A week after the snap general election and no surprise, Prime Minister Mottley continues to suck the air out of the local, regional and to a lesser extent the international news space. As if a second 30-0 shellacking for opposition parties wasn’t enough and a new look Cabinet, her recommendation to appoint teenager Khaleel Kothdiwala to the Upper House has blown up news streams on traditional and social media.

An observation of the Barbados landscape in recent years has been the dominant personality of Mia Mottley as leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). In contrast the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) -the other major political party- competed with late Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and of recent Verla De Peiza who both possess seemingly introverted personalities. 

The blogmaster does not have to analyze numbers to understand the psyche of the Bajan voter. We prefer alpha personalities to lead the country. Stuart through happenstance was an outlier who benefited from a sympathy vote commingled with the cuhdere mentality of Barbadians that a government deserves a second term. We can only speculate if the late David Thompson would have been able to overcome the stink of CLICO to breathe fire into the party.

Of immediate concern to civic minded citizens has been the inability of a political opposition to favourably appeal to the electorate in two recent general elections -not to forget the by election in St. George North. Political parties although private entities decisions made have national significance. The resignation of Verla De Peiza with immediate effect has ensured the DLP’s voice will be less credible in the Barbados space for at minimum the next three months – a special conference is scheduled to filled the leadership role in the party. It does not help with the rebuild of DLP’s image that the interim President is Steve Blackett, a member of Stuart’s Cabinet and willing participant on the platform of that infamous Waterford Stadium political meeting. 

A surface scan of DLP actors serves up slim choices to lead the party at a critical juncture. The task to rebuild the party and at the same time be a strident opposition voice is a gargantuan one. On the weekend a suggestion was made by Hartley ‘Kingmaker’ Henry the DLP should look to the diaspora for candidates to lead. On the current political trajectory unless there is a catastrophic occurrence the DLP can anticipate another defeat in five years.

On the assumption the DLP will struggle to regain relevance in the eyes of the electorate in five years, what does it portend? A splinter of the party if old heads continue to make it difficult for the DLP to reimagine itself? A credible third party made up of disaffected members from the BLP and third parties?

Interesting times ahead.

There is the national debate about the new Constitution to come. It is evident based on the results of two recent general elections, there is a lacuna to be addressed.

208 responses to “DLP in Drift Mode”

1. On point and enough said.

Now to find the solution.

2. If Mia is deemed popular
    then DLP could have talked about their own policies
    instead of attacking Mia
    they lost every seat due to a poor weak campaign

3. Some free advice for the DLP, identify 2 or 3 intelligent members to intelligently contribute on social media platforms. The old talking heads are not cutting it.

4. One of the assumptions being made is that the BLP will run like a well oiled machine during the coming years. Autocratic and despotic tendencies may become the fly in the ointment.

The slick KK move may very well upst someone who has been toiling in the vineyard for years and feel unrewarded and unrecognized.

If rumors pre-election were correct, then rather than pronounce the DLP dead and with no chance of resurrection, I will sit and wait for the inevitable implosion elsewhere.. it is coming.

5. Mia is a master at the quick and short game. We saw that she abandoned the long game after 3.5 years and called for a reset.

I would not put it past her to try this trick again, but hopefully the public is wise enough to realize that new promises mean nothing if the old ones are unfulfilled. Issuing new checks and not honoring the old ones is fraud.

Fool me once, shame on you.. fool me twice

6. Let the. Sit and wait. It has served well so far.

7. It is difficult for DLP to criticise BLP and vice versa as they are mirror images of each other
    It is better to be positive and constructive like reggae

8. Mia did not abandon. She went for strategy to give her time to lay out a plan, one that has started to show and we will see more in the weeks and months ahead. Try not to be naïve.

9. Tell the blog what happens if the BLP Miss-steps and the DLP is in shambles? The business of representing people should not be a zero sum business. This is how we have been manipulated to think in our adversarial form of government. Something a new constitution should address?

10. 😃
    Try not to gulp.

11. Last week, Barbados chose Mia from that day forward for 1,826 more, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, and her next contract renewal will be up again in 5 years max.

so if Bajans are worse, poorer or sicker in their future reality they may or may not vote for the next option depending on how they flex

12. Some here think that the DLP could be reformed or rid of the old guard. A denazification, so to speak. But historical examples prove that this is not possible at all. Today, there is no longer the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, the National Socialist Workers’ Party or the Imperial Rule Assistance Association.

The DLP cannot change because it is the DLP. The criminality, rudeness and bad behaviour of the lower class is part of its indelible DNA.

People, finally realise that the DLP is finished. Any attempt to give the DLP a voice in the Senate will only increase the citizens’ anger at this syndicate. Any declaration of solidarity by the DLP grandees with Donville Inniss will intensify the anger of honest citizens who suffered economically from 2008 to 2018 while the DLP grandees bathed in gold.

13. Quick Note to the blogmaster
    Let the dlp drift that is their Constitutional right please

14. Running a Country is more than passing an interview it is about doing a job and working harder to get better
    DLP have been unemployed for a long time which serves them right as the country has been broke pocket

15. David BU u have been designated to become the next leader of the DLP
    How is that for breaking all Dlp records
    BTW u have my vote

16. DLP in Coma Mode Critical Condition Suicide Watch Receiving Last Rites

17. RELEASE
    “The breeze of grace is always blowing;
    set your sail to catch that breeze.
    Ramakrishna “

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BuI
    I notice that you have retrieved your red shorts. Take the lead from your leader and be magnanimous in her victory. There is nothing wrong with a losing political party going into a coma. I think it needs to go into retreat and do some serious self examination.To use two cliches they need to redefine and re-engineer the party for the third decade in the secound millennium in the Common Era.
    Like you, the rank in file is looking for a charismatic leader. That concept of leadership’s shelf life expired with David Thompson. Understanding of the present environment and what the people want to achieve are important going forward. Charismatic leaders are imbued with wisdom that the Electorate believes he has and are therefore prepared to follow like sheep. Do you think that the majority of voters in this millennium are sheep?
    Yes , some of us need to wheel and come again.

19. @Vincent

Why if the blogmaster post an opinion there has to be a political label? Did you observe during the just concluded campaign the blogmaster did support any party in blogs? Challenge the blogmaster on the merits.

20. All Mia has to do is listen to the people for guidance

but not the stupid people
    the super intelligent ones
    are much wiser

21. This politics thing must be addictive, just when I thought that Estwick would hang up his boots he said he was interested in the Presidency of the DLP

22. Like

SargeantJanuary 26, 2022 12:03 PM

This politics thing must be addictive, just when I thought that Estwick would hang up his boots he said he was interested in the Presidency of the DLP

Xxxccc
    Heard the dlp sent some one to buy a heavy duty muzzle

23. One more Minister added to the list. How many more during the next five. It’s one thing to claim “many hands make light work”, but did the electorate vote for candidates to “work light”? Ministerial government has evolved into the same animal as the public service – employ as many as you can and let the tax payers find the funds to cover the bill. Efficiency be gone. We sit idly by without protest. Will this be the same if another administration decided that the number of ministries should be doubled in pursuit of efficiency? Because we voted for the only real game in town does not mean that we are obliged to remain silent for five years.

24. You know a man is real bad when he can make 30 afraid of him…
    Senator Franklin????

25. Fear play

efficiency? Because we voted for the only real game in town does not mean that we are obliged to remain silent for five years
    Xxxxc
    Hush do
    Steupse

26. @FearPlay

Why are you buying into political rhetoric? The prime minister has the job of keeping her team happy, political survival.

27. Why has interim president Steve Blackett responded in so aggressive a manner to the offer from PM Mottley of two seats in the Upper House? Whether the offer comes from the PM or President is potato potahto. He could have said as he has already the DLP is open to the offer once the opportunity is properly implemented.

#silly

28. DavidJanuary 26, 2022 1:49 PM

Why has interim president Steve Blackett responded in so aggressive a manner to the offer from PM Mottley of two seats in the Upper House? Whether the offer comes from the PM or President is potato potahto. He could have said as he has already the DLP is open to the offer once the opportunity is properly implemented.

#silly
    Xxxxc

Oops David I retract that offer for u to be the Dlp leader
    U have now been officially demoted to be the Speech Writer

29. DavidJanuary 26, 2022 1:39 PM

@FearPlay

Why are you buying into political rhetoric? The prime minister has the job of keeping her team happy, political survival

Xxxccc
    So happy that she got them Swearing in
    Another bad word with a spiteful emphasis attached

30. William Skinner Avatar

The public purse has just been asked to pay $1700 per month more to each of 5 Senior Ministers that’s about $8500. and now we here advocating that 2 more Senators from a rejected party be paid by the taxpayers.
    The PM had no right committing the taxpayers to this madness. Unless the President can make such a call that is actually constitutional, the DLP should not accept or be given any damn free ride at the public‘s expense.
    These crocodile tears about democracy is all BS.
    We had elections the people have voted and they made their voices clear.
    If the president can’t do it and the constitution does not provide for it. It should not be blasted masqueraded as that’s what or how we are.
    The PM said there is an ongoing investigation into the high class corruption of the same party she now wants to be magnanimous to. Pure Duopoly BS.

31. @ David

Did you read what Guy Hewitt had to say?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/25/facing-the-hard-truths-head-on/

32. Dem corn cobs going bust ur butt

33. @Artax

Yes, believe the link was posted earlier today. It was a rehash of what he said in his leadership challenge to Verla. The addon was his comment about Stuart which sensible agree with.

34. @ Artax January 26, 2022 4:19 PM

The pastor had best return to London, where he lived in luxury with his white friends during the blue terror. Did he take care of the impoverished black masses on the island? No, of course not. He is a typical pompous Third World politician.

The pastor uses transparency and democracy only as text modules, empty and absolutely without content. His party refused to pass the anti-corruption bill in the Senate and to this day has not distanced itself from Donville Inniss.

35. @Artax

What is your opinion to Mottley’s directive to her MPs they have to report twice a year to their constituents in a public place and spend x time in the constituency? It seems redundant if that is what an MP is supposed to do?

36. ArtaxJanuary 26, 2022 4:19 PM

Did you read what Guy Hewitt had to say?
    Xcccc
    No ..is he still relevant
    The elections over

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@ac @Tron
    I didn’t know you two were so closely aligned. This from a BT editorial.

And now, some 67 years after Mr Barrow’s departure from the BLP, the claim is being validly made that the imperishable legacy of Errol Walton Barrow has found a place of honour and respect in Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s BLP.

Of course, the foundation of this claim is that on Tuesday 13th August 2013, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – under the leadership of then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart – callously dismantled Mr. Barrow’s great social achievement of free University education. And that Prime Minister Mottley – on the other hand – dutifully rescued Mr Barrow’s legacy and restored free University education on the red letter day of Tuesday 26th June 2018. So in a very real sense, Mr. Barrow – or at least Mr. Barrow’s legacy – has come home to the great man’s initial political home – the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Similarly, the post of General Secretary of the BWU has come back to its original position of strength and influence both in the BLP Parliamentary party and in the House of Assembly! And anyone who doubts the significance of that development need only go and re-read the opening paragraph of this article and its impressive list of historic labour achievements. It is clear beyond the shadow of a doubt that, with Ms. Toni Moore MP strategically present in both the BLP Parliamentary party and in the House of Assembly, the original BLP/BWU partnership has been reconstituted and is already doing important work for and on behalf of the Barbadian working cla

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

The old film says Ms Innes was to have her extradition hearing about now?

39. @NO

What are you hearing?

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

Natta.
    I “think” Hants found the info originally.
    It’ll be Federal Court. I’ll have to check.

41. @ David January 26, 2022 5:12 PM

While reading your comment, paragraph one, on page 48 of the DLP’s 2008 manifesto immediately came to mind.

“A policy of formal reporting by parliamentarians to constituents on stewardship and issues affecting the constituencies.”

Why would any PM have to issue a verbal directive to MPs requiring them to report to their constituents and spend time in the constituency…… or a political party making the requirement an ‘election promise’ in its manifesto…….

…….. when those are duties they’re obligated to perform on a regular basis?

Isn’t that among some of the reasons why they have constituency offices?

Mere political grandstanding. The PM has essentially related an obligation to government policy-making as distinguished from what should be the norm.

42. The fact of the matter is that the DLP is confident that they have as their executive branch the most intelligent brains in this
    country. You struggled to secure a box, much less a seat in your strongest ridings back in 2018, then return in large parts to the same playbook .How do you not recognize
    an obvious disconnect between your base and yourself? Your ass was again handed to you a few days ago, and he who led
    your disastrous campaign is now the face of your franchise. Sorry but pomposity is what an already turned off audience hears
    and sees. Let a fresh face say exactly what Steve Blackett said and bet your last dollar……it resonates better with John Public.

43. @ David

I found Guy Hewitt’s following comments very interesting.

“The DLP has been plagued by a series of leadership crises since the death of Errol Barrow. The formation of the NDP, the no-confidence motion and the subsequent snap-election, the rise of ‘Owen-Dems’ and the politics of inclusion, the ‘Eager Eleven’ and the 2018 routing, reflects a failure to appreciate that leadership is an action, not just a position.”

If you were to read my January 24, 2022 10:35 AM contribution to the “Did Many Hands Make Light Work” blog, you’ll notice I made a similar observation.

44. @Artax

It is a comment we have heard before that since Barrow’s death the DLP has struggled.

45. I thought I heard the PM say that MP’s would have to spend ½ day each week meeting with their constituents which has me wondering how the super Ministers will be able to meet that target, unless some are more equal than others.

46. The SOEs were also directed to complete audited financials.

47. @Artax
    “Let a fresh face say exactly what Steve Blackett said and bet your last dollar……it resonates better with John Public”

Simple free and sound advice my brother/sister

48. @David
    “What is your opinion to Mottley’s directive to her MPs they have to report twice a year to their constituents in a public place and spend x time in the constituency? It seems redundant if that is what an MP is supposed to do?”

More smoke and mirrors just like amending the law of the land to allow an 18 year old. Every action by MaM is calculated with a perception or political goal. Let’s see if any will be held accountable when they don’t do it.

And by the way, that was a David Thompson initiative in 2008. Much like how the “local government” is a rebranding of the Constituency Councils. Much like how Damien Griffith was appointed as the youngest Senator. Much like how Thompson reorganised the Cabinet in MArch 2010.

Whether most want to admit it or not, with Hartley Henry in tow MaM is really David 2.0. Would have loved to see them go head to head but clearly the Grand Architect had other plans.

Just observing

49. In election coverage pundits talk about swings as people tend to vote the same but there are trends of changes in voting patterns which build up momentum. Barbados has swung BLP and DLP will need some big swings in every region to become a force again.