the state that it has critical cash problem. The challenge as he see it is that a business does not operate in a linear way. For example, if you manage a toy shop and 90% of sales and profit was generated in December, “well skippa you cripple, cause where the money coming from to run the other 11 months? Supposed December is the only profitable month then you pay in the tax on sales in January, where the money coming from to feed the next 6 months to June if your financial year is July to June?”

83 responses to “Is Government ‘pressed’ for cash?”

1. Barbados embraces first insurer of cryptocurrency

In a bold move to integrate cryptocurrency into mainstream financial services, Barbados has welcomed Tabit Insurance, the island’s first insurer dedicated to the digital assets industry.

This milestone includes Tabit becoming the first insurer in the country to hold Bitcoin as part of its capital reserves, underscoring Barbados’ commitment to innovation in the global financial landscape.

“This is a remarkable step for Barbados,” said Steven Stoneberg, CEO and co-founder of Tabit Insurance.

“By embracing cryptocurrency and allowing us to use Bitcoin in our reserves, the country is demonstrating its readiness to adapt to a rapidly changing global financial landscape,” he said.

While the digital assets industry, which includes cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin, has seen exponential growth worldwide, traditional insurers have largely avoided this sector, leaving many businesses underinsured or entirely unprotected.

“Traditional insurers often exclude crypto-related businesses from their coverage. Our focus is on providing insurance solutions to a sector that has long been overlooked, helping to foster trust and security in the industry,” said Stoneberg.

Tabit’s clients would be based outside of Barbados but officials said the company was committed to contributing to the local economy through education and job creation. It was noted that plans were already in place to collaborate with the University of the West Indies and other institutions to support blockchain education and awareness.

“We’re invested in Barbados’ development. Having a company like ours on the island not only attracts more businesses in the sector but also creates opportunities for residents to get involved in this exciting industry.

“Our presence here is about more than just business. It’s about building a sector that offers jobs, education, and long-term growth opportunities for Barbados while positioning the country as a leader in the cryptocurrency space.”

(CLM)

2. “ If we see a large offering in the area if $100M to $200M come out shortly well we know the truth.”

XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxx

Sir
    It better sometimes to not say anything instead of try to mislead the blog that you are correct

When have government offered less the $100M?
    One bank purchased $200M last go around

3. @John 2

Why split hairs over this matter? It is public knowledge that government paper has been unsubscribed for too long now. This is happening mind you in a climate where the central bank has been reporting high liquidity in the system. What is a good conclusion to make?

4. @ Northern

So if what you are saying is correct which I believe could well be the case, why is this party who claimed transparency and disclosure not sharing the reports with us?

If they are showing serious cash shortages and unaccounted income, we as the tax payers will have to pick up the slack one way or the other anyhow. Why not just come clean and say ” folks this is our reality ” so we can move forward as a country with a plan?

This is what I see happening with the government paper. As David rightly stated the last offering was poorly subscribed at the rate of the offer. I believe they will have to increase the percentage offered on this offer to close to 5%, with the hope it will flush out a few investors looking for a return. So if this happens why would government be borrowing at close to 5% when they were borrowing internationaly at half that, unless they can no longer borrow internationally? Common sense would answer that question. The problem will come for us if this new offering is also poorly subscribed then what’s next? The obvious answer would be increase taxation and new revenue streams or major cut backs in expenditure.

Either way time will tell.

5. @NorthernObserver As you may know. Under the Public Finance Management Act passed in 2019, the Minister of Finance is required to lay a comprehensive review of Government’s fiscal performance every six months. The last one was laid by Ryan Straughn in November, see link: https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/quick_link/e3ac5b3b3aa45ff45c0ea00026c87990.pdf

This included a lot more details than on would find in the Central Bank’s report.
    I believe the next report will be in the form of the “Budget” in march.

6. He is now using deficit to ease out of his cash flow boo boo

I can remember the minister (I think ) in the pass admitting to having cas flow problems and asking people to hold on
    I think it was for people the were owed tax returns from under the previous government or it may have been when the nurses, teachers etc weren’t being paid on time

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@General
    Thank you for the Minister’s report, which was discussed on an earlier blog thread.
    However, my question was, how can we trust the CBB numbers?
    Since you seem to be very conversant in the financial area, I am sure you will recall some $400M+ in public employees NIS contributions, which were diverted under the last admin of the GoB, which seemingly missed all Reporting entities?
    The current PM obviously approved, for the two senior players at that time; the NIS chief was promoted to her Director of Finance and then showered with National honours, while the then MoF was recommended by her for a role at the World Bank.
    I will likely be told, well IF the NIS was reporting we would have known.
    Guess what? They were not reporting. Which is exactly the point.
    Similarly, minus all the independently verified Reports outstanding, I have minimal confidence in selective numbers provided. That the CBB and Minister in the MoF numbers match, is comfort for a fool, if not independently verified.
    And I know I am not alone. The spokesperson for Co-op Energy, was explaining to members, the delay in the transaction, because they had not been provided with the requisite information. Which were essentially independently verified numbers, to corroborate information exchanged when negotiating. There comes a point when #trustmuh is inadequate.
    Imagine, the NIS was purged into the NISSS, and the shareholders of the NIS, the people of Barbados, were never provided with as minimal information as what assets and liabilities were transferred. The patterns have a consistency?

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

I see the term is 5 years. It is indeed possible CS assumed the role mid term. The person reported to be in charge, is known to me in a roundabout way. I will ask.

9. @NO

You missed the memo. Several years ago when Sinckler had to defends the inability of the former NIS to lay up to date audited financials in parliament he stated he was not worried because management and government received good management reports.

10. @ David.

Management reports are used BETWEEN audited financials not in place of them. So lets say in the absence of an audit for 3 years, certain items like depreciation were not properly adjusted or provisions not made accurately for bad debts, then management reports will simply carry this error forward. It however does not surprise me sinkyuh would of made such a statement given his vast knowledge of financial management and procedures!

11. It however does not surprise me sinkyuh would of made such a statement given his vast knowledge of financial management and procedures!
    ~~~~~~~~~
    MURDUH!!!
    Yuh like yuh kicking dust today No….
    ROTFLBBAO
    wuhloss…

12. @ Bush Tea

You right to laugh. I taking a page out your book! LOL

13. @ Bush Tea

My disdain for sunkyuh comes due to the fact that in my view, he has done more damage to the Barbadian economy than any other single person since 1966 when we became independent.

He holds the dubious distinction of not only freezing wages for 10 years, wherein inflation gained roughly 30% on our dollar during the period, but also holds the record for single handedly crippling the NIS to the point of insolvency with his worthless paper. As a result Barbadians will never be able to earn enough to keep up with current inflation, while at the same time recover the 30 cents on the dollar lost in the 10 year wage freeze. As for the recovery of the NIS that suffered a further blow when this govermment wrote off $1 billion dollars of OUR money.

14. LOL @ John A
    Between Stinkliar, Froon and Dumbest Kellman, it appeared that Barbados was seeking to prove that there was some merit to incompetence.
    Shiite Boss, de man din’t sell electricity shares to Emera, and then use the money to pay off the Four Seasons lawyers…? wuh all like now we up shit street…

The bushman was wondering how long it would take the UN big-ups to recognize “his vast knowledge of financial management and procedures!” ha ha ha
    ..and Bushie hopes that you know that he can’t touch the Moontown boy – when it comes to talking shiite about the NIS funds… wuhloss..!! -although he gone quiet since the little Moon shop gone bankrupt…

Like sheep, Bajan BBs are willing to follow any JA who bleets loudly – even when that ‘bleet’ is really a fart…..
    steupsss…
    But then again – they did not put themselves there…

and in any case, we were just setting the tone for the USA BBs to follow us with Trump….TWICE !!
    LOL ha ha ha

Talk about BBs shooting themselves in their donkeys…
    Skippa – 2025 will be sweet like sugar….

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

I didn’t miss. Nor when asked about the issue of maturing bonds, his confidence all holders would “roll them over”.
    One other blogger, I haven’t seen in a while, also had great confidence in internal reporting. Was also one of the major objectors to the way the financial reorganization was handled.
    Don’t buy GoB Bonds. Be very careful with TBills. If, the GoB had to offer RoR commensurate with Risk, the rate would be 12% minimum. Esp since today’s maturity dates are beyond the election cycle.

16. Mid-term review of manifesto delivery

THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY (BLP) entered the 2022 General Election with a comprehensive manifesto, presenting a vision of economic revitalisation, social development, environmental sustainability, and constitutional reform. The government’s performance can be evaluated critically against these commitments, revealing both successes and areas where progress has been uneven or lacking.

One of the central promises in the 2022 manifesto was the strengthening of the Barbadian economy, particularly through fiscal prudence and debt management. The government’s achievements in this area have been notable. Barbados maintained a primary surplus of $481.4 million, equivalent to 3.7 per cent of GDP, reflecting disciplined fiscal management. However, while this achievement aligns with the manifesto’s emphasis on sound fiscal policy, the lived experiences of citizens reflect ongoing economic challenges, such as rising costs of living and stagnant wages. Government is still grappling with the structural inequalities that impact vulnerable populations, leaving some citizens feeling disconnected from the broader macroeconomic successes.

Social development was another key pillar of the BLP’s 2022 manifesto. The party pledged to improve access to housing, particularly for public sector workers and lowincome families, as part of its commitment to reducing inequality.

While initiatives to increase home-ownership have been introduced, data on their tangible impact remains limited. Anecdotal evidence suggests that housing projects have been slow to materialise at the scale promised, leaving many citizens struggling with housing affordability.

In education, the manifesto’s focus on improving infrastructure and expanding access to quality learning opportunities has seen mixed results. While investments in digital learning tools and school infrastructure have been announced, disparities in educational outcomes persist. Similarly, healthcare remains a challenge. The government’s efforts to modernise healthcare facilities and expand access to essential services have been hampered by resource constraints and staffing shortages, limiting the extent to which these initiatives have improved the overall quality of care.

Government’s environmental initiatives have been a standout area of progress, aligning closely with the manifesto’s commitments to sustainability and climate resilience.

The “debt-for-climate resilience” swap, which freed up approximately $250 million for critical infrastructure projects, such as sewage treatment upgrades and water supply enhancements, not only addressed fiscal pressures, but is a prime example of innovative governance that has garnered international acclaim.

Projects funded through this initiative have the potential to significantly enhance the island’s resilience to climate change. However, more can be done to involve local communities in these initiatives, ensuring that the benefits are equitably distributed and that citizens are actively consulted in shaping environmental policy.

Democratic governance

Constitutional reform was a major promise of the BLP’s 2022 manifesto, with the party committing to modernising governance structures and aligning them with contemporary societal values. The Constitutional Review Commission, established in 2022, submitted a report in 2024 proposing key reforms, including an expanded chapter on fundamental rights and freedoms and the creation of a Human Rights Commission.

Public consultation on the final report has revealed broad scepticism, with many citizens questioning whether the proposed reforms will translate into meaningful change. The government’s ability to deliver on constitutional reform will be a crucial test of its commitment to democratic governance and citizen engagement.

Public safety and organised crime remain significant challenges that were inadequately addressed in the 2022 manifesto. Rising crime rates have strained law enforcement and eroded public confidence in the government’s ability to ensure safety and security. Efforts to combat organised crime, including regional security alliances and enhanced cooperation with international partners, have yielded some results, but the impact on day-to-day safety for ordinary citizens has been limited.

Addressing the root causes of crime, such as unemployment and social inequality, will be essential for creating a safer and more cohesive society.

The high cost of living remains a pervasive issue that has not been effectively addressed. Government’s manifesto promised to tackle this challenge through targeted interventions, but many Barbadians continue to struggle with rising prices for basic goods and services.

The disparity between Government’s economic achievements and the everyday realities of citizens underscores the need for policies that prioritise inclusive growth and social equity. Without addressing these disparities, Government risks alienating significant segments of the population who feel left behind by the current development agenda.

Overall, the BLP government’s performance over the past three years reflects a blend of notable achievements and unmet expectations. The successful implementation of innovative financial mechanisms and progress on constitutional reform, even though halting, are commendable. However, challenges in housing, healthcare, public safety, and cost-of-living issues reveal gaps between the manifesto’s promises and the government’s delivery.

Professor Troy Lorde is an economist and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus. Email troy.lorde@cavehill.uwi.edu

17. This is for the prophets of doom.

2025 prospects looking bright

BARBADOS IS set for a thriving 2025, driven by growth in tourism, sustainable development, and a progressive business environment.

That is the view of chartered accountant and business adviser David Simpson.

Government reforms, climate resilience investments, and adaptability to global trends are attracting investors and laying the groundwork for lasting prosperity,” he said.

“As Barbados strengthens its competitive edge, it offers exciting opportunities for growth-focused businesses. As the country moves into 2025, the landscape for business is shining brighter, promising returns for those who align with the island’s evolving vision.”

Simpson’s opinion is that “as Barbados steps into 2025, the island’s economy is on a trajectory of exciting growth, shaped by strategic initiatives that promise to attract both investors and entrepreneurs”.

“Fuelled by an increasingly robust tourism sector, forward-thinking climate policies, and a businessfriendly environment, Barbados is positioning itself as a top destination for business in the Caribbean,” said the lead consultant at Prestige Accounting Inc.

He pointed to key areas of growth, including Government-led infrastructure developments, fiscal discipline, and foreign direct investment as central pillars to the island’s economic recovery and future prosperity.

“There is a genuine push for business expansion and a concerted effort to streamline processes, making it easier to operate and invest in Barbados,” Simpson noted.

On economic growth and investment, he pointed to the International Monetary Fund’s three per cent growth prediction for Barbados this year.

His view is that this outlook is “supported by a resurgence in the tourism industry, increased private sector investments, and a series of Government-led initiatives designed to cultivate a more business-friendly environment”.

“With economic stability and growth as a priority, Barbados offers an attractive landscape for investors seeking opportunities in the Caribbean,” he asserted.

Simpson also observed that “tourism remains the backbone of Barbados’ economy, with the southern coast, especially Worthing Beach, attracting a younger, more diverse demographic”.

He saw this “shift” as driving demand for new services and experiences tailored to this market.

“With increased airlift, innovative marketing, and a focus on sustainable tourism, businesses that meet these evolving demands are set for growth,” he added.

Simpson also said that Barbados “is positioning itself as a hub for green finance, with climaterelated projects attracting investors”, pointing to the recent debt-for-climate swap as an example of the possibilities.

Key to these efforts were ongoing business environment reforms.

“Government is actively working to streamline the regulatory and legislative landscape for businesses. These efforts are designed to simplify processes for both local and international companies,” he noted.

“By modernising government systems, the administration aims to reduce bureaucratic delays, lower operational costs, and create a more transparent business environment.”

Simpson added: “Recent reports, including the 2024 Investment Climate Statements from the United States Department of State highlight the ongoing improvements in the island’s regulatory framework, including faster company registration processes, enhanced tax compliance mechanisms, and more accessible dispute resolution avenues.

“The government’s commitment to making the business environment more efficient and predictable is expected to continue as a key driver of growth in the coming years.”

He also believes that Government is adopting a “future-proofing” approach to ensure the nation remains resilient in the face of economic and global shifts.

This included adapting to changes in the global economy, technological advancements, and climate change. (SC)

18. “This is for the prophets of doom.”
    ~~~~~~~
    …OR do you mean it is for the naive among us?

As chairman of Fund Access / Coordinator of the National Financial Literacy Program, Mr Simpson is no doubt completely free to provide objective and professional analyses of our current financial prospects – COMPLETELY FREE OF POLITICAL BIAS (and stay in these positions) …. is THAT it???!!

Steupsss..
    Bushie is as about as convinced as if the Central Bank Governor had said this….

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

Prof Lorde’s comments seem fair.
    I personally don’t measure against Manifestos, as I appreciate they are all inclusive election promises, intended to get elected vs governing. Which occurs in a constantly changing environment.
    The winds of change have been favourable recently. Solid tourism numbers throughout much of the region, declining international interest rates, and many of the supply chain glitches seem to be dissipating.
    There a few potential storms, ones which could affect our primary revenue sources. But that is always the case.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

I had 4 that got hit…AVGO(Broadcomm), BWX (reactors), Oracle and Cameco. I added to my position on all. We’ll see. Always a gamble.

21. @ David Interesting times ahead. My question to you is: Are our institutions and firms partnering with the Chinese enough in the area of technology? We already have broad cooperation with China on infrastructure ( The Scotland district roads and bridges and the National Stadium) and Agriculture. Chinese electric vehicles are becoming increasing popular in Barbados (Did you know that the MG electric SUVs commonly seen here are made in china?), Great Wall Motors has also entered the market and BYD is now here through a partnership with Automotive Arts. We also have Chinese electric buses with more expected in soon.

However, one area where we have not cooperated enough with china is in technology especially in knowledge transfer. The only effort so far in this regard is the BSc in Software Engineering offered at Cave hill where students spend the last year of the degree studying in Suzhou, China. More can be done at BCC, SJPI and even secondary Schools to use Chinese expertise in Science and Technology to train youth in Barbados who are interested. The Software Engineering degree at Cave Hill is good, but I’m not certain how many people it reaches.

22. @General

You are correct we have started to get bullish on Chinese made vehicles and there is cooperation on construction, technical and other related projects NOT technology.

Did a previous government accept laptops for use by MPs?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@General
    Elsewhere posted, but cannot recall thread, the MoE is getting an unspecified number of new modular schools, compliments of a Charity/ Trust operated by Steve Jobs widow, Laurene Powell. These are currently under construction in Spain.
    Since the news I found was via a town in Spain where the sections are being built, I’m unsure of the timing and location in Barbados.
    There is a massive amount of free money/funding available from similar sources. I think the first debt swap utilised one of these.
    Agriculture, food self sufficiency, is a hot button issue for several of these funds.

24. @NO That’s a part of the partnership announced about a year ago between the XQ institute and the Ministry of Education. Jobs is the co-founder of XQ. XQ is also supposed to be helping government set up two new Centers of excellence in Collymore Rock.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yes. Thank you.
    The gains in many of these philanthropic portfolios is staggering.
    Basic stocks…Wal-Mart. Last Feb a 3 for1 split, share price (memory) 176 to 59. Today it’s 92’ish. Mind boggling. Any of the larger holders, already valued in billions last Feb, saw gains of >50% in <1yr.
    Bezos ex, donates billions and still has a worth north of $30B.
    The same Jobs widow, assoc with Barbadian schools, is worth $15B.

26. @NO

Aren’t these philanthropic portfolios now good options for the rich and famous to benefit from tax exemptions while leveraging their vast knowledge of the various investment tools and strategies? These rich people will always be rich especially in a capitalist system.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Now you are getting technical. My guess is the structures will be elaborate, and have advisors who know most angles. Many are also large political donors. The buzz word is Philanthrocapitalism.
    @General
    If I read XQ, I wouldn’t know what it was. Now Emmerson Collective, the parent entity, I recognize. So I am confident you are correct, and that ‘news’ passed me by.

28. @David. We are now living in the strangest and most bizarre times. Elon musk is now effectively a U.S government official who has substantial business interests in China. Trump used to spew a lot of rhetoric about placing tariffs on Chinese goods, but he has now scaled that back and instead threatens tariffs against Canada and Mexico.
    This change is undoubtedly influenced by musk, since China is tesla’s number on market.
    China has many “trump cards” to play against western countries. Th UK’s Finance minister recently travelled to China to seek grater cooperation to boost their ailing post-Brexit economy.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cqx9jggw9ndo

29. @General

The purest of Capitalist systems at work. There was a time IPOs was the flavour of the times which gave the public an opportunity to invest to grow personal wealth. The new flavour is private venture capitalists where rich investors get the opportunity to benefit from investments first.

30. @John 2

Hope you are listening to Brasstacks and Lynette Holder expressing many of John’s concerns?

31. Hi John2, you there?