There is absolutely no doubt the issue of discoloured water flowing from the pipes of residents in St. Lucy is being politicised. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has seized on an issue that continues to create emotional distress among Barbadians. To state the obvious, mere mortals cannot exist without water. The political analysts will agree the DLP is delivering on its mandate.

Political commentators from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and DLP (if in government) are quick to point out water is flowing through 100 year old mains. Isn’t it ironic that BOTH the DLP and BLP have formed the government in the 100 year period our water mains system has been allowed to decay?

One must be sympathetic of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA), an agency like many compromised by political interference through the years. Of interest is that the former CEO Keithroy Halliday (ag) recently resigned from the BWA to take up a similar position at the problem plagued Water and Sewage Authority (WASA) in Trinidad and Tobago. The move by Halliday should is instructive despite his assurance to BWA staff the agency is on “the cusp of a welcomed transformation phase”.

When talk about water and transformation surfaces in Barbados the blogmaster is reminded of the speech delivered by the late Prime Minister David Thompson to BWA staff in 2009. In the context of what is unfolding today, it represents a ‘good’ reference document to support the view that successive governments struggle to execute plans in the interest of the people.

The BWA has apprised the public it will take 3 to 4 years to replace several miles of 100 year old rusty mains to correct the brown water problem. The immediate action plan must be what support affected residents in the St. Lucy can expect from government given the importance of water to the life of a human being. A rebate in water bill is one thing but combatting the brown water problem is the bigger issue. As usual while citizens suffer because of inept politicians, said politicians are happy the issues created by them provide grist for the political mill to further the cause.

In a related matter, notice has been served that prime agricultural lands in the breadbasket of the country, St. George has been approved for housing. Apparently Constant Plantation in St George, has indicated 16.91 acres of land are for sale, having been approved for residential and commercial development. It should not go unnoticed these lands are located in Minister Dwight Sutherland’s constituency. It also should not go unnoticed that under the former DLP administration prime agriculture land a stones throw away at Lower Greys was lost to housing.

Everything that use to describe the beauty of a Barbados is being lost as a result of a rash of uneducated and unimaginative decisions. A once pristine landscape is now dotted with concrete. A one minute shower is caused for the Barbados Meteorological Service to issue flood watches and warnings. What the hell are we doing!

Of late the blogmaster has been quietly observing the Barbados space with sadness, although still the proverbial optimists, one cannot help but to be sad.

90 responses to “Don’t cry for me Barbados”

1. Here is another bold assertion: the threat calls to some of the nation’s schools are politically motivated.

2. Incompetence from top to bottom.

But a lotta sweet talk and promises goes a LONG way with brass….
    A promise is TRULY a comfort to some.

3. This has been going on since I lived in that parish in 2015. It got so bad there was no water service at all. This is almost 10 years.

When are Barbadians going to wake up?

The Mighty Gabby was surely a Prophet way back in 2012.

https://youtu.be/Kl6egVTVZUU?si=LbOg7tWEAcRFItb4

4. We gotta walk and chew gum.
    Replace the mains AND install tempoary water tanks AND have water trucked to homes, especially to the homes of the elderly, the sick, pregnant women, and homes with babies and small children.

And the DLP could really shut up. Both the DLP and the BLP have been voted into office in the past 100 years. Both parties have acted as though the rusty pipes will go away if they pretend that the old rusty pipes are not there.

And we Bajans have to be a lot better in paying our water bills. It is shocking but not surprising that some Bajan households with multiple working adults, some in good-good government jobs, still refuse to pay their water bills. The water bill for the average 2 to 5 person household is about $100 to $200 monthly, yet households with incomes above $5,000 per month, even above $10,00 per month are in serious arrears, some owing significantly more than $1,000.
    I recall that during the worse of the pandemic when people were de’ding every day [including my next door neighbour] the PM asked that water not be cut off, because cuddear everybody needed to be able to wash their hands. Pandemic dun and wufless Bajans still won’t pay the BWA, and foolish DLPites politicizing the problem.

The PM has a big voice. She needs to open her mouth and say to US ALL “if you won’t pay your water bills the BWA WILL cut you off.

Maybe when we get home from work and there is no water we will get the message.

5. @David October 12, 2024 at 7:38 am “Here is another bold assertion: the threat calls to some of the nation’s schools are politically motivated.”

Who the hell threatens a bunch of l’il children, some of whom are only 3 years old? And who I know for sure has never ever wronged anybody.

I am still trying to figure of some of us are mad or bad or both.

6. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

A CORRODED INFRASTRUCTURE SQUEAKING UNDER THE WEIGHT OF NEGLECT & THE STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY OF A NATION’S MORALITY PUT UNDER PSI PRESSURES FROM ABOVE & BELOW MAKES FOR A LETHAL COCKTAIL OF UNDRINKABLE SEWAGE!!! EITHER THE PEOPLE ARISE & OVERTHROW THEIR GOVs OR THEY ALLOW THE WRATH OF GOD TO BE METED OUT UPON TYRANTS WHO PEDDLE IN NEGLECT, MAYHEM & DEATH

@David – #TheBlogmaster

I know how you feel—# BRUH*, but take heart – sometimes things have to get so bad that they seem irreversible before they can be turned around!!!

In Britain, the “5TH RICHEST COUNTRY ON EARTH” has the same problem (except for “CHOCOLATE WATER”) coming through the tap, but our infrastructure is “VICTORIAN” – yet the “WATER HOGS” & SHAREHOLDERS” laugh all the way to the bank with their dividend payouts, while the consumer gets increasingly “SHAFTED” with spiralling bills for a “PRECIOUS RESOURCE THAT OUGHT TO BE FREE” at the point of use!!!

YOU WOULD THINK THAT INVESTMENT IN INFRASTRUCTURE WOULD BE A PRIORITY GIVEN THAT WHEN THE SUN IS SHINING YOU FIX THE DAMN ROOF

But oh no, we have been splattered with “SEWAGE IN WATER-WAYS” from the discharge of untreated or partially treated wastewater, pumped into our rivers, seas, & other bodies of water – a phenomenon that is a widespread issue across the UK, with water companies “SPINNING YARN” about storm drains, farm runoffs & a chocolate factory of raw sewage running into waterways on a regular basis – winter, spring, summer & fall!!!

The consequences are dire – for it is more than just “WATER POLLUTION” containing harmful bacteria, viruses, & pharmaceutical chemicals, which harm & endanger not only humans but also aquatic life. Then there’s the “PUBLIC HEALTH RISK” of contaminated water leading to gastrointestinal illnesses, skin infections, & a host of other health problems. Sadly, few are paying attention to the cost of the “ENVIRONMENTAL DAMAGE” & how it alters natural ecosystems, reduces biodiversity, & messes with the ocean’s ability to store carbon!!!

I don’t have the “STATS” for “BIM” but in the UK, according to the Environment Agency, water companies in England dumped “RAW SEWAGE” (POOP, CRAP, FAECES, HUMAN MANURE) into rivers over 400,000 times in 2020, during the “#PLANDEMIC” – (so while the “POPULACE” were in a state of “MORBID FEAR” over a “BLACK DEATH” type scenario) “THOSE DIRTY, STINKING, WUFFLESS BASTERDS” were “DUMPING SHYTE” in our waters thinking we wouldn’t care, as we were distracted with “LIFE & DEATH” issues!!!

A BBC investigation found 6,000 potential “DRY SPILLS” by England’s water companies in 2022, including during the record summer heatwave where we hit 30+ temps. for more than a month (with houses set on fire & the countryside ablaze) – no wonder the “ECOLOGY” rebelled!!!

Only 14% of the UK’s rivers meet good ecological status, & none of ’em reached a “GOOD” chemical status due to sewage & agricultural pollution!!!

WHAT A CUNTRY!!!

AFTER THE FILTHY BASTERDS WERE OUTED – they have agreed to reduce overflows to an average of no more than “20 DISCHARGES” BY “NEXT YEAR [2025] as “OFWAT & THE ENVIRONMENT AGENCY” will hold companies accountable for delivering this reduction – insisting that “INNOVATIVE SOLUTIONS”, such as better “OPERATIONAL MANAGEMENT” & most importantly, “INVESTMENT IN INFRASTRUCTURE”, are explored to mitigate the problems!!!

THE [4] POINT PLAN WHICH I PRAY WILL BE ADOPTED FAST INCLUDE:

(1) Improve infrastructure & maintenance to prevent overflows & ensure proper treatment of wastewater
    (2) Increase transparency & accountability among water companies & regulators
    (3) Implement stricter regulations & enforcement to prevent sewage pollution
    (4) Encourage public awareness & education about the risks & consequences of sewage in water

By addressing these issues, public health mitigation, preservation of the environment, & the integrity of “WATER” as a “PRECIOUS RESOURCE” will take on new dimensions – allowing for a better quality of life for citizens…

YOU FOLKS NEED AN INSPIRED LEADER TO COME RUN THAT DAMN CUNTRY – SADLY, HUMANS CAN’T BE IN 2 PLACES AT THE SAME TIME & THE LEVEL OF APATHY OUT HERE KNOWS NO BOUNDS; SO WE’LL HAVE TO LET THE #BUSHMAN CONTINUE TO WEILD HIS CHAINSAW!!!

#IDun

7. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHERE THERE’S THE WILL – WE FIND A WAY TO MITIGATE PROBLEMS, ISSUES & CHALLENGES!!! THAT HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE BAJAN WAY – WHAT HAPPENED FOLKS???

Our great forefathers took a “TON” of “SHYTE” having been forced to “PADDLE” down a “CREEK” called the “TRANSATLANTIC SLAVE ROUTE” without a mast or compass, not knowing where they were going & “SURVIVED” (THOUGH TOO MANY DIED)!!!

Here we are today [400] years on, with basic day-2-day issues that seem almost insurmountable!!!

WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING ON???

Barbados has always had the “BEST DRINKING WATER IN THE WORLD” – #WhatHappened???

IS ANYONE AWAKE ON THAT DAMN ISLAND???

What in the world is going on with the “SUPPOSED LEADERSHIP” in that “CUNTRY”???

If you cannot “MANAGE” 166 square miles of coral limestone – what makes anyone think that they will be able to “HANDLE” #InternationalAffairs with any “MODICUM” of prowess???

IT’S A DELUSION OF #PLANDEMIC PROPORTIONS!!!

#FixTheDamnRoof – a “HURRICANE” is coming!!!

#SMDHID

8. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

HERE’S A 1 MIN 38 SEC VT ON HOW SOUTH AFRICA MAINTAINS ITS WATER INFRASTRUCTURE

Again, where there’s the will, we find a way!!!

9. @TB

A few years ago when Detroit in the USA was the laughing stock of the world after lead was detected in the water, Barbadians in their wildest dreams thought a similar situation would occur here. Maintenance is not our strong suit which points to an indiscipline mind.

10. @TB

Our issue here is a rusty network of mains. The result of successive incompetent governments and the blogmaster will throw in the trade union.

11. @Simple Simon

We do not live in a perfect world.

12. Demand for true national reform

This article was written and submitted by Dr Cynthia D. Wiggins, principal business consultant at Alonrad LLC Consulting. She holds a Doctor of Business Administration and is a published author.

As Barbados approaches its 58th year of Independence, we must all ask ourselves, “What future are we creating?” It’s true that, in some ways, the nation has progressed, but we are still grappling with persistent burdens that, if left unresolved, may ultimately classify our country as underdeveloped.

Elusive water supply, precarious healthcare, unreliable public transport, and an outdated education system are all issues that have persisted across successive administrations. At their core, these are basic challenges. Our oldest wounds, left to fester for decades due to a lack of vision and scope, are now bleeding into the open.

How can we continue to tolerate such dysfunction? Promises are made during every election cycle, but what we end up with are quick-fix solutions to longstanding problems. Water trucks are sent to fill gaps in our potable water distribution, but the root issues remain largely unaddressed.

Our main hospital, though still functioning, operates at a scale suited to a bygone era, buckling under the pressure of modern demands, with only cosmetic changes made.

Public transportation, on the other hand, only garners attention when an incident is shared on social media, limping from one crisis to another without any tangible plan to provide everyday Barbadians with reliable and safe service.

‘Whack-a-mole’ governance The fact is that our current Government – like the ones before it – has become adept at treating symptoms rather than preventing the disease. We are a nation that has mastered the art of “whack-a-mole” governance, where serious issues are addressed just enough to prevent a crisis but never with a genuine attempt at a remedy.

Take education, for instance: the Government focuses on removing the Barbados Secondary School Entrance Examination (the 11-Plus) and rebranding schools as “Colleges of Excellence” instead of ensuring required maintenance is completed before the school term begins, keeping children engaged and safe without treating them like criminals, and systematically overhauling a system that is failing to educate our children for the future in a way that ensures no child is left behind. Why?

Crime is spiralling out of control, yet, instead of investing in long-term solutions based on rootcause analysis, the Government introduces window-tinting laws and “keep the youth off the street” programmes, such as “Prime Minister” branded football events. Do we respect our youth so little that sporting events are all we think they desire or are capable of? Where are the robotics and science tournaments, or music programmes for the children of Silver Hill, The Pine, or Bush Hall?

Long-term solutions Moreover, when it comes to issues like sanitation and water supply, instead of implementing longterm solutions, the focus remains on purchasing more trucks and repeatedly repairing burst mains in the same areas as stopgap measures, akin to treating lung cancer with paracetamol. This cycle has been perpetuated by both past and current Barbadian administrations, and yet, as taxpayers, we do not demand more from our leaders and representatives. We often settle for surface-level, incremental changes instead of the foundational shifts this country truly needs. This is not the way forward.

A nation that fails to look beyond its immediate needs is a nation doomed to repeat its mistakes and be left behind, while others with less potential surpass us.

What’s ironic is that this administration, despite its potential and now in its second term – with a strong likelihood of winning a third or fourth – seems to lack the vision or courage to deliver real progressive change. What we are witnessing is inertia, with this Government adopting the very habits of its predecessors – whom they once criticised. The question is, why do we let them?

Barbadians must stop waiting until election day to demand change. Instead, we need to push for transparency, accountability, and action while an administration is still in office. If taxpayers’ money is being spent on consultants and committee members, the results should be measurable and transparent.

When roads are beautified for visitors and special events, yet our children attend school in dilapidated buildings with outdated curricula and limited resources, we must ask: who is this country being built for?

Celebrating our Independence is more than paying tribute to history; it is a call to shape our future. As Barbadians, we must realise that the time for excuses has passed. Now is the time to demand true national reform from our Government.

If we continue to ignore these deeper issues, we will only leave our children and grandchildren with the same unfulfilled promises. We can and must demand better, and as Barbadians, we must recognise that only when we demand better will we receive better.

If we continue to ignore these deeper issues, we will only leave our children and grandchildren with the same unfulfilled promises.‘

13. Above: An excellent article.
    By now you are fully aware that I have difficulty with the blogmaster’s selection of reading material. But every now and then he finds an articles that excites and refreshes The OG. I will not ask about a link 🙂 Great job Sir David.

Blogmaster👍🏿
    👍🏿Dr Cynthia D Wiggins.👍🏿

14. ” the operation was significantly hampered by challenges with water supply, highlighting ongoing concerns about fire hydrant availability in critical areas.”

” contacted the Barbados Water Authority for assistance. “We have reached out … and they are going to supply some water tankers, ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/10/12/fire-destroys-old-branckers-design-centre-in-fontabelle/

15. @Hants,
    We have seen many different versions of this story. But even with the slight twists here and there, it remains the same story.

To add a comment will only bring out the defenders, apologists and ‘yes men’. It would be good if we admit that we have issues and attempt to fix them. Let’s cut out the old talk and rearranging the deck chairs and start fixing ship.

16. @ The OG,

agreed. adding a comment will only invite nonsensical ” excuses ” from some.

17. Bushie is not particularly impressed by Dr Wiggins’s article.

Everything it says is true, …but it is no different from the typical speech by the PM at any of the Parish charades.
    “We should do this … and we SHOULD do that…”

“Barbadians must stop waiting until election day to demand change….”

“Celebrating our Independence is more than paying tribute to history; it is a call to shape our future…”
    etc etc.

All true!!!
    ..and the remainder of the article (the woes) could be reporduced by anyone who reads BU.

What we SHOULD be hearing from the doc. is HOW, WHEN and BY WHOM these various ‘should be’ items CAN and WILL be accomplished.

The absolutely MOST amazing aspect of our present dilemma is the clear absence of the voice of any persons who CAN PROVIDE SOLUTIONS, ….and who have demonstrated by past history, their ability and competence to do so…

Without such persons to execute SOLUTIONS, we could all talk and write as pretty as the Empress does…. our donkeys are headed for grass…

18. Has little to do with the mains and all to do with geology.

Ultimately, we will learn to adapt and become like Bermuda.

19. This is how you know it is all to do with geology.

BWA is putting in filters.

20. … understand they were clogged within 2 weeks.

21. So, what caused the change with the underground water flow to Alleynedale?

Something must have changed well out of sight.

22. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

I completely agree with your position… Let us hope that Barbados is not heading towards an “AUSTRALIAN-STYLE” scenario where the only option left to Barbados will be “DESALINATION PLANTS” top & tail of the country!!!

The Barbados water table is facing challenges due to a combination of factors. Here are the key reasons:

The country is now facing “WATER SCARCITY” where BIM is now classified as a “WATER SCARCE” country by the “UN COMMISSION ON WATER”, with limited availability per capita!!!

This vulnerability makes it susceptible to the effects of cyclic droughts, such as the one in 1994-95 just before I went back to Britain!!!

There is also the issue of declining rainfall or in some cases – sporadic & erratic bouts of down-pours (THEN BRUISHING HEAT)!!!

The 1990s saw a decline in rainfall, exacerbating water scarcity issues – for it was also during this time that the “JET FUEL LEAK INTO THE WATER TABLE” caused all kinds of chaos. Add 2 that – “INCREASED CONSUMPTION” & the growing demand for more & more water to offset population growth given every “BAJAN”, “TOURIST” & “OTHER” flushing their toilets at 7 AM in a desperate scramble to get out of the house on time (for whatever the reasons)!!!

Then you have “AGRICULTURE” which accounted for 23.5% of total consumption in 1996), but with increased consumption in 2024 as more & more people are farming this places even more pressure on the water supply – not failing to mention, “HEAVY INDUSTRIES” et al!!!

The soar thumb up the backside has been “AGING INFRASTRUCTURE” which the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) has been working to reduce water losses due to leaks in the distribution system, (A THANKLESS ONGOING TASK) which continues to deteriorate over time!!!

THEN THE MOTHER-LOAD: #SoCalledManMadeClimateChange!!!

The Caribbean region is experiencing more frequent & severe droughts due to climate change, as seen in the 2015 shift in focus from storms & floods to droughts. Barbados is now one of the top 10 water-stressed countries in the region & all these factors collectively contribute to the challenges faced by the residents of Barbados!!!

WHAT ARE THE ANSWERS???

Your GOV* ought to spell out in clear terms what the ACTION PLAN” & the “IMPLEMENTATION TIME-FRAME” will be – taking the people along through meaningful interaction, but most importantly, “PUTTING MONEY & MAN-POWER” INTO MAKING IT HAPPEN”, so you good folks don’t have to import “WATER” or end up boiling seawater!!!

#My5CentsWorth

23. @Bush Tea

Be careful, you will get Williams’s dander, asking for people to engage more by exercising their civic rights.

24. @ David, you blocked my post from yesterday. Perhaps you thought it was the 000 man. Here’s a new post.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-13953739/MAIL-SUNDAY-COMMENT-soft-touch-demands-money-never-stop.html

25. One question to the BWA maguffies. How many gallons a year are we short by currently?

Second question how many gallons a year finds its way to the ocean as a result of no rentention plan with dams etc?

Third question what percentage of water pumped, leaks back into the soil due to poorly maintained infrastructure?

Our problem is that with EVERTHING we do we refuse to change from methods used since the 1960’s. Pick anything from the legal system to public transport and its all the same. From alternative energy to agriculture same story.

Wunna expect a different outcome from the one we got based on the above?

26. St. Lukes primary school closed today because of an “environmental” problem.

27. Relocating Holetown Police complex to higher ground is a good idea.

28. @ Hants

Who dem got earmark for the beachfront sale? Lol

29. Just an idea.

30. “The Barbados Postal Service is advising the public that the St. Lucy post office is closed until further notice, due to unforeseen circumstances.(GIS)”

They cannot even speak truth. Whether unforeseen (some may question this) or not, WHY the RH is the P.O. closed?

31. @Hants October 14, 2024 at 12:51 pm “Relocating Holetown Police complex to higher ground is a good idea.”

I agree.
    And the library
    And the magistrates courts
    And the Licensing Authority
    And the Revenue Authority

My old man, may he rest in peace, used to say “leave the beach to the rich people, because when water trouble comes they got the money to handle it”

And we the Barbados taxpayers aren’t rich people.

Maybe we should move all expensive permanent structures from the beach, and leave the sea and the beaches strictly for relaxing, swimming, walking etc.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

“And we the Barbados taxpayers aren’t rich people”

Yuh cudda fooled me. Bajans rich as rambam, or they wouldn’t allow the teefing of public funds like they do. Even when they kill the NIS, a few comments about hope, someday the GoB will repay all the bonds they wrote off.
    A fraction of the money from Clearwater could replace the whole of St.Lucy water supply in a year. Causin’ you done know they out and about shopping loans and grants for the $$ to fix the problem. And a $60M fix will be budgeted at $180M, and by the time it’s finished the cost will be $3O0M. In between they’ll privatize the BWA and murdah, de teefing will be rampant.
    I wonder if that new dental school campus has its own water supply?

33. Holetown is my favourite place in Barbados. Paynes Bay is a close second.

34. @ NorthernObserver
    (October 14, 2024 at 8:19 pm)
    Bushie continuesto be AMAZED at the extent to which you understand brassbowlery.

What an observer!!

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    Did your old man (may he Rest In Peace) tell you that a little learning is a dangerous thing…?
    …and that therefore complex matters are best left to those with some wisdom?

Using your logic, every shiite would be on top Hillaby….

What a simple Simon….!
    LOL ha ha

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

“GEORGETOWN, Guyana, CMC – The Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCCI) Friday said it is collaborating with the Jamaica Stock Exchange (JSE) regarding the development of a Junior Stock Exchange in Guyana.”

Why not Barbados? MAM in 2019

She said: “The truth is that the junior market has never taken root in this country largely because the rules in the junior market of the Barbados Stock Exchange have been overly restrictive, we need to revisit them.”

Maybe Barbados could get involved too?

But then there is always the comforting (according to Bushie) conclusion, again from 2019….

During the Budget speech, Mottley had announced that a unit trust corporation would be established along the lines of a similar entity in Trinidad and Tobago.

“Unless we create these opportunities with the capital here and the projects here we will continue to become victims in our own country and tenants in our own country instead of owners of all that we oversee,” She declared.

Bottom line….no tangible changes in Barbados.

36. problems problems problems!!!

“Teachers stayed away from Gordon Greenidge Primary School because of a security incident last week.

At Parkinson Memorial Secondary School, some teachers are said to be outside, also because of environmental issues, including the reported discovery of bed bugs on the compound at The Pine, St Michael.

Meanwhile, a Nation team is also on site at Eden Lodge Primary, where both teachers and students are on the outside.

37. New Ministry of Eddykation slogan…bringing those outside, inside.
    I feel they need a new Advisory Committee to make this happen.
    Members should be new JPs, and given a sitting fee of $100 per event, since the they are not to charge for services they render.
    The Republic’s President will donate part of her healthy emoluments, towards the Committee expenses.

38. A big problem we have is that our political DNA is now defined by leadership of the duopoly and not high standards and expectations of Barbadians like it should be. A case of the tail wagging the dog.

39. David Thompson’s speech: ….the most challenging period of this decade with rising external interest rates, elevated commodity prices and shipping and supply chain challenges.,should be placed in its context in light of this contribution from the Blogmaster. His speech was delivered at the time spoken of by this .

40. @Alvin Cummins

The context of David Thompson’s speech was about transformation.

41. variety is the….

42. We have reached a point where to construct anything on Paradise lands is better than the eyesore that has been there for over a decade. The fact it is a tourism product is par for the course.

Four Seasons deal struck

By Maria Bradshaw mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

The failed Four Seasons Hotel and villa project at Paradise, St Michael, which has been a concrete eyesore on Barbados’ famed coastline for 15 years, is in the process of being sold.

Senior Minister Dr William Duguid, who is responsible for Planning and Development, confirmed that Government had struck a deal with the same developers who were in the process of constructing the Pendry Hotel in St Peter.

Pendry Hotels & Resort is a chain of luxury boutique hotels owned by United Statesbased company Montage International. That company has apparently entered an arrangement to purchase the 32acre site and work has already started on the site as the land is cleared to make way for the development of a new multi-million dollar tourism project. When contacted by this newspaper, Duguid said: “The Four Seasons property is being cleared by an entity who is going ahead to purchase the property and they will be doing a new development there. They will have to demolish all of the existing structures and then look to redevelop it with residences and a hotel.”

Earlier this week, a Nation team spotted heavy-duty equipment from C.O. Williams Co. on the site clearing the vast area of land which overlooks Paradise Beach. Reports indicate that the burnt-out concrete structures will soon be demolished.

Duguid explained that the developers would not have to go through the entire planning process and only submit a revision in order to get the project back on stream.

“They are the same people who are doing the Pendry,” he said. “They are purchasing the land from Government over a deposit and payment terms and while they go through that process, they are going to redevelop the land,” he further revealed.

While Duguid reserved the details surrounding the purchasing agreement for the Prime Minister to speak on, he stressed that the project would be good for the economy.

“We are definitely welcoming this because there will be a significant number of jobs during construction and, of course, with residences, a hotel and villas, there will be lots of jobs available after construction.

“It will also take away from the environmental health risks and problems with all of that area – totally overgrown – so a tremendous benefit to an area that had not been in production for a long time, adding to the number of rooms and our tourism product” he added.

The controversial US$160 million Four Seasons project got underway in 2008 by British developers Robin Paterson and Michael (Mike) Pemberton, as a playground for the rich and famous. Some of the global investors who deposited monies for the villas, which were priced at US$20 million, included British mogul Simon Cowell, composer Andrew Lloyd Webber and former Formula One team owner Eddie Jordan.

In 2010, the Barbados Government secured a US$60 million loan from the ANSA Merchant Bank to get the project going again but that, too, never materialised as most of the money was spent settling debts and paying creditors.

Over the years, both the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Governments announced at various times that they were seeking new investors to get the project started, with former Minister of Finance, Chris Sinckler, of the DLP announcing in 2016 that they had secured an investor and the project would definitely get off the ground. However, that, too, never materialised and resulted in the investor taking this current BLP Government to court over the land.

43. “…he stressed that the project would be good for the economy.”
    “We are definitely welcoming this because there will be a significant number of jobs during construction and, of course, with residences, a hotel and villas, there will be lots of jobs available after construction.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Is this a DIFFERENT Duguid to the joker who insisted that the STEAL houses would be ‘good for Barbados’, and would ‘not need to undergo planning permission’ because they met international standards?
    …and that this would all would save us money?

He appears to be using the same damn ‘STEAL houses speech’ all over again…

You can fool a brass bowl over and over and over…
    BUT not stinking Bushie…

Will these jobs be seasonal like Sandals?
    What incentives are being handed to this new set of parasites?
    Why is this all so secretive? …hidden deals?
    Who EXACTLY is dealing with these developers? Participle? or Clear Waters?
    If the last plan FAILED, how come a new planning permission is ‘not required”

What a place…