The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in a surprising result won all 30 seats again in a snap election called 18 months before constitutionally due by Mia Mottley.

In the coming weeks there will be robust debate about how our democracy optimally serves Barbadians with a muted dissenting voice. One may argue a healthy democracy requires a strident dissenting voice. Barbados is traveling an uncharted path given the 2018 and 2022 general election results and BELOW 50% turnout (anecdotal). In the coming weeks our attention will turn to government’s management of COVID 19, the economy, the health of political opposition and a few other key issues.

Whither the political opposition?

The blogmaster congratulates the BLP on the win and offers the advice – to whom much is given, much is expected.

493 responses to “BLP Win 30-0, Again”

1. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Artax January 20, 2022 9:39 AM
    David January 20, 2022 9:51 AM

I do agree and I have some faith for Ms Mottley to make those amendments. In general for the Lower House I still prefer the First Past the Post system as the electorate can directly elect a representative. My radical approach is to remove the concept of government and opposition side and just have seats in parliament. I guess some know that the concept of political party is not recognized in the Lower House of Parliament of Barbados.
    In technical terms, as is, a person can be a member of a winning party but do not support that person whom gains the majority support the govt side in the house. The PM is whomever is put forward to the President as having majority support in the Lower House. That could happen if the leader of a political party does not win their seat but won the general election.
    Such an “opposing person” can sit in and form the opposition. However Barbados is not that politically mature and expect such persons to officially leave the party if they do not support the “appointed” PM.

My hope is that in removing the duopoly in parliament there would be LESS inclination for MPs to tow the line every single time and speak their mind. A MP would be the Head representative of a constituency whom is a member of a party rather than the general opinion that an MP is just a representative of a political party (first) that captured the most votes in a constituency

Added to the above, if all of the ELECTED MPs support the appointed PM then the President can have a Appointed Opposition whereby (and i guess proportional to the national vote and the votes gained in an election) some of the loosing candidates can have a “seat” in the Lower House to have their voices heard but do not have full voting rights. The specific of such a system can be worked out but it should not be rocket science

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

We will have to rely on the integrity of the governing party to operate within the four corners of the Constitution and our innate sense of justice and fair play. Long live Barbados.

3. TheoG
    This 30-0 should not be taken as any kind of mandate
    ++++++++++++++++++
    How should one take it? This is the second consecutive Election that an Opposition member has not been elected ( which must be a record of some sort). I don’t think Mia will tip toe around and say “well we don’t have a mandate” before taking action on any plans that the Gov’t has, this victory gives the Gov’t free rein to move in any direction it wishes.

There isn’t even an Atherley among the elected to offer token opposition, “the ayes have it”

4. @Vincent

The act occurred as an activity in our democracy BUT do you have an issue with changing a system based on evaluating of outcomes?

5. @ John2
    ‘WS

How was the voter turn out / excitement for the NDO progressive policies when you were once an aspiring politician ?”

Answer :Voter turn out was 63.72 %. The NDP got 8,218 votes but won no seats.

However, the voter turn out last night was about 50% higher than it was in 1991, it could have easily reached 95/ 100% , if not for the few (12 or so persons) who did not vote because of COVID. This was a voluntary decision. Remember , that we had the highest number of voters during COVID for any country in the world and all provisions were in place to ensure full participation.

6. I used having 50% of eligible voters voicing their opinion by voting as giving the government some kind of mandate.

But when you have 40% voting and then have to divide that 40% into two pieces, you may have the eligible voters support being in the upper twenties to thirty percent range.

The winner and a convincing win.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 11:44 AM
    I have no issues with the current system of selecting a GoB. The current system was designed to decide who should be responsible for the administration of our public affairs.And it has delivered every time on time.
    There is a twist in the objective of our system of democracy if we introduce the notion that contending parties must have a voice in the Houses of Parliament after the majority of voters rejected them. As you know I am a promoter of orderly development. We must have rules before an event and agree to abide by them. We should not attempt to tamper with the Constitution whimsically..That approach can lead to chaos.This is the second time the Electorate has spoken and we are trying to disrupt it.
    I must remind commenters that first past the poll system leads to political instability. Small countries like Barbados cannot afford that level of instability.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, I want to take u up on 2.other comments…

But first @Theo, your rabbit makes sense on this issue in broad structural terms but at the nitty gritty level … he’s off!

The President like the similar non-executive GG post has basically the same ability re a LoO .. You know that the oppo leader – even under the republic model – is based on an elected MP having a support of a majority of like minded MPs. … The GG or President does not arbitrarily select such a person!

So @David, do you really perceive that in the absence re “Mia was not around the BLP” that any of Marshall particularly, possibly Thorne (maybe not as ‘charismatic’) and very surely a rejuvenated Liz T would not be formidable leaders for the party!

Respectfully to the DLP but I can think of no one in their ranks that have the heft of that trifecta who would be a good bet to excite in true Bajan style! Well, Yearwood … maybe but he needs to step forward forcibly then.

The DLP has simply been driven into the abyss of incompetence and absurd hubris … can the same happen across the aisle – OF COURSE … particularly if MAM’s arrogance goes totally off the rails but I must believe that Dale and a few others will not sell their soul for pieces of damning bronze and will protect their nation.

2.@Your rhetoric re “Why are we not attracting quality candidates” is NOT validated by the evidence.

Across the last two elections there have been more Bajans with Phds, Masters and other post grad credentials than at anytime across all other elections I would surmise.

So unless you are talking about character issues I don’t get your thrust in the least.

Let’s be blunt and recognize that we did not get “to this point of dysfunction” by some happenstance, brother. …. It was a defined march to this destination with clearly evidenced steps (I will NOT waste time to rehash) … let us also remember that we have been WARNED of the character of this PM … so when things erupt again (as surely they will) please don’t blame it in these two elections either….

… Blame it on Tom’s misogyny and more, Barrow’s cabal of sexual highjinks, Sandi and his economic bungling, St. John ‘soccer playing’ misdeeds, David’s perfidy, Owen’s inability to mange his worst fears and then Fruendel’s inept maddening governance … we walked into this eyes wide wide open!

So let’s stop this nonsensical palaver about poor candidates and other absurdities … we all have eyes to see…let’s not play blind now!

I GONE.

9. Looking from outside the fishbowl, the saddest part is the money spent on the election that could have been used for much more needy causes. For what to give them a couple of extra years . People should have been pissed off and at least sent her a bit of a message by losing a couple of seats that this waste wont be tolerated. This may be Barbados in a microcosm getting kicked in the teeth and accepting seems like a way of life. Everyone will bitch at the rum shop and feel they should stand for something, but if they have to make an effort to go vote or send a message they lay down till the feeling goes away.

10. School Days
    Slave Master Vs The Egyptian Ankh
    Bajans need to dig deeper into their deepest memories and go beyond the slavery days back to their original selves

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZ5T_-_TooA

11. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

I stated already that nobody stops a voter from exercising their right to vote. If you are a registered voter and are not incapacitated in anyway but DO NOT exercise that right then you are ambivalent and subject yourself to the government that those who went out to vote ELECTED. In short if you don’t vote you automatically give consent to the govt that was ELECTED. A low voter turn out, unless there is some specific boycott of the election, USUALLY affects all contesting parties equally.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Perhaps I should have said “an additional source of instability.” The list of our vulnerabilities ,natural and man-made are . Tell me who wants to add frequently changing governments and political coalitions?

13. @ Theo
    When did we last have an authentic opposition ? The Duopoly is one party with two slightly different names. I think in one the first name starts with D and B in the other. Now, one time, or so the story goes , there was some kind of kadooment and the B went and change the constitution , to make sure if a similar Kadooment occurs that they (B and D) will always have some seats in what is called the upper house or something like that.
    Now, so the story goes, some more Kadooment happened and a B went and walk over some floor board in de ting dey call the Lower house and just so he became what they call LOO.
    Tek um easy bro”
    Advice: If yuh want to understan’ the constitution river learn the alphabet.

14. In the absence of at least a ‘Leader of the Opposition’ in the HoA where all money matters are debated and passed without the possibility of override by the “Upper” Chamber how would the People’s Public Accounts Committee function?

If the major responsibility of the Executive is to spend the people’s (taxpayers’) monies in the most efficient and effective way then ‘who will guard the guards’?

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Codrington 11:30 AM and otherwise EXCELLENT. And your brevity is most awesome. I will strive steadfastly for that in 2022! 👍🏿
    Just want to quickly add that I am glad I am not the only one who does not agree with giving losing parties/candidates a guaranteed seat in the House. The ection process is complicated and simple … the simplicity is let the people in their folly or wisdom DECIDE. … We resolve the complications by arranging suitable checks when ‘anomalies’ happen. As the Americans often say, the elected and thus answerable reps should be the ones charged with making the political decisions.

@DLP your 11:35 AM
    is perplexing based on your earlier clear post! …. Do you NOT see that you are making an Orwellian ‘Animal Farm thesis!!!

How ANY functional political system operate without a cohesive group charting policy! To expect disparate folk to run individually and then coaelse to a collective ideal once elected is cute but is it really practical … if that’s what u are proposing. The issue of a leader losing is not an issue … as a new leader is elected from the parliamentary winners automatically

And wouldnt you have to revert to group dynamics in order to get policy objectives achieved… Animal Farm redux!

Change and modification is always needed but not spinning top !

16. Between May 2018 and December 2021, there was only one scandal on the island, namely the obstructionism of the so-called opposition, an undemocratic, despotic institution.

This giant scandal and its main figure, the so-called senato,r were the main reason for this election result. Citizens are tired of being terrorised by xenophobes, union agitators, rabble rousers and Corona conspiracy theorists who tarnish the image of the people and the nation. Many citizens attended BLP election meetings for the first time this January because they finally want our government to govern through without artificial constraints.

No more of that now. No more obstruction against anti-corruption legislation, no more obstruction against the vaccination campaign and many other things. The way is clear for a smart and determined government policy. I see a golden future with Hyatt, wellness oases and rum for all.

17. @Miller
    In the absence of at least a ‘Leader of the Opposition’ in the HoA where all money matters are debated and passed without the possibility of override by the “Upper” Chamber how would the People’s Public Accounts Committee function?
    ++++++++++
    Wasn’t that “more honoured in the breach than in the observance’? One can expect multiple constitutional lawyers associated with the BLP to offer solutions. I don’t mean the constitutional lawyer who wrote about the PMs birthday, he should be assigned to the Horoscope desk.

18. John2 January 20, 2022 11:06 AM
    de pedantic Dribbler January 20, 2022 11:20 AM
    Donna January 20, 2022 11:22 AM
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV January 20, 2022 11:35 AM

Please note, I previously mentioned, “We could PROBABLY DISCUSS how their (Singapore) NCMP scheme or any other similar system could be modified to suit our circumstances.”

However, so far I’ve been hearing some very interesting comments. One, which I find amusing, is that people are talking about electing an Opposition. How could that objective be achieved, especially when we all know people don’t vote to elect an Opposition.
    And, they do not collaborate with each other to decide on which political party they want to form the ‘government’ and Opposition respectively.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“This 30-0 should not be taken as any kind of mandate …

tell that to the foolish FOWLS trying to run around BU parading “naked” and celebrating…to damage our eye sight…

this result/voter turnout REFLECTS ON ALL OF THEM and shows that the people DO NOT TRUST ANY OF THEM…..period…

the people on the ground ARE NOT PLEASED and voicing their displeasure LOUDLY….of course they did not think they had anyone to vote for, especially since they NEVER HAVE THE BACKS OF THE MAJORITY…let’s see who else they take up money and GIVE IT AWAY TO…. borrowed in the people’s name, crawl around begging for votes and then ignoring them until next election…while every lowlife can get hundreds of millions that’s not theirs…

of course the sleight of hand will show itself soon enuff.

“The ass backwardness of working on the constitution after becoming a Republic is on display.”

that too…

20. Technically speaking elected MPs can leave their Party and become Independent or join another Party to set up an Opposition in Parliament

21. @Dee Word

To be blunt, no. The blogmaster sees no charismatic members on the government side ready to hit the road running. Time will tell if a couple of the inexperience ones come on.

22. @DLP&Lies

Your view is simplistic by trivializing how the voter apathy has influenced behaviour.

23. @Vincent

The root of the issue is that a Westminster system has working committees and other checks and balances that serve to protect the democratic system. Those working committees like PAC, Committee of Privilege etc do not work in Barbados. If these working committees do not work it feeds public distrust in the system which is part of the dysfunction.

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Can’t agree with those who say this is not a mandate. This is a tremendous mandate for the Duopoly. This election was a perfect example of the people going to the polling stations and voting for the same party/duopoly, they have voted for since and even before independence. It is a testimony to our stability as a shining light of democracy. To even suggest that a vote as high as 40/45% is not a mandate cannot be a serious observation; it’s a slanderous and unnecessary attack on our true democracy.
    Anybody who has been monitoring elections throughout the world knows that when such large numbers vote, it clearly demonstrates that there is almost a 100% of peoples’ participation.
    Our democracy under the Duopoly is a shining light and should be the blueprint for democracy throughout the world.
    We have nothing to worry about.
    Don’t you and others know that there is widespread voter suppression in the USA. After all that was done by the Duopoly to ensure that every single citizen, was given the opportunity to vote in a pandemic, you all come here throwing shade on one of the highest voter turnouts in the history of our Republic.
    Shame on you haters !!!!!

25. @Sargeant January 20, 2022 10:39 AM “Well I guess that the country was no so divided after all.”

Told ya.

I for 1 never believed the divided country talk.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“This is a tremendous mandate for the Duopoly.
    This election was a perfect example of the people going to the polling stations and voting for the same party/duopoly, they have voted for since and even before independence. ”

pretty much and now the majority population KNOW that they gotta WATCH THEIR BACKS, would not have made any difference if they all voted……..let’s see how it plays out going forward..

..they need to TONE DOWN their excitement, acting like at least 60% of the electorate had any other choice but to NOT VOTE…and stop trying to spread their stupidity to people who know much better…

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@david
    1) re Dr.Hinds. Twas a l-o-n-g cast? Timing? Her comments came when after winning a few boxes in St.P’s and St.J, the door suddenly shut. She was visibly agitated. I”think” Sen Cummins misinterpreted Dr.Hinds. And took her comments to be related to specific current issues, incl the election outcome. Wickham was just Wickham.
    2) Donna aside, how many people vote candidate vs party or leader. In response to
    What does the behaviour of voters signal?
    Voters in “our system” have learned that attention to “constituency issues” is best when their MP is not in opposition?

28. @NO

The blogmaster’s read of Dr. Hinds is that she is passionate and deliberately frames her narratives away from the usual talking head like Wickham, Bell et al. And yes she seems to be sympathetic to the DLP’s plight.

29. Along with voters apathy disenchanmet etc.
    The new world order Agenda is also wrapped up in small island politics
    Time is of essence to get all these small island on board
    People who act surprised and question why Mottley as I rush to call the elections would soon have the answer
    Power brokers their agenda mash up and break up nothing stands in their way
    Things eventually would go back to normal
    Except that a close eye would be kept on Mottley
    Changes are definitely coming

30. Our National Saint and living legend Mia Mottley is wearing a white costume today. Very beautiful. She reminds me once again of the great peacemaker Mahatma Gandhi.

People will remember the proclamation of the republic a thousand years from now. In retrospect, the interim period of party bickering from 1966 to 2017 was already over in 2018. The duopoly is a relic of colonial times and slavery. Peace, stability and order have prevailed since 2018.

Barbados is a legendary example, even for the Chinese, that an enlightened dictatorship and democracy can very well be combined.

I wish our government well in repairing the damage caused by Corona and curing the nation of the opposition´s horrible poison.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    Duop vs Monop?
    Once is a statistical anomaly, twice?
    As a keen follower of “Labour” you may re-examine the tea leaves.
    Any non Bajan who views our politics is quick to ask, “you have TWO labour parties”? I usually reply, ‘not really, the support of Labour fluctuates’. 😉

32. “40/45%”
    Ayes 30 MPs
    Nays 0 MPs
    Abstains ±55%

If this is not a Mandate
    it must be a Womandate
    Barbados ♡ ♥💕❤😘 Mia

33. fuh true , fuh real ?

Jan 20, 2022 • The winning BLP candidate for St. George South in Wednesday’s general election, Dwight Sutherland says he will contest the results of last night’s poll despite winning the seat by a large majority.

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is how it’s playing out in people’s minds….they KNOW they have to RESIST anything that does not BENEFIT THEM, THEIR CHILDREN/GRANDS and FUTURE GENERATIONS….going forward…

don’t need any paper mill degrees to figure that one out……

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 1:25 PM

People make systems work. Deadlines should be set and adhered to. The PAC Committee is supposed to report to the HoA. Does it? Do the administrative Staff of the HoA remind them and ensure the PAC recommendations are instituted.Some one needs to pilot the reports through the system. So there is nothing wrong with PAC. It is the persons, failing in their responsibility, that are at fault. Introduce another system with people of the same work ethics and that too will fail. Professional competence is the bottom line.

36. @Vincent

Systems are man made and have to be tweaked if environmental factors or objectives change.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Systems don’t work because they are NOT ALLOWED TO./////.then people want to boast about the mechanics about everything….NONE OF WHICH IS ALLOWED TO WORK…..steupppss…lost in space..

38. Skinner along with persons like Gazzerts, Waru and TLSN sound bitter and angry.The voters in Barbdos has spoken and there is not a damn thing you overseas bajans can do about it.We here know of the hard work and progress barbados has made from junk bond status in 2018.Ms Mottley is head and shoulders above the political nightwatchman who surely should throw in the towel or be removed from the leadership.She is clearly not a political leader.As for the old guard all of them should retire.Therefore the excuses and sour grapes ain, t cutting it.Bottom line as i previously called it you got your ass kicked yet again get over it.I notice the dems like Ms Undecided and Alvin were absent off btasstacks today while a lot of callers took a turn in Mr Blackman for his lack of bslance leading into the election.The same applies to Dr Kristina Hinds.I gone.

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    Let me state up front that I have no idea why /if these sub- committees of the HoA are functioning. I take your word that they are dysfunctional hypothetically of course.. So there is no intention to support your assertions.

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    The apologists have a plaster for every sore. Anybody following the workings of the PAC , for the last forty years, knows it’s the same elected politicians who refuse to attend meetings and it often failed to get quorums.
    One thing that Atherley tried very hard to do , in his brief stay as opposition leader , was to make sure the PAC actually functioned. He should be given credit for his sterling efforts.
    No civil servant in the Parliament can call or report on any PAC meeting. All they can do is take appropriate minutes of the meeting .

41. In the interest of Barbados in bringing the partys together….Mia and Fruendal should have a baby together.

42. @Vincent

It isn’t difficult to ascertain if the PAC is discharging his responsibility in the Westminster system we try to mimic. Even after the rules were changed to facilitate quorums we have not seen matters brought to a head. One critique the blogmaster has time for is that our numbers are not large enough or independent in standing to force these issues to a proper conclusion. The result is that it does not matter the issue being investigated or government in office, nothing gets done. The only yardstick to measure success is if there has been successful resolution of matters raised. The answer is always no.

43. @ David,

The BLP government again won an absolute majority 30 to 0 .

They can continue where they left off.

Bajans deserve the government they want and overwhelmingly elected.

44. @Hants

Members of political parties come from the people. The characteristics of party members is a reflection of the quality of persons who are motivated to serve.

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The apologists have a plaster for every sore. Anybody following the workings of the PAC , for the last forty years, knows it’s the same elected politicians who refuse to attend meetings and it often failed to get quorums.”

everything is a pappy show for them, nothing works, laughing at the voters…we will see who has the LAST LAUGH going forward…

looks like Lorenza’s bubble got burst….REALITY KICKED IN too early for her liking…no honeymoon period.😂😂🤣

last group refused to turn up for any PAC meetings, and the then deceitful opposition THREW A FIT…..with this group no longer in opposition for nearly 4 years…. ya did not hear anything about PAC either….when it comes to ACCOUNTABILITY….INTEGRITY…..ANTICORRUPTION….they ALL disappear and CAN NEVER BE FOUND…after they become elected.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

YES,,,they only give ya a bunch of sound bites about accountability, integrity, anticorruption and everything else they KNOW THE PEOPLE WANT TO HEAR….while in opposition…from the time they get into the parliament they tend not to know what any of it means anymore…and blatantly IGNORE anyone who brings up the topic…or promise, promise, draft nonsense that protects the CRIMES rather than doing anything to END THEM…

47. Barbadians are not attuned to governance issues. This is difficult to understand because we are profiled as an educated people. The average person has no idea about the purpose of proper working committees of parliament and their importance to a working democratic system.

48. Never fear
    De Red Bag is here
    Not de plastic one
    I red but green
    An’ biodegradable
    I does disappear into de eart’
    An’ resurrect like Christ
    But after three years
    Not days
    Blessed is he that believe in me!

Donna NR 1

49. The voters in Barbdos has spoken and there is not a damn thing you overseas bajans can do about it

Xxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOW WHY WOULD SOMEONE LIVING OVERSEAS WANT TO DO ANYTHING BUT LAUGH AT THE BLACK FOOLS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND WHO ARE ABOUT TO GO THROUGH REAL SUFFERICATION LEAD BY THE SAME LIED MOTTLEY AND HER 29 THIEVES AND ADD THE WHITE MINORITIES TO MAKE UP THE 40 THIEVES.