Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

They came  rejoicing, with some singing the song, “Bringing in the Sheep” as the David Thompson administration honoured its pledge to bring together members of the Barbadian Diaspora – our un-dispossessed flock – every two years. For a government to achieve this within the first half of its term should not be discounted by either our contemporary Diaspora or Barbadians living at home.  It is an important initiative.

It is not the first such Conference. But the others were put together in disparate attempts by individual umbrella groups, often full of their own rivalries and anxieties. I genuinely want to thank the public officers from the Prime Minister’s Office, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and other related offices, including our overseas Missions, for a job well done in 2010. Senator Maxine McClean, take a well-deserved bow!

Of course, for those whose thoughts are only focused on negativity and the election clock, bringing the Barbadian Diaspora together for such an event is merely another example of drift and inaction. For them it happened on auto-pilot! I don’t accept that and I heard, from the outcome, how thrilled many members of our Diaspora are at this new thrust.

This major Diaspora Conference was announced, not as an afterthought, but as a very early critical policy of the new government’s thrust in 2009. What was the significance of this event to our contemporary political development? What is the Barbadian Diaspora? Prime Minister and Minister of Finance David Thompson has redefined this to be much broader and powerful in scope than ever conceived before. His definition includes all those persons, wherever they reside and regardless of birth or association, who have an interest in and are willing to contribute towards the development of Barbados in a coordinated way with the Barbados government. Simply put – Everybody who is helping and can help!

For the past 14 years, he contends, Barbados has been following a policy whereby Barbados was just an economy. All decisions made by the previous administration were predicated simply on their economic value. To them, the Barbadian living overseas was the extent of our Diaspora and its role was confined to the concept of “Returning National” who, after a qualifying period and age was entitled to bring in a duty-free car or two and other duty-free benefits, upon returning home. They were defined by what money they brought home. (It reminded me of that famous Hardwood Housing news clip with the BLP’s Co-leader and Junior Finance Minister Clyde Mascoll telling people “bring yah money and come!”). That was the extent of the Owen Arthur diaspora policy! Full Stop.

Horrendous stories are told of immigration issues, customs problems, port delays, administrative discretions gone haywire and a policy that simply was not working. Simply put, it was predicated on the wrong basis. It was about extracting as much financially from a “returning national” when, if thought through carefully, Barbadians living abroad may be of more help to us by staying there and using their respect, influence, resources, contacts and circle of friends, than coming home. Not that we don’t welcome them a home. This is theirs as well.

Worse than that was the high level of resentment by Barbadians living at home. I like to speak to the past because I truly hope that a new era has emerged to redefine our relationships in our attempt to recast Barbados as a society first!

Barbadians living at home – our agricultural workers, civil servants, professionals, opinion leaders – developed and sustained a pretty heavy blow from all of these returning citizens who, they felt, never paid a cent in local taxes, built huge duty-free houses, drove elegant duty-free luxury vehicles and did not “hide their mouth” about poor service at public facilities, banks and with Attorneys at law! The cultural differences that had developed were obvious.

Because there was no genuine commitment to building a society rather than just an economy, we went off the rails. The same thing happened with our immigration policy. The mad-rush to accommodate the economic factor of cheaper Guyanese labour, rather than to look at how best to build the Caricom society and Barbadian society, led to problems and tensions that David Thompson’s leadership had to grapple with. And he did! And we can start over.

The story of Barbadians – nay I say all Caribbean people – who left this region in the 1950’s Windrush in severe hardship and survived even greater hardship needs to be told. It is now getting voice through new, celebrated fiction writers but more needs to be done to clarify the respect and honour that Caribbean immigrants brought to our region, particularly in the United Kingdom. This will help with greater cohesion in respect of those who have resettled already and will reduce the “us” and “them” tendency.

As to the future? The Barbados Network Database which is, as I understand it, to be a database of our entire Diaspora is critical to moving forward because we need to be able to keep our Diaspora informed of even the most simple developments, activities, opportunities that are taking place in our base. You cannot have a “Barbados brand” and no one to market or promote it. The Barbados brand is not only about selling tourism, investment, rum, spices, special sugars or flying fish. Dr. Basil Springer quite simply and graphically explained, in his own effective way, what this was all about in his column on Monday.

It has much deeper components, all of which can only be spread and shared by “Networkers” and Network cells or organizations that formally and informally use our limited resources to supplement the work of our established institutions.

Developing entrepreneurship is one of the most significant areas in which our Diaspora can be utilized effectively. This is a well-recognised economic fact. The skills and abilities of those imbued with a sense of survival in a hostile economic environment, have to rise above that environment by using highly innovative strategies. And entrepreneurship is at the heart of their survival.

Instead of griping about government expenditure, austerity, edge of an economic abyss, lets incorporate the Hoadian analysis and put our skills and abilities to work in establishing a values-based Barbadian society that incorporates the world! Our Diaspora.

Jamaica has a brand! And they make no sport about that!

The government has to find the best way – informally and cost effectively – to get this process going. It requires a high level of motivation and leadership that I strongly believe we are capable of at this time.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

38 responses to “The Prodigal Sons And Daughters, They Came Rejoicing, With Some Singing, “Bringing In The Sheep””

1. this is bare carp , hartley really scrapping the bottom of the barrel. Hope the society can help pay people bills as there is no need to focus on the economy. This is vote getting shit for the next election.

2. When, of when is Hartley going to just shut up and get lost? I voted D last time, but if I have to put up with any more of the HH BS, I certainly will not be this time.

3. A good initiative but Barbadians and certainly BU will want the fanfare to come when we have some results.

4. Typical of wunnuh bajans at home. Wunnuh never cared one bit about bajans over in away unless one of the 50,000 barrels being sent to Bim yearly is consigned to wunnuh. The BLP exemplified that naked selfserving attitude when they grudingly admitted to the role Bajans in the diaspora played in the economy of Barbados — contrast to Jamaica who celebrate the value its overseas citizen played in their economy. To those of you who like to trumpet the uninformed notion that we over-in-away Bajans have not paid taxes and therefore should not be given any incentives on returning to home, be reminded that , 28,000 bajans were taken of the tax roll by the BLP, and that much larger incentives were given to non-barbadians to come to invest in Barbados. I got my eyes set on St.Lucia should I be blessed to reach the age of retirement.

5. Should that not be “Bringing in the SHEAVES”? Of corn that is, not SHEEP. I am not so sure, though.

6. Oh for crying out loud. Yes Bringing In the Sheaves is a popular hymn used almost exclusively by Protestant Christians. The lyrics were written in 1874 by Knowles Shaw. But corn farming and harvesting in Barbados is not perform in the quantity that it would make sense to most Barbadians. At any rate The Bible is filled with situations and stories about the good shepherd, the Lost Sheep, etc., So that is what I sang…Bringing in the Sheep.

7. @Adrian

You are correct, for some reason Bajans have always been cool on this issue. Doesn’t make since give how many Bajans would have supported families back home and by extension government coffers.

8. QUOTE
    MONEY LINE
    Published on: 1/1/07.

by TONY BEST

BAJANS LIVING and working abroad are proving to be much larger contributors to their island’s economy than was previously known.

According to the World Bank, in 2003 and 2004, remittances to Barbados by overseas Bajans amounted to $444 million (US$222 million) – US$113 million in 2003 and US$109 million the following year.

No figures were available for 2005 and 2006 but experts who tracked the flow of such funds believed the level of remittances to Barbados in the last two years was as high.

This means that remittances from the United States, Canada and Britain in particular might be making a far greater contribution to the country’s economy than was previously acknowledged or reported, possibly as much as $900 million between 2003 and 2006.

Remittances from Barbadians were greater than the money Guyanese and Trinidadians sent back to their respective countries, despite the fact they have much larger migrant communities in major metropolitan cities than Barbados. Guyanese and Trinidadians outnumber Bajans by at least 50 per cent in places like New York, Miami, Boston, Toronto, Montreal, London and Birmingham, according to demographers.

Between 2003 and 2004, Guyanese remitted US$189 million while Trinidadians repatriated US$174 million – eight per cent of Guyana’s economy, but slightly less than one per cent of Trinidad’s.

World Bank data showed that remittances to Barbados skyrocketed from US$38 million in 1990 to US$113 million in 2003, or four per cent of the economy.

The money Bajans remitted in each of the two years, 2003 and 2004, amounted to more than the combined flow of funds from nationals of member-countries of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (US$100 million) – with almost half (US$46 million) going to Grenada.

The World Bank numbers were contained in its Little Data Book 2006.

Like its Caribbean neighbours, remittances to Barbados outstripped foreign direct investment, “net inflows”, by at least two to one. Foreign direct investment totalled US$108 million in 2003-04. In Jamaica’s case, it was almost three to one.

The exception was Trinidad and Tobago where foreign investment reached US$1 billion in 2004, an increase of almost US$200 million over 2003’s net flow.

Barbados’ remittances paled in comparison with those of both Haiti and Jamaica. Between 2003 and 2004, said the World Bank, Jamaica received more than US$3 billion; while Haitian immigrants injected about US$1.8 billion or 22 per cent of GDP, up from US$61 million in 1990.

9. Here it is. I was the first person to point to the information held by the UN. Yet we had a Government concentrating on denying a Doctor his Mercedes benz, and accusing returning nationals of abusing the sytem.

Here it is a people in the diaspora facing the brunt of institutional racism, a hostile people and envoirnment, still committed to family to the tune of a possible 900 million dollars in one year.

Here it is, the answer to the selling off of Bajan land to non-barbadians to prop up an economic policy of foreign direct inflows. You bajans on the rock frown on this Owen Arthur approach but seemingly agreed with him on turning your back on a Bajan diapora solution. Well not turn your backs because Arthur and his government attempted to have their cake and eat it at the sametime. They attempted to
    1: continue with their FDI policy
    2: Turn their backs on Barbadians wanting to return
    3: Attempted to get their hands on Bajan remittances by marketing a campaign to the diaspora of turning away from remittances to investments. In other words they wanted our money but not us, while they welcome others of all kind.

I have been lambasted over the years for my views on this subject. One person told me that my love and allegiance to the US could backfire as they could send me packing back to Barbados. It was a clear indication of this persons view that either all bajans in the diaspora are their illegally (incidently this argument is use to justify illegal immigration in Barbados) or that inspite of regularize status (nataralize citizenship) that it can be revoked willy nilly and we would have to return home. I told this individual that I had thought long and hard about the decision to become a US citizen that I understood the law in detail and that why his opinions were totally without merit, that I found US citizenship to be better decision not only for myself but for my country, and I use the groups as the jewish lobby, the Cuban voting bloc etc as best practices for Caribbean countries to encourage and mobalize as part of their foreign policy. Almost ten years ago. I could be very late to say don’t get me started LOL!

10. @ Adrian ,the truth hurts . I am not so sure if the treatment of who is now termed, “Returning National” is any better in St Lucia, as this rejection of our people who have lived outside appears to be a united Caribbean thing.
    Hartley Henry is right,its “Bringing in the Sheep”, or to put it another way, “Lambs to the Slaughter”,because as soon as the politicians get their mileage out of these returnees, they will drop them like a hot brick.
    Remember when the Government had set up a unit, to deal with the returnees called Facilitation Unit for Returning Nationals:FURN. Successive governments have maintained the first two letters when their mileage is up.

11. @Bosun:
    No expectations of acceptance from me. I am a foreigner in the US and would be one in St. Lucia, I will not be one in Barbados, nor beg for acceptance, at home. In addition, I have longe adopted and the practice that how I spend my money and with whom matters.

12. @Adrian. Bajans have yet to realise that while they are busy driving a wedge between themselves and “Returning Nationals”,that the ‘real foreigners’ are slipping through that opening and making a name for themselves.But they do not seem to mind.
    Check the pic of the Subway opening in one of today’s papers. The opening was not advertised, but Bajans were there lining up before the doors were opened.

13. @ David
    Seems to me like he meant to say………..”bring on the fatted calves” while sharpening his knife! 🙂

14. another bunch a shite from the author
    calling it crap is an insult to crap

15. @de hood

You have to admit both political parties feel and obligation to feed their calves, often at great expense to the treasury. Even now in the economic conditions DLP supports can be found employed in government agencies doing nothing. The same would easily be true if the BLP were in office. Some parts of our system which are very sick.

16. Bringing in whatever works! Before it was the illegals. Now it is the Dispora ! Government like to use people only when it benefits them . When things were going well no one gave a second thought about Bajans abroad but now they desperately need them to help prop up the economy they acting as if they really care. If all this concern was done before it would appear genuine. it really makes me wonder! Btw they also try selling off the land to foreigners that too was to be in the best interest of the country.

17. @De hood
    Bu sent yuh birthday wishes on yuh birthday. Guess yu was too busy to respond!

18. @ac .The government is like our local hoteliers. When their hotel are well patronised by visitors,from outside, they have no time for locals, But when business starts dropping off ,they then begin to shout, “Staycation”,and trying to woo the same locals.
    Reminds me of a story of a Bush Hill operator, ” I can’t stand the smell of him,but in the morning when business is slow, I need the lil dollar”

19. I believe that David Thompson is sincere in his out reach to the Diaspora.
    I wrote the following in 2005
    QUOTE (Adrian @ Feb 14 2005, 11:03 AM)
    You don’t have to agree. I can recount my own feelings towards Overseas bajans before becoming one, and i am not suggesting that some of these ill feelings are not the fault of overseas bajans, in many cases they are, but it becomes a problem when a broad bush is use when dealing with anyone of us. Some of us haven’t done anything to deserve the treatment meated out to us.
    I do agree that the system needs overall, a clear and definitive policy should be in place and i am also with you that the process should involve the consulate in their respective country of residence.
    Here are some of my concerns; there is a sence of “doing us a favour” the GoB as intimate such; there is some ambivilance towards the whole process given the many changes to the process; and i believe that these changes came about by the many complaints from Barbadians concerning the concessions offord to us. Not enough is mentioned about the importance of the Overseas bajan to the economy of Barbados, such can help in bringing about an understanding as to why the GoB of Barbados has embarked on a national policy of encouraging the RN back to Barbados. Do you believe that those RN who abuse the system and as a result contributed to a loss in revenue to Barbados, out weights or any way rivals the net receipts of remittances and other forms of revenue Our economy recieves from them?

The average barbadian can recite the problems with the RN policy. Very few can state any knowledge of the positive results of such a policy, and i no longer have to ask why that is.

It is no longer amazing to me why so much concern has been brougth to bare on this issue were the negatives are totally outnumbered by the positives, and other issues, that have becomes almost impossible to find any positives continue unabaited for want of attention.

I still don’t see a reason to change my opinion that our money is welcome but not us, and that we are only appreciated when we are needed to procure something not readily available or is a bit to expensive in Barbados.

B.T.W i got a couple of hardly used 20 gig hard-drives, anybody want them?

20. FINANCIAL STATEMENT
    AND
    BUDGETARY PROPOSALS
    PRESENTED
    BY
    HON. DAVID THOMPSON

Diaspora
    This leads me to the second important role of the Council.
    We need, as a matter of urgency, to restore the relationship between
    us and the tens of thousands of Barbadians living overseas. My
    administration views the diaspora as an integral part of the
    economic, social and cultural development of Barbados and is
    determined to create a comprehensive strategy for engaging them.
    The original Charter for Returning Nationals, building on the policy
    established by the Democratic Labour Party in 1991, set in place a
    series of concessions to encourage Barbadians abroad to resettle
    here on retirement.
    This has been fraught with bureaucratic complexity and the absence
    of a clear legal and institutional framework to manage and coordinate
    the interests of nationals who return to Barbados. Many have become
    disillusioned and frustrated and have dissuaded others from
    returning.
    The loss of revenue from the duty free importation of one motor car
    per household is miniscule compared to the enormous contribution
    which our overseas citizens can make to national development
    through their remittances; their support of local products in the
    external market; their volunteerism and philanthropy towards the
    disadvantaged and their advocacy on behalf of Barbados’ vital
    interests in their adopted communities.
    Remittances from overseas Barbadians have grown from $64 million
    in 1992 when the policy started to $263 million in 2006. Their
    investment has created jobs, new housing, as well as business. Many
    of these contributions also come from Barbadians who may never
    return to Barbados permanently and therefore our policy is flawed if
    it only offers concessions and opportunities for those who have
    returned.
    The following will be done:
    1. Establish a Unit for Overseas Barbadians called Barbados
    NetWork;
    2. Review the incentives given with a view to enhancing them and
    removing some unnecessary restrictions including those relating
    to the condition of returning to Barbados;
    3. Create a Bond to encourage the investment of foreign
    exchange by Barbados NetWorkers;
    4. Develop a comprehensive Barbados NetWorkers Data Bank;
    5. Host a Biennial Barbados NetWork Consultation starting next
    year following on the National Organisation of Barbadian
    Organisation Conference of Overseas Barbadians in Barbados
    this month.

21. The policy itself is a good one . However the timing is in suspect. When one has good intentions they should show them before the house goes on fire. Governments must not treat its citizenry as fools.

22. To be fair to the government getting closer to the Diaspora is something they heralded on the campaign trail.

23. Saying is what politicians do ! they all say what they are going to do when running for office .However it always take a crisis of some sort before they take action and this is seemingly the case. My point being if only these same policies were implemented at a earlier time they surely would be no reason to question .

24. The government has been in office just over two years. The recession dropped in their laps from the get go.

25. A lot more on this issue could have been done two years ago . Just imagine what would have been accomplished if the goverment had been more proactive and determined on this issue. Right now the government has a lot of catching up to do in order to produce meningful results. Maybe it is too little too late. Time lost is impossible to recover.

26. True but bear in mind projects always require time to mobilize. Let us see how Barbadians in the Diaspora answer their country’s cry.

27. Again we are back to “Time” is always of the essence and the government can least afford to waste any of it. They should know and understand the working life of a politician is a short one and getting things done as soon as possible should be a major priority. Time can also be unforgiven in the political arena.

28. David Thompson’s approach was well intentioned. He wanted to reach the Diaspora through the various Bajan organizations closest to the people. We saw the outcome of one such venture with the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO). The DLP has now sought to do what they should have done from the beginning and what I would have suggested, which is to lead and organize from in front via the embassies and council offices throughout the Diaspora. The Bajans over in away will rally once it is the government leading the initiative.

29. @ac | August 20, 2010 at 7:28 PM |

@De hood
    Bu sent yuh birthday wishes on yuh birthday. Guess yu was too busy to respond!
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Hi ac,
    I did not see the comment with the b’day greetings. Yuh would know that if I had seen it I woulda responded immediately.

Anyhow, many thanks to all at BU for their best wishes. Must report it was an enjoyable day ( even fuh ah ole man like moi.
    Regards,
    de hood. 🙂

30. @Adrian Hinds
    The Bajans over and away will rally once it is the government leading the initiative.
    At this point and time the government does not have a leader. What rally?
    IN order to get the message going forward their must be a messenger and some one they can trust and respect. The overseas bajans are sosphiscated and know when they are being tricked.

31. @ac,
    Overseas Bajans will continue to do what we have always done. Support Barbados.
    This initiative by the Government will give us more options and opportunities to invest in Barbados.
    Most of us are aware that we have to be careful when doing business in Barbados. We are well aware that we must avoid Lawyers as much as we can and keep our money in the Banking system even if it cost more.

One of the biggest impediments to Barbadians investing and doing business in Barbados is the legal system.At least among the Bajan Canadians I socialise with there is the perception that Lawyers in Barbados are a “problem”.

Overseas Bajans will invest their money and time in Barbados but not “with our eyes wide shut”.
    Untimately it is up to us to look after ourselves and our money. Gone are the days when Overseas Bajans casually placed their hard earned money in Lawyers trust accounts.
    Yes ac, dinner at fancy restaurants does not impress enough to make us place our money with a Lawyer instead of in our own account in a Bank where we can monitor it even if we live in Timbuktoo.

32. Facts - "...bring in the "sheep" Avatar
    Facts – “…bring in the “sheep”

I might be wrong, but should’nt it be “bringing in the SHEAVES”?
    SHEEP?????

33. @hants
    The support for ones country as an individual is not of question. The question is whether the oversees bajan would jump at the opportunity poised to them by government as such as would require them to relocate back to their homeland to reap required benefits. Would they trust the government enough to make such a decision.e.g in areas where they skilled would be knowledgeable in the job market and that would also benefit them in getting a job in barbados

34. @ac,
    There are opportunities for some returning Bajans.
    For example some of us could return to Barbados and continue to work for Clients in North America and Europe.
    We could employ Bajans to do some of our work. That has been my plan.

This is not about trusting the Government. It is about Bajans deciding to return home and Government making the process less complex.
    It is about Bajans returning to share their knowledge and expertise instead of waiting till they retire.
    It is about Bajans returning to continue working and making money and enjoying the land of our birth.

Most of my Bajan friends have stayed in Canada because their children were born here and the children prefer to live in North America.
    Now that the children have grown up we almost ready to return.At least I planning to return (before the next election).

35. Yes !speaking indivually and one who has a goal in mind that is admiral . However when a government has set out to incite people who has not given a thought to such a notion as uprooting their lives the government has to prove itself trust worthy in order for one to make a sensible decision. No one is going to gve up what they have for what they might have.

36. @ac,
    Unless you have no skills, education or money, Barbados is just as good for a Bajan to do business as it is in North America.
    For some it is a better place to do business than where they live.

Regardless, You really think that we overseas Bajans are going to sell all we got and move back to Barbados to start businesses or invest our hard earned money?
    Most Returning Nationals keep some of their assets in the countries they are leaving.

This is the year 2010. There are planes and there is the Internet.
    We can live and work in more than one country as long as we have the ability to “walk and chew gum at the same time” lol.

I say the Goverment is making it easier for us to be part of the Barbados economy.
    Some of us have assets that are “dormant” that can be used to make us money and possibly help the Barbados economy.

Ask GP. Overseas Bajans have learned to acquire and Manage their assets. We are not giving up anything ac. We will be making money in Barbados but we will keep a “nest egg” safely outside of Barbados.

37. Hants
    I was willing to return in January 2008 to fix health. BBut I am now glad they didnt fart on me. Cause I’d be frustrated drawing a salary for doing nothing; cause these people are not capable of discernment. The only benefit to me would have been to be with my mom and my grands.

38. How much more lotta long talk will we be consuming this Crop Ova man?
    Ever heard about striking when the iron HOTT ?……Now that Alvin Cummings and somo the resta diaspora posse are here … now is a good time to launch the much last talked about the multiple incentives plan… offering the status of ” Honorary Bajan” whereas the newly honored will pay in a small yearly contribution ..and have a barrage of envied privileges bestowed….or was that bare talk