The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in a surprising result won all 30 seats again in a snap election called 18 months before constitutionally due by Mia Mottley.

In the coming weeks there will be robust debate about how our democracy optimally serves Barbadians with a muted dissenting voice. One may argue a healthy democracy requires a strident dissenting voice. Barbados is traveling an uncharted path given the 2018 and 2022 general election results and BELOW 50% turnout (anecdotal). In the coming weeks our attention will turn to government’s management of COVID 19, the economy, the health of political opposition and a few other key issues.

Whither the political opposition?

The blogmaster congratulates the BLP on the win and offers the advice – to whom much is given, much is expected.

493 responses to “BLP Win 30-0, Again”

1. Wasn’t that concession made? The substantive point is that the PM did nothing illegal.

2. William Skinner January 21, 2022 12:56 AM #: “Until we properly market the concept of Caribbean unity to our youth, the effort would continue to look futile.”

@ Mr. Skinner

I agree.

But, first, we must start by addressing the manner in which our regional organisations and institutions are managed.

Let’s look at cricket in the region, for example. Cricket in each Caribbean territory is administered by its individual association. I remember a time when cricket was played in the gap, school grounds or on any vacant lot and pasture.
    You may have probably seen how enthusiastic our primary school students are about the game, when matches from inter-school tournaments are televised during CBC TV ‘Sports News.’
    There was also a time when teams from certain secondary schools played ‘first division’ cricket. Nowadays, there is a ‘first division’ school team comprising players from different secondary schools.
    Some of these youngsters aspire to play cricket for Barbados and ultimately, the West Indies.

When these aspiring youth observe the level of insularity exhibited by members of territorial cricket boards, for example, who believe the West Indies team should be either be dominated by players or captained by a someone from their territory……
    …… or, when the coach, team captain, manager are from a particular island, how the team is usually comprised of cricketers from that island……
    …… or, when CWI selectors ignore fit and ‘in form’ cricketers to issue medical exemptions to unfit, ‘out of form’ players so as to justify their selection……
    …… or, even insularity at the CWI level……… events that has been occurring for SEVERAL YEARS, do you believe they (the youth) will readily embrace Caribbean unity?

We witnessed insularity by Gaston Browne and his blatant refusal to work with the other regional shareholder governments, led to the ultimate destruction of LIAT.

Insularity forced UWI’s administration to open a campus in Antigua. Also, several Caribbean governments are indebted to the UWI.

Three (3) CARICOM Ambassadors could not convince successive T&T governments to negotiate a fishing agreement.

And, these are just a few examples. Under these circumstances, it will require a monumental effort “to market the concept of Caribbean unity.”

3. It’s uphill, but I have the energy

I am not claiming that the PM did anything wrong or right. I am advancing an argument that the outcome could have been different if all were allowed to vote.

Other countries successfully conducted their election and allowed covid infected person to vote. We have seen the current administration make legal changes at a frenetic pace when it was in their interest to do so.

Here it may be just as simple as the ECB following their own rules, but should we rule out the possibility that some thought went into the decision.

It may have been quite legal but that does not remove the possibility that it was a political calculation. Denying people the opportunity to vote should not be taken lightly.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    I was asked a question by @David and I gave an answer from my own political development. I don’t know how Barrow or Grantley Adams could have done what they did without some ideological or philosophical underpinnings. I think they used to be called Fabian Socialists / Social Democrats or similar followers.
    You asked me about Richie Haynes ,I can’t speak for his ideology but it appeared to be that of a social Democrat.
    Your philosophical position seems to be that it is so and so it is expected to remain. There is a term for it but it escapes me at the moment. I am a traditional socialist who believe in the state control of all state assets such as land and other productive sectors. . Some say I am a communist. I have no problem with that. However, I know that neither of the two are attractive in these times.
    I am also an unrepentant regionalist.I hope you will conclude from my answer to @ David, that I was being extremely subjective. While I have a very deep admiration for your obviously alert intellect, I can assure you that I am not inclined to desert my deepest convictions because they appear to be unpopular.
    Finally any politician who has no philosophical or ideological moorings will function as nothing more than exactly that and behave identical to that emptiness.
    However, I must admit that you always give me food for thought. You are easily one of the sharpest tools in the shed.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, no one disputes the thesis re covid votes so no challenge.. The possibility of votes going to Lashley would be based on real world statistical modelling so yes he actually had a good probability of winning! ….
    The ENTIRE problem raised here (long before the balloting day) was the ABSURDITY that the DLP which had the most to ‘lose’ (gain) from the covid issue NEVER initiated a legal challenge… more pertinently this guy Lashley was running against a newly installed candidate… so despite his baggage he had a higher probability chance than others (maybe Estwick) to pull off a victory.

They did NOTHNG…. So any talk now is more absurdity…. Let me put your remarks into the perspective that he likely could be LoO (1 of 1 ) or Deputy (1of2) … That’s how significant of a chance he let slip.

There is NO WAY that Barrow, Tom, Owen , Richie and definitely not Mia would have allowed that covid isolation issue to dribble along as it did… NO WAY! That was egregious political malpractice … ABSURDLY so!
    At minimum the PR from the court battle (win or lose) would have generated excitement and provided a platform to cry voter suppression, no true concern for all Bajans and all that attention grabbing political verbiage.

Do any of us doubt for a moment that when the PM decided to call the election and considered TIMING that this Errol Barrow Day sumptuously shellacking victory holiday repast didn’t cause a big gleeful smile to break out across her face!

A seasoned, ruthless pro dealing with inept, abjectly puerile opponents!

I just don’t understand why this ineptitude has take taken root in the DLP! …. @Donna said he (and they) didn’t deserve her vote…. I agree with her completely!

6. Notice that I quietly agree. Yo have taken it where I was planning to go… LoO, but I was having to fight every inch of the road.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    I think it’s a crisis in leadership. Your posit re: our cricket is a profound analogy. Our television, governments’ social media and school curriculum need to make a very determined effort to educate and explain the reason for CARICOM and what it was created to do; what it has done , what it is doing and what it can do.
    I have been basically laughed at on BU whenever this topic is raised but as I told @ Donna, my eyes have been further opened by a highly placed technocrat within in CARICOM, who explained that the level and importance of cooperation within CARICOM members, is like a one big secret.
    We are losing a whole lot of time because we are not using available tools to promote regional unity. When we had the Federation, most of us did not even have telephones. Today three year old children can navigate google.
    That shows how inept we have been in pushing progressive regional unity.
    To this day, I can’t understand why all of these leaders could not keep one airline in the air. I still can’t understand why we don’t have a modern ferry service between the islands.
    We have work to do. Great post !

8. And Barbados elected to go another way so?

9. @William

It maybe a deep penetration of foreign values. The Caribbean you grew up and continue to romanticize is no more.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, I graciously accept all compliments…but the last time I was complimented here …oh boy, I then got lambasted by some good ‘friends’… so send any compliments by ‘bat signal’ or telepathy next time…thanks 😊

I am not trying to change YOUR political ideology and neither am I suggesting that “it is so and so it is expected to remain” … status quo, maybe… on the contrary. I merely offer that I have not seen any of our leaders shift away from that ‘social democrats’ label you noted. As you know well BOTH parties evolved from the working class struggles and whereas we often tended to associate the BLP (in my youth anyhow) with the corporate set, that was not as restrictive or controlling as people believed and too the DLP also had its corporate sponsors.

That’s all I was getting to really…. And yes communism has never been popular in these parts … and that construct of “traditional socialist who believe[s] in the state control of all state assets such as land and other productive sectors’ has been shown to be not as true in practice as it is in theory… particularly where the proceeds of the natural wealth is expected to be shared equally (viz China, Russia).

Anyhow, brevity demands that I pull stumps…that’s an exhaustive topic as you know.

11. @ Lorenzo

I’m forced to agree with you.

Your friend express opinions that are usually rational and within reason. However, today, I’m a bit surprised he’s been spewing irrational, speculative comments that’s not normal for him.

It seems as though he has an issue with the independent candidates, perhaps “running for the sake of doing so,” or, ‘reading between the lines,’ ‘cutting votes’ that would’ve otherwise gone to Lashley.
    But, the 191 votes could have been distributed between Browne and Lashley in different ratios, favouring one or the other.

Another thing is, those persons in isolation by not being allowed to vote, were essentially deemed ineligible to do so.
    Even if they were allowed to vote, based on the direction his argument has been going and the level of voter apathy , it wouldn’t be ‘far fetch’ to assume a significant number of them would not have voted.
    To determine the votes at the constituency level, means categorizing the patients into their respective constituencies and then calculate all the possible ratios to allocate votes to each candidate.

It won’t make any sense asking them how they would’ve voted, because the election outcome may influence their answers.

Uh mean, what next? Are we going to argue that, had those persons who died between the time elections were announced and election day been alive, they would’ve probably voted DLP?

12. Well! Elections done! Time to prepare for hard times.

A young gentleman I did not know jumped out of his van this aftrenoon and offered me some organic pesticides and other solutions for my garden. A teacher, an agriculturalist and businessman and an off the grid aspirant. A serious fellow.

Called me an aggressive, crazy “idiot” so de man got brain and discernment. Lol.

We talked for more than an hour about organic farming, environmental sustainability, life and politics. The man is longing to be of use.

The best of Barbados is hidden under a pile of political shit and is being stifled. Yuh supposed to kiss ass to succeed. The political idiots do not know about taking credit for finding and promoting talent that leads to success!

Lord knows if we could get petty politics out of of the way Barbados would be green instead of brown.

He says growing food is easy.

While I was waiting to vote on Wednesday I met another young man keen on agriculture. He says growing food is easy.

I find it easy too but lately I’ve been winding down to reorganise and restart better

De man tell me dat some big up man tell he that he needs to increase his yield cause tings gun be rough bout heh.

So next week I will be buying some of the bright young man’s garden solutions. I may have to feed some neighbours.

13. Stupse! It is known that the covid cases are high due to large families living in one household becoming infected. Where are the large households in Bdos, if not the urban constituencies? If you decide to ignore all the other constituencies and divvy up the 5,000 voters you get aporox. 277 across the 18 urban constituencies. The closest seat in the urban constituencies was lost by 900 votes. What is the probability of there being 901 guaranteed DLP voters with covid in SMNW? Or even 236 in rural SPN? Tek de repeat beating and breathe.🤣🤣🤣

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

with approx 40% voting overall, approx 20% PAID TO VOTE and approx 60% NOT VOTING AT ALL….those stats mean NOTHING…

15. William Skinner Avatar

Man, you need to get back in the crease. I try not to stump people on Fridays. I don’t “romanticize” about the Caribbean I grew up in. I perhaps fantasize about the Caribbean I want our children, grand children and great grandchildren to grow up in.
    Now , please put yuh foot back in the crease my brother.

16. @William

The Caribbean will not be one in your life time and your grandchildren.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And what yall thought would remain HIDDEN so it can be embroidered with LIES and broken softly to the gullible by the spring…….UPS AND POPS OUT TODAY…

18. Miller

Thank for the correction

There was no intention by me to mislead anyone on my part
    Peter is politically “ connected “ None of the other 5 political “connected” persons refute/ challenged him so I took his word
    Note that I gave my source

Franklyn constitutional lawyer or even a lawyer as far as I know but yet he took on the Ag ( you get my drift? ).

19. Enuff,

That is how I figured it as well. Told my son so earlier this week. I live in St. Philip North in Michael’s stronghold where people I know were telling me that I should vote for Michael and I don’t hear one shite bout covid. No housing areas, mostly small households and nuff nuff big ass houses with three occupants. Covid is present but not in large numbers.

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    These are some very charismatic Leaders:
    Castro
    Manley
    Barrow
    Adams G
    Gairy
    Panday
    Bishop
    Bird
    Burnham
    Now, let us go through their tenure in office / power and ask ourselves what are their lasting legacies.
    Now here are some others:
    Mandela
    King Martin Luther
    Ali
    Malcolm X
    Now, let’s ask what were their legacies.

Charisma is not all that there is to leadership or results. Some of the greatest criminals and tyrants were brimming with charisma and the “ it” factor.
    A man once told me that Hitler was a great motivator.

Peace

Peace

21. William Skinner Avatar

Did you say that with delight or sadness ?

22. @William

That is the blogmaster’s honest opinion.

23. David,

Neither will human beings be perfect but should we give up trying?

24. We cannot give up Donna. No Siree.

25. 555,

TheO is not racist. He is racially aware just as I am.

TheO,

Nobody thinks you are racist.

26. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

TheOGazertsJanuary 21, 2022 2:06 PM
    “Here we have a difference of just 235 votes. Could it be possible that if covid infected persons were allowed to vote ML would be an MP today? Just think of it?”

Just for kicks I will address you malformed points and you are showing your bias. When I last checked we had ~6000 in isolation. With the 45% national voter turnout an estimated 2700 of those would have voted. Divided among 30 constituencies, that is ~90 votes to divided among candidates. The national vote share was 66%- 33% BLP-DLP so for each constituency an estimate of 60 more votes to the BLP and 30 more to the DLP. In other words, even with the most optimistic stats favoring the DLP allowing those in isolation to vote would have helped the DLP very little and made 0 difference in terms of the seats allocation

TheOGazerts January 21, 2022 2:06 PM
    “We do not know who the independent voters would have voted for, but the fact is that they did not vote for the BLP (or DLP). However, without these candidates a further 19votes may have gone to Mr Lashley. Do these candidates conduct polling? Do voters make promises and then vote differently? Are people running just for the sake of doing so???”

TheOGazerts January 21, 2022 2:10 PM
    further 191 (64+39+88) votes may have gone to Mr Lashley.

“I expect that statement to be challenged. Using the ‘a miss is as good as a mile’ the difference of 235 is equated to a difference of 2000”

It is inconceivable and hilarious that you will think that if the other candidates did not run that ALL those votes would have gone to Lashley. Isn’t it a reasonable assumption that they wouldn’t have voted at all? or those votes would have split between the Bees and the Dems?

Within the context that 3 years later and the voter turnout being 15% lower nationally and the same candidates ran in St Philip North that Ms. Sonia Browne (one of the backbenchers and a BLP political lightweight in the last BLP govt) beat Mr. Michael Lashley by 235 votes is still a notable rebuke of Mr. Lashley and the DLP. The St Philip North seat I estimated was the DLP best chance of wining a seat considering the qualitative and quantitative factors. But to have Lashley reverse a 1600 vote defeat after one parliamentary term was a tall ask. Suffice it to say that Lashley and Estwick were the DLP’s best performers and did as I expected in terms of improving voter share compared to 2018.

27. Your analysis is flawed because there no scientific approach to model distribution. To besides, how many iso were under 18?

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Charisma is not all that there is to leadership or results. Some of the greatest criminals and tyrants were brimming with charisma and the “ it” factor.
    A man once told me that Hitler was a great motivator.”

AKA slick talking bullshit artists that i would NEVER invite to my house for dinner, none of them……..noticed that people like stupid sweet talk riddled with ENDLESS LIES coming from politicians so they can laugh and boast what great TALKERS THEY ARE and how sweet they sould ….well let’s how well they handle hardships after all the LIES and koolaid they swallowed recently…

some people are just dumb and believe empty talk from politicians/opportunists can feed them and their families despite evidence to the contrary..

29. William Skinner Avatar

Cockroach has no rite at fowl cock dance. @ David represents the global perspective. The little Caribbean backwater does not excite him. The brother has bigger fish to fry.
    Stay in your lane.
    Peace

30. @William

The blogmaster is no ideologue. The current state is being conveyed in a pragmatic way.

31. “TheO is not racist. He is racially aware just as I am.”

I cannot be assed to go fishing through old messages to justify points
    but as it is you D I will make an effort

” TheOGazerts (Consultant 2022-2025) January 20, 2022 6:42 PM

2025 election news
    With the addition of 80,000 immigrants consisting of 60,00 eligble voters, Mia gained a third consecutive (3-year) term.

The black majority population failed to turn up for the elections, but the newly arrived immigrants voted en masse and were the deciding factor in 24 of the 30 constituencies. One ‘native born Brabadian’ was heard to exclaim “man when I went to the polling station, the place was packed with foreigners. I couldn’t get in and I went home”.

Now that the new immigrants have shown their political power, several of them stated that they will be running as candidates in a number of constituencies. In fact, Dubb Streek” a new arrival and dj, was heard to say ‘We can easily win 10 seats on our own and become the dominant party in any coalition.””

I grew and live in the land of racists and know all their bad jokes, racist digs, innuendo, hateful comments about others, ignorance paranoia and prejudice in their minds and hearts oozing out their pores. Immigrant Hating Blaming Scapegoating is low and a strict No No.

◄ Exodus 22:21 ►

“Do not mistreat or oppress a foreigner, for you were foreigners in Egypt.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…it’s a good thing some saw the handwriting all over the wall eons ago and worked accordingly…..can’t begin to imagine how it would have played out otherwise…welcome to the new era..

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Theo
    You once told me that you were surprised that I had taken so long to dispute that I had deliberately lied in a post. when I was so accused.
    Man, take it easy. And think about what you told me. Don’t take so long to dispute the crap.
    You ain’t no racist my Brother.
    Once a man said on this blog that I was a paid troller for the BLP.
    Take it easy
    Peace

34. “Now here are some others:
    Mandela
    King Martin Luther
    Ali
    Malcolm X
    Now, let’s ask what were their legacies.”

they lived in racist places
    and refused their place
    allocated by racist faces

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Well, I honestly think many who see it pretend they don’t. They are good people just hoping for the best. It’s how we were brought up always believing that no matter how badly off we are there are some who are worst. It helps to comfort us. People who have been beaten up and crushed develop all types of defenses. Imagine those who got their little cheques and almost 30/ 40 % gone to bus fare. They have to imagine things will get better. They still try to put a dollar toward a charity. Will still give a neighbour a dollar or two.
    It’s a vicious cycle of perpetual poverty. Some of us escape and then pretend it no longer exists. Those who choose to keep reminding them of the present atrocities are sometimes misunderstood. On this blog , I find that a great majority want better for their fellow man but they are essentially too kind to the common enemy. It’s their Christian upbringing. They don’t abhor radicalism; but feel the consequences can be severe.
    When I say that I see all the women on this blog as sisters , I really mean it. Our race is built on progressive sisters. They comfort and give love to the brothers who are beaten up daily by the man. The Black man’s greatest asset is still our women.
    The struggle continues.
    Peace:

36. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

David January 21, 2022 5:12 PM
    Your analysis is flawed because there no scientific approach to model distribution. To besides, how many iso were under 18?

Which further disproves Theos point about those in isolation helping the DLPs cause. I am dealing in averages and I am stating that the defeats the DLP suffered were too heavy in 2018 and still heavy in 2022. Even the most unreal stats will still not favour the DLP. If all those in isolation were of voting age and all chose to vote, that would be 6000 divided by 30 = 200 per constituency. Even if 500 persons in isolation came from once constituency and all 500 voted for the DLP only, the DEMs would have still lost in every seat except St. Philip North and West in 2022. This is no need for fancy “model distribution” analysis

37. @DLP&Lies

TheO’s point was the DLP possibly could have won a seat, NOT the election.

38. @David
    Thanks.

@DLPTV
    “Even if 500 persons in isolation came from once constituency and all 500 voted for the DLP only, the DEMs would have still lost in every seat except St. Philip North and West in 2022.”

You took a different route but we both ended up at the same spot… If the stars were all aligned for one candidate, there was the possibility of a seat being picked off.

39. @DLPTV
    You made assumptions that even more stringent than those I made
    1. You partitioned the isolated case into 30 equal parts
    2. You assume that that if allowed to vote, then only 40% would have done so.

A statistician would tell you that you are favoring a uniform distribution across all parameters. The distribution of ‘isolates’ and their voting patterns may be a little more complicated.

Your assumption of ‘isolates’ not voting or being split between the two parties is reasonable. However, this does not completely refute what I said; my focus was on one of the possible splits could have favored the DLP.

Summary: I am open to all the possibilities and was presenting one of them that may have favoured the DLP. You have rejected some and focused on a limited set.

40. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

http://caribbeanelections.com/bb/elections/bb_results_2018.asp

Oh brother. @DavidBU how could I have stated that the DLP could have won the election if I was stating all along that that was a near impossibility even without COVID as a factor. What I am also stating is that they could not even win a seat just after 3 years if Lashley and Estwick had to over turn 1600 and 2300 vote defeats respectively in 2018. What Theo is positing is VERY VERY wishful math in regards to those 6000 in isolation. I don’t think any reasonable person would think that (for example)1600 of those 6000 came from just 1 constituency and all 1600 would have ONLY voted DEMS. It is hilarious that this cant be easily rationalized

41. To be precise.
    I am not stating the 6000 or even 1600 are in one constituency.

What I am saying is give me the constituency with the lowest voting difference; let say 300 votes, then it is quite possible that they could have been 300 or more isolates that could have change the outcome.

Wishful thinking but possible. I do not care about 2018 results as candidates have won and then lost or vice versa.

It is still 30-0.. I cannot change that.
    Last/last

42. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

TheOGazerts January 22, 2022 1:30 AM
    You are so biased you cant even see the blatant incredulity of the math you want to use.

I am using averages and statisticians will tell you that averages are only used as a guide, a sort of midpoint to understanding certain data. The 45% is the registered voter turn out nationally as applied to those numbers in insolation. Also as David BU was implying we don’t even know how much of the 6000 are even of voting age or even registered so we start out with averages. We can go to some extremes. Lets assume all 6000 can and would have voted and they were equally divided among the constituencies. That is potentially 200 more voters per constituency to use as a midpoint. Already you can see that this cannot help the DLPs cause.

i went to a possible 500 extreme coming from 1 constituency. I added another extreme that ALL 500 would have VOTED FOR THE DEMS ONLY. Even using the 2022 Election Data that could have only help the DEMS in 3 seats. and that is after applying another extreme in that the 500 COINCIDENTALLY came from those constituencies the DEMS lost by 500 or less votes. In the 2022 elections, by my recollection the DEMS lost by more than 500 votes in 27 seats and by more than 200 in every seat

From those extremes you then have to apply the reality that
    1) Most likely, all 6000 would NOT have voted for whatever reason (being below voting age, just not interested in voting)

2)those in isolation that came from 1 constituency CANNOT all have voted for 1 party only.

3) Having potential voters in isolation was NOT ONLY detrimental to the DEMS in other words the BEES potentially did not gain more votes

4)There would be an inequitable division of those persons in isolation among constituencies and it would be HIGHLY unlikely that inequitable division was ONLY DETRIMENTAL to the DEMS. In other words it is highly unlikely most of those potential voters in isolation came from DLP “strongholds” only.

43. It is all speculative, what is the point?

44. Cabinet the burning question

What a week.
    And there is so much more to come that Cou Cou does not know where to start.
    The dust is still settling following the big event this week even though the who’s best to lead question has been answered decisively. The attention still remains on both camps.
    In the one case, the observers are eagerly waiting to see who will get a pick; in the other, they now have to settle the internal leadership issue with the exit of the top person.
    Regarding the picks, it may not be easy to predict who will be appointed or disappointed. That’s because many of the old faces have returned, along with the fresh four, of whom at least two were handpicked by the madam.
    It would be safe to say that the senator who had a portfolio before the bell was rung and was specially selected by ma’am herself should be back sitting at the round table.
    Out of other new faces, it seems possible that the one who has some mitigation factors, having previously been entrusted with an assignment, may be attached to a ministry. The others will have to be contented sitting on the backbench.
    But who will be joining them there is a puzzler since ma’am was heavily criticised for the top-heavy Cabinet last time around and perhaps it may not have those same numbers. Or will she dare attempt the “many hands make light work” approach again?
    Since the Attorney General spot is already taken, the other slots could be quite a thorny issue.
    Of course, having retained their seats, some of the former frontbenchers expect that is where they will continue to sit. But with hard times looming it will be difficult to justify maintaining such moneygobbling positions along with the consultants.
    Therefore, speculation is rife as to who is in and who is out as it will be an indication of ma’am’s
    assessment of their performance from the first term.
    Like you, Cou Cou is waiting.
    Verla’s shocking exit
    As if Wednesday’s sound whipping at the polls was not enough, a once mighty institution is reeling again following the resignation of its leader.
    While the turn of events is not surprising since the top lady had many defeats in her political life and it was time to go, the speed with which it happened caught some off guard. Even those gathered for the secret meeting did not expect it, leading to hasty discussions about who should fill the slot immediately.
    And while the lady has given her reasons, some believe her stewardship was undermined by a cabal of dissidents adding to the pressure she was under to resurrect the institution.
    Remarkably, she had found public sympathy, which did not exist while she had the reins of the group.
    Now at least one pundit is suggesting it is the end of the party with the legacy of Independence and a host of social programmes that underwent reform but endure today.
    Whether that prediction will come to pass we will wait and see.

45. ASSAULTED AFTER POLL

A senior electoral registration officer with the Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) was expected to be charged last night by police following an assault on Supervisor of Elections Angela Taylor.
    The Saturday Sun was reliably informed that Taylor was attacked on Thursday around 2 a.m. following the counting of the ballot boxes after the General Election.
    Sources said she was beaten and kicked about the body while in the fourth-floor elevator of Warrens Towers II, where the EBC office is located.
    When contacted yesterday morning, Deputy Police Commissioner Erwin Boyce would only confirm that the police were investigating a matter involving Taylor.
    Reports indicate that the electoral registration officer, who has performed the role of returning officer for the past two elections, had returned to the office following the counting of votes at one of the designated centres where he was posted.
    He made a complaint to Taylor, who was sitting in her office, about one of the employees who worked with him that night.
    Walked off job
    Sources said he complained that the person had walked off the job, leaving him to offload all of the ballot boxes and other documents by himself and he demanded to be guaranteed that the person would not be paid.
    “Miss Taylor told him that he should have spoken to the worker and it was at that time that the returning officer got irate and told her: ‘You are not sympathetic to my cause.’ “He then snatched a paper from her desk and wrote: ‘I . . . resign from the Electoral and Boundaries Commission with immediate effect.’ He threw the paper at Miss Taylor and it hit a coffee mug, causing it to fall on the floor and break. He then walked out of the office.”
    The source said Taylor subsequently left her office and went downstairs to check on the return of the ballot boxes. She then went into the elevator to the fourth floor.
    Managed to get away
    It was when the elevator stopped and the door opened that two people were trying to pull back the returning officer, who at that time was charging at her.
    He managed to get away and Taylor fell to the floor after being cuffed.
    She was further assaulted by the man before he fled.
    Reports indicate that an all-points bulletin (APB) was issued by the police for the suspect since Thursday morning.
    However, he turned himself in to the police yesterday morning.
    Police were also asked to patrol Taylor’s home on Thursday.
    Taylor, who sought medical treatment, left the island yesterday for a previously planned trip.
    Of the registration officer, sources said he also worked for what was then the Royal Barbados Police Force for eight years before moving on to the police force in the Cayman Islands.
    On his Linked-in page, he describes himself as: “An organised, detail-oriented, and conscientious self-starter. Excellent communication skills. Ability to negotiate and problem solve quickly, accurately, and efficiently.” (MB)

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It’s a vicious cycle of perpetual poverty. Some of us escape and then pretend it no longer exists. ”

short sighted dim bulbs…

hope while the distraction from a laughable election is still going on…no one missed when WHO dictated that countries roll back the Covid nonsense and stop the dictatoral attitudes re covid passports, traveling etc… etc..”

“They don’t abhor radicalism; but feel the consequences can be severe.”

no one cares much about their cowardice…if i was that much of a coward would still be on BU day and night going after everybody…without results….instead of cutting the hours i spend on the blog..

there can be no consequences as SEVERE as NOT PROTECTING your current and future generations and having TO LIVE with the fallout because you give a shit what criminals, their imps and pimps and hangerson think…

am definitely not that person, my ancestors were not cowards or traitors……but too many are…

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The cowards can thank those who had the foresight to SEE AHEAD and plan accordingly..

you are welcome.

48. I will do the usual ‘there are three sides to every story’

One message needs to be sent out “regarding elections, electoral officers cannot be touched in any way at any time”.

49. It would appear that 30-0 is a sacred number and must be defended.

50. Radical and activist are two labels which people should not subscribe to
    as Whites use these words to target and blacklist in their propaganda
    It is better to ascribe to being intelligent and true to yourself
    if others want to label you radical and activist they are scared of you