Traffic congestion on the roads in Barbados has always been horrendous as it is in most countries at peak hour. In recent years with the increase in the number of vehicles licensed and unlicensed on Barbados roads peak time has to be redefined.

The reopening of schools for the autumn term, relaxing of Covid 19 protocols, aggressive road rehabilitation resulting in closures have combined to create chaos. It is not acceptable the HOURS spent traveling to work, school and other engagements on a 166 square mile island. What is happening is an indictment on the state of ‘development’. 

How many times commentators in this space and elsewhere have lamented the lack of planning of housing and road development, transportation management, placement roundabouts (why do we permit motorists to block through-traffic at roundabouts if the exit is jammed?). Let us not forget an urgent need for a waste to energy program. The blogmaster can point to many visible examples of a lack of vision and poor execution responsible for the current comatose state.

The focus today is the time spent on the roads by locals which must negatively be impacting productivity and emotional well being. It is embarrassing at this stage of development that an individual’s first objective is to purchase a Suzuki Swift. How can a 166 square mile island support 150,000+ vehicles on what has been described at one of the world’s dense network of roads? There is the opportunity to highlight the average Joe/Jane owns more than one cellphone to access FLOW or DIGICEL. 

Who is the minister of transportation again? Does it matter the name? How many vehicles do we observe daily on the roads with license plate stickers with 2020 dates? Why does it take so long to implement projects designed to improve the current situation and instead it makes it worse with a clawback necessary to save face? Sensible citizens are made to feel embarrassed when those responsible are not held accountable. In fact there is the feeling that many elected to serve the public do not feel obligated to communicate with taxpayers. A good example is the ‘absolute’ mess unravelling with the NEW TRIDENT ID CARD. So far not a coherent utterance from the invisible Minister Davidson Ishmael (the blogmaster had to Google the name to get it right). 

It is obvious Minister Mia Mottley is operating at a different level to her parliamentary colleagues. The reason given by Mottley for selecting – not once but twice – a bloated Cabinet was to be able to attend to the job of rebuilding a weak economy. Are we there yet? Can the public look to alternative representation in the political and NGO spheres to maintain tension on those elected to serve the public?

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me…

Will the real leaders please stand up!

144 responses to “Chaos on Our Roads, Here, There and Everywhere”

1. @Artax

The blogmaster is dissatisfied about many things as it relates to how some commenters misused the opportunity to add value to discussing important issues in the local virtual space. How anonymous commenters in the main can be so fixated about massaging their online egos goes beyond the pale.

2. Has hands free use while using a mobile device in a moving vehicle been abandoned? It seems from casual observation that it has been. This is a big part of why lawlessness is escalating in Barbados. We don’t enforce laws.

3. David
    The government is 8 months into a 5-year term. You can’t sense the activity? Hold tight. And yes the blog is tiring, I’ve realised it’s best to let the soliloquist rule.🤣

4. @Enuff

Let us hope so but factor that these are abnormal and unprecedented times.

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and….no one will be GIVING UP…..important life-saving information that will be deliberately HIDDEN from the public and NOT ACTED UPON…

case in point…..Afra Raymond..

there are other ways and means to get it DIRECTEDLY to the people…

6. @Redguard

Good comment.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, you posted that note of de Jamaican blogger being murdered apparently for given info about another assassination … you simply stated: “Of interest”…

So just as cryptically, I wonder : ‘To whom’ … is that of most interest!

The street justice for folks considered as snitches has always been cruelly terminal … intended to chill witness participation to the various crimes.

Thus, this violent act forcibly reinforces that realization and also validates the *dangers of social media“.

Wherever you are – whether a few neigborhoods away, a parish or even in another country – when you blog about dangerous matters you can be placing your life at risk.

That bold act and the more viral cases of Russian poisoning in UK, Khashoggi’s butchering in Turkey and even the rampaging violence in cities like Chicago remind us that we need to be sensible about what we say and how we say it … our life and that of family or friends can be at stake.

So yes, it’s of interest… because as you are implying such social media madness will happen right here on de rock too!

But social media has also solved lots of violent crimes whether via photo matching, and criminals boasting with identifiable stolen goods or about an event (pre or post) … so let’s hope there is no chill whatever on speaking truth and being witnesses to the guilt of violent criminals.

8. Enuff September 26, 2022 9:01 AM #: “The government is 8 months into a 5-year term. You can’t sense the activity?”

@ Enuff

Surely you jest.

But, then again, if “sensing the activity” means Barbadians ‘actively’ expressing their dissatisfaction with Mia Mottley and her administration, then, yes, I “sense the activity.”

Even heard a Guyanese squatter on CBC TV8 NEWS last week saying ‘it is not easy in Barbados, things are very expensive.’
    And, that is someone who is breaking the law.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hants….i still won’t drop the mask just yet in public, only in public.

they were not even wearing masks in places like Vancouver…prior to this.

10. Artax
    Public dissatisfaction with government is not endemic to Bim. Hold tight.🤐

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“‘To whom’ … is that of most interest!”

trying to instill fear in this day and age is a FAIL…..and cowardly..

..they know exactly who to frighten…and not everyone will bite..

knowing what’s out there in the way of information……they just might BITE BACK instead.

12. Enuff

Don’t care where you go, people are criticising the BLP.

Reminds me of when Barbadians were similarly expressing their dissatisfaction with the Freundel Stuart administration a few months into its second term.

Remember what happened to Stuart and his lot in the 2018 general elections.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hants…….watch ya don’t get a conspiracy theory label as EVERYTHING UNFOLDS…,as EXPECTED for years now…

,,that one was building up for WEEKS…

14. @Dee Word

It explains the risk to a blogmaster or any online publisher that elects to pursue high risk material.

15. I remember someone threatening if I don’t provide proof to substantiate a fact I exposed, I would “see what they are made of” and, “when they are done with me, the blog admin cannot protect me,” because I “don’t know what they are of.”

🤣 🤣 🤣

Perhaps IDLE THREATS can be REGARDED as conspiracy theories as well?

But, then again, only a SILLY anonymous blogger would threaten another anonymous blogger on an anonymous blog.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

but am not anonymous…..speak for thyself…

try getting the definition of anonymous right and start again…

17. Very little to celebrate in Roebuck or George Streets these days. Clowns !!!

18. @ David

You asked:
    “Has hands free use while using a mobile device in a moving vehicle been abandoned?”

Have you also noticed bicyclists are flouting the law by riding about without wearing helmets…… and sometimes in plain view of police officers?

I remember waiting over an hour in the River Terminal for a Bush Hall ZR, to go for a car from my mechanic in Bank Hall.
    I saw a former workmate who drives a ZR on his off days and asked him about the ‘Bush Hall vans.’
    He told me they don’t come into the Terminal, I would have to wait for one by Queen’s Park gate.

At night, the Silver Sands and Silver Hill/Gall Hill ZRs park by the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal, BLOCKING the buses exiting that facility.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William……all the people gotta do is STAY ON TOP IS WHAT IS CURRENTLY HAPPENING…..am very pleased to report that they are indeed doing their due diligence….and not waiting for others to do it for them, so they can cut out or hide the information that puts them at high risk…

in that way, they cannot get trapped by any nasty surprises because they are in CONTROL of the information that reaches them and can analyze to their heart’s content…..

this is the point where we are at, if others got lost along the way, and now can’t pick up the thread or catch up, that’s on them….they should have been MINDING THEIR GODDAMN BUSINESS…like everyone else was, as warned repeatedly..

20. You’re NOT Yolande Grant and in no way ASSOCIATED with African Online Publishing either.

21. @ WURA
    Just ignore the partisans. They need oxygen and distractions to keep them alive. Ignore them; just dismiss them.
    They have no useful purpose at this time. People trying to survive. Not interested in petty political worshipping at this time.
    They are clowns. Ignore them. Dismiss them. Clowns!!

22. @Artax

These are the little issues we allow to mushroom and wonder why the shakeout.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“They need oxygen and distractions to keep them alive. Ignore them; just dismiss them.”

their appalling IGNORANCE as accurately described by Hal, is always on display..

the clown brigade can go nowhere else….gotta stay right where they are and stew with jealousy and envy…

24. @Hants
    Yours @10.32 am
    For my most recent travels I had the BIM Safe and Arrive Can apps on my digital devices, it seems safe to delete them now.

25. Imagine a man whenever someone criticize the dems who is always quick to defend them as a so called neutral calling others clowns.On top of that linking up with in my view a known liar and conspiracy theorist.Well well it does not get any funnier than that a real comedian.I gone.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….i got a WHOLE CHAPTER about these losers in my second book…….am certain readers unfamiliar with the social reduction and lack of proper education over these many decades………will ask if those low grade mindsets are real……if there are people alive who really think in such images of darkness without enlightenment…and live only to attack and attempt to degrade Afrikan women…..

a lot still to expose….so our young people, especially the young boys and men don’t fall into such subterranean categories….much work to do to save this current and incoming generations from these mindwashed, brain damaged fools…….

27. Redguard is on point.
    We also need truthful information. The great difference in the two GIS reports placed information provided by GoRoB in the same realm of conspiracy theories. How do you go from NTSH to ‘a hole in de bucket’ .

The conspiracy theories were more truthful than the first report.

28. @Hants
    Wondering if drops like this are an opportunity for a person in the us to get some Can stocks.

29. Because the BD $ is tied to the US dollar, drops in the pound or loonie makes vacationing in Barbados more expensive.

Tourism can get shocks from several sources.

30. @Lorenzo
    Did I hear you say that you are on vacation?

You should be ashame? You are on the gravy train with a no show, no work job and still taking vacations. You need to be kicked out of the NIS system.

31. @ TheOGazerts,

My next trip to Barbados will be paid for in Barbados. Hoping to spend my Bajan dollars in Barbados.

The trip to Holland is now off my bucket list.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“We also need truthful information.”

people in the diaspora are lamenting how information that the PUBLIC on the island are entitled to is being willfully HIDDEN…

and this is not just any information…..it’s life altering, life, health and wellness damaging….and should have been out there via referendum…

33. @Hants
    My last day on the job will be sometime in October. I am planning to visit shortly afterwards.

When you see me acting as a rabid BLP supporter, you know my time to visit is near.

I left behind half of my fortune in 1981. Hopefully, it was on the book and not paper that could be eaten by insects😃
    Heard Bajan insects have evolved to the stage where they now have law degrees.

34. Our overseas keyboard warriors must finally learn that everything is fine on our island – apart from the economy, which has been weakened by the DLP.

35. @Hants
    “Hoping to spend my Bajan dollars in Barbados”
    Try spending them in Canada

@TheO
    Many of the large cap Cdn stocks trade on both Cdn and US exchanges. They are tied at the hip. And there are few arbitrage opportunities, the immediacy of computer trading ensures that.

36. “apart from the economy, which has been weakened by the DLP”
    Of course you meant HAD been…..nearing the half way mark of the second continuous lost decade.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Northern….don’t seem like people understand that TIME IS MOVING, not waiting for them……soon we will hear the other half of DBLP talking about this lost decade and on and on pon de replay

….don’t know how anyone with intelligence can stand any of it or them…after so many LOST DECADES….over half centuries worth…

the fowls, imps, pimps,…..totally expected from them…..

38. David bu, surely you jest.Firstly there is no current opposition. Secondly in my view even if persons tire with the bees i cannot see any sensible voter returning the dems to office under Dr Yearwood in under 10 more years.In my viewhe seems clueless politically and i see no one else from the younger brigade who inspires confidence.I also heard that the over zealous Ms Armsteong who mistakenly thought she could look horns as a political lightweigjht with Ms Mottlwy in the last election has decided to call it quits.A good decision in my view as snother defeat was coming her way in St George against Mr Sutherland.Therefore she took the easy way out.F8nally David Bu the majority of bajans ain, t ready for no return of the dems anytime soon.I gone.

39. @Lorenzo

A week is a long time in politics.

40. .don’t know how anyone with intelligence can stand any of it or them…after so many LOST DECADES….over half centuries worth…

the fowls, imps, pimps,…..totally expected from them…..

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

They did say the black slaves on the island of Barbados were the most subservient and obedient anywhere in the world for hundreds of years/generations.

To be this type of individual one would also have to be highly gullible.

Which is why they continue to wallow on the island, treat each other like shit whilst begging and looking up to the white man (IMF) for their handouts.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“They did say the black slaves on the island of Barbados were the most subservient and obedient anywhere in the world for hundreds of years/generations.”

oh they LOVE being in that condition, proud of it, boast about it…..won’t have it any other way,

they are welcome to wallow in that filth, the only problem i have with that is when they are try to BULLY OTHERS TO BE JUST LIKE THEM, think like them, demean themselves like that……..that step down into slave hood….they got quite a few on BU with that putrid mentality..