There is significant road remediation currently being undertaken in Barbados, when completed it is expected traffic congestion will ease on the highways and byways of Barbados. Add activity associated with celebrating Independence Day (Barbados National Day) and Christmas Day rapidly approaching, it explains the organized chaos on the roads every hour of the day.
If national productivity is defined as gross domestic product (GDP) per hour worked i.e. the use of labour inputs better than just output per employee (www.oecd.org) one does not have to be Joseph Stiglitz to conclude there is a big national problem to be solved. Former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart once described the inconvenience caused by the poor state of local roads as a ‘transitory inconvenience’. Another one of those quotes that rival former Attorney General Maurice King’s ‘no gangs’ in Barbados. Ordinary people were thought at high school an efficient transportation system is an integral component to a performing economy.
They don’t behave as though they’ve never seen potholes in the roads in their lives, and they do not behave as though their societies are crime free. They understand the real world and in spite of the fact that from time to time you may have these inconveniences, which are really transitory inconveniences, the warmth and hospitality of the people of Barbados is what keeps them coming.
Former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart
On a 21 miles long and 14 miles wide island what is being witnessed on the roads daily should be a source of embarrassment for our planners. Needless to say if locals are being negatively impacted, what about the visitor experience for a country over reliant on tourism?
What is frustrating is motorists left to negotiate the chaos without supervision. Where are the traffic cops and wardens missing from the bottleneck areas to assist with relieving the congestion and deterring some of the lawlessness? The mounting chaos on our roads is a reflection of inept management practiced by successive governments. This is no overnight ‘achievement’.
#organizedchaos
Gridlock is when nothing is moving and standing still
Roads were not designed for so many cars.
Public Transport could have separate Bus Lanes to let them move freely.
If problems are due to Rush Hour for work ..
Businesses should be more flexible allowing people to come in for different staggered time slots, and could also provide Bus services for employees.
Government solution is to implement congestion charges for urban car users and tolls for road use which becomes lucrative source of income.
Organized chaos is what you get when you elect jokers, who cannot even manage the profession in which they are trained, …to manage your national affairs and treasury.
Organized chaos is what you get when you sell off all your assets to foreigners for a pot of soup (a fancy meal and a BMW), and then depend on THEM to make wise decisions that benefit YOU.
Organized chaos is what you get when you DEFY the laws set down by the CREATOR (who invented EVERY shiite), and choose instead to follow a bunch of materialistic albino-centric demons (who tormented your own ancestors for CENTURIES to get rich)
Organized chaos is inevitable when the most retarded members of society are designated as the ‘clergy’ and the ‘church’ – allegedly representing the CREATOR of everything that exists – but constantly begging for shiite money.
Organized chaos is par for the course for genuine brass bowls.
Organized chaos is a shiite society of ‘Eve and Adam’s, unmanageable demonic children and buller-men, ….and where NOTHING works ….
but yet the brass bowls are too stupid to try something different….
TRULY organized chaos, is where the only direction is obviously DOWN…..
but yet the brass bowls keep grasping for floating straws…..instead of looking for sackcloth and ashes and turning to the ONLY hope of salvation from chaotic destruction.
The shiite traffic is the least of our problems Boss….
@Bush Tea
Agree our traffic woes is merely a symptom, maybe we should discuss pension woes next LOL.
End times and all that
Don’t worry or fret
Babylon have the needle in the red
but we’ve never been marked for death
My people won’t mark for death
Mark For Death
It seems improving highway/road capacity to improve traffc flow is like a dog chasing its tail.
https://usa.streetsblog.org/2017/06/21/the-science-is-clear-more-highways-equals-more-traffic-why-are-dots-still-ignoring-it/
There is a common sense position the point made earlier- everything has a carrying capacity, allowing unbridled ownership of vehicles to travel any and every where in the name of freedom of choice is nonsense and will lead us to nowhere.
@ David,
thanks for the ” eye candy ” .
https://www.toronto.ca/news/city-of-toronto-launches-12-hour-saturday-pothole-repair-blitz/
The problem here has to do with limited land and our inability to have a lot of roads with four or five lanes. That can never happen. We simply don’t have the space.
We need a train and ferry service. That’s the only way we are going to get people on public transportation and reduce the use of so many cars on the road.
The roundabouts are a disaster mainly because we don’t use them properly and it seems that our new culture is to break even the most simple and straight forward rules.
We are too busy with shit talk and defending empty BS rhetoric ; even Carl Moore complaining about the gobbledegook.
How can we talk about developing a country and having a truly diversified economy when we can’t get a proper public transportation going and we still can’t collect garbage even when we buy both buses and garbage trucks.
Like it or lump it,we need to correct a lot of basics before we get anywhere.
We all must hope that this tourist season lives up to expectations . If it fails we will be in the shark guts.
Happy Independence and Republic Day to all.
Let’s remember our great ancestors who gave us this beautiful island state.
🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧🇧
I remind the BU community that the blessed OSA, second mentor to our Supreme Leader after St Barrow, wanted to build flyovers to facilitate traffic.
Then the DLP came and it all failed. So the DLP is to blame for the current traffic chaos.
Tron, Narrator of the New Republic
BU is like déjà vu / bad joke
for 365 x 10 = 3650 days
Have you ever had the sense that you’ve done something or gone through a new situation before? Does it seem like you know what’s going to happen next? That feeling is often described as déjà vu. The saying comes from French, meaning “already seen.”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/29/ssa-pleads-for-workers-to-be-treated-with-respect/
(1) where a resident allegedly acted in a threatening manner when told by SSA workers about they way in which they had handled the dumping of cooking oil, which had splashed them during their duties.
(2) Padmore, who also spoke last month about an alleged assault on a worker by a store owner in Bridgetown, said that the rise in incidents of confrontation was deeply worrying.
This has to stop. This disrespect and bullying must be stomped out.
If the police and SSA management can do nothing and these incidents continue to happen then the workers must target these bad-asses and allow garbage to accumulate on their premises. Force them to seek to have their garbage removed by a private hauler.
It is obvious that these bad-asses (business owners) have big-ups on speed-dial. SSA management needs to grow a pair and let big-ups know they are not helping. Cut out the talk and act decisively.
” The lead doctor involved in the care of Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s younger brother while he was at a private medical facility in 2021 said there was a possibility that complications from the COVID-19 vaccine led to his death.
Dr Sahle Griffith, the principal of Surgical Solutions Inc., said he was “absolutely convinced” that Warren Mottley died as a result of small bowel ischemia, and World Health Organisation (WHO) studies had reported that condition could be caused by some COVID-19 vaccines.”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/29/jab-at-fault/
“It is obvious that these bad-asses (business owners) have big-ups on speed-dial.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
As the ‘old saying’ goes, “when yuh suh ‘A’ yuh got to say ‘B.’
Some SSA employees seem to hold disdain for people who live in ordinary communities, but, would ‘humble’ themselves in the ‘heights and terraces.’
People can tell some very disturbing stories about the unpleasant treatment they received from some very unmannerly, uncouth garbage collectors.
One morning, a few years ago, I parked in front my home. Heard the continuous honking of a vehicle’s horn and went outside to find out what was going on. It was a SSA driver who was signaling for me to remove my vehicle.
Although I told him to ‘hold on a second’ because I had to get the car keys, which seemed to anger him, he continued to honk the horn until I returned outside and moved the vehicle.
After that ‘incident,’ they did not collect our garbage for approximately two (2) months.
The reason they gave the Supervisor for not collecting our garbage was the garbage can was ‘TIED DOWN,’ thereby preventing them from lifting it……, which was a ‘BLATANT UNTRUTH.’
Perhaps it’s about time poor people have “big-ups on speed dial as well.”
@Artax
The people in the ‘terraces’ fill the Xmas stockings with a lot of goodies, also there are hand me down appliances etc to be distributed.
Talk, talk, talk.
If you are part of the problem, you should be part of the solution.
Crisis management!
Sizzla Kalonji is a Bobo Shanti Rasta who lick up the chalice as a spiritual rite of worship.
Spirituality of marijuana is applicable on the drugs thread too.