The BBA and DC maybe have received a dose of its own medicine.

In today’s press former member of parliament and prominent criminal attorney Michael Lashley has expressed “ fears that lawyer-client privacy at police stations is under threat, based on the Barbados Police Service’s findings in the “cell phone under the table” incident”. His reaction was to the incident where a cell phone was found taped under a desk at District E in a room used by attorneys and clients.

The blogmaster has no problem with the Barbados Bar Association (BBA), Faith Greaves, a junior lawyer at Michael Lashley & Associates, expressing outrage at the incident. Obviously an attempt was made by someone to subvert the process. Unfortunately, Barbadians have tolerated repeated attempts by officialdom to rub the brown stuff in our faces. What the incident exposes is a level of corruption perpetrated by actors responsible for honouring the justice system.

Given the nature of your complaint, a forensic analysis was conducted to this cellular phone by the Regional Security System. The forensic analysis of the cellular phone was carried out to determine whether it was fit for use or carried any recorded information thereon.

“That forensic examination revealed that the phone was unserviceable and that there was no recording on the phone. That the phone had no bearing on the matter involving the attorney-client privileged communication. The forensic examination also showed there was no link between the investigations involving your client and the cellular phone.

Nation newspaper

The protest coming from president of BBA who rightly issued a statement expressing, “dissatisfaction with the reply that was forthcoming from the Office of the Commissioner of Police is laughable. A detailed response to the letter will be given early next week”. The statement is appropriate in the circumstances, but, BBA and its sister agency the Disciplinary Committee (DC) have been guilty of behaving in similar fashion. How many complaints from the public have been frustrated by the two agencies over the years? There is no question the many unresolved complaints from the public have led to a dim reputation the legal profession currently enjoys in Barbados. Members of the BBA who repeatedly use the defense that only a small number of lawyers are incarcerated therefore it is an overreaction to label the profession crooked, disregard one consideration. What if the many complaints lodged with the BBA and DC were thoroughly investigated?

There is a saying what you sow, you will reap. The BBA and DC have received a dose of its own medicine. Who knows how the phone was placed in the multipurpose room at District E. A simple suggestion would be for the police to search the room BEFORE lawyers meet with clients? The blogmaster fears this matter of the taped cell phone to a table is the tip of the iceberg as it pertains to how ‘things’ are done in Barbados by actors citizens trust.

Nothing to see here by denizens in this fair land. The Commissioner of Police has issued a statement, “…the occurrence of this unfortunate incident is sincerely regretted. We assure you that measures have been already adopted to further secure the private privilege of attorney-client communication at police stations”. Here endeth this laughable saga. We wonder why the public, especial today’s generation, does not have confidence in the police force? How will policing improve in the prevailing climate of distrust? How much is our judicial actors – lawyers, judges, policemen, officials at the registry et al – to blame for the current state of affairs?

By the way, can we have an update on the work at the Police Complaints Authority?

50 responses to “Taped cell phone tip of the iceberg”

1. The cell phone was incapable of making a recording due to its condition. End of story. 

Having established that no crime was committed, should a citizen be found with an unlicensed firearm and his/her attorney establishes that it was incapable of firing a round, that too will be the end of the story, I trust. No further investigation necessary. 

So too, should a person be discovered behind the wheel of a vehicle parked at the side of the road and that person is intoxicated, there will be no further action when the car is proven to be incapable of being driven due to a dead battery. End of story. 

2. The Whole BB place is a colossal JOKE.
    The more eddykated we have become, .the more ‘tupid we have been behaving.

Wisdom is a funny thing…. THERE IS ONLY ONE SOURCE,
    …and a BB is a fellow who has rejected that source.

The problem with brassbowlery is that it produces more and more shiite – no matter how hard you try, or how pretty the big boss can talk…or how much you borrow…

If only we had eyes to see and ears to hear,
    …PERHAPS some BBs would seek to return to the ’source’ of wisdom…
    …but we are too eddykated and knowledgeable for that…. 

What a curse!!!
    Reminds Bushie of Pharaoh’s thinking AFTER the damn frogs…. 

3. I seem to recall that the RSS played a key role in the removal of the Trinidadian from Barbados.

They can change the letters around but all of these systems have the same goals … protect the status quo and to misinform and to deceive the public. They will cover for each other to do so.

4. What did you say Bush Tea? Barbados is a blessed place?

Prison officer resigns amid probe

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews. com
    A FEMALE OFFICER has resigned from the Barbados Prison Service with immediate effect following an investigation into an inmate who tried to escape custody.
    Reports indicate that the inmate, who is serving a lengthy sentence at Dodds Prison for manslaughter, told prison authorities the officer was his girlfriend and that he was trying to abscond to go to her house.
    His escape, which was widely publicised, was short-lived and he suffered injuries during the process.
    When contacted about the situation, Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams said he could not comment as it was an ongoing probe.
    No comment
    “Any matters which are under active investigation by any of the departments under me are not available for comment. I tend to share as much as I can once the investigation is complete and reports are released, but, obviously, if the matter is under active investigation then even making comments about them might prejudice the outcome of the investigation,” he said, while stressing that he was speaking generally.
    DAILY NATION
    investigations further revealed that the former officer, said to be in her early 30s, was recruited about a year ago.
    Sources said phone records showed prolonged conversations between the two, some of which were intimate.
    Caswell Franklyn, whose Unity Workers’ Union represents a number of prison officers, said the former warder was not part of his union. However, he said he was aware of the matter and had spoken publicly about it on a podcast.
    Franklyn said he understood the officer was recommended for the position through political connections.
    “That is why I keep saying all the time [certain people] must keep out of the recruitment of people in the Public Service,” he added, as he mentioned another Government department where people who had criminal records were recruited.

5. UNLESS THE FBI TELLS ME THAT THE PHONE HAD NO RECORDINGS OR WAS NOT SCRUBBED OF DATA THEN THE DISHONEST BARBADOS POLICE FORCE OR RSS HAS NO CREDIBILITY IN THIS MATTER.

THIS IS PAR FOR THE COURSE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

6. David, the RSS is a REGIONAL para-military, law enforcement agency that, among its responsibilities, gathers and disseminates information/intelligence relative to the national security of regional territories, drug trafficking and others crimes, as well as assisting regional law enforcement agencies. Information indicates it also receives military and law enforcement training and assistance, for example, from the US military, US coast guard, FBI, INTERPOL etc. Since its establishment in the early 1980s, I cannot remember hearing anything to suggest the RSS engaged in any activity that questioned its reliability and integrity. I’m sure you will agree that UWI and RSS are among the few successful regional institutions. Based on technical, financial and human resources available to the System, do you actually believe its hierarchy would purposely compromise its stellar record and integrity, to falsify a simple forensic analysis of a mobile phone? (20 marks)

7. Is this the same FBI that historical and current information would suggest corruption and dishonesty…… or, is there another US law enforcement agency bearing a similar name?

8. @Artax

The RSS can only examine what was given to it.

9. @Artax

You are allowing yourself to be led down a rabbit hole.

10. David, you are correct. Short, simple answer.

11. Why would anyone tape a phone to the underside of a table in a room where an interrogation of a person is being conducted ?

In my layman’s opinion it could only be for a possible nefarious reason.

12. ” The Cell Phone Destruction Process
    Destruction providers start by collecting yours and other cell phones, hard drives, and various electronics from other customers for shredding. Next the electronics are loaded into an industrial shredder where they’re broken into unrecoverable pieces.”

13. What did you say Bush Tea? Barbados is a blessed place?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It was!!
    …until wunna build the ‘Satan Altar’ at the damn Garrison…
    You think that God hard-up for brass bowls to bless?!!!
    steupsss…
    Self inflicted curse in we collective donkeys.

14. I hesitate to give the RSS a free pass. The rapid removal of a citizen from one Caribbean country to another is a source of extreme concern.

The way the story developed /died we cannot be certain that extradition protocols were obeyed or breached. This made it clear that the RSS’s action supplements the ‘military/police’ power of these little nations.

What else is contained in its bag of tricks? Its pristine reputation may only be a demonstration of how the RSS can conceal its activities. Peel off the virginal white sheets and you will see an ugly American (USA) hiding under it.

15. Didn’t our AG pronounced on this matter by accepting some blame on behalf of how the various actors executed?

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/police-fell-short-of-legal-norms/article_b0471304-eedb-11ed-92d4-b342ad03d4e5.html

16. @ David,

A “burner phone” is a cheap, prepaid mobile phone that you can destroy or discard when you no longer need it. In popular media, criminals often use burner phones to evade detection by authorities.

17. @Hants

Do we know what kind of phone was taped under the table?

18. “Barbados Attorney General Dale Marshall says the Barbados Police Service fell “somewhat short of applicable legal norms” when it apprehended Trinidad and Tobago national Brent Thomas without an extradition request last October”

I am somewhat surprise that a man of your knowledge and experience would fall for “mistakes were made” excuse. This is the explanation without providing any information; the admission of guilt without saying who is guilty and what penalty will be imposed; and the apology that is directed towards no one.

I remember being amused when we asked ac to loosen the weave. Perhaps the time has come to ask you to put away the goblet. We question the nature of what you are drinking. Stay Kool. Aid is here if you need it.
    (The last two lines were cheap, but I found it so amusing I had to post it)

19. David, in simple terms, TTPS shared intelligence with BPS, but did not apply for an extradition request. BPS acted on information received, according to protocol…. but reacted without the request. I believe BPS made a judgement call perhaps based on the urgency and seriousness of the situation. Remember, police did not find anything after searching his hotel that could have been used to charge him with a crime. And used his outstanding arrest warrants in T&T as the basis to detain and arrest him. I believe this is a sensitive issue, which maybe the subject of a Court hearing. If so, then you cannot fault Marshall revealing as much information as is necessary to the public at this time, lest he prejudiced the process.

20. Phonegate.

Who taped the phone to the underside of the table ?

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

Cmon Hants why ask a question like that?
    It was there for nuff nuff time. It en even wukking.
    Just don’t get arrested in Buhbaydus. Ask Prescod…but wait I hear that case done.

22. Who taped the phone to the underside of the table ?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @Hants…
    COULD have been an accused person looking for evidence that his lawyer’s final bill does not exceed his verbal quote (cause wunna done know that there will be no chance for an AUDIT after the case)

COULD have been a lawyer looking for a technical dismissal of a case on the grounds that certain privileges were breached…

COULD have been an officer gathering evidence – (ahhh… using modern technology)

COULD have been left there when the Building was constructed, by the Contractor – to eavesdrop on workers

COULD have been left by the warden who had a prisoner boyfriend – to see if he spilled any beans during questioning..

Shiite, wuh it COULD have been taped to the table by the officer in charge – to detect if the room was being used for any nefarious nocturnal purposes not authorized by police policy (like sleeping on duty for example…   🙂 )

…passing strange dat the tape just decide to ‘release’ when a lawyer was in the room..??!!

Of course, in a NORMAL country, that phone would have been checked to see who last USED it; who purchased it; who registered the SIM CARD in it, and perhaps even whose FINGERPRINTS was on the phone, tape, underside of the table etc…

But NOT BOUT BB HERE…!!!

De phone can’t record – so no crime, NTSH!!!
    (perhaps it is OK to eavesdrop LIVE, …but yuh CANNOT tape um…
    Looka – any shiite is possible in Bim)

Just like the ‘radical’ money ‘get thief’, – so ‘no crime’ was committed…
    Dr. Doobad steal houses lay in containers rusting… so NTSH….
    No audits have been done on Client’s funds, so we have GREAT lawyers….
    Most SOEs have no current audited financials – so they CANNOT be doing badly… LOL

What a place!!
    What a serious CURSE…!!!

23. Wait, Bushie. How do you KNOW if the forensic analysis of the mobile phone did not include ‘checking to see all those things you highlighted,’ which are obvious reference points for such a detailed scientic examination? Or, were you present during the process?

24. @Artax

It could be Bush Tea read this Nation report.

Inquiry call

Lawyers pursue cell phone answers
    by MARIA BRADSHAW
    mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

THE BARBADOS BAR ASSOCIATION (BBA) is calling for a Commission of Inquiry into the incident where a cell phone which was stuck under a desk with duct tape dropped to the floor while an attorney-at-law was conducting an interview at the District “E” Police Station.
    In addition, the association said it would also be requesting the full report of the police investigation into the incident.
    Attorney Martie Garnes, convener of the Criminal Law Committee of the BBA, said the matter was so serious that it was “literally of public importance”.
    Garnes made the call for the inquiry yesterday during a press conference at the BBA’s Perry Gap, Roebuck Street, St Michael office. Also present were president Kaye Williams and Faith Greaves, the attorney who was meeting with her client when the incident occurred on On September 14, Greaves received a letter from the Office of the Commissioner of Police informing her that the police investigation into the matter had been concluded and that the phone was “unserviceable”.
    Garnes told the media: “We from the Barbados Bar Association, particularly the Criminal Law Committee, we are asking at this point that a commission of inquiry be conducted in this matter, because the mere fact that the presence of a phone that has three pieces of duct tape on it, that in of itself has breached client/attorney privilege, because there could only be two reasons why that is there – either one, you are either calling that phone before the attorney comes in and listening in, or, two, it is being used to record. So if it is there is nothing on it, was it used to transmit? That is the question we now have to answer.”
    Referencing the Commission of Inquiry Act, Garnes pointed out that President, The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason could appoint the Commission.
    “I know that there’s the Commission of Inquiry Act and it says the Governor General but as we all know, since we became republic, it would have to be the President of Barbados.
    “At this stage, we would urge that the powers that be look into it and deem it fitting because the particular section itself, and I want to refer to it where it says this is section three of the Commissions of Inquiry, and it reads: the Governor General may whenever he deems it expedient in the public interest, appoint one or more commissioners to be a commission of inquiry designated as either (a) an Advisory Commission to inquire into and advise upon any matter connected with the Government of Barbados, or – this is the part I really want you to focus on – or an investigatory commission to investigate and report upon a matter which the Governor General deems to be of national public importance.”
    Garnes added: “In our opinion from the Criminal Law Committee this literally is of public importance because you are essentially having members of the Barbados Police Service being caught in breaching someone’s constitutional rights.
    Earlier, Greaves, who spoke publicly about the incident for the first time, said how “astonished” she was when the phone with three pieces of duct tape affixed to it dropped as she was interviewing her client.
    She described the room where the interview was taking place as a 30×30 room with transparent glass on either side.
    “It is virtually impossible for any civilian, including attorneys, including suspects, to affix with duct tape a cellular phone to a desk in that room without being seen.
    “I am not going to say what my suspicions are, in terms of who could have placed it there but I leave that question with you, members of the public, to question who would have the opportunity, who would have the time to affix this cell phone underneath a desk.”
    She pointed out that attorneys were not allowed to carry cell phones into the interview rooms.
    As to the police investigation into the matter where the police have determined that the phone was “unserviceable”, Greaves, who is the daughter of High Court Judge, Carlisle Greaves, stated: “I do not know what the Office of the Commissioner of Police meant by the phone being unserviceable.
    “He did not explain whether it had a sim card; he did not explain whether there was anything on the phone that could lead to a conclusion as to the owner of the cell phone.”
    She added there was no indication in the letter if the phone or duct tape were sent for fingerprint analysis.

25. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster’s wish is for the BBA and Disciplinary Committee to pursue complaints lodged with the same energy as it seems to be doing with this taped cell phone matter.

26. Commission (Barbados): A rubber stamp without a fixed shelf life. It operate until people forgets its purpose or returned with a result that was known from Day 1.

Essentially, a toy train with all the bells and whistles

27. Essentially, a toy train with all the bells and whistles
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not even that!
    Commissions are shiite trains with a lotta hot air… and a waste of borrowed money.

Toy trains serve a PURPOSE of entertaining and inspiring intelligent children.

28. Wait, Bushie. How do you KNOW…
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie don’t KNOW one shiite…!!!
    But the bushman KNOW someone who KNOWS EVERY shiite… 🙂

What Bushie would like from the BBA is for them to shut their donkeys… UNTIL THEY DEMAND THAT ALL CLIENT FEES BE AUDITED, and deal with the multiple cases of lawyer robberies of the unsuspecting.

It is like having the damn Mafia complaining about the CIA’s underhand tactics…

29. @Bush Tea

Did the Duffus Commission serve a purpose? To confirm what we know? We elect dictators aka Bigworks leaders.

30. David, because the report did not mentioned anything about ‘finger prints, SIM card or ownership,’ does not necessarily mean that information was not gathered during the investigation. Perhaps you may not want to admit it, but the Bushman is a resible guy, who sometimes ‘talk a lotta shiite’ and jokes and insults his way out when he’s ‘backed into a corner,’ as evidenced by his response to ny question.

31. @Artax

Based on today’s Nation report there is consensus that it is an empty one which explains why the Criminal Committee of BBA is advocating for more to be shared to explain what is a serious breach of privacy.

32. Another thing, David. Perhaps John Griffiths hoped the BBA had exhibited a similar amount of zeal when he was begging Micheal Carrington for over 2 years to release his (Griffiths) funds.

33. Agreed Artax. The BBA appear to be cherrypicking because it puts their perennial‘ enemy’ in the criminal space on the defensive.

34. **** RISIBLE, not resible.

35. A Commission of Inquiry? Dis place is bare jokes, looka the whole thing went awry when the lawyer handed over the phone to the force’s version of “Dudley do wrong”. I am surprised that it even acknowledged that they received a phone, they could have said “phone what phone?” Instead, it came up with the lamest excuse of all the phone was “unserviceable” whatever that means but didn’t address the elephant in the room as to why a phone was taped to the underside of a table where lawyers are supposed to be able to speak to their clients in confidence.

I am left wondering how many cases have been compromised because of surreptitious recordings of conversations between lawyers and their clients over the years. I also wrote about “chain of custody” as even if an inoperable phone was produced how will anyone know whether it was the phone that was discovered taped to the table.

36. I feel the lady lawyer planted the phone. Then made it look like it had been there for an unknown time. Wasn’t a current MP questioned about circumstances around some of his fooping in said room?
    Sweet fah daze.

37. District E is Holetown.

38. The blogmaster joins with others to hear the same outrage directed at Barbados Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee.

Cops rapped over handling of case
    By Maria Bradshaw mariabradshaw@nationnews.com
    “This is a scandal!”
    That is how King’s Counsel Michael Lashley has described the police handling of an attempted rape case which was dismissed by a magistrate last year after the police failed to produce a file for eight years.
    Lashley, who is representing the female complainant, told the Weekend Nation
    the case was a classic example of why there was a need for reform of the criminal justice system.
    The senior attorney said that on Wednesday evening, he received correspondence from the police’s Office Of Professional Responsibility advising that the case would be relodged, but he charged this was after he wrote to the office last month threatening to take legal action on behalf of his client.
    He is also wary that the case will make it to the court again, pointing out that his client was informed by the same office that officers at District “A” Police Station, where she had lodged the complaint, had indicated there was no evidence and no file because the lead investigator had passed away.
    From scratch
    Lashley said it seemed that police were also starting from scratch since his client was also contacted on Wednesday by them and informed that another statement would have to be taken from her.
    “I think this is a very unfortunate scenario.
    There seems to be no copy of the file and although the virtual complainant handed over physical evidence, it seems that evidence has also disappeared.
    How can the public have confidence in the criminal justice system?
    Both the accused and the complainant have rights and we have to respect those rights.
    “The issue is justice and the question is whether any person who is involved in the criminal justice system would really get their just due. In this case the complainant was clearly affected because she now has to go through the trauma of a reinvestigation into the matter . . . . It is a serious thing,” he added. Reiterating his call for police to also have audio and video recordings of statements, Lashley said more than one person should have access to files, as he stated he may still have to pursue liability for his client for the psychological trauma she has had to suffer.
    All over again
    The 42-year-old woman said she felt as if she was being attacked “all over again” when the magistrate informed her the case was being dismissed.
    “I went to court in June/July and the magistrate told me that the lead officer who was dealing with the case had passed away and they could not find the file; and if none was available, the case would be dismissed.
    “When I went back in November the magistrate let me know that it was against [the accused’s] constitutional rights that he keep appearing in court every date and she could not move forward with the case because the police could not find the file.
    He got up smiling and talked to the magistrate and walked past in front of me and walked out of the court. I felt as if I was being violated all again. In my mind I was asking, what about my constitutional rights?”
    The woman said she immediately left the court, called her brother and told him to go and buy more locks so she could put on her door, as she recalled the incident.
    “I never went back to the house where I was living. I have tried my best to forget this whole thing. For two years, I couldn’t sleep – my son had to sleep with me in the bed. That is the worst thing anybody can go through . . . .
    “The only thing I didn’t take to scrub off my skin was steel wool.
    People see me outside like everything is good and dandy but when I close my door at night, I does get all these memories. I go back to being a prisoner in my house.”

39. A few years ago Lashley was a member of the cabal who did not one rh to change the course of events that is responsible for current state.

Dems support Bar’s call for independent probe

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is supporting the Barbados Bar Association’s call for an independent probe into the discovery of a duct-taped cell phone under a desk of a police station interview room, where an attorney was meeting with a client.
    In his capacity as first vicepresident of the DLP, King’s Counsel Michael Lashley described the development as one that could shake the public confidence in the justice system and therefore it was imperative the matter be independently investigated.
    “The Democratic Labour Party deems the scenario with a taped cell phone being discovered in an interview room at one of the police stations where a privileged lawyer-client conversation was taking place as a national mystery.
    “As such, the DLP wholeheartedly disagrees with the Commissioner of Police that there was no breach of privacy in that matter,” the attorney said in a statement yesterday.
    “In this vein, the DLP supports the Barbados Bar Association’s call for an independent probe into the matter. Further, we are calling for full disclosure regarding the investigation that was conducted. It is our position that all the statements coming out of this matter should be disclosed to the relevant stakeholders,” he added.
    When contacted, Acting Attorney General Wilfred Abrahams told the Weekend Nation his office was awaiting official correspondence from the Bar Association, following which a determination would be made.
    “The Bar Association president, Kaye Williams, has advised me that correspondence will be sent to the Office of the Attorney General in respect of the entire situation. This will include the concerns of the Bar and certain recommendations, and upon receipt of those, consideration will be given and a response will be issued,” he added.
    However, the DLP is calling for a comprehensive review of the criminal justice system. Lashley argued that the “piecemeal approach to reform that has been adopted will not fix the fundamental issues” facing the system.
    Among the changes he wants to see are: the establishment of an independent body to investigate allegations of breaches of suspects’ rights during in-custody investigations; amendment of the Police Act, mandating strict procedural rules that must be followed while a suspect is in police custody; and the setting-up of a duty lawyer scheme to protect suspects’ rights and safeguard the State from any liability for breaches of the suspect’s fundamental rights.
    (CLM)

40. Comedy!

Court requests judge’s reasons ‘as a matter of urgency’
    The Court of Appeal is still waiting for the judge’s reasons for her decision in the civil matter between Asha “Mrs Ram” Mirchandani’s Knitwear Ltd and the Barbados Water Authority (BWA).
    As a result, the appeal was again adjourned when it came up for hearing yesterday.
    However, President of the Court, Justice of Appeal Rajendra Narine, has directed the Registrar to request those reasons “as a matter of urgency”.
    Mirchandani has filed an appeal against a High Court decision which granted her an injunction against the utility company but ordered her to comply with several conditions.
    The suit against the utility company stemmed from action taken by the BWA, against Casa Grande Hotel, when the BWA discovered an illegal connection to the property. The hotel was also in arrears to the BWA to the tune of about $250 000, resulting in disconnection in November 2018.
    However, the hotel, trading as Knitwear Ltd, filed a suit against the BWA asking the High Court to order the utility company to restore the water.
    Justice Michelle Weekes granted the order and told the BWA to restore the water. However, as part of the order, she directed Mirchandani to pay half of the arrears; fix the 63 leaking toilets at Casa Grande Hotel and to subject the property to an inspection by officials from the BWA. The court also ordered her to pay all current water bills, including the Garbage and Sewage Contribution, in full.
    Mirchandani appealed, saying the conditions that were imposed were harsh, and asked that the water be restored and damages paid to her.
    Since then, the BWA has applied to the same High Court for summary judgment in the matter.
    Need reasons
    Yesterday Justice of Appeal Narine, who presided with Justices of Appeal Jefferson Cumberbatch and Margaret Reifer, said: “We are of the view we need to have the reasons of the trial judge.
    “What we propose to do is to put the matter to another date and get the reasons at the earliest date,” he said.
    He then ordered that the Registrar “is directed to request, as a matter of urgency, the written reasons of the trial judge”.
    The appeal was adjourned until December 4.
    Mirchandani was represented by attorney Lynette Eastmond, while attorneys Gregory Nicholls and Ona Harewood represented the BWA.

41. David, District E (Speightstown, St. Peter), is not Holetown station. The only thing both stations share in common is being in the northern division.

42. It was an honest mistake Artax, thanks for pointing it out.

43. 1/2
    At times when I read some of the stories here I want to scream, cry and hurl my computer through the window.

Excerpt1
    “an attempted rape case which was dismissed by a magistrate last year after the police failed to produce a file for eight years.”
    Police “had indicated there was no evidence and no file because the lead investigator had passed away.”
    “there seems to be no copy of the file and although the virtual complainant handed over physical evidence, it seems that evidence has also disappeared”
    Victim’s statement
    “the magistrate let me know that it was against [the accused’s] constitutional rights that he keep appearing in court every date and she could not move forward with the case because the police could not find the file.
    He got up smiling and talked to the magistrate and walked past in front of me and walked out of the court. I felt as if I was being violated all again. In my mind I was asking, what about my constitutional rights?”

44. 2/2
    It should already be clear that I am no lawyer or expert at anything, but I pride myself on my ability to put myself in the shoes of the other man and I can tell you that it is often an uncomfortable fit.

Do you recall that a case against a lawyer was delayed for years and then thrown out because 3 victims died. I think there should have been an investigation into those multiple deaths.

Now we have a case that cannot go any further because of delays and the death of a police investigator.
    Can a murder accuse walk free because an investigator died?
    What filing system do we have that files can just disappear?
    A lot of money was spent. Is there not a filing system?
    Is there not a depository (electronic or otherwise) to store case notes?
    How many cases must our police bungle before we admit corruption?
    How many phones must fall off a desk before we see corruption?
    My God, can you tell me what must happen before we scream at injustice rendered?

Do we honestly think that hotels and fancy speeches are a measure of how civilize we are?
    Do we honestly think that we can prey on the weak and be considered a fair and just society?
    Do you realize that even with our numerous lawyers, courts and judges the laws of the jungle are obeyed.
    We may be “punching above your weight” but we are punching the elderly, women and children.

For Christ sake, stop your abuse. Stop your criminality?

I am thoroughly disgusted with the wordsmiths who lack the courage to say “We abuse our children, we rob the elderly, we rape our women and men go free”.

Must it happen to a loved one before we speak out? Can’t see the bodies of victims of abuse piling up and yet refuse to condemn those who do wrong? We make awards and fancy speeches whilst our society slowly rots away?

Victim’s statement
    “I never went back to the house where I was living. I have tried my best to forget this whole thing. For two years, I couldn’t sleep – my son had to sleep with me in the bed. That is the worst thing anybody can go through . . . .
    “The only thing I didn’t take to scrub off my skin was steel wool.
    People see me outside like everything is good and dandy but when I close my door at night, I does get all these memories. I go back to being a prisoner in my house.”

I cried again today. I could be like some and pretend, but I feel the pain of this victim My mother and sister are women and one is old. My mother already an encounter with a lawyer.

45. Of course the victim deserves sympathy and justice. However, the accused has the fundamental human right to ‘presumption of innocence,’ whereby everyone charged with a criminal offence shall be presumed innocent until proven guilty according to law, and the right to a fair trial…. whether or not we may disagree with this process. And likewise, if the accused was our father, brother or son, we would want those rights extended to them. But, the death of the lead investigator exposed weaknesses in the system, which should be addressed immediately.

46. …and who has the fundamental right to take EIGHT years to prosecute a rape case – where the accused and victim are both available?
    ..or is there a fundamental right to have a ‘friend’ deliberately force delays until the case is compromised by death ..or just time?

What a damned place…

47. @Bush Tea

Here we are again, a dysfunctional process that screws up everything for one side or rhetorical other. Where is recourse for all that defines justice?

48. Where is the OUTRAGE from ordinary BBs to such an unjust, uncaring, mediocre system..?

49. Yes, David. But, isn’t it ironic that Michael Lashley, who is NOW complaining, was a Cabinet member of the previous administration and ACTED as Attorney General on several occasions?