Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams

It was embarrassing to hear about a fire tender that was burnt to a cinder after answering a call to control a wild fire at Canefield, Locust Hall, St George. There should be a sense of confidence that the Barbados Fire Service always demonstrate the required competence in the service of “providing effective and efficient fire prevention, fire suppression, disaster management, emergency medical care and other essential services to save lives and protect “.

On cue, Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams advised yesterday he had requested a report on the unusual occurrence. By the way, the official explanation from BFS Henderson Patrick was, “in an attempt to bring the fire under control, met the conditions where the wind would have taken a lot of the trash and blew it in the direction of the fire truck which would have resulted in the situation that we have right now.”

A 1.5 million dollar fire tender gone up in smoke!

The unfortunate accident alarming though it was piqued the interest of the blogmaster when coupled with another tragic event that occurred at Wellington Street, Bridgetown on the 5 May 2024. Nearly 50 individuals were displaced because six houses were razed and others significantly damaged. Notwithstanding denials from BFS officials, eyewitness reports from onlookers ‘claim’ fire tenders arrived on the scene without an adequate supply of water. Compromising the response of the BFS the public was told of difficulty accessing fire hydrants by fire service personnel because the road was newly paved.

There is a lot to unpack, so much to speculate about, enough for Minister Abrahams to have commissioned a Wellington Report?

It is important to shore up public trust in essential agencies like the fire, police if serious accusations are levelled by members of the public. The government must promptly and thoroughly respond to citizen concerns. If trust in public institutions and agencies continue to slide chaos and conspiratorial notions will take root, they have already started.

Why would ordinary citizens narrate blatant untruths about fire tenders on the scene at Wellington Street not having water? Why would trained fire officials park a 1.5 million dollar fire appliance in a grass piece unaware of the potential hazard posed by change of wind direction?

The blogmaster will not elaborate on the other allegation making the rounds as it relates to the name of owner of the land where many of the houses destroyed are located and the connection.

164 responses to “Under fire!”

1. “Why would ordinary citizens narrate blatant untruths about fire tenders on the scene at Wellington Street not having water?”

Are you the same ‘blogmaster’ who, in response to similar comments made on another thread, ‘said’ you “don’t subscribe to nonsense?”

2. That is correct Artax, what is your point?

3. Yolande Grant Avatar

While flying into the island yesterday, we did indeed experience cross winds over the island. Shook the plane real good. I managed to get a snapshot of that fire from above. Lots of smoke.

4. That is correct Hants.
    Sheet can often be avoided.
    What is your point?
    —x—-
    Some issues are like a dagger to the heart? I may moan and complain but I still have confidence in my countrymen. However, when I see these sill fire truck issues popping up, I begin to wonder what on earth is happening.

Mistakes are made, but some mistakes just scream word “careless’ and ‘ignorant”; these recent event seem to be of this type. Hopefully, there is an inquiry followed by proper training of our firemen.

Let’s save the island before it burns to the ground. Afterwards, our military can deal with other threats. I am suggesting that instead of a TRADEWINDS (military) exercise, we invite a few firemen from different countries and have a fireman training exercise.

Let’s not fiddle whilst Barbados burns.

5. A country under the control of the IMF and billion dollar debt
    Cost cutting is heavy handed across the board
    So much so that inefficiency at every level because of govt stampede to save money would bring forth the kind of madness seen in Wellington St and locust St. George

6. We cant be in no debt. I went to buy 2 wiper blades for the old car this week and saw 5 or more brand new BMWs with ML and MP numbers wating to be delivered from their dealer!

I wish wunna would stop spreading rumors that we in debt and at the IMF door begging, when in fact we is Little Dubai!

7. Sometimes it seems as though we ‘scrape the bottom of the barrel just to look for something to complain about.’

It’s unfortunate a fire-truck was destroyed by fire…… the first incident of its kind since the fire service acquired trucks sometime during the 1920s.

Now, responses to this unique occurrence varied from our firemen need to be trained by “few firemen from different countries”……

…… to the truck burned “because of govt stampede to save money.” (What exactly “brought forth this kind of madness?)”

8. John A

To be fair, government vehicles are duty free.

9. RE Sometimes it seems as though we ‘scrape the bottom of the barrel just to look for something to complain about.’

Rather it seems as though we ‘scrape the bottom of the barrel TO EXCEL IN BEING DEFECTIVE DYSFUNCTIONAL DECREPIT DEVIOUS DELINQUENT DEFICIENT DERANGED ETC ETC

10. @Arta

As a taxpayer and a citizen of Barbados the blogmaster has a right like others to ask questions about the incident. It is not enough to sweep in under the rug using your generalization. You would also be aware a report into the matter has been requested by the minister responsible. Let us start from this simple point.

11. The vehicles are duty free but what do the optics say at a time the country has had to suffer a restructure of domestic and foreign debt?

12. This is not only madness but a trickle down effect from the top to the bottom
    Like the buying of electric buses but having no one on the local scene to repair mechanical problems
    The crisp burnt out shell of that fire truck tells a sobering message built on poor training
    Now who is the blame would be the rallying cry

13. @ac

We need to wait for the report asked for by the minister. Although one suspects it will repeat what was already stated by the fire service, there was a change in wind direction that blew trash at the truck.

14. @ David

Never DENIED you or any other ‘taxpayer and citizen of Barbados the right to ask questions.’

Likewise, “as a taxpayer and a citizen of Barbados,” I have a right to ‘voice my opinions’ as well, whether you and anyone else agree or disagree.

A fire truck burning, in MY opinion is a ‘non-issue,’ that’s perhaps being ‘blown out of all proportion,’ simply because some of believe it’s ‘people’s opposition politics.’

Obviously, as with any government property that’s either damaged or destroyed, an investigation into the incident will be conducted and a report written, describing any problems that may have contributed to the fire.

When/if a report is submitted for public scrutiny, what are the next ‘steps?’ Accuse the ‘government’ and fire service of lying because you may not believe or agree with what’s outlined therein?

And, then join the march this coming Sunday?

15. David

it will repeat what was already stated by the fire service, there was a change in wind direction that blew trash at the truck.

xxxc
    Lol now blame the wind
    Then again it would be back to training as different scenarios would present different problems which can arise
    So the wind problem would not meet the accredited test for an excuse
    Proper training would have cover all possibilities and probabilities also certain type of equipment to measure wind speed and direction should or would have been on the truck to provide such necessary information as preventive measure to secure the safety of all involve including the equipment

16. Why do we have to ‘tell lies’ just to create confusion?

UCAL’s mechanics were trained by BYD personnel to repair the electric buses.

17. 4:11

Georgie Porgie the stinking dispensationalist Christian should be the very last.

Jesús Christ man, have you no moral minimum.

This shiiite after you and your rasssoul people are overseeing the most brutal genocide of civilians known to man.

While in the real military fight the resistance groups are giving your pamper-wearing, Zionist cowards a hiding. Uh fecker yuh!

Jesús Christ man, could a foolish religion make an asshole so eponymously inhuman, so deranged.

Today your Zionist criminal people are even destroying food aide destined for the starving Palestinians.

Not a word of contrition from you in seven moths of genocide. Instead you have the unmitigated gall to cuss others, like a criminal running away from a crime scene.

God blind yuh!

18. Artax
    UCAL’s mechanics were trained by BYD personnel to repair the electric buses

So are.the firemen trained to deal with fires
    Repair can be basic or it can have long term and complex issues
    So your comments only tells a story to pacify
    Which begs the question of why some of the buses which are taken off the route for problems have not been repaired

19. Yolande Grant Avatar

Lol. …the pathetic slave mind wont know how to do or saying anything other than the brainwash indoctrination that will DIE OFF SHORTLY..

….as the REAL CHOSEN…who only come in BLACK…. take their rightful place as designed….

Those are death throes for the pathetic…i am happy to witness their useless end.

20. Is this the kind of training that is being spoken of

We did practical and theoretical training in safety and key components, which make up high voltage systems, maintenance procedures, tools and electronics…. This new technology, in addition to changing the way we do business, will also have a positive impact on our environment and will reduce our carbon footprint…. We, the employees of the Transport Board’s Quality Assurance Department, stand ready to do this

2023 Bradshaw said

She admitted that since the diesel bus fleet has been reduced due to the government’s green energy agenda and with several of the electric buses now in need of repairs, challenges are being experienced in adequately servicing various routes across the island.
    Xcccc
    so where are all these qualified mechanical engineers to repair these buses especially in an area where the parts cannot be easily accessed
    Which also begs the question is this why the PM hurriedly ordering new buses

21. @ Artax

Yes i know they are duty free, but had they bought Hyundais, Kias or Toyotas they too would have been duty free and hence half the price of the BMWS duty free.

Plus you could never compare the cost of running a BMW with a Toyota of Nissan. Especially in light of our reputation for maintenance that is seen in many of our vehicle graveyards, like the Transport board BWA and many other ministries.

Finally how can you tell me to tighten my belt while those that work for me (the public sector) are driving around BMWs!

Lead by example not lip service!

22. “So your comments only tells a story to pacify…”

angela cox

You ‘said,’ “Like the buying of electric buses but HAVING NO ONE ON THE LOCAL SCENE to REPAIR mechanical problems.”

My response was “UCAL mechanics (WHO ARE ON THE LOCAL SCENE) were trained by BYD personnel to repair the electric buses,” which simply INVALIDATES your above comment.

Rather than accept the fact that your argument is erroneous, you’ve decided to ‘move the goal post’ to ‘talk’ shiite about “Repair can be basic or it can have long term and complex issues.”

Your comprehension skills are very poor. I’m wondering if English is your second language.

23. Too far down the wicket. A swipe and a miss.

To criticize this fire truck burning incident and the possibility of a truck without water cannot be dismissed as politically motivated talk.

Here, we are talking of first responders making genuine and serious mistakes. As a result, lives can be needlessly lost, property can be burnt those who respond are ‘not prepared’ and can even be harmed. Citizens confidence can be seriously eroded by these mistakes.

This has jumped out of the B or D column and indicate serious issues in this organization.

Notice that my call was only for training as I am concerned about the safety of our firemen. But to be fair reorganization and dismissals should be a part of any action.

24. Here, we are talking of first responders making genuine and serious mistakes. As a result, lives can be needlessly lost, property can be burnt, those who respond are ‘not prepared’ and these responders can even be harmed.

We are not talking of the failure of incompetence of government officials (B/D). We are talking of the failure of those who we expect to protect the public.

It is clear that there is a serious erosion of the preparedness/alert was of these workers. More training is required. In fact, these workers should demand further training .

25. Typo Tuesday
    But I know you can figure it out.

26. Closeted Gangstas.. Avatar
    Closeted Gangstas..

Is BaRBADOS now a “Pop Down” republic compliments of the duopoly?
    We went from ” Fumbles” & the kleptocratic idiots to “Aunty “SLiME” & the Kleptones ?
    This is who we are?
    Mr “Slime” woulld be proud !
    How did we get back here?
    Plantocracy Pimps gone wild .

27. Sir if my sh.ite talk bother your high and mighty intellect scroll on by

On the other hand you stuck your goose neck way past the goal post not wanting to deal with the fact that training does not always cover all areas
    Hence there must be a step towards comprehensive training which can be applicable to every component or issue whereby there is any kind of failure dealing with these electric buses
    Also Most noticeably your one two step hit or miss firearm of insults is old dusty and worn out
    Time for a new one ..repair wouldn’t do lol 😆 😂

28. “so where are all these qualified mechanical engineers to repair these buses especially in an area where the parts cannot be easily accessed….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

angela cox

You’ve proven that your comprehension skills are EXTREMELY poor. I’m wondering if you actually attended school.

Let’s assume UCAL has 100 “qualified mechanical engineers.”

Please explain to BU how could they possibly repair buses if parts are UNAVAILABLE for them to do so…… or, ACCORDING to YOU, “especially in an area where the PARTS CANNOT BE EASILY ACCESSED?”

I remember when Michael Lashley was transport minister, Trinidadian David Bartholomew was hired as a consultant at Transport Board at a salary of $25,000 per month, along with 8 Trinidadian mechanics, to undertake the repair of 200 defective buses.
    The Board’s fleet went from over 115 functional units in operation per day, to 35.

PSV permits were issued ‘willy nilly.’ Rather than buy large buses, TB purchased five (5) Nissan mini buses (BM335 – BM339), which were never used to transport passengers, the remnants of some can be seen ‘rusting out’ at Weymouth.

If Mottley was serious about her ‘red bag,’ Lashley should be therein.

29. @Artax

Are you aware of any report coming out of UCAL if there are issues with satisfying requests for EV parts/inventory? This could reflect on their expertise as well.

Is it a case of lack of funds, poor inventory management?

30. Assumptions are like a ss holes everybody have one
    Not assuming nuttin when taxpayers have to foot bill
    Evidence was presented stating that some of these electric buses have complex problems which cannot be easily fixed
    Stating that Barbados trained individuals in repair of the electric buses is not good enough when govt bought buses at a cost for reliability and when the buses met mechanical failure cannot be fixed because of one reason or another
    Artax your bullying antics never ceases to give a birds eye view of the kind of person you are
    Childlike and immature

31. Last/Last

My friend, you have your opinions, which you seem to believe everyone must accept…… and I have mine.

Comments from certain individuals clearly suggest an agenda that is politically motivated.

In MY opinion, a fire truck burning is a NON-ISSUE. As Hants correctly mentioned, “sheet happens.”

All this shiite talk about ‘training’ is only a knee jerk reaction to an incident we never dreamt of ever happening.
    Despite any amount of training, mistakes can and will happen, as we cannot possibly be prepared for all eventualities.

This is the first incident of its kind since vehicles were introduced to the fire service during the 1920s.
    And, I’m sure it will definitely be a learning experience for BFS hierarchy and addressed accordingly and appropriately.

‘We too like to talk ’bout overseas.’

Mistakes happen with the same overseas firemen, who we want to train our fire-fighters, resulting in them and people being injured or losing their lives, or properties damaged or destroyed by fire as well.

Hawaii News
    Fire truck goes up in flames
    By West Hawaii Today Staff | Wednesday, July 14, 2021, 1 p.m.

https://www.westhawaiitoday.com/2021/07/14/hawaii-news/fire-truck-catches-fire/

Additionally, absent from the ‘Wellington Street’ conversation, perhaps purposely or conveniently, is the fact that a fireman who was there told Marcia Weekes it was nonsense to suggest a fire truck left the station without water and went on to state the procedures.

Heere endeth the Millere his Tale.

🤐🤐🤐🤐

32. @ David

I have several friends who work at UCAL. I was with one of them last week who, in response to me asking about bus repairs, said one of the major problems they’ve been having with TB for years, is the fact that parts are sourced and purchased ONLY when needed.

In other words, TB does not keep an inventory of parts. Awaiting parts is one of the reasons why buses are often off the road for extended periods.

Engineers from BYD were in Barbados to provide UCAL and TB personnel with adequate training to repair the electric buses when they were first purchased.

Go into Weymouth or Mangrove and you’ll see UCAL’s mechanics repairing them.

I mentioned in a previous comment on another thread that those BYD buses were not the best choice for Barbados.
    For example, they don’t have shocks, but something I heard described as ‘air bags,’ which often become defective because of our roads.
    If a windscreen is broken, that bus has to remain off the road until one is imported.

33. Full Hawaii fire truck fire story

along the road.(HNN)
    By HNN Staff
    Published: Jul. 14, 2021 at 1:32 PM HST
    HAWAII ISLAND (HawaiiNewsNow) – A fire engine belonging to the Pohakuloa Training Area caught fire while traveling on Hawaii Island’s Saddle Road Wednesday morning.

A spokesperson says two people in the truck were heading toward Hilo four routine maintenance when the brakes stopped working suddenly. That caused a fire with the break pumps and the truck eventually was 50% engulfed in flames.

Other fire crews responded and used a water and foam mix to get the fire under control.

Officials said no one was injured as the driver and the assistant vehicle commander was able to get out safely

Some people would go.to any length to support incompetence
    Who the hat fits wear it

34. So.the PM orders go ahead and buy more electric buses having full knowledge of the built in mechanical problems that can be a cause of concern when having to be repaired
    What form of incompetence can this be called
    I dare say maniacal

35. Last/Last

@ angela cox

RE: “Evidence was presented stating that some of these electric buses have complex problems which cannot be easily fixed.”

Where is this evidence and when was it presented? Certainly not in your May 14, 2024 at 5:58 pm contribution.

You came to disrupt the discussion about the burnt fire truck with some shiite you probably read on another social media platform about the electric buses, perhaps believing you had a ‘news scoop.’

This is 2024.

I’m NOT going to engage in any further ‘back and forth’ with you.

You’ve proven time and time again that your comprehension and expression skills are very poor.
    You struggle to understand the meaning behind words, phrases and simple sentences, and have difficulty describing actions or events, putting words together in sentences and using grammar correctly.

You read, yet you do not understand what you read.

A few weeks ago you bored this forum with erroneous nonsense about ‘elderly people lining up in long lines to pay taxes,’ when in fact it was the result of people waiting until the ‘last minute’ to file their income tax returns.
    And, despite being ‘told’ you were incorrect, you continued to argue shiite.

Those are FACTS….. NOT insults.

I prefer to be “childlike and immature with bullying antics,” than a semi-literate buffoon such as you.

Heere endeth the Millere his Tale.

🤐🤐🤐🤐

36. @ John A May 14, 2024 at 3:00 pm
    We cant be in no debt. I went to buy 2 wiper blades for the old car this week and saw 5 or more brand new BMWs with ML and MP numbers wating to be delivered from their dealer!
    I wish wunna would stop spreading rumors that we in debt and at the IMF door begging, when in fact we is Little Dubai!
    (Unquote).

Well said, J A!

Are you sure you a just a “lowly shopkeeper” or a man possessed with tonnes of COMMONSENSE?

How can a country saddled with so much debt (borrowed mainly from the international loan-shark) be so ostentatiously stupid?

Why would a country so heavily indebted want to burn borrowed forex in trying to live above its means by importing vehicles totally unsuited for the local terrain?

As Bush Tea would put it: Barbados is behaving like a whore who has sold all she had and has turned into a Bds $5.00 parro who would turn any trick for a hit.

Now where in the 2×3 lilliputian island can these vehicles be driven at the speed recommended by the manufacturers?

What point (or statement) are these government officials and their political masters trying to make while driving on the congested (even if refurbished to pay back election campaigning loans) donkey cart roads at snail pace?

Why are these people paying mere lip service to their express policies regarding economic readjustment and environmental sensitivity?

Why import vehicles capable of being driven at 200 km (and over) when the maximum speed is 80 km on less than 3 stretches of its overburdened road network?

37. Mercedes and BMW’s hold their value whilst the other makes depreciate at a higher price. Lol!

38. Last but last
    Artax yuh struggling to make sense out of incompetence
    Go take your meds

39. Here is another issue that begs for transparency
    Govt gives bare bones Statement on Ferry service starting in August coming out of Barbados

40. The Miller

Weee must disagree with your comment.

That that it’s not logical.

However, the missing ingredient is so obvious that many are overlooking it.

The truth is that nobody cares about debt anymore. In fact, the powers that be are all banking that the system will collapse and none of the so-called debt we be repayable.

Easy come, easy go!

Head of the list is the USA whose nominal national debt will be 50 trillion by 2050. This disregards a range of unfunded liabilities bringing the real figure nearer to 300 trillion.

You would be misguided to operate on the assumption that the local boys don’t know this.

Everybody is playing this same game. And have been for a long while.

Don’t you see them all engaged in an orgy of borrowing?

41. Mercedes and BMW’s hold their value whilst the other makes depreciate at a higher price. Lol!

TLSN

YOU GOT TO BE THE BIGGEST JACKASS ON BU. Lol!

42. What is the point of ordering new buses to boost the fleet and not manage parts inventory? It seems self defeating.

43. Fire truck burns up

A FIRE TRUCK which burnt in the middle of a grass field that was on fire has sparked an investigation.

“There are a lot of questions here that actually need to be answered,” Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams said yesterday at the scene in Locust Hall, St George.

He stood in awe while surveying the damage to the water tender, which had responded to the blaze but ended up being destroyed when the fire apparently got out of control.

“I am going to await a full report to find out exactly what happened before making any formal comment on it,” Abrahams said, while expressing concern for the driver of the tender who was one of four fire officers who responded to the blaze and received minor injuries to his right hand when the vehicle caught on fire.

He was taken for medical treatment.

Acting Chief Fire Officer Henderson Patrick said they received the call about the fire at 10:32 a.m. and at 11:55 a.m. they got a distress call from the officers that the appliance was on fire.

“It was a call for a trash fire in the area of Locust Hall, St George. As you can see, the fire has really ravaged the entire field and the officers, in an attempt to bring the fire under control, met the conditions where the wind would have taken a lot of the trash and blown it in the direction of the fire truck.”

He confirmed that the driver suffered slight burns to his right hand.

“He was in the truck and when the wind blew the trash onto the truck he realised he was in trouble . . . . It is unfortunate that this incident has occurred. It is something that we often guard against because when it does happen, it reduces the capacity that we have. We are already at a stage where these vehicles are ageing and right now we have to give some consideration as to how we are going to manage without the use of this appliance.”

Patrick said the destroyed appliance had been in service for 20 years, adding a new one would cost about $1.5 million.

He admitted that he had never come across a situation in his firefighting career where a fire appliance had been “totally burnt”.

“I’ve had situations where as a result of radiated heat, the front of the truck was singed or the mirror broken. It squeezes the resources which we have at present. We are in the process of enhancing our fleet but we don’t have those resources at hand so it would put an additional strain on the service,” he said.

Abrahams said attempts will be made to expedite the delivery of three appliances slated to arrive later this year.

“Three appliances are on the way. They are due to be delivered some time later this year but we would probably see if we could get them in even faster.”

The minister also said the resources of the Barbados Fire Service to respond to emergencies will be depleted as a result of the burnt appliance.

“Luckily we are awaiting the arrival of some new fire appliances which were ordered before and to supplement the fleet, but we still gonna have to replace this once. My concern right now is to check on the officers to make sure everybody is good.”

(MB)

44. @ Miller

Listen I only saw 5 or so when there, but it would be interesting to know how many BMWs have been purchased by the state for the year. What i saw was SUVs and 4 door saloons, but God knows what else was due for delivery.

Why on a 21×14 size rock with more cartroads posing as roads than real roads, would a government who preaches the spending of Fx must occur with caution, spend such foolish money? What will a BMW do that a Toyota or Nissan or Hyundai cant do? As for holding their value better that is far from the truth. Check what a five year old BMW sells for here in comparision with its purchase price. Same for Range Rover and Mercedes.

If you want to preach to me then lead by example. Why buy such luxury vehicles for civil servants to drive, when we ass in debt up to we eyeballs? I also saw a new Ford Raptor pick up with government numbers on it. Could Christ wunna had to buy the top of the line most expensive one you could find there too? Nobody dont tell me them get it duty free either cause they could of a get a base model Great Wall or something similar duty free for half the price!

Right I done talk.

45. One cannot just look at this as a firetruck burning and ignore the fact that trucks were dispatched to fires without water. These instances are similar to the idiot light of a car turning on.

Of course, one can ignore the idiot light and drive around but at some stage the engine will stop working.

This could result in the death of John Public, of firemen or the destruction of property. Do we need to see a next truck burn to figure out that the idiot light is on and has been on for quite some time.

Firemen lives matter. This is not a political matter. Fire does not know party.

Train the men. Protect our firemen.

—x—
    Of greater concern to me is the collapse of our fire fighting capabilities. I naturally assumed that the Fire Service would be the last system to fail. After all, fire is fire and we have been fighting fire for hundred of years. Science has added greatly to our ability to fight fires.

Does this collapse of the fire service signals that all our services/systems are in need of repair? Is Barbados of 2024 worse off than Barbados of 1981 (when I left and when our firemen could extinguish a fire)? Do we have any idea of the true state of our nation?

I am concerned. Did our nation fall to pieces and we failed to notice it?

46. David
    May 14, 2024 at 9:43 pm
    1 Vote

What is the point of ordering new buses to boost the fleet and not manage parts inventory? It seems self defeating

…….

Manical

47. @John A

The government will probably say that to make packages for certain jobs attractive the cars are necessary perks of the job or the government will not be able to attract persons to certain jobs.

48. @ David

Is that right, well i hope all that driving them are declaring and paying the income tax on them that all of us in the private sector have to pay BRA for the benefit of a company car.

In other words every year a company director or anyone with a company car must add to their taxable income 10% of the purchase price with Vat duty etc included of the vehicle they drive. They then pay tax on their taxable income inclusive of this benefit.

Of course that only applies to us their employees and whipping horses for BRA. If you want an example of DO AS I SAY NOT AS I DO there is none clearer than this one.