In reality, the PPP touts its position because the US and ExxonMobil have made it clear to them that the ICJ will produce one result and one result only, namely a ruling in favour of ExxonMobil.

Submitted by A. T. Freeman

Presidents Irfaan Ali and Nicolas Maduro

On 14 December, the presidents of Venezuela, Nicolas Maduro, and Guyana, Irfaan Ali, met in St Vincent and the Grenadines against a backdrop of rising tensions between the two governments over the fate of the disputed territory of Essequibo.  The gap between their positions was exemplified by the statements they issued in the lead up to the meeting.  Maduro welcomed the talks as an opportunity to take “the path of dialogue with Guyana, in order to achieve a practical solution to the controversy”, while Ali stated that “the land boundary is not a matter for bilateral discussions”. Notwithstanding these divergent opening statements, at the end of the meeting both governments signed the Argyle Joint Declaration in which they committed to, among other things, avoiding the threat or use of force between them, avoiding escalating their dispute, continuing their dialogue and meeting again in Brazil.

Read full article @Caribbean Empowerment blog

47 responses to “Guyana Venezuela Dispute: Beneath the surface”

1. Is the Caribbean a zone of peace?

Last week Sunday, we argued for real Caribbean sovereignty as opposed to fictitious sovereignty. That very day, 95 per cent of voting Venezuelans supported their government’s desire to annex Guyana’s Essequibo region. By Thursday, an agreement against using force was brokered between Venezuela and Guyana under the chairmanship of St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Brought to mind are Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s words to the 22nd Frank Worrell Memorial Lecture about the current state of West Indies Cricket, “We are playing the fool!”.

The same goes for the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

When Mottley opened her address with, “We are playing the fool” people nervously chuckled. No doubt because it was true. Mottley rightly charged: “We are playing the fool . . . and it is not a little bit of foolery. It is a lot”.

Thus, she said, “I am not casting blame on any single person but I am reaching out to a civilisation and to a people. Every time we lose now it is like a cuff in the bottom of yuh belly!”.

Like others, I consider the state of West Indies Cricket to be reflecting the current state of our region overall.

Some correctly contextualise the issue as one of consciousness. In more detail, the issue is a psychology that drives and is driven by petty national and regional politics.

Like everyone else, I am glad Guyana and Venezuela agreed to peace but I have to tell you, I am extremely concerned about the extent to which our regional leaders over the years have played the fool with national and regional development.

Particularly due to our peculiar geographic value, social yearnings and economic vulnerabilities.

Look at what being “big fish in small ponds” has brought us: Nothing but the misery of complete exposure to the geopolitical elements. To quote the Holy Bible, “For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?” We have, for too long, played the fool.

Trust and believe; my original language here was harsher but due to this week’s positive developments; I want to do my part as a responsible Caribbean citizen to moderate my tone. It is not that I think I have any bearing on the matter (I do not) but, as a civic-minded person; I endorse the calm of our regional leadership.

‘Zone of peace’

With that said, if we show the world that we refuse to take ourselves seriously; the world will treat us as un-seriously and as poorly as we treat ourselves.

We really have to stop playing the fool with development. As Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves rightly intimated in brokering this agreement; Guyana is no match for Venezuela. Thing is, Guyana should be. You cannot truly be a “zone of peace” without the means to defend and enforce that peace. Peace means war when better cannot be done.

Caribbean heads of government have to stop treating our countries like they are play-dough countries.

Regional development must go beyond narrow interests. Yes, colonial powers are largely to blame for underdevelopment but, honestly, much of our slow progress is due to petty domestic politics and regional myopia.

Again, we are playing the fool.

When faced with the barrel of a gun; the self-harm of our pettiness becomes clear. My fear now is that, after this Guyana-Venezuela issue calms, we will go back to the same stupidity that brought us here in the first place. When will we learn? All about the Caribbean there are politicians, business leaders and so-called social activists vying for power but how real is that power when someone can easily huff you like marbles?

We need to get real and stop telling ourselves lies. We are imbibing too many delusions of having actual sovereignty when, right before our eyes, we see we have as much sovereignty as others allow us. What sovereignty is that? It is time to get real!

If you walk the streets and rub shoulders you will hear the same thing from the average Caribbean person.

Do not take my word for it. Go have a conversation. The majority of rightthinking Caribbean people are tired of the tomfoolery: They want action!

Truthfully, this Guyana-Venezuela issue exposes what many of us feel deep within our bellies and what many more of us already know: Our region has been loitering in complacency for far too long. The result now is a “zone of peace” completely exposed to ruin without any actual means of defence.

Is that real peace? You tell me.

Dr William M. A. Chandler is a published political economist, legal scholar and business consultant.

Email wma@auxomni.com

2. pitfalls of tribalism Avatar
    pitfalls of tribalism

In the White World (15% of world population with 60% world GDP) they call Art of War the “Dark Arts” which involves weaves of psyops, propaganda, misinformation, spying, weapons industries and gaining allies with false promises and deals with their divide to rule tricks.

400 years of colonial rule has been the devil’s finest works in their axis of evil which is darkness not light.

In this time, a generation the Rastafari brethren in Jah Army has come to break the chains.

Then one of the elders said to me, “Do not weep. See, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.”

“Above all, we must avoid the pitfalls of tribalism. If we are divided among ourselves on tribal lines, we open our doors to foreign intervention and its potentially harmful consequences.”

— Haile Selassie

3. Indeed, this should be a wake up call for those still labouring under notions about democracy, sovereignty, Zone of Peace rhetoric, independence, republicanism and the like.

More deeply, this region has never had the necessary catarsis required after its socalled decolonization.

To confront that we would have had to disregard all that we thought we knew and start with right thinking.

But how does one get slaves to be free. Forgetting the gods of other people, the inability of devils to be White, for examples.

We’re certainly unsurprised that another has suggested what the ICJ’s ruling is likely to be. Being aware of the viciousness exerted by the US government, as always, on institutions to which they are not even signatories or whose judgements they have long ignored, the ICJ ruling therefore would not have required a soothsayer, or Obeah man, or water diviner to foresee.

But that determination is freely available to all who really understood the workings of the forces around us. The truth about our existence.

But yet, we are happy to interminably, continue to, accept the tapestry of lies which surround us all. Including christmas!

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

“In effect, the British Empire seized land that Venezuela felt it had a right to inherit on the basis that the Spanish empire had previously seized it from the indigenous people”

The land mass, Essequibo, is owned by the people who inhabit it, not its neighbouring people on either side.

But like indigenous people elsewhere the many different indigenous people have no formal body to represent them.

5. Those from the establishment world, formerly known as colonists will have the final say in today’s world.

#fullstop

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

#fullstop only means the inhabitants have no organization hence no voice.
    From the time “they” speak, the context will change.

7. David,

And they always will, if we resign ourselves to it.

Sounds like you are so resigned.

I too run out of fuel from time to time. But it only takes a comment or two to revive my engine. Righteous anger may be a Christian term but it is a universal concept. And it makes the best fuel!

There is one here who is impatient, and I understand why. But what I have found is that most people are really just ignorant. Therefore the first order of business must be a proper education.

The Impatient One is indeed correct that we need a proper brainwashing. Not an illogical indoctrination, but a cleansing of the mind followed by real education and sound reasoning.

The powers that were and still are miseducated us so deliberately and successfully that even a natural rebel like myself still has some washing to be done.

When I’m not here, I am doing that. My phone follows me everywhere, even in the bathroom. Instead of singing, I now listen to lectures.

I have said it hundreds of times, and I see nothing that disproves my point – our biggest hindrance is in our minds.

How are we going to fight a war when we’re already so badly wounded? Disabled almost to the point of invalidity!

Imagine that we are here choosing between Venezuela (Spain) and Guyana (Britain) as though the region wasn’t then and isn’t now inhabited by indigenous people!

If we ignore the only valid claim to the land based on our greed for what benefits we expect to reap from proximity to Guyana, then how can we expect our own rights to be acknowledged by the white powers?

We are ratifying colonialism!

White minds in black skins!

“Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds!”

First step – We acknowledge that the land belongs to the indigenous people.

Second step – We raise our voices in the refrain –

That land belongs to the indigenous people.

This is what I have been doing from the moment I researched the circumstances of this land dispute.

Have you moved out of Hope Road or are you out visiting?

8. David,

You are being schooled by a white Barbadian, under the influence of new Canadian attitudes!

Wuhlaus!

9. @Donna

All in on your comment it it seems there is a chronic lack of interest to pursue knowledge unless it is about something salacious or trivial.

10. apocalyptic prophecies by Marcus Garvey Avatar
    apocalyptic prophecies by Marcus Garvey

“Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds!”

Wise words indeed from the prophet Marcus Mosiah Garvey

“Look to Africa when a black king shall be crowned, for the day of deliverance is near.”

you know Garvey’s word must come true
    all brutality and war must come to a halt
    war and trouble and fire a not natty’s fault
    equality and justice must stand
    and all righteous man must stand too
    black man has always been oppressed
    so intended never never never to rest
    the war must be fought with a strong attack
    because we have reached too far to turn back
    if you have no confidence in yourself
    you are twice defeated in the race of life
    but with confidence you have won before you have even started
    a race without authority and power is a race without respect
    show me a well organised nation of dread
    and I will show you a nation respected by the world
    Marcus Mosiah Garvey proved how great he was when Bag-o-wire gave him away
    who said there would be chaos on 7 July 1977, when the “sevens” met July 7, 1977 – the day when sevens fully clashed (seventh day, seventh month, seventy-seventh year)

“St. Jago de la Vega and Kingston is gonna meet. … It’s only a housing scheme that divides.”

And I can see with mine own eyes

Culture was one of the seminal reggae harmony groups and the 1977 single, “Two Sevens Clash,” was huge in Jamaica. The title refers to apocalyptic prophecies by Marcus Garvey. The song was so influential that on 7/7/77, the city of Kingston shut down. The full album was just reissued — on 7/7/07. The record inspired the likes of the Sex Pistols and prompted Richard Branson to fly to Jamaica to sign the band to Virgin.

The Rich get Richer

and Poor will get Poorer
    and sing their songs of freedom
    redemption songs

11. Tribal Lands had no concept of ownership and the land on earth belonged to everyone. People wandered around from place to place without borders with free movement.

The concept of owning land with borders and fences and preventing other people to enter was introduced by settlers who chased tribes away from their land.

Even in Africa, tribes are having ancestoral tribal lands taken away and are being removed. The land is sold to the wealthy who buy it up for development or farming plantation estates or safari lands.

12. @ apocalyptic prophecies by Marcus Garvey on December 17, 2023 at 5:17 PM said:
    (Quote).

Wise words indeed from the prophet Marcus Mosiah Garvey.
    (Unquote).

KiKi, would you agree that Marcus Mosiah Garvey (MMG) should undergo an apotheosis to become a god and to be worshipped by black people instead of the dying fish-man called Jesus for the New Age which is clearly ‘descending’ upon modern humans?

After all, the ‘white-man-created’ Jesus figment hasn’t done diddly-squat for blacks other than keep them in modern mental slavery instead of chains!

So why not try another ‘Son’ of man even if he is Not from the Middle East?

We are certain that the MMG that black people will be subservient to other races unless they find the faith to recognize and accept the Sky God which has blessed them with their melanin-enriched skin so that they look to the Sky (Heaven) and chant with pride:
    The Lord has blessed us.
    The Lord has allowed Its Face to shine upon us (BLACKS) and has finally given us peace ( سَلَام).

13. God created man in His own image Avatar
    God created man in His own image

Black man was the original man and God made man in his image
    Genesis 1:27 So God created man in His own image

The overwhelming consensus among anthropologists is that the modern human race (as opposed to Neanderthals) originated in East Africa, about 200,000 years ago. Black skin was necessary for survival in this hot and sunny climate.

Garvey is considered a prophet by his followers, because of the inspiration he brought to the black race. He took a group of people that thought they had no place in this world and united them together which gave them pride in their race. He also had a tremendous affect on the creation of Rastafarianism. His teachings of black self empowerment are credited as being the sources behind the founding of the religion. Although Marcus Garvey never actually followed Rastafari or believed in it, he is considered to be one of the religion’s prophets, because it was his ideologies that eventually grew into Rastafari.

14. Prophesy Reveal, (Dub Version) Avatar
    Prophesy Reveal, (Dub Version)

Prophesy Reveal,
    You can take it or leave it,
    or hug it and squeeze it

15. @ David,
    I read with interest your discussion with the great triple D. The impatient Julius Malena is doing a great job in South Africa. He became impatient with the ANC party and quit this party to form his own political party. Malcolm X became impatient with the Nation of Islam and created his own party.

We in the Caribbean do have the luxury of time to be patient. The neo-liberal, Mia, recently announced that insufficient numbers of Barbadian blacks were not taking advantage of business loans from the government; which they obtained from various international lending bodies. This from the same women who is doing her best to disenfranchise and reduce the social, political and economic status of her own black people.

16. water water everywhere and not a drop to drink.

17. My late father-in-law was a white man, whose parents died at sea when he was 16 months old, and he was raised “on reservation” by his mother’s half-sister who was married to a Native man. He became a ‘bush pilot” and flew in and out of native communities his entire life. While fluent in some Cree dialects, he could generally communicate with most either in native tongue or french or english.
    Early in my career, I used to repair buildings on native lands, that is how I met my father-in-law, and later his daughter.
    So what you think is “new” isn’t really new at all.
    You will know that some of the foreign white people in Bim, are easier and more pleasant to deal with than locals. That is likely because they were not raised and socialized under the black-white umbrella of most Bajans. Similarly, I was not raised in Canada, where the mistrust/dislike of the indigenous people was part of the social fabric. I never was taught they were any different from me!!

18. What a simplictic Northern idiot!

That the entirety of the millions of years of humans here, that White people and their spawn resort, always, always, always, to the banal to justifify themselves always lacked intellectual rigour.

Is anathema to criticality in any sphere of existence.

These personal anecdotes, oft repeated, may serve as a comfort of those who harken unto a culture of racism, Whiteness and domination. But to anyone steeped in the rigorous interrogation, academic or technical, it reveals the apología of the lived lies such people exhibit.

But maybe it’s more simplictic. Meaning, that structural racism makes such Northern people inculcate the very thing which cannot be otherwise justified. As exuded from these tales so often rehashed by ilk. This writer cannot be so moved.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

A cunt like you may require justification. I wish none, especially yours, and could give a flying fuck what you think, if you haven’t noticed yet.

The same A.T.Freeman explains brilliantly why you have trouble these days with Guyana, as you likely once had with both Venezuela and a pre 58 Habana. You don’t support people or human rights, you support ideology and all the trappings you choose to associate with it.

Which is fine, we are all free to support what we wish.

20. This must be said, repeated!

For only exceptionally White people could be losing three (3) wars on the trot and Western propagated minds see nothing wrong with their expected response.

As the Americans, in the face of a stunning defeat in Ukraine, are about to declare victory and move on to a fated re-election campaign.

What a thing!

Indeed, nobody wants to talk about, either here on BU or elsewhere, or to contemplate a staggering victory for the Russian Federation against the White people, the racist, all!

Even given the Western propaganda that Russia was weak. That sanctions would defeat them utterly. That these Western fuckers would have their dirty paws on Russian resources. And on and on.

The thing is that Ukraine has long been collapsing as the line of contact, along 2000 miles, gives way to the Russian advance, collapses. And with big arrow offenses Russia will take Odessa, Karzov, among others, connecting them all by land bridge to Russia proper.

Leaving Ukraine as a rump state without access to the Black Sea. With 500,000 dead, so far. It’s population drastically depleted as men of 60 and 65 find their way to the front lines, and on and on.

Jesús Christ man, are even these people, fascists mainly, not deserving of a modicum of mercy from their Western curators?

As we noted 2 years ago, there shall be no negotiation as Biden and the West have wet dreams about periodically. For there shall be an unconditional surrender on Russian terms, and nothing but.

This defeat is so complete that their European satraps are heading for the status which their real lack of wealth demands.

All this, after they tucked tail and run out of Afghanistan on the bayonet of the Taliban in their haste to fry the larger Russian fish.

But be Jesus Christ, our boys in Palestine, Hamas, are giving the criminal Zionist, which is constantly being supplied with every bomb used by America for the genocide there, a hiding.

Up to six thousand Zionist soldiers have been injured. War statistics tell us that 6000 injured means 2000 dead. 2000 badly injured.

And Hamas, in a catacomb of underground tunnels has already delivered a strategic victory based on military doctrine. That doctrine clearly states that the failure of the aggressor to achieve its aims equals to a defeat. We state this for those unfamiliar with the literature.

Or as just dead Henry Kissinger is known to have said, all Hamas had to do to win was to avoid defeat (sic)

No amount of money could have, even now, substituted for the chronic inability of the West to conduct, not combined arms warfare, but ‘all arms warfare’.

No wonder Georgetown seems unconvinced by the absence of power in Washington. And they are quite right for even the Boy Scouts in the BDF could beat these Americans, crumpled by wokeist ideas which include, but not limited to, 85 pound women, being asked to carry 70 pounds of gear and representing equality in the Marines. What a joke for a ‘cuntry’.

Only sadness is that no mushroom-headed deckies ever entered the theatre from left stage.

That the highly propagandized minds of our detractors here will never enter a mea culpa. Never, acknowledge their misguidance. Never apologize to the community.

No Bajan is ever wrong except Bushie. That makes him the greatest of them all! LOL

21. You will always be an idiot imbued by racism as so inherited.

Have the the last word asshole

22. Alex Saab returns to Venezuela to a hero’s welcome. A Palestinian, Colombian, Venezuelan ‘ambassador’ was illegally detained while in transit through a third country.

Illegally imprisoned and tortured in American prison for allegedly breaking US illegal sanctions on Covid vaccines and food the Venezuelans needed.

Oil politics again, as empire wants Venezuela to be a limited hangout for their oil to influence the supply/demand scale during an election year.

For Americans are so ignorant, that gasoline cost has always been a bell weather.

Even as their troops/military advisors occupy Guyana, lying in wait for a Venezuelan intervention.

23. Whereas, maybe the poorest country in the world, Yemen

Yemen itself has just endured a 10 year war against the Saudis and their Western backers. That they have shown such commitment is to be admired.

They are the darlings of the Arab world, and more! As a result of seizing ships, causing insurance rates to skyrocket, causing major shipping lines to go around Afrika, attacking others, in the defense of the Gaza blockade as genocide continues.

For their fierce blockade of the Indian Ocean, the Red and Arabian Seas to cargoes going to the Zionist entity and the hastily constructed coalition hubbled together by the devil.

Given Biden’s ceaseless support for genocide in Gaza its clear who the devil has been. We wonder whether it would ever become clear that satan is indeed the devil.

24. At least one country is actually doing something unlike Caricom and its HOGS.

All we can get out of them is talk and posturing.

Ironic that it is the UK!!

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/12/24/guyana-uk-to-send-warship-to-south-america-amid-venezuela-tensions/

25. https://on.rt.com/cmzl

Now, British “warships’ are heading to Guyana.

Who would have thought of it.

Britian, a country whose entire arms forces could not fill Wembley Stadium.

A broken-back former empire whose war ships lack the technical capabilities to even exit their morrings

Far less project military power in the Caribbean, supposedly heads to Guyana after the presumedly tetetet in Saint Vincent recently where it has been marginally agreed that militarism should not be engaged.

Those of us who openly lacked confidence in this Ralph Gonzales, Caricom, fecklessness now seem presient.

When it comes to oil politics no amount of pleadings from the factotems of liberal democracy can assuage the devil’s addictive greed to petroleum.

Want peace! Then, prepare for
    war.

For war has been the only thing White people understand. The thing which gives them meaning.

Certainly to expect this region and its micmicmen to so easily retard the deepest instincts of world rulers and their oil company patrons was always fallacious.

26. Pawns, prawns and players Avatar
    Pawns, prawns and players

I promised you that I would not attempt heavy lifting, but this seen within my weight class.

If my neighbor and I had a disagreement and subsequently agreed not to fight with each others, then one of his ‘brothers’ turned up fully armed and spending time in his home what am I to think. He wants to fight.

Doesn’t matter what the rest of the prawns in the region think …. evil is afoot.

Can you remember when Argentina (like the rest of us) thought the British were impotent and useless and the Brits sailed to the Falklands, gave Argentine forces a solid thrashing. and kicked them out of the Falklands?

I suspect they can kick Venezuela’s butt also.

Here my lifting ends, but I suspect the US and the Brits may have different plans to Venezuela and Guyana. Prawns, pawns and players.
    Prawns – Caricom
    Pawns- VZ and GUY
    Players US and Brits

No heavy lifting is required.

27. So, who concocted the Venezuela/Guyana altercation?

It was never for real.

28. Look at the map!!

No lifting involved at all.

Oil from Venezuela could be piped along the Columbian coast to the isthmus and then across it to the pacific side.

No need for the canal and tankers to come to Venezuela.

What’s in the Pacific?

China!!

No lifting at all.

Tankers could call at Columbia and transport oil back to China from Venezuela.

Insurance against a volatile middle east which China doesn’t understand but can read about in the Bible.

So, when did Columbia’s president last visit China?

“On the afternoon of October 25, 2023, President Xi Jinping held talks at the Great Hall of the People with President of Colombia Gustavo Petro who is on a state visit to China. The two heads of state announced the elevation of the China-Colombia relationship to a strategic partnership.”

What is the most recent event that would tell us about what sort of relationship China has with Venezuela?

“Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro arrived in China on Friday, he posted on social media, as the oil-rich socialist country seeks to shore up its ailing finances.

Issued on: 08/09/2023 – 04:01
    Modified: 08/09/2023 – 11:18”

2 min

So a month before October 7 Venezuela visits China. Less than 3 weeks after October 7 Columbia visits China.

So where does Guyana fit in?

If I were China I would want to see what kind of resolve the west might have to intervene in the Caribbean.

We could be in for some fun down this side.

America could station a fleet back in Trinidad like it had in WWII and sooner rather than later!!

China also has good relations with Panama but a pipeline could render the canal a luxury.

My guess is if the US stymies China in the Caribbean, it will be forced to take action in the middle east …. where it is supposed to!!

http://mk.china-embassy.gov.cn/eng/zgyw/201812/t20181205_2566082.htm

29. UK is sendin a patrol ship not a battleship

30. “UK is sending a patrol ship not a battleship”

I have focused on lifting light objects and this falls well within that category.
    (1) You have to be aware of symbolism and imagery. I believe the Brits are signaling to world (Venezuela) that they stand with Guyana.

(2) Recently an African country was asking France to remove the few troops positioned on their soil. It took a fair amount of time for the French to do so…
    Why? Those few forces were nothing more than a tripwire. Any action against them would have given France an excuse for sending a much larger fighting force.

Hopefully you can connect the two dots. Next time .. Ask a question

31. @ John on December 26, 2023 at 12:16 PM said:

(Quote).
    My guess is if the US stymies China in the Caribbean, it will be forced to take action in the middle east …. where it is supposed to!!
    (Unquote).

And what “action” do you think would be taken and against whom?

Iran knowing full well that Iran is not Iraq; the mythological birthplace of Abraham?

Why not leave Iran to the Zionist bully called Israel the pitbull?

Or would such action involve the exchange of nuclear bombs to signal the start of a real Armageddon in the ME?

What would America do when Mainland China takes over its offshore renegade territory called Taiwan?

What would ‘Poor’ Britain do when the recently-elected Argentinian loudmouth decides to look for a distraction for the masses and sends airplanes and warships to the Falkland Islands aka Las Malvinas?

Just remember, Thatcher is dead! So too is Imperial Britian!

32. Miller on December 26, 2023 at 3:23 PM said:

@ John on December 26, 2023 at 12:16 PM said:

(Quote).
    (Unquote).

And what “action” do you think would be taken and against whom?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Go read Revelation!!!

33. Grasshopper

See how easy it is.

Two lightweights apparently on their way to war … yeah right.

… and Caricom, “a bunch of prawns” sticking their noses in.

So you look for the heavyweights!!

34. WWI was started by a nobody, Gavrilo Princip in a nothing country, Bosnia Herzegovina in a capital few knew much about, Sarajevo.

He was an agent of “the Black Hand” a Serbian secret society and sucked The Hapsburg Empire into a declaration of war which then sucked in Germany, an ally of the Hapsburgs and Russia an ally of Serbia on the other side.

France was allied to Russia and joined and England was allied to France and Belgium.

35. @ John on December 26, 2023 at 4:02 PM said:
    “Go read Revelation!!!”

Why the Book of “Revelation”?

Why not the Book of Enoch or even Ezekiel?

Maybe the extraterrestrials are about to intervene and save our sorry asses from self-destruction.

After all, your own sweet Jesus was an extraterrestrial born of an Earthly virgin girl from a SKY father.

36. stumped the chump Avatar

“+++++++ “Why the Book of
    “Revelation”? Why…”

Me no know
    but it seems like you stumped the chump
    and made JK shit up

well done
    you deserve a round of applause
    👏 👏

37. Oh, oh!
    More light lifting.
    The Brits sneezed
    Maduro piss his pants

38. If Ralph Gonzales and the other micmicmen of Caricom believed that such a “propicious” affair invovling hydrocarbons by the country with the largest proven reserves on the planet could be husband by their boyish interventions…

Well, we know with certainty that the satanic Americans sent the British as a signal that Caricom has no say in these matters. Simple because they are beyond their pay grade. This has long been the nature of Britian relationship with America. A relationship no different that the role of a prostitute.

The very British who stole Venezuela’s sovereign gold in the name Juan Gaedo.

Ysnkee styled democracy. We remain at loss how the country which purports to be the beacon of democracy. The country from which the satraps in this region get their debt bondage. Could continue to make these claims and fools never stop believing them.

When all attemps at peace and democracy are constantly being replaced by a relentless fascism all over the world.

And if these feckers could be relentless, weeee too could have the ruthless determination in driving the big mushroom-headed deckie in dey pokertz for christmas or as a new year’s gift😜😜😜😜😜😜😜

39. Perceptions of Election Integrity!!

file:///C:/Users/eejoh/Downloads/measuringelectoralintegrityaroundtheworld.pdf

40. Let's get the bus rolling. Avatar
    Let’s get the bus rolling.

The investigator of the deadly Guyana Defence Force (GDF) helicopter crash has taken the black box to the United States for analysis as part of the probe into the incident earlier this month, Aviation Minister Juan Edghill said Friday.

Speaking at his year-end news conference, he said the black box, properly titled the Flight Data Recorder, of the Bell 412 Epi helicopter had been taken overseas by Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) accident/incident investigator, Krishnanand Ramlachana.

“Last week, I approved for that investigator to travel to the United States to transport and deliver to the National Transportation Safety Board the black box so that the readings of that black box would be able to inform the investigation as it relates to what happened,” Edghill said when asked by Demerara Waves Online News.

Just ran into this today and all the joy of beginning a New Year just vanished.

Unlike the Guyanese government I am suspicious of any US action. The next thing I will hear is that the the helicopter was brought down by a weapon of mass destruction or the pilot was attacked by the same sonic waves that the diplomatic US staff in Cuba experienced and then we have US troops crawling all over Venezuela. I like the US but I don’t trust its officials.

Yesterday, I could hurry back to bed and ignore the story until the next year, but this year has already started.

41. Ask the flying fishes ... Is the Caribbean a zone of peace? Avatar
    Ask the flying fishes … Is the Caribbean a zone of peace?

Is the Caribbean a zone of peace?

Let me hasten to assure you that if we are, it is because we are set of small and impotent nations. Can you imagine what would happen if The Tobago and Barbados ‘fishing fleets’ were well armed. At the present time I am glad that the best they can do is pelt rotten flying fish at each other.

Tell the Haitians that the Caribbean is a zone of peace as their citizens are ill-treated everywhere they go.

I want to disabuse you of those lofty notions and fancy ideas and phrase that you love to repeat We may have some semblance of peace but it s really because we don’t have much to fight over.

May the flying fish and Haitian immigrants travel free.

42. Do you recall how the British sent a warship to the region soon after these two countries had peace talks. These two counties can meet and say/agree to what they like, but the fires of war will be stoked and the drums of war will be beaten by others

From BT
    “The United States government is increasing its urgent military assistance to Guyana, officials said Monday, amid lingering threats from neighbouring Venezuela.

The US is pledging to help Guyana buy new aircraft, helicopters, a fleet of military drones and, for the first time, radar technology.

The details were not immediately clear, and Guyanese officials declined to say how much they expected to pay.

Confirmation of the plan came a day after the US deputy national security advisor, Jon Finer, and Western Hemisphere senior director Juan Gonzalez met with authorities in Guyana about improving defence capabilities”.