The following is an abridge version of a communication received by the blogmaster. To protect the author names of some parties were withheld. In the opinion of the blogmaster the submission reinforces several blogs on the subject of the need for effective regulation to monitor and discipline lawyers in Barbados – David, Blogmaster
Attorney General Dale Marshall

A moral injustice prevails when the legal fraternity within any society can act with callous disregard to ethical principles which it is supposed to operate under and it is not held to account for actions which oppose these rules. Barbados sought to ‘leave its Colonial past behind,’ and has become a Republic but it will remain ‘shackled’ by its own heavy man-made chains, which unbalance the scales of justice if it does not act with enforcing accountability on the country’s legal profession.

Undeniably, a country’s government cannot police personal morals; unarguably, principles and standards under law, which govern the actions and behaviours of lawyers should be kept under vigilant scrutiny by a properly functioning body, that is robust and transparent. 

Significantly, people who suffer at the hands of unscrupulous lawyers, many of whom are women clients undergoing high emotional trauma, are reluctant to speak out, for fear of reprisal by a societal culture of ‘blaming and high religious righteous indignation,’ levelled at the victims.  Therefore, these lawyers in a superior position, take advantage of their victims at a time of high vulnerability who have put trust in them and they abuse that trust. This not only results in financial damage but the emotional cost factor is untold, with substantial injury inflicted on susceptible individuals who have turned to these lawyers for help.  

For those reading and about to take a judgemental position, please ask yourself these questions: if a blind person asked you to escort them across a busy cross road intersection, would you feel right about navigating them into the middle of traffic and abandoning them?  If an anxious child asked you to hold its ice-cream to urgently go to the toilet, would you eat it? These analogies resonate with those in desperate need of legal help, who turn to lawyers in Barbados and in particular, powerless women seeking help.

There is one former prominent lawyer (now deceased) who took on divorce cases, where property was involved, wielded position and power over young women for his own personal and financial gain. His conduct of fraternising with his client was merely reprimanded by one judge in closed court, unchallenged and never reported to the BA by any of his peers; even though, they all were aware of his conduct. Back then, an upcoming ambitious attorney, who is now the present Attorney General, was informed about this lawyer’s unprofessional conduct and client liaisons; but did he report that individual? No. No lawyer wants to report another and would it do any good reporting to the BA so the behaviour continues.  Conversely, more can also be said about abuse of power within other sectors; the exercise of harmful influence over others, who approach business institutions to engage in lawful pursuits only to be forced into relationships with those who head these business entities.

Incumbent upon the Barbados government is addressing, the lack of challenge of this wrongdoing which spills over into an unwritten law, that abuse of position and power is acceptable. This pervasive social view has become entrenched and inherent, written into the subconscious, and into an ‘invisible constitution,’ that those who hold other offices, see it as the natural progression of being empowered, to control others with resulting tangible rewards, thereby functioning under their own circle of ‘self-regulated systems.’  Seeking justice by engaging and soliciting the help of a lawyer or participating in conducting business, should never become a mine field of being preyed upon, exploited nor swindled.

Government ministries are closely tied to the legal fraternity; indeed, several government ministers are lawyers or affiliated to legal firms.  Negotiation and deals can become rather personal; intertwined and often blurred, creating more inequalities in society when there is the absence of accountability of the ethics which guide the legal profession. Within this current atmosphere, abuse of power and trust, and whereby lawyers are not vigorously monitored, all support injustices being solidified, which in turn create a new type of slavery, that is not perpetuated by the White Europeans but an acceptance of the ‘the way things are,’ one which is a social construct, called ‘Black Manipulation.’

132 responses to “The Legal Fraternity – Fundamental Flaws”

1. And Donna was never hiding. I have given my real first name and my constituency and enough personal details for them to know who I am.

So I owe you nothing.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved February 16, 2022 7:06 PM #: “oh, and btw….if yall think they don’t know WHO most of you are, YA VERY WRONG…yall have no clue just how much they know, because of certain circumstances and events …..they found out..so ya really anonymous in vain….and i know who was paid to find out and tell them, the person told me themselves…”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Over the years, you’ve contributed to BU using several different pseudonyms, ranging from ‘Well, Well & Consequences’ to ‘Daniella Gomez,’ under which you sent emails to the ‘brilliant journalist,’ while informing him and the forum it was your ‘real name.’

Until recently, after ‘saying’ your name is ‘Yolande Grant,’ a name which, based on your penchant for ‘manipulating the truth,’ we cannot verify if it is either genuine or false, you’ve began to be extremely critical of ‘anonymous bloggers.”
    In other words, since you revealed your supposedly ‘real name,’ using pseudonyms has now become an ‘unforgivable sin.’

I also read your contributions in which you ‘said,’ “because of certain circumstances and events,” which you referred to as the electoral list being EXPOSED ONLINE, PRIOR to the January 19, 2022 general elections, made it possible to identify anonymous bloggers to BU.

Now, ‘on the other hand,’ you subsequently ‘said,’ “this EXPOSURE of BUs commenters HAPPENED SINCE the days of Naked Departure, 2015-16…..”

What is questionable is the fact that, you claim to “know who was paid to find out and tell them, the person TOLD (you) themselves…”

……… but, conveniently, that individual has DIED.

I have to question the accuracy of your comments, especially against the background of David BU having explained on numerous occasions how he has gone ‘above and beyond’ to protect the identities of contributors.

3. Might not agree with him 100%, but I sincerely believe that the blogmaster is an honorable man.

4. @ David BU,

So you let me get exposed and did not tell me. I am a loyal BU contributor and deserve to be protected EXCEPT from G G and females who look like her. lol

If I were blogmasterI I would ban !!!!

5. One place where lawyers are getting caught up to appears to be the US of all places where lawyers abound.

One by one they are being picked off as they face indictments.

Looks like the chickens are coming home to roost.

6. America’s 26 Lawyer-Presidents, in the US 26 out of 46, in Barbados 7 out of 9 prime ministers,

78% in Barbados, vs 57% in the US

John Adams (1797-1801)
    Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809)
    James Monroe (1817-1825)
    John Quincy Adams (1825-1829)
    Andrew Jackson (1829-1837)
    Martin Van Buren (1837-1841)
    John Tyler (1841-1845)
    James Knox Polk (1845-1849)
    Millard Fillmore (1850-1853)
    Franklin Pierce (1853-1857)
    James Buchanan (1857-1861)
    Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)
    Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)
    James A. Garfield (1881)
    Chester A. Arthur (1881-1885)
    Grover Cleveland (1885-1889 and 1893-1897)
    Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)
    William McKinley (1897-1901)
    William Howard Taft (1909-1913)
    Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)
    Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)
    Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1933-1945)
    Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)
    Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)
    William Jefferson Clinton (1993-2001)
    Barack Obama (2009-)

7. Comparatively speaking, Britain had even fewer lawyer PMs

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_prime_ministers_of_the_United_Kingdom_by_education

None of the last 4 were lawyers back to Tony Blair who was.

Boris did Classics
    Theresa May did Geography
    Cameron did Philosophy, politics and economics, or politics, philosophy and economics (PPE),
    Brown did History

8. Presidents after Roosevelt who were not lawyers were

Truman
    Eisenhower
    JFK
    LBJ
    Jimmy Carter
    GHW Bush
    George Bush
    Trump

Jimmy Cater was a Navy trained Nuclear Engineer.
    Dwight D. Eisenhower Went to West Point.
    George H W Bush degree was A businessman with a degree in Economics and
    Reagan was actor with degree in Economics.
    George W Bush was a businessman with degree in History.

9. William,

Respectfully also, I think you need to check your subconscious. Just the day before you made your comment, TLSN came out dropping remarks meant to rebuke me for not calling out Cuhdear Bajan as I would WURA.

I sat here WAITING for your comment.
    It usually comes not on the same day but THE NEXT DAY.

What did you say about patterns again? That repeated actions should be seen as DELIBERATE?

As I said yesterday, I have a brain like an archive. I remember practically everything that everybody says here. Even the personal details you give from time to time.

Practically EVERYTHING…. from years back.

Jusr think, I sat here WAITING for you to get your dig in. You do it EVERY TIME I clash with WURA.

So… you have a reflex action, perhaps that you are unaware of….though I have pointed it out before.

You are not being fair to me.

Ah well! Whatever!

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Blogmaster does not have to, BUT…he does have a moral duty to BU commenters TO SHARE IT………removing my comment will NOT MAKE IT GO AWAY…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yesterday, everyone was up for DETAILS…high on getting those dangerous DETAILS to screw themselves, they too love to talk about civic duty…..but today, not so much…what a difference 24 hours made.

when you try to uncover certain things, that ya really shouldn’t, other UNWANTED things tend to come to light….so, how does my shoe size fit….tight huh….very hard to wear, welcome to my life, yall wanted to be part of it, careful what you wish for, ya may get it..

those who live in US knows well enuff what i mean…..

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I can help ya solve that connundrum very easily, ya have everyone’s private email….inbox them, feel free to skip me…

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

oh, and ya can feel free to blame me for keeping the other half of the story to myself….self-preservation….

14. William keeps unleashing a “monster” on the blog, over and over again.

15. $$$$$ $$$$$
    Dollar Signs

“Barbados sought to ‘leave its Colonial past behind,’ and has become a Republic but it will remain ‘shackled’ by its own heavy man-made chains, which unbalance the scales of justice if it does not act with enforcing accountability on the country’s legal profession.”

In Year 1 of the Republic people are still tripping on Bu so it looks like the way forwards is still heading backwards.
    When people complain they should speak clear instead of ranting with innuendo and rumours so they can be understood.

“A moral injustice prevails when the legal fraternity within any society can act with callous disregard to ethical principles which it is supposed to operate under and it is not held to account for actions which oppose these rules. Barbados sought to ‘leave its Colonial past behind,’ and has become a Republic but it will remain ‘shackled’ by its own heavy man-made chains, which unbalance the scales of justice if it does not act with enforcing accountability on the country’s legal profession.”

There should be a Government body set up to regulate Lawyers, which is not self regulated. So clients can complain about fraudulent services they may receive.

Gangbangin’
    All Day
    Everyday
    24/7/365

Rumors

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some of you should be more worried about THE SHIT ya spew on here and HOW it will BLOW BACK on ya…i repeat, i have no such problem.

.i been on here this is the 10th year and William had absolutely nothing to do with any of it….strife maker..

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

years ago, my understanding was, if they knew certain things, because the payout to the investigator was so VERY HANDSOME, commonsense said they would ALSO know OTHER THINGS….dude was EXCELLENT at his job..

commonsense is not found in any book……ask Caswell…

18. Trap Stars
    Making Moves
    When copying from a mirror image or a film to learn how to make moves you should do the opposite

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Kiki…..It all has to be BROUGHT to a HALT….but there MUST be people willing to WORK TOGETHER to do so…..i don’t see it EVER happening from a BU perspective……

others, more cohesive in nature and willing to STAND UP against these crimes against Black humanity will have to carry that torch…they do exist, there are some very powerful forces in quietly in play..

20. …..It all has to be BROUGHT to a HALT….but there MUST be people willing to WORK TOGETHER to do so…..i don’t see it EVER happening from a BU perspective……

Kill Blood Clot Bu
    sounds like a plan
    I am on the case
    Don’t tell anyone

21. @ John February 17, 2022 4:38 AM
    “Comparatively speaking, Britain had even fewer lawyer PMs..”

The above statement is relevant mainly because having a law qualification means diddly squat in the UK.

Any Tommy, Dickey and Harriette can study law in the UK.

It’s equivalent to a Bajan having a degree in sociology and believing he or she has the answers to every social problem on the island.

Many of the ‘formal’ functions which require intervention or facilitation by the legal profession in Barbados can be easily carried out by private individuals simply by filling in or out forms, attesting to their veracity and filing with the relevant regulatory body.

Even a simple (uncontested) divorce can be done over the internet.

90 % of the people who practise Law in Barbados would have been disbarred long time for their unprofessional behaviour, downright dishonesty and blatant incompetence.

22. Kardinal Offishall – Bang Bang [Kill Bloodclott Bill]

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

BU is serving its own purpose, it can stay right where it is, it casts a real good long shadow….had to be useful somehow..

24. @Miller

And there are other functions that require a formal law qualification, so what is your point?

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Kill Blood Clot Bu
    sounds like a plan”

nah…save their asses from themselves….a better plan, when you KNOW certain things, ya act accordingly, if ya carry the intelligent gene…..

it all started with the word DETAILS, without understanding what that ENTAILS……

….some are now acting like if am the one put up this MUCH NEEDED THREAD…

26. @ David February 17, 2022 8:21 AM

And who is saying a law qualification is not useful?

Of course, you cannot function as a judge or AG or DPP without one; or without the LEC.

So too are accounting and auditing qualifications. Aren’t them a dozen for a $ also?

And look how long it is taking to get SOE’s and, especially, the NIS to obey the law?

Just take a look at the moribund state of the local justice system (the bedrock of any effectively functioning democracy) and see if the old saying too many ‘c(r)ooks spoil the broth’ is not apt for the current state of the practice of law.

27. @Miller

In the blogmaster’s opinion while it may be useful to decentralize certain legal transaction it does not address systemic issues of better governance of the profession to protect all.

28. Lawyering like trolling like politics is just another sport

It’s About to Go Down

29. 90 % of the people who practise Law in Barbados would have been disbarred long time for their unprofessional behaviour, downright dishonesty and blatant incompetence.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    No Miller…. worse!!
    99% if you were to strictly apply unbiased guidelines.

Directly stealing client funds is one thing…
    Using Client funds as a personal mortgage, for example, is unethical.
    Not even bothering to make the repayments however, is downright criminal….BUT..
    Of course, if there are no reporting procedures; no audits; no oversight; and no consequences… then the problem is not the lawyers… IT IS THE SOCIETY THAT ALLOWS IT…. (the brass…)

So if a ‘likkle’, shiite bushman can see these weaknesses…
    What stops all out TOP RANKING legal experts (with LECs and without) from seeing and addressing them by SIMPLY adopting internationally established and accepted guidelines…?
    …or even enforcing the LOCALLY imposed anti money laundering regulations that apply to nut sellers?
    One guess….

30. @ David February 17, 2022 8:50 AM

Agree!

Neither should we place them on pedestals to lord over us like gods as is done in Bim.

How do you explain the performance of the Bar Association in ‘regulating’ the performance of their members?

But it is crystal clear why so many of these Lawyers find themselves in the Parliament.

After all, that is from where the taxpayers’ monies are easily accessible to those who are unemployable elsewhere.

Ask your amici curiae like Mike Carry-away-a-ton and colleagues and those involved in the heists at BIDC, the BWA, Caves of Bim, etc etc.

Just watch and see how much will be the lawyers’ final bill to be footed by the already overburdened taxpayers when the current ‘fabricated’ Constitutional crisis disappears quietly before your very eagle eyes!

31. @Miller

Define we. Who is forcing we to place them on pedestals?

32. @ David: February 17, 2022 9:50 AM

If you don’t agree with what the miller is trying to say maybe a word of advice from a much higher intellect would drive home the point:
    One of the lawyers answered him, “Teacher, in saying these things you insult us also.” And he said, “Woe to you lawyers also! For you load people with burdens hard to bear, and you yourselves do not touch the burdens with one of your fingers. (Unquote).
    Only goes to confirm there nothing new under the Sun.

33. Thundercat – Them Changes

34. Is it “Groundhog Day”? Yuh know everyday yuh wake up and it is the same shite all over again? This complaining about dishonest lawyers and nothing ever changes. I read this week that the trial of one Ernest Jackman has been delayed to March 14,2022 he is alleged to have stolen $678,414.75 between June 2006 and March 2007 and other charges up to October 2011. According to BFP he was first charged in 2008 if wunnah looking for where the molasses has gone check out the speed of the judicial system in Bim, but we should be thankful for small mercies at least he is going to face trial but who knows.

BTW check out BFP from 2008 yuh would think that this was just yesterday

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/09/11/crooked-barbados-lawyers-only-one-arrested-many-others-allowed-to-walk-free-why/

35. @ Sargeant,

Gline Clarke Just call Brasstacks to talk about penis taxes and single parents.

Yuh mean he can’t find nutten else to do in Ottawa ?

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

The more things change :the more they remain the same. People carry integrity to their professions. In the final analysis it comes down to individual values. Professions have standards precisely because man is only human and can and does evil things. No amount of Integrity Legislation will change this.The creator will have to reprogram man differently. It will be a waste of legislative time and money. Lets start with a new moral rearmament. A job for the Ministry of Education.

37. He still talking all like now.

38. He just stop talking.

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 9 :52 AM

We includes you. How many blogs have you published on this same issue? It is about 100. That makes them famous or infamous. One would now think this behaviour is the norm.And it is not.Either case you have put them on a pedestal.

40. Here we are watching a lawyer in the US go on the offensive to try to save her skin!!

41. HantsFebruary 17, 2022 11:31 AM

@ Sargeant,

Gline Clarke Just call Brasstacks to talk about penis taxes and single parents.

Yuh mean he can’t find nutten else to do in Ottawa ?

Gline Clarke also was a star on BFP back in the day.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/former-barbados-minister-of-housing-gline-clarke-finished-at-least-one-house-on-schedule/

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/former-barbados-housing-minister-gline-clarke-says-take-land-from-the-rich-and-give-it-to-the-poor-refuses-to-answer-how-he-lived-on-expropriated-land/

42. @Hants
    I see that you don’t want to offend the sensibilities of anyone reading the blog re “penis taxes”, the locals call it “c..k” tax, he is in Ottawa maybe he is marooned in his home as the “truckers” have taken over the town and he has to let off steam.

Mia must be happy that she exiled him to Ottawa and she doesn’t have to listen to his complaints daily.

43. BFP
    Fox News
    Who the Fuck is Knox John

Bu still publishing racist rants
    https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/barbados-underground-still-publishing-racist-rants/

44. Sibling in England asked if Wuk-Fah-Wuh on Brass Tacks, so I turned off my radio because Wuk-Fa-Wuk should be too busy to be calling Brass Tacks in addition I am not aware that he is any expert on family life.

Every child deserves to be supported by both its parents. I am sure we are all agreed on that.

Government has to put measures in place to compel reluctant parents to pay. I think that we all agreed on this too.

Our question: What has long time Parliamentarians done to ensure that ADULTS don’t unfair babies, toddlers, and l’il children by denying them food, shelter, clothing etc.?

45. @Donna February 17, 2022 5:18 AM “TLSN came out dropping remarks meant to rebuke me for not calling out Cuhdear Bajan as I would WURA.”

But Donna. I don’t need any calling out because I am always right. So you don’t need to take on the nonentity. Talking Loud Saying Nothing.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, there is an Olympic pedestal of outstanding achievement and acclaim… and then there is also the highly raised pedestal used to hang those rascals who have done dastardly deeds!

Methinks the blogmaster can be ‘accused’ of doing the latter: hanging then from on high…. and in so doing he elevated himself on a pedestal ike an Olympic champion.

To extend this torturous analogy… in this lawyer review contest and spectacle he really has not stumbled or fallen and even when almost drugged induced by close famiarity (the Lumpy exposè) which caused some interesting remarks that did not materially impact his gold medal performances! 🙄 😇

J gone.

47. @Miller

The blogmaster maintains the problem is not lawyers but the flawed governance system we tolerate because of elected public servants allowed to mismanage.

48. There is hope.

49. @Vincent

At minimum the legislation will provide a basis for censure in a way that is transparent.

50. Nothing causes more strife than LIES!