The following submission from Walter Blackman, Actuary and VOB TalK Show Host is a summary of his June 14 ,2022 Brasstacks program – BU blogmaster

Walter Blackman – Actuary and VOB Brasstacks host

There are many national issues simmering on the front burner which are worthy of discussion. Just to identify some of these, we have gun violence, the strategy announced by the Attorney General to combat crime, a test carried out on a male to determine the presence or absence of Monkey pox in Barbados, the need to be on the lookout for counterfeit currency, some disturbing findings from the latest Auditor General’s report for the Fiscal Year ended March 31, 2021, and last, but not least, educational reform.

With respect to the Auditor General’s report, there are some issues raised by the Auditor General which I would like to highlight:

1. There is a lack of timely response by Ministries and Departments to requests for information. When responses were provided, they were inadequate. To solve this problem, the Auditor General noted that section 13(5) of the Public Finance Management Act 2019-1 states: “If a person refuses to produce any records or information as requested by the Comptroller General, that person is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10,000, or imprisonment for 12 months, or both.” He suggested that the legislation should be amended to include the Auditor General.
  2. There is no Leader of the Opposition, so the post of Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) is vacant. There is some uncertainty on how the PAC can function. The Auditor General recommends that one of the “independent” senators be allowed to chair the PAC.
  3. In his 2019 report, the Auditor General referred to a Special Audit which was conducted on the Barbados Water Authority (BWA). Legal action has now been taken against the office of the Auditor General by a former Chairman of the Board of the BWA. Any discussion on this report must now be placed on hold pending the decision of the courts. The Auditor General recommends that legislation should provide that any document produced in good faith by, or on behalf of, the Auditor General should be privileged information and protected against lawsuits.
  4. The Treasury Department reported that its receivables increased by $1.238 billion during the year. A great difference exists between amounts reported by the Treasury and the Barbados Revenue Authority.
  5. A balance of $32.8 million was reported in respect of dishonoured cheques. The names of individuals or entities were not provided for audit inspection.
  6. $3.9 million in pensions were paid by the Treasury Department in the names of deceased persons. Sometimes, payments were made 10 years or more after death. 34 pensioners, former government workers, were affected. Over the years, the Treasury Department was unable to access the Death Register information.
  7. BRA recorded $12 million in wire transfers related to taxes paid by taxpayers. However, these wire transfers were not applied to the appropriate taxpayers’ accounts.
  8. With respect to the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), access to the SAP information technology system by former employees was not deactivated. Benefit transactions were processed and approved by the same individual.
  9. Old-age NIS pensions were generated for persons who were recorded as deceased within the national Death Register. 10 NIS pensioners were affected, and in some cases, payments were made for over 5 months after death.
  10. Persons no longer employed by BRA still had active credentials and access to the TAMIS application. Some taxpayers had multiple active TAMIS numbers. BRA was not informed of deceased taxpayers.
  11. Tax refunds payable to taxpayers were reported as $611.9 million. The audit of BRA was characterized by extremely long delays in the provision of information to the auditors and this would have impacted negatively on its timely completion. Cash and banking information was not properly reconciled. This matter has been ongoing for several years. It poses risk of errors, omissions, or acts of fraud being perpetrated and concealed.
  12. Clearwater Bay Ltd, a government company, made a loan guarantee of $120 million. This loan guarantee was connected to the construction of the proposed Four Seasons -managed Hotels and Villas. The $120 million were originally shown as a receivable but then written off in 2018. The Auditor General holds the view that this $120 million should not have been written off. The Government of Barbados paid $124.3 million to the bank after the loan was called. A check with The Land Registry Department indicates that the property has been conveyed to a private company. There is no evidence of money being paid by the private company.
Minister of Education Kay McConney

With respect to educational reform, we are not limiting our analysis and discussion to the 11+ exam. I have my own ideas and vision and you have yours, so let us discuss.

Sandy Kellman has eloquently and repeatedly shown us that our new system of education must expose all of our children to assessments and tests at an early age in order to detect learning challenges and disabilities. Those young children with learning challenges should receive adequate remedial treatment as early as possible. Funds from the education budget will be allocated for this purpose, and jobs will be created.

Primary school students will be encouraged to develop their talents in art, the performing arts, music, technology, sports, English, Mathematics, Spanish, Mandarin, and Cantonese. Metrics will be used in all of these areas, and teaching and coaching jobs will be created to prepare students for a vastly expanded 11+ exam.

Talents surfacing at the primary level will be further developed at the secondary school level with teachers, coaches, musicians, artists, singers, playwrights, poets, writers, and religious ministers all playing a critical and pivotal role. Many jobs are waiting to be created. We are going to need the experience and the wisdom of the John Goddards, the Ralph Jemmotts, and others to help guide us forward.

CXC, CAPE, and SAT exams will be taken by secondary school students. High SAT scores will enable our secondary school students to attend polytechnics and universities in the USA where their marketable skills and talents will undergo the last stage of development. After that, the brilliance and talents of a young Barbadian population will be unleashed upon the rest of the world.

The overall objective of this new education policy is to generate foreign exchange earnings for Barbados. At present, we are on the wrong course. We need to find a new direction. As a people, we need to pivot the Barbadian economy around a new axis.

139 responses to “Walter Blackman – Findings from the 2021 Auditor General’s Report, and Educational Reform”

1. @NO

Bear in mind as a minister there was room for Inniss to argue that it was not a bribe. It was the action by BF&M that out of an abundance of concern triggered the disgorgement process to probably escape prosecution down the line.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They were FORCED to upgrade their anti-money laundering laws too, nearly a hundred years later, and they had to be forced…..these they MUST observe though.

they have no intention of observing any laws they ratify or to those which they are signatory…

3. NorthernObserver July 18, 2022 10:26 AM #: “The DOJ first had to establish, the money in question was a bribe, AND that bribery was illegal in Barbados. Hence the money was dirty.”

Obviously.

But, it’s being argued that Inniss was convicted for breaking Barbados’ laws, which is a completely different issue.

Dun wid wunnuh and dat.

4. There is a gang of people on Bu who will always chat rubbish and love to call out each others name for validation.
    The funniest take on this is they like to label themselves as radical thinkers when they do not have good brains.

5. “The DOJ first had to establish, the money in question was a bribe, AND that bribery was illegal in Barbados. Hence the money was dirty.”

US Court evidence would make it a slam dunk case in a Little Island prosecution
    He should be used as an example that politicians are not Above the Law

6. Donville ” took one for the team “.

7. One minor comment.
    The ‘A guy’ is boringly solid. He does not make a move unless he is certain of the point he is making.

When it comes to hard facts/data, I would not engage ‘the A guy’ (unless I had hard/strong/irrefutable evidence that he was wrong).

All, have a great day.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Donville ” took one for the team “.”

that’s all it was….and more than likely INVOLUNTARILY..,,by the time he realized he got pushed to the front…too late…

.the FALL GUY…lol..

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    On that you are correct, DI was not convicted for breaking Barbadian laws.
    Yet, it had to be established they were broken, in order for the money laundering charge to apply.

Yes, BF&M’s admissions were the key. They were not going to report and pay all the legal fees, plus lose the profits (disgorgement) if the payments were ‘easily explainable within legal boundaries’.
    Yet, it was rookie moves by II and AT that led to the exposure.
    My guess is also the whole scheme extended beyond what ‘we know’. While II ‘resigned’ early, AT was there (ICBL) ‘for a while’. BF&M was afraid of what else may ‘come out’.
    So they dump ICBL and the profit quadruples? Even after what they did to the Don.

10. BAJE,
    You have expressed your outrage. That’s all we can do on BU.
    I confidently believe that most Barbadians agree with you.

Xxxxxx

PLEASE DON’T SPEAK FOR ME OR PUT WORDS IN MY MOUTH.

WHY WOULD I BE OUTRAGED, I DON’T LIVE IN THE CESSPOOL.

I AM INCREDULOUS THAT IN 2022 BLACK PEOPLE CAN BE SO GULLIBLE FALLING FOR THE SAME BAIT OVER AND OVER ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I was going to show what is online regarding the progress of the AK extradition, but then this was the top news..

“Collin Spencer’s song, If Yuh do These Things, which is critical of Barbados’ Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, apparently cannot be played on radio stations in Barbados, which amounts to censorship in what is supposed to be a democracy, but in truth and in fact is a country under one-party rule. Readers are urged to listen to the song, which contains no profanity or objectionable content, if you can find it.

It details much of what is wrong with Barbados, and is a plea to the PM to right the wrongs, and serve the needs of Bajans. If Mottley cannot stand someone to speak Truth to Power in Barbados, then perhaps she should resign and leave the governing of Barbados to one who will have the welfare of the people in mind, first and foremost, not in repeated international trips to conference and events. Bajans first, Miss PM.”

12. NorthernObserver

I AM FULLY AWARE “it had to be established that Barbados laws were broken, in order for the money laundering charge to apply.”

But, please be reminded the issue you raised was NOT the GIST of the original argument.
    Hence, there was a reason why I did not make any reference to it.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They don’t want to PAY REPARATIONS to the taxpayers and descents of the enslaved robbed mercilessly for the last 100 years…

so i just listened to the song on this link….; and my take on this unimpressive move, flexing the dictator wannabe muscles much..

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Nice sound bite, but you would have to tell us ‘which team’.
    Reminds me of the four University students who travelled one weekend to party. That had such a good time their missed their exam on Monday. Upon returning, they contacted their professor, explaining they had a flat tire which took a long time te repair. The prof acquiesced and said they could take it next a.m. When they arrived, they were each seated alone in a adjacent rooms. When the moderator said ‘Begin’, they opened the exam. It had one question…’ which tire?’

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

de groupies/fowls got their own special mention…

16. David
    “Bear in mind as a minister there was room for Inniss to argue that it was not a bribe. “
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Please enlighten a lost bushman about this ‘room’ that allows ministers to accept handouts from organisations with which government is transacting business.
    Are you also guilty of the NATIONAL RESIGNATION to the FACT that our government officials are in fact bribe takers and that it has become so endemic that we may as well give them the ‘room’ to proceed?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman….we gotta congratulate the fowl graduates…

so this is what i went looking for knowing i had seen it some days ago….and butt up on the rendition of TRUTH and REALITY now banned from local radio stations..

“The Court of Appeal Court in Barbados, almost a year after Alex Tasker, charged in the Donville Inniss money laundering and Foreign Corrupt Practises Act (FCPA) case in the United States, took up a lower court decision requiring his extradition to face the music in America, sits on the case without handing down a ruling. Given that the requirements for extradition are purely procedural, and not on the merits of the case, there is no proper reason for the delay. there is something rotten in Barbados, and it wears judicial robes.”

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William, Pacha, TLSN….your thoughts???

don’t think these people are seeing themselves and HOW they are perceived in therreal world, apparently they still believe this is some game that they can’t lose because of the winning streak since the 1920s…

19. @NO

It makes you wonder if AT did similarly at DIGICEL?

20. @Bush Tea

Do you live in Barbados? This is how business is done in Barbados most of the time.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just remember Piece warned yall over and over.., remember the dude yall love to make fun of and the PhD level graduate fowls called him tinfoil and all types of derogatory terms…well he did warn yall bout the dictator wannabe…

.and that is what you DUMMIES partly reelected in the buy election….

22. @Bush Tea

Didn’t the Allan Kinch blog not give you an insight if you didn’t know?

23. .
    Are you also guilty of the NATIONAL RESIGNATION to the FACT that our government officials are in fact bribe takers and that it has become so endemic that we may as well give them the ‘room’ to proceed?

Xxxxxx

THAT IS WHY THE 2 X 3 ISLAND IS A PARADISE

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman…the good news is….THEY ARE THE ONES BROUGHT THIS ON THEMSELVES…..they are responsible for the hijacking of the parliament for dictator purposes, now they are the ones RESPONSIBLE and SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE for FORCING OUT wannabe dictators out of every taxpayer entity STARTING in the parliament…..

they have lots of foolish, useless petty talk for us on BU, so let’s see what they are made of now…..all the reckless nonsense about 30-0 and 60-0 is right up IN THEIR FACES…

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

I cannot comment on AT, I don’t know the person.
    What can be observed is the senior management at ICBL did not appreciate the finer points of what they were doing.
    What none of know is the inner workings. Did BF&M have other issues with IRS/DOJ? What was the relationship between the CEO-CFO at BF&M, and that CFO/others and ICBL personnel. I mean, even after discovery, it did not have to be disclosed. Who actually found it? It was two relatively small amounts…somebody could have created paperwork after the fact. Yet, somebody also decided that wasn’t going to happen.
    Imagine somebody at BF&M was upset they didn’t get the ICBL CEO job. Let’s face it, II wasn’t particularly well qualified, and an outsider at BF&M. The decision to disclose may have been to sink her. In the myopic Bajan view it was to get DI. But the intent may have been to get II fired, and it ends there. Maybe they were after AT. Sometimes when you don’t appreciate the ‘big picture’ a decision is made, which has ramifications one didn’t foresee.

26. @NO

Brilliant!

27. “There is a gang of people on Bu who will always chat rubbish and love to call out each others name for validation.
    The funniest take on this is they like to label themselves as radical thinkers when they do not have good brains.”

And sadly it is celebrated and supported.

28. so the PhD fowl don’t know it’s also included in that…..gosh…

anyhoo….i await those who want the majority population to hold accountable a wannabe dictator regime…..doing the RIGHT THING and use cyberspace influence to GET THEM OUT and away from the vulnerable population..

they are AND ALWAYS HAVE BEEN a clear and present danger to Afrikan descended people…..

29. @ NorthernObserver wrote ” which team ? ”

Team Barbados

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    We would be quite foolish if we don’t realise the accumulative effect of this nonsense. I think the only strategy they presently have is to create distractions and diversions , while hoping that something will happen to halt what is now exposed as rapidly declining socio economic conditions.
    I really don’t think banning calypsos is the answer right now.
    BTW, I suspect Donville will be released sooner rather than later, with good behavior, and will resume , what was quite a comfortable existence in Bim.
    I honestly think we are way past Donville now and we are just waiting to see what happens with Tasker.
    But in the bigger scheme of things we have to try and look out for those who are now desperately in an economic neck tie.
    Whether the world is watching or not , we have some very serious issues that require the type of leadership that is seriously lacking in Bim and the wider region.
    Quite frankly , I don’t think we can refocus; I don’t think we actually know how, at this point in time.

31. “There is a gang of people on Bu who will always chat rubbish and love to call out each others name for validation.

‘Xxxxxxxx

I DON’T HEAR YOU TALKING THIS SHIT WHEN YOUR FELLOW BLP YARDFOWL @LORENZO BE CALLING OUT YOUR NAME.

YOU WILL ALWAYS BE SCUM AND A HOUSE NIGGER. NO WONDER BLACK PEOPLE ON THE 2X3 STILL IN MENTAL SLAVERY BECAUSE OF DISHONEST SELLOUT POOCH LICKER LIKE YOU.

32. @William Skinner

THERE WAS NEVER GOING TO BE RECOVERY WHEN LANDING A SEAT MEANS BRIBE AND KICKBACKS ALONG WITH CORRUPT CIVIL SERVANTS HAPPY TO LINE THEIR POCKETS OF A CONTINUING CORRUPTION RACKET.

TELL ME IN WHICH YEAR OR DECADE ONE CAN BUILD AND GROW FROM SUCH A FOUNDATION TO TRULY BENEFIT THE WIDER POPULATION.

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Disrespect to a mature calypsonian and a well known …for DECADES…social commentator is DISRESPECT TO THE ENTIRE AFRIKAN POPULATION…

from an employee elected by the people…

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I really don’t think banning calypsos is the answer right now.”

it was a STUPID and JUVENILE MOVE and the only thing it will do is remind people of the 100 YEARS of HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES, THEFTS and other SERIOUS CRIMES against Afrikan descents on the island….

what am trying to do is engage blogmaster in taking up the baton to end these crime sprees against his people…he did not think that the population was engaged at a level to hold the corrupt accountable…but now he sees for himself FIRST HAND…..that they have no intentions of stopping the corruption or RESPECTING AFRIKAN RIGHTS…so on that backdrop, even he can see that something has to be done, and he is in the perfect position to do so with his website……others are doing their part…it’s his turn..

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

How the hell do you ban a song calling for REPARATIONS for Afrikan people…..5 acres of plantation land from EVERY PLANTATION for the descendants of the ENSLAVED WHO BUILT THE ISLAND…and were IMPRISONED on those criminal sugar plantations…..with the FOLLOW UP DISENFRANCHISEMENT of their descents….for over 100 YEARS…which has accumulated into EXTREME POVERTY and social reduction…

…..but you can take your funky ass at every opportunity to TERRORIZE and HARASS UK and Europe for reparations for you and ya corrupt friends to blow on yaselves…

36. Here we go……again.🤣🤣🤣🤣

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    It’s the perfect song …lol
    No mention of the people’s names who get called…. Politicians, SOE persons, even other Calypsonians. Just focus on your target and repeat many times daily.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I think their heads have swollen to the size of HELIUM BALLOONS like the Goodyear blimp……goddamn lot of vote begging FRAUDS and WANNABES…

39. NO
    Who banned the song and from where? If the song was banned by the “employee elected by the people”, how is it in the finals of the NCF Pic-O-De-Crop Competition?

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

man…that must have been the quickest reversal in HISTORY…

people are not as dumb as the “EMPLOYEES OF THE PEOPLE” THINK.

yall still gotta go though….cause that is not the only SHITE yall been cooking up lately against Afrikan people….stay there and think i don’t know….

and got the goddamn nerve to STILL think yall can TIEF reparations ya trying to scam in our murdered, raped and oppressed ancestor’s names.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    I have not a clue.
    Your friend the Salemite is the newsbreaker.
    Though I’m sure if it were banned @ac would have been all over it.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I have not seen AC today yet, she probably is busy and/or heard nothing…

https://youtu.be/XEmvyqLce-w?t=218

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@ac was on another thread at 2pm. Not much which is anti B or Anti MAM misses her attention 😸

44. Colin Spenser may have more supporters in some places if the identity of the individual who sent it to me a couple of weeks was ever made public.

I am not surprised that the song was banned, Bajan politicians are bullies and are thin-skinned bunch of cowards but banning a song from local radio will only mean that more people will seek it out from other avenues.

I watched a little bit of the junior competition and was astonished to see a video which among other things lavished praise on the PM in the lead up to one of the participant’s songs. Some years ago people in the newspaper business expressed fears about being harassed if they wrote anything critical of the Gov’t, it looks like those days are here again though we shouldn’t be surprised.

It was only a few weeks ago that I read the attached article in Barbados Today with the headline “Cowardice, money and fear affecting social commentary” seems it was right on the ball.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/07/02/cowardice-money-and-fear-affecting-social-commentary/

45. A song banned by the radio station is different to the NCF banning a song. Usually if there are contentious lyrics the NCF will ask the singer to rewrite the offending words. Colin Spencer is known for his punchy lyrics and must be use to it by now.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Well..if yall don’t nip this in the bud the SHITE POLITICIANS will SOON only want calypsonians including the young children singing praises to them and their CORRUPTION…

47. @David
    The radio stations must be afraid of their own shadow, ah wonder what they would do with a song like this Chalkdust Classic.

48. @Sargeant

Often times the program manager errs on the side of caution because they don’t make money and try to avoid litigation or even out of court settlements.

49. Also Sargeant note the Trinidad environment is a polar opposite to Barbados.