Barbadians prefer to eat junk

We are a society that has become reliant on government for everything under the sun. While the government cannot be excused from its governance responsibilities, a civil society by definition is “considered as a community of citizens linked by common interests and collective activity“.

What is wrong with as many households as possible prioritizing kitchen gardens in pots, pans, replace lawns etc. Instead, we have allowed ourselves to become intoxicated with the easy lifestyle of sourcing too many food items from the shelves of a retail outlet whether local or international, Chefette, KFC and several others spring to mind.

Credit to Bentley

We are a nation with a growing reputation as being the NCD capital of the region, some suggest the world. Shouldn’t this be enough of a motivation for Barbadians to take responsibility for making the best decisions to practice healthy living? We have the situation in Barbados where outlets selling food are under no obligation to procure quality produce or communicate nutrition content to the public. More important is the fact the majority of Barbadian consumers seem to give a damn. If as individuals we are not motivated to do whatever it takes to protect our health, we deserve to suffer the consequences.

In related news the Lears Land Use Project seems to be a step in the right direction.

63 thoughts on “Barbadians prefer to eat junk

1. Indeed, what does a says about a culture which courageously lurches to the horrors of the metabolic syndrome diseases – amputations etc.

But lacks any courage at all when it comes to the resistance against cultural impositions from the clear enemies of Afrikan people.

2. We have to get rid of the mentality of the compradores.

With the wholesale acceptance of wokeism and everything else the West has to sell.

Maybe Lenin’s treatment of this social deviation amongst the Bolshevists will give space to find self.

And a determination to even serve for economic experimentation with ‘mission Barbados’

The appetite for foolish food will be going nowhere soon.

• Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

A terrible and deliberate, maliciously perpetrated mess…all for self gain…

…hopefully the health issues can be reversed once people are willing, if not, more amputations and early deaths…

The corruption is a whole other double headed monster that must be routed out, decapitated and permanently destroyed along with its backward perpetrators…

3. what a load of rubbish!
    what is foolish food?

What ever you eat or drink (carbohydrates, fats, proteins or alcohol) is metabolized in the liver to ACETYL CO ENZYME A !

ACETYL CO ENZYME A IS THE PRECURSOR OF FATTY ACIDS , AND FAT

ACETYL CO ENZYME A IS THE PRECURSOR OF CHOLESTEROL WHICH IS REQUIRED TO MAKE VITAMIN D. CO ENZYME Q, AS WELL AS ALL THE STEROID HORMONES SUCH AS THE SALT AND SEX HORMONES

DEFINE the metabolic syndrome diseases AND INDICATE THIER AETIOLOGY AND PATHO-PHYSIOLOGY

DO COME AND PROVIDE ME WITH SOME MIRTH

4. What an idiot are you! An outstanding asshole.

If you could tell us how it is that you are such, we’ll be happy to engage.

• Eating Habits Of Barbadians Fuelling Non-Communicable Diseases

BY MELISSA ROLLOCK | OCT 19, 2022 | TOP STORIES

(Stock Photo)

Barbadians continue to eat meals prepared outside of the home which are, too often, high in salt, refined sugars, cholesterol, trans-fats and saturated fats.

Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness (MHW) with responsibility for non-communicable diseases (NCDs) and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), Dr. Sonia Browne, made this observation at the just concluded workshop on Strategies to Reduce the Salt & Sugar Content of Foods in Barbados held from October 17 to 18, at the Hilton Barbados Resort. It was hosted by the MHW in collaboration with the Pan-American Health Organization.

Dr. Browne said this was a “worrying trend” for the Ministry of Health in addition to unhealthy foods being marketed specifically to children.

“This takes place not only through various media channels using signage, characters and symbols that appeal to children, but through sponsorship of school related sporting events. This is of concern to the Ministry of Health and Wellness.

These challenges require a comprehensive suite of policies that are guided by evidence …

“We have included major components of these policies in the National School Nutrition Policy which takes into account physical activity, good nutrition in school, curriculum adjustments around health education, as well as wider issues such as labelling, fiscal measures and marketing to children. The Ministry of Health is partnering closely with the Ministry of Education in the rollout of this policy,” she stated.

Dr. Browne further noted that obesity in the young was a precursor to obesity and NCDs in adulthood. She said childhood obesity was increasing and small island developing states, such as Barbados, were particularly vulnerable to its impacts on development and economies. 

Prior to the 1980s, undernourishment was a major issue in the region, she pointed out, but in recent times, the rates of paediatric obesity have been increasing.

To illustrate this, the Minister of State shared that in 2018, 32 per cent of Barbadian children were overweight or obese. Contributing to this figure were low levels of physical activity and high levels of consumption of processed foods that were high in sugar, salt and fat.

“Given the drivers on the impacts of NCDs, there is need for individual responsibility as well as a supportive environment for healthy living. Beyond individuals and government, the private and civil society sectors need to ensure that they are taking action that reduces the burden of this NCD pandemic.” Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness, Dr. Sonia Browne

Dr. Browne said NCDs made up the largest area of expenditure in the national healthcare budget, noting this cost was not only counted as a monetary one, but also as a cost to livelihoods and families.

They are the leading causes of preventable morbidity, disability and premature death among the local population and include:

• Cardiovascular diseases such as hypertension, myocardial infarction or heart attacks, strokes, peripheral vascular disease or poor circulation.
      • Cancers – breast, prostate, colon and cervical being the main cancers of public health concern.
      • Chronic respiratory diseases such as asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and even sleep apnea which is often related to obesity.
      • Diabetes mellitus.

The Minister of State added it was crucial that strategies are put in place to not only address the negative outcomes but to reduce the incidences of these conditions. 

However, she explained that the road to solving the NCD problem in Barbados was filled with challenges ranging from political, cultural and economic to those who were just resistant to change.

The COVID-19 pandemic has also added another challenge, she said, since those with underlying health issues, including NCDs, have a higher risk of severe disease and are more likely to die from the viral illness.

“Given the drivers on the impacts of NCDs, there is need for individual responsibility as well as a supportive environment for healthy living. Beyond individuals and government, the private and civil society sectors need to ensure that they are taking action that reduces the burden of this NCD pandemic,” Dr. Browne stated. 

She added: “This workshop is intended to advance the discussion on improving health through reducing sugar and salt consumption. I am grateful for the presence of each of the partners represented and anticipate that our work over the two days will meaningfully advance the fight against NCDs.”

melissa.rollock@barbados.gov.bb

5. LOTS OF HEAT…BUT NO LIGHT.

I HAVE STATED THE BIOCHEMICAL FACTS–SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED.

YOU CAN REDUCE YOUR CARBOHYDATE INTAKE– YOU WILL STILL GET FAT

WHY DO BABIES GROW ON JUST BREAST MILK?

WHY DO ALCOHOLICS SURVIVE?
    WHY DO THEY CRASH IF THEIR ETHANOL CONTENT IS SUDDENLY REDUCED?

THEY METABOLIZE THEIR ALCOHOL TO ACETYLCO ENZYME A WHICH THEN ENTERS THE KREBS CYCLE TO MAKE THE ENERGY THEY NEED

ELEPHANTS RHINOS AND HIPPOTOMI EAT PLANT MATERIAL EXCLUSIVELY BUT THEY GET FAT UH LIE?

IN FACT THEY GET VERY FAT AND ARE THE LARGEST MEMBERS OF THE ANIMAL KINGDOM APART FROM THE WHALES

FOR ALL BU ILLITERATI THE SCIENCE OF NUTRITION HAS ITS BASIS IN BIOCHEMISTRY.

ALSO METABOLISM REVOLVES AROUND THE GLUCOSE MOLECULE

GP DOES NOT TALK VIA HIS RECTAL MUCOSA BUT IS ENGAGED IN NUTRITION AND WEIGHT LOSS RESEARCH DAILY FOR SEVERAL YEARS

NASTY REMARKS ONLY CAUSE ME TO LAUGH LOUDLY

I LOOK FORWARD TO THE USUAL ATTACKS ON WHATEVER I WRITE HERE. FROM THE USUAL KNOW IT ALLS , WHO REALLY KNOW NOTHING OF ANY VALUE

I HAVE GIVEN ENOUGH TO THOSE WHO CAN THINK FOR THEM TO SEE THAT WE ARE GOING ABOUT THIS INCORRECTLY

BUT IF YOU EAT “FAST FOOD” OR THE SAME FOODS COOKED AT HOME. THERE WILL BE NO DIFFERENCE, UH LIE?

SO FAR I AM SEEING THE USUAL EMOTIONAL TALK — BUT I AM NOT SEEING ANY MEANINGFULL SOLUTIONS

BY THE WAY HAS NOT BEEN DR FALSY BEEN SHOWN TO HAVE BEEN TELLING LIES FROM THE BEGINNING OF THE COVID PLANNED-DEMIC

6. A calorie, is a calorie, is a calorie!

What a fool.

Maybe it’s fools who eat foolish food

7. ask yourselves
    can a person lose 100 lbs by using glucogenesiis to generate the glucose he will need to make his DNA & RNA

IS THE SOLUTION USED FOR WEIGHT LOSS FOR THE GOOSE THE SAME FOR THE GANDER?

IS THE SOLUTION USED FOR WEIGHT LOSS FOR THE GOOSE EFFECTIVE INDEFINITELY?

HOW CAN PLATEAUXS OVERCOME

ARE THE FOOD PRESERVATIVES HARMFUL EVEN THE AGENTS THAT ARE PRODUCED IN THE KREBS CYCLE? WHY? WHY NOT?
    PERHAPS IT IS TIME TO POST A MUSIC VIDE OR TWO AS THIS WILL ADD IMMENSELY TO THE DEBATE, AND FURNISH RELEVANT ANSWERS TO THE SOLUTIONS

8. This writer has more than a modicum of respect for Hassel.

However, we’re minded that sugar is a bigger killer than salt.

But he’s a real doctors. Whereas only a doctor boobpo writes this.

9. WHY CANT ANY OF YOU ANSWER ANY QUESTIONS?
    IS IT BECAUSE YOU KNOW NO BIOCHEMISTRY OR NUTRITION.

THE FOODS LISTED IN THAT BULLSHIT PAPER WERE EATEN BY BAJANS IN THE 50’S 60’S 70’S 8O’S ETC AND THERE WAS NO ESCALATION OF CHRONIC DISEASES THEN

MANY OF US WHO ATE SUCH FOOD S THEN, ARE ALIVE AND OVER 70, AND VERY SLIM

THERE MUST BE OTHER FACTORS INVOLVED

BECAUSE I HAVE NOT JUMPED ON YOUR BANDWAGON I AM DEEMED AN IDIOT

BUT I CAN SHOW YOU THE RESULTS OF MY RESEARCH

CAN HASSELL AND COMPANY SHOW ME THEIRS?.

IF THEY COULD THEY WOULD NOT BE MAKING A HUE AND CRY IN BARBADOS. THEY WOULD BE SOLVING THE PROBLEM OR HAVE SOLVED THE PROBLEM ALREADY.

INSTEAD THEY WOULD BE PRESENTING PAPERS THAT GAVE RESULTS

X OBESE PATIENTS OF VARIOUS AGES AND BMI WERE GIVEN X FOODS FOR X DAYS WITH X RESULTS COMPARED TO CONTROLS WHO WERE FED THE FOODS IN THE LIST OR SOME PLECEBO ETC

IS SALT I.E SODIUM PER SE OR LACK OF POTASSIUM
    DO WE HAVE JUST SODIUM PUMPS IN OUR BODIES OR DO WE ACTUALLY HAVE SODIUM POTASSIUM ATPASE DEPENDENT PUMPS

MUST ALL THE ONUS BE PUT PUN DE POOR SCRUNTING PEOPLE?

IT IS POSSIBLE TO GET DIABETICS TO THROW THEIR MEDICATION AND HAVE THEIER HbIAC TO DROP TO THE NORMAL RANGE WITHOUT EXERCISE
    i have seen it accomplished

10. so you get to understand that it is all about BIOCHEMISTRY NOW?

WE HAVE NOT USED BREAD FOR YEARS
    WE HAVE NO SUGAR IN THIS HOME
    NO PASTA NO ALCOHOL
    LOTS OF BROCOLLI CAULIFLOWER EATEN
    GLUCOSE IS PRODUCED IN VITRO BY GLUCONEOGENESIS
    DOUGLA HAS NOT TOLD ME ANYTHING ANYTHING NEW HERE

BUT HE HAS NOT GIVEN ONE SCRIPTURE TO BACK UP MRS EDDY’S CHATTER ABOUT TEMPERANCE

N ACETYLCYSTEINE IS PRODUCED OR USED IN GLUCONEOGENESIS

11. And the priest shall burn them on the altar as a food offering with a pleasing aroma. All fat is the Lord’s.

“Speak to the people of Israel, saying, You shall eat no fat, of ox or sheep or goat.

12. Bible Verse about Brain Food
    And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat.
    The strain’s name was just a string of numbers, blockchain
    Throw it on the pile with the others, blue flame like the oven
    Weed lube, weed butter
    Don’t get ’em confused, whatever you do
    I wasn’t rude, but green eggs and ham, I had to refuse
    beat loop, slurp noodles outta clear soup
    Delivery fee is oof
    My guy won’t lie, them shits’ through the roof
    Colorful packaging, pack ’em in
    Fly like gold on Africans
    Cover my tracks with backronyms
    If the track slaps, in the back, you can almost hear the black cackling
    When it’s my time, no need to pass the hat
    Just throw me in when the fire good and crackling

• @Bush Tea

He has a way of delivering/communication in a way ordinary folks can understand.

13. Eating healthy is not cheap. Furthermore our eating/ diet habits have fallen victim to cultural penetration. Once more , we are throwing things at the wall, hoping something will stick. We are deep in the throes of a cultural battle that our chances of winning seem very slim.

• William we are talking about individuals planting a couple pieces of potato slip, a few pea trees, a herb patch etc, drinking rh water instead of carbonated drinks. You are a serious diabetic, you have high cholesterol or is hypertensive and continue to avoid this effort? How much does it cost to buy a couple pounds of cucumbers, lettuce etc? We love to make excuses. At some point even if there is the cultural penetrating factor there comes a point where concern about one’s health at of your children should become an overriding consideration to trigger behavioural change. Piss in the blogmaster’s pocket do.

• It is instructive the majority of the comments have focused on buying and eating junk food and NOT how we can ease the pain by cultivating food at the individual and national level. In the meantime there is a proliferation of fast food options and growing junk foods on the shelves. In addition, travel any day of the week along the South Coast in the evenings, all the eat out spots are ‘burst’.

14. I have eaten Junk Food and am still alive
    Problems are caused by habitual patterns
    Moderation is the remedy
    when mixing bad and good food

Rapp Snitch Knishes (feat. Mr. Fantastik) –
    MF DOOM

• “I have eaten Junk Food and am still alive”
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~
      Depends on what you mean by ‘alive’…

Perhaps your diet explains the lotta shiite that you post daily…

Too much junk poo imbibed to be ejected through the allocated orifices,
      …so we are left awash with it on BU….

..and the blogmaster seem reluctant to administer the needed medicine.

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

Pretending int easy, especially when ya used up everything ya got and now running on empty…

William…the price of food is ridiculous, after years of Carmeta Fraser reminders, the supermarkets should be seeing less and less people…

Similarly, purchasing anything online for import into the island, should cease altogether. Had too recent experiences…..these were not direct imports but yet…one item, a cable purchased for less than US$40 cost nearly BBD$400 local by courier, then a book costing less than $60 cost US$184….to send via post office mail…definitely not ordering anything else unless relatives are travelling or I am….all of it is grand theft….given escalating prices …and will get much worse.

Time to shut off the supermarkets unless it’s a necessity….and shut down importing anything, there are much better ways around both…

16. Today, the peoples of the Russian Federation are celebrating Victory Day.

There shall be much eating and drinking of the cuisine from all republics.

They celebrate an almost singlehanded victory over Western sponsored fascism in Germany, Japan and Italy predominately.

Known as the Great Patriotic War but WW2 in the West. It comes at a time when fascism is again being fed to the people of the West as the most exceptional political diet.

A time when the Russian Federation finds itself bearing again the greatest burden in the cause against White exceptionalism, on all fronts.

Other countries where Russian food is popularly eaten or language spoken Russian diplomats are prevented from laying wreaths at the monuments to Russians who died in the fight against fascism. Talk about Russia-phobia!

17. “In the meantime there is a proliferation of fast food options and growing junk foods on the shelves. In addition, travel any day of the week along the South Coast in the evenings, all the eat out spots are ‘burst’.”

Nowadays people don’t have time to cook
    and young people don’t even learn how to

18. We never liked Imran Khan when he was a great cricketer.

For his curry was too often disliked by many a West Indian batsman.

But that curry, as Pakistani politician, is even more disliked by the Western paid, military criminals, who siezed power recently.

Again arrested today, Khan continues to bowl too spicy a curry at the micmickmen in Pakistan.

Pakistan, scene of murder of two Bhutos, perennially used as a Western military base, inhabited by corrup generals, now seeks to put Imran Khan in jail to prevent him from participating in coming elections which his party shall win, inspite of “chronic irregularities”, when unwashed hands enter the roti.

None of the wokeist assholes in the West care about these breaches of their “rules based order”, as fake as that has been.

Dey don’t even want some good curry fast political bowling in dey pokerts.

These generals, and their curators in the West, intend to kill Imran Khan, and there’s nothing anybody will do to stop it.

19. William you are very correct re our eating/ diet habits have fallen victim to cultural penetration.

also We are deep in the throes of a cultural battle that our chances of winning seem very slim.

AS LONG AS MOST OF THE FOOD IS IMPORTED THERE WILL BE TROUBLES

MANY MEDICINES AND SUPPLEMENTS ARE SODIUM SALTS…JUST CHECK

SALT IS USED AS A MAJOR FLAVOUR ENHANCER
    IT IS TO BE FOUND IN NEARLY ALL PACKAGED FOODS

WHEREAS DOUGLA HAS GIVEN SOME BASIC OR BROAD PRINCIPLES, THERE IS MUCH THAT HE HAS NOT ADDRESSED, BUT HE IS AN APPROVED PROVIDER

FOR YEARS I HAVE EXPRESSED MY THOUGHTS HERE WITH RESPECT TO CERTAIN PRESERVATIVES E.G MONO SODIUM GLUTAMATE

BUT GLUTAMATE IS A NEUROTRANSMITTER IN THE BRAIN

IS THERE NOT A LINK WITH THAT AND THE INCREASED INCIDENCE OF DISEASES ASSOCIATED WITH DEMENTIA

YOU CAN EAT A WASH PAN OF GREENS BUT HOW DO YOU FLAVOUR IT? WHAT IS IN THE SALAD DRESSINGS?

I CAN GO ON BUT WHY WASTE MY TIME HERE? AND HAVE MY POSTS TAKEN DOWN AND MY OPINIONS DISRESPECTED.

INSTEAD OF MONITORING OF THE LUNCHES PROVIDED BY PARENTS BY TEACHERS WHY NOT MONITOR WHAT IS IMPORTED BY THE WEALTHY MERCHANTS WHO SELL THE MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE LUNCHES?

WE HAVE DIETICIANS SPOUTING INFO BASED ON THE SO CALLED FOOD PYRAMID WHICH IS NOW CONSIDERED TO BE QUITE FALSE

HOW MANY LOCAL DIETICIANS ARE DOING RESEARCH?

AND THE IDIOT THAT SAYS THAT A CALORIE IS A CALORIE IS EFFLUXING THE USUAL BOVINE EXCREMENT CHARACTERISTICALLY SEEN ON BU BECAUSE THAT IS JUST NOT SO

THERE IS A VERY GOOD REASON WHY JUST COUNTING OR REDUCING CALORIES DOES NOT WORK

YOU CAN PRODUCE MANY REGIMES (REGIMEN) OF 2000 CALORIES IN WHICH THE COMPONENTS ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT

E.G 10 EGGS @ 80 CALS EACH IS 800 CALS OF MOSTLY PROTEIN WITH NEEDFUL CHOLESTERO, BUT ALSO LOTS OF ALBUMIN

BUT 10 CINNAMON ROLLS @ 80 CALS EACH IS 800 CALS OF MOSTLY SUGAR

NOW CINNAMON ROLLS & CHROMIUM PICOLINATE WILL LOWER YOUR BLOOD SUGAR DRASTICALLY

MAYBE YOU SHOULD SKIP THE ROLLS AND JUST PUT THE CINNAMON IN YOUR COFFEE

BUT YOU CAN ALSO USE THE ROLLS AS YOUR SOURCE OF GLUCOSE TO FUEL YOUR METABOLISM USING GLUCONEOGENESIS AS YOUR MAJOR PATHWAY

• This writer is a Keto-vegan, for decades.

A calorie, is a calorie, is a calorie was said mockingly to summarize your ignorance.

Certainly NOT something this writer is guided by.

But you’ve previously here praised the bacteria laden fried chicken in a glass case all day long, as fried in vegetable oils. Oils never vegetable but replete with omega 6. The nearest thing to poison a living organism could consume. Heathy oils heated past their heat-points are not dissimilar.

The uninformed way in which you refer to monosodiun glutamate is also illustrates of your near total ignorance about healthy eating, sophisticated food preparation methodologies.

MSG has long been associated with cancer. Your dated recitation about spices on salads is best located within a bygone era. Yuh old fart!

20. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

And since the outlook for those with reparations on the brain is looking bleaker and gloomier..i suggest the rethink of strategies for survival…

… had people been fool enuff to put reparations in the hands of thieves, ya weren’t going to get any of it anyway….so …strategic changes are in order or not…people have long moved past that as well…..planning for survival is not a last minute or make it up as ya go along exercise …not if ya actually want to survive..

Pacha and still we try…..weeee see no mention of survival or plans for same on here…but seeing it everywhere else complete with kits and much needed, definitely required indepth information, that was widely available for the last 2 years…..guess it’s all about priorities.

No one will waste time to post info they need for themselves when everyone is familiar with google…if those links are appearing there, many are not, but some will know where to go.

….look what it has come to though…amazing.

21. @ David
    Cultural development embodies the entire society. Whether it is food choices or economic choices. Once we cannot collectively combat negative cultural trends, we would be constantly spinning top in mud.
    Here is a simple example:
    Sixty years ago, we saw women going home from morning service, often with a head of lettuce in their hands to put on the Sunday meal.
    The disappearance of the little churches and the neighborhood kitchen gardener are no more.
    It’s a changing and changed society herald by both exogenous and local cultural trends.
    And so it is throughout the entire country and it is not unique to us.

• @Wiliam

Cultural penetration is a given, it will be with us until end times because we are an open economy. The challenge of our leadership at every level AND individual is to utilize our so-called high level of education. What is the purpose of allocating billions only to go with the flow?

22. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

William…they cant say they are not being told about the critical stage now confronting everyone…they just wont get the info they need from me, have to find it on their own..

Amazing their fake leaders said not a word to them…ah wonder why….it’s not like they dont know…they sit on top of Empire helping set the same policies, so how could they not know and even worse, not share it with the people who elect them.

23. @ WURA
    We are just reluctant to admit that we have switched from Little England to Little Boston.
    The cultural shift is profound and relentless.

• William leave your red herrings at the door please. There is no disagreement that we have succumb to external influences, this point has been made countless times. The challenge to use a simple example is what do we do given the current state of national health to say to poor families, boiling a breadfruit or sweet potato is better than all the junk options out there. This is the heavy lifting we need to focus on. It will be hard given where we are today given the global village we have become.

24. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

“we have switched from Little England to Little Boston.”

Yep…they switch to evating except their natural selves…then complain when they remain trapped…..only person they can blame is themselves..

They better figure it out real quick, cause not a fella int helping them…not this time..

25. Cultural penetration of food is a good thing no?
    Chinese food remains a vast and delicious proposition.
    Food Culture can be defined as the attitudes, beliefs and practices that surround the production and consumption of food. Food Culture incorporates our ethnicity, and cultural heritage and provides a mechanism of communication with others both externally and within our families and communities.

• Is it possible to remain on topic? Given the current state how can we introduce healthier options to local consumers including improving local agricultural production and adjust taste for imported stuff.

26. Why this Dr. Douglin all the time. We admit that he says some useful things.

We’ve admitted earlier that there is a familial relationship.

But he’s not on the cutting edge of alternative health discourses.

For one, he is bound by a foolish book.

And two, the diet of his cult is far from ideal, though we again admit that it is slightly better than the mean.

• Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

If you listen to your body, it expresses its wants and needs, everything else is irelevant….of course most have lost that skill.

27. Dr EO DOUGHLIN IS ONE OF THE BEST DOCTORS IN BARBADOS
    DR EO DOUGHLIN IS ONE OF THE MOST BRILLIANT PERSONS WHO ATTENDED HC & UWI MEDICAL SCHOOL

HIS U TUBE VIDEO HAS MADE MUCH MORE SENSE THAN MOST WHO HAVE OPINED ON THIS BLOG

HIS ADVICE CAN GO A LONG WAY
    HIS BIOCHEMISTRY STATEMENTS ARE MOSTLY SOUND
    ONE DOES NOT HAVE TO BE ON THE CUTTING EDGE OF ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE TO MAKE A USEFUL CONTRIBUTION TO THIS DEBATE OR TO HELP MOST FOLK

WHEREAS I DO NOT NECESSARILY AGREE WITH HIS THEOLOGY, THEOLOGY IS NOT FOUNDATIONAL TO BIOCHEMISTRY WHICH IS THE FOUNDATION OF NUTRITION

AND NONE OF THE BU BIOCHEMISTRY ILLITERATI IS IN ANY POSITION TO REFUTE ANY OF THE BIOCHEMISTRY THAT HE HAS STATED

ALSO THE INSURANCE INDUSTRY AS PRACTISED UNIVERSALLY ENDORSES THE HEATH PRACTICES OF HIS RELIGION
    ONE OF THE REASONS OR NATION IS ON THE DECLINE IS THAT WE ARE CURSED WITH A NUMBER OF JOKERS IN PRIVATE LIFE WHO DO NOT KNOW OF WHAT THEY SPEAK BUT ARE ALWAYS READY TO CRITICIZE AND OSTRACIZE THOSE WHO HAVE STUDIED AND MASTERED THEIR DISCIPLINES.

28. Do you have the decency to even ponder the truism that nobody here values your renderings generally. And especially on a subject on which you profess to know more than most.

This maybe the central reason to your life’s travails.

You profess to be a scientist. On what scientific basis have you concluded that Douglin is one of the best doctors in Batbados?

Is it entirely based on anecdotal evidence?

Was he “brilliant” like you? Does going to those schools make him such? What ground breaking scientific discoveries has either you or he made?

Knowing him we can state that a major difference between you both is that he posseses more than a modicum of common sense, humility. Whereas you don’t! Never has, never will.

Lastly, is biochemistry the only area of knowledge there is? If no, why then do you speak with such certainty on all other areas?

29. “Too much junk poo imbibed to be ejected through the allocated orifices,
    …so we are left awash with it on BU….
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqsNX3K_6P8
    ..and the blogmaster seem reluctant to administer the needed medicine.
    ha ha ha”

Your brain is nowhere near as sharp as it used to be decrease by half.. an 80+ year old senile boy

Western Education is Forbidden / Billy Woods
    My advice, don’t stop rhymin’, UPS not hirin’
    And this ain’t the glory days, you can’t get consignment
    It’s Top Ramen, it’s Boko Haram
    It’s non-violence in Afrikaans
    That’s three round burst firin’
    It’s Miriam Mekeba openin’ for Paul Simon
    Rufaro stadium, pull up in the blue Renault
    All the ministers have Mercedes, or the new Peugot
    That’s when you kindly know, it’s that kind of show
    They the type, hit this blunt, just let the run go
    I’d rather come through your front door (like so)
    “Shorty can’t eat no book” what I told Ta-Nehesi Coates
    The room was thick with smoke
    Cd changer had a remote, remote battery low
    I laughed, ’cause sadly you think it’s a joke

Told my children Western education is forbidden
    Might as well sell what’s left of your Ritalin
    No loose ends, took an acetalyne torch to the filaments
    Told my children Western education is forbidden
    Might as well sell what’s left of your Ritalin
    No loose ends, took an acetalyne torch to the filaments

• Your brain is nowhere near as sharp as it used to be decrease by half.. an 80+ year old senile boy
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      You may have a point there..

But know that half a ‘bush brain’ is still much better than a full shiite brain, ..located in a brass bowl…

yuh can’t beat the itals boss…and besides…
      bushman clothes don’t wash with gyal underwear….
      shotta youth don’t play certain games down here…

30. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

While in the real world, the fraud politicians are getting exposed for blocking the voters on whatsapp who helped them win the election, and now need help to survive, they refuse to take their calls…it dont look like they need dumb and blind voters anymore. ….fowls, and Slaves about to be fired too….

…wuh if dem int telling ya what ya really, really need to know, ya tink they will tell you why they dont need you anymore.

31. s biochemistry the only area of knowledge there is?

NO BUT IT IS THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCE THAT IS RELEVANT TO NUTRITION AND TO THIS DISCUSSION

HOW IS IT THAT THAT YOU HAVE NOT WORKED THAT OUT

If no, why then do you speak with such certainty on all other areas?
    BECAUSE I HAVE TAUGHT ALL THE OTHER BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES TO MEDICAL STUDENTS

RE Do you have the decency to even ponder the truism that nobody here values your renderings generally. And especially on a subject on which you profess to know more than most.

I AM SURE THAT I HAVE CONTRIBUTED MUCH MORE TO THIS DISCUSSION THAN YOU AND THE OTHERS HERE OF YOUR ILK

AND I UNDERSTAND THAT YOU CANT
    BUT I AM ENJOYING THE MIRTH YOU PROVIDE

SO CONTINUE TO TELL TELL US ABOUT CALORIES AND THE OTHER RUBBISH THAT YOU ARE SPOUTING IN YOUR ABUNDANT IGNORANCE

• We see that comprehension is an abiding weakness as well. Which continues in you till death.

In addition, you have either, as expected, gave answers to questions not asked or liberally indulged in mirth.

So what if I couldn’t as you presumed. Of all the branches of knowledge would everyone need to. Yours is the conduct of an 11-plus school boy being a braggart about a teacher’s approval, getting all ticks but still an unrelenting asshole.

For a nearly 70 years old BOY this is pathetic.

Can you do what this writer does or what all the other specialists knowledge workers do? Then why is this your generalized attitude?

Maybe PDR has an answer to this psychosis you prevent with.

We specifically asked about “branches of knowledge” not branches within the medical sciences. And even then you pretended to be a jack of all trades. Well, a jack of all trades, especially within a field developing more and more specialties or sub-speçialties, is usually a georgie of none😅😅😅😅😅😅😅

You’re an asshole undeserving of our time. Have the final words.

32. “yuh can’t beat the itals boss…and besides…
    bushman clothes don’t wash with gyal underwear….
    shotta youth don’t play certain games down here…”

“But from early, the planters gave the slaves plots of land on which to grow food to feed themselves in order to maximize profits. We suggest that this plot system, was, like the novel form in literature terms, the focus of resistance to the market system and market values. This culture created traditional values – use values. This folk culture became a source of cultural guerilla resistance to the plantation system.”

(Bush) Tea Plots demonstrates the traditional importance of (Bush) tea practices as a valuable – if disappearing – knowledge base, linked to botanical diversity, challenging the historical imposition of a single colonizer/crop/language. The work looks to nature as a regenerative biosphere with tools for healing at the agricultural, botanical and psycho-spiritual levels. The glass planter showing the soil profile, allows the viewer to appreciate the rhizosphere providing a nurturing environment in which a specially curated selection of medicinal plants with healing properties may flourish.
    https://bushteaplots.wordpress.com/
    https://bushteaplots.wordpress.com/team/

33. ALL YOU CAN DO IS TRY TO INSULT ME
    BUT YOU CANT REFUTE ANYTING THAT I HAVE SAID
    NOR CAN YOU ADD ANYTHING OF REAL VALUE TO THE DISCUSSION

SAD SAD
    THE FOLK WHO WITH WHOM I ENGAGED WITH THIS MORNING FROM ALL OVER THE ISLANDS A FAR OFF WERE NOT INSULTING , AND I WAS BOTH ABLE TO TEACH AND LEARM CONCERNINGTHE TOPICS DISCUSSED.

NOW PROVIDE MIRTH IN YOUR ANGER AS YOU SEEK TO INSULT
    YOU AFFECT NOTHING
    GOD IS STILL ON THE THRONE
    THE WORD OF GOD STILL STANDS
    AND THE RAPTURE OF THE CHURCH IS MORE IMMINENT THAN IT EVER WAS.

RE Can you do what this writer does ?
    WHY WOULD I WANT TO DO ANYTHING THAT YOU DO?
    I AM CONTENT WITH WHAT I DO—AND I DO IT WELL, AND THOSE WHO MATTER ARE WELL PLEASED..

We specifically asked about “branches of knowledge” not branches within the medical sciences.

I DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU ………..OR WHAT YOU ASK
    I WILL SPEAK ABOUT WHAT I WISH AND WHAT I KNOW AND ABOUT THE TOPIC THAT IS NOW IN VOGUE.

THE TOPIC IS NUTRITION AND BIOCHEMISTRY IS THE FOUNDATION OF THAT

IT IS NOT MY FAULT THAT ON THIS TOPIC THAT YOUR UNDERSTANDING HAS THE DIMENSIONS OF AN ABYSS.

34. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on said:

“Maybe PDR has an answer”

Can’t believe PDR is missing all this action. Hope he is seeing or hearing about it at least….the final act…lawd…

35. When you all were growing up were these substances seen on packaging of foodstuffs
    Pyruvate
    Acetate
    Acetoacetate
    Alpha Ketoglutarate
    Succinate
    Fumarate
    Oxaloacetate
    Glutamate
    Could these compounds possibly be harmful in the concentrations used?

THE INSURANCE INDUSTRY WILL TELL YOU THAT THE SDA’S ARE PERHAPS THE HEALTHIEST PEOPLE ON THE PLANET

ONE WOULD THINK THAT THE THEY ARE KETO-VEGANS LOL
    MURDAAH

36. David…… remember former Q.E. Hospital Director, Dexter James, who mysteriously went ‘missing in action’ after the 2018 general elections? He is currently C.E.O of the Mellinum Heights Medical Complex (MHMC) in St. Lucia.

• Give nutrition policy a chance
      WHILE ONE UNDERSTANDS the vision of the National School Nutrition Policy in targeting the youngest among us so that healthy eating as a habit will accompany their growth, the criticisms that have attended this Ministry of Education policy give truth to the view that you’re “damned if you do” and otherwise.
      Had a nutrition policy been implemented across the board for all citizens, as was discussed by several iterations of the Ministry of Health, people would berate it as well and heatedly debate how it could be monitored since, as adults, we have the right and autonomy to buy and prepare whatever we wish for our families; and if we choose not to cook, the thriving fast-food outlets are an option.
      The current criticisms that have been ventilated include, primarily, the disadvantage to some vendors whose sole means of income is providing snacks, pastries and beverages outside schools’ premises. Particularly at this time in a recovering economy ravaged by COVID-19, the demise of this area of vending would be a crippling blow to the grass roots entrepreneurship which Barbados encourages.
      Meeting with stakeholders
      Government can therefore
      look at meeting with wholesalers with a view to subsidising the more expensive healthy snacks, while reducing importation of the unhealthy ones that are laden with sugar, salt and unwholesome fats. Secondly, incentives can be given to those vendors who choose to sell the healthy food items instead of causing them to feel penalised for doing otherwise.
      While this will entail further Government spending, it will also be an essential investment and sacrifice for Barbados’ future. To do otherwise will be to consign Barbadians to an increase in the mortality and morbidity rate from non-communicable diseases (NCDs), which accounted for 83 per cent of all deaths here seven years ago.
      Not only will a public health burden ensue but a major threat loom like a veritable monster over our beloved children, who will make up the future productive population of Barbados in ten to 15 years. While the Ministry of Health and Wellness has prioritised NCD prevention and control, it does so against the backdrop of a 2020 Global Nutrition Report where Barbados showed a malnutrition burden among its under-five population, and a 2018 Barbadian sample of a regional survey which showed 32 per cent of the population as overweight and half of that percentage as obese.
      This is clearly an uphill battle which, contrary
      to some views, did not cause the authorities to rush the school nutrition policy but to canvass wide consultation with relevant stakeholders.
      No policy that changes the status quo will please everybody. For example, today the School Meals Service is an established, lauded entity that has fed primary school children for generations.
      Yet it has had its fair share of criticism as Barbados developed from an agrarian society to a more sophisticated services-based one where the need for such provision decreased.
      However, by July 1995, based on Ministry of Education records, 93 schools were participating in that programme with an average of 24 000 meals being served daily.
      If the National School Nutrition Policy is given a chance to work and the kinks ironed out, perhaps when the incidence of NCDs has been drastically reduced and the country is no longer referred to, derisively and horrifically, as the amputation capital of the world, someone will reflect and commend the vision of starting this life-saving quest among our youngest citizens.
      No policy that changes the status quo will please everybody

Nation Editorial

37. Looks like Bajan will be outsmarted again. Creative scams.

Hot pot => cold pot => no pot
    Watch it.

38. HOT POT IS A VERY USEFUL INEXPENSIVE THERAPEUTIC MODALITY
    SERIOUSLY
    I HAVE SENT MANY FOLK THERE FOR RELIEF
    I MY SELF BENEFITED ONCE WHEN I HAD SOME SPINAL STENOSIS

39. Hot pot => cold pot => no pot => tourist (s)pot

Surely a way can be found to increase safety. I can assure you that when the locals are driven out, Hot Pot will be marketed to tourist as a bathing spot with medicinal properties.

Don’t be blind. This is an opportunity to see a scam grow

40. AT THE POT, IF YOU HOLD ON TO THE WALL AND STRETCH OUT USING THE WEIGHT OF YOUR BODY AS TRACTION AGAINST THE FORCE OF THE WATER GUSHING FROM THOSE PIPES, THIS HELPS TO RELIEVE THE SPASM OF THE MUSCLES THAT MIGHT BE CAUSING BACK PAIN, FOR EXAMPLE.
    THIS IS SERIOUS AQUA PHYSIO THERAPY FOR FREE

RE Surely a way can be found to increase safety.
    SOME BARRIER CAN BE MADE TO CONVERT A REASONABLY SIZED SAFE AREA FOR USERS AS A PUBLIC SERVICE

RE I can assure you that when the locals are driven out, Hot Pot will be marketed to tourist as a bathing spot with medicinal properties.
    THAT ST LUCY BOY TALKING LIKE IF HE SITTING AROUND THE OLD SANDBOX TREE

THEY WILL NO DOUBT SET UP SOMETHING LIKE THERE HAVE IN ST LUCIA NEAR THE PITONS WHERE YOU CAN GO AND BATHE IN A SMALL POOL. THE WATER IS HOT AND CONTAINS LOTS OF SULPHUR.

I CAN NOT REMEMBER IF ONE PAID A FEE FOR ENTRY

SOMETHING SIMILAR CAN BE DEVELOPED AS A SERVICE FOR THE PUBLIC OF BARBADOS

WE CAN NOT DISMANTLE EVERYTHING IN BIMSHIRE AS WE GRADUALLY DISMANTLED THE BUS SERVICE STARTING IN JANUARY 69 UNTIL IT AS DEVOLVED INTO THE CONTEMPORARY CORRUPT CHAOS

WE ALSO DISMANTLED THE LITTLE VILLAGE SHOP WHERE MUCH CREDIT WAS GIVEN. TO THE POOR.

‘OFTEN FOLK DID NOT RETURN TO PAY BUT THE SHOP KEEPERS WERE STILL ABLE TO KEEP THEIR HEADS ABOVE WATER

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.