In all of post Independence politics in Barbados we have not witnessed what has been unravelling within the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) for the last six years.

It is well documented on Barbados Underground (see – DEMS now, DEMS again? what transpired at the 2024 DLP Annual Conference this weekend. For the moment Ralph Thorne has emerged as the victor at the end of the conference. One of his first acts was to announce Senator Tricia Watson will be replaced by the next sitting of the Upper House. The decision to dismiss Watson must be seen as a clear sign Thorne does not have confidence OR feels threatened by her. In the coming days and weeks more will be revealed one suspects. He also announced a Shadow Cabinet.

The job of healing must be a priority for Thorne, there continue to be deep divisions within the DLP, the cracks widened quickly with the crossing of Thorne. Those offering themselves for leadership of the DLP after the death of David Thompson lacked the personality and charisma to force ‘renegades’ to fall in line.

If we are to judge by his machiavellian approach when he made the decision to appoint two senators, one being a visible member of the DLP, declared his intention. It was his intention to come in hot. From all reports he did not collaborate or extend courtesy of discussion to the DLP Executive headed by Dr. Ronnie Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett about his senate appointments. Walter Maloney – a Yearwood supporter and member of the Executive Council – recently confirmed Thorne’s decision was not well received by the Executive and sowed the seeds for the discord which followed.

In order for the meeting to proceed on the final day the caretaker leadership took the decision to generate a list of members who were allowed to entry to proceedings. How will Thorne and his team work to integrate disaffected DLP members back into the team? Could it be a hint of resolution to the long longrunning imbroglio will invigorate DLP’s base?

The behaviour of some DLP members displayed on the weekend was difficult to process for many. It reminded of the label of wild boys given to the DLP by late prime minister Owen Arthur. The substantive concern was the knowledge the DLP- the other member of the duopoly- represents the government in waiting. Bear in mind another label was ascribed to the stewardship of the DLP, the lost decade. The DLP impasse for the last six years has done nothing to lift the credibility index in the eyes of the public. With two short years or less to prepare for the next general election, it is difficult to anticipate the DLP picking up seats assuming the BLP does not suffer any unforeseen catastrophe.

One suspects there will be a period the Thorne team sets about targeting and purgeing dissidents to avoid continuing disruption to DLP business. A word of advice, Thorne should seek to control his supporters from throwing oil on the flames, it does not make sense for members of his team to be posting inflammatory comments on social media or calling the talk shows. The time has come and gone to tone down the rhetoric and vitriol.

The blogmaster extends best wishes to the DLP.

Let the healing begin.

Let true opposition politics be the order of the day.

151 responses to “Ralph Thorne takes ‘charge’”

1. @Observing

Watson was being promoted as a dark horse in the leadership race, we cannot have that can we.

A listen to the debate from both sides there is deep disagreement. One wonders if this matter is buried.

2. Observing August 27, 2024 at 12:19 pm “but isn’t the current Prime Minister seen, adored and loved as a maximum leader?”

By some people, yes. Some Bajans, maybe most Bajans like the maximum leader thing. I don’t. I prefer a more democratic, collegial style of leadership.

Massa day dun dead. Or it should be by now.

3. @David August 27, 2024 at 2:26 pm “One wonders if this matter is buried.”

It may be buried, but it certainly a’int dead.

Like a duppy it will come back to haunt the DLP.

4. @Cuhdear
    We think alike in this instance

not buried yet, but, not far from.

The “Ronnie group” were hasty and zealous and erred in the way they tried to regain control. Order and decency must always prevail. It is also clear from their mouthings that they still believe they are “right.” Heard Tyra begging last night on a podcast for people like her to be given a look if they run as independents.

Politics is a bloodsport. Simple. You win some, you lose some. The goal is to win more than you lose. Anytime you are in it to win all the time (like this Ronnie group) your demise is all but inevitable.
    Let’s see if Ralph’s spokespersons can make a dent. Mia has been getting a free ride for the past few weeks.

Just obsering

5. “Politics is a blood sport.”

Apparently, we like it so.

6. Lorenzo
    Well wellthe circus in George Street continues.How low can they sink.In my view,Mr Thorne,who is in his sixties,probably has one more election.In my view,he will not win bsck his seat far less win a government with persons like Mr Shepherd,Mr Worrell and Ms Depeiza.
    Whereas,Dr Yearwood seems to believe,that he has to be a leader because of his ego and he too, will not in my view win any seat either.However,he is young enough to keep trying.As far as Ms Watson is concern,she seems to have forgotten who appointed her to the senate.She did not appear to support Mr Thorne and as the old saying goes do not bite off the hand that feed ya.Hence she has paid the price for her in my view arrogance.Based on the loud applause when it was announced it seemed most agreed with it,even if not how it was done.I gone.

7. Fighting for captaincy of a sunken ship is not a look that I would want for myself.

Neither would I wish to be seen puffing up myself like a blowfish in a puddle.

Those who spend their lives aspiring to positions of international insignificance purely for their own aggrandisement are pathetic.

This is a 2×3 island of 270,000 people. There is no real power beyond the ability to give a speech on the world stage that will have zero effect on the price of butter.

It is all vanity in the end. They will die just like the rest of us and stink up the place just like a dead dog unless somebody buries them.

8. @Lorenzo

Thorne with his experience can help the party in the rebuild phase to nurture the environment for someone to emerge?

9. @Observing

Thorne faction must make an attempt to win back those young democrats, the party cannot afford to lose their support.

10. You lot sure love to make these fools seem important! What does it matter which pathetic poppet presides over the funeral?

11. The opposition of Barbados reminds me of Slavery

12. It should remind you of the Sri Lankan government.

13. We would imagined that after the AGM the former president’s and general secretary’s terms would have ended. In fact, all of the elected officers.

After Yearwood and Blackett found themselves on the outside looking in, after being expelled, they now have no standing whatsoever, weee feel, within the party hierarchy. If expelled members could make such claims, as they did.

But these onerous hurdles still have not deterred these would be dictators from seeking to impose themselves on the party under violent threats, illegal or unconstitutional actions and holding the party’s website hostage to this very moment.

Maybe a spiritual visitation in the dead of night and armed with the spirit of god should be embarked upon to bring these two to a Christian understanding.

We feel sure that subjection to the holy spirit shall create the necessary conditions for the website codes to be revealed.

14. @David ‘King’

You always say Sri Lanka like it’s you think it’s a smart ass insult

The biggest fools on Bu are the one who thought Ralph would be a worthwhile opposition to the Government

15. Blackett and Yearwood were expelled by the executive before the AGM on the weekend. The attempt to reinstate allegedly failed because a motion to reinstate was not heard because the call was made before the adoption of minutes of the last meeting.

16. @ Kiki
    The biggest fools on Bu are the one who thought Ralph would be a worthwhile opposition to the Government
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Perhaps someone who has zero personal knowledge of Ralph and of his abilities, and who knows only what they read on wiki or BU about Barbados, may qualify as the biggest of all…
    if they adopt such a bombastic position about the matter that is…

17. “Perhaps someone who has zero personal knowledge of Ralph and of his abilities, and who knows only what they read on wiki or BU about Barbados, may qualify as the biggest of all…”

OK Mr Big Man
    back it up and tell what YOU think Ralph can and will do as opposition
    with all your knowledge of Ralph and his abilities and shit

18. You can run but you can hide from age or death. It took me this long to realise that “fade into oblivion” should have been “fade into obscurity”.

We are nothing but dust and to dust ALL of us shall return.

I do not envy those who have money that they won’t live long enough to spend and the power to make the world a better place but can’t evolve beyond their beastlike instincts. Neither do I envy the petty pathetic puffed up politicians in this poor puny pool.

All I have is pity for those who are incapable of feeling the sheer joy of saving a life or making it better for someone other than themselves without hope of reward.

I have experienced both on more than one occasion, and I will remember on my deathbed and smile. What will these poor excuses for human beings remember?

Stocks, shares and titles?

Steupse!

19. “Most of the time you’re good to people and then they’re bad to you”

Barbados has a bag of History

Barbados
    Country in the Caribbean

Barbados was the birthplace of British slave society and the most ruthlessly colonized by Britain’s ruling elites. They made their fortunes from sugar produced by an enslaved, “disposable” workforce, and this great wealth secured Britain’s place as an imperial superpower and cause untold suffering.

Barbados is an eastern Caribbean island and an independent British Commonwealth nation. Bridgetown, the capital, is a cruise-ship port with colonial buildings and Nidhe Israel, a synagogue founded in 1654. Around the island are beaches, botanical gardens, the Harrison’s Cave formation, and 17th-century plantation houses like St. Nicholas Abbey. Local traditions include afternoon tea and cricket, the national sport. ― Google

I have no sympathy for the wicked man there

Do you remember those days of a slavery
    Do you remember
    Oh Lord
    They used to sell up black people
    Lick them over their back in a the morning
    Lash them over their back in a the evening
    They treated those people like animals in a those times
    So where are the revolution fighters I don’t know

RUbAdUb
    ReVOLUtION
    Bad Boy, Revolution Fighters, Shoot Up, Jah Righteous Reign

20. Reverend Hewitt took the time.

Dilemma facing the Dems

by REVEREND GUY HEWITT REFLECTING ON THE Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) 69th annual conference, held last weekend, Dr Tennyson Joseph, Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University, surmised that the party “faces a deep existential crisis and even possible extinction.”

Having lost a sister in my childhood and father as a teen, that, coupled with pastoral experience, has made me familiar with death. The DLP annual conference conveyed a foreboding that we may be at the beginning of the end.

Notwithstanding a belief in miracles, sometimes we hold to false hope as with Cricket West Indies; the grave wounds inflicted by island insularity and boardroom shenanigans appear terminal for our regional game.

BLP influences

There are those in the DLP who view Dr Ronnie Yearwood and comrade Leader Ralph Thorne with suspicion. They perceive that, being part of the vanquishing of the DLP in 2018, their inveigling is simply a result of the political axe they both seek to personally grind with Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley. However, I believe that all Barbadians, regardless of history, should be allowed to join any party once they subscribe to the philosophy of the institution and abide by its constitution, rules, and procedures.

However, for many there remains the question of motive. Some feel their political transmutation may be another BLP ploy, allowing the latter to domineer the goings-on at George Street as they do with the media, private sector, trade unions, civil service, and among other key actors. The current crisis in the DLP allows the BLP, which remains in election mode, to advance Mottleyism akin to Thatcherism, except mired in populism rather than rooted in ideology.

The concerns raised by Thorne on the conduct of the Barbados Police Service to impartially uphold law and order last weekend were legitimate. The recent shooting of a 12-year-old girl by a masked gunman in Silver Hill, typifies the failings of this government, not only to deal with crime and violence but the many social and economic ills facing our nation, including securing a future for our children and children’s children.

I never expected that the wanton violence that I experienced while living in Jamaica would reach our shores.

DLP leadership

I believe generally that we are individually responsible for our successes and failures.

As long as people principally blame others for why they aren’t where they feel they should be, they remained trapped. A monumental challenge to the DLP is its prevailing leadership style. Whereas the BLP was early on weaned off the cult of personality through a multiplicity of leaders: Grantley Adams, Hugh Cummins, Bree St John, and Tom Adams, the DLP was fashioned around Errol Barrow.

Barrow’s typification of what Professor Carl Stone defined as a maximum leader became the DLP’s default leadership trait. Erskine Sandiford tried unsuccessfully to replicate this style, leading to the formation of the National Democratic Party (NDP) under Dr Richie Haynes, and consequentially the parliamentary “no confidence” vote. David Thompson, mimicking his predecessors, neglected the opportunity to reintegrate the NDP, formed primarily of DLP members and supporters, and subsequently, aided by Owen Arthur’s “politics of inclusion,” oversaw an exodus of a number of future leaders to the BLP.

DLP leadership options

My perception of Yearwood’s leadership competencies plummeted last weekend.

I expected better from him.

His illegitimate presence at George Street and association with those reputed to have commandeered the DLP’s assets, raises serious questions about political acumen and ethics.

Notwithstanding the braying for justice, how could those supporting Yearwood and Steve Blackett expect justice when they sought to prove that “might is right.” A pervasive threat to democracy is a tyranny of the majority, that is, those who seek to use force to win elections or carry motions, as was attempted last Saturday.

The group in support of Yearwood and Blackett attempted to the annual conference to reinstate these expelled members without due process. Their actions, in contravention of the party’s constitution and procedures, and hugely disruptive, warranted their exclusion until they can guarantee that they can act in a proper and dignified manner.

I commend Thorne as DLP leader, for seeking to assemble a seemingly inclusive team.

But some of his choices may confirm the suspicion that grey forces, relics of a recently vanquished past, are operating in the shadows. There remains the unresolved issue of the presidency. Should Thorne seek this for himself, it could reinforce the perception that actions against Yearwood and Blackett were Machiavellian in nature. But if not him, then who?

Five phases of party decline

In seeking to understand the current state of the DLP, the Five Phases of Party Decline: Blinded, Inaction, Faulty action, Crisis, and Disintegration developed by Josef Lentsch, a political contributor to The Economist and Financial Times is useful.

Phase 1. Blinded: In the first phase, things might not be looking up for the party, but are not particularly down either. The trend is stable.

Problems, even any electoral underperformances, are largely attributed to be aberrations. A few lone voices call for reform and innovation, but mostly behind closed doors.

2. Inaction. In the second phase, challenges may be identified, but are not addressed. Performance-wise, the party is still doing okay; results are mixed, and “it could be worse.” In this phase, leaders see risk to corrective action and aware that conflict may accompany change, choose to maintain the status quo. The party goes from stagnation into slow decline.

3. Faulty action:

Over time, internal and external pressures increase; the kettle starts to boil.

Party leadership seems spurred into action. On the surface, things seem to be happening but this is essentially “participation theatre,” allowing disgruntled members and activists to vent without any meaningful change. Critics are listened to but not heard. Cynicism rises and morale plummets. The party enters free fall.

4. Crisis: Distress becomes visible. Substantial problems become public and cannot be ignored or argued away.

Painful defeats at the polls are complemented by bad internal choices. Key persons begin to leave and there is now open critique from loyal stalwarts.

Internal conflicts increasingly consume time and energy, which the media reports with relish. Leadership faces an increasing loss of credibility.

Donations begin to dry up.

Bunker mentality ensues.

Instead of opening itself up, the leadership circle seals itself off by “closing ranks.”

5: Disintegration: The party centre cannot hold and begins to break apart. The parliamentary party may start fighting with the central office. Local branches may disassociate themselves. Civil war ensues. Opinion leaders publicly declare the party to be reeling; pundits call the situation “existential.”

Paranoia takes hold of leaders – the enemy is everywhere – “us versus them” mentality is pervasive which can go as far as “if I go down, you all go down with me.”

It is now all about power, not policy or polity. Polls are plummeting. The heart of the party stops beating. In some cases, even at this stage, an emergency resuscitation (a political defibrillator) may prove successful. In other cases, it may be too late and the party carries on as a “zombie,” “walking dead’”party, until it ultimately disintegrates.

Noting the disappearance of Eric Gairy’s Grenada United Labour Party and Eugenia Charles’ Dominica Freedom Party, Dr Joseph warns that, “If the DLP does not resolve its postelection leadership crisis at the quickest possible time, the possibility of its extinction is very great.” The DLP is at a crossroad and the crucial decisions that need to be taken have a timeline, but democracy cannot succeed unless those who express their choice are prepared to choose wisely.

If we delay a decision, the opportunity for resurrection may disappear forever, with national consequences for the DLP has not only been a beacon of democracy but the essential mechanism for social transformation in Barbados and the forging of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

There are those calling for a new political party to emerge, which I argue against as I believe that third parties struggle in the Caribbean.

However, an assertion was made that it may not be a “third” party that is being sought per se, but rather the emergence of a new, legitimate “second” one.

May God bless and continue to guide Barbados and, particularly at this time, our democracy and the DLP.

Reverend Guy Hewitt, a former high commissioner, is a London-based social policy specialist and minister of religion. This article was submitted as a Letter to the Editor.

21. William Skinner Avatar

And the real winners are :
    The apologists who support the other identical twin.
    Yes. The circus under the big tent of the BLPDLP continues.
    Clowns.

22. Nuff nuff big words to say that the funeral will be held on Friday.

Two rasshole assholes were caught fighting over who would conduct the funeral service.

Barbados is a 2×3 island and we need to stop overestimating our importance in this wide wide world. So small is our island that I can guess the name of Guy Hewitt’s dead sister.

Karen was her name. She died of cancer while a student at Q.C. I never made the connection before, but I should have. She impressed me when she calmly returned to school in a wheelchair and a headscarf, at least for a little while. I never forgot her face.

23. William Skinner Avatar

Politics a blood sport ? Too late to ask Owen Arthur.
    Mia was his deputy for donkey years. He later told us she was unfit , a despot, and would not be accepted by the Barbadian electorate as a Prime Minister. He even said that some of the parties finances were not properly managed under her management.
    Politics is a blood sport ? Ask the five opposition members who walked up to the Governor’s General house and got rid of Mia as Opposition leader and reinstated Owen to lead them.
    Politics is a blood sport ? Too late to ask Owen again. He lead a BLP party government for three five year terms and then said the party had lost it soul.
    Politics is a blood sport ? Too late to ask Owen again. He turned around and accepted jobs from the same “unfit” “despot” Mia.
    Politics is a blood sport ? Ask Mia
    So who eulogise Owen and said ” you’re the best thing that ever happened to me”
    Politics is a blood sport ? Ask Clyde Mascoll ?
    He brought a no confidence motion against a government and then joined the same party.
    Politics is a blood sport ? Ask Thorne
    He was a Bee became a Dee went back to the Bee and is now leading the Dees .
    Politics is a Blood Sport ? Ask Ronnie
    He was a Bee and then became a Dee
    We ain’t fooling nobody when we come here pretending that all the blood was spilled or is spilled in George Street.
    Its all the same bull shit. Just a different day.
    The Twin still rules. Like um or lump um.
    We like um so . quite frankly we love the bull shit because that’s who we are.
    Clowns.

24. Skinns

Agreed!

Yuh went real easy on the NDP, the so-called independents, current third parties.

Remember, that with the blood sporting NDP, one man owned it, like a one-man pappy show.

Is there not blood sport there toooooooo?

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Of course there was because since the NDP was of the DLP, it was born in the blood sport of: Richie, Sandi, Cammie etc.
    Unfortunately , the new path and better way promised , was bought by those such as William Skinner.
    Since the party never reached national office, its blood sport was contained and localized until it was euthanized. But , it cannot be denied that it showed all the promise of being infected with the same blood sport that we are witnessing in the BLPDLP .
    Gabby was very correct when he sung: “ “BLPDLPNDP same party.”

26. Bright girl that Kystle Howell! Watson is a winner. Probably would have won a seat. Then again, Ralphie gun lose his, so….

27. @WS
    Gabby was very correct when he sung: “ “BLPDLPNDP same party.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This sums up the political situation in brassbados and tells us why there is NO HOPE.

Even if they were the ‘same party’, ..AND they were all focused on taking the whole country FORWARD, then we would be TRIPLE BLESSED.

That they are ALL a bunch of egotistical, self-interested, malleable, misfits is the reason that we are triple CURSED.

BUT…
    As the Blogmaster ALWAYS asserts, THEY ARE US…
    We are reluctant to condemn them, because in so doing, we condemn OURSELVES, knowing that, given the chance, WE WILL BE THEM.

Interesting that Ralph takes it for GRANTED that he has to use the same bullying tactics that he blamed for leaving the BLP, in seeking to solve dissent in the DLP.

Bushie also noted that the blogmaster and others, ACCEPTS that this is expected behavior in the realm of politics…so..

No hope….

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    There can be no hope when we have no ideology, no philosophy. Bet all your belongings that a critical reading of the DLP fiasco reveals that some on BU see it as nothing more than some victory for Mia. The BLP apologists are spouting all kinds of nice sounding semantics but it’s pure crap. And if the shoe was on the other foot; the Dees will act the same way.Six and half dozen.
    The archives of BU would show that we speak with false tongues. We really don’t give a shit about Bim.
    We can’t bring ourselves to accept the disappointment we have in Mia so we come with cynicism. And we pretend that Stuart and company were better. Pure bullshit.
    Garbage in; garbage out.
    Clowns

29. Lorenzo
    Mr Skinner,i see you still trying to equate the dems of present day with the bees of present day.Poor fella,as a dem i guess you real shame of the dems behaviour over the weekend.This has mothing to do with the BLP.Advise the dems on the way forward.They need all the help they could get.

30. Skinner

The absence of an ideology is precisely that. An ideology.

Same for philosophy too!

31. Ahem!

32. When Governments are in Power they hide the state of the economy and will claim there is growth, when they are replaced the new Party in Power reveals the truth about the economy and blames the previous Government for the difficult state they are in and implement austerity despite their election campaign promises. Businesses claim higher taxes will stifle growth so the people get short changed with less services and stagnant wages and higher cost of living. Businesses also replace people with technology and outsourcing increasing unemployment and implement zero hour contracts at minimum wage and lower their business standards providing poorer customer service while increasing prices for bigger profits doing less.
    DLP bankrupted the nation and BLP Government is vetted by IMF, so it is all relative.
    If BLP is bad then DLP is atrocious. But, DLP politicians love their gravy train.
    People will keep moaning and groaning whining and gnashing their teeth.

33. Whichever party is in the people get screwed.
    You get to decide who will screw you.
    Unless you become a screw too.

34. Senator Andre Worrell appointed the new Senator to replace Tricia Watson.

35. Good choice because what exactly?

36. @Hants
    appears to be a good choice
    ++++++
    “Good” is a relative term; good for what? A good replacement for Ms. Watson? Good that he will hold the gov’t’s feet to the fire? Good that he was one of the main actors in expelling the former leader? Good that he has the confidence of the old guard? If he is half as good as Ms. Watson it will be a major surprise.

37. Good that the two of you are responding to me. lol

38. @Sargeant

Good that he served as a Senator under Freundel which he was at ‘pain’ to remind. Good that he has proven himself to be a good and faithful servant given the trouble and tribulations that continues to dogg the party.

39. In other words – another rasshole asshole.

40. According to VOB “Trisha Watson has resigned from the DLP.”

Smart woman.

41. Irene Sandiford-Garner has resigned.

42. Lorenzo
    I believe,Ms Watson stsrted to believe in the hype from certain people and overplayed her hand.She seemed to forget who appointed her to the Senate.I heard whether correctly or not that she was slated to speak at meetings and fsiled to show up.If this is trie that is the height of arrogance and ignorance.In my view she came over as arrogant all back when she was a moderator.Mr Thorne selected her to the Senate and if he was dissatified with her had every right to fire her.Although, he should have informed her first.