In recent years, Barbadians have had to face the challenge of a financial environment characterised by either very low or even negative returns on savings in financial institutions especially banks. This scenario one suspects must be negatively impacting consumer behaviour as well as creating a drag on Barbados’ economic performance. A couple recent news events triggered a few random thoughts in the mind of a curious blogmaster.

Governor of the Central Bank Kevin Greenidge raised the alarm recently that “over 28 per cent of defined benefit plans remain unfunded, with an average funding rate of 84.1 per cent. That must be addressed. Couple this with a declining birth rate, and the long-term sustainability challenges become clear.” What are the relevant state owned entities doing?

Governor of the Central Bank, Dr. Kevin Richards
Governor of the Central Bank, Dr. Kevin Greenidge

The other news that piqued the interest was the collapse of TKY pyramid scheme which reportedly resulted in many Barbadians losing thousands of dollars. The blogmaster is unsurprised those responsible will walk away all the way to the bank – see FTC Must Prosecute Kirk Brown

Why ‘intelligent’ Barbadians would give currency to the saying that a fool and his money are soon parted? We must ponder if there is a deeper reason many are willing to risk putting hard earned money into pyramid schemes like TKY. The blogmaster wonders if such behaviour can be traced to the downside associated with low and negative returns on savings and less risky investment opportunities in Barbados.

One of the impacts of low or negative returns is the bite into savings. When the interest earned on savings accounts barely keeps pace with inflation—or worse, when consumers incur charges that effectively result in negative returns—the purchasing power of those savings diminishes over time. For example, if a savings account in Barbados is less than 0.5% interest rate in an environment with about 4% inflation, the real return is effectively negative. The blogmaster suspects the hunt for greater returns on savings and good investments is part of the reason some are prepared to engaged in risky financial behaviour.

Barbadians who have historically relied on traditional banking products for savings maybe experiencing frustration at the minimal growth in returns on savings coupled with fees. This dissatisfaction could be leading to erratic and irational behaviour by some when making financial decisions.

Human behaviour is typically based on greed, some Barbadians therefore may abandon tried and trusted conservative saving strategies by turning to riskier investment options. In a country where too many Barbadians have been described as financially illiterate this shift in behaviour has severe consequences, especially for individuals at the lower end. As people chase higher yields on investments one can expect more TKY incidents.

A behaviour we must also monitor is financial decision making leading to relying on debt to fund living expenses. Haven’t we been seeing reliance on credit cards and personal loans with the rise of Courts Readycash, Get Cash and other get cash quick entities?

The blogmaster suspects the downside risks associated with consumers earning low or negative returns is not being seriously discussed in the country. In the same way we have become dependent on exports for our survival, we have also become dependent on talking heads to shape information fed to us. Why are we allocating a significant percentage of the national budget to education?

130 responses to “Are low interest rates forcing Barbadians to adopt TKY behaviour?”

1. More Land Tax needed!!!

2. Barbados for sale ….. going, going ….. gone

3. It is this very governor of the central bank who is “central” to the neoliberal international financialized ethos which has been, from its inception, aimed at hollowing out defined benefit pension frameworks everywhere.

Therefore for him to now so complain must mean he’s either a knave or a compliant asshole who only knows how to follow edits from Washington.

Were the now late resident actuary been amongst us he might have agreed.

On low interest rates and their connection to Ponzi schemes. Well, is this not to be expected given the commitment of this governor and the regime to their Western indoctrinations.

4. Doesn’t the Government rely on debt to fund living expenses? Monkey see, monkey do.
    The next thing the citizens need to learn is to talk shite (not a challenge) publicly, and demand more, just like the PM Mia does internationally.
    Explain how climate change is affecting them, and the additional living expenses incurred.

5. How is the TKY Ponzi scheme different from what happened with the PV investors?
    OH WAIT… the government was pushing the PV one…

So now consumers will be forced to pay billions in battery investment costs to save those PV Ponzi victims, ….while the TKY victims are demonized…

What a world!

6. @ David
    Bushie was hoping that you would use this article to explain IN ENGLISH, what Straughn and Mia was saying in Parliament about the $600 million LOAN – that was going to SAVE us $120M, …while not increasing the debt…
    …cause Bushie was LOST AS SHIITE!!!

Help we nuh…!!!

Cause last time Bushie heard such shiite talk was when Dompey was blogging on BU..

7. @Johnson

As intelligent sentients shouldn’t we hold ourselves accountable?

8. @Bush Tea

They technically correct that the debt swap does not increase the existing debt, it is a lazy way of generating disposable money to do other things. What it does is to increase the carry cost of government. It is one of those discussions that can deflect for what is the underlying issue, that Barbadians are uncomfortable with our debt burden. The sterile arguments coming from government (Mia/Ryan/Kevin) that because of some accepted ratio our current debt is ok to carry is not acceptable. It is not acceptable because our over dependence on a single sector is the underlying problem we still have to address.

9. Call for tax policy change in private pension plans

A LEADING ACTUARY is recommending some major policy changes so that more Barbadians can invest in private pensions and reduce their reliance on the National Insurance and Social Security Service.

Lisa Wade, principal, pension and benefits at Eckler’s Barbados office, suggested on Tuesday that the Occupational Pension Benefits Act

(OPBA) be changed so that employees are automatically employed into the employers’ pension plans.

She is again calling for the end of double taxation on pension plans. Wade was speaking at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre during Eckler’s annual Investment Policy Review for Pension Plans Conference.

She noted that in Barbados there are about 246 private pension plans, with about 27 000 participants. Based on the 2023 Financial Stability Report, the pensions sector has $2.8 billion in total assets. She said the industry continues to lobby for a change in tax policy related to private pensions.

“What I would say is that at the very least, there needs to be a change with respect to the treatment of voluntary contributions in the current tax regime,” she advised.

“Voluntary contributions going into a pension plan should not be to have a different tax policy than me putting my money in the credit union or in a mutual fund or in a bank, it should not be taxed . . . if it’s coming from post tax dollars, it is not fair.”

The actuary also called for the OPBA to be changed “whereby . . . when you hire somebody, joining the pension plan can be made a term and commission of service, and through that, what employers will then be able to do is auto enroll people”.

“We have to start to find some of these other means and mechanisms that get persons into pension plans, because by not being in the pension plan early, one, you are losing up on the investment returns on your money. But two, even more importantly, you are losing on the employer match.”

She explained: “The employer matches free money, and for many employees I say to them . . . . you have 100 per cent employer match with a [defined contribution] arrangement, and you’re leaving that on the table by not joining the pension plan as soon as possible.”

Wade said because it was currently not mandatory for employees to join their employers’ pension plans, “what we’re seeing is that in some cases employees are not opting to join, or they are joining at later ages”.

“And what this means is that there is a reduced level of saving by these employees, or in the case of defined benefit plan, because they’ve had reduced years of service within the plan, they will get a lower benefit eventually,” she said.

In remarks at the conference, Central Bank of Barbados Governor Dr Kevin Greenidge said the double taxation on pension plans he thinks was “something that perhaps [Government] can look at again”.

The Central Bank is responsible for monetary policy and the Ministry of Finance for fiscal policy, and Greenidge said that “as the economy grows and we want to provide more investment opportunities this is something we can relook, the incentives we had once in the past”.

“We have an economic forum, which is chaired by the Minister of Finance, including the Central Bank and all stakeholders, and I promise you I will raise it there,” he added.

(SC)

10. BL&P green light

Court clears company to introduce new evidence

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

BARBADOS LIGHT & POWER COMPANY (BL& P) now has permission to introduce some fresh evidence in court as it seeks to overturn the Fair Trading Commission’s (FTC) electricity rate decision.

With the appeal trial set to start on December 3, Justice Barry Carrington yesterday allowed BL& P’s application to enter documentary evidence related to a $19 million accumulated deferred income tax (ADIT) gain.

Before giving the green light, Carrington denied the Financial Services Commission’s (FSC) request to make amicus curiae (friend of the court) submissions in relation to BL& P’s self insurance fund (SIF).

While the FTC could not be reached for comment, BL& P’s lead counsel Ramon Alleyne, SC, of Clarke Gittens Farmer welcomed the court’s decision on the new evidence.

“I believe it is a solid ruling based on good legal authority, it expands on certain decisions which relate to fresh evidence. I think the decision reflects that the circumstances of this case meant that in the interest of justice the documentary evidence should be allowed such that there could be a fair and balanced decision at the end of the day,” he told the DAILY NATION.

Alleyne explained that the application and court decision “related to Light & Power wishing to put certain documentary evidence before the court that on the issue of the accumulated deferred income tax gain there had been a meeting between the Light & Power and FTC officers, which settled the manner in which it was to be treated, which was contrary to what the commission ruled in the decision that is now being appealed”.

“One of our arguments is that by the nature of their actions, it is inappropriate to come at this time and basically reverse decisions that would have been made to the detriment of the Barbados Light & Power, and one of those issues related to the accumulated deferred income tax,” he said.

“So the judge’s ruling today allowed certain correspondence to be put before the court in support of our contention this was a matter which was discussed and settled contrary to what they [the FTC] are now seeking to order.”

In its court submissions on the matter, the FTC argued that the additional evidence BL& P wanted to introduce “is not necessary to come to the right conclusion or arrive at the right result”.

Ricky Went is one of the intervenors who opposed the application to introduce fresh evidence.

Reacting to yesterday’s decision, he said: “Yes, the court has allowed fresh evidence, the court felt no one would be prejudiced. Our team is not unduly perturbed, our focus is on the trial which is set for December 3 and 4.”

Meanwhile, the FSC is to determine its next step following the court’s ruling on its request to make SIFrelated submissions.

“Having sought the direction of the court, the Commission is currently exploring its options with our external counsel,” the regulator said when contacted for a response.

In the letter dated September 24, 2024, FSC general counsel Sade Jemmott had written Justice Carrington to seek “the leave of the court to make amicus curiae submissions in the matter [and] the commission proposes to advance written submissions and, if required, make oral arguments to assist the court in determining certain questions of law”.

Jemmott said in the correspondence that the FSC’s interest in the BL& P appeal was “specific to its mandate to supervise and regulate the nonbank financial services sector, which includes self-insurance”.

Alleyne, who noted that the court ruled the FSC would need to make a formal application, as opposed to the procedure of writing directly to Justice Carrington, said: “We believe that their presence in the matter would be helpful”.

Went, however, noted that the FSC had several opportunities between BL& P’s electricity rate review application in 2021 and the motion to review application decision and order in November last year to participate.

“All were public hearings and the SIF received high public attention. Having objected against fresh evidence, it would have been difficult to support the FSC’s request and the FSC had a lot of time to get involve. It is unfortunate,” he said.

11. @Bush Tea “…when Dompey was blogging on BU…”

Wait! What has become of Dompey? I miss him, and Hal and GP.

12. @David “Are low interest rates forcing Barbadians to adopt TKY behaviour?”

No please David.

The TKY thingy was caused strictly by human greed and financial naivete.

When I was 19, [I am over 70 now] I was induced into a Ponzi scheme by a person I though of as a friend. It involved some nonsense of buying three, 3 pound sterling “coupons” then it was my turn to induce others into the scheme. I don’t have no lotta sweet talk so I was unable to induce others to participate, so I lost my 3 pounds sterling. Fortunately I was working for $220 dollars per month, living at home, and had no debts nor dependents, so the 3 pound sterling loss was not big deal, but I was very annoyed with the “friend”. It is perhaps significant, that the “friend” who has long since ceased to be a “friend”, was in fact NEVER a friend has since then been criminally charged multiple times with fraud.

So David it is greed and financial naivete. Plain and simple.

I learned my lessons about finance and friendship.

Never been burned since then.

13. “Ponzi: The Incredible True Story of the King of Financial Cons” by Donald Dunn

Just who was the man whose name has become synonymous with the classic “rob-Peter-to-pay-Paul” scam in which money from new investors is used to reward earlier ones? In December 1919, he was an unknown thirty-eight-year-old, self-educated Italian immigrant with a borrowed two-hundred dollars in his pocket. Six months later, he was Boston’s famed “wizard of finance,” lionized by the public and politicians alike. Based on exclusive interviews with people who knew Charles Ponzi, lent him their money, and exposed him, Donald Dunn’s Ponzi recreates both one of America’s most notorious and colorful financial con artists and the mad money-hungry era in which he thrived.

14. “They technically correct that the debt swap does not increase the existing debt, it is a lazy way of generating disposable money to do other things. “
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Thanks for that Boss…it helps…

So essentially, we have a huge loan from the bank which has us in a bind due to the high interest and service costs.
    We need $600 million more for another sewerage plant (never mind that we bought a new one just 15 years ago for about the same) so what we are doing is-
    1 – go to the local credit union for a $600M loan at a low interest rate.
    2 – this ‘saves’ us $120M by not getting the $600M from the crooked bank
    3 – it does not increase the debt (???? Help muh here!!! again …)
    4 – Sooo – why are we not borrowing another $2Billion at the lower interest rate to pay down the OTHER high interest loans?
    5 – AND … why do we need to BORROW $600M in the first place??? Is that not why we are charging Sewerage Tax on every water bill?
    6 – Where is THAT money being spent then…?

It sounds to Bushie like we have a black hole swollowing our taxes, ..and we are being fed a lotta mumbo jumbo in order to keep on feeding the monster…

Meanwhile we can get NO WORDS on EXPENDATURES and LOSSES like:
    -Four seasons and associated Clear Water scams
    -Steal Houses
    -Hope(less) housing losses
    -NIS Billion $$$ write-off
    etc etc

…and othrwise, …NOTHING WORKS…!!!
    Not the hospital, not Water, not transportation or roads, not Consumer prices, not energy… NOTHING!!!

wuh loss Boss!!
    That is a bit more than ‘lazy’….

What a place!!

15. Wait! What has become of Dompey?

@ Cuhdear
    If you know what is good for BU, you would let sleeping Dompeys lie….

16. Sounds like money laundering has been rampant for a looooooooong time.

17. @Bush Tea

The savings is the lower interest on the second loan.

18. What was the first loan for?

19. What was the money borrowed in the first loan used to do?

20. Trevor,

Are any of the lands involved in the takeover these?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/09/21/govt-moves-to-get-back-lands-used-as-collateral-to-settle-clico-claims/?fbclid=IwY2xjawGsXzlleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHXMc8TFijsYw_iE98pPGdpSII2bgSytBY2XsbTMc83_SQydUDel3fc-9Ng_aem_m2dGyXXiQuRPLqqM0On0Qg&sfnsn=mo

Todds Estates Limited was formed the same way Kingsland Estates Limited was formed but by solicitors at Carrington and Sealy.

At the time in 1943, Sir John Chandler was a sole proprietor and he conveyed the lands of Todds, Lemon Arbour (Harbour) and Cherry Grove to the company.

21. What Debt Crisis?
    Most Governments increase National Debt,
    but Barbados Debt seems to be flat lining.

I guess the best approach would be to invest in projects that made money.

22. Expert opinions.

23. “The savings is the lower interest on the second loan.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss
    Spit out the koolaid… DON’T swallow, please…

Since when is it a ‘saving’ to do something that is OBVIOUSY better than some otherwise inferior option?

If it is practical to now borrow $600M at 3% and locally, how can the fact that you do NOT foolishly borrow it at 6% externally be termed a ‘saving’?

We are simply borrowing yet ANOTHER $600M, on top of our already high and NON-PERFORMING capital liabilities.
    Worse, this particular loan is a DIRECT REPEAT of very similar wasteful government borrowings around twenty years ago to build the first plant.
    That plant SHOULD have had a life of about 50 years. Instead, it turnrd out to be an expensive and embarassing albatross….

Can you tell us what steps were taken to avoid a repeat of THAT idiocy…?
    Cheap money, unwisely spent, is just as bad as expensive loans that we cannot afford.

24. @Bush Tea

If the original loans were consolidated and repaid what is the point your are making?

Are you saying you prefer the government to continue repaying the original loans at high interest rates at not benefit from the savings to build the treatment plant and other barely needed equipment mentioned?

25. @ David
    The idea that an over 120% loan to GDP ratio is sustainable, in a world that is as unpredictable and as fickle as ours has been, is more than reckless.
    Indeed, anything over 40-50% of GDP is in fact undesirable, and actually reflects high levels of inefficiency in spending, significant fraud, or both (they are partners).

Our focus SHOULD be on the efficient and focused use of loan resources, RATHER than on on accessing these large loans to be dumped into our unregulated splurge pot.

It is like the water problem…
    We are having leakages approaching 60%, and our ‘solution’ is to increase supply, even resorting to expensive desalination…. RATHER than on FIRST reducing losses to industry standards or below.

The FACT that a sewerage plant was needed was accepted back before 2000, and acted upon at great expense and DISRUPTION…
    What does it tell you that we are now back to square one?

The problem is not about accessing loans, no matter how cheap, ..it is about management and accountability.
    Even if we got a grant, Bushie’s point remains…

The lotta shiite talk about ‘brilliant loan sourcing’ is wool being pulled over BB eyes…

26. Hants
    November 21, 2024 at 7:53 pm

Trump picks a blond.

So, who is going to replace Gaetz in the Senate?

Who will DeSantis choose short term?

Maybe another blonde who may be a prospective president in the future.

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/5-things-know-lara-trump-182833608.html

27. @Bush Tea

Have no issue with your last comment. The point made in the first comment to you is that the underlying issue of concern for many Barbadians is our debt burden as a country although it falls within some acceptable international debt ratio. The point – whether we agree with the debt swap or not is that there was no net new debt signed for.

28. David
    November 22, 2024 at 4:12 am

@Bush Tea

Have no issue with your last comment. The point made in the first comment to you is that the underlying issue of concern for many Barbadians is our debt burden as a country although it falls within some acceptable international debt ratio. The point – whether we agree with the debt swap or not is that there was no net new debt signed for

For most Bajans, particularly this one, the issue of whether the additional debt is a burden or not is irrelevant.

The only thing that concerns this Bajan is what was the last debt used for and how did it benefit Barbados.

29. NORMA JEANE MORTENSON was a bleached blonde who committed suicide after the “gentlemen” had turned her into their sick fantasy.

The type of “gentlemen” who prefer blondes are to be avoided like the plague.

Sick beasts!

30. One day hopefully John you will realize that competing perspectives can be offered in constructive discussion.

31. David
    November 22, 2024 at 6:26 am

One day hopefully John you will realize that competing perspectives can be offered in constructive discussion.

Which is what has happened here!!!

One view lauds a reduction in interest rates and payments, the other questions for what reason(s) exist for the payments.

Both are valid.

32. The commonality is “there is a debt” …. well at least 3 or more.

33. Look wunna complicating a simple thing as a people. So here is a bajan summary.

Wunna got billions on the bank in ” savings” earning nothing. Take up the money and pay off ALL wunna debt starting with credit cards loans etc. You getting poorer daily with the money on the bank with interest rates at nothing and inflation at 4%! Stop buying every blast wunna see and dont need.

As for pyramid schemes and other get rich fast plans remember high returns= high risk.

The NIS wunna better dont bank on neither cause with the crap investments them make in things like the grotto and government paper, them probably insolvent in real terms. So wunna young people bank on working to 70 and needing 1200 installments to qualify.

Now we goodly leaders dont think i forget wunna, as all you doing real foolishnesss with we money. Wunna spending way more than we earning and running large deficits because neither B or D want to address the real issues of spending. Plus as Trump got Elon now looking to slash state spending we cant borrow him to do the same here. Then when wunna run up the dam debt, the next thing is to try and refinance it at lower rates so wunna could free up the loan money to borrow MORE money with the free up cash flow from the original loan payment wunna just wrigle out of.

Right that is we situation in shop keeper terms in Bajan parlance.

34. Here is an analogy of a bajan summary.

Bajans are like a wife who will always nag and moan for hours all day and night long for no reason at all and will never shut up.

35. Oh and one other thing. WHEN NOT IF we get a little ease in the debt payment look for them to use the little gain in breathing room to borrow more money. So what will happen is the debt payment will not go up so dem will brag bout dat, but guess what the TOTAL debt will still increse which we will all owe.

You see we got a basic problem as a country that nobody wants to address either at an individual level or a state level. We ALL like to spend more that we earn then we turn to credit cards as individuals, or state loans as a government to address the shortfalls. Now we borrowing from Tom to pay Paul because Tom give us a better loan. But god blyma instead of holding the little free money we get from Tom, we take that now and gone and trust a 70 inch Tv at Courts!

36. 555dubstreet
    November 22, 2024 at 7:57 am

Here is an analogy of a bajan summary.

Bajans are like a wife who will always nag and moan for hours all day and night long for no reason at all and will never shut up.

++++++++++++++++++++++
    You are saying that you consider all Bajans to be women!!

You are also saying that all women nag and never shut up.

This is a brave position to take especially since the head of the household, Ms. Mockley, we are led to believe, is a woman!!!

…. ok, so she never shuts up and she always wants our money.

37. Knowing what the old loans were used for is an academic interest for you, the pragmatic among us want to know how we plan to navigate from the debt hole we find ourselves.

38. @John A

We have to assess based on the debt hole we find ourselves. The hospital, transportation, roads, sewage etc have to be addressed. As you know capital works in a country is important for greasing the wheels of the domestic economy. Our big problem is that we have to prioritize what we need to keep our infrastructure afloat and at the same time become more efficient spending public money. Consumers have to do the same.

39. “the pragmatic among us want to know how we plan to navigate for the debt hole we find ourselves.”

The plan is to be like a typical American
    maximise credit to the level that your income can service the debt
    and build up your credit rating to get an American Express® Platinum card
    what can possibly go wrong with a spendthrift mindset that boosts the economy

40. @John A

Also you are reminded the country invested grade was promoted to B recently which in reality is still ‘junk’.

41. @ David

Our problem is we dump all money in the consolidated fund where it is spent foolishly and then we borrow to make up what we did. Let me give you one example.

The fuel tax generates millions for the state why is that money not credited to the MTW account and not the consolidated fund? Why 6 years later i am still driving on cartroads when by now this island could have grade A roads island wide? The reason is simply that only a small percentage of the funds collected by the fuel tax made its way to MTW. BUT IN THE MEANTIME WE GOT SOME OF THE MOST EXPENSIVE GAS GLOBALLY!

42. Straugn on the radio now to discuss the debt swap.

43. bullspit baffles brains. lotta long talk discombobulates.

44. 1 2 3 4 5 6 people died from tainted free shots that caused methanol poisoning

I’m sure there is a moral in there somewhere.. like beware when drinking

45. Straughn should stick to talking shiite in Parliament where his only challengers are just as clueless as he is…

Thanks John A, for making the folly of this situation so clear – via …
    “But god blyma instead of holding the little free money we get from Tom, we take that now and gone and trust a 70 inch Tv at Courts!”
    ~~~~~~
    You should add that we had brought a similar 50 inch model just a few years ago, and that whole experience turned into an expensive south coast mess… due to POOR decision making with THAT plant.
    Are we going to buy a new TV, with borrowed funds, every few years..?

Do Bajans know that the STRINGS attached to this ‘easy loan’ and ‘free grant’ include our HAVING to purchase the SPECIFIC shiite plant that our ‘benefactors’ want to offload on us, …..using THEIR OUN advisors, …and likely ending up with the SAME type of lemon as we did with Plant 1.

This should be no surprise however…
    When David Ellis asked Straughn about EXPATS using local foreign exchange to purchase goods for their OWN home countries, he sees no problem at all…

So the Brassbados Government goes out of their way to invite FOREIGN investors to set up in Brassbados, GIVE them ridiculous tax and other incentives (such that locals CANNOT compete)…
    ..and then allows them to use the FOREX earnings generated to support ANOTHER country’s development…???

NO WONDER WE HAVE TO BORROW….

With ‘leaders’ like these, we DO NOT need enemies… our asses are grass..!