Submitted by Ras Jahaziel

THE LEGALIZED VIOLENCE UPON WHICH POST-EMANCIPATION SOCIETY IS BUILT AND CONTINUES TO BE ADMINISTERED

Post-emancipation society is built on a system of legalized violence that locks the masses in a cage of perpetual exploitation.

And it has been taught that the way out of this cage is to gain a place in the middle class where your services can be used to help maintain the system of exploitation.

But this SYSTEMIC VIOLENCE has been legitimized, rationalized, and normalized by the church and state apparatus  that was put in place to run the plantation WITH A BLACK FACE.

Consequently the discussion on violence never centers on the systemic violence that submerges the lower classes in a quagmire of dog eat dog fratricidal violence that increases by the day and makes it hard to be a saint.

The dog eat dog violence of the underclass is therefore seen as something  that can only be corrected by increasing middle class brutality against the uneducated lower class.

When will we center the discussion on  THE TREADMILL OF EXPLOITATION THAT HAS BEEN POLISHED  AND HANDED DOWN BY CHATTEL SLAVERY?

43 responses to “The legalized violence”

1. The question comes to mind, who guards the guard. The finger always ends up pointing at the citizenry.

2. Barbados leading others again
    “Paris Mayor Anne Hidalgo took a long-awaited dip in the River Seine on Wednesday morning in a bid to prove the water is clean enough to host the outdoor swimming events at the Olympics later this month”
    Clearly she consulted with former MP’s Boyce and Sealy.

3. “Clearly she consulted with former MP’s Boyce and Sealy”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Murda!!!
    yuh gwine kill a bushman today Frank…??!!

4. On the one hand we talk about legalized violence – the killing of blacks; whilst on the other hand our politicians are telling those who are fertile to go out and breed. However, Mia implied that the local population will not be able to breed sufficiently to bring a significant change to the population. She concluded that Barbados population can only be ramped up with the importation of foreigners, read: Asians (yellow and brown), white and Arabs people.

Mia should do some homework on Nouvelle Caledonia where France expressed its intention to demographically restructure the country’s population by flooding the country with a fraction of the population from mainland France to undermine Nouvelle’s Caledonians African population. It begat bloodshed and endless violence to the streets.

It would appear that Mia is adamant or perhaps instructed by the neo-liberal group who she is embedded with to open up Barbados to outsiders.

It is high time that our Prime Minister explains to the population of Barbados why on the one hand those who rule the country continues to degrade and disenfranchise the life chances for their black population whilst currying favour to minority groups who remain determine to keep blacks in their place.

Why with our “famous” literacy levels why has this government not paved the way for an education system which helps to strengthen the country’s economy. I checked out the video sent by Hants showing Mia in her element, fraudulently, on her soap box tricking the nation why she needs to bring in outsiders to boost Barbados population.

Someone needs to call her out. Those of us outside of Barbados are fully aware that she is determined to displace and replace Barbados majority population. Should she get her way, I would prayer for a Tsunami to visit Barbados once her dastardly deeds come into fruition.

Be vigilant my brothers and sisters.

@ Bush Tea,

I see that your favourite MP, the hapless, Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, Kirk Humphrey has thrown in his two bits worth on the above subject.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/07/17/minister-says-quick-action-needed-to-address-demographic-challenges/

5. @TLSN

Tell us how do we address the need to infuse our population with new skills and thinking to assist with diversifying the local economy. Against a background that our education system is failing to produce technical and other non traditional skills/education.

6. David,

By fixing the educational system.

7. That is a long term fix Donna. We need a short term solution given the current state of play.

8. @ David

Could you please remind me WHEN Mottley “concluded that Barbados population can only be ramped up with the importation of foreigners, read: Asians (yellow and brown), white and Arabs people?”

It’s similar to saying, ‘all tourists are white people.’

Perhaps it’s easier to assume ‘ramping up the population means importing Asian, Arab and white people,’ because it satisfies a specific agenda, of which the intensions are usually negative or based on some irrelevant juxtaposition.

How about recognising the fact there are several people from regional territories, especially Jamaica, many of whom are working and living illegally in Barbados?

Travelling through Barbados, one cannot help but hearing Jamaican accents. There are everywhere in this island.
    There is a particular security firm that is hiring Jamaican as security guards.
    They are being employed at gas stations, stores in Swan Street, shops, bars and restaurants.

We could add Haitians to the list as well.

Supposed, for example, an effort is made to regularise the status of those individuals and incorporate them into the Barbadian society?

9. William Skinner Avatar

There is no short term solution to the myriad problems we are facing. We are already changing demographically because the minority population is increasing. We suspect that its not being widely observed.
    The growing poverty has no short term remedies because we will be in the arms of the IMF until 2035. Another calamity liken COVID and we are essentially done.
    The educational system cannot be solved short term because we have been promised change for four years and it is bare confusion.
    We are still struggling with basic services such as public transportation and garbage collection.
    Our infrastructure has been in decline for forty years.
    None of the so-called housing solutions are working properly
    Too many citizens are still drinking brown water or are not assured a consistent water supply.
    Our fishing industry has unfortunately suffered a serious set back or destruction
    These are all matters that call for a comprehensive national effort at all levels. Rest assured that pretty talk and acronyms cannot solve any of the above.
    There is a difference between optimism and realism.
    Quite frankly we are being served by two political parties that have not demonstrated their collective ability to manage these problems and they certainly have not collectively demonstrated that they have any real solutions.
    And we apparently do not have the appetite for serious , progressive socio-political dialogue and or change.

10. @Artax

Unlike you the blogmaster has mastered the art of filtering noise .

CSME has opened the door for movement of people in some categories BUT are we getting the intake to satisfy the national objective re: increased in skills to ultimately move the GDP needle.

11. If you read between between the lines Mia inferred that she is not particularly interested in low skilled Caricom blacks plying their trade in Barbados. One does not need to be an Einstein to work out what she is referencing.

Donna, is correct. However, we need to ask why many of our educated masses remain idle, irrespective of their many alphabet qualifications.

William you have painted a grim but realistic snapshot of the Barbados landscape. Too bad, that amongst your countrymen and women you remain an anathema. It is noted by all that you prefer to remain aloof from all the unnecessary sniping within the country.

12. David,

There is nothing wrong with strategic and targeted immigration to achieve a well thought out objective. However, we must be careful that short-term plans don’t blow up in our faces and make matters worse, must we not?

The devil is in the details. Where are those details articulated?

13. @ Donna,
    As the great and much missed Hal Austin would often state, Mia does not do detail. When we read that Barbados aspires to bring in skilled labour to increase the GDP of the country – I say bullshit.

Mia’s desire is to see Barbados become a rich man’s playground with the majority of domestic Bajans been relied upon to serve the needs of these people.

How can an ex-Sandy Lane resident relate to the common man/woman?

14. @William

You misunderstood the short term reference by the blogmaster- which was made in the context of the need for short, medium and longe term strategies. For example a short approach is to search for guns, improve servelliance at ports of entry etc. Agree with you view it will take some heavy lifting over a long time to arrest the rot.

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ TLSN
    “William you have painted a grim but realistic snapshot of the Barbados landscape. Too bad, that amongst your countrymen and women you remain an anathema. It is noted by all that you prefer to remain aloof from all the unnecessary sniping within the country.”(TLSN)
    We were forced to adopt such a position after the 2018 elections , when we realised that yardfowlism had reached a very sophisticated level. We realised that most, only wanted a change of government because the previous regime, had done such a bad job that the current lot, and their supporters, were rejoicing not for Barbados but their own selfish ambitions. These days they don’t care if Bim goes under the sea.
    We then realised that all the talk about change and doing things differently was pure bullshit. The country was taken into debt borrowing but the purpose was littered with lies and half truths. Fortunately COVID came along and some face was saved but immediately after COVID, which was handled quite well, the old political game came right back. And it has been blunder after blunder since.
    The picture painted is just realistic. It appears to be grim because we have not been presented with any ideas to correct the stupidity, and transparency is now totally absent . We have town hall meetings and inferior political public relations.
    However, in recent times, we have witnessed a bit of retreat by the apologists because the pretty talk and the condescending use of vernacular are no longer attractive.
    We need thinkers and more progressive people in charge of our political direction. The poor are getting poorer by the second and the current collective political class only needs a horse and a whip to ride about the plantation.

We live on Animal Farm at this time.

16. @Donna

Agree with you but the issue is that we have become a polarized society coupled with a lack of trust in politicians and public officials.

17. @ David

Seems as though we’re suggesting only “low skilled CARICOM blacks ply their trade in Barbados.”

I’ve watched several YouTube videos in which QUALIFIED, ‘EDUCATED, African and CARICOM Blacks,’ speak of their experiences legally working, living and becoming members of the Barbadian society.

Yet, rather than explore and highlight those positive immigration situations, we take ‘satisfactory delight’ by reading stories in particular media outlets that highlight negative issues or developments in foreign countries and juxtapose them to EVERY issue currently affecting Barbados, while always prepared to give a worst case scenario.

Recently, we were told why Somalian fishermen became pirates, which was juxtaposed to Barbadian fishermen losing their boats as a result of ‘Hurricane Beryl.’

The difference with Mr. Skinner is, although he has been consistent in his criticisms, which are based on facts, he highlights what is positive as well and offer sensible solutions.
    Additionally, he has correctly opined that members of successive BLP and DLP administrations have clearly demonstrated they are incapable conceptualising and implementing any original, progressive, innovative socio-economic policy initiatives for the short and long-term development of this island.

Fortunately, however, Mr. Skinner does not promote himself as a pompous, arrogant snob, who refers to Barbadians as ‘ignorant domestic sheep.’

David, you mentioned, “our education system is failing to produce technical and other non traditional skills/education.”

Although you may be correct, I believe there are certain factors we’re not considering.

For example, when Simpson owned SOL, it provided an opportunity for some Barbadians to pursue qualifications in areas such as Oil & Gas Management, Petroleum Engineering or Energy, Oil & Gas Management.
    Government should also look at making serious adjustments to the issuing of work permits.
    SOL has been sold to a foreign entity and, based on how hotels and companies could ignore qualified Barbadians for jobs, preferring instead to employ extra-regional non-national, for whom they could easily apply for work permits.

What sense does it make for someone to have BSc or MSc degrees in Tourism Management in a country where tourism is the number one industry, and cannot get a job where their qualifications could be best utilised…… to remain here, rather than explore opportunities overseas.

18. @Artax

Nothing to add except you have mentioned often on the blog about the large number of caribbean people operating in Fairchild Street and elsewhere. People will comment about what is visible.

19. @ David

We are expecting government to provide jobs, rather than create an environment for the private sector to be innovative and provide sustainable employment opportunities.

Hence, the reason why the civil service has excess employees.

Recently, we heard about the amalgamation of NAB, Welfare Department and Child Care Board.
    How is it possible to combine three government entities and still maintain the SAME number of employees?

The last person who tried to revive the furniture manufacturing industry was my old primary and secondary schoolmate, Randolph Sandiford.

20. @Artax

How many years have we heard ‘create an environment for the private sector’ or improve business facilitation? We need to start doing the business.

Regarding the furniture business, the blogmaster expected after the talk coming from Sandals entry into the market and promises made, we would have seen a revival of the local furniture industry re local furniture manufacturers working with the hospitality sector to promote local artistry.

There appears to be little commitment to marrying local furniture manufacturers and hospitality industry for whatever reason. We like to talk.

21. @ David,
    We really need to go back to the era where black enterprise consisted of more than making costumes for carnivals or fish fry shacks. Whatever happen to the Ms Rocks of this world and the diversity of black entrepreneurs? How and why was that culture allowed to disappear. William Skinner would no doubt know. Perhaps Artax as well. I heard that somehow and somewhere the black led governments started this trend by subsidising white and minority businesses. The worse element of this was the massive giveaway to Sandals. You simply cannot make this stuff up.

I heard it mentioned by someone that certain groups obtain information from the government if a black individual is generating a business or an income which they are unfamiliar with and then piggy bank on the enterprise of that individual in order to steal the idea from that person.

22. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

PREDICTION: LET A POWERFUL, CHARISMATIC BLACK AFRIKAN LEADER EMERGE ON TO THE WORLD STAGE “chanting” “AFRIKA FIRST” & BRINGING THE MISERABLY TRIBAL FACTIONS TOGETHER THROUGH A MESSIANIC TYPE OF FERVOUR – WATCH THE *DIASPORA* UNITE BEHIND THE INFECTIOUS NARRATIVE

The reason I say this is because “CHARISMATIC LEADERSHIP” within the vast “FAMILY TREE” of the “NEGROID SONS OF ABRAHAM” has been missing for far too long – 2000+ YEARS TO BE EXACT!!!

WHY???

Bob Marley gave us a “CLUE”…

“HOW LONG SHALL THEY KILL OUR *PROPHETS* WHILE WE STAND ASIDE & LOOK – SOME SAY ITS JUST A PART OF IT, WE GOTTA’ FULFIL THE BOOK…”

By a “PROPHET” was #AncientHebrewIsrael led out from 215 years of “EGYPTIAN SLAVERY” – where “BLACK ON BLACK” servitude & “WANTON VIOLENCE” was the order of the day!!!

“COMMANDER MOSES” was raised up to “DELIVER” & “LEAD” the “EMANICIPATION EXODUS” & so, 600,000 “MEN” – not counting women & children were set free from “BONDAGE”, yet “ONLY 2 OF THOSE MEN OUT OF THAT ENTIRE TROOP MADE INTO “THE PROMISED LAND” WITH AN ENTIRE GENERATION HAVING TO DIE BECAUSE OF THEIR NASTY, INHERENT, EMBELLISHED SLAVE MINDSET”!!!

The psychic scar branded upon the “SOUL” of the Black man is this idea that he is in it alone (WITH NO HELP ANYWHERE 2 BE FOUND) – so the maxim is: “EVERY MAN 4 HIMSELF & GOD 4 ALL…” But when “GOD” doesn’t show up in the way we want (just as our forebears did) we resort to all kinds of weird & wonderful forms of “TRIBALISM” in the quest to be seen, heard & felt (MOST TIMES TO OUR OWN DETRIMENT)!!!

Regardless of what is said about my Black Nigerian brothas, I admire their “PRIMAL ETHNIC & CULTURAL INSTINCTS & LOYALTY” to what is inherently #NigerianFIRST* (NO MATTER WHERE THEY GO) & it may come as a “SHOCK 2 MOST” that the “RICHEST BILLIONAIRE” in the country & possibly across Afrika #AlikoDangote actually does not have houses outside of Nigeria & often lives in a simple apartment (WITH ONE OTHER HOUSE HE CALLS HIS OWN)!!!

THE AVERAGE BLACK MAN TODAY WANTS 2 LIVE UP WITH THE JONESES – SHOWING OFF HIS POVERTY THROUGH PRETENTIOUS FLUFF – PARKING HIS “merc” OUTSIDE ON THE STREET IN FRONT OF A CHATEL HOUSE!!!

“PATRIOTISM” has been scrubbed, beaten & flogged off the backs of my people & sadly, we are just “MERE SHELLS” that wash up on the shore having lost the precious “PEARLS” that makes us who we are!!!

MOSES HAS TO RETURN A 2ND TIME TO DELIVER THE POSTERITY OF THE HEBREW ISRAELITE FORBEARS (AGAIN) AFTER HAVING DONE THE SAID JOB 3,500 EARLIER…

#WhatAJoke
    #WhatATravesty
    #WhatAFreakOfHistory
    #SMDH

23. @TLSN

You should be aware succession planning was an issue from that generation you mentioned. A significant blame for the decline of black enterprise some will say.

There is also change is procurement and purchasing behaviour by consumers influenced by foreign taste and price.

24. Artax,

What happened to the attempt to revive the furniture industry?

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN July 17, 2024 at 10:44 am “Mia implied that the local population will not be able to breed sufficiently to bring a significant change to the population. She concluded that Barbados population can only be ramped up with the importation of foreigners.”

Instead of all of the talk, why don’t you your children and grandchildren come home to Barbados to help us in our reproductive battle. After all the male role in reproduction sounds like a whole lot of fun. Wunna don’t have to go through labour pains, And some ‘o wunna don’t do bottles or diapers or running back and forth to daycare and school and church and camp and whatever.

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Artax “They [Jamaicans] are being employed at gas stations, stores in Swan Street, shops, bars and restaurants.”

And at my favourite bakery. And some of their children will move into the professional/technical/business/political class.

The children of immigrants tend to be harder working and more ambitious than the chikdren of native born.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

TLSN and his ilk won’t donate a single sperm to Barbados’ re-population efforts but always writing foolishness on the blog. Think that their foreign resident sperm is too good for us Barbados based “sheep”

28. The most stupid ‘solution’ proffered so far by our idiotic politicians is the nonsense about ‘boosting’ the population by 80,000…
    What the HELL..!!!

We can’t make a go at managing 370 thousand, so the ‘OBVIOUS solution’ is to invite 80 thousand MORE..???

We can’t assemble 150 LEGO steal houses, so we will set about building 20,000…??

You CAN’T make this stuff up….!!!

…but these are the SAME jokers that pushed us to inject ourselves with the covid experimental jabs…. and who are now SILENT on the epidemic of young and old ‘deading’ just so….

Common sense (long dead) suggests that…
    More people= more blocks = more gangs = more shiite

But some people ONLY see more votes…

What a curse!!
    What a place

29. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

MOSES DID AS HE WAS COMMANDED IN DELIVERING OUR FORBEARS BUT BEFORE HE WALKED TO HIS OWN FUNERAL IN THE MOUNTAINS OF PISGAH – HIS HEART MUST HAVE BEEN BROKEN TO SEE THAT AFTER 40 YEARS OF SOJOURN WITH A VIOLENTLY DISOBEDIENT PEOPLE THAT 99.998% WOULD ULTIMATELY DIE IN THE DESERT WITH ONLY A NEW GENERATION ENTERING IN THE LAND!!!

The problem with “TIME TRAVEL” is not having “ELON MUSK” develop “TECH” to get us to other “DIMENSDIONS” (which is “BIOLOGICALLY IMPOSSIBLE”), rather the issue centres around “BLACK FOLKS BEING STUCK IN THE CHOKING MIST OF PRIMORDIALITY – INCAPABLE OF EXITING THE PAST”!!!

Our forebears was “NEVER” able to “ESCAPE” Egypt because “EGYPT” became part of their DNA (DAMN NASTY ANCESTRY) & like “BLACK FOLKS” today, they may live in the “HEIGHTS, “HILLS” & “GATED COMMUNITIES”, but have not escaped the “MENTAL NEO-PLANTOCRACY SYSTEM” because “DELIVERANCE” does not imply or insinuate “FREEDOM”- for even implied freedom is not “FREEDOM” in its truest sense!!!

SO HOW DO OUR PEOPLE EMANCIPATE THEMSELVES FROM MENTAL & SPIRITUAL SLAVERY???

For 1000s of years there has been 1000s of reasons that have been applied as a sticking plaster to what is a cancerous lesion – yet nothing has worked! Some of us have “SUPPOSEDLY” progressed (SOME MILLIONAIRES, MULTIMILLIONAIRES & EVEN BILLIONAIRES), yet the “METASTASIS REMAINS”!!!

IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF YESHUA MESSIAS IN:

Luke 11:48-51 (NASB) “So you are witnesses and approve the deeds of your “FATHERS”; because it was “THEY WHO KILLED THEM”, and you build their tombs. For this reason also the wisdom of God said, ‘I will send to them “PROPHETS AND APOSTLES”, and “SOME OF THEM THEY WILL KILL AND SOME OF THEM THEY WILL PERSECUTE, so that the “BLOOD OF ALL THE PROPHETS, SHED SINCE THE FOUNDATION OF THE WORLD, MAY BE CHARGED AGAINST THIS GENERATION, from the blood of Abel to the blood of Zechariah, who was killed between the altar and the house of God; yes, I tell you, “IT SHALL BE CHARGED AGAINST THIS GENERATION…”

Produce “EVIDENCE” of anyone on this earth of the 8.927 billions “HUMANS” who can show historically, contemporarily or otherwise that this “CURSE” can be broken by so-called “HUMAN INGENUITY”, “HUMAN PROWESS” OR ANY CONCOCTED ALCHEMIC WITCHES BREW!!!

In the end, “NO PROPHET IS EVER ACCEPTED IN HIS OWN COUNTRY, HIS OWN TOWN OR EVEN IN HIS OWN HOME…” (Luke 4:24) – “THUS NOTHING WILL EVER CHANGE UNTIL MESSIAH COMES!!!

Even the #HonorableMinisterLouisFarrakhan with all “HIS KNOWLEDGE” got a whole bunch of stuff “WRONG” (as much as I love him) when speaking on “BLACK ISSUES”!!!

#WhatASpell
    #WhatAWorld
    #WhatDeception

30. @ David

Although I admire the achievements of Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart, as a Caribbean national, creating a world class chain of all-inclusive hotels that can easily compete with international brands, I disagreed with the former DLP administration offering him tax concessions for 25 years.

Sandals’ managers are Jamaican, who also enjoy tax free concessions; first choice rum is Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum, which is available at all Sandals Resorts and Beaches Resorts throughout the Caribbean; their first choice coffee is Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee.

Under those circumstances, do you actually believe Sandals would purchase locally manufactured furniture, when they could easily import furniture from Jamaica…… duty and VAT free?

Certain mandatory terms and conditions should’ve been applied to those concessions, such as, for example, purchasing of locally grown produce.
    Farmers could’ve been challenged to grow fruits and vegetables that are not normally grown in this region, perhaps using greenhouse technology, which is also used to provide favourable environmental conditions for plants.
    We could also include meats, poultry and fish.

Things did not work out too well for Randolph.

31. @Artax

That was the point being made, concessions given should have been contingent on a local procurement arrangement. For a country like Barbados that is heavily dependent on tourism to not take advantage of the opportunity to leverage is foolishness.

32. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    We agree that the concessions to Sandals were somewhat generous. We also agree that allowing it to only carry Jamaican spirits , was quite stupid on our part.
    But Sandals has turned out to be a good corporate citizen; contributing to schools in the area and sponsorship in several areas. Unlike other successful brands that literally refuse to promote locals, Sandals has a good track record in promoting from within and locals have benefited.
    Furthermore, whenever Sandals Barbados is mentioned , we get some exposure.
    The question we have often asked is why after seventy years in tourism, our local business community has not been able to create and develop a product that matches Sandals.
    However, they have been quite eager to develop golf courses, luxury homes, and marinas exclusively for the rich. They also have a penchant for car dealerships. And then they expect the government to give them all types of assistance and are allowed to borrow money from the national insurance.
    Sandals is the largest privately owned inclusive brand in the world.
    We have often wondered why Sandals was not allowed to complete the next property on the west coast so that some economic activity could have been brought to that area.
    In terms of the failure of manufacturing. We contend that it was a massive abandonment of Black enterprise by both administrations.
    There are about a million or more reasons why Black businesses do not survive two or three generations. One simple reason: when you are in a race with somebody who has resources and you have none ; it’s similar to everything else , you have to spend most of your time catching up. And even if you catch up you still have to pass them. As the old people say: pick sense from dat.

33. Sometimes when solving a problem you have to start at the very end and work backwards so as to get the correct solution.

The current administration has not shown any success at starting at the beginning and working forward. Mistake and accident prone, its record is strewn with monumental failures or long kicks of the can down the road. Its modus operandi is to drag a new initiative to the table just before the previous initiative go up in flames. Their record is like a pyrotechnic display on November 30. everything going up in flames.,

30-0 in elections is truly a reflection of the party, With 30 failed initiatives and 0 (or little) success, it is as if karma is laughing at us. Perhaps we will be more cautious in giving anyone a next 30-0.

But I digressed. If I start at the end of this administration records and work backward, I know that overall it will be a failure. Only the financial part (selling passports) will be a success to a select few. A few will prosper … not Barbados.

34. @William

Agree with you but from the Black business in Barbados has been his worst enemy.

35. @William Skinner July 18, 2024 at 7:59 am “They also have a penchant for car dealerships.”

Which of our much revered Prime Ministers said “everybody should be able to have a little car at their door?” I thought at the time he was channelling those with “a penchant for car dealerships”. I still think so.

I disagreed with his statement then [of course a HIS] then, and I disagree with the statement now.

At that time Barbados should have been developing a robust, efficient public transportation system. We could have saved our selves billions of dollars, significantly reduced air pollution, reduced overweight and obesity, deduced NCD’s, lessened our contribution to greenhouse gases, reduced congestion on our roads, reduced traffic injuries and fatalities…but we allowed ourselves to be fooled that car ownership was the ultimate status symbol, and that if we had a car we had “arrived.”

I haven’t had a car since 1999. Life without a car is sweet. The savings have enabled me, even as a never married [nor liv-wid] mum to put my children through university thrice. Not liming on the block. All earning significantly more than the median income in the great USA, even while not having to live in that increasingly benighted place.

Too often we allow ourselves to be seduced by baubles [and yes a car is often a bauble, an expensive bauble, but a bauble never the less.

But the men know better.

Rule on.

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan

When we said that they have a “penchant ” for car dealerships, we meant that the private sector moguls could not come up with a product like Sandals but preferred to invest their fortunes in other things as mentioned in our submission.
    We certainly did not see the need to criticise Arthur for saying that every household should have a car ; we know he had also said that every house should have a university graduate.
    We actually believe that Arthur was a genuinely skilled technocrat, who at some point realised that he was enveloped by “poor rakey”(his words) people, inside and outside of parliament and in both parties, and his vast intellect was being underutilised.
    We know for a fact that he was highly regarded among his academic peers. He had all the qualities to be a prime minister of a Caribbean State.
    We seriously think that he squandered a great opportunity to turn around our country but somewhere along the road, he became attracted to quasi political nonsense and lost that affable , down to earth personality that was one of his major strengths. His intellect was vast and his grasp of economic planning and development was broad perhaps only matched by Tom Adams.
    We don’t consider him to be a failed Prime Minister at all.

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And tens of thousands of elderly dead cars for which we have to find space in our landfills decade after decade.

38. Comedy Central in the House of Assembly continues.

PAC in spotlight

Opposition Leader questions make-up of body

Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne has voiced his frustration with the Government’s majority on the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), claiming it is hindering its ability to function effectively as an oversight body.

However, one member from the PAC from the ruling administration says nothing could be further from the truth.

During a press conference yesterday at the Opposition Leader’s Office on Hincks Street, The City, Thorne revealed that during a recent PAC meeting, the Government members voted to prioritise an old investigation into the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) from 2019 over what he deemed the more recent and pressing housing issue.

He said the recent Auditor General’s Report into cost overruns for the construction of Chinese houses was still fresh in the mind of the public. He described the five-year-old BWA matter as “spent” and of lesser interest to Barbadians.

Housing

“We went there intending to place [housing] high on the agenda for investigation by a Public Accounts Committee in a public hearing. I am unhappy to report to you that the Government members of that committee felt that the matter should go to a vote . . . and that we should go back to a Barbados Water Authority matter that was started when Bishop [Joseph] Atherley was Opposition Leader,” Thorne said.

“I came here on a previous occasion and I promised this country that the Public Accounts Committee, under my chairmanship, would pursue investigations which the people of Barbados feel are due for investigation. I promised this country that we would look at the question of housing.”

Representatives

The PAC is comprised of Members of Parliament Marsha Caddle, Corey Lane, Edmund Hinkson, Kerrie Symmonds and Colin Jordan. From the Senate, the Government representatives are Senators Lisa Cummins, Chad Blackman and Gregory Nicholls. Senator Crystal Drakes is the lone Independent, while the Opposition comprises its two representatives, Senators Ryan Walters and Tricia Watson.

Nicholls, in refuting Thorne’s charge, told the Weekend Nation: “There is no single member of the Public Accounts Committee who has voted or suggested that the matter of the report on housing should not be investigated by the committee. Not a single member has indicated that they are in opposition to it.

“In fact, every single member has agreed that it is a matter . . . that all the reports by the Opposition, including that one, should be dealt with,” he added.

Thorne accused Government of being reluctant to investigate the Home Ownership Providing Energy (HOPE) project, a company he characterised as a private entity that received significant public funds but failed to deliver on its promises. He said the Government was now shifting its stance and reverting to the National Housing Corporation, which he claimed it had previously abandoned in favour of HOPE.

“I complained during the Budget Debate that it seemed as if the Government was marginalising the National Housing Corporation . . . . . For all intents and purposes, HOPE has collapsed,” he said.

“The people of Barbados want an investigation into that $60 million. I want the press of this country . . . to ask the Government why they cannot now give priority to an investigation into the matter of housing . . . .

“We meet sometime again in September and between now and September, media, I want you to ask the Government why the matter of housing was relegated on the agenda of the Public Accounts Committee. Why are you now using the law to force a Leader of the Opposition to defer a matter of housing in favour of a spent matter of a Barbados Water Authority report?” he queried. (CLM)

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Delay, delay…. it’s the name of the game.
    This PAC issue provides further context as to the two Opposition Senators departed that House mid session.

40. it’s a lost cause to put your faith in the PAC, a committee that is supposed to scrutinise Gov’t spending with the leader of the Opposition as Chair with a majority of members from the Gov’t including Ministers; what can go wrong? It may have sounded like a good idea initially, but it was doomed to failure, they were lucky to have a quorum this time

41. I believe the PAC, in its current format, is a waste a complete of time.

Any Committee that is mandated to investigate financial infelicities uncovered by the AudGen’s Office, as outlined in his reports, but is comprised of politicians, more so LAWYERS and members of the ‘ruling administration’……

…… the process becomes a political exercise and provides an opportunity for the Opposition Leader to engage in political grandstanding.

The PAC plays a crucial in the governance system, by upholding transparency and accountability with ministries, departments, SOEs and quasi government entities and can invite ministers, permanent secretaries or other ministry officials to the committee for questioning.

A chairman essentially has authority and responsibility over his/her committee and its members; while ensuring it undertakes its constitutionally required functions and the members perform their designated duties.

How is an Opposition Leader, as chairman of the PAC, expected to build and lead a team to achieve the desired objectives, in an adversarial political system, whereby the chairman and the majority of the members oppose each other in Parliament, over the same issues they come together under a PAC to investigate?

We had a PAC hearing as a result of Transport Board’s special audit, when Atherley was Opposition Leader, which revealed several breaches of government financial rules.
    There were reports of ‘missing buses,’ a HINO bus being sold to a former bus driver for $500 and other unauthorised financial transactions.

‘Not a boy ain’t get charged or locked up.’

In MY opinion, the PAC should be an INDEPENDENT body, with an elected chairman and comprised of, for example, forensic accountants and auditors, as well as attorneys knowledgeable in financial and criminal law.

Forensic auditors are trained in fraud examination methodologies, profiling, investigation and interviewing techniques, evidence gathering and management, writing reports and litigation.

After all, Barbados is a republic.