Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

Some ‘insane’ Barbadians are asking the question again – is the standard of living we have become accustomed tosustainable. Is it sensible for us `a net importer and purchaser of foreign currency to promote and implement policies that guarantee we must BORROW billions in foreign and local dollars to fund the short fall not covered from taxes collected in the case of domestic and foreign earnings?

Many years ago, ironically at the tail end of the last economic boom which Barbados never recovered, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about dark clouds on the horizon and the urgent need to make adjustments. To be expected we continued to engage in immature partisan political ranting as the walls of our society cracked are now tumbling around us.

We are a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange to pay for our conspicuous consumption habits. We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7. To any sensible and educated person the dinosauric economic model could not and does not sustain the level of expenditure we have to incur. There is a good reason why Barbados’ economy has been described as open and susceptible to what economists fondly refer to as exogenous shocks.

On top of the obvious challenge of managing a minuscule 6-8 billion dollar economy largely dependent on a fickle tourism product, there is sufficient evidence – see Auditor General Reports outlining a litany of public sector malfeasance (private sector is always complicit) AND corruption to conclude we make a challenging situation more difficult. With revelations coming out of the arrest of former government minister Donville Inniss et al, there is evidence a culture exist that feeds corrupt behaviour. Although not a unique circumstance to Barbados, Barbadians must hold ourselves accountable for the kind of country we want to build for our children.

Many in this space lived through the 2007/8 global crisis and the oil crisis of the 70s. It is evident from the experiences of the two episodes we have not learned enough to commit to implementing resilient ‘fit for purpose’ policies. WE have allowed ourselves to buy into the ‘good life’ of consumption fuelled by an economy built on beach ground. Even in the face of the obvious, we have to listen daily to bull pucky discussions designed to take us no where. Unfortunately with the multiplicity of agendas to satisfy, with social media a ready purveyor of the inane the blame culture has taken deep root.

It is 2022, according to establishment analysts were are on the precipice of another global recession, one that should it occur given our fragile open economy will again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians, decimating a debt ridden middleclass and moving the poverty line north. Our visionless leaders combined with a level of disengagement from Barbadians – who the blogmaster has always contended ceded entitlements under our democracy to the political class – will have to suffer again for it until we learn to do better. The reference to a people getting governments they deserve has been recorded countless times in this space.

To the immediate matter at hand summarised in the article shared by a BU family member:

Rising food prices are changing the way we eat and shop

Emily Peck

https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/U5xvN/1/Data: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Chart: Thomas Oide/Axios Visuals

Skyrocketing food prices in the U.S. are changing the way Americans eat and grocery shop — they’re buying more store brands, and less costly meat and produce. Some are now just making do with less.

• Meanwhile, food manufacturers continue to “shrinkflate” — putting less potato chips or cereal in the bags and boxes that we buy.

Why it matters: This is inflation hitting home, contributing to the overall bummed-out mood of the nation.

• Once upon a time, grocery shopping mainly fell to women, but these days 92% of adults do it. That means most everyone’s noticed rising food prices — and many have adjusted in ways both minor and potentially devastating.

Driving the news: The cost of “food at home” is up 11.9% from last year, the largest increase since April 1979, according to the scorching hot inflation numbers released Friday. Nearly every category of food the government tracks saw accelerating price growth. The most inflationary categories, as highlighted in a note from JPMorgan on Friday:

• Egg prices up 32% year over year, thanks in part to a January bird flu outbreak that killed about 6% of commercial egg-laying chickens, as Axios’ Hope King explained last month.
  • Fats and oils were next on the list at 16.9%, partly due to the war in Ukraine, followed by poultry (16.6%) and milk (15.9%).

Unusual trend: The increases in prices for food at home are outpacing food-away-from-home, which is up *only* 7.4%.

• This is “historically unusual,”JP Morgan notes. The growth differential is the widest since 1974, they said.

State of play: For a good snapshot of how rising food prices are changing behavior, we checked the most recent Beige Book — where the 12 regional Federal Reserve banks report on economic conditions in their area (h/t Planet Money’s Indicator podcast on this one):

Read full article https://www.axios.com/2022/06/13/rising-food-prices-are-changing-the-way-we-eat-and-shop

451 responses to “Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn”

1. @ David

What has made this situation worst globally though is the fact that this inflation/recession period is now coming on the heels of 2 years of a badly damaged economy thanks to Covid. This has place us in the weakest possible financial position to deal with hyper inflation and a global recession that we could hope for. We are financially weak and exposed in other words.

I relly hope Bajans stop and try to understand what we are facing and at a time when we can least face it. Picture a person having run a 10k being told ” ok that’s half the race turn around and run back to the start now.” That basically is what the Bajan economy is having to now do.

2. This suggestion that to remain unborn plays into the hands of the eugenacists.

Coming at a time when we already know that our population misses critical mass by 70,000 souls.

Do we not have the ability to think broadly about the contours of the environments surrounding us?

The world and indeed Barbados have gone through more difficult times than these.

If the cost of living is forcing us to change out diets that could be a good thing.

It should help us to drastically reduce the cot of upkeep of the QEH in the medium and long terms if appropriate ways of eating are embraced. If one meal daily becomes a national ethos.

We should boldly accept our new circumstances and not be afraid of the radical transformations coming as we resist the backward inclination to return to these here bad old days.

Maybe the blog of master could have adumbrated the alternative circumstances where Barbados with its ultra conservative cultural predilection would have otherwise found the energy to consider a radical social transformation.

We remain wholly unconvinced that this opportunity will not pass us by!

3. William Skinner Avatar

We are paying the price for ad hoc economic planning going back a half century or more.
    The only way to prepare a people with a national conscience , is to educate them.
    There is a now a serious disconnection between the personal and national goals.
    Our problem is not consumerism ; it’s education. What kind of citizen are we producing or really have produced.
    The admission that we have spent over one billion, in the last fifteen years, is a deadly indictment of how we have ruined the country.
    However, once we continue to praise sound bites and become so impressed with dime a dozen cliches , the current decline will continue.
    COVID can be blamed for making the situation worse but it is not the cause.
    We have chosen a path that would have brought us to this sorry state with it without COVID and the war in Ukraine.
    Convenient scapegoats but not the genesis of our socio economic problems.

4. @ John A
    “What has made this situation worst globally though is the fact that this inflation/recession period is now coming on the heels of 2 years of a badly damaged economy thanks to Covid.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Wrong….
    What makes it worse is that it comes after two years of GLOBAL IDIOTIC mis-management of the Covid plandemic, which has been driven by the irrational FEAR OF DYING – and in particular of OLD people dying, when death is as NATURAL as birth.
    Some of the most successful and impactful human beings who ever lived died before age 40, and yet we have people over 80 who are mortified by the fear of death.
    Now, as a DIRECT result, the chaos from the coming collapse will see SIGNIFICANTLY more casualties, at ALL ages, than the covid outbreak could possibly have achieved at its very worse….significantly more…

@ Pacha
    The outcomes from this coming global pain will be beyond YOUR imagination. But there are many of us who have chosen to ‘see’, and who are therefore aware of the fantastic ‘rebirth of the ancients’ that is just around the corner.

5. William Skinner Avatar

Should have read :
    The admission that we have spent over one billion, in the last fifteen years on the sugar industry , is a deadly indictment of how we have ruined the country.
    It clearly shows that our economic planners saw it fit to pump money into an industry, that the landowners themselves ,had no interest in investing. It was a gift to the plantocracy .
    Back in the 60s and 70s progressive voices were calling for the agricultural industry to be managed by cooperatives with small farmers being given or leased agricultural lands.
    Of course they were deemed communists and told to go and live in Cuba.

6. Bush Tea
    Again, too wedded to eurocentrisms.
    In Afrikan philosophy the ancients continue to live forever through us. We already have that which you seek but will never find.

7. Bushie
    But on fear of dying we’re wid yuh. Life is essentially about learning to die. And daily fasting is the the practice ground.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“If one meal daily becomes a national ethos.”

i eat 2 healthy meals a day, and that;s only for energy, would reduce it to one, lots of water and fruitsonly , if i could…

..people will not understand that they eat too much and need to halve their portions..and shut down the sugar and salt, which i attribute to my good health..

“In Afrikan philosophy the ancients continue to live forever through us. ”

they don’t understand that either…if they would just LISTEN, TO THEIR INNER SELVES…and stop listening to LYING POLITICIANS and their imps and pimps…

” It was a gift to the plantocracy .”

next issue of Kush Quarterly for July…deals with that topic..

Enslavement, Addiction, Sickness & Death by Sugar Plantation

you really believe that all 1 billion dollars went only to propping up/subsidizing the sugar plantations, some of which are still slave master owned…..not when the thieves got yachts to buy, offshore businessess to invest in…and money laundering accounts to feed..

9. Skinner

Everything this government has done and will do, like all others before and after it, was, is and will be, to maintain the status quo.

And only exogenous forces are able to make sure that the center cannot hold.

10. @ Pacha
    “In Afrikan philosophy the ancients continue to live forever through us. We already have that which you seek but will never find.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You are much too astute to believe this.
    Modern day descendants of Africa cannot possibly be reflective of the ancient philosophy of which you so fondly speak.
    “Brass Bowl” is a much more appropriate terminology to describe our recent and current situation.
    We have collectively adopted the albino-centric glitter of greed called ‘Capitalism’, and as a result, we have proceeded to make ourselves into the VERY LAST in the current order of their remodeled world.
    The quintessential ‘SLAVES’ of modern society on EVERY CONTINENT.

We don’t have squat….
    All we have is the LEGACY and the birthright that was sold ‘for a bowl of soup’ by our misguided ancestors.

However, we are about to witness a major SHAKEOUT of the current shiite world that has been built on greed and hate, and we will see a re-establishment of the TRUE ancient ways.
    This transformation though, will not be forthcoming from empty, clueless brass bowls – but from ON HIGH, under the direction of THE supreme SPIRITUAL Forces that CREATED this experience called ‘Life on Earth’.

The BEST part, Pacha, is that it is literally around the corner, but like all (symbolic) childbirths, it will come with severe pain and discomfort….. So learn to breath deeply, and squeeze something soft… 🙂

11. @John A

Bajans will have to be dragged kicking and screaming to that place where a Christian understanding can be achieved. We have become intoxicated by the ‘good’ life. We will have to be forced to take the bitter medicine if our ‘doctors’ have the guts to administer the correct prescription.

12. @William

We have had this discussion about the need to educate our people. We agree. However, there is formal and informal and the blogmaster is of the view given the prevalence relativistic attitudes, our ready embrace of things foreign makes this a situation where we have to squeeze the genie back in the bottle, likely an impossible undertaking. Therefore, how do we manage where we are given this challenge is the 64k.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“‘rebirth of the ancients’ that is just around the corner.”

Pacha…just a little more teaching and Bushman will be where is supposed to land..

“Convenient scapegoats but not the genesis of our socio economic problems.”

running around the world stage trying to mask the root cause and distracting attempts can’t change reality, only fowls and fools are impressed with slick talk and sleight of hand..

“Do we not have the ability to think broadly about the contours of the environments surrounding us?”

or how to ABANDON a corrupt, oppressive system….as William said…..EDUCATION IS MISSING…

“We should boldly accept our new circumstances and not be afraid of the radical transformations coming as we resist the backward inclination to return to these here bad old days.”

the PERFECT OPPORTUNITY to SHAPE and RECONFIGURE….personal and familial destinies…and TAKE CONTROL permanently..

at least we trying to show them the first on how to abandon and dump dirty politicians and there hangerson..

14. Bushie

Maybe the fault is yours. You continue to speak like a bird with one wing trying to fly.

Caricatures of Afrikans. A continent only known from images given thusly.

Believing not knowing!

Such irrational intellectual excursions even fly into the face of human DNA which connects all of humanity through millions of years. Regardless of epochs which deviate from the mean.

15. Waru

You of all people should know that we like the Bushman bad as brassbowl.

However, this writer cannot be the one who teaches. For Bushie is beyond “redemption”. That only death could cure his polluted mind.

16. Everyone or some are talking about Africa and its Ancient Cultures, but I find Africa’s present and future prospects more exciting and on point.
    Developing countries are more vibrant than the developed world with more potential for investment growth and profits using current and latest technologies and methodologies.
    Africa is still a blank canvass with acres of land and resources.

17. The answer to the question of “what is our mirror image” continues to eluded us. Even in these times, we come across the phrase ‘punching above’ our ‘body weght’ in some article written by a local.

Somehow, we see an 800 lb gorilla looking back at us from the mirror. That is not who we are. We are a “a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange ….”

It is difficult to go further without appearing to criticize Mia, but here is a classic example where followers confuse grand speeches on a big stage with our global importance. Our mirror image is not who we are.

We confuse a great photo-op or PR jaunt with our importance in the grand scheme of things. We fail to remember that thousands of grand speeches are made on thousands of big stages every year. It is the outcomes that matters on not the words.

We are aware that numerous issues confront us. We see solutions being offered, but we will go nowhere if we cannot see our true mirror image.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“That only death could cure his polluted mind.”

well lets hope he returns as a well rounded ancestor…to upend the pollution and corruption tha we know will revive itself since the criminals are determined to oppress Afrikans, and that’s the black face variety from the parliament…they are our enemies.

“Believing not knowing!”

what gets me is that ALL THE INFORMATION IS OUT THERE…there is no excuse for not knowing….these last 25 years…i get that people may not have had the means to access info in certain museums etc…..although they can always find money to go to fake disney world….. there are those who genuinely don’t have such resources, but since then…THERE IS THE INFORMATION HIGHWAY…where you can find most things..

.there are EDUCATIONAL FORUMS for Afrikans ONLY..which includes multiple classes..

i do my part with a quarterly magazine and so do MANY OTHERS…

so what’s that excuse for not knowing…

“Modern day descendants of Africa cannot possibly be reflective of the ancient philosophy of which you so fondly speak.”

so you don’t believe in the 144K, the select…….but you believe the bullshit fake philosophy of greeks and romans WHOM AFRIKANS HAD TO TEACH EVERYTHING…even how to wash their asses…how to cook, read and write, hygiene…EVERYTHING.

..it’s the generationally Slave minded are the problem, their ancient ancestors were beaten and traumatized outta dem…and for the last 100 years listen to traitor politicians….they are ALWAYS DOOMED…am sure their ancestors are afraid of them…we only need look at Lorenza, fowl enuff and others on here to see what went wrong..

“However, we are about to witness a major SHAKEOUT of the current shiite world that has been built on greed and hate, and we will see a re-establishment of the TRUE ancient ways.”

directly attributed to the ACTIONS OF THOSE STILL CONNECTED TO OUR ANCIENT ANCESTORS…a little bit mixed up, but getting there…Pacha..he may have to do it on his own, many of us had to anyway to appreciate the truth..

19. @TheO

There is benefit to growing our brand on the international stage, hobnobbing with the MD of the IMF/World bank etc. however there comes a time it must convert to tangible. Can we say Mottley’s international brand has helped Barbados and the region. Maybe a work in progress?

20. @ David

Yes we are far from prepared for what is ahead. One has also to accept that from a workers stand point they too were way behind Inflation due to Sinkyuhs 10 year wage freeze. So let’s say that covid was in 2020, the average worker did not have a salary increase for at least 8 years prior to that. So if we compound the rate of inflation between 2012 say to 2020, that would probable be in the area of 28%. That means that the worker whose salary was not increased over that period, would of found himself at the start of covid with really only $72 out of every $100 he worked for in real terms from a buying power stand point. You then throw 2 years of a covid economy and hyper inflation at him and you taking him back to poverty basically.

Truth is I don’t think our leaders have stopped to try and explain to the public in simple terms what lies ahead. Yes you are hearing the tourism sector come out and say bookings bad for summer and we know there will be no cruise ships till November, but what will all this mean for the Bajan when you throw in a recession overseas and hyper inflation?

Our leaders need to prepare the people for what lies ahead. No one can blame them for what is happening internationally, but more time needs to be spent explaining to the local population what it will mean to them here on the rock.

21. A few days past there was a brief discussion on tourism.

There was an article talking about the uptick of tourism in Europe and Central America. The cheerleaders were out in full force. One blogger was brave enough to point out that there is more to the story than what was being reported. He felt the wrath of the cheerleaders.

Barbados today carried a more accurate description of our tourism prospects. The silence of the cheerleaders is deafening.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/06/14/tourism-bookings-remain-low-bhta-president/

But there is nothing new here. We often explain away an issue by pointing at the same issue elsewhere. Linking ourselves to the ‘good’ is expected.
    What is our mirror image.

22. @John A

Fit for purpose leadership is always the catalyst to achieve relevant change.

#Singapore

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Even in these times, we come across the phrase ‘punching above’ our ‘body weght’ in some article written by a local.”

parroting what Kofi Anan said, they don’t have that mental capability to come up with anything…..unfortunately he did a true disservice trying to be polite…cause every idiot from the parliament back down regurgitates that nonsense..

“but here is a classic example where followers confuse grand speeches on a big stage with our global importance. ”

all aimed at tricking them and keeping the in place and TRAPPED so they can be ROBBED blind…for another few generations or as long as THEY ALLOW IT TO CONTINUE…

they know the live idiots…who would proclaim…yuh know she was pon de world stage so she big, we gotta listen to she, she know wuh she talking bout, she is de expert……..and a lot of shite…that is UNIMPORTANT….it reinforces that they know the idiots personally with whom they are dealing, they have had nearly 100 years generationally to READ THEM, manipulate them and know which LIES they will never see or accept as lies……

..while am still waiting to be impressed by any of it…the difference in mindsets…

24. David

As Skinner said, why is your commitment to these meaningless memes so absolute.

An absolutism not dissimilar to that required by religious dogmas.

Do you know where they come from? Why they are designed? Who designs thrm?

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…i could swear you explained on BU MULTIPLE TIMES….the schemes behind the schemes behind the plots and plans in place for the last 150 YEARS, post slavery….and yet, there are still those on here in their PERMANENT WISHFUL THINKING mode…

that’s how we know nothing takes, a lot of wasted time and energy..

that’s why i did what i did…and will have to take it further given certain invitations..

26. @Pacha

The blogmaster like many here is not all knowing.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Thanks for addressing it, did not see your post before i posted.

.trying to save people from themselves is a full time job, and i have very little time these days to indulge….the rest will be up to them, they will have to find that guidance or stay in their current condition..the young and vulnerable takes precedence.

28. Wonder if the blog may get 60 posts daily, instead of 30, if you had the time to indulge 😂😂😂😂

29. @Bush Tea

Walter Blackman punching hard this morning. He took your advice?

30. Read mark learn and inwardly digest.

“Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has given the assurance that ordinary Barbadians will be guaranteed at least a 60 per cent stake in the emerging renewable energy sector.”

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

my sites get a whole lot more attention from me…..every day…..some people can walk and chew gum at the same time, some can’t.

were i you, i would be more concerned about where ARROGANCE, CONCEIT and OVERCONFIDENCE to commit multiple crimes against Afrikan people, now got ya misleaders….that is where the SHAME AND STAIN WILL BE COMING FROM…not from my direction..

the coals are GETTING HOTTER…laugh at that..

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

now i want them to come out and cuss and keep me awake…evabody playing coy…lol

am trying to format one of my french articles and keep falling asleep…

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Now we see how depressing and DEGRADING TO SELF creating war is….you would think someone would have done the Math…first..

Pacha…i know, it’s self inflicted and many would say so well deserved, create the war and you are its FIRST VICTIM….

need to hear your take on this one..

“Sanctions Backfire as EU Projected to Pay Double for Energy Compared to 2021

Russia’s Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak has pointed out that Europe last year paid around 350-400 billion euros for energy, and that figure is set to double.

Due to its anti-Russia position through sanctions, the bloc is projected this year to overpay 400 billion euros for energy.”

34. Waru
    All the Western countries are raising interest rates to control the spate of inflationary trends.

These will not work. They will make things worse.

The only solutions are two.

One, that the entire debt ridden western financial system is dismantled and all fiat debt removed.

Two, nuclear holocaust.

There maybe some intermediate steps to delay the first option but these will never be permanent fixes except for its total collapse.

We have been charged here previously about wanting to tear down everything. That was before this war we forecasted long before it was popular. As we forecasted a war against China as well, the real war the West must fight.

But in order to build a new world this present one must go. Either of the two options should be embraced.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There maybe some intermediate steps to delay the first option but these will never be permanent fixes except for its total collapse.

But in order to build a new world this present one must go. Either of the two options should be embraced.”

Yes…

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is the part where you ask: where do you see yourself in 5 years…all indicators are there.

37. “But in order to build a new world this present one must go”
    You don’t know the God way
    where things happen for reasons
    Babylon a fall down is a song by velvet shadows
    with a king tubby explosion dub version

The simplest solution is..
    Go to Africa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApW4oJ8dqEw

38. Babylon Blow Down

Babylon Dub

39. David

But while the Western countries are raising interest rates to deal with inflation the Russians are lowering interests rates.

Nabulina the CB governor can hardly believe that the economy is doing far better than in her wildest dreams.

Inflation is falling as further interest rate cuts are expected. In fact deflation is likely in the short term.

A tale of two economies.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….this is news to stun people…but the process is now starting, so they better SHAKE OFF THE SHOCK and start planning their own destinies or have someone else plan for them because RECENT history IS ALREADY WRITTEN…

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

June 1 (Reuters) – Russia recorded a zero increase in consumer prices after modest deflation the week before, data showed on Wednesday, ahead of the central bank’s rate-setting meeting scheduled for June 10.

Weekly inflation spiked to 2.22% in early March, soon after Russia started what it calls a “special military operation” in Ukraine on Feb. 24, but has been slowing since then, capped by a rapid recovery in the rouble.
    Inflation is slowing even after the central bank lowered its key interest rate to 11% in May and said it saw room for more cuts this year, as it tries to manage a shrinking economy and high inflation.
    So far this year, consumer prices in Russia have risen 11.82%, Rosstat said.

Prices for nearly everything, from vegetables and sugar to clothes and smartphones, have risen sharply in recent weeks as Russia encountered logistics disruptions and increased volatility in the rouble.

Annual inflation has slowed to 17.51% as of May 20 from 17.83% in April, which was its highest since January 2002. The central bank expects inflation to reach its 4% target in 2024.

@Pacha
    You are rapidly becoming like @ac, parroting the lines, which alone are not lies, but distort. The fecking Russian inflation rate is 17.5%!!!!! And it was much higher. Gladly they are bringing it down.

42. What is stunning to me is how quickly the US media has tired of the Ukrainian war.

Fallen almost off the radar. Poor Ukrainians.

43. NO
    You always fall for the cheap trick.
    When the sanctions first were imposed. Inflation was way higher than that. The rouble viz a viz the USD was nearly 200. In recent days it’s about 55 roubles to a USD.

An economy is an organism. We just highlighted one single data point. The larger point is that Russia is lowering interest rates after raising them to 20 percent. While the inverse is true in the West.

On inflation, we’re dealing with published numbers but we don’t know whether we’re comparing apples with apples. What the basket of goods are being compared. We have not the time to do such an analysis. But from reports by polling agencies the Russian government has an 83 percentage likeability whereas in the West kakistocracts rule everywhere. This is an indication of gross national happiness in Russia.

Nowhere in the West are interest rates expected to be as high as 20 percent. Russia’s current interest rate is 9 percent. As similar in the West. But it is Russia which was the one to suffer, remember.

These don’t mean that everything within the Russian economy is hunkydory. They have had massive increases in the prices of foreign cars. In one case the price of a particular vehicle was more than double since this special operation in Ukraine. – inflation.

This constant canard by White neoliberals like you cannot be independent accepted because you innately dislike any situation which challenges White power.

Russia is wnning the economic war. A war which could lead to the end of White hegemony. Russia is winning the propaganda war in spite of overwhelming odds against it. Russia is winning the military conflict against NATO as is now accepted by all except the diehards of your ilk.

All given, it matters not what the current inflation statistics are. What should be more worrisome to your kind is what the overall environments portends for your place in the world.

44. “Wonder if the blog may get 60 posts daily, instead of 30, if you had the time to indulge 😂😂😂😂”

LMBAO, just imagine. Always a fairytale from the Might Warner Salemite. DWL🤣

45. BTW
    Reuters is well qualified as state propaganda given their connections to the intelligence agencies. We don’t read them and never will. They have no purchase with us.

46. @Pacha

Russia maybe winning the battle but the G7 is gearing for the long game. We are in for a rough ride as they make it up as they go along.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    You claim 9%, Reuters says 11%,it seems from multiple checks 11% is accurate. No I don’t speak nor read Russian, but my daughter in law does, and her mother and grandmother still live there.
    You seem to think I gave a flying fuck what you give or don’t give your approval to.
    I was clear. Your info was correct but you didn’t give the full story.
    Russia’s economy has improved and I hope it continues.
    Despite what you think, I don’t support everything the West does.
    I have difficulty determining winning, when thousands lose their lives daily, in conflicts all over the world. And accept there is large amount of doctored stories and numbers from all sides.
    So you are correct I have no idea if the metrics by which statistics are reported change monthly.
    And I hope the USA gets a few blows. The world, and the USA, would be better off if they kept their hands and money out of many things beyond their border. Including funding. They haven’t balanced their books since the 70s. A significant drop in the global appetite for their debt would be a good thing.
    I will leave the ideology to you, and determining world order.
    But I am amused. When I first went to Cuba in 92, it was called Período Especial, Special Period. Both the US and Russia plus others have Special Forces, which undertake that which is neither spoken of, nor admitted. Now this war, and it’s a war, is called a Special Operation.
    It seems whenever we wish to avoid calling a spade, a spade, we call it Special?

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Always a fairytale from the Might Warner Salemite. DWL🤣”

can’t wait for yall to CRASH and BURN…with all those BS and THIN AIR SCAMS…soon come…..then ya will get another warning from me…

“El Salvador Rides Crypto Crash – Bitcoin Stake HALVED

After the bold step to become the first country to adopt Bitcoin as legal tender, El Salvador is feeling the strain of the current cryptocurrency crisis as its almost $100mn investment has halved in value.

President Nayib Bukele plunged another $15mn into the biggest crypto last month at $30k, celebrating with a tweet boasting “El Salvador just bought the dip” only to see a third of that wiped off.

Plans remain in place to build a “Bitcoin City” powered by volcanic geothermal energy and funded by the sale of $1bn of Volcano Bonds – yet to go on sale – despite IMF urges to abandon the crypto gamble.