The crippling traffic and societal disorder in Barbados is the outcome of a systematic failure: we grew up being told by the old folks, you cannot solve big complex problems, if you are unable to solve small ones. For over 50 years we refused to fix simple problems that have led to creating gridlock and in the process, eroded the social fabric of our tiny country – a characteristic that had positively defined Barbados and its people to onlookers.

The issue is not one complex problem, but a cluster of interconnected simple problems that have created an albatross on the back of our nation. There is the failure of poor government regulation and policy by government complemented with poor execution by public servants. Under successive governments we have demonstrated an uncanny inability and lack of will to solve small problems.

The poor policy implementation at the transportation authority has directly caused the process of doing business to be slow and frustrating. This has led to citizens being frustrated and now enables white collar corruption – paying bribes for licensing, contracting poorly paid policemen to look the other way, a moribund court system that is groaning under its caseload weight. This will be the legacy of retiring and longest serving Attorney General of Barbados Dale Marshall. The visible result, chaos!

This failure of basic governance is demonstrated daily in the PSV sector, where over 50 years of neglect have allowed chaos to flourish and mushroom. We have deprioritised enforcement which has allowed a subculture to develop and be ensconced. A subculture of lawlessness which is characterised by aggressive driving, loud music, disregard for traffic laws, we observe the lawbreaking and indiscretions daily on our roads. It has become normalised.

The most tragic consequence is that the daily display of lawlessness has negatively impacted our children and wider society. Our children watch adults break the rules which result in a violation of civic trust. As the old people say – who gine tell the other come back?

To potentially make matters worse, Prime Minister Mottley has hinted at flyovers as a bid ticket solution. Clearly flyovers address the symptom i.e. the volume of traffic, while ignoring the systemic problem. A multimillion dollar flyover project will allow a few to make money, but, will fail to solve the complex traffic crisis because problems of poor policy, administrative inefficiency, and systemic corruption will remain. Here is the irony – we allowed uncontrolled numbers of vehicles to flow into Barbados and mashup the roads, created congestion and add to the lawlessness and believe that pothole patching, farming out huge electric buses to modest transport board workers, adding flyovers to name three are the solutions.

We have to return to basics: instituting strong, transparent policy; enforcing simple laws consistently; and automating as many processes as possible to eliminate the opportunity for corruption and poor decision making. We have to return to good governance to win back our reputation and extricate from the wild Wild West culture we have become addicted.

God bless BIM on Independence!

26 responses to “No Retreat, No Surrender”

1. Great points. Barbados carrying capacity for car grossly exceeded, every school and business opens, closes at the same times, lack of decentralization of key government offices, poor design of road network, poor maintenance of damaged roads by utility companies, poor sighting off traffic lights like at Springer school and Charles F Broome, public transport operators not using laybys, poor sighting off traffic lights entrances and exits. These problems create opportunities for petroleum and car parts importers as well as government financiers who will get to build flyover at a cost padded with elections fees for BLP.

2. […] The crippling traffic and societal disorder in Barbados is the outcome of a systematic failure: we grew up being told by the old folks, you cannot solve big complex problems, if you are unable to solve small ones. For over 50 years we refused to fix simple problems that have led to creating gridlock and […] Source link […]

3. For example @John A

Govt spending as fast as it is bringing in, finance minister admits
    Government tax receipts have soared far above expectations in the first half of the financial year, but public spending has continued to outpace projections, leaving ministers balancing buoyant revenues against renewed warnings over fiscal discipline, Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn told lawmakers on Tuesday.
    In a mid-year review of the government’s fiscal position via a Ministerial Statement to the House of Assembly, Straughn reported that government coffers are filling up faster than expected. In just the first six months of the financial year, the Mottley administration took in $2.16 billion in taxes — an impressive $373 million more than planned.
    But while revenue surged, State spending also ran higher than intended. The government spent $1.91bn between April and September, around $70m over budget, with more than half a billion dollars going to State agencies and other entities. Straughn admitted that overall spending to support State agencies was $84.48m above target.
    Even so, he said Barbados was maintaining stability despite an “uneven” global economy, citing the island’s ongoing growth, near recordlow unemployment of 6.1 per cent, easing inflation, and “strong” foreign reserves.
    At the same time, Straughn pledged that the government remained committed to tighter controls on public spending, including stricter oversight of transfers to state bodies and closer monitoring of government cash flow and arrears.
    Total revenue for the six-month period reached $2.16bn, significantly higher than the $1.79bn the Mia Mottley administration had targeted for the period.
    Included in that figure was a sharp rise in corporation tax collections, which totalled $639.45m — $410.35m more than the targeted $229.1m. Total tax collected on income and profits reached $933.74m, against a target of $517.6m.
    On the matter of net income taxes, the government collected $274.85m, compared with the target of $265.9m. Taxes on goods and services, comprising mainly value added tax (VAT), reached $811.05m.
    According to Straughn, VAT “overperformed by $19.82m”, totalling $576.33m for the period, while excise taxes “underperformed by $12.36m to reach $107.91m.
    Property tax revenue fell short by $19.13m, below the target of $189.36m.
    Straughn praised “administrative improvements at the [Barbados] Revenue Authority, combined with robust domestic activity, [which] resulted in stronger-thanexpected revenue outturn at mid-year”.
    While insisting that public spending “remained broadly manageable relative to programme objectives”, the minister said total spending for the period hit $1.91bn, some $69.35m above the limit it set of $1.84bn.
    The Christ Church East Central MP told the chamber: “Wages and salaries were $405.8 million, $6.63 million below target, and goods and services were $333.79 million, $5.60 million above target. The fiscal balance recorded a surplus of $250.67 million, approximately 1.65 per cent of GDP, compared to a projected mid-year deficit of $51.04 million.”
    He added: “The primary surplus was $529.1 million, approximately 3.47 per cent of GDP, compared to a projected $311.04 million.”
    (IMC)

Source: BT

4. Playing with debt.

New debt-for-social swap to boost education, healthcare, heritage
    Barbados is developing a new debt-for-social swap designed to channel savings from restructured sovereign debt into key social programmes, including education, healthcare and heritage, economic affairs minister Kay McConney announced on Tuesday.
    McConney made the revelation at the United Nations BCCI Private Sector Forum at the Hilton Barbados Resort.
    She described the forum as more than a conversation but “an invitation to align national priorities with private sector capacity and apply international best practices suited to Barbados.”
    “Every best practice out there is not necessarily suited for us,” she said. “It is also a time where new forms of financing, technology and collaboration can accelerate our economic transition while we are advancing the six national missions that have been agreed by our social partnership, and that are linked intentionally and directly to the Sustainable Development Goals.”
    The minister for investment stressed that ambition requires financing and that traditional models are proving insufficient.
    The debt-for-social swap will be used to bolster education, healthcare and heritage, and build community resilience, while still maintaining fiscal responsibility, she added.
    “The private sector indeed can engage directly by investing in social impact projects financed through these swaps or by supporting community-based enterprises that emerge from them, Barbados’ leadership.”
    She explained the concept in simpler terms: “What happens is you have debt, there’s a price for that — it’s your interest. What you do is restructure that debt, and whatever savings you make from a reduced interest rate, those savings are committed to the specific purpose you’ve determined, be it climate, be it nature, be it social.”
    McConney positioned the proposed social swap as the next logical step in a broader strategy of innovative financing that Barbados has been pioneering on the global stage. “Building on these successes, Barbados is now seeking to develop a debt-forsocial swap,” she said. “It allows us to use the debt we already have to create savings, and we then use those savings towards something that is meaningful. That is the innovation and the genius of it all.”
    She noted that these initiatives show how small island developing states can design and implement complex, marketdriven financial solutions that deliver tangible economic, social and environmental benefits.
    McConney cited Barbados’ Blue Bond debt-for-nature swap with The Nature Conservancy as a proven model for success.
    She said: “It redirected almost $150 million towards marine conservation and climate adaptation. This innovative transaction not only freed fiscal space for resilience projects but also demonstrated that small island developing countries can design complex, market-driven financial solutions that deliver measurable environmental and economic impact.”
    The minister also referred to the 2024 debt-for-climate swap.
    “Barbados completed a debt-for-climate swap by repurposing $300 million in domestic debt through a syndicated loan from the domestic banking sector, generating an estimated $125 million in fiscal savings. These savings will be utilised for climate-resilient water, infrastructure and agricultural projects.”
    She insisted that the debt-for-social swap, like the previous nature- and climate-focused deals, will not increase the island’s overall debt burden but will instead use existing obligations more strategically, creating fiscal space for high-priority social initiatives. “It is about using what we already have to do better for our people,” she said.
    McConney highlighted the role of the private sector insupporting these initiatives, noting that collaboration between government, businesses, banks and development partners is critical to translating policy into tangible results. “It is the entrepreneurs who innovate, the investors who take risks, the banks who finance, and our development partners, including the UN, who provide support.”
    “The social swap allows us to channel resources to where they matter most, without adding to our debt base,” McConney said.
    “It is an example of how financial innovation can serve human development, and we are inviting the private sector to be partners in this journey.”
    (LG)

Source: BT

5. On point Mr. Blogmaster.
    Too bad those that need to listen won’t!

Just observing

6. “The issue is not one complex problem, but a cluster of interconnected simple problems that have created an albatross on the back of our nation.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Is this technically true?
    The issues ARE complex, BUT what is needed, is that appropriately COMPETENT and productive ‘pegs’ are placed in their CORRECT holes
    – Square pegs in square holes, and round pegs in round holes.

Right now, we have most of our pegs in very WRONG holes.

@ Observing
    How can they listen? …when those that NEED TO listen are also incorrectly pegged?

Like TRUE PARROs, what they do BEST, is to find new and creative ways to extract gifts and loans from anyone who is willing to buy what they are willing to sell off…
    Including beach front lands, citizenship, local slave labor rates, disenfranchisement, and insecurity.
    Bending over is easy when you get hungry Enuff.

What a curse!
    What a place!
    What a change from the 1970’s…!

7. https://youtu.be/2053S_BezFM?si=EyFEGK9hACvUJAGu

Lord have mercy!

The highest form of understanding is to be able to see all sides of a situation even if one disagrees with most.

Amidst all the crippling societal disorder the Mottley regime seems steadfast in locating Barbados and the Caribbean as the Sixth Region of Afrika.

Indeed, the establishment of a trade corridor between the Caribbean and Afrika should be seen as an obvious response to all the deleterious metrics working against social or socialtal well-being.

Certainly this should have some meaning. At least it suggests the radical type of transformation direly needed.

But not a boy here, including Brassbowl Bushie, has mentioned this. And as weeee are aclimatized to the standard failures of the political elites, weeee should insist that a mental margin should be available to invite any modicum of goodness somebody like a Mottley may do.

8. It is easy to see why a small place like Barbados has road congestion blockages
    There are two types of people in Little Island
    Bus people
    Car people
    The car people think they are too rich to mix with bus people
    The Government solution is not pleasant but will be to tax people of the road introducing a cheap toll / stealth tax which will increase and increase

Barbados Independence was in 1966
    Barbados Republic was in formed in 2021
    1st, 2nd and 3rd generation children were born in Independence
    1st or next generation of children are now being born in a Republic

Promised Land
    Heal the Nation
    We are going to fee the black people
    I hope the day will come once more
    when we will reach that promised land
    Show me that river
    Take me across
    to the land of my forefathers land
    but the only chosen few
    will reach that promised land
    we are going to sail on that blackstar liner
    homeward bound
    I hope to live to see that day
    when all Africans will be free
    I am a man of peace
    but if it is war
    I’m not going to run
    I want to see my brothers and sisters free
    Jah Jah
    Show me that river
    Take me across
    to the land where I will meet the king of kings
    but the only chosen few
    will reach that promised land
    we are going to sail on that blackstar liner
    homeward bound

9. Not one single road in the English speaking Caribbean was built or designed for the traffic they are accommodating. We all inherited roads that were built to transport canes and tobacco for the slave masters.
    We need to realize that nothing will save our roads from the massive traffic congestion, outside of a multi billion dollar twenty year program to build four and six lane highways. The major problem will be the relocation and possible removal and demolition of possibly hundreds of buildings including homes.
    .Flyovers will not be feasible because we simply don’t have the land for such.

10. AH BOY, FLYOVERS IN BIM, ON A PIECE OF CORAL LIMESTONE ROCK 166 SQ MILES OUT IN THE CARIBBEAN SEA!!! WANNA LOST THE PLOT OR WHA*??? WHO FUNDING THIS – ossie moore???

Look people all, seeing wanna like talking bout’ ’nuff money – leh me brek it down in numbers that all wanna’ can overstand & ah puttin’ it good English that the jokers in parliament can see the real cost…

#LetUsBegin

I will be using “INTERNATIONAL COST DATA” as a useful starting point as no “PRIOR” #BajanGOV* has actually done a feasibility study to determine what the “PROJECTED COST” would be & the “TIME INVOLVED” – given the multiplicity of factors including what the “ENVIRONMENTALISTS” call “CLIMATE CHANGE VARIABLES”, such as the Caribbean’s predisposition to storms, hurricanes, earthquakes etc, !!!

Construction costs will vary tremendously based on scale, location, & complexity given the densely urbanised nature of Barbados in the high built-UP* cityscapes, towns & hamlets!!!

The “SEMANGGI FLYOVER”, in Jakarta, built in (2016), covered a stretch of ~0.8 km, cost the GOV*, US$27.3 Million – with the cost per/km weighing in @ ~US$34.1 Million & the road covered 0.49709695379 of a mile…

I TOOK THE PISS THERE 2 PROVE A POINT

The “BALAMBU-KALANKI FLYOVER”, in Nepal, built in (2022), covered a stretch of some 4 km, @a cost ~US$98 Million with the cost per km coming in @~US$24.5 Million…

THAT WAS 3 YEARS AGO, POST #PlanDEMIC

Understanding the cost variables, project specs & cost over-RUNS* – a simple overpass would cost far less than a complex cloverleaf interchange connecting multiple roads like the ABC Highway & other “MAIN ARTERIES” – all truncated to lead into B’town…

THIS IS WHERE THE PROBLEM LIES – AS THERE WAS NO VISION IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF VARIOUS OUT-OF-B’TOWN HUBS IN PRETTY MUCH EVERY PARISH

The choice between concrete, steel, or composite materials will surely impact the budget, as does the use of high-end technology for challenging projects. In a built-up areas like St Michael & Christ Church, acquiring the necessary land will also be extremely costly & time-consuming – as land owners will want a premium for their pound of flesh!!!

Inefficient “PROJECT MANAGEMENT” planning, bureaucratic delays, & “THE 600-LB ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM” – (#Corruption), can cause costs to balloon far beyond initial estimates, as seen in projects in Bangladesh in 2016!!!

Barbados is only 166 sq miles with a high population density . While a flyover creates road space overhead & minimizes ground-level land acquisition, the pillars & access ramps still require land in what are likely already congested areas, as aforementioned!!!

LET ME CONCLUDE

It’s important to remember why this issue is so pressing. The Central Bank of Barbados has highlighted that traffic congestion has measurable negative impacts on the economy by reducing labor productivity, increasing fuel imports, discouraging private investment, & potentially harming the tourism sector – ALL VALID [POINTS]!!!

While it is physically viable to construct flyovers in Barbados, their overall effectiveness & value-for-money are highly questionable given that the country could very well be 30 years too late!!!

At the core of the problem is that flyovers are primarily a structural solution to a “CRISIS” that is also deeply rooted in “POLICY”, “REGULATION”, & “ENFORCEMENT”!!!

Many commentators & “TALKING-HEADS” argue that without first fixing the “ROOF” while the sun is shining – given the foundational issues, such as modernizing the public transport system, decentralizing business hubs, & enforcing traffic laws – any investment in flyovers might only offer a temporary “BANDAID” & extremely expensive fix at that, given the current “DEBT” the entire nation faces (WHICH HAS BEEN ESTIMATED @US$305,000 PER PERSON IN BARBADOS)!!!

On that “PLASTIC” note, #ImDone!!!

11. William, are you saying no new roads were built within the past 50 years?
    At some stage we have to look at our current planners and builders and ask what is going on? We cannot just give them a pass and blame others..

Building multi-lane highways is not the only solution. A change of mindset, enforcing the laws, and the introduction of bike lanes would help in remedying this problem.

Mindset
    I remember when I was younger and catching my tail, walking from my home to Speightstown was seen as weird/mad. These days, I walk longer distances just to exercise. I wasn’t a ‘car man’ and you know what that means for women.

12. Traffic problems disappear when secondary schools are out.
    Do we have accurate data on mode of transport of secondary school students? NO
    Do we have enough buses to hypothetically transport all secondary school students? NO
    Do we have the ability to organise and coordinate the movement of that large a number of students? Hahaha Big NO
    Do we have the will to get any of the above done? NO.
    Exercise finished move on to the next problem

13. @ TheOG
    I agree that we have not been futuristic in our road construction planning. Quite frankly we refused to follow simple arithmetical reasoning . However what we were left with after the slave masters/ colonialists, were never intended for any modern development!
    So, we simply built roads as we” went along” without planning and in all honesty , the money and perhaps know how ,simply were not there.

14. Mottley and her advisers aspire to make Barbados a Monaco lookalike. Rh concrete everywhere besmirching our once pristine and picturesque landscape. We are well on our way.

15. “Oh My God, This Is Our Tanzania” | Verified Videos Show Tanzania Election Horror | Tanzania News

16. However what we were left with after the slave masters/ colonialists, were never intended for any modern development!
    So, we simply built roads as we” went along” without planning and in all honesty , the money and perhaps know how ,simply were not there.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SIR I RESPECT YOU HOWEVER YOU NEED TO POP YOUR HEAD FROM OUT OF THE SAND.

BLACK PEOPLE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN THEIR WORST ENEMY,

MILLIONS WERE SOLD INTO SLAVERY BY THEIR OWN BLACK PEOPLE.

IN 2025 WHETHER IN AFRICA OR CARIBBEAN ALL BLACK LED COUNTRIES ARE SHITHOLES FOR MAJORITY BLACK POPULATIONS.

I DON’T GET MY FACTS FROM TV I TRAVELED AND LIVED IN THEM.

IN 2025 WE CAN NO LONGER BLAME COLONIALISM BUT LOOK AT THE WICKEDNESS OF PEOPLE WHO ARE BLACK CROOKED AND GREEDY BY ALL MEANS NECCESSARY.

17. @ David

Read in today’s Sunday Sun that “Arthur Holder, Member of Parliament for St. Michael Central, is giving the many squatters who live in Bellevue the assurance that Government will assist them with social services.”

A resident said, “So many people live out here and every day people taking up spots. There are men out here that SELLING the land and people buying spots from them and building houses.”

“There is a section out here that we call CARICOM Village because only Guyanese, Vincentians, Jamaicans and St. Lucians live in the section.”

She said many of the non-national squatters had taken up large portions of land and their houses were concealed behind galvanised fences.

Rather than PUNISH both Barbadian and non-national squatters for engaging in the ILLEGAL ACTIVITY of squatting, this Mia Mottley administration has gone from rewarding them with land, houses, loans and grants……

…… to PROVIDING them with roads and water service.

Barbados is the ONLY Caribbean island where people from other regional territories could come believing they had some special right of entitlement, and do as they please without having to face any consequences for their actions.

By providing squatters with social services, Mia Mottley is essentially setting a precedent to ENCOURAGE and LEGALISE squatting in Barbados.

18. The generosity of the Government is spotters and skinners….

19. @Artax

Yes. We are obviously doing something wrong as a country.

Bellevue squatters allowed to stay

By Maria Bradshaw

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Government is in the process of regulating yet another set of squatters, but this time they will be able to remain on the land.

Senior Minister Dr William Duguid, who is in charge of infrastructural projects, confirmed to the Sunday Sun that Government was in negotiations with owners of the land at Bellevue Gap, Station Hill, St Michael, where more than 200 squatters now live.

He also confirmed that the Barbados Water Authority will soon begin laying mains in the area to provide water for the squatters, while there are plans to install roads and street lights in the area.

The village at Bellevue Gap has expanded rapidly over the last few years, with several Barbadians and non-nationals erecting houses despite repeated efforts by the Planning & Development Department to dismantle their structures.

Several houses are both wood and stone, some even two-storey structures.

“The Barbados Water Authority has started the process to put in the potable water in three locations – Bellevue, Belle Tenantry and Bailey’s Alley,” Duguid said.

“At Bellevue and Belle Tenantry, [it] will then follow with a sewerage system, which will take all the sewage from these two locations and transport it via sewerage systems to the Bridgetown Sewerage [Treatment] Plant. Bailey’s Alley, on the other hand, will get a small sewerage system installed in the area that’s in St George.”

He added that when the installation of the potable system is completed, roadways will also be built.

“With respect to the purchase of the land, I’ve been in negotiations and we are continuing the negotiations with the Mansour family with a view to subdividing off this area from his property,” the Minister stated.

Bellevue was once designated as a Zone 1 water “prohibited” area, but in 2020 it was changed to “protected”.

On the negotiations surrounding the purchase of the land, Robert Mansour, whose family has owned it since 1986, stated: “I have had many discussions with different people who are related to the Government’s ability to make those decisions. We’ve had discussions about it and we are currently in discussions with it.”

Asked if he was willing to sell the land to the squatters, Mansour said that was another consideration but lamented that Government had failed to protect his family’s interest when the squatters moved in.

“You cannot go in there with a bulldozer and push them down and the amount of money it costs to get lawyers to go in there and do something about it and then nothing happens. So, it’s a Catch-22 situation. The Government is really responsible to protect the citizens. I am a citizen.”

Original zoning status

He recalled that over the years several people had approached him to purchase the land but the original zoning status was always a sticking point.

“The zoning has been a problem for a long time because we have had many people who approached us to purchase the property, the overall thing. Every time they went to Town Planning, they came back to us with results that Town Planning says the place is a water zone and they’re not allowing it, not allowing anything to happen.”

Mansour stressed that the illegal situation should have been dealt with by the authorities.

“The thing is, there’s a lot of matters that need to be looked at in terms of law in Barbados. [If] a person goes anywhere and decides they want to squat, if they went on Government land and they squat, the Government will push them off and who is going to stop the Government from doing it? If the private sector did that, we will have lawsuits in our tail – ‘We’ve hurt people, we’ve damaged their goods’ – so, it really is a very difficult situation. So, hopefully, the Government will take it over and they will find a way to solve it.”

He pointed out that there were about six acres of land being occupied by squatters and four-and-a half acres in tenantry land.

“The original plantation, before we bought it, where the basketball court is, during the (Errol) Barrow period, that land was taken up by the Government to create the basketball court and that sort of thing. But the rest of it was ours and it was two areas. There was Bellevue and there was Waterford.

“So the Bellevue lands were sold, I think, back in 1916 or 1917. They had squatters there as well but the people who purchased it were able to negotiate with some of the squatters and a lot of them on that section were removed. But at the end of the day, nobody has the right to come into your house. That is a criminal offence.”

Mansour has also committed to selling Government the land next door to the squatters where the CARIFESTA Village was located.

20. PM MIA

21. “Barbados is the ONLY Caribbean island where people from other regional territories could come believing they had some special right of entitlement, and do as they please without having to face any consequences for their actions.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    CORRECTION!!
    Barbados is the ONLY place ANYWHERE, where people from other countries could come, KNOWING that they had some special right of entitlement, and do as they please without having to face any consequences for their actions.

500 years of enslavement and refined MENDICANCY have resulted is a SPECIAL CLASS of brass bowls, with such LOW self-esteem, that they RELISH having to serve others.
    Our leaders are even worse, and are ‘se vende’ to the highest bidders…

So we GIVE our NATIONAL ASSETS like hotels, banks, utilities, supermarkets, insurance, etc to foreign albino-centrics, and then beg them for lil’ wuk on their modern plantations.
    Shiite, even our squatter lands are up for grabs – while thousands of bajan BBs are looking for land spots, and while all the damn agriculture lands are being cut up to make profits (and empty overgrown lots) for greedy speculators…

There is no other place like BB, and no other curse like ours…
    That is why the shiite monument is on the Garrison,
    Now Satan’s capital city…
    What a place!

IF ONLY WE HAD EYES THAT CAN SEE…

22. @ Hants
    The generosity of the Government is spotters and skinners….
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The INEPTNESS of the government, as characterized by DooShiite and the whole Town Planning mess is potters and skinners…
    What a set of pathetic jokers…
    Steupsss!!

23. “despite repeated efforts by the Planning & Development Department to dismantle their structures”
    They need to call in Prescod, back bencher extraordinaire. He could get a back hoe in a day. He’s good at tekking things down

24. @ David

I read that Michael Lashley has finally joined the BLP, which was expected. After all he was ‘at the people’ annual conference.

This is the same Michael Lashley that ‘wash Mia in curse’ at a DLP political meeting during the 2018 general election campaign, and they are now seen embracing each other? 🤔😱

The same Lashley, a former Minister of Transport in the previous DLP administration, who was reportedly driving a vehicle owned by a company to which Transport Board (a SOE under his portfolio) bus repairs were outsourced? 🤐

After all that was revealed in Auditor General’s 2019 special audit of the Transport Board, and during the hearings of the Public Accounts Committee, and in an environment where privatising or divesting Transport Board is the ‘hot topic’……

…… the BLP has accepted Mikey ‘with open arms,’ essentially ENDORSING what occurred at Transport Board UNDER HIS TENURE. 🙂

But, ‘as I duz say all de time,’ there aren’t any SIGNIFICANT POLITICAL, IDEOLOGICAL or PHILOSOPHICAL DIFFERENCES between the BLP and DLP, as demonstrated by the EASE with which their members can join the opposing party, and are readily accepted by its membership.

🤣🤣🤣