The Fair-Trading Commission’s rate hearings are tragically amusing. Essentially, Emera (BL&P) are telling Barbadians that 1 + 1 = 38.692. Based on the recent pattern, it is foreseen that FTC will find that 1 + 1 is a number higher than 32.
Several intervenors are using evidence and reason to show that it is sheer lunacy to suggest that 1 + 1 = 38.692. However, they seem oblivious to something that Emera and other foreign entities are relying on – Barbados no longer respects evidence-based arguments.
LOST RESPECT.
We have moved from the safety of making decisions based on evidence and reasoned arguments, to a dangerous age where decisions are made based on an end-justifies-the-means philosophy.
It is mathematically possible to argue that 1+ 1 equals a number between 1 and 3. Previously, foreign entities would have had too much respect for Barbadians to even suggest that 1 + 1 equals anything greater than three. But we have informed the world that in Barbados, the means of truth and accuracy are no longer important. The end may justify any dishonest, harmful and idiotic means imaginable.
FALLING DOMINOES.
The first domino to fall was the removal of Nelson’s statue based on provable false justifications. As I explained at the time, I was not defending Nelson but truth. We should not be forced to accept that 1 + 1 = 46 to justify removing any statue. I predicted that crossing this line of ignoring credible evidence, and using dishonest means to justify an end, would eventually be used against all of us.
The next domino to fall was our constitutional monarchical system of Government. The same end-justifies-the-dishonest-means philosophy was used in an even more brazen fashion to force Barbadians into a republic. The Government proved that by simply saying things that were clearly untrue, Barbadians will bow down and declare the lie to be the truth – that is who we have now become.
LED ASTRAY.
Some of our community leaders want it both ways. They want to force us to accept ends that they want using dishonest and harmful means, and delay ends that they do not want by insisting on evidence-based research. The UWI professors and lecturers, secondary school teachers, religious leaders, politicians, economists, poets, artists, business leaders, community leaders and others irresponsibly led Barbadians to ignore the dishonest means, fall in line and just accept the ends.
Crossing the line of reason was stupidly short sighted and extremely dangerous for citizens. Having sacrificed our personal integrity for a couple of dominoes, we must now accept ends that are definitely not in our best interests. The pattern of other countries who have gone this way before us, is that after the people short sightedly cheered the fall of the first few dominoes, the fall of the remaining dominoes tended to bring oppressive suffering.
CHARGING WINDMILLS.
I have a lot of respect for the intervenors, especially fellow Engineers Trevor Browne, Ricky Went and Stephen Worme, Attorney Tricia Watson and Accountant David Simpson. I appreciate their persistent evidence-based reasonable arguments. However, they seem not to know that we are in another age that few of us will like – the age of lump it.
Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com
Steupse!
Based on the above argument, I would suggest that the FTC quadruple the rate that Emera is requesting so that lenders will be willing to pay them to borrow money.
The Intervenors are critical in the fight against Emera who is in business to maximise profits for their shareholders.
Bajans may save money by using solar powered lighting and rechargeable batteries,
The only lights outside my house are motion activated solar and rechargebles.
A majority of Barbadians are averse to making drastic change in usage based on rising fuel cost/electricity bill. You are correct, there are changes we should make at the household level to help ourselves.
“The first domino to fall was the removal of Nelson’s statue based on provable false justifications.”
“The next domino to fall was our constitutional monarchical system of Government.”
~~~~~~~~~~
I realized Phillips II is holding steadfastly to his ‘insurance theory.’
That ‘government’s decision to remove Nelson’s statue and the Queen as Head of State was not “based on evidence and reasoned arguments,” but “an end-justifies-the-means philosophy.”
And, by doing so, Barbados essentially ‘cancelled’ its ‘insurance policy,’ which also resulted in “foreign entities” losing respect for the island.
I believe Bushie’s ‘monument at the Garrison’ argument is more plausible.
@Artax
These kinds of issues will always evoke emotional responses from some people and this is fine. What some of us want to see is a holistic plan to transform and sustain a relevant cultural landscape.
Grenville is like a prisoner who becomes a gangster’s bitch for protection losing his self esteem which drives him to madness. Like a long term prisoner he has become used to the life and is scared to leave and go outside.
He will continue mourning Removal of Nelson and Crown for Independence until his soul leaves his body.
Have some mercy and pity him he knows no better.
His musings are amusing but dead wrong.
He will never lead the nation or win a seat as he is not politically correct and is a rightwing token like Diamond and Silk video bloggers
Tumbao Africano
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCTJAMMHpK0
“The UWI professors and lecturers, secondary school teachers, religious leaders, politicians, economists, poets, artists, business leaders, community leaders and others irresponsibly led Barbadians to ignore the dishonest means, fall in line and just accept the ends.”
when you don’t know
you don’t know
and can never be conscious
and will always be anxious
The Lost Connection
some blacks are not Africans and never will be
they are crossovers to the other side
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJad5BaS8ag
“What some of us want to see is a holistic plan to transform and sustain a relevant cultural landscape.”
‘My thoughts exactly.’
Actually, I was going to include a similar comment in my contribution, but decided not to do so.
Artax:
Please do not confuse the issues. The insurance/military alliance issue only came up when someone wanted to know what we had to lose by becoming a republic. You may think that the military alliance (which Ukraine desperately wants) was worthless or non-existent, but that is a separate issue to the means through which Barbados became a republic.
Becoming a republic was based on the foundation that the public gave their consent in the 2018 General Election. In response to the Queen, the Government stated that it was in the BLP’s 2018 General Election Manifesto – an untruth that you and every reader is well aware, but are willing to accept to achieve the end. Ditto with Nelson.
Now this generation must watch the remaining dominoes fall, having scarified our personal integrity by accepting what we all knew to be lies – just to cheer on the fall of the first couple of dominoes. Our children will ask us if it was worth it – after they curse us for our short-sighted stupidity.
https://www.instagram.com/reel/CjTCzvdAzqa/
I don’t understand the whining about the high electricity prices. Everyone on our island has the opportunity to install solar panels on their villas and latifundia. You even make a profit with the electricity!
Tron:
Everyone has the opportunity to go to space, but few have the means. The middle class are joining the ranks of the house/rent-poor with little disposable income.
To allow more to have not only the opportunity but the capacity, the Government should bring in the PV panels duty free and sell them at cost to homeowners.
THE ELECTRICITY IS THE SAME WITH ALL ON THE 2X3 ISLAND THE WHITE MAN PROSPERS. THE BLACKS SELLOUT THE MASSES WHO SUFFER THE MOST.
MENTAL SLAVERY CORRUPTION AND EXPLOITATION IS ALWAYS THE NAME OF THE GAME ON THE 2X3 ISLAND
@ Artax
“I believe Bushie’s ‘monument at the Garrison’ argument is more plausible.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
That is an attempted low-blow…. 🙂
Unfortunately, Bushies’s ‘monument at the Garrison’ theory is as plausible as the bushman’s expectations of chaos for the coming months…… AND for Bajan donkeys to suffer badly in the grass.
@ Grenville
We should not be surprised at the level of GRAFT being displayed by Emera. This is an organization that DEFINES itself by dollars.
The REAL sickness is that black victims of 400 years of similar exploitation, can so EASILY fall again for the same scam.
@Bush Tea
In what other should a commercial entity that is a public company define itself?
Bush Tea October 4, 2022 2:18 PM #: “That is an attempted low-blow…. 🙂”
Bush Tea
I’m sorry you believe my comment was, “an attempted low blow.”
But, far from it, my friend….. that was not my intention.
All I’m ‘saying’ is, when compared with Mr. Phillips II’s arguments as presented in his article, your argument has much more merit.
It seems as though the Barbadians will soon experience hardship, especially next year.
And, I know you usually dismiss economic theory, but, Emera is doing exactly what is expected of a monopoly in a monopolistic market.
Emera is a dominant company, being the sole supplier of electricity services to many customers, thereby controlling the market…… and is deemed to be a ‘price maker’ because it sets the price and supply of electricity.
Bush:
You wrote: “The REAL sickness is that black victims of 400 years of similar exploitation, can so EASILY fall again for the same scam.”
The problem is that this time, our influencers have pushed us over the edge – there are now real oppressive consequences for their irresponsible behaviour. But there will be a reckoning.
@ nextparty246 October 4, 2022 12:38 PM
Our honourable government already promotes the installation of solar power systems for electricity generation through tax rebates. Thus, these installations are no more expensive than in North America or Europe.
@ BAJE October 4, 2022 1:32 PM
You obviously don’t live on our beautiful island. At least my honourable (black) neighbours all have very huge solar panels.
@ David October 4, 2022 5:05 PM
The DLP grandee spreads horrible conspiracy theories. Like after the last election when he made completely baseless accusations of electoral fraud.
Even now, our island suffers from the after-effects of the lost decade. This is obviously not enough for the DLP. The DLP wants to undermine the foundations of democracy and thus destroy our island.
What must this man do to get through to you?
They say a word to the wise is sufficient.
The sure way to go
Is put your faith in Ronnie O
Slim picking for those who prefer meat and potato… Trump, Putin….
In what other should a commercial entity that is a public company define itself?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Perhaps high quality service excellence and customer satisfaction to start…
along with cutting edge technology initiatives…
But then the profits that would flow as a result would make Apple look like a walk in the park.
‘Money’ is NOT the problem Boss, it is the LOVE of the stuff – at any cost, … that define albino-centric inclinations.
@ Artax
‘’….and is deemed to be a ‘price maker’ because it sets the price and supply of electricity”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So why are we having these long boring hearings then? If Emera are price makers?
Seems to Bushie that it is the FTC that are the price makers….
Did Dominica and Grenada not ‘declare independence’ from them recently?
BTW Artax, (as the resident BU research professor,) have you analyzed Barbados’ fate since FUMBLE built the monument at the Garrison and planted the black pitchfork in the ground…?
Think ‘direct correlation…”
@Tron October 4, 2022 4:33 PM
“Our honourable government already promotes the installation of solar power systems for electricity generation through tax rebates. Thus, these installations are no more expensive than in North America or Europe.”
The installation cost are still prohibitively high for most. Further, Emera/FTC will simply increase the cost of electricity so that they maintain their profits/dividends. The domino has already fallen on all of us – Barbadians (including those with PV systems) just do not recognize it yet.
@ nextparty246 October 4, 2022 8:00 PM
About the price: The modules and installation are definitely not more expensive than in the US or EU.
About Emera: There is the option to connect the solar modules to a battery and thus run your villa self-sufficiently without Emera power. The battery can also be used as an emergency power supply in the event of a power failure.
If your plantation is large enough, you can also set up solar panels in the garden and use them to charge your electric vehicle fleet.
Tron – “You have to be able to afford Barbados.”
Bush Tea
RE: “So why are we having these long boring hearings then? If Emera are price makers?”
Please note, I presented a few characteristics of a monopoly.
Emera does not have any competitors and the closest substitute there is to electricity, is solar energy, of which there isn’t any widespread use to give the company competition.
So, the firm has enough market power to control or influence market prices of its product, (electricity), and associated services, without losing customers in the process.
However, (and, without going into too many details), “these long boring hearings” are as a result of Emera ‘setting the price.’
One method ‘government’ uses to intervene in a monopolistic market, is by establishing a regulatory agency, e.g, Fair Trading Commission, a function of which is to simply regulate monopolies, thereby protecting the interests of consumers.
Whenever there is a request to the Commission for a rate increase, consumers, lawyers, accountants, etc, become involved in the process, as intervenors, by participating in the public rate hearings case.
Persons should make compelling arguments to persuade the Commission of their viewpoints.
These rate hearings provide members of the public with an opportunity to make a difference, by participating in the utility regulatory process.
Instead, we prefer to depend on one or two persons to intervene on our behalf, while coming in this forum to ‘talk’ some shiite (ME included), and complain.
RE: “BTW Artax, (as the resident BU research professor,)……”
Now, that is what I would ‘call’ a “low blow.”
Especially when you consider the number of times I’ve been called an ‘appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon,’ then, it’s a travesty to use ‘Artax and professor’ in the same sentence.
🤣🤣
Tron:
You will still have to pay Emera even if you are off the electrical distribution grid – because they must maintain their profits. Where do they get their money? From all of us.
In a news release issued Monday morning, Nova Scotia Power said more than 1,500 technicians, damage assessors, forestry technicians and field support people are currently on the ground, with most crews working in the northeastern and eastern parts of the province.
https://atlantic.ctvnews.ca/more-than-20-000-nova-scotians-still-in-the-dark-10-days-after-fiona-most-schools-reopen-1.6093395
Metrology Bill to help avoid financial “leakage”
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/10/05/metrology-bill-help-avoid-financial-leakage/
Mismatched figures:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/05/mismatched-figures/
Heard that exchange.
Long ‘argument’ with them both saying exactly the same thing.
Hope the other issues are clearer… LOL
@Bush Tea
Although the intervenors are doing a thankless job on behalf of Barbadians, one gets the impression there will be an inevitable outcome to processings.
The intervenors should walk out in protest because their participation will not make a difference.
———-
Eviction threat – Eviction threat:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/06/eviction-threat/
While you were out:
First Green Hydrogen Power Plant in Barbados
In line with Barbados’ ambitious targets of 100% renewable energy and carbon neutrality by 2030, IFC and IDB Invest are working with Hydrogène de France (HDF) and Rubis to support the development of Renewstable Barbados, a 50 MW solar generation facility with green hydrogen and lithium-ion battery storage that will provide firm and clean electricity to the Barbadian grid. In addition, Renewstable Barbados is designed to host the largest sheep farm on island, contributing to both energy and food security of Barbados.
https://www.carilec.org/first-green-hydrogen-power-plant-in-barbados/
The Barbados Green Hydrogen Trifecta Is A Quad-fecta
Depending on what you count, the new “Renewstable Barbados” project involves four elements, not just three. Either way, it demonstrates that some nations are not waiting around for emerging systems like green hydrogen and agrivoltaics to mature.
Renewstable Barbados is a relatively small project, aiming to provide electricity for just 16,000 homes. However, its impact could be widespread in terms of combining energy production with food security through the agrivoltaic model.
It will consist of a 50-megawatt solar array with on-site green hydrogen and a lithium-ion battery storage system. It will also play host to a livestock operation that is described as the largest sheep farm on the island.
The hydrogen and battery storage elements also overcome the challenge of intermittent energy from solar panels, which of course do not produce electricity at night.
The developers are not letting the grass grow under their feet. Construction is slated to begin next year if all goes according to plan.
https://cleantechnica.com/2022/10/03/bad-news-for-fossil-fuels-barbados-seeks-green-hydrogen-with-sheep-too/
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/12/09/power-plant-developers-assure-environment-will-be-protected/
Published on
December 9, 2022
The developers of the largest hybrid power plant in Barbados and the region have assured measures are being implemented to prevent and mitigate any negative impacts on the environment and surrounding communities during the construction and operation of the facility.
HDF Energy and RUBIS are developing Renewstable Barbados, a 50 MW solar generation facility in St Philip with green hydrogen and lithium-ion battery storage that will provide firm and clean electricity to the grid.
During the first town hall meeting on the project held at the Princess Margaret Secondary School on Wednesday, a discussion was held to inform residents about the results of the first Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA) conducted by Stantec Caribbean.
The ESIA covered several aspects of the construction process, including the quantitative risk, drainage, social impact, and agriculture impact assessments, as well as an acoustic modelling study.
Overall, the extensive survey reinforced the positive aspects of the proposed plant. In generating clean green power using solar and hydrogen processes it will generate gaseous emissions that are non-polluting and there will be low noise pollution to surrounding communities. Additionally, the large-scale sheep farm that is part of the project will serve not only as a grazing site but as a grass harvesting one as well.
However, some residents expressed concerns about the environmental impact of the project which will take up approximately 183 acres of land.
In response, sociologist Janice Cumberbatch, who was a part of the ESIA study, said monitoring of operations at the site will be an ongoing process that will include not only independent contractors but agents from state entities as well.
“The way this works is that when the recommendations are made and the company starts construction or operations, they are going to be required to implement measures and then the regulatory agencies such as the Environmental Protection Department, or the Ministry of Health, or the Ministry of Energy, will be required – as part of what you will see in the EIA document – to monitor. They will be required to view the reports that the company will prepare in terms of how they are operating,” she explained.
“Another thing that is frequently required and has been recommended as part of my [contribution] to the report is that there will be a stakeholder engagement process. It has been recommended that there be a stakeholder liaison…, to put it bluntly. That person is expected to slam tar on a regular basis.”
The liaison between the project and the community as well as agents from the regulatory agencies will be required to be in the surrounding communities on a regular basis to oversee any existing or potential issues due to the construction or operation processes.
Vector control – the process of limiting the transmission of pathogens and diseases within a given environment – was also a concern for people living in the area, given the proposed sheep husbandry operations that will take place around the installed solar panels.
HDF Project Manager Jacqueline Beckles assured residents that agriculture consultants were currently working on several processes aimed at restricting the spread of any harmful vectors from the site.
“The planning and development department actually is very interested in vector control, so one of the things we specifically commented on for them was how we would go about ensuring that things like rats and rodents won’t accumulate onsite.
“During the design process, the exact procedures have to be laid out, so the intention from the very beginning – the agriculture consultants are working on that right now – is to determine what those processes need to be in order to ensure that vectors are not propagated on site.”
She also added that though the plant will use 65 cubic metres of water daily, half of that will be recycled throughout the plant.
“The process of generating hydrogen requires pure water, so whatever comes into the system has to be purified with the water treatment facility before it goes into the electrolyzers. When that treatment process happens, half of it is discharged and that half is put into a holding pond,” Beckles explained.
“We test it to make sure to find out what the mineral content will be, and once we are okay that it can be reused, it will go towards things like irrigation, panel washdown – because, of course, the panels have to be kept clean –, it will go towards the farm and cleaning the farm and maintaining the site in a general way. You can actually say half the water that we are using in the process is reused.”
The Renewstable Barbados project is under joint development by HDF Energy and Rubis. (SB)