Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

As we draw closer to the time Barbadians will be encouraged to participate in a national debate about a NEW Constitution, one suggestion is to allow Barbadians- who for different reasons- have settled overseas to be able to vote to elect a Barbados government. Especially Bajans who although the primary address is foreign, they have family, property and other interest still in the land of birth.

The suggestion to create a Diaspora Constituency is a controversial one for obvious reasons but we should discuss it.

The following comment posted by William Skinner to the Did the Many Hands Make Light Work blog, a Barbadian living in the USA in instructive.

The truth is the truth. As I told you recently , I am not a paragon of any virtue known to mankind. But, I value intellectual honesty. As you have said we have our differences but we are heading the same place. One of the great pillars of intellectual honesty is to admit that you’re are not infallible and to quickly acknowledge when you are wrong or even half wrong.

Quite frankly, among overseas Bajans, I am considered a baby. And they tell me that almost every day. I know Bajans who have been away from home fifty years and over. There is a lot of success and a lot of pain. By the time they have achieved success , they have lost family, friends and even visits are a bit depressing because they are seeing the children of their family and friends and don’t know them. It’s a vicious cycle, when one , on the quest for some improvement , has to give up almost anything that is worthwhile at the end.

There is also a cultural dimension. I have a friend, who has lived more of his life in Brooklyn than than Bim. About ten years ago, he brought home his children to the rock for Crop Over. His daughter, a born and bred American, fell in love with Lil Rick. I am informed that she has not listened to any American rapper since! She is into pure kaiso.
Children need roots. A Canadian lady now in her fifties told me that on a visit home, around the age of seven or so, her uncle taught her how to catch a lizard. She has never forgotten that!

I can write a thousand stories. I have advised friends and family , to not give up a job or anything to come chasing the American dream. The price is high…..very high.

The Caribbean Diaspora must be seen as a part of our new horizon in a different way. And for many different reasons. Indians born and live on the rock then they go back to India to find spouses for their children; Jews , Irish and all other groups are in their Diaspora ensuring that their countries and culture are fully and properly defended. When progressive voices talk about the Diaspora , they are talking about he big picture and not only about barrels or who is Dee or Bee.

However, the mere fact that Caribbean people throughout the Diaspora want to be more involved in their countries is testimony that when all is said and done, home is where the heart is. And after mingling with those who call me a baby, I say they got on a plane but they never left Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana or any other island and if they tell you they really left, dey lie !

274 responses to “Should Bajans Living in the Diaspora Vote in —–> Barbados”

1. Likkle Pee Pee,

My definition of mad is different from yours. If you were to come here after living in England, the same label would be applied to you!

I simply embrace the label and use it to my advantage. Who does play wid a mad woman?

Works for me!

However, I will ask you to point this blog to where I confessed to being a racist! It is a pity that people have to resort to lies when their retort cupboard is bare!

And finally, you could leave me to Bushie and anyone else you like. None of you have godlike powers and inspire no awe in me.

Bring it on! De Mad Woman awaiteth!

Now go listen to Boris and his ” Fuck you!” speech.

Yuh got nuff biznis tuh min’!

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

No.
    I was aware Ms.McConney had once been Consul General, and had been the island representative at some international bodies. Yet, I was under the (mistaken?) impression she had been a private consultant for several years preceding her selection.

3. @NO

She did both.

4. Once you set foot back on Barbados soil NOTHING should be denied you. That was a stupid law that needed amending.

What was the basis for the law in the first place?

Maybe it was good in the time when snail mail and slow boats were the norm and Bajans abroad were completely out of touch with Barbados.

Those conditions no longer exist.

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

and then my children and grandchildren have NO OPPORTUNITIES and seen as SECOND CLASS CITIZENS to be stuck in bondage, paid low to no salaries, and a diet of OPPRESSION dished out by black governments and their friends……….there is NO UPWARD MOBILITY while VOTE BUYING and CORRUPTION are the order of the day…

William…to make matters even worse my children would STILL HAVE TO ACCESS THE HATED DIASPORA…….for ANY type of opportunity to progress because there is VERY LITTLE TO NONE on the island…

it has been established that people LIE to themselves…EVERY DAY without fail..

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

I took your initial comment to reflect the Kay McConney had been in a diplomatic assignment immediately prior to her Senate nomination?
    See the rumours around Republic time were correct, RiRi is pregnant.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

AND

all of this can be seen as MISLEADING THE YOUNG…who can ill afford to be misled in this era…they are looking for guidance from mature, well-read, knowledgeable adults, and do not need to be reeled into slaveminded fantasies…

8. @NO

The substantive point is that she was a Barbadian overseas working legitimately in private and public capacity. There is no reason why a Barbadian called to public service should not allowed.

9. @ David,

I would like to return and be appointed Consultant to the Minister in the Ministry of of Fishing.

My mandate would be to direct my teams on the west coast and the east coast to teach the youth to fish.

I have over 65 years of fishing experience, 25 in Barbados and 40 in Canada.

Talking shiite is also one of my abilities so I would fit in well with the Ministers.

10. Should Bajans Living in the Diaspora Vote in —–> Barbados

or should they have a wank 8—–>

11. @Hants

Fishing is not seen as aspirational.

Unfortunately.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

wait. something wrong with the south coast?
    I think you should be the International Fisheries Minister.
    Nuff places send their fleets to fish elsewhere, and bring the catch back.

13. @ David,

Those who do not know how to fish can buy or the fishermen or fisherwomen.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Your substantive point is uncontested.
    My initial comment was more directed at ‘rules can be changed’, not that the lady should not have been selected. I made the exception for diplomats.
    Donna’s point is simply, LIVE there, and you can vote the next day (given one meets certain requirements) Don’t live there, even if you did for 50 years, and you shouldn’t ‘have the vote’.
    What happens, is additions can be made quickly, deletions take a lot longer.
    Bring Fx into the country, things move lickety split. Try removing it, and the wheels encounter unforeseen obstacles.
    When the Central Banks wish to drop rates, it happens ‘yesterday’. When they need to raise them, one gets multiple ‘forewarnings’.
    Just life.

15. Understood NO.

16. can buy or beg the fishermen or fisherwomen.

17. @Hants
    Too slight a title …
    Commander of the Western and Easterb Fleet to be promoted to

Supreme Commander of the Fleet/Lord of the four Zones

18. @ TheOGazerts,

I hope you are not trying to diminish my accomplishments with tour over the top Supreme Commander yada yada yada.

I have the knowledge and experience to qualify as a fishing consultant.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…hope they are paying attention, they are 9,000 THOUSAND people in home isolation…that’s the fallout from ALL THE RECKLESSNESS with snap election….including allowing infected tourists to spread Omicron and its STEALTH without putting systems in place to STOP THEM…

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That 9K number is way higher because FAMILY MEMBERS in the same house will also have to isolate for at least 10 DAYS…

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Mia gets moments of madness, she really has to do her best and try to control them..

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They stopped people who were infected FROM VOTING..

hope everyone is using their BRAINS…even 2 brain cells function and still work…

23. Thanks to William, DPD and Northern for acknowledging that I do have valid points.

I voted DLP right up until they ran Barbados into the ground. For the first time EVER, I felt dejected in Barbados as I waded through the sewage or smelt the stench as when I forgot to shut the window as I drove by. I bought bleach and Jeyes fluid to stave of the stench of two week old garbage outside my door. I felt the anxiety while I awaited my son’s late return from school as I could not transport his bus buddies as well. I scrambled with him to to complete assignments in the few hours before he fell asleep.

The Stuart Administration was disastrous! We who felt it knew it. And so we voted their asses out 30:0.

Now…. imagine if the overseas DLP voters outnumbered the BLP’s in such away that we were stuck with the DLP Disaster Part 2.

Bear in mind that the overseas DLP voters would not have experienced what we experienced and we know that, “He who feels it, knows it”. How many of them, lacking that experience, would have swung Bee or withheld their vote like most of us locals did?

I shudder to think of how we here would have felt that morning.

And the sun would have set quickly on Barbados!

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…no one wants to give big talk now..

have ya ever seen the STEALTH bomber…sure ya have, could not live in US and not seen it somewhere at least once.. well imagine that as a microscopic ball of fat wrappepd up in an invisible package.

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If we didn’t know better we would think that someone has a contract to kill us….or they are PRETENDING TO anyway……The Great Pretenders…

26. William Skinner Avatar

Like I said your idea is indeed very progressive. However, while I do not have a dog in the fight, I think that if we continue to blame the DLP forever, we would end up accepting whatever its twin offers forever.
    I will never accept that collecting garbage; providing water; a proper public transport system are major accomplishments , after I grew up with all of those services in Bim ,being the very best, in the entire Caribbean .
    While Stuart and company were absolute failures and Mottley and company corrected the failures, I just see them as services that both of them allowed to run down for forty or more years. As for the Sewage spill, I encountered it on quite a few occasions when I was home. It seriously affected a business , I am involved in. It was horrible but then again, I don’t think we need to be indebt to the government I pay a whole lot of taxes and employ at least 7 people.
    It’s like people who intend to vote for any DLP government forever because of free education.
    People pay taxes for :bus services; public transportation; garbage collection ; proper water services and sewage . Both of those parties are responsible for not properly maintaining the infrastructure of the country.
    Quite frankly, I was terribly embarrassed, when I listened to Brasstacks and heard people behaving like if their garbage being collected was a monumental achievement. I was glad because at my business place , it was piling up too but I will never thank any government for providing me with services I have paid taxes for and I made that quite clear to the MP for that area.
    One of these days we are also going to wake up and accept the reality of free university education. I am now awaiting the promised education reform. I personally am extremely happy that Mottley has removed Bradshaw from that ministry. She was not a success. Presentation and content are two different things! She andJones along with Mottley have all been poor Ministers of Education.
    We can like it or not but our country needs to wake up from DLP/BLP induced slumber.
    The current fiasco about the attempts to trample the Constitution and the comments I have read here on BU, have convinced me that we are allowing partisan nonsense to color our judgement.
    The entire region needs visionaries and we are going no where very quickly; we either make radical adjustments or we will sink socially, politically and economically.
    For those laughing at the idea of a One Caribbean State, they better call the President of Guyana and try to get some cheap gas prices because a price increase now will be like a punch from Tyson in his prime.
    Stay firm and keep the ideas coming.
    The struggle continues

27. William,

Again I will explain to you that I do not see garbage collection as a major accomplishment.

It was a minor accomplishment that the DLP failed to accomplish!

If you cannot do the basics, what the hell can you do???

I do not care what happened before Mia became PM, the point is that she attacked the minor problems immediately and put them to bed.

Then she restored the university tuition fees and did a lot more besides.

I do not agree with everything she does and indeed I have several beefs with her attitude. And definitely we must watch her carefully.

But at least she is awake enough to know that she has a long way to go before “glory” is in sight.

As opposed to the other folks whose platform proclaimed the glory of shite!

In the few years since May 2018, the DLP has learnt NOTHING!

Therefore the garbage, the shit and the bus blues solved remain winners.

28. @William Skinner “People pay taxes for :bus services; public transportation; garbage collection ; proper water services and sewage.”

Not only do we pay income, property tax and VAT for these services, we pay direct fees as well:
    $93 per year for sewage whether or not hooked up to any public sewage system
    $465 per year for garbage pick-up, even though for years I have sorted and delivered the recyclables to a recycling center myself
    $660 per year for water
    $600 per year for property tax
    $600 per year approximately for VAT. Scared to work out the exact amount of VAT
    And as a senior, income tax any amount over $40,000

So am I going to kiss my MP or my government for providing a garbage bin? Hell no, especially as I already owned a very good covered garbage bin.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They TRICKED yall to get another 5 years and could end up killing a bunch of people, but what do they care…the unvaccinated and those with underlying problems NCDs etc are at high risk….if infection rates climb to anywhere near 100k as it’s doing in other countries the whole healthcare system collapses…

30. I have been following the debate between yourself and BU’s Barbara Cartland, aka, Donna.

I am struggling to understand Donna’s antipathy towards the Bajan diaspora. She appears to be more threatened by their presence and the possibility that they may be allowed to vote in future elections. The threat of a proposed 80,000 immigrants, plus members of their extended families appears not to be on her radar. She appears oblivious to the notion
    how Barbados existing minority communities live autonomously in Barbados free from government interference. Free to act in their own interests which often results in harm to Barbados majority population.

It was not members of the Barbados diaspora who wrecked Barbados economy and sucked the life out of the country and its black majority population. Unless we include Thompson. I am not certain if he came to Barbados as a young boy and became Barbadosed.

There are many following this thread who are shocked with some of the comments espoused. Time for some British diaspora comedy. A programme and a place to whom Miller and a few others would be familiar with.

https://youtu.be/8uAPK7livSY

31. I may be completely wrong but my impression of the DLP is that it is composed of way too many old fashioned misogynists…those men, alas, NOT born of a woman.

That might have been barely tolerated in the time of Erroll Barrow, but Barrow has been dead, dead, dead as a doornail these past 35 years, the DLP needs to kill of their misogyny and come into the light.

32. @Hants
    Here I am trying to boost you up and you see it as an attempt to diminish your reputation.

I will have to rewrite my recommendation.
    Varied and international experience. Experience gathered by fishing in lake, rivers, seas and of course the Atlantic ocean.
    Just show him the water where the fish passed.

If you cannot put in a good word for friend, then your friendship has no real value,

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It was not members of the Barbados diaspora who wrecked Barbados economy and sucked the life out of the country and its black majority population. ”

they don’t want to put the blame where it belongs, you notice they only target those who look like them….i have no tolerance for people like that…lives are now actively at stake with this recent move to do anythign for power and lie to get it…..either get with helping those who are working to reverse these crimes or step aside..

34. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved January 31, 2022 4:41 PM
    “…if infection rates climb to anywhere near 100k…”

What’s an infection rate of 100,000? Please explain. I don’t understand.

35. @David January 31, 2022 1:02 PM “Fishing is not seen as aspirational.”

It is not aspirational because the fisherfolk have already arrived.

I’ve a friend happily married to a fisherman for more than 15 years…I say no more.

Except if a fisher comes courting your daughter or son, open the front door quick, quick,

36. To be eligible to vote in an Ontario election, you must be:
    18 years of age or older;
    a Canadian citizen; and
    a resident of Ontario.
    Source: https://www.elections.on.ca/en/voting-in-ontario.html

37. @ TheOGazerts,

That’s much better. lol

Thank you.

38. UK Parliamentary elections

Across the whole of the UK, to vote in a UK Parliamentary election a person must be must:

be registered to vote in the constituency;
    be of voting age – 18 years old on polling day;
    be either a British, qualifying Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland; and
    Not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote – Peers in the House of Lords, prisoners serving a prison sentence or having been convicted of committing certain electoral crimes.

Source: https://commonslibrary.parliament.uk/research-briefings/cbp-8985/

P.S. I find it interesting that peers, prisoners, and certain convicts are treated the same way.

39. Who can vote in USA elections:
    To vote in U.S. elections, you must be a U.S. citizen, turn 18 on or before Election Day, and meet your state’s residency and registration requirements.
    Who Can Vote?

You can vote in U.S. federal, state, and local elections if you:

Are a U.S. citizen (some areas allow non-citizens to vote in local elections only)

Meet your state's residency requirements

You can be homeless and still meet these requirements. 

Are 18 years old on or before Election Day

In almost every state, you can register to vote before you turn 18 if you will be 18 by Election Day. 

Are registered to vote by your state's voter registration deadline. North Dakota does not require voter registration.

40. Yesterday, Portugal held a general election where the Socialist party triumphed. Those with covid-19 were allowed to vote. The turnout was higher than their previous election.

The Socialists won an outright victory. Unlike the BLP and their supporters they were modest and conciliatory. They made it clear they had a moral duty to defend the interests of democracy and to govern all of its citizens fairly.

41. @ Donna January 31, 2022 2:37 PM

Words of common sense!

Anyone who has lived through the terrible ten years knows what Donna is talking about.

Of course, our current government is not doing everything perfectly.

But at least it has prevented currency devaluation, resurfaced many roads, improved rubbish collection, bought new buses, solved the nasty problem on the south coast and dealt professionally with the volcanic ash, the hurricane and the Corona pandemic.

42. Why is residence verification necessary?

Residence verification is a vital part of ensuring that our voter’s list remains at a very high standard. The law requires that you must vote in the constituency where you reside. Residence verification is our way of ensuring that the address given is really where you reside.
    Source: Electoral Commission of Jamaica

43. You forgot it was a snap election:

Portugal’s PM Costa stuns with majority win in snap election | Reuters

https://www.reuters.com/world/europe/portuguese-go-polls-snap-election-marked-by-covid-uncertainty-2022-01-30/

44. William Skinner Avatar

The Democratic Labour Party is in an absolute state of political decay and has been since the 80s.
    The Barbados Labour Party is also in a state of political decay but it’s not as severe as the DLPs.
    The system right now is being propped up by heavy borrowing. If the tourist industry collapses any further at any time for whatever reason , our country will be buried in an economic calamity from which it would take 50 years to recover.
    Are we going to wake up and confront these issues or pretend that they are non existent?
    Can we honestly say that either the BLP or DLP has done justice to the confidence that we have placed in them since 1966 ?
    This is our third or fourth trip to the IMF under both administrations.
    Where is the Black economic enfranchisement that Dr. Don Blackman spoke of?
    How are we dealing with the white shadows that Comrade Prescod speaks of ?
    Where is the developmental models of either the BLP/DLP ?
    Can anybody on BU explain in simple language what Mottley and Company proposes to do for the country other than ensure that its twin sibling gets two seats in the Upper House.

45. @ 555dubstreet January 31, 2022 11:02 AM “Whites as Settlers…”

The British people liked too much sex. Maybe they still do. All this sexing led to a diaspora of 200,000 Million?

They should have spent more time on their knees…

Praying

46. snap-election???
    But
    “With more than a tenth of Portugal’s 10 million people estimated to be isolating due to COVID-19, the government had allowed infected people to leave isolation and cast ballots in person, and electoral officials donned protection suits in the afternoon to receive them.”

Please don’t tell me about nour covid protocols.

47. “I am struggling to understand Donna’s antipathy towards the Bajan diaspora. She appears to be more threatened by their presence and the possibility that they may be allowed to vote in future elections. The threat of a proposed 80,000 immigrants, plus members of their extended families appears not to be on her radar. She appears oblivious to the notion
    how Barbados existing minority communities live autonomously in Barbados free from government interference. Free to act in their own interests which often results in harm to Barbados majority population.”

Presumably you live in England
    The black immigrant haters on BU live in places where there are immigrants from everywhere and really should know better
    They are ugly and bitter haters

48. @ Cuhdear Bajan January 31, 2022 5:37 PM
    “The British people liked too much sex. Maybe they still do. All this sexing led to a diaspora of 200,000 Million?”

That might be so but they clearly cannot compete with either the Chinese or Indians for the spreading of joy and obeying your Jewish god commandment of being foopful in order multiply.

49. I suspect it was the Blighty British that invented passports and visas shenanigans to stop brown people traveling to conquered lands

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    Sometimes , I’m left to wonder how we can so easily declare a right a benefit. However, I heard Mascoll talk about the millions collected by the sewage taxes, he doesn’t call them taxes but I forget the other word used. Maybe levy.
    I heard on the radio a woman saying how “ grateful “ she was for having water “ for three straight days “ during Christmas.
    How can any self respecting citizen not cringe when we hear , our own people are in glee , at having water they are paying through their noses for.?
    It shows how low the bar is . It shows why politicians can turn up every five years and fool us.
    I ,as a rule don’t share too many personal stories here because I figure we all have similar or different experiences from time to time. There is a bigger picture here that is missing.
    It reminds me of the Joseph Niles spiritual that contains these words: I’ll be happy for the crumbs from the table.
    A culture now embedded in our psyche also comes to mind: little with content is great gain.
    I have never seen poverty marketed so well: I am so happy the pipe water isn’t so brown this morning.
    Imagine a simple truth: Mottley has been in Parliament for nearly 30 years; she has served in every important ministry. She has acted as Deputy Prime Minister but to hear her talk , one would imagine that she just entered Parliament in 2018.
    She pretends that she was totally unaware of all the shit that the country was going through .
    The hard truth is this: whatever this country has gone through in the last 30 years, the good and the bad, her fingerprints are there.
    Whatever mess she cleans up now she owes the people. BLP DLP same shit different day.
    This is the same crap that happened with those who idolized Barrow . He could do no wrong. And he is her political hero. She said he is her “grandfather “. He taught her well ! He went after the constitution. He “ grind” his political opponents too. He too mastered the art of making poverty attractive. He was a genius at appearing benevolent.
    And at the end, after he created the mirror image, he asked: what kind of mirror image we have of ourselves. Mia Mottley is the political reincarnation of Errol Barrow.

Leave a Reply to William SkinnerCancel reply