Some ‘insane’ Barbadians are asking the question again – is the standard of living we have become accustomed tosustainable. Is it sensible for us `a net importer and purchaser of foreign currency to promote and implement policies that guarantee we must BORROW billions in foreign and local dollars to fund the short fall not covered from taxes collected in the case of domestic and foreign earnings?

Many years ago, ironically at the tail end of the last economic boom which Barbados never recovered, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about dark clouds on the horizon and the urgent need to make adjustments. To be expected we continued to engage in immature partisan political ranting as the walls of our society cracked are now tumbling around us.

We are a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange to pay for our conspicuous consumption habits. We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7. To any sensible and educated person the dinosauric economic model could not and does not sustain the level of expenditure we have to incur. There is a good reason why Barbados’ economy has been described as open and susceptible to what economists fondly refer to as exogenous shocks.

On top of the obvious challenge of managing a minuscule 6-8 billion dollar economy largely dependent on a fickle tourism product, there is sufficient evidence – see Auditor General Reports outlining a litany of public sector malfeasance (private sector is always complicit) AND corruption to conclude we make a challenging situation more difficult. With revelations coming out of the arrest of former government minister Donville Inniss et al, there is evidence a culture exist that feeds corrupt behaviour. Although not a unique circumstance to Barbados, Barbadians must hold ourselves accountable for the kind of country we want to build for our children.

Many in this space lived through the 2007/8 global crisis and the oil crisis of the 70s. It is evident from the experiences of the two episodes we have not learned enough to commit to implementing resilient ‘fit for purpose’ policies. WE have allowed ourselves to buy into the ‘good life’ of consumption fuelled by an economy built on beach ground. Even in the face of the obvious, we have to listen daily to bull pucky discussions designed to take us no where. Unfortunately with the multiplicity of agendas to satisfy, with social media a ready purveyor of the inane the blame culture has taken deep root.

It is 2022, according to establishment analysts were are on the precipice of another global recession, one that should it occur given our fragile open economy will again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians, decimating a debt ridden middleclass and moving the poverty line north. Our visionless leaders combined with a level of disengagement from Barbadians – who the blogmaster has always contended ceded entitlements under our democracy to the political class – will have to suffer again for it until we learn to do better. The reference to a people getting governments they deserve has been recorded countless times in this space.

To the immediate matter at hand summarised in the article shared by a BU family member:

Rising food prices are changing the way we eat and shop

Emily Peck

https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/U5xvN/1/Data: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Chart: Thomas Oide/Axios Visuals

Skyrocketing food prices in the U.S. are changing the way Americans eat and grocery shop — they’re buying more store brands, and less costly meat and produce. Some are now just making do with less.

• Meanwhile, food manufacturers continue to “shrinkflate” — putting less potato chips or cereal in the bags and boxes that we buy.

Why it matters: This is inflation hitting home, contributing to the overall bummed-out mood of the nation.

• Once upon a time, grocery shopping mainly fell to women, but these days 92% of adults do it. That means most everyone’s noticed rising food prices — and many have adjusted in ways both minor and potentially devastating.

Driving the news: The cost of “food at home” is up 11.9% from last year, the largest increase since April 1979, according to the scorching hot inflation numbers released Friday. Nearly every category of food the government tracks saw accelerating price growth. The most inflationary categories, as highlighted in a note from JPMorgan on Friday:

• Egg prices up 32% year over year, thanks in part to a January bird flu outbreak that killed about 6% of commercial egg-laying chickens, as Axios’ Hope King explained last month.
  • Fats and oils were next on the list at 16.9%, partly due to the war in Ukraine, followed by poultry (16.6%) and milk (15.9%).

Unusual trend: The increases in prices for food at home are outpacing food-away-from-home, which is up *only* 7.4%.

• This is “historically unusual,”JP Morgan notes. The growth differential is the widest since 1974, they said.

State of play: For a good snapshot of how rising food prices are changing behavior, we checked the most recent Beige Book — where the 12 regional Federal Reserve banks report on economic conditions in their area (h/t Planet Money’s Indicator podcast on this one):

Read full article https://www.axios.com/2022/06/13/rising-food-prices-are-changing-the-way-we-eat-and-shop

451 responses to “Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….let’s watch it as it unfolds and see what they do am ready to record everything….

lazy is sitting on ya asses and sucking in every LIE COMING FROM THE PARLIAMENT…

lazy is sitting on ya asses and DEPENDING on tourism……ONE INDUSTRY…

lazy, WICKED, GREEDY and CORRUPT is having a marijuana industry ONLY FOR MINORITIES…..and STILL can’t get it off the ground…..now we get to ENJOY THE FALLOUT..

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ Donna @ David
    When did demanding that those who manage our affairs at least present a progressive , national economic plan become “ ceding power” to or allowing politicians to think for us.
    Why do we then change governments? There is nothing so far suggested here that those citizens who are struggling and at the bottom don’t try to help themselves. They do so everyday but advocating that those who govern must do more for them is not promoting mendicancy.
    So, when we were all waiting for buses and the garbage was not being taken up, we should have been buying motor scooters and taking our own garbage to be disposed off?
    In other words we should have not expected “ sweet talking lawyers” to solve those problems . Quite frankly, we are so suddenly apolitical that we should not demand or complain or expect anything from those that we have given the mandate to govern.
    It is nothing more than an embarrassing political cop out and it is a far cry from what has obtained on this blog for several years.
    I am saying that individual responsibility is expected but nobody is going to fool me that I must suddenly enjoy a cold glass of cane juice, cock my feet up in the air and pretend that others who through no fault of their own , are catching their arse , deserve their lot because they would not or cannot put two peas in the earth, to enjoy some crop a few weeks after.
    The day that a country becomes nothing more than a selfish select group of individuals , is the day that it loses its humanity and we will all end up in Maxwell pond.
    Call me a dreamer but things being good with me have never once blinded me to the suffering of others.
    The simple truth is that our country is fastly becoming rudderless and like it or not unless we care more about those who can least look after themselves , we will all feel it in som form or fashion.
    And believe it or not if Cheffette shuts down tomorrow hundreds will be on the breadline and that will affect thousands.
    The reason the fast foods outlets have become so prominent is again the result of misguided economic planning that made it cheaper to eat at them than to have chickens growing in our backyards. Even the farmers are complaining about the price of feed.
    Romanticism is a dangerous drug and that’s the point I am making. And we can be political or pretend to be apolitical , at the end of the day, decisions made at the political level determines the national direction of the country.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And before they COME OUT LYING….they can get help with the marijuana….THEY KNOW WHO FROM…but they are so TRAITOROUS…..no one trusts them…they would rather tief WHAT SOMEONE AFRIKAN CREATED for TIEFING MINORITIES rather than allow the country to progress..

btw…when ya have that type of creation..ya can take it ANYWHERE…ya don’t need any slothful government.

4. Dreads don’t need a stupid license to grow a holy herb that God gave for the use of man that’s silly and I’ve got proof

Genesis 1:29 Then God said, I have given you every seed-bearing plant that grows throughout the earth, along with every tree that grows seed-bearing fruit. They will produce your food.

John Holt – Police in Helicopter

Yes boss, yes boss, yes boss, yes boss…

Police in helicopter, a search fi marijuana
    Police man in the streets, searching fi collie weed
    Soldiers in the field, burnin the collie weed
    But if you continue to burn up the
    Herbs, we gonna burn down the cane fields
    If you continue to burn up the
    Soldier in the herb field, burnin the collie weed
    Oh

Police men in the fields, burnin the collie weed

We don’t trouble your banana, we don’t trouble your corn
    We don’t trouble your pimento, we don’t trouble you at all

So if you continue to burn up the
    Woy

Police man in the fields, woy yoooow, burnin the collie weed
    Oy

5. Check your facts and revert back spreading less misinformation laced with ignorance. Revisionist History must cease forthwith.

Pass the Bhang
    The Mighty Diamonds – Pass The Kutchie

Pass the kutchie pon the lef’ hand side
    It a go bun, it a go dung, Jah know

It was a cool and lovely breezy afternoon
    (How does it feel when you’ve got no herb?)
    You could feel it ’cause it was the month of June
    (If you got no herb you will walk an’ talk)
    So I lef’ my gate and went out for a walk
    As I pass the dreadlocks’ camp I hear them say
    (How do dey sing when you heard dem sing?)

So I stopped to find out what was going on.
    (How do you find when you make your stuff?)
    For the spirit of Jah, you know he leads me on
    (Them all have a leaf at the dreadlocks’ camp)
    There was a ring of dreads and a session was there in swing
    I could feel the chill as I see and heard them say

It was a cool and lovely breezy afternoon
    (How does it feel when you’ve got no herb?)
    You could feel it ’cause it was the month of June
    (If you got no herb you will walk an’ talk)
    So I lef’ my gate and went out for a walk
    As I pass the dreadlocks’ camp I hear them say

It a go bun, it a go dung, Jah know…

The Origins of Ganja
    Indian People Brought Marijuana to Jamaica And Named It Ganja
    They brought cannabis seeds with them, and once they shared the resulting crops with the locals, it became an important part of the island’s culture as well.

Cannabis was introduced to Jamaica in the 1850s–1860s by indentured servants imported from India during British rule of both nations; many of the terms used in cannabis culture in Jamaica are based on Indian terms, including the term ganja.

6. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    What’s the use ? All indications are that the tourism cannot save the country economically. It’s a lie. It is known that even in the period when we were filling up the hotels, the tourist spend was decreasing and this was even before COVID. Dr. Clyde Mascoll made this point over and over in his columns. It is believed that for every dollar we make from tourism about sixty plus cents are lost to keeping the industry going. Even before COVID, Barbadian hoteliers were complaining that commissions paid by them to overseas agents and Vice versa were destroying their profit margins. The money that used to flow into the community started to dry up because properties became all inclusive. So this whole tourism rebound is a lie; a facade to convince us that it will be our great savior. It will not and it cannot..
    I read just the other day that our tourism
    has some “ natural competitive advantage”. I hope that can be explained further. I would seriously like to know what that advantage is.
    There is only one country in the region, whose tourism, according to some reports, is returning or has returned to 2019 levels. And it’s not Barbados. The last report I read is that tourism is down in the region still by ten to fifteen per cent or more.
    But what’s the use. Although a highly paid consultant went on Brasstacks and informed us that the country has been set back by 20/25 years, there are some who come here talking nonsense about an economic recovery.
    But, what’s the use ………….

7. William when we talk about ceding power it has more to do with what is detailed in the top blog.

#civics

8. In other words it is the only weapon the citizenry has to ensure the executive is aligned to what we want. If they listen national policies/strategies should be aligned.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“All indications are that the tourism cannot save the country economically. It’s a lie. ”

tourism NEVER SAVED BARBADOS…..it only pays many but not MOST bills…..the propping up of the country comes from a steady stream of REMITTANCES from those in the diaspora from as far back as the 1960s….

these LIARS were living a pipe dream and passing the LIES down to the mentally LAZY who do not want to think for themselves but prefer the MEDIOCRE mindset to think for them….USELESS FOLLOWERS…

and if they would stop SCAMMING and robbing state coffers …we would not be here typing about them….

10. William Skinner Avatar

Like I said , it is obvious that all of your comments are couched in language to protect the establishment. It really means that you have made the political class untouchable.
    It’s obvious that outside of sound bites and cliches, this current administration really has no vision on how to proceed in a dynamic way. It’s very heavy on promises but extremely light on delivery.
    And that’s the problem we simply don’t want to face.
    We have therefore apparently opted to decry the citizens. It’s a cop out.
    It’s you who used to say that we should not let a crisis go to waste, or something like that.
    It’s clear that your hopes of a new and vibrant vision post COVID has been dashed and you have now elected to blame the people rather than those who have failed to lead.
    Others are now apparently apolitical but the archives of BU are there. The shift is so obvious that it attempts to make a mockery of common sense.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Willam…remember how many years THEY BEEN TELLING US OFF…ridiculing us and our suggestions…calling us liars…..wuh LOOK AT THEM…that’s all we can say now…they are ON STAGE and can take a bow…

12. William whether you agree or not there is a nexus between the level of citizen engagement and the type of government we get. You may have the last word. Tired of you people who love to attack labels to people you know nothing about.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Like I said , it is obvious that all of your comments are couched in language to protect the establishment. It really means that you have made the political class untouchable.”

evidence suggests that’s the whole intent….a DISSERVICE to Afrikan people that could never have held up for another 16 years…FORTUNATELY …a Fowl Blog has no power and no influence or reach to STOP ANY REAL PAN AFRIKAN MOVEMENTS….but it was not for lack of trying though…it’s just they are way over their head…and don’t have what it takes..

…they were more successful with the FAKE pan africanists, they got away with that one for decades,,,the frauds…

14. WS

What Else did the Consultiant say about the Barbados economy ( after the set back of 20 yrs ) ?

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/05/21/bouncing-back/

15. Fowl or Foul

speaking of foul fowl blogs check out KUSH magazine published AHW (African History Week) based in Norway.

http://www.genuinefake.net/KUSH-Magazine

16. Singers and Players of Instruments Bible Shit

Those who sing as well as those who dance say, “All my springs are in you.” A Song. A Psalm by the sons of Korah. For the Chief Musician. To the tune of “The Suffering of Affliction.” A contemplation by Heman, the Ezrahite.

Rewind Selector
    Kouchie Vibes (12″ Version)
    Pass The Kouchie (12″ Version) · The Mighty Diamonds Make ‘Em Move/Taxi Style – An Introduction to Sly & Robbie (on Drum and Bass)

17. There is reality, but then again we have factions who perceive things differently.

Do you know they are some who believe that Barbados is a major player in the tourism industry. They have taken the importance of tourism to Barbados and confused it with the importance of Barbados to tourism. Yet the truth is… this is one item where in terms of number of visitors (provide old statistics), Barbados may be punching well above its weight … “That smaller countries regularly perform lower in a comparison of the absolute number of guests, is obvious. By putting the tourist numbers in relation to the population of Barbados, the result is much more comparable picture: With 3.4 tourists per resident, Barbados ranked 19th in the world. In Caribbean, it ranked 11th.”

We may but much higher than 11th in the Caribbean, but Caribbean powerhouses such as the DR, Cuba, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico have to be ahead of us.

But the truth is… Tourism is a fickle industry. Let us leave out the impact of disease and bad news on tourism. I just want to highlight the inequalities it causes in our injustice system.

We are already aware that our dependence on tourism is so heavy that we treat crimes of the locals against tourists more harshly than locals or tourists against locals. Here the justice system has seen it fit to act as a PR instrument and to send a warning that not feather on the tourism goose can be plucked.

And yet I am reminded of the difference in penalties when a tourist plucked the butt cheek of a local … “When 44-year-old James Patrick O’Rouke, of Willehall, West Midlands, England reappeared before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant today he was reprimanded and discharged. He pleaded guilty yesterday to unlawfully assaulting Charmaine Alleyne and resisting police constable Shaquille McClean in the execution of his duty on May 19”- BT 05/22/2019

Here is similar case (local vs local) and here is the outcome
    BT12/28/2019
    “However, Frederick reminded the man that he has been charged in the past for assault and did not have a luxury of making those kinds of jokes.

“You had no right doing that sort of thing; you have a history. Carry out your own girl next time. She clearly doesn’t want you, otherwise you wouldn’t be here today,” the magistrate said.

Maynard was placed on bond to keep the peace for nine months, breach of which would land him in prison for three months.”

Thank God he had the sense not to touch a tourist. For a few of you, don’t get distracted and begin to query about the past of the Englishman. I doubt this was his first time or the first piece of fish that he was willing to buy.

18. Some haffi learn
    Some haffi earn

Pass the Knowledge

Declaration of Rights

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2
    I said what I wanted to say. You can say what you want to say.

Peace

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

555…Kush is a movement. You are likely to see it across continents…

“And yet I am reminded of the difference in penalties when a tourist plucked the butt cheek of a local … “When 44-year-old James Patrick O’Rouke, of Willehall, West Midlands, England reappeared before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant today he was reprimanded and discharged. He pleaded guilty yesterday to unlawfully assaulting Charmaine Alleyne and resisting police constable Shaquille McClean in the execution of his duty on May 19”- BT 05/22/2019”

that’s all they are good for….PROMOTING, ENFORCING and ENABLING crimes against the majority population under the guise of hoing tourism….that prevert predator tourist caused a lot of trouble…

21. WS

Iwhen u can readily accept the consultant ( bad news )20 yrs set back you should just as well accept his ( good new ) about the economic revound and where it stand right now

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Check out my magazine’s 3rd issue. Kush World. The Rittenhouse Awardee organized by that group…

ya need to get out some more.

23. You know this already. Treat it as a cheat sheet .https://soapboxie.com/economy/Advantages-and-disadvantages-of-tourism

24. Two words that I never hear mentioned are “sex tourists”.

These tourists are an acknowledged part and parcel of tourism in Asia, but they are rarely mentioned in the Caribbean. It is only if you got your hands on a serious research paper that you learn sex tourism is a part of the fabric of Caribbean tourism.

This is the reason I dislike Caribbean tourism… the good is always mentioned; the nastier and seedier side is hidden. We are unable to separate pimps and parasites from businessmen ; perverts from tourists; we let tourists shove notes down the breasts of our mothers and daughters and slap their butts. God, help our children because we refuse to do so .

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Disadvantages outweigh advantages and always have….PROSTITUTION…

“The Disadvantages of Tourism
    Environmental. Tourism can often cause environmental damage with risks like erosion, pollution, loss of natural habitats, and forest fires. Even if tourists behave responsibly, the sheer number of them can cause damage. Ancient buildings, monuments, and temples often struggle to cope with increased traffic and suffer inevitable wear-and-tear. Reefs and other natural tourist attractions can suffer permanent damage.

Cultural. The commercialization of culture can undermine the soul of a tourist destination. Local traditions that have a rich cultural heritage are reduced to wearing costumes and putting on acts for the tourists in return for money.

Culture Clashes. Tourists often lack respect for local traditions and culture, refuse to follow local dress standards, get drunk in public, or behave rudely or inappropriately towards locals.
    Service Economy. Although jobs are created by tourism, most are relatively low-level such as bar work, hotel service, restaurant serving, and so forth. These low-wage, low-skill workers have little prospect for advancement or promotion.

Seasonal Fluctuations. Tourism jobs are quite commonly seasonal and insecure, with no extra benefits such as pensions, sick pay, or healthcare. Some areas can be inundated with visitors during busy times, and then virtually deserted for many months.

Imbalanced Funding. Money can end up being directed to tourist areas when it could be used more effectively elsewhere in a country. The locals who don’t live in specific tourist areas miss out and suffer relative decline.

Foreign Poaching. Oftentimes, most of the tourism industry in a developing country is owned by big foreign companies. They make the major profits, leaving local businesses with relatively little benefit.

Tourism Dependence. Sometimes tourism becomes so focal that other forms of income-generation are neglected and an economic dependence on tourism forms. This is fine in good times, but it can leave the country vulnerable to economic ruin in the long run and can contribute to political upheaval or natural disasters.”

26. “Kush is a movement”

That’s like saying Ganja is a movement and Indica is a Culture

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“This is the reason I dislike Caribbean tourism… the good is always mentioned; the nastier and seedier side is hidden. We are unable to separate pimps and parasites from businessmen ; perverts from tourists; we let tourists shove notes down the breasts of our mothers and daughters and slap their butts.”

pedophile tourists and the pimps who cover for them are the lowest of scum…they are free to roam and pick up little boys and girls…they infest/pollute the beaches and everywhere…but the pretenders are always quick to hide these crimes in the name of tourism…

28. The issue is not tourism, it is our over reliance on the sector. Instead of attacking the sector we have to explore how to grow other sectors to diversify the economy. As Renee Toppin head of the BHTA recently opined, it fits the region well.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

““Kush is a movement”

That’s like saying Ganja is a movement and Indica is a Culture”

yep cause ya always get the plagiarists and saboteurs so ya gotta separate what’s real from what’s not…every movement has fakes and frauds…

but that’s neither hear nor there….old news…

30. William Skinner,

It appears you are having trouble understanding.

Our politicians can and should be cussed for their lack of foresight. Both B and D should be raked over the coals.

And I have done plenty of that. And THAT is what the archives will show.

But I have also long held the belief that those of us who should know better, have embraced lavish lifestyles that are beyond our ability to sustain.

That should and has been obvious since “champagne taste on mauby pockets” was introduced into our vernacular decades ago.

But on we went regardless, tvs and bellies getting bigger and bigger as we sat eating Chefette greasy chicken and chips, even now on Sundays.

Can we blame politicians for that? So what if there is a Chefette in every nook and cranny and the PM cuts the ribbon at every opening?!

Does that then mean that we should have no minds of our own and no will power?

In most relationships, some blame for breakdown can be attributed to both parties. This is so because we ALL have our flaws. If we do not accept our part in the breakdown, there is no fixing it.

Likewise, if we the people do not examine our behaviour and accept our part in the mess in which our country finds its self, there will be no fixing it.

You can label that whatever you wish You can attribute to me whatever motives you wish. I do not give a rat’s botsy.

Donna knows who she is. Donna has no love for any political party or any politician.

If it were up to Donna, this society would be fair and just. I cannot be completely happy while it is not. Indeed, I have had to contrive ways to tune out for sanity’s sake.

Because I simply do not understand what the hell is wrong with human beings, at all, at all, at all!

So by all means cuss Mia to your heart’s content. I will join in when I see fit.

But if you think I will ignore what else ails us because it suits your narrative, then NO SIREE BOB!

31. I don’t know where IT IS WRITTEN that all BU must be about is cussing politicians, OR ELSE!

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“it fits the region well”…..to keep it IMPOVERISHED….

when they acquire the SKILLS to diversify and competently MANAGE more than one industry at the SAME TIME….they may climb out of the borrowing HOLE they are in….but only if they ELIMINATE THE TIEFING…CORRUPTION and minority CRIMEUNITY…

over a hundred years of tourism and the island is still DEPENDENT…..and the region is among the POOREST…

33. I have never been a fan of tourism either for all the reasons on that list but more concerning is our OVER-RELIANCE.on tourism.

People love to see the world and so every country will have tourism. It is when we are DESPERATE for the tourist dollar that the evils manifest themselves more fully and we jump through hoops and lose our souls and our environment.

34. William whether you agree or not there is a nexus between the level of citizen engagement and the type of government we get. You may have the last word. Tired of you people who love to attack labels to people you know nothing about.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SOME PEOPLE ON THE 2X3 ISLAND HAVE THEIR OWN WARPED SENSE OF REALITY.

THIS COMING FROM AN INDIVIDUAL WHO LIKES TO LABEL OOTHERS AS BEING PART OF THE THROW A SHADE CREW.

HYPROCRISY KNOWS NO BOUNDS.

35. Donna June 20, 2022 1:40 PM #: “I don’t know where IT IS WRITTEN that all BU must be about is cussing politicians, OR ELSE!”

I’m ‘fighting your wars,’ but, ‘well said.’

I ‘said’ previously that it seems as though some people established their own rules and guidelines they believe must be adhered to when discussing issues.
    That we must criticise politicians according to these ‘guidelines,’ if not you’re accused of being ‘apologists,’ supporting the ‘duopoly’ or pretending to be apolitical.
    Yet, they remind us, only when it’s convenient to their particular purpose, that persons should be allowed to contribute however they choose to.

I believe one cannot continue fighting in 2022, using old worn out tactics from the 1970s

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So…have they started back alledgedly TIEFING th children’s maintenance money again when it’s paid into the court? AS THEY HAVE BEEN ACCUSED FOR YEARS…

“A mother is questioning why it is taking so long to receive child maintenance payments.

The woman, who asked not to be identified, said her daughter’s father had deposited money at the St Matthias Magistrates’ Court office in Christ Church since the first week of April, but she has yet to get a call to collect the funds.”

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Critiquing leadership is not promoting the “cussing” of politicians.
    I was very clear in telling @ David that my thinking on this issue was not about Mottley or any politician.
    I don’t set up any rules of engagement on BU because that is egotistical nonsense.
    @ Donna and I are never at war. We may think and analyze positions differently.
    Ask her if I have once treated her on this blog as an enemy or disrespected her in any form or fashion
    Quite frankly, she is one of the very few who understands my positions on matters that are dear to me.
    I don’t need to be right all the time. @ Donna is more than capable of expressing and representing herself.
    She has never declared war on me and I have never declared war on her..

38. if not you’re accused of being ‘apologists,’ supporting the ‘duopoly’ or pretending to be apolitical.

problem is internet allows stupid stubborn bummy crummy people to mindlessly argue over half a sentence all petty minded and push the same bloody minded points over and over until the cows come home, trolls never admit they’re wrong they just double down on their dumbness sickness and make an ignorant comeback comment, or pretend that we didn’t see them when they jumped over the wall and accidentally fall and broke their tail bone and bruised their bum

plagiarisers call others plagiarisers or talk about race

39. “A” great ball.
    I love it. I just love it. I wanted to let it pass, but the beauty, simplicity and cleverness caught my attention.

40. Child Support / Ice Cube

Bucka
    I’ll beat your badass

Ain’t no other kings in this rap thing
    They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren
    One shot they disappearin’
    Ain’t no kings in this rap thing
    They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren

Bitch niggas
    Still wanna check my urine
    Still can’t believe
    What you see and what you’re hearin’
    You motha fuckas
    Thought you knew the whole story
    Until your mama
    Took a nigga on *Mori**??

Read your test results
    Are you the father
    I looked at his bitch ass told him don’t bother
    I’m the father of this gangsta shit
    Never thought that I have a bunch of bastard kids
    Lil’ badass kids
    I whoop they ass every night
    Send the paramedics bitch
    And the black and white
    I brought you in this world
    I’ll take you out
    Do you ugly
    So mamma can’t make you out
    You know my style a colt
    File a report
    I’m a deadbeat daddy
    No child support
    *you get fooled**? like the last trick
    Get it out your ass bitch
    You niggas know my pyroclastic flow
    C’mon

They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren
    They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren

You want child support
    X4

Ya’ll niggas know
    Ya’ll bitches know
    Where you get it from
    Who’s the original
    You got your daddy’s mouth
    Talk like a criminal
    Keep it gangsta son
    Never get pigeon holed
    Rap bastards tryin’ to make a classic
    Keep your dumbass out of the casket
    ’cause in the *scope**? and spend your money
    They don’t give a fuck
    About a dead rapper
    Nigga they’ll chop it up
    Keep it movin’ ya’ll
    They’ll come mop it up
    Corrupt LAPD cover up
    Everyday nigga we know drama
    They ain’t lookin’ for Osama
    Ask Big E’s mamma
    Thank God that the gangsta’s back
    We ain’t got to put up with this brainless rap
    May your lungs collapse in seas of funny
    All you can rap about is pussy and money
    C’mon

They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren
    They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren

You want child support
    X4

All ya’ll rappers should kiss and make up
    Take your bullshit jewlry back to Jacob
    Get your mind right nigga
    And start to wake up
    ’cause the whole rap industry needs to shake up
    You got million dollar niggas killin’ million dollar niggas
    Bustin’ outta Bentleys
    Wearin’ chinchillas
    There you go again rollin in your limo
    Comin’ from the Grammy’s shootin’ out the window
    I know the scripture
    But there’s something wrong with this picture
    What you mad about
    Diamonds all in your mouth
    No car note nigga house paid off
    I never heard of a rapper gettin’ laid off
    Boy you a fool
    Or you just act crazy
    Or you a grown crack baby born in the 80’s
    To all you motha fuckas say I went Hollywood
    I’m gangsta
    I know when I got it good

They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren
    They siblings
    Nothin’ but my chil’ren

You want child support
    X4

Young rappers lookin’ for pocket change
    With boo boo lyrics
    Go get your diaper changed
    X2

Smell like shit
    Hey baby change this motha fucker
    You smell like shit

41. William Skinner Avatar

“So by all means cuss Mia to your heart’s content. I will join in when I see fit.”
    Where did I cuss Mia ? My heart delights in cussing no one. In this thread, on at least two occasions, I made it clear that her efforts with forging links with Guyana should be supported.
    It was @ David who introduced Mia into this discussion and I made it clear to him that’s not my focus.
    What about those who go to Oistins eating big meals that include macaroni pie and all kinds of fried chicken and other meats late at night ?
    Before Cheffette, we used to converge on Baxter’s road and murder fried chicken and pork chops with gallons of alcohol.
    I understand fully what you’re saying but we in the Caribbean have a penchant for highly salted meats and so on. We consume thousands of pounds of pudding and souse and gallons upon gallons of alcohol.
    Years ago Dr. Henry Fraser, warned that we should eat healthier. He also promoted gardening as a healthy activity.
    We are in an uphill battle and I maintain that our political leadership has a responsibility to put such matters on the front burner.
    Now I don’t see how that could possibly be construed to “ cussing” Mottley or any politician.
    Peace

42. William Skinner June 20, 2022 3:44 PM

Kindly indicate WHERE in my contribution I SUGGESTED or IMPLIED you and Donna are “at war,”……that you and her ‘declared war’ on each other….. that you’ve “treated her on this blog as an enemy or disrespected her in any form or fashion,”…..or that she is not “more than capable of expressing and representing herself?”

‘Saying’ that I am not ‘fighting Donna’s war’ is a typical everyday expression, which basically means, she is “more than capable of” ‘fighting her own battles, argue with someone, or compete in a difficult situation, WITHOUT HELP from other people.’
    In other words, my intervention in the discussion was not intended to assist her, but to express I hold a view similar to hers.

Whenever Enuff engages the ‘Salamite,’ you usually come to the forum to express your opinions, which, more often than not, are supportive of her views…… and dismissive of Enuff’s.

I’ve noticed, it isn’t WHAT is ‘said’ on BU, but WHO ‘says’ it.

Additionally, it was Donna who ‘said’ she doesn’t “know where IT IS WRITTEN that all BU must be about is cussing politicians, OR ELSE!”…… NOT ME.
    I simply AGREED with her comment.

I’ve realised that you selectively respond to certain phrases of someone’s comments, without considering the context in which it was made and contribution in its entirety.

Wa alaikum as salaam.

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    You introduced the word war and I wanted to make it clear that there is no war.
    Quite frankly, @ Enuff, in my estimation is intellectually dishonest and I don’t jump to defend @ WARU, I often suggest she ignores him.
    I think this is the first time I have used the word apolitical on BU. Yet, you concluded it’s a regular occurrence. If it is, not from me.
    Take it easy, I am not that popular on BU. Don’t ever forget that @ David was asked to remove me more than once.
    I’ve been called everything from RH to a liar.
    Peace, my Brother.

44. Too many gutter snipers up in here

45. @ Mr. Skinner

RE: “You introduced the word war and I wanted to make it clear that there is no war.”

I’ll alow that ball to ‘go outside the off stump,’ as I’ve already explained myself and that the word was used in an ‘old saying.’

RE: “I’ve been called everything from RH to a liar.”

And, I’ve been called from an appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon that learnt by rote, fool, slimy pig, cyberbully and cyberstalker who is in need of psychiatric help, liar, coward, pretender, uneducated, undereducated, BLP foot soldier, jackass’…… to a ‘block limer’…..

I’ve also been accused of attempting to sabotage a book and websites, attacking women, not knowing the difference between the economy and stock market, or an ordinary audit and a forensic audit, going to Caribbean Islands and getting drunk.

All pales in comparison to what you’ve been called.

So what????

Similarly to you…… I’m still here.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Time wasters…no wonder they miss the most important things that are happening and would give them a heads-up about what’s really going on so they can stay ahead and on top…but dah is dem bidness, i got my own to mind…

were i them i would be right now preparing and saving my energy for later…

Pacha….. “severe fall in asset prices” – EU Central Bank

everything is falling apart, but people got time and energy to pick, pick..

Lost in Cyberspace probably got Covid…

47. William,

Indeed, it would be folly to be at war with someone who has the same goals for our people. As such, I will always “cuss” you within respectable boundaries.

“Cussing Mia” is a figure of speech.

Artax,

You are well-reasoned. As usual.

48. And now it’s out to the Garden of Peace! Plenty healthy looking tomato seedlings to transplant before they experience “growthus interruptus”.

What’s the price of tomatoes?

Who cares? Not Donna.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…it’s coming to a head as predicted…who do they love to DEPEND ON for tourists again….Europe and who else? bonne chance aux personnes a charge……they like and live to depend…tek dat..

“Severe” Risk of FInancial Instability in Europe – EU Central Bank

these don’t have a clue about a quarter of what’s going on in the real world but they got time for petty strife…

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…from what am seeing….it’s HARD BALL COMING UP…buckle up.