Solutions Barbados
Submitted by Dr. Grenville Phillips II

Sixty years before our Independence in 1966, there were several black-owned businesses established in Barbados, many of which operated in Roebuck Street in Bridgetown [1]. However, once the owners died, the businesses normally closed shortly thereafter. This difficult conversation describes this black man’s curse.

Black-owned business owners tended to use their profits to educate their children. But their educated children did not then work in their parents’ business to make it more profitable. Instead, they worked to improve the profits of other companies – thus denying benefits to the business that supported them by diverting their talents elsewhere.

GENERATIONAL WEALTH.

Generational wealth may be sustained by: (i) parents starting and growing a business, (ii) their children working in the business and eventually managing it, and (iii) their grandchildren working in the business and eventually managing it.

The type of business the parents start is not important. What is important is that every generation understands the plan. Parents who have been employed for 10 years should have developed the discipline to start a side-business that their children can work in. Parents who offer professional services should encourage their children to pursue the profession of at least one parent.

NO REGRETS.

It should be clarified that there is no right or wrong career path. Our children are free to choose their own path of study and work for any business they choose – or they may start their own business. The point is that this path may not sustain generational wealth.

I have no regrets of choosing the way of Engineering. However, I sometimes wonder what would have happened had my father encouraged me to pursue a career in financial services before I attended university. It is likely that someone else would be doing the work that I now do, and I would have joined him in his business.

THE FAMILY BUSINESS.

There are many benefits of children following the career choices of their parents. A parent may spend over a decade building a good reputation with many satisfied clients. Children who work in the family business get to stand on the ‘shoulders’ of their parents who have already done most of the ‘heavy lifting’. These children then get to grow the family business.

Other ethnic groups seem to have no problem working in their family’s businesses. But the black man seems to prefer starting on his own, at the bottom, with no clients, far behind their peers in other ethnic groups who joined their family businesses.

Our black students frequently complain that employers want employees with work experience. Had their parents started a family business, they could have gotten this experience.

BREAKING THE CURSE.

How do we as a people break this curse? I have no idea. I did not follow my father’s career and my son did not follow mine – despite my best efforts. However, I will give some thoughts for consideration.

The parent’s career may not appeal to the child. The child may be musically inclined and have no interest in studying say, accounting. However, the child should understand that pursuing accounting is to pay the bills and fund the development of any talent the child may wish to pursue. When the hobby can also pay the bills, then they may switch careers.

I believe that every black child can: (i) graduate from school, (ii) start at the bottom and enjoy a very successful career in any field, and (iii) build a house, raise a family and educate their children. That is a blessing not a curse. The curse is that the black man is content to do only that so that when he dies, his business normally dies with him.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com
[1] Carter, H. (2016). Resisting Hegemony: Black Entrepreneurship in Colonial Barbados, 1900-1966. Business and Economic History, Vol.14.

57 responses to “The Black Man’s Curse”

1. Grenville

You are over 100 years out of date.

James Alsop Lynch was in business since 1859, 107 years before independence.

He is described as a Free Coloured Person.

His father was Free Negro James Richard Lynch born in 1809 and his mother Free Coloured Woman born in 1804.

The father of FN James Richard Lynch was Hamlet Lynch, born in 1782 and described as a Free Person of Colour.

https://www.genealogieonline.nl/mcdonald-family-site/I644292.php

So how did this black family get its freedom long before emancipation?

Quakers!!

Where did this black family get its business ethic?

Quakers!!

There is alot more to creating a successful business than meets the eye.

Go look at successful family businesses and do the genealogy.

I can trace mine right back to slaves, Free negroes and Free Coloureds in the 19th and 18th century.

My Grandfather was coloured and he was in business from 1939 as a sole proprietor.

He formed first a Tenancy in Common in 1948 and then the Tenants in Common incorporated Kingsland Estates Limited in 1958, 99 years after James A Lynch, a free coloured person started his business.

It is far more complicated than you make out, and yet simple to understand if you get it.

2. Your foundation is week so the edifice you have built will collapse!!

There is alot more than colour to be considered.

3. “Black Man’s Curse” is someone else defining each individual “Black Man” (plus each Woman and Child) and their collective “Curse” and is a loaded subject.
    At an existential and spiritual level, quality is more important than quantity in a rigged game of capitalism, work life, global wealth inequality, racism and classism.

The subject that should be pursued instead is “The Black Man’s Blessing”

4. To get the ball rolling with the thread takeover of a “Black Man’s Blessings” to chase away the negative and bring in the positive. I would say it is an Open Book, life mission and purpose, why each one is here in this time. Everything is everything regarding spirituality.

the bobo dread Sizla Kolonji alludes to it here with a snippet of
    Black Woman & Child lyrics
    Song by Sizzla

Who what, The Black nation
    I love It
    Ohh woh woh, oh woh woh
    From di day mi born mi did dun know sey
    My color a di first, I nuh last
    So how yuh expect I fi duh certain things
    Ohh woh woh,
    Oh woh woh

Black woman and child, yeh yeh yeah
    For you I really have so much love
    Dollar bills and coins will fade away
    They could never make I so proud
    Black woman and child, yeh yeh yeah
    For you I really have so much love
    Dollar bills and coins will fade away
    They could never make I so proud

Motherland Africa still remain so fine
    Empresses and Emperors living from in those time
    I know you are the first to give birth unto mankind
    Now let me say oh the earth Queen Omega is divine
    Take I to Zion I give thy praise
    That’s where my covenant will be always
    How have you been going through those stage
    Of being away for many days

5. “He formed first a Tenancy in Common in 1948 and then the Tenants in Common incorporated Kingsland Estates Limited in 1958, 99 years after James A Lynch, a free coloured person started his business.”

FYI This popped up in Recommended Viewing
    Regarding Kingsland “Terrorism”

https://videopress.com/v/78al7rvK

6. @ Grenville
    It’s not a curse, it’s more a predicament. We can’t continue to simply blame a race that tried and and continues to try on a playing field that to this day, is not level.
    First, we should ask ourselves , why after almost six decades of independence, we are seeing the same disadvantages that obtained in the 30s , 40s and 50s.
    In other words why are we writing this article in 2024 . The reason is simple: the same forces that engineered the collapse of many black businesses historically are perhaps more powerful today and their clandestine ability to undermine socio economic development of the masses are more powerful than they ever were.
    So we need to be more circumspect before we condemn our race as being cursed or any such derogatory and degrading adjective.
    You need to have a real conversation with certain parties and they may caution and inform you on certain matters regarding the failure of black Barbadians’ business to create generational wealth and the failure of hundreds of black businesses .

7. Some busies who are now long forgotten said Hip Hop culture was the “Black Man’s Curse”, but those who partook deeper in it’s elements of self expression are still going on strong in da streets industry with Dirty Passionate Yells

8. We should not forget power is undergirded by money. The establishment is controlled by the power elite. Our education is heavily influenced by western culture. Our systems of government is taken from the West where capitalist systems breath life into the existing system. Is it any surprise if our social behaviour follows a path of Eurocentric; conspicuous consumption behaviour? It will be a long hard road to travel.

9. What a load of bullshiite as the product of a self hating, bible read, ahole!

The jews are not, for him curs-ed, even as they are the most powerful, most hated and wickedly great people on earth.

The white people are not cursed, even being no different than the jews, within an existential context, need to scavenge the earth finding the most inhuman social formations to extend their own genetic survival.

His Indian, Lebanese, Syrian friends are not curs-ed even as their must continue to traverse the earth seeking to exploit others because of social forces from within their own resource starved countries.

What a paltry rendering passing for analysis from these micmicmen who run around behind all these advance degrees, as demands for social respectability, while the writer has always been as empty as his father and he was always an empty vessel.

The lovers of non-Black people.

A father, described by Barrow to be the “corporate undertaker” who himself was unleashed on the Black businesses to destroy them, that this fool now seeks to again undermine.

These are the people who make no claims to being Black. At best they are coconuts. Brown on the outside but in every other material or spiritual way they are White.

For as the fruit drops not far from the tree, he is to his father, what his son is to him. Be them all cur-sed

10. @ David
    Boss
    Now that AC is back…. How about a two-year 555dub ban…?

…asking for a friend.

11. Most businesses in the past, whether black, white or blue, begun as a means to provide financial support for a family.

Luck plays an important part some folks would call it God’s Blessing.

My Grandfather was employed as the manager of Kingsland Factory until 1946 when it closed down. His salary was $80.00 per month. Two of his five sons employed there lost their employment.

He bought Adams Castle Plantation on 13 January 1939 after decades of depression following WWI which saw numerous plantations and businesses fail and economic hardship for most Bajans, black, white and blue.

He gave a mortgage to George Evelyn, a solicitor at Cottle Catford and a member of a wealthy Christ Church family that owned the major share of the factory and 932 acres also in Christ Church as tenants in common. Other plantations were part owners of the factory which was a Cooperative. The factory ground their canes as well.

He sent his second eldest son at 21 to learn the ropes of management under Mr. Arthur the agricultural attorney and Mr. Kirton, the manager. My mother went as well at 17 to manage the house, the animals and her brother!!

My Grandfather probably got it on the cheap, bought it from the Estate of Mr. Ward one of the owners and founders of Plantations Limited during WWI. There are not too many plantations in Barbados that escaped chancery as making a profit from sugar was always a difficult proposition.

He organised his 7 children into two groups which competed against one another in “micro businesses” to see which group could earn the most from kitchen gardening, animal husbandry and whatever. The “family plan” was to accrue savings for investment which begun with Adams Castle.

His eldest daughter learnt embroidery and needle work at the Girls’ Industrial Union which provided some of her income until her eyes gave out at 89.

WWII started on 1 September 1939 and demand and prices for sugar took off.

By 1946 the mortgage was paid off and he used the plantation to buy the sugar factory he worked at and which closed down. He scrapped the equipment and cleared his debts. The Panama Society bought it for Mount Prospect. Others had by then fallen to the fact that sugar was suddenly very profitable and investing in it in Barbados made sense.

Sugar was profitable for a change and allowed him to purchase Husbands and Oxnards plantation in 1948 and provide employment for the son who was laid off from the factory closure. His eldest son who also lost his job in 1946, undertook the job of overseeing his two younger brothers and sister who were responsible for the day to day running of 700 plus acres.

In 1948, my grandfather then setup a tenancy in common in which he transferred an equal share of ownership of his properties to his wife and seven children. The tenancy in common then bought Hanson Plantation and invested in some beachfront lands. Four of his five sons were employed in the family enterprise.

The tenancy in common then incorporated Kingsland Estates Limited in 1958.

It still exists 65 years on but its problems are not because my grandfather educated his sons. In fact, none went beyond secondary school and two of his sons used to argue over which was the better educated, one left in 2nd form at HC and the other in 3rd form.

The black man’s curse arose subsequent to independence in the form of the politicians!!

Everything they have touched they have damaged or destroyed.

They are a curse on this island.

12. How about a ban on Bushie

For he walks around with foolishness in his mind, based entirely on an eponymous mental condition as defined within the PDR.

Physicians Desk Reference?

A condition which requires a belief in a pack of lies.

And for decades, this curs-ed Bushie, has been saying things here for which there is no proof.

See Pacha, in this moment, as Denzil Washington in the movie, the name of which slips the mind.

Where he prays to his screen and real life false Christian God, before doing that which his own White god, best does, killing people.

13. It is a shame that God can’t ban the hate of those who are blessed

If I ruled this world I would have banned Bushie’s Mama and Father and cock blocked their wicked conception

This will obviously go over all y’all heads but here is a psychological reprogramming exercise Full Kriya to Flow the Chakras from Ra Of Earth Actionable Tips for Full Spectrum Life

14. Here we go.

15. I AM
    I create
    I do
    I love
    I speak
    I see
    I comprehend

16. John’s postings are simplistically myopic. How can anyone expect blacks had the same opportunities to compare to whites in an environment that was prone to assisting minorities. The social construct of the society was stacked against blacks.

The point Grenville is making about some not following in the footsteps of fathers may have a lot to do with our warped understanding of what it means to be successful. The same fathers took pride in sending their sons and daughters overseas oftentimes to pursue professional careers, doctors, engineers, lawyers etc.

17. Why do some attempt to lump us all together and then use the worse example to summarize us. I am surprise that no one mentioned “crab in a barrel” as that is the favorite phrase of some.

We ignore our many successes and dwell on and highlight our failures. Because Mr A, who is black failed, does not make any and every black person a failure. Look carefully and you will see signs of success. In Barbados, hundreds of thousands; in the world more than a billion a a few failures makes us cursed.

I reject all of these negative summaries.

18. David
    February 19, 2024 at 9:27 am

John’s postings are simplistically myopic. How can anyone expect blacks had the same opportunities to compare to whites in an environment that was prone to assisting minorities. The social construct of the society was stacked against blacks.

The point Grenville is making about some not following in the footsteps of fathers may have a lot to do with our warped understanding of what it means to be successful. The same fathers took pride in sending their sons and daughters overseas oftentimes to pursue professional careers, doctors, engineers, lawyers etc.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So how come my grandfather was able to take the few opportunities that presented themselves and build a productive family business?

He was lucky or blessed to start when he did.

The construct of the society was stacked against him as well.

What he had going for him was 30 years of experience in sugar starting as a bookkeeper (he was good at math) and 7 children.

The 30 years of experienced motivated him to act when he did and provided him with a good name. His seven children also made him a good risk for a lender.

Grenville’s father did not produce anything real.

He never employed many people if any.

He provided services and was paid for those services just as Grenville provides services and is paid for those services.

Grenville has employed few if any people as his father before him. No one can point to any building in which he has had a part of designing and say that is Grenville’s output.

All or most of their income is and was for them or their employers.

If my Grandfather had chosen to stay employed as a manger or whatever, he would have been no better than Grenville the first or Grenville the second.

Instead, he chose to take a gamble and make use of the opportunities on offer. He produced goods for sale in a free market.

The Barbadian society construct had nothing to do with WWII and the opportunities it presented.

If anything, it blinded most of its members to those opportunities.

Grenville the first would have worked for an accounting firm which derived revenue from among others my grandfather’s business.

19. Again it is simplistic that you would use a personal experience to support what was/is a systemic problem.

20. One of the founders of Plantation’s Limited had two sons both of whom were spree boys.

The money he had which one would have thought would have gone to them didn’t.

J.N. Goddard a “poor white” from under the cliff in St. John and no relation, got it instead!!

Why?

Because J.N. Goddard was a better bet than flesh and blood!!

I got that from one of the founder’s grandchildren, my cousin!!

Good call obviously by a man who understood the preservation and accrual of generational wealth.

Writing out a child from a will was common from Quaker times.

I can produce numerous wills from the 17th century where that happened.

One of my Quaker ancestors in 1671 left 12 acres to his daughter in his will with a proviso. If she married a certain individual, a Quaker, she would forfeit it and it would add to what her brother was left.

She married another Quaker. His surname attaches to the 12 acre field at Edgecumbe Plantation which she inherited.

It is unlikely that this thinking would exist today, but the logic is so simple.

Generational wealth is not necessarily kept within one family or shared equally if it is.

That is why it is generational!!

Spendthrift children fritter it away and it ceases to be generational.

21. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@Grenville & David et al

According to Dr Brooks B. Robinson cited in BlackEconomics.org posit that there are:

22 Reasons Why Black Businesses Fail…

#DownloadPaperHere:

https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=2474944

No amount of “GOV POLICY” since 1966 has been able to remedy this damnable condition given that although a “SUPPOSED”, so-called #MiddleClassElite has emerged -“BLACKS” in “BIM” are so “OVERLEVERAGED” that to lose a few pay checks would be the difference between becoming a “PARO” on the streets or selling their souls for a morsel of stale bread!!!

The ETHNO-structural factors within “BAJAN SOCIETY” remains a dubious harbinger as to why #BlackWealth amongst a majority stakeholder people who remain at the back of the bus with precious little prospects for entrepreneurial advancement (UNLESS YOU ARE SELLING DRUGS* & GUNS), and even that market is constricted to some degree!!!

Too much research exist in this area that anyone can study for themselves…

Barbados is not a unique test case – although it has a 90%+ population demographic, the same floor-boards exist in #PostApartheid_BLACK_SouthAfrica’s edifice & across an untold number of Black population vectors in similar Black countries!!!

The “AGE-OLD FALSELY-ESPOUSED “HAMITIC CURSE” IS STILL A SELF-FULFILLING PROPHECY ETCHED IN THE VERY DNA OF OUR PEOPLE!!!

United we “MUST” stand – for “DIVIDED” we continue to “FALL”…

So while we look for “MOSES” to deliver a “2ND EXODUS”, the masses will continue to “GRIND” at the slave-master’s brickkilns (MAGICALLY MAKING BRICKS WITHOUT STRAW) – complaining about their state of affairs in the hope that someone is listening to their cries!!!

HARD WORDS YOU SAY???

The “TRUTH” has “NEVER” been accepted nor has it ever been “PLEASANT” – though the words may be crystal clear!!!

Nothing is gonna’ change – everything is already condemned to “HELL”, as it has always been, and for those who are looking forward to a “GOLDEN AGE” of prosperity and affluence, will not see it here (THIS SIDE OF HEAVEN) or after the “2ND RESURRECTION” which will be the “DOMAIN” of the “FOREVER DAMNED”!!!

Make peace with whatever cards have been dealt and create your own reality or existence based on honesty, integrity & “LOVE” – for all the “MADNESS” in this world is now “BAKED IN” & the confluence lead to one “APOCALYPTIC END”…

22. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

From the “DAWN” of the “MESOPATAMIAN ERA” to the emergence of the ANCIENT* Abrahamic Covenant, to the #BlackHebrewIsraelites; to the “GOLDEN AGE OF WEALTH” by “KING SOLOMON” & the monarchical, genealogical posterity of “KING DAVID” that was destroyed in “PART” by the “ASSYRIANS” in 702 BC & again by the “BABYLONIANS” in 606 BC & finally by the “ROMANS” in 70 AD…

What followed was the “DISPERSION” of the #BlacksYews in the aftermath of the “CATHOLIC CRUSADES” resulting in the resettlement from “SPAIN & PORTUGAL” to “AFRIKA” and the ensuing “HOLOCAUST OF THE TRANS-ATLANTIC SLAVE TRADE”, to “APARTHEID” & “SEGREAGATION” of a single group of people, by “SATANIC FORCES” that would take at least a “100 VOLUMES” of encyclopaedias to do epistemological justice to the ramifications of this journey and its impact on Black folks!!!

No true student of ancient history (ESPECIALLY THOSE WHO READ VERY OLD BOOKS DATED BEFORE THE 1800s) will recognize that a vast reservoir of “TRUTH” has been “HIDDEN” from the glazed over eyeballs of Black folks who continue to wear rose-coloured, tinted glasses, as they travel along this winding crystal staircase towards nigh oblivion – believing that somehow some flesh & blood mortal being is coming to save them!!!

Hence, the “FAITH” we put in “HUMAN LEADERSHIP” – when each of us is the “CAPTAIN” of our own vessel (be it a #SlaveShip or #100FtYacht)!!!

Like “MARRIAGE”, – there are [3] changes of “VESSELS” in this sometimes arduous journey many undertake (forgetting that there are “NO LIFEBOAT STATIONS)…

There’s the #CourtSHIP* (PHASE)
    There’s the #BattleSHIP* (PHASE)
    There’s the #CruiseSHIP* (PHASE)

In any of these phases, “FOLKS” can do down into the cold, murky waters of Poseidon without a raft or a paddle – left to the mercies of passing vessels (if fortunate or “LUCKY” as some term it)!!!

No other people(s) have been through “HALF” as much as “BLACK FOLKS” – yet, we (“SURVIVE AGAINST ALL ODDS”)…

For the “GOD_LESS GOD_HATERS”, maybe they have some other “ANTHROPOLOGICAL EXPLANATION” which can be borne out with empirical evidence!!!

‘Till then, we will continue to “SABOTAGE” our own destiny!!!

23. The only land in which I have an interest is a 1/7 share in 12 acres at Below Rock!!

How did I get this “generational wealth”?

The son of a former slave born a few years after her manumission bought it in 1837!!!

I own nothing from any of my “white ancestors”!!

In other words, my experience is that one of the black sides of my family was the side which was able to pass down generational wealth.

24. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

The #HolyScriptures posit that “WE MUST BE TRANSFORMED BY THE RENEWING OF OUR MINDS…” (Rom 12:2)

Most grew up with the “CONCEPT”: “YOU ARE YOUR OWN WORST ENEMY…”

Black folks in 2024 have now come full circle in this knowledge – hence the reason, I alluded to the notion that “MOST EVERYTHING COMMONPLACE TODAY IS BAKED IN)!!!

How we break that “PROGRAMMING” is anyone’s guess…

We have debated “QUANTUM MECHANICS” ad nauseum on this platform since the 2010s – without any accord – so it may be pointless to engage servile minds in any discussion on areas that may be above their “PAY GRADES”!!!

The #WakeUpCall is coming!!!

#StayTuned

25. What is your view TLSN? This is a separate issue to the point Grenville raised.

26. Black owned businesses in Barbados is not the answer or the correct question to ask when taking Globalisation into account.

For example Global Western corps in USA and UK have product manufactured in quantities of millions per month in third world for a $1 an item and sell it for $50 in global markets. Local High Street businesses worldwide operate at a loss and cannot compete and close down.

Generational wealth is passed down to a less and less minority of a minority.

27. John
    February 19, 2024 at 12:13 pm

The only land in which I have an interest is a 1/7 share in 12 acres at Below Rock!!

How did I get this “generational wealth”?

The son of a former slave born a few years after her manumission bought it in 1837!!!

I own nothing from any of my “white ancestors”!!

In other words, my experience is that one of the black sides of my family was the side which was able to pass down generational wealth.

I suspect that the largest number of persons in Barbados who can claim to have land passed down to them for more than 3 generations will be coloured.

I am an example.

I can follow my coloured family’s land from 1837 to present, 186 years!!

It came down through my great grandmother’s uncle, so 5 generations.

The reason is that coloured Barbadians understood that land allowed them to eat in an economy with little cash.

It also allowed them to vote.

Simple Simon is another example.

Her family held on to their land for 2 generations so far, from the 1930’s, so getting up to 90 years.

Will it hold on for a third generation?

In my family my uncle was the last person who saw after the land for the family and that was when he was a boy.

My bet is it will soon go.

Strictly speaking my family would have held it and used it for 4 generations.

I looked at what share I own again, it isn’t 1/7th it is 1/6th divided in 3, or 1/18th.

28. @John February 19, 2024 at 8:48 am “My grandfather was employed as the manager of Kingsland Factory until 1946 when it closed down. His salary was $80.00 per month. Two of his five sons employed there lost their employment.”

Th 5 sons who were employed at Kingsland Factory where daddy was the manager, did all 5 of them get their jobs by merit, or through nepotism, because daddy was the manager?

29. RE Th 5 sons who were employed at Kingsland Factory where daddy was the manager, did all 5 of them get their jobs by merit, or through nepotism, because daddy was the manager?
    HOW IS THIS IMPORTANT?
    HOW DOES THIS AFFECT THE PRICE OF CHEESE?
    HOW DOES THIS AFFECT YOU OR YOUR LIVELIHOOD OR YOUR FUTURE OR ANYTHING?

30. Cuhdear Bajan
    February 19, 2024 at 9:22 pm

@John February 19, 2024 at 8:48 am “My grandfather was employed as the manager of Kingsland Factory until 1946 when it closed down. His salary was $80.00 per month. Two of his five sons employed there lost their employment.”

Th 5 sons who were employed at Kingsland Factory where daddy was the manager, did all 5 of them get their jobs by merit, or through nepotism, because daddy was the manager?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++.

The ages of the five varied from 10 to 20 in 1936 so obviously all five were not working for wages.

There were only ever 2 of the five working for wages but by 1946 both they and their father lost their jobs.

But, by then, my grandfather had purchased Adams Castle, WWII was over and sugar was booming.

Profits were high.

The mortgage he had gambled and undertook in 1939 was mostly paid off so he was able to purchase the factory compound which contained the family home.

He scrapped the factory equipment as a willing purchaser approached him to buy it.

That was the Panama Society who installed it at Mount Prospect as part of their investment in the booming sugar industry. Their investment in sugar failed, my Grandfather and his family succeeded.

From then, my grandfather had an “iron heap” in the gap leading to his home which he collected scrap equipment from the small factories closing down and sold to one of his friends, Victor Chase, a scrap dealer like Sanford or Steptoe.

It may have just been that my Grandfather moved at the right time.

My grandfather then opened a dairy on the closed factory premises which by then he had purchased.

It gave employment to the unemployed adult children, and himself.

The youngest son was sent to Cable & Wireless as his first job then located at Dover and two others were sent to town to work with merchants.

My grandfather had developed contacts with most merchants in town through his experience as manager of a sugar factory so getting jobs for his sons was easy. Plus, by 1946, he owned a plantation and was a customer of most of those merchants.

“You scratch my back and I will scratch yours”!! …. a basic principle of business.

It may be hard to believe but all members contributed from whatever their earned to the overall family plan. My grandfather thus ensured all were employed.

Even my aunt, the eldest daughter contributed from her earnings from embroidery and needle work. Many of the vestments at Christ Church were made and embroidered by her. She was damn good and visitors to the island were always buying from her.

My grandfather’s family lived on the 7 acre factory site since 1917. The children grew up in the factory yard so all contributed and were involved, at first for free.

It would be described as child slave labour in these days.

Like me growing up on a plantation, once my feet could reach the pedals I was driving a tractor.

My first “wages” from the family business occurred when I apprenticed to the mechanic who kept the field equipment running on all the plantations.

My first assignment was decarbonizing the heads of the tractor engines being rebuilt for the next crop to draw the canes to the Searles and Carrington.

That was summer, 1970 or thereabouts.

Growing up in a plantation environment was fun.

Work was for enjoyment.

31. I own nothing from any of my “white ancestors”!!

What are you saying… No generous white Quakers are in the family?

One would have thought with all that free education, free food and free medical services that the slave master side of the family would have left the black side a bone.

Two of your best friends are back… GP and me.

32. @John
    What is your relationship to Marjorie Phillips who lived in a rambling old house on what I think was part of the Kingsland plantation at the entrance to what was the Sundown Drive in?

33. Sargeant
    February 20, 2024 at 8:50 am

What is your relationship to Marjorie Phillips who lived in a rambling old house on what I think was part of the Kingsland plantation at the entrance to what was the Sundown Drive in?

Miss Marjorie was the daughter Dr. Phillips who delivered all of my grandmother’s 7 children with a midwife at Kingsland.

She was a very close friend of my Grandfather’s family, never married.

Dr. Phillips was a much loved man in the area, in fact that is why the polyclinic in Oistins was named after him. My mother often told me that he provided his services for free to the poor, sometimes getting a chicken in payment.

His family, were Quaker from Lamberts in St. Lucy. They provided the St. Philip the Less Anglican church and school after emancipation.

He was married to an Evelyn and lived at Barrack Hill opposite the site of which you speak. I believe that was the plantation house for a small plantation called Emerald.

The site of which you speak was a part of Wotton Plantation which owned what was left of Kingsland Plantation on which the factory was located on 7 acres. In fact, it was the plantation house of Wotton Plantation built by “the Commodore” James Evelyn to house his family of 15 children from 3 wives, that’s why it was so huge.

The “Commodore” was a captain in the Royal Navy during the Napoleonic Wars and became extremely wealthy from the prizes his ship took from the French and Spanish.

Wotton Great House was separated from Wotton Plantation in the 50’s or 60’s by the
    Evelyns for Miss Marjorie when Kingsland Estates Limited bought Wotton, Kingsland, Maynards and Emerald Plantations from Wotton Estates Limited.

The Evelyns owned 932 acres in Christ Church which included Wotton, Kingsland, Maynards, Emerald, Hope Small Ridge and Sugarland. They acquired the land over generations through marriages in the 19th century.

They formed a limited liability company, Wotton Estates Limited in the 50’s for the same reasons my family incorporated Kingsland Estates Limited. It was liquidated in the 60’s because by then the Evelyn descendants were spread all over the world with business interests outside of Barbados.

The Evelyn family was also Quaker in the 17th and 18th centuries and the Commodore, was a product of that family.

Lady Collymore at Clapham, wife of the then Chief Justice was also an Evelyn and that is where Miss Marjorie spent her last days. Both were shareholders in Wotton Estates Limited which was liquidated.

34. Apart from the friendship which existed between Miss Marjorie and my grandfather’s family my grandfather was also distantly related by blood to her ancestors through an Evelyn outside child which I have described before.

It dated to the time of Cholera, 1854, two generations before he was born but you would have to go further back to find the common ancestor.

That’s one of my research goals.

35. … so I almost definitely carry the genes of the “Commodore” as do tens of thousands of his other descendants in Barbados and throughout the world, …. almost as innumerable as the stars in the sky.

36. Generational wealth is not about an inheritance you score, but about how you build wealth to pass on to your children and your children’s children.

Generational wealth from exploitation and reliance of of slave labour was vast but world narrative is changing to reparations for the crimes to humanity.

How the autobiography of a Muslim slave is challenging the conventional American narrative of African slaves as uneducated and uncultured.

37. 555dubstreet
    February 20, 2024 at 11:46 am

Generational wealth is not about an inheritance you score, but about how you build wealth to pass on to your children and your children’s children.

So how does generational wealth pass from generation to generation if not by inheritance?

A war is being fought in Israel over an inheritance …. the passing on of generational wealth given to Abraham by God.

Notice, Abraham did not build this wealth!!! It was given to him by God.

There is only one example where generational wealth has passed down through generations.

It was God’s gift and His will!!

38. Why do some of you bastardize the crux of an issue being discussed? Grenville crafted his message to highlight a point about the lack of succession by Black business in a Barbados context and of course a few of you taking it to the ridiculous. And we wonder why Barbados is becoming a basket case despite generating so many with paper trophies.

39. Isn’t the passing on of wealth to succeeding generations the crux of the matter?

Could Grenville or you if you can, or anyone else for that matter please point out the instances where this has ever happened over several generations?

My submission is that it rarely happens and claiming white people do it but black people don’t is flogging a dead horse because almost no one does

40. Unless God is involved, it just doesn’t happen, the extreme case being Israel.

41. To focus only on inheritance to define how generational wealth is accrued is crude. In a Barbados context it is about Blacks nurturing a culture which embraces key disciplines required to grow AND sustain wealth. The opposite is that one can inherit wealth and fritter it away. Bear in mind economic wealth is concentrated with the 3%.

42. “My submission is that it rarely happens and claiming white people do it but black people don’t is flogging a dead horse because almost no one does”

The population of England in 1500 was 2.6 million in 1650 it reached 6.5 million

Between 1662 and 1807 British and British colonial ships purchased an estimated 3,415,500 Africans. Of this number, 2,964,800 survived the ‘middle passage’ and were sold into slavery in the Americas.

The transatlantic slave trade was the largest forced migration in human history and completely changed Africa, the Americas and Europe.

USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand are British Colonies and there were many British Territories in Africa

Other European nations also played the same game of slavery and colonisation

43. Go look up the Trans Sahara trade which went on from well before the advent of Islam and is still going on today.

All you have shown is that Britain ended the trans Atlantic Trade , in under 200 years well duuuh, we all knew that.

44. You say that mindless white boy trope every time like a stupid likkle troll bwoy, proving you are the dumbest negro in the west

All you chat about is your inheritance which will die with you as you did not go forth and multiply

45. What would you say was this poor murdered black man’s curse was?

46. I don’t trust white people with god. No, I won’t let them tell me nothing about god. It just seem like they don’t know him. Just stop.

I am less interested in intellectual speculation and mere theory, and far more passionate about application, personal experience and transformation.
    The ancient spiritual sciences have developed and catalogued many extremely powerful techniques for achieving every aim and purpose you could ever dream of. Unfortunately, many of these practices have been lost to humanity during the religious persecutions of the dark ages.
    Only in modern times have conditions changed. The level of education, peace and tolerance has progressed to such an extent that it is now possible for the ancient wisdom of mankind to resurface.
    I have noticed there is not too much well produced meditations to give people direct personal access to this potent technology.

47. @ Dub……
    This Trini artist was banned from entering St Kitts and now Guyana.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VGuvn20kioI

48. @TLSN

Why was the artist refused entry?

49. Racist Laws by Biggest Slavers / Colonists / Rapists
    Shemina Begum was born in England but is now stateless. Spies watched the 15 year old leave the country and let her go and then she was stripped of citizenship without a fair trial.

Re: Alternative Hip Hop music
    Rappers are actors like the James Bond movie franchise.

The Vince Staples Show
    Kind of famous and sort of rich, rapper and actor Vince Staples navigates the challenges and surprises of everyday life in his hometown of The Beach.

“The Vince Staples Show review – this joyously weird comedy is ludicrously suave” — Guardian Review