Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

It is no secret Barbadians are addicted to the conspicuous consumption lifestyle. We can debate why educated Barbadians – successive governments included – continue to ignore the the consequences of having champagne taste and mauby pockets – wantonly running budget deficits in the post Errol Barrow era is with us. We can no longer support ourselves UNLESS we borrow as a creative approach to ‘reprofiling debt’ or lobby to access concessionary and grant funding. The question we must ask is if such an approach is sustainable. At some point the country must reengineer the economic model to organically grow GDP to effectively earn enough to pay our bills (support our conspicuous consumption habit). In other words running budget surpluses must not be jettisoned for the lazy and fashionable budget deficit approach to managing our financial affairs.

Barbados is a service based economy with foreign revenue earnings mix over reliant on tourism supported by international business (IB) and foreign direct investment (FDI). It is fair to say there is a nexus between our three leading sectors, if tourism fails there is a negative earnings relationship with IB and FDI. The blogmaster is not harsh in the critique that the policies of the current Mottley administration do not inspire confidence that there is an aggressive approach to reorder the Barbados economy.

Globally, FDI inflows increased by 64% in 2021, reaching approximately $1.6 trillion dollars. As a destination for global investments, Latin America and the Caribbean saw its share decline, however, representing 9% of the total – one of the lowest proportions in the last ten years and far below the 14% recorded in 2013 and 2014.

ECLAC Report

A UN report released this week by the ECLAC, a United Nations agency, indicates that although foreign direct investment in Latin America and the Caribbean rose by 40.7% in 2021, it has not returned to pre pandemic levels. Of significance is that the ECLAC report expanded its analysis by reporting that although FDI inflows increased globally by 64% in 2021, the LATAM and Caribbean share declined, “one of the lowest proportions in the last ten years and far below the 14% recorded in 2013 and 2014″. A negative trending in FDI does not bode well for Barbados and the Caribbean given our tourism based economies. We can life in hope that the negative trending can be reversed but it makes sense to prepare for the worse by weaning Barbados from sucking 24/7 on the tourism nipples.

A word to the [educated] should be sufficient.

See full UN Report

126 responses to “Where Must Barbados Earn Money to Support its Conspicuous Lifestyle?”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved.

Northern…i dont know if you are paying attention, but the homeless even disabled children are being seen as prime candidates for assisted suicide, among others. I warned you to look into this.

Eugenics and transhumanism are en vogue.

2. Every now and then, you will meet a Bajan who thinks and writes for himself/herself. Must have been hard to write the paragraph below, but the truth will out. Bring on the apologists.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/12/01/what-will-the-music-industry-look-like/

“The first issue that I just dealt with relates to the second one. The Barbadian music industry, especially since the Rihanna event of 2005, has yet to figure out what it wants to be, not just in terms of size or jobs, but in terms of content. The emergence of Rihanna 17 years ago severely interrupted what I call the Bob Marley dream. Bob Marley gained global recognition by performing a musical genre, reggae, based on indigenous innovation. Throughout the 1980s, groups such as Spice and Company and in the 1990s, Square One and Krosfyah took up the Bob Marley dream and tried valiantly, and with some success, to gather international fame using indigenous music. In the case of these groups, soca was largely the tool of choice. Rihanna’s emergence in 2005 completely shattered this because she gained international prominence by not only moving to the United States but by fully adopting and singing Euro-American music. There was no soca, spouge or tuk in what she did, and it was like a meteor crash-landed on the Barbadian music industry”

3. Last comment.
    Every now and then I hear someone mention our “forefathers” and it is in the national anthem
    “Our brave forefathers sowed the seed
    From which our pride is sprung”
    Can someone tell me who is our forefathers?
    When do they appear in Barbadian history? Circa 1966 or prior to 1966?

I seem to recall someone talking of “founding fathers”.

4. If Buers wait long enough say 6 moons they will have forgotten what the old version of software was like and will be used to the new one

and if you still don’t like it blame wordpress not davy
    they have changed from wordy blogs format to a twitter type format
    as a sign of the times
    tik tok or youtube shorts is now the length of the shorter attention span for surfing the winternet

Malamente is catalan for badly..

5. Dead to Me (Do Revenge remix) Avatar
    Dead to Me (Do Revenge remix)

Rihanna had a long run at the top of the game, but each generation prefers new sounds from their own peer group that they can relate to.
    Nowadays there are so many new artists producing and promoting themselves it is impossible to keep up with everybody.
    Music is more global now thanks to the net.
    Music is digital and Africa is producing reggae and African drum beats on computers.

6. In the left corner we have the government borrowing out of control, in the right corner there is the DLP leader calling for a 7% to 9% wage hike.

7. “Maybe you can get it through your skull eventually the old theme was not being supported and had to be changed.”

Did he mean to say
    “Maybe you can get it through your old skull eventually the theme was not being supported and had to be changed.”

Here trying to figure out if the first was a rewrite of the second… Is he ageist?

Taken from my book “How to create mountains out of molehills” 😃

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

You need to review the Bridgetown Initiative, (my boy Avi 😂😂) and get ONside. Not a soul is cutting spending. The objective is to grow the available loan pools and lower the costs. Then borrow and spend (develop).

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

Haven’t followed it.

10. Hard times. Everyone needs a side hustle.

Gardening is my main side hustle.

But I have a couple of others.

11. TheOGazerts on December 2, 2022 at 3:29 PM said:

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Grasshopper

Our forefathers and mothers were Puritans and Quakers!!

12. Dah fuh lick yuh .lol

13. @ David,

Maybe this is why the DLP leader calling for a 7% to 9% wage hike.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/12/02/prices-still-high-consumer-body/

14. @Hants

We are in a vicious cycle. The government is managing large deficit, an increase adds to the deficit?

15. Proverbs 28
    King James Version

28 The wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are bold as a lion.

2 For the transgression of a land many are the princes thereof: but by a man of understanding and knowledge the state thereof shall be prolonged.

3 A poor man that oppresseth the poor is like a sweeping rain which leaveth no food.

4 They that forsake the law praise the wicked: but such as keep the law contend with them.

5 Evil men understand not judgment: but they that seek the Lord understand all things.

6 Better is the poor that walketh in his uprightness, than he that is perverse in his ways, though he be rich.

7 Whoso keepeth the law is a wise son: but he that is a companion of riotous men shameth his father.

8 He that by usury and unjust gain increaseth his substance, he shall gather it for him that will pity the poor.

9 He that turneth away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer shall be abomination.

10 Whoso causeth the righteous to go astray in an evil way, he shall fall himself into his own pit: but the upright shall have good things in possession.

11 The rich man is wise in his own conceit; but the poor that hath understanding searcheth him out.

12 When righteous men do rejoice, there is great glory: but when the wicked rise, a man is hidden.

13 He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy.

14 Happy is the man that feareth alway: but he that hardeneth his heart shall fall into mischief.

15 As a roaring lion, and a ranging bear; so is a wicked ruler over the poor people.

16 The prince that wanteth understanding is also a great oppressor: but he that hateth covetousness shall prolong his days.

17 A man that doeth violence to the blood of any person shall flee to the pit; let no man stay him.

18 Whoso walketh uprightly shall be saved: but he that is perverse in his ways shall fall at once.

19 He that tilleth his land shall have plenty of bread: but he that followeth after vain persons shall have poverty enough.

20 A faithful man shall abound with blessings: but he that maketh haste to be rich shall not be innocent.

21 To have respect of persons is not good: for for a piece of bread that man will transgress.

22 He that hasteth to be rich hath an evil eye, and considereth not that poverty shall come upon him.

23 He that rebuketh a man afterwards shall find more favour than he that flattereth with the tongue.

24 Whoso robbeth his father or his mother, and saith, It is no transgression; the same is the companion of a destroyer.

25 He that is of a proud heart stirreth up strife: but he that putteth his trust in the Lord shall be made fat.

26 He that trusteth in his own heart is a fool: but whoso walketh wisely, he shall be delivered.

27 He that giveth unto the poor shall not lack: but he that hideth his eyes shall have many a curse.

28 When the wicked rise, men hide themselves: but when they perish, the righteous increase.

16. John on December 2, 2022 at 7:36 PM said:

TheOGazerts on December 2, 2022 at 3:29 PM said:

Grasshopper

We are children of the Reformation!!

17. What preceded the Reformation?

“The Bible was translated into several European languages before the Reformation, and the early reformers John Wycliffe (England) and Jan Hus (Bohemia) had championed the vernacular Bible. All the major Protestant Reformers from Luther on insisted on translating the Bible into the language of the common people.”

We are children of God’s Word, but it was a close run thing.

18. Martin Luther.

19. Sittin' On top Of The World Avatar
    Sittin’ On top Of The World

Forefathers and Foremothers
    Barbados was a Ruling Class and Working Class
    Slavery was the worst degrading dehumanising job ever which is why people still say they are treated like slaves
    Ruling Class are dead, they have to kill their humanity to oppress others
    Ignore John’s nonsense about spirituality which is not about a book it is a feeling of liberation of the soul to be what you were meant to be

20. Can someone tell me who is our forefathers?
    “Grasshopper
    We are children of the Reformation!!”

That is why I asked the question.

Some of us have a sanitized version of history that bears no relationship to what the slaves experienced. We speak of terms like Puritans, Quakers, founding fathers and forefathers as if we were all descended from the Drax family. We refuse to acknowledge that our fore parents were not heirs but were property of the plantation.

Our repugnant and brutal history is ignored and we are told of the generosity of the Quakers and of the beautiful life they provided for slaves. The history that is often spun here has a large core vein of fiction running though it. In recent times, we have even created the “Kofi” tale to make ourselves seem better and even superior to those in the same boat that we are in.
    –xx—

Some have comment on the repetitive nature of some post. We should never let the big lie remain unchallenged even when the naked truth is uncomfortable for others.

21. One of my pet phrases is “We are not men of action, (swords) we are men of words”.

I was extremely surprise to se an article by Carl Moore titled as “Gobbledygook” in BT ePaper. In this article Carl Moore lamented on the meaningless word salads that are being issued to the public.

At times, I am forced to cut and paste a few phrases and ask what they mean. It is good to see others are beginning to ask the same question. We must move beyond being swayed by few big words in a sentence and ask for an explanation of what was said.

Unlike Carl Moore I am not a wordsmith and having being heavily influenced by my stay in America I believe what he politely calls “gobbledygook” I would call bullshit.

22. Two articles are of interest
    (1) An article of a consumer group (Barbados Consumer Empowerment Network) stating that food prices in Barbados has increased significantly

(2) BCCI stating that the BCEN claim is ridiculous and asking BCEN to bring proof of the hike in prices

Me: I don’t have an opinion. Going to the supermarket is something everyone does. Ak yourself this question: Is food cheaper, at the same price or more expensive? I don’t care which side of the aisle you happen to be on, your wallet must be talking to you?

Allow me to commend BCEN on their response to BCCI- it asked consumers to drop off their receipts for October and November — simply brilliant. Let the numbers do the talking

23. “Unlike Carl Moore I am not a wordsmith and having being heavily influenced by my stay in America I believe what he politely calls “gobbledygook” I would call bullshit.”
    I will give way to the Pedantic Dribbler to defend the usage of big words to impress the kid
    but words have a frequency resonance vibration of rhythm sound energy
    in USA people listen to rap music in the oral traditional style of the African Griot

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    Have you noticed price increases in NJ? What were folks saying in T&T?
    I have certainly noticed them across the eastern half of Canada, and Florida has been worse.
    But if I ‘shop around’ and change some choices, I can keep within a range.
    With an island that imports so much, would we not expect it to follow the pattern of places it imports from?

25. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

William …drama cahn dun, i take it talks with Drax did not produce results and he will now get his slave master spawn tail sued….Slaves and their masters, give them both a wide berth bosie, when they kiss and make up ya can get squeezed. Look how cousin Charles got a whole freedom award, freedom from what is still not explained. Let’s hope it’s not freedom from being sued, dont think Drax got one though..lol

https://youtu.be/HuDnsOHVN2U

26. TheOGazerts on December 3, 2022 at 9:09 AM said:

“Grasshopper
    We are children of the Reformation!!”

That is why I asked the question.

Some of us have a sanitized version of history that bears no relationship to what the slaves experienced.

Simple fact of history and life.

Without the Reformation, there would be no America (1607), St, Kitts (1624) or Barbados (1624)!!

27. @NO

Are you now understanding whst addicted to a consumption lifestyle means?

28. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Let’s hope they took into consideration the math. If Drax is now worth 180 million….he not only has to pay Barbados but every
    island where the Drax’s evil atrocities and crimes against Afrikans spread, and from research., they spread themselves pretty thin, they will need at least 3 centuries to repay that, just as long a time frame as they used to terrorize, brutalize, rape, murder and overwork Afrikans to death….reality…dem int got the trillions they owe each and every Afrikan Caribbean. But ah guess the suers got a plan.

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dub5, please do not “…give way to the Pedantic Dribbler to defend the usage of big words to impress the kid” … the description of a “big word” is truly misused!

Words are related to one’s audience as you know well as a musical expert … so in truth ‘big words’ are more about ‘ignorance of context’!

Of course we may not know the meaning of a particular word but if we are ‘down’ with the speaker then we clearly ‘overstand’ what’s being said!

30. @NO
    NJ
    https://www.northjersey.com/story/news/business/2022/07/19/nj-inflation-higher-prices-here-to-say-economists-say/65376485007

“In the Garden State, gas prices have spiked 44% in the past year. The cost of a new car in the New York metro area jumped 16% in June from a year earlier, according to the U.S. Labor Department. Meat, chicken, fish and eggs climbed 10%. Housing costs were up 4%.”

TT
    I will try to be nice
    Outrageous prices, trickery and thievery.
    I am trying my best to convince my wife that going there is a bad idea.

31. @ TheOGazerts.

32. @Hants
    I already have tickets for mid 2023. Not a drinker, but your beers are on me if we ever meet.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    Hence no surprise the same escalating prices have reached Bim?
    Observations prices have increased are not earth shattering. Nor incorrect.
    When one imports so much, every import has a chain of intermediary handlers, each of whom ‘looking to mek a dollar’.

34. That said it is good to have some consumer advocacy taking place even if the agenda of the founders can be questioned?

35. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. on December 3, 2022 at 11:04 AM said:

Let’s hope they took into consideration the math. If Drax is now worth 180 million….he not only has to pay Barbados but every
    island where the Drax’s evil atrocities and crimes against Afrikans spread, and from research., they spread themselves pretty thin, they will need at least 3 centuries to repay that, just as long a time frame as they used to terrorize, brutalize, rape, murder and overwork Afrikans to death….reality…dem int got the trillions they owe each and every Afrikan Caribbean. But ah guess the suers got a plan.

What if the Drax family made its fortune as most Quakers did, through trade on the high seas?

Does he have to repay the fishes too?

36. “In 2013, the BBC reported that his ancestor John Erle-Drax, who had an estate in Barbados, was recorded in a database created by University College London as having received £4,293 12s 6d in compensation in 1836 for 189 slaves when slavery was abolished.”

37. So how many slaves were on Drax Hall in 1680?

Take a guess!!!!!!!!

So, the Drax fortune must have fallen between 1680 and 1836 if the slave population fell from 327 to 189.

Sugar and slaves can’t have been so profitable after all in Barbados for the Drax family.

So, where did the Drax family make its fortune if not in sugar?

38. TheOGazerts on December 2, 2022 at 3:29 PM said: “Can someone tell me who is our forefathers?”

John on December 2, 2022 at 7:36 PM said: “Grasshopper. Our forefathers and mothers were Puritans and Quakers!!”

John my forefathers and mothers were NOT Puritans and Quakers. My forefathers and mothers were exploited by vicious un-Christian Quakers and Puritans, un-Christian Quakers and Puritans who enslaved their own mixed race/colored children, un-Christian Quakers and Puritans who failed to pay wages, un-Christian Quakers and Puritans who broke up families, un-Christian Quakers and Puritans who raped young girls. un-Christian Quakers and Puritans who were lazy, cheap and greedy.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

It is good David.
    Will it change the behaviour of the consumer? Or the sellers?

40. “30,000 enslaved African men, women and children died on the Drax Caribbean plantations over 200 years”

stop being a time wasting troll baiting flaming moron
    slaves built the plantations
    30,000 enslaved African men, women and children died on the Drax Caribbean plantations over 200 years

41. @NO

The Chinese proverb suggests the longest journey starts with a step. Sometimes all it takes is to start and give a change for unknown variables to be solved.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

John…am getting real pleasure in breaking this to you, but yall lost full grip, you lost FULL CONTROL, ya even lost the thread, and ya never ever, ever getting any of it back. Wuh even the minions are putting on a let’s sue massa show, hope they know it will not be easy to untangle from that or say, oops sorry massa, won’t do it again. Only real slaves would even think of enabling yall anymore. I said as much on a minority platform recently and they got all up in their feelings, well too bad, so sad, time for their lazy ass children grands and great grands into the future, go look for real jobs, parasites in Black lives is not a job. It is what it is, time to work for Afrikan people for a change of scenery…soon come, shocking how the world turns. Will say more all in good time, ya may even get to see it before i do.

43. Slavedriver on December 3, 2022 at 4:12 PM said:

“30,000 enslaved African men, women and children died on the Drax Caribbean plantations over 200 years”

… and you know this how?!!

What a load of crap from someone who can’t contribute to the conversation in any meaningful way!!!

In his book, “Plantation Slavery in Barbados: An Archaeological and Historical Investigation Hardcover – April 26, 1978”, Professor Handler estimates the deaths on Newton as follows:

https://imgur.com/KVeqvIh

Check page 284 of his book.

https://www.amazon.com/Plantation-Slavery-Barbados-Archaeological-Investigation/dp/0674672755/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2NU5HZGHJ831U&keywords=Plantation+Slavery+handler+lange&qid=1670111638&sprefix=plantation+slavery+handler+lange%2Caps%2C157&sr=8-1

44. African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. on December 3, 2022 at 5:21 PM said:

No point suing, “evidence” will be laughed out of court.

Better hire an advocate with brain and not Slave Driver!!

Here are the slave death figures for Newton from Professor Handler’s book, about 9.2 per year out of a population estimated to be 171 but subsequently appearing in the slave returns after 1817 of about 275.

The resident life expectancy expert can compare these figures with the ones she claims to be familiar with in her lifetime and pontificate.

https://imgur.com/5n6siEo

45. Where is Fire Hill in St. Thomas?

Any idea how it got its name?

What about Fortress Hill?

Why is Rock Hall in St. Thomas called Rock Hall?

46. @African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2022. All Rights Reserved. on “…go look for real jobs…”

Not real jobs, but real work. Sometimes people have a job and get paid too, but little or no real-real work is done.

Time to do real-real hard work.

And watching other people work is NOT work.

47. @Theo “Some of us have a sanitized version of history that bears no relationship to what the slaves experienced. We speak of terms like Puritans, Quakers, founding fathers and forefathers as if we were all descended from the Drax family. We refuse to acknowledge that our fore parents were not heirs but were property of the plantation.”

Nobody has to mind idiotic John.
    Most Bajans are not descended from Puritans and Quakers.
    Most of us are descended from hugely exploited enslaved people.
    Most of us up to the 1950’s were piss poor. Pit toilet, dirt floor, grass bed, bed bug, lice, and chigger infested, minimally educated poor. This poverty was not because our foreparents were stupid or lazy. This poverty was the result of hundreds of years on no and then very low wages. This poverty was the result of the exploitation by a small white heavily armed Bajan and British population, with the might of the ascendant British armed forces, the biggest and best armed forces in the world at that time to back up the evil which was taking place in Barbados for hundreds of years.

Killed some of us but not all of us. Excellent African genes allowed my great aunt Mary born in 1868 and my grandmother born in 1979 to tell me born in the early 1950’s exactly how it was in their time.

We have not forgptten.

We have not forgiven. Forgiveness comes after repentance. I have seen no sign of repentance. So no forgiveness.

We cannot be fooled.

48. Cuhdear Bajan on December 4, 2022 at 5:01 AM said:

We cannot be fooled.

Could have fooled me.

You have an overactive imagination and no facts to present.

49. Burn the Plantations Avatar
    Burn the Plantations

30,000 enslaved African men, women and children died on the Drax Caribbean plantations over 200 years”

let us pray
    while plantation bwoy
    John Knox of Kingsland preys

30,000 fucking dead
    angelic souls risen to heaven
    they lived tortured brutal lives
    their “masters” souls are in hell
    fucking evil devil white scum
    Amen
    Aum
    Selah