It would be a dereliction of BU’s commitment to public duty if no mention was made of the continuing lack of access by our young people to adequate stadia. Ministers of Sports have come and gone with very little done to implement a comprehensive strategic plan for youth and sports in Barbados, including adequate physical facilities.

As a reminder here are two points extracted from the 2018 BLP Manifesto.

Facilitate the establishment of Barbados as a
leading destination for sports tournaments, sports
science, injury rehabilitation and training camps…
Create a new model for the governance and
administration of sports in Barbados, including
repositioning the Ministry of Sports with a new
Sports Development Act to better facilitate the
development of sports as a true economic earning
sector.

2018 BLP Manifesto
Minister of Sports, Charles Griffith

Who recalls former Minister Stephen Lashley floating the idea of collecting $10.00 from willing Barbadians to assist with the reconstruction of the national stadium? That feeble appeal occurred in 2017 no doubt an election gimmick. The 2018 DLP Manifesto does not make significant mention of any proposals centred around youth and sports. Fast forward to 2024 where our best young athletes have to stage school sports day on cow pastures.

With the spotlight on the 2024 Olympics looming in August, Barbadians will have to be satisfied with hailing for the Jamaicans and Bahamians. There is local girl Sade Williams who has had to retreat to Jamaica and elsewhere to hone her skills, who all things being equal, could reach the 400m finals in August.

One has to admit tiny countries like Barbados lack the resources to support world class sports programs. However, sports in this age affords the opportunity for young people to win scholarships overseas in several disciplines. Being able to imbue our citizens, especially the youth, with a sense of opportunity is important to its national well being.

The sports and youth ministry has traditionally been given to a junior minister. The day this arrangement changes discerning Barbadians will know the government of the day is serious. A majority of us only recognize the contribution sports make when it touches our household or a global sports event pops up on the calendar. Otherwise, many remain ambivalent to the idea government should focus on economic priorities given scarce financial resources.

On any occasion the blogmaster has reason to travel along the ‘Stadium Road’ located adjacent to Botanical Gardens, one has to admit it maybe an accurate reflection of what the future has in store.

51 responses to “Sports neglect”

1. * Random stuff

Faith Forum Question: Does God determine the outcome of sporting events?

(*) I think not as football betting is unpredictable in my experience

We asked our panel of religious leaders the above question:

Muslim:
    GOD KNEW
    Allah created this universe and subjected it to His overriding power, will and knowledge. From the Islamic point of view, man is not completely a master of his fate; nor a mere puppet. Allah created man and gave him limited power and great freedoms, including the freedom of choice. It is because of this freedom, man is held accountable for his actions.
    Man’s freedom exists under the control of Allah and within His knowledge. For example, man has no choice in getting sick, but he has a choice in seeking the appropriate treatment or not. Yet, his choice was already known to Allah [Quran 6:59]. With this in mind, Allah knew the winner of the Sporting Event before the game even started, but it was the hard work, skills and coordination of the winning team which made them succeed in securing the championship.

Roman Catholic:
    GOD HAS GREATER CONCERNS!
    God does not care about the Sporting Event, at least in my humble opinion. The Father’s great concern is that all people experience his divine saving love. Therefore in love the Son was sent to reveal the extent of this love. Therefore the Holy Spirit comes always to help us grow in love.

The Trinity’s desire and interest is in how are we loving others. Are we forgiving one another? Are we looking out for others? Are we compassionate, merciful, generous?

Football and any sports can be a part of this expression of love, but is not the goal of love. So sorry to say, it ultimately doesn’t matter who wins or not.

Buddhist
    EVERYBODY WINS
    All events in the universe are interconnected, even the Sporting Events. The myriad causes and conditions that contribute to its outcome are really unfathomable in number. Truly everything is part of that outcome and so everything determines the outcome.

In the Flower Garland Sutra, Buddha describes Indra’s Net, teaching of myriad links between all beings in the universe, “Each shining jewel reflecting every other jewel in an infinite net of interreflection.” While there is no overlording-decider of the universe, the vast oneness of the Dharmakaya does make things so. And this applies to us as well. We are but the flowing together of this everythingness. We are part of everything. No teams. No self. No mine. No yours. No winning. No losing. It is a wonderful nurturing vastness, an ocean of interconnections where our spiritual journey plays out.

American Indian spirituality
    WE, THE SPORTING EVENT LOSERS
    In my opinion, the Creator does not determine Sporting Event winners…far from it. Considering every essential function of nature and the vastness of universe —the Sporting Event is the perfect archetype; of waste and distraction collectively entertained, nationally, at one time. The Creator is probably more invested in all the starving and homeless people around the world, than our entertainment.

If those who benefit, were to annually redirect Sporting-Event-type of resources to remedy one national crisis e.g. homelessness, mental illness, poverty, discrimination, racial inequality, deforestation and the utilization of fossil fuels, etc., as much as, they prepare for a Sporting Event; imagine the tangible results we would see in every community in America.

The wealthy retain their status. The athletes get rich. But the rest of America indulges the process: by spending frivolously, over-eating processed foods, binge drinking alcohol, and gambling. In my opinion, this is not the Creators work.

Jewish
    DIVINE PROVIDENCE
    “From G-d’s dwelling, G-d supervises all the inhabitants of the Earth.” (Psalm 33:14). Divine Providence (divine supervision over everything happening in the universe and over each individual) is generally accepted, but our Sages dispute its extent. Some Sages say that everything occurs only due to G-d’s will. This would include even minor things like the way a leaf moves in the wind. The appearance of cause and effect is an illusion. G-d is responsible.

On the other hand, others say things happen only due to cause and effect. Under that philosophy, the Team won because of the team’s work ethic, focus, practice and The Coach/Managers expertise since human effort yields positive results.

For many people, the answer to this question is somewhere between either viewpoint. In other words, the team must put forth adequate effort and work, and there must also be help from G-d for them to ultimately succeed.

Greek Orthodox
    GOD DOESN’T EVEN WATCH THE SPORTING EVENT
    Whereas every year, each football team sets out to win the Sporting Event, God’s interest in human affairs has a much broader, greater and eternal purpose. His purpose for you and I mean union in Christ, i.e. a new creation, which is the Church of God. So while God desires the “salvation of all”, teams desire to win the Sporting Event.

But the trophy isn’t about union in Christ; it isn’t a part of God’s pre-eternal plan. And although His desire “for all” to be saved is a reference to a people and not so much to individuals, we can’t honestly identify God’s ‘Chosen People’ with any particular team. His Chosen are those who love Him, and “for those who love God all things work together for good”. Perhaps “all things” may include playing football; however God isn’t in business with the Sporting Event.

Baha’i faith
    (The Baháʼí Faith is a religion founded in the 19th century that teaches the essential worth of all religions and the unity of all people.)
    WE HAVE SELF DETERMINATION
    All the sacred scriptures of the great Faiths describe God as omnipotent. In other words, God is all-powerful. Therefore, it is said that God has “dominion” over heaven and earth. Is this power restricted to God and God alone? In the absolute sense, yes. In a very relative sense, however, each of us has limited dominion over our own lives. God grants us this power with the gift of free will. The Sporting Event falls into the latter category of free will and self-determination. In sports, success is determined by those who have prepared themselves with mental and physical toughness, hard work, belief and focus. In Sporting Events, there is the need for individual preparedness and then the ability to bring together this individual development into a cohesive team effort with an unshakable desire to win. How we develop and employ our God given talents determines the outcome.

Christian:
    WE ARE NOT PUPPETS
    God does not “determine” who wins the Sporting Event. The Bible teaches that God gives human beings the capacity to make decisions. This is the primary determiner of the Sporting Events’s outcome. Players and coaches make decisions to pass, run, block and kick…and a myriad of other decisions….all of which determine the outcome of the game.

If God were to determine the outcome of events like the Sporting Events it would reduce humankind to mere puppets on a string without any capacity for self-determination. This would not only make life capricious and meaningless…it would also make God the author of evil since he would not only control events like the Sporting Event, but everything else including the Holocaust in Nazi Germany and the Killing Fields in Cambodia.

But God is not the author of evil. Evil exists because of Satan, the broken world system and the evil choices people make.

Philosophy/religion professor
    GOD’S PICK
    The God of Judaism, Christianity and Islam is a supreme being. Theologians understand such as all-powerful, all knowing and all good. Consider the notion of a being that is all knowing. He could never be surprised by anything that occurs, because He has always known that it was going to occur. Unlike most People of The Teams Nationalities, God presumably always knew Sporting Event would go into overtime. Aquinas saw God as simultaneously existing in time and outside of time, looking down upon the flow of human events. But the traditional view is also that God is active in human history, such as in parting the Red Sea for the Jews. As the creator of everything, presumably God had to select which possible world to create, and selected the one in which the A-Team defeated the B-Team. In that sense God, if He exists as traditionally conceived, did determine the Sporting Event winner.

2. William Skinner Avatar

How can we develop any broad sports plan when we can’t even maintain one national stadium. Those perusing the sports pages in the newspapers recently , would have seen primary school children, competing in races, where it appeared that some of the grounds needed , such basic attention, as simply cutting the grass.
    We can’t even do that ?

3. 100% correct William.

Vision is the responsibility of LEADERS.

Where there is no vision, the people in sports will continue to suffer.

There are some people in position of leadership in sport in Barbados who have hidden in plain sight for decades now, …with poor results, poor planning, lack of activities, and absolutely zero vision.
    All the while somehow managing to spend millions of dollars of lotto funds, government grants, international grants – all without ANY oversight, accountability, transparency or consequences.

This must be a cozy position to occupy….

No wonder our athletes ONLY have a chance if they retreat overseas…
    No wonder our school children are forced to risk sprained ankles on cow fields.

Countries that DEMAND results from leaders (OR ELSE!!) are countries where the people benefit from the best that life has to offer.

Brass bowls tend to accumulate shaving cream.

4. I you won’t ban 555
    …at least wipe up some of the shaving cream nuh…

5. How can we promote the island as a sports destination and our one and only stadium is an eyesore? We refuse to hold the politicians accountable for publishing these pie in the sky ‘social contracts’ which they gleefully claim are never binding.

@Bush Tea

This is years the blogmaster has tried to get players from the netball, BOA, BFA, BCA to address some – on or off the record- some of the malfeasance that occurs in these associations. However, we know they are highly politically, BFA is controlled by FIFA, BCA by a handful loyal to a few dark shadows, netball is a one or two man show and it goes on.

The grassroots members are disengaged therefore a few are allowed to run amok. The executives of these organizations can only improve if membership awake from the slumber.

6. Julien Alfred storms to historic gold for Saint Lucia | World Indoor Championships Glasgow 24

Dominican triple jumper wins gold.

https://www.cbc.ca/player/play/2313930819700

7. All countries are at the final stage of preparing for the August Olympics and in Barbados our young athletes are running on dirt. How does this compare to CHAMPS in Jamaica? We fool ourselves that we can replicate what happens there here.

8. The Bu National Anthem is “When Will Better Come”

[Chorus]
    Look what we do fe dem
    Look ‘pon de thanks we get
    Look what we do fe dem
    Look ‘pon de thanks we get
    What an ungrateful set of, to dem

[Verse 1]
    Sometimes we no drink tea
    Just to help out situation
    Sometimes we no drink tea
    Just fi clean up your pollution

[Verse 2]
    The one who shit the road, no remember it
    But the one who clean the shit, mus’ remember it
    Too much overload, ol’ house a tumble dung
    Throw me corn around, ol’ house a tumble dung

9. @ David,
    Barbados is already a sporting destination. We have horse racing, golf, motor racing, etc. All three receive copious funding from beleaguered Barbados taxpayers.

10. @ David,
    I could say more, however you and the Dub man will call me out in a negative light.

11. @TLSN

There is no doubt a lot of what occurs in Barbados is linked to a pervasive culture of , greed, classism, corruption not an exhaustive list. In Barbados it seems we have reached a point where the oppressed many (majority Blacks) are starting, albeit slowly, to push back. All that happens is linked to a culture where a 3-percenter is in firm control and power, this is interlaced with who controls the money.

12. Citizens with money are in a position to self finance therefore they have no interest to support a public agenda to implement a youth and sports program. Our governments must come to the realization that a relevant youth and sports program is a prerequisite for the good health of the nation. Our youth must feel recognized in a material way.

13. NOW THAT OZ’s SUPREME COURT HAS RULED THAT COVID VACCINE MANDATES WERE #Unlawful – WILL THE US SUPREME COURT FOLLOW SUIT & WHAT DOES THAT PORTEND FOR ALL NATIONS AROUND THE WORLD & THE LEGAL FALLOUT FOR THE SICK, INJURED & DEAD???

14. CORRECT VIDEO

15. Found the following which purports to be a national youth policy.

https://faolex.fao.org/docs/pdf/bar164889.pdf

16. Competitive sport is a spectator sport.

Barbados should focus more on providing sport facilities for exercising for good health as a lifestyle for everyone at all levels and ages.
    The specialist sports could build up from a strong and healthy foundation.

17. @ David
    “Found the following which purports to be a national youth policy.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    …But did you find out what it COST (ie what some persons RECEIVED) for producing that impressive document?
    It was obvious from that process (as it is from the flying fish stadium,) that these are mere promises “designed to comfort brass bowls”, rather than serious infrastructural and social initiatives.

18. @Bush Tea

You know the answer.

19. ‘I could say more, however you and the Dub man will call me out in a negative light.’

Don’t give in to bullying. There was a time I couldn’t mention Koochiekoo without being call racist. Good or bad mention, 000 would put aside his bong and come after me. That did not stop me

20. @Theo

You couldn’t resist making that comment instead of contributing to the topic? Aren’t we mature people here?

21. If you don’t have anything to contribute to the blog please read until you do. Do not let this escalate.

22. I’m observing the observer
    from the place within
    of joy peace bliss
    which is me

Beyond Comprehension
    [Verse 1]
    Expanding the depth of your brainpower
    Ours is a better gift, not to be bragging nor lollygagging
    I can see dimensions of sound and light around my mic
    Transmitting lyrics like teletype
    Reacting to a beat in a whisper
    And like a transistor, I’m sounding dope when I’m crisper
    The shortest length between two points is a straight line

Awareness is key, our people have strong needs
    Science, math, history, theology
    Philosophy, psychology, English and biology
    Et cetera, and all of these have a purpose
    But genocide makes me nervous
    So many questions, many opinions to mention
    And damn… this jam’s beyond comprehension

[Verse 2]
    Like planets in orbit, we ride the life cycle
    Some take a rifle on the street ’cause it seems neat
    Whatever turns you on I guess, that’s why vests are in season
    I’ll do my show then I’m leavin’
    I’d rather be blastin’ dope sounds on the other side of town
    Than be there when they close the place down
    But anyway, everyday, there’s another way
    For a person to just flip, so a brother may
    Simply go buckwild, get crazy and mad
    I know the struggle my father had
    Poetry it comes from within, and will always win
    Hold captive bodies from end to end
    And at a party, I’ll survey then slay with the quickness
    Displaying the fitness
    Easing the mind and relieving the tension
    And singing my own song, that’s beyond comprehension

23. How can Randy Harris in all seriousness continue to be president of the BFA as we continue to fall in FIFA rankings? The same occurred when Ronald Jones was allowed to continue as president of the BFA while a minister? Are we running a pappyshow or what!

24. Level Playing Field for Sports
    Perhaps Caribbean should be 1 nation, with local Governments for each Island.

The current population of the United States of America is 341,223,461,
    the current population of Caribbean is 44,797,172,
    as of Monday, March 4, 2024, based on the latest United Nations estimates.

25. David

You, Tyra, Ronnie(wh)O and other operatives of the Dems are either out to mislead the public or don’t read enough before spouting. What does this article say?
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/11/22/no-new-track-at-national-stadium-for-start-of-2024-athletic-season/

Few months ago accessing a loan to upgrade a facility for a sport that easily produces the highest earning athletes in Barbados was criticised. Now you’re preaching “Sports neglect”. Cricket musse a hobby. Everyday the contradiction and hypocrisy is in plain sight. A new netball stadium, national stadium and a track at Wildey are all imminent. Tek it light. If you read more, you’d know this too.

26. @Enuff

Is this the best you can come up with? Is this blog only about a rh track?

27. There is a phrase in Barbados called “Making Sport” which in UK translates to “Taking the Piss”

There may be a mindset issue with Sport and Piss that is negative.

28. Positive thinking for the Mind Body Soul connection.
    Establish a Healthy Foundation.
    Team Sport – DLP and BLP should both try to improve the nation,
    instead of playing a game of Attack Versus Defense tactics.

29. David

My comment was only about a track? My main point is that when you write give a full report. Failing to do so, I will. A track don’t fall out the sky! My point stands, oppose an upgrade to Kensington one day and talk about “sports neglect” another day.

30. @Enuff

When the blogmaster writes it is to focus on the systemic issue. In this case, successive governments have not been committed to implementing and operationalizing a relevant youth and sports program. It can be seen in our results over the years.

31. I am simply asking for the whole picture. You can’t be analysing a systemic issue and ignore the current attempt to deliver a new stadium. You can’t cuss the upgrade of Kensington with infrastructure that can contribute to “operationalizing a relevant youth and sports program” now come and champion youth and sports programmes. Unless sport is just for mekkin sport in your view.

32. @Enuff

Nobody in this space has ignored the plan to construct a new stadium. The majority view is that we should not be in the current state because it is a neglected sector and in addition, we have had to process too many promises about construction of a new stadium and even mini stadia. We are out to all with the empty promises and we want a stadium that is part of a youth and sports system.

33. “……You can’t be analysing a systemic issue and ignore the current attempt to deliver a new stadium…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    RU4Real Enuff?

Current attempt to deliver new stadium shiite!!

If we gave marks for ‘past and current attempts’, then successive governments of Barbados would be BOSSES!!

Inter alia….
    Attempts to develop landfill at Greenland
    Attempts to build CAHILL solid waste management plant
    Attempts to reform eddykashun – by removing the DEMOCRATIC 11+ exam
    Attempts to reform legislation on every shiite
    Attempts to introduce compulsory Covid MNRA therapy
    Attempts to force chipped ID cards on Citizens
    Attempts to solicit illegal info from innocent school children
    Attempts to build 30 new stadia..

As we all know, these and other ‘attempts’ have essentially come to nothing… except for millions handed to consultants and ‘finders fees’.

So your point about ‘current attempt to deliver a stadium’ is worth exactly what again…?

Can we hear of some promises that HAVE BEEN DELIVERED as promised?
    …or were they all just intended as a ‘comfort to a brass bowl’?

34. BSACC going full steam at HC grounds then?

35. Enjoy.

Combermere lead both Boys & Girls at BSSAC

36. Let us give thanks for small mercies.

BSSAC back on track

By Kenmore Bynoe

The Barbados Secondary Schools Athletic Championships (BSSAC)

are a definite go after the organising committee confirmed yesterday that the track at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex will be ready for their March 18 and 19 semi-finals.

That assurance came from co-chair of the committee, Sonja Goodridge, who said they received the positive word from the University of the West Indies (UWI) along with photos of the completely laid track. She added that UWI said the marking of the track would take place within a couple of days.

Yesterday, the BSSAC committee briefed the media on the status of the track aspect of the championships while the field events were ongoing in their third and final day at Harrison College’s Obadele Thompson Sports Complex, Crumpton Street.

“It is my pleasure today to indicate that I have been kept abreast of the work by the management at the Usain Bolt Complex. Dr [Rudolph] Alleyne, head of the sports department, reached out to us at every turn to allay our fears, which he did not have to do.

“As to our last conversation held yesterday [Wednesday], the track has been laid, which is great news, and he assured me that the lines would be put in today. It will take some time, but Dr Alleyne has two crews working and he believes that within the next few days all will be completed,” said Goodridge.

Co-chair Andrew Brathwaite added that BSSAC needed to be executed within a particular time frame and as a committee they had to make adjustments to stay within their time frame and ensure there was no interference with the other activities scheduled for the students.

Adjustment

According to second meet director, Dorian Best, the adjustment will see the semi-finals taking place on March 18 and 19 and, following a rest day on March 20, the finals will be staged on March 21 and 22.

“Last year we had three zones and this year we were intending to hold two zones. That would have allowed eliminations, thus advancing 24 athletes. This year we will not have zone championships. Therefore, instead of having two competitors per school in the track event, we will have one competitor, allowing us 24 athletes for the semi-final stage,” Best said.

“Any decision will have some alternate views but the meeting held with the physical education teachers saw an overwhelming support for the changed format. We do not believe we have affected the quality of our competition, as we will be taking 24 of the best track athletes across all of our schools,” he added.

Brathwaite said they were staging a schools’ competition and not a CARIFTA Games or a Saturday competition and that his committee came up with the best possible working scenario to give all schools a chance to compete.

“I think that it is important that because of the unique situation we face this year that we operate like this. Certainly, we will not be coming back to you next year to say it is one athlete per event. We are trying our best to make it work for the schools and the athletes,” he said.

“While work was taking place at Usain Bolt, there were suggestions to starting the meet on grass but the coaches were adamant that they were not going to participate in zonal meets on grass.”

Tickets will go on sale from Monday at Duty Free Barbados and Esso Black Rock. Tickets for the semi-finals are $10 and for the finals $20 and $25. All students must secure their tickets from their respective schools.

37. Seems like egg all over your face again. Imma sit back and watch because I like tuh use Google tho not to simply cut and paste. By the way, I’ve said it before prior to 2018 and I’ll say it again that I don’t believe in any national youth policy. Every policy ought to be youth policy! What our policymakers need to be doing in formulating policy is assessing each policy, project and programme in a way that ensures vulnerable groups are not disadvantaged–youth, elderly, disabled, LGBTQ+ etc. Talk of a national youth policy is antiquated thinking.

38. @Enuff

When was the following presented for public consumption?

“By prioritising Sports and Physical activities.

We will complete the National Sports Policy and Sports Development Act.

We will complete the re-development of the Barbados National Stadium and the creation of 15 mini stadia across the island.

We will transform the National Sports Council and make school sports competitions, elite youth athletics development (including E-sports) and community physical activities major tasks of the government. We will invest and facilitate the development of a cricket economy. “

https://barbadosyouth.com/

39. @ David
    You are punching below the belt..!!

How can you expect to hold Enuff accountable for empty promises made to the youth of Barbados by political parasites?

Now, for Enuff’s CRIME of defending the indefensible…
    ..punch on muh brother!!

40. angry youth at Parkinson school. student beaten and stabbed by 3 other students.

Just heard it on VoB929 news.

41. @Enuff

Call for Sports Development Act

DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER Santia Bradshaw says Government ought to go the route of implementing legislation to govern the way businesses and individuals can financially contribute to sports projects across Barbados.

Speaking during the Estimates Debate during the continuation of the examination of the expenditure for the Ministry of Sports, Bradshaw explained that this type of legislation provides the legal framework for the incentivising of those who wish to financially support these projects.

“I feel the time has come for us to not just have a national policy on sports, but we also need to have a Sports Development Act as well, to be able to govern the incentives that are necessary for corporate entities, individuals and charities, who may want to identify with a particular project in their community and be able to support that by way of financial support,” Bradshaw said.

Lot of opportunities

“I believe that there are lots of opportunities out there for corporate entities and individuals to be able to support the programmes of the Ministry of Sports. As we move towards having the actual legislation, what may be needed is a dedicated officer who starts to look at the types of projects that could be of interest to people wanting to invest in communities,” she added.

The minister explained that the volume of projects was such that it was too much for Government to undertake on its own.

“We have a number of people in the diaspora who are interested in giving back to Barbados. Volunteerism is another area that could also be used to identify projects that may be of interest to people. There is no way that we can achieve the wish list that we all have in this space for the development and future development of sports in this country,” she said.

(CLM)

42. “Youth cricket academy, road tennis federation in the works

Barbados will soon have a junior youth cricket academy, while plans are in the works for the establishment of an international road tennis federation to help promote the island’s indigenous sport.
    Word of this has come from Minister of Sport, Youth, and Community Empowerment, Charles Griffith, and Sports Development Officer, Stephen Rowe, who both spoke during Tuesday’s continuing Estimates debates.
    Griffith said under the comprehensive National Sports Policy which was revealed in 2023, cricket had been outlined as one of the key disciplines that will receive renewed support from the government.
    To that end, a new junior academy will be established to help revitalise local cricketing talent.
    “We have identified cricket as one of the core areas that we will focus on in terms of monetizing cricket, using those icons who reside on the island, to ensure that we can benefit in a significant way from what they would have done in the past,” Griffith said.
    “Very soon you will see the launch of a junior cricket academy at the old headquarters for the National Sports Council, where we have five cricket pitches that are being prepared for that particular project. We are also looking to purchase some of the best bowling machines [for] that location,” he said.
    “This academy is predominantly for our young people. We would not stop a cricketer who would want to come and get in some net practice from using the facilities, but that particular location is being engaged as the incubator for cricket on the island. Those interested in being involved in cricket at a serious level, that cricket academy at Blenheim will facilitate all of the training that is required,” the minister added.
    Griffith also stated that additional services will be provided through the academy to better help develop the country’s young athletes.
    “I keep having to mention this; we are not only looking at going into the nets and being able to bowl and bat, but things like financial literacy and media awareness, all of these will be embedded in the programme in terms of that holistic development of the youngsters who will be participating at the cricket academy at Blenheim.
    Meanwhile, Rowe said Government was looking to set up a road tennis federation to signal its seriousness about the sport’s development.
    He said initial discussions through the Barbados Olympic Association have been held with the International Olympic Committee to determine the way forward in elevating the profile of the sport.
    Rowe said a stringent path had been outlined which included becoming affiliated with the Alliance of Independent Recognised Members of Sports, which looks after the governing bodies that are not yet on the Olympic agenda.
    He said those discussions were “advanced”.
    His comments came in response to a question from member of Parliament for St Andrew Dr Romel Spinger, who asked what was being done with regard to road tennis development.
    Rowe acknowledged that Barbados had already drafted a constitution, bylaws and looked at copyright specifications and trade marks in preparation for elevating the sport.
    “If we can establish the International Road Tennis Federation then it says, not only to Barbados and our communities, but to the world that we are serious about road tennis.
    “There are quite a few countries that have come on board and are looking to us for guidance and they are eagerly awaiting the establishment of that international road tennis federation,” Rowe added.
    Griffith also outlined some of what the ministry was doing to raise the sport’s profile and outreach.
    He revealed that to date more than 380 road tennis courts across the island have been painted including the facilities at several schools. (SB/SP)”

Source: BT

43. Listen to this paper argument.

Lashley hits back at Griffith

Stephen Lashley, a former minister of culture, sports and youth, has taken exception to statements made by Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment Charles Griffith.

He said that during the Estimates Debate this week, Griffith accused the 2008 to 2018 Democratic Labour Party Government of only having organised the David Thompson Football Tournament

and the Silver Hill Road Tennis Competition

for the youth.

However, Lashley said Griffith, who was a youth commissioner in his ministry, “had to function every day he worked there to achieve the ambitious but necessary targets of the National Youth Policy” formulated under his direction.

“He of all people ought to know of the significant achievements of the ministry under the said National Youth Policy, among which were the establishment of the first and only Youth Empowerment Centre at Silver Hill, Christ Church, with funding from the Maria Holder Memorial Trust . . . .

“[There was] the provision of incentives and funding to the creative sector through the passage into law of the Cultural Industries Development Act; the establishment of Endless Possibilities – a highly successful job placement programme for youth, and the successful implementation of 227 community projects within the Youth Development Programme (YDP) between the period 2011 and 2016,” Lashley said.

He also cited the establishment of 108 youth-led businesses that generated 119 new full-time jobs under an expanded Youth Entrepreneurial Scheme (YES), with 24 businesses on the YES accounting service contributing to the generating of $16 million in income.

The Senior Counsel pointed to a draft Report On The Achievements of the Ministry of Culture, Sports & Youth, 20132018, which he said he still intended to publish and offer as a point of reference for Griffith, “especially when he speaks in Parliament”.

He referred to the expansion of the country’s only indigenous sport of road tennis through the hosting of a national interparish tournament, the Silver Hill Tournament, the first World Tournament, the targeted introduction of the game to the Caribbean and the rest of the world, and the launch of the World Road Tennis Federation.

Along with that, Lashley said, was the setting up of the National Youth Parliament as a means of inculcating political awareness, leadership and understanding of governance issues, and the establishment of a National Sports Policy “which is still being used by the current Government”.

He counted the designation of Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison on the prestigious World Heritage List, and the refurbishment of the Gymnasium at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex with grant funding of about $19 million from the Chinese government. ( AC)

44. Looks as if people also lose their memory after an election
    “However, Lashley said Griffith, who was a youth commissioner in his ministry, “had to function every day he worked there to achieve the ambitious but necessary targets of the National Youth Policy” formulated under his direction.

“He of all people ought to know of all people ought to know … ”

There will be no recovery when people have convenient gaps in their memories

45. All commentators at BASAC explaining why times in various events are far off the record. The unavailability of proper track conditions. A pox on government and administrators.