The former Leader of the Opposition in the Barbados Parliament, Bishop Joseph Atherley, is reported to have questioned why this country continues to function under a state of emergency. In his response, the learned Attorney General, Dale Marshall, attempted to be condescending to the Bishop, rather than give an explanation that could stand up to scrutiny. I would not dignify his response by repeating it here. I would only say that his reasons made no sense as usual.

To my mind, there is now only one reason why the state of emergency continues in force, and that is to keep Cuban nurse slaves employed in Barbados. Under a state of emergency, Cabinet granted the Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, extraordinary power to make regulations, without reference to Parliament. One of the regulations that she made is the Emergency Management (Covid-19) (Nurses) Order 2020. That order, made on April 8, 2020 allows nurses, who are qualified to practice in Cuba, to work as nurses in Barbados throughout the public health emergency caused by COVID-19. If the state of emergency is lifted those 100 slave nurses will be heading back to Cuba.

You might be wondering why I call them slaves. The answer is simple; they are only given a stipend not anything near the salary paid to a qualified Barbadian nurse, which is contrary to the laws in this country and commitments made to the International Labour Organisation. In April 1952, Parliament passed the Labour Clauses (Public Contracts) Act that sets out certain conditions that must be observed by employers, who contract with the government. The statute states that a contractor shall pay rates of wages and observe hours and conditions of labour not less favourable than those establish in the trade… At current pay rates, a registered nurse employed in the Public Service of Barbados has a starting salary of $3,206.41 per month and it rises incrementally on an annual basis until it reaches $4,452.61

Despite our laws, the Cuban Government has contracted with this country to receive a one-off payment of US $35,000 for 100 nurses. Put another way, the Cuban Government is renting nurses to Barbados at a peppercorn rate. In turn the Cuban slave nurses that are employed in this country receive only a pittance to purchase incidentals.

Barbados that has emerge from a slave society is now, with the aid of the Cuban Government, trafficking in nurses. These people are basically slaves. This situation is made worse since there are a significant number of people who were trained to be nurses by the Barbados Community College, who are unable to find employment here in their chosen field. Notwithstanding that state of affairs, this country is trafficking in Cuban slave nurses who, in many cases, are unable to speak English and therefore cannot communicate effectively with their Barbadian counterparts or patients and therefore patients’ lives are put at unnecessary risk.

Barbarian nurses and patients are suffering because of this ill-advised action taken by Cuba and Barbados. The book of Proverbs is absolutely right when it says at chapter 29:2, “When the righteous are in authority, the people rejoice; But when a wicked man rules, the people groan”.

113 responses to “In 2022 Barbados government is trafficking in slaves”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am eagerly waiting the justification for the alleged crimes committed against the people of Dominica….am sure the enabling supporters of the performing world stage monkeys and their corrupt criminal sidekicks will not disappoint..

btw…those same world stage performers are now telling any lie, saying anything, would commit any human rights abuse to get a UN job.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sorry to enlighten you Donna and drag you kicking and screaming out of your ignorance. What is happening to these Cuban nurses has been recognised by the laws of Barbados as an offence since 1952. You should check out the Labour Clauses (Public Contracts) Act.

There are no exceptions under the act if the contractor is a state agency.

Did you know that many of the Cuban nurses are here against their will. This is state-sponsored people trafficking and the Government of Barbados is well aware.

3. Unlike most people. Caswell, I do not need to be dragged kicking and screaming out of ignorance.

So, enlighten me on this – pursuant to Artax’s submission re Cuban coaches and Northern Observer’s on Chinese workers –

Have you only recently been made aware of that particular law?

But that aside, if there is a chance that it is actually against Barbados law, then I think it deserves another look.

However, I still maintain that the situation is more complex than is presented here due to political ideology.

Not everything is black and white.

4. Boy, must we sensationalise EVERYTHING?????????

5. Donna’
    I have been aware of that law for many years. However, no one has ever reached out to me before. An intermediary approached me on behalf of a single Cuban nurse and the Barbados Underground is one of the ways I chose to give light to the plight of nurses. None of the news media is willing to touch this matter out of fear. Trust me; I’ve tried.

This is a way for the Government of Barbados to get cheap labour. Are you aware that fully trained Barbadian nurses were laid off to make way for nurses from Ghana and Cuba? And are you also aware that there are fully trained Bajan nurses who have to find alternative employment because they could not be accommodated in the system, in preference for imported nurses, who are not as well trained as the Bajans.

6. I am still wondering when you will feel smart enough to stop this daily denigration of others to convince yourself of your intellectual superiority!

Somebody give the woman an honorary doctorate PLEASE!

P.S. Where is the illustrious Royal Wee? I miss his tales of Russia’s brilliant war strategy – withdraw, withdraw, withdraw!

And I was hoping the brilliant Lawson would return and school me on the topic of “Afrikan Clickology”

And where is The Flash? I miss his rush to sanctimonious judgement based on misinterpretations of what was never said.

Send out the bat signal, nuh!

There! Somebody has answered you for the day. Is that enough attention? They say all attention is good for the needy. even negative attention.

I’ll be back much, much later.

Wait, wuh happen to DJ Dub? Did David stop the music?

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Caswell….will love permission to use your quoted text from labor and antislavery laws as a education tool for another publication. Thanks.

8. No, Caswell, I was not aware of any layoffs. My understanding was that for a long, looooong time, we have been short of nurses.

This has been the narrative for many, many years.

9. @Donna
    I suspected from the get-go this wasn’t about Cuban nurses. But exactly what?

This is shifting to the foreign nurses seen as “scabs”, non union replacement workers, which removes the urgency of the govt to deal with the demands of local nurses.

The latent message, is in some ways, there is minimal difference in the operational method between the local and Cuban govts.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“This is a way for the Government of Barbados to get cheap labour. ”

cheap labor is STILL SLAVERY, by another name…..but the ignorant…and…. backward “wuh dey int doin it to me, so i int care” would justify it because they are not ENSLAVED YET.. but SOON COME….then they will sing a different tune altogether…

the plight of local nurses IS NO SECRET on the island…you are dealing with out and out HYPOCRISY..

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Northern….hope you are keeping abreast about what is unfolding in Canada’s legislature…..ya don’t want to blink and miss anything.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

People need to stay abreast of reality, and let fools live in their fantasy world of stupidity, just got some news that a lot of both public and private schools are being targeted for closure across the US.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And those closures have been happening for a while, old news, but Denver now has a reupp on school closures…and guess who will be impacted the most….and it’s ongoing into the future.

even the catholic schools are getting in on the act, i remember they started years ago to merge or close…many, many years ago..

Since January Oakland has been permanently closing schools.

of course i don’t expect the world stage runners and their fool accolites to understand any of this….or make any type of preparations for anything.

14. WW&C
    You would have to be more specific, there is so much

15. You are free to use anything I post now and in the future.

16. There is still a shortage of nurses which is made worse because Government refuses to deal with nurses’ issues and that has resulted in an exodus. And because Government can access slave labour they even refuse to train adequate numbers. This year alone the numbers applying to do nursing at the Barbados Community College have been restricted.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Northern…really exhausted right now, busy morning…but you did not tell us about the euthanasia/suicide legislation for 18 and upwards who may feel depressed, etc and no longer want to live, hope it’s not for those any younger, heard it was in the works for quite some years..

or any other new legislation…that’s what you should check for, the newest legislation that are of human interest, any changes to the normal, like licenses etc. I am seeing videos but it’s always best to double check.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

Think they call it MAID. Unsure of the specifics, other than I know of several elderly persons who have availed themselves. A.k.a assisted death. And it’s been discussed for many years.
    They are battles on it from so many angles. Especially as it relates to younger persons, and non physical health conditions.

19. Not disputing the premise of the article but didn’t the Gov’t do an end around to exclude Caswell by attributing the settlement of the Industrial action by the Nurses to the leadership of the BNA?

Cubans who travel abroad sometimes use the opportunity to ask for political asylum in foreign countries, what would happen if any of these nurses apply for political asylum in Bim?

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They all should, under the anti-slavery laws.

21. @Sargeant

If this is a bilateral arrangement one suspects Cuba would be careful to bind the government to certain conditions governing how the nurses are paid and treated otherwise.

22. Caswell,

I am on record expressing my disgust at the scant respect shown to our nurses and their concerns. And I certainly would be against any policy to toss our people aside for cheap labour from Cuba OR Ghana. Also, I wouldn’t want any Cuban nurse to be forced to take care of me or mine. Certainly, we should not accept anyone who is not here voluntarily.

My argument pertained solely to the arrangement with respect to salaries as administered by the Cuban system.

But, Caswell, Northern Observer does have a point. What exactly is this submission about – the plight of Cuban nurses or the plight of Bajan nurses?

23. Norther Observer,

See above comment.

24. It seems we are always embroiled in discussions often losing sight of the plight of our nurses.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Their families back in Cuba would feel the repercussions. These people were carefully selected to make sure that there would be little to no asylum seekers.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

But, Caswell, Northern Observer does have a point. What exactly is this submission about – the plight of Cuban nurses or the plight of Bajan nurses?

It’s about both. I can walk and chew gum at the same time.

I was contacted by someone on behalf of a Cuban nurse. I feel the pain of the Cuban nurses but I also feel for our local nurses. I hope both would benefit from my actions.

Today, I was interviewed on a St. Lucian radio station about the contents of this article. I want to shame this government into ethical behaviour.

27. @ Caswell
    ” I want to shame this government into ethical behaviour.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Mission impossible Caswell!

`if this government had any shame, then
    – there would be a new Minister of Education
    – they would apologize for Duguid’s “North-South Steel Scam”
    – all the useless ‘cuntsultants of failure’ would be sent home
    – they would admit that too many ministers make shiite work

This government would not know ethical behavior if it was a bajan nurse asking for a fair chance to earn a living.

Bushie was led to believe that you dun with all this bacchanal Caswell…
    Are you not past retirement age?
    Why do you keep beating your head against wickedness?

28. WELL WELL THE STUPID SHIT NEVER CHANGES.

BEEN FLYING ON AIRPLANES BOTH US DOMESTIC AND INTERNATIONALLY ON BUSINESS WITH NOT ONE PERSON WEARING A MASK.

EVEN IN THE AIRPORTS.

PEOPLE GOING ON WITH THEIR LIVES AS IF THE PANDEMIC NEVER HAPPENED NOT HAVING TO WEAR MASKS ANYWHERE UNLESS FREEDOM OF CHOICE.

FREEDOM TO COME AND GO 24HRS A DAY BUT AS USUAL THE 2 X 3 ISLAND IS CALLING ITSELF AS HAVING A STATE OF EMERGENCY BY ITS DESPOTIC LEADER JUST LIKE THE PREVIOUS ALPHABET SOUP YET THE USUAL IDIOTS DEFEND.

NO WONDER THE ISLAND CONTINUES TO WALLOW IN BACKWARD THINKING.

NTSH.

29. This government would not know ethical behavior if it was a bajan nurse asking for a fair chance to earn a living.

THEY DON’T CARE ABOUT BLACK LIVES ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND EXCEPT WHEN COMES TIME FOR VOTING.

MIA CARES WHAT A JOKE.

30. Why do you keep beating your head against wickedness?

Because it’s there.

31. Strike! Strike! the Union Call Avatar
    Strike! Strike! the Union Call

Nurses Unions in UK are planning to strike now.
    Last years strikes in Barbados was during the Covid pandemic and did not have widespread support among various unions. It may fare better now.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It’s about both. I can walk and chew gum at the same time.”

seeing that HUMAN TRAFFICKING, the new name for SLAVERY both of which are international crimes, but apparently the whole concept that slavery is a crime, does not register in BROKEN MINDS.

yep…Caswell got his work cut out for him.

33. I recall over over 50/60 years ago Black power advocates and Black nationalists were told to : “go back to Africa or go and live in Cuba.”
    I also recall that way back in the 80s/late 70s , we were training nurses from Namibia, so that they could return home and develop their health services.
    We note how times have changed: we now depend on Cuban and African nurses coming to our rescue. and we are making a big and needed push to get into Africa.
    Reading history is a great thing but actually seeing it unfold is absolutely mind boggling sometimes.
    I read a whole lot about the 1937 riots , but then many years later, I had a conversation with a gentleman, who was actually a witness to the events of that time. It was amazing to listen to his experience

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Nice to see you William..

it’s all good connecting to the continent, very long in coming, but seeing that they started wrong, and the miseducation is still intact with criminals at the helm who would sell out people children

and

with all the continent’s problems they must be warned about these slick talking liars/frauds/performing ponies and their sidekick scamster subspecies, because they all have only ONE THING IN MIND…and it has absolutely nothing to do with the even longer overdue progress, education, social or financial elevation of the Afrikan descendants.

35. @ WURA
    Thanks. “ No doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.”
    Venceremos !!

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Venceremos !!”

I have 6 very busy weeks ahead of me, but we already know how this reads.

37. The country’s true state of emergency

The following article was submitted by Ryan Walters as a guest column, Something came to mind recently and I simply cannot shake the thought. I wonder if the Prime Minister’s decision to keep the country under a state of emergency under the Emergency Management Act actually has anything to do with COVID or a health crisis.
    Daily, I become more and more convinced that the country’s state of emergency status is very indicative of our current plight. I am beginning to believe that we, the citizens, must start to take this term literally and see it as a signal from the Government that we are indeed in dire straits.
    The “emergency” at hand is very apparent since the country is going through severe economic, social and political hardship. The financial toll is especially being felt by the ordinary man, woman and is affecting many households.
    Unapologetic
    It is almost as if the Mia Mottley-led administration is making this bold and unapologetic proclamation.
    Those of us who have to endure it day in and day out know it very well. When we go into the supermarket we feel it as prices continue to rise although large businesses were given tax write-offs and tax breaks.
    Even the existing “Social Compact”, signed between Government and the private sector to supposedly keep prices under control is yet to be felt by consumers on the shelves. We hold our breaths while we wait to see the prices during the Christmas season.
    Gas prices are still high; they continue to be over $4 per litre although the price of oil per barrel on the international market has trended down below US$100. Additionally, the Government has broken the status quo of adjusting gas prices on the first Sunday of every month to what appears to be an unorthodox regime that takes consumers by surprise.
    We are truly in a state of emergency when reports suggest that a Senior Minister boldly stood
    in defence of the Barbados Light & Power Company, (BLPC) which has been under scrutiny and heavy criticism for making a case for a rate increase.
    In our state-of-the emergency country, the Government is playing economic poker. After having to fold their hand after their failed debt restructuring exercise, they now turn to borrow $2 billion in debt in BERT 2, a move that is sure to further burden taxpayers down the road.
    A move that is also coming four years after writing off $1 billion in value added tax owed to the Government by corporations and losing close to another $1 billion in revenue by discontinuing the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL).
    It is definitely an “emergency” when the Government has not been able to jump-start this economy with the numerous projects which were repeatedly announced in Budget and Throne Speeches since 2018.
    But most interestingly in our state of emergency, we are now told that the much touted move to renewable energy is likely to cost the Government $105 million annually, a sum which, according to reports, will have to be recouped from taxpayers with new taxes. Isn’t it funny that no Government official has put forward the other side of this coin prior? What then is the benefit to the average man and already struggling households?
    As if the economic mess is not enough, to make matters worse in our state-of-emergency country, almost every week our young brothers are dying from gun violence as crime continues to spiral out of control.
    Four shootings in 5 days
    Government’s response is to change the laws and increase the number of judges, but is that enough? This week alone we have had four separate shootings in five days. The latest, a brazen attack that has left innocent law-abiding citizens who were commuting on board the PSV, in shock, fear and traumatised.
    Our children were not spared the wrath of our state-of-emergency country. After having to be mentally abused by the IDB survey which was sanctioned by the Minister of Education, who by the way, remains untouched as the minister in the last Cabinet shuffle. A move that is quite contrary to the strong, loud and repetitive calls by parents and the general public.
    If that is not enough, our children, teachers and staff remain exposed to what can be referred to as a health hazard at the Lawrence T. Gay Primary School. Seems like there is no end in sight as the minister is incapable of solving those issues.
    And yes, in our state-of-emergency republic the Government of the day tried to take our Independence Day from us – making an ill-advised decision that shows that the majority of the Cabinet appear to have their own personal interest at heart, as opposed to the interests of those who put them in a position to look after their interest as citizens of this country.
    So, yes, I think I now see clearly why the Prime Minister continues to keep our country in a state of emergency . . . because, from all indications, we are definitely in one.

38. One plus one equals two.

Wow.. Ryan Walters contribution mentions the disrespect shown to the teachers and principals of Barbados. It should come as no surprise that some jurisdictions in the US has already sought to capitalize on Mia’s/ Min of Ed’s (disrespect) faux pas by hurrying to recruit our
    well-trained teachers.

Add to the above, our loss of locally trained nurses followed by the importation of foreign nurses and you see that preying on (abusing) Bajan workers may be a part of a new national policy

One must wonder if this is a trial run for the importation of 70,000 new workers. Abusing and then displacing and replacing Bajan born workers with foreigners. This might be a brilliant idea for some, but such a deep cut will hurt every family in Barbados.

–x–
    Is the above an extreme stance?
    Is it spin or propaganda?

No!
    The behavior of Mia’s administration has been so outrageous that the limits of insanity falls well within its sphere of operation.

Debase, displace and replace should not be a national policy.

39. Do you like pelau or gumbo?

I need to keep track of what I wrote. I have already shown you that the 70,000 new workers (voters) could mean a much higher number of ‘imports’ as this could be 70,000 new families.

The magic 70k cannot all live in the promised 10,000 new houses.

Overpopulation
    Housing shortage
    Strain on water resources
    Strain on transportation
    Strain on the roads
    Strain on electrical supply
    Overburdened food suppliers
    Overburdened healthcare workers
    More teachers needed

I have seen the future and it is bleak.

Now that you know
    The correct choice is Ronnie O
    —x—
    Have a great day.
    I hope you feel as I do
    “It’s great to be home”
    Have a great day.

40. Let the mind games begin

Have you heard that a teacher has been reinstated with full pay, but not allowed to teach.

We are already aware that Mia/Min of Ed has little or no respect for our children, teachers, parents of principals, but I could not imagine that they would play mind games with a teacher.

The boldness, the arrogance the impudence, the lack of concern for what the public thinks, the willingness to pile on when their actions stinks.
    You know how I feel, but I can tell you that the introduction of ‘mind games’ into our schools caught me by surprise.

I am not a praying man,but I hope this short prayer help..

Dear God, give this teacher the courage, strength, discipline, and determination to stick with his job for years.
    Let him be slow to anger and give him the wisdom to speak appropriately at all times.
    Give him the patience of Job. Cast aside the torment and frustration that others seek to bring his way. This teacher needs you as his shield and protection from the evil that stalks his workplace.

Give him strength, Lord. Be his anchor in this raging storm

41. Of principals = our principals
    Thinks=think
    Stinks=stink
    Prayer help=prayer helps

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…i heard they finally tore down the 4 seasons scam paradise blight that they all created, someone just saw the area cleared.

43. Waru
    Are you suggesting it be renamed Blight’s Beach

44. @ WURA
    “William…i heard they finally tore down the 4 seasons scam paradise blight that they all created, someone just saw the area cleared.”
    These days, it’s best to just watch the silly games play out.
    More to come.
    Peace

45. I am very obedient. I only mask up if I have to. My next step is to remove my purchasing power from any establishments that require a mask.

46. Figured this was coming, a little later than expected.

Ludicrous, Mr Franklyn
    The Cuban medical personnel who have been in Barbados since April 2020 helping our country to fight the COVID-19 pandemic are members of Cuba’s world famous “Henry Reeve International Medical Brigade”.
    This is a highly trained and experienced brigade of medical specialists that is deployed all over the world to respond to the most severe medical and humanitarian crises.
    Indeed, the Brigade is so highly regarded that it has been nominated for the Nobel Prize on multiple occasions.
    The personnel who arrived in April 2020 consisted of 99 nurses and one medical doctor. But when our nation was hit by the deadly Delta variant of the virus in 2021, we sent out an SOS to Cuba and the Cuban authorities responded by sending us an additional 20 nurses and 15 laboratory and medical specialists. And the only reason we appealed to Cuba for these additional specialists is because our public medical authorities were so pleased and satisfied with the exemplary performance of the initial 100 person contingent.
    After that initial 100 person contingent had gone beyond the call of duty and heroically served our people for two whole years, they made their way home to Cuba, carrying with them multiple containers of all sorts of consumer items that they had purchased for themselves in Barbados. And once again, so stellar had their performance been, that – at the request of our public medical authorities – they were replaced by a new contingent of 72 nurses.
    So, in total, some 207 Cuban medical specialists – nurses, doctors and laboratory technicians – have worked in Barbados over the past two-and-a-half years, giving outstanding service to our people and helping to save Barbadian lives. And for this service to Barbados, our Cuban compatriots have been paid the same salaries that are paid to our own Barbadian nurses, doctors and technicians employed in our Public Sector. Indeed, it is out of said salaries that our Cuban brothers and sisters pay their rent, purchase their groceries, pay for public transportation, enjoy Barbados’ recreational events and facilities, and purchase consumer items to take back home to Cuba.
    It is against this background therefore, that I was literally flabbergasted to read Caswell Franklyn’s letter in the 18th of November 2022 edition of Barbados Today charging that our Barbados Government does not provide these Cuban medical specialists with any salaries, and that the Cuban nurses have been “rented” to Barbados by the Government of Cuba for a one-off payment of “US $35,000”, and that, as a result, these wonderful Cuban medical specialists are ,in effect, “slaves” !
    This Franklyn claim is so unhinged, fantastical and ludicrous that one is left to wonder how and why a responsible newspaper like Barbados Today would even publish it!
    Does Barbados Today really believe that 100 specialist nurses could work in Barbados for two whole years for the princely sum of $700 each, or for less than $1 per day ? And what about the other 107 medical specialists ? Have they too been paid out of this mythical US $35,000 ? If that is what Barbados Today is willing to believe then they are believing that each Cuban specialist has been allocated a sum of $338 for months, and in some cases, years, of work ! Surely, this Caswell Franklyn assertion reeks of lunacy.
    But the question arises : why, instead of glibly publishing this ridiculous and manifestly false Caswell Franklyn assertion, didn’t the editorial officials of Barbados Today simply pick up the telephone and contact any one of a number of responsible public officials and ask for some clarification? The same way I am giving this clarification from my vantage point of Ambassador to CARICOM, similar clarification could have been sought and received from our current Minister of Health, Dr Jerome Walcott, our former Ministers of Health, Hon Ian Gooding-Edghill and Colonel Jeffrey Bostic, the Executive
    Director of our QEH, Mrs Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, our Chief medical Officer, Dr Kenneth George, the Cuban Ambassador, H.E. Sergio Pastrana, and the list goes on and on.
    Why are so many of us always so perversely ready and willing to slander our own country ?
    – David Comissiong, Ambassador to Caricom.

47. Perhaps it was meant to be just hyperbole.
    Credibility on all matters can be seriously damaged by a slip of the tongue (pen)

48. Oh dear, I declare. WTF happened here?????

49. TheO.

Credibility is THE most important factor in public discourse and advocacy. This is what I have been saying for years on this site. Others have been playing it down for reasons that I cannot fathom.

Fables become fables for a reason. Crying wolf prematurely gets people killed!

Let’s translate that into “AFRIKAN”!

CRYING LION PREMATURELY GETS PEOPLE KILLED!

No TheO, this cannot be explained away by hyperbole.

Caswell has to bring the receipts!

I can see no happy ending here. I would not rejoice to learn that Caswell is right, neither could I rejoice to discover that Caswell is wrong.

What I will say is that I was disappointed by the sneaky lead-in that he employed in telling the story, as Northern Observer observed. It started out being about the plight of Cuban nurses. There was NO MENTION of its link to the plight of the Barbadian nurses. Then, ONLY in the comments, the Cuban nurses’ plight became secondary to the plight of the Barbadian nurses. This is a glaring omission that cannot be explained away by “being able to walk and chew gum”.

Caswell was known for straight shooting. This one was not straight.

So…now, in Donna’s mind, we’re back to credibility!

😔

Damage control on this one, if necessary, would be an almost impossible task!

The only excuse could be if he was set up by a very astute politician.

Then that would damage his reputation in a different way.