The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in a surprising result won all 30 seats again in a snap election called 18 months before constitutionally due by Mia Mottley.

In the coming weeks there will be robust debate about how our democracy optimally serves Barbadians with a muted dissenting voice. One may argue a healthy democracy requires a strident dissenting voice. Barbados is traveling an uncharted path given the 2018 and 2022 general election results and BELOW 50% turnout (anecdotal). In the coming weeks our attention will turn to government’s management of COVID 19, the economy, the health of political opposition and a few other key issues.

Whither the political opposition?

The blogmaster congratulates the BLP on the win and offers the advice – to whom much is given, much is expected.

493 responses to “BLP Win 30-0, Again”

1. No comment. My chair remains comfortable.

2. This result is the norm in a dictarionship.

3. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Hopefully the DLP will listen and hear this time around after this repeat 30-0 because they did not listen after the last one.

DLP need to part ways with all the former MPs, completely rebuild the party and get their candidates for the next elections selected and start canvassing from now or they will get another 30-0 next time again.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller why any of “… Sonia B, Kerrie or Hinkson for the role of another ‘red’ Judas?[…] What about Thorne or even Rowe?” particularly !!!

Are we back to a contrived oppo again … why are any of them suited to such a role compared to any others! … We are again in dangerous territory!

@David, in as much as another 30-love was contemplated it is yet a dark day for Bim that in 2 election cycles the DLP could convince no one that not even one candidate was a viable opposition MP … this is very bad.

The party with that dynamic man who mirrored our desires so well and who took us boldly to Independence is now a relic of abject nothingness… the starboy who took over EWB legacy but sold his party and nation for $3.3 million pieces of bronze … oh dear, oh dear.

“For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain [riches] but lose his own soul [and eventually suffer his party to such ignominious bashings]”

2.But more importantly what now and where does this leave MAM … considering all the issues of dissension rumored she has completely sweep EVERYTHING from before her. All her chess pieces are as she wants them!

I see it through very dark lens in this way: … consider if Trump, despite ALL the contraventions to the rule of law he authored had still won with no opposition at all then OMG we would be uneasy, restless and deeply concerned about a difficult future!!!

We better be ready here similarly!

5. . NorthernObserver Avatar
    . NorthernObserver

The DLP is nothing without the L. They lost the L. It was the binder which kept the D and the P together. Now you may appreciate why the D party supporters were so upset with “the March”. Labour officially crossed the street (floor).
    I expect @Tron to be announcing the State funeral details soon.

6. Somethings doesn’t make sense
    Once again the poor sat back and let the rich kick them down the road

7. Let the excuses start

8. @ de pedantic DribblerJanuary 20, 2022 2:26 AM
    @Miller why any of “… Sonia B, Kerrie or Hinkson for the role of another ‘red’ Judas?[…] What about Thorne or even Rowe?” particularly !!!

Are we back to a contrived oppo again … why are any of them suited to such a role compared to any others! … We are again in dangerous territory!
    (Unquote).

If not any of the above as possible candidate, who then would you recommend to follow in Atherley’s footsteps?

As it stands the system of governance (parliamentary democracy) requires the functioning of a Leader of the Opposition (LoO) as stated in the ‘governing’ Constitution.

What are the options, dear dpD?

The president of the new republic doing the honours?

Or are you envisioning a veritable one-party state of George Orwellian design?

As far as it is known the following has not been removed from the ‘adapted’ Constitution of the new republic:

Sec. 74. (1) There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General (read President) by instrument under the Public Seal.

(2) Whenever the Governor-General (read President) has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader:

9. It’s too simplistic to apportion blame on the DLP and by extension their leader, who I believe should be applauded for the hard effort she has put in over the last two years.

We have a press that has been effectively muted by this government. We have seen on BU, a fraction prior to her first election victory, a sustain campaign to silence debate on this platform and to suppress discussion on every front from immigration, worker’s right, the national health service, the inequities faced by Barbados majority population and the rest,

Imagine if Putin obtained a similar result in Russia.

We are now going to see our “elected” PM go into full overdrive. Her wallet is empty so she will just have to act out what she is instructed to do. Never mind, at least we are a Republic in name only.

10. All I will say at this time, is that the good people of Barbados have spoken and the elected the govt. they wanted. My question is did they get the government they deserved ?

11. I figured they would have engineered a 27-3 victory.

They are back in the same position with no opposition, no ability to get a senate and can’t end up with a parliament.

… and this tie, there is no Reverent Joe.

I actually respect Reverent Joe for the hari kari he committed.

He moved out of his constituency and went to one he was bound to lose.

Who is going to be new Reverent Joe and will Caswell fall in line again?

12. A few days ago our maximus leader commented how she will introduce a new nationality bill which will make it possible for those on the welcome stamp to become citizens of this country. She also added that this will include members of their extended family.

With a 30 nil victory Barbadian voters do not appear too concerned with this possibility.

13. How is a Parliament to be formed?

Who is the leader of the opposition?

14. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@angela cox January 20, 2022 3:08 AM

You must be one of those DLP Ostriches with their head buried in the sand since the 2018 defeat.

The DLP got zero seats again because they proved they learnt nothing from the previous 30-0 defeat. How can they prove anything when they
    1) Bring back Lowe, Sealy, Lashley and Estwick to run again. The party should have been blocked them from running and let them operate in the background on the campaign trail.
    2) Bring Freundel on a public stage for the first time since 2018 to make a speech that is not an apology speech to show they understood why they got the 30-0 the first time.

I hope they put Ryan Walters in the senate seat Mia give them cause he seemed to be the only DLP candidate front and center on the campaign trail years ago but if I know the DLP ostriches, they will put somebody like Estwick or Lashley in there.

15. What a monumental cock up?

It will expose the legitimacy of the “Parliament” from last time as the Bees seek to concoct another leader of the opposition.

If it weren’t so serious it would be laughable.

What a way to get their comeuppance?

16. New elections calling next week?

17. @ David
    What was the turnout?

18. @CA

Dr. Ronnie Yearwood is also a good selection.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Was wondering why only Loopnews was carrying results.

hearing voter turnout was low.

“With a 30 nil victory Barbadian voters do not appear too concerned with this possibility.”

resigned to their go nowhere fate.

don’t like to discuss those nuisances, but DLP should not have shown those old faces and should have changed their name while they were at it..

TLSN…more book titles coming up….lol.

20. @angela cox January 20, 2022 3:08 AM “Somethings doesn’t make sense
    Once again the poor sat back and let the rich kick them down the road.”

Methinks that it is that it is your beloved DP which has been kicked down the road.

Too many DLP Parliamentarians did not support Verla, and if former Parliamentarians did not show their confidence in Verla, are you surprised that the people showed no confidence either?. To tell the truth Verla deserved to be treated better by the MEN of the DLP. The misogyny is killing that party. Sometime I wonder if the DLP men were really born of WOMAN. And Freundel talking about a glorious decade did not help matters at all, at all.

Sorry Fruendel is no Erroll Barrow. He is no Erskine Sandiford either.

21. After TWO 30 loves and the comments by some DLP supporters!

22. @Enuff January 20, 2022 1:54 AM “No comment. My chair remains comfortable.”

I hope that you are not a fat salaried seat warmer?

23. @David “…in a surprising result…”

Why are you surprised???

24. @TLSN January 20, 2022 2:07 AM “This result is the norm in a dictarionship.”

How so?

I went out to vote yesterday.

No coercion at all.

And “no” I am not afraid of Mia, nor Lucille, nor Verla.

25. The blogmaster like many wanted to believe the DLP had done enough to be competitive in a couple constituencies. We will never know but the decision for Freundel Stuart first to speak and then his disconnected message was indescribable and possibly did untold damage. The other was Verla to lead. She is perceived as a light weight, Bajans are in love with ‘alpha’ types as leader.

26. @Critical Analyzer January 20, 2022 2:18 AM “Hopefully the DLP will listen and hear this time around after this repeat 30-0 because they did not listen after the last one. DLP need to part ways with all the former MPs, completely rebuild the party and get their candidates for the next elections selected and start canvassing from now.”

Correct.

27. @Mia Mottley

Do we need a 26 member cabinet?

28. Remember last 30-0, IMF CALLED IN, BONDS WORTHLESS, act. Just waiting for the new SHOE To drop.

29. @de pedantic Dribbler January 20, 2022 2:26 AM ” the starboy who took over EWB legacy but sold his party and nation for $3.3 million pieces of bronze … oh dear, oh dear.”

And still end up as a young duppy. How did the 3.3 help him?

Stupssseee!!!

I neva believed in the “star boy”

The DLP shoulda kept Clyde Mascoll.

30. The DLP presented a few fresh candidates like Ronnie Yearwood, Ryan Walters, Kemar Stuart. A few from the other parties as well. In all cases the electorate rejected them for marginal BLP candidates. What does the behaviour of voters signal?

31. The BLP betta serve the people who put them there. Because as sure as the people put them in, the people can take them out.

Hope that they don’t begin behaving like a bunch of entitled r@ssh0les

32. @TLSN January 20, 2022 3:33 AM “DLP and by extension their leader, who I believe should be applauded for the hard effort she has put in over the last two years.”

Verla put in the effort. She did not have the support of the party’s “heavy rollers” and this is unfortunate

33. Unfortunate for Verla.
    Unfortunate for the DLP.
    Unfortunate for Barbadians.

Too many of the DLP MEN seem stuck somewhere in the 1950’s

34. @TLSN January 20, 2022 3:33 AM “… a sustain campaign to silence debate on this platform…”

Where? where? where?

I lookin’, but I int see na silencing on BU

35. Oh dear I was so tired. Worked so hard yesterday including walking half an hour each way to and from my polling station.

I took my radio to bed with me, but promptly fell asleep and slept through the whole results thingy, until work woke me up at 3:30

36. The BLP won 30-0 again with a team that included Layne, McConney, Springer, Ishmael. What does this say? A word to the DLP leadership should be enough.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I noticed at one meeting, via video, the same tactic employed by the thing in St. Vincent to stay in power over 20 years was adopted and being used on vulnerable minds who know no better…..even mentioned it, that sleazy way of convincing them that they can’t live happily unless they elect these underminers, it’s evil the way these people are played like violins but that’s the ugly side used in desperation to keep people and their minds trapped indefinitely..

they can only take that slick talk and $300 needed dollars to the weakest to win anything…yes, we heard all about that too..

38. No my head is not buried in the sand
    The blp.won with a 40percent voter turn out
    So where were the other 60perecent
    The results therfore indicates that the majority of voters being those of the blp went out to vote
    Where were the voters who complained about the cost of living and all.other social.and economic problems like the rise in crime
    It is blatantly clear that the leadership of the dlp.could not have won favour with the majority of dlp.voters who stay at home
    On the question of new faces the dlp.had more new faces than old but could not deliver
    Sometimes people can prove themselves to be their own enemy
    MIA would continue to do the bidding of the rich while the poor would be enamored with symbols pain and suffering
    Hope no one steps up.from the dlp to form an opposition
    Let Barbados continue on a path of having a one term govt
    The people like it so

39. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved January 20, 2022 5:25 AM ”
    $300″

What $300? Somebody mussee got mine.

Passed my MP on my way to the polls yesterday, said “morning” and went long ’bout my business. Not scared of the MP either. MP didn’t offer any money, no flat screen TV either. Should I go back today to get my Grantleys or TV or whatever?

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They always bypass you because they know you will get on BU and call them out for trying to buy your vote……lol

they know who they have been suffering for the last 3 years and know they will say nothing, just take the money and go vote…remember the Dons are still in play and these people live around the Dons 24/7…

those areas are malicously KEPT DEPRESSED for more than one reason.

41. @angela cox January 20, 2022 5:41 AM “So where were the other 60 perecent?”

You tell us.

And yesterday was such a beautiful day too. I walked 20 minutes to my polling station and did not even break out a sweat even though I left home at 9:30.

Granted some voters did not turn out because of extreme caution about Covid. But if the DLP voters had supported their candidates and turned out in their numbers the BLP could NOT have EARNED 30 seats. Couldn’t happen.

The DLP voters should have turned out. Most polling stations are within easy walking distance even for the elderly. People wait outside in the fresh air. The windows and doors of the poling stations are wide open. There was a nice breeze blowing which helped to disperse germs. I went to the ATM and the supermarket on Monday and truthfully I felt significantly safer in the breezy open polling station than in the ENCLOSED air conditioned cubes which are the ATM’s and the supermarkets.

So you are correct

Where were the DLP voters?

Honestly, they disappoint me.

42. First of all, congratulations to our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley and her outstanding team for their grandiose victory!

Any parliamentary seat for the opposition would have been nothing but obvious electoral fraud. Barbados remains and is the only democratic, free country in the world with a one-party democracy wit unity of powers. That is because the people, the leader, the party and the nation are one.

I advise all BU commentators to temper their derogatory verdicts on our Supreme Leader. She is the greatest political genius of modern times. No one else can match her. Like Queen Elizabeth I of England, she is married to the nation. She is the mother of the nation. She is the high priestess of our Goddess Bim. She has defied volcanic ash, hurricanes, national bankruptcy, Corona and many other great dangers. No other Head of State in the history of Barbados ever had to conquer so many dangers in such a short time.

What is clear, in any case, is that after our Supreme Leader is confirmed by the will of the people, the big clean-up must begin. In the next few days, I will send the public a list of enemies of the state who must be permanently neutralised.

Supreme Leader command, Hyatt is coming!

Tron, year 1 NR, year 4 SL.

43. Lucille’s “I ‘fraid Mia” thingy didn’t wuk at all, at all, at all.

44. So were the elections free and fair?

My experience is that the elections were free and fair.

Does a 30-0 make me a bit nervous?

Yes it does. And not because I ‘fraid Mia. I ‘fraid HUMANITY,

45. @Tron January 20, 2022 6:00 AM “I advise all BU commentators to temper their derogatory verdicts”

What derogatory verdicts you talking ’bout?

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They can’t exactly get away with anything now, without violation of human rights being exposed to the world, even corruption will be iffy and harder to pull off, no one is going to give them any breathing room, nor advice for that matter…let’s see how they start off.

They are even more vulnerable now than previously, any strong arm tactics will be BRUTALLY exposed…

47. @Tron January 20, 2022 6:00 AM ” She has defied volcanic ash, hurricanes, national bankruptcy, Corona…”

Tell us.

Did she slay any dragons???

48. @ Cuhdear Bajan January 20, 2022 6:18 AM

Not yet. However, she has fought in the Senate against the outspoken senator, a treacherous force whose destructive will far exceeds volcanic ash, firestorms and the plague! It is long overdue that the people proclaim our Supreme Leader a national saint and erect a monument for her in front of Parliament. Where once Grand Admiral Nelson was. She has long ceased to be a simple national heroine of our hearts.

I sincerely hope that our Supreme Leader will not allow a bishop to play the opposition again. What we really need is national unity, and unconditional obedience to implement the will of our Supreme Leader. The Senate must finally approve the Integrity and Transparency Bill! Otherwise, the outraged people might storm this undemocratic institution from slave-owning times.

49. Oh dear! I was between sleep and wake and awoke to the news that Lorenzo has died in a fit of ecstasy!

So…30:0, yes, but how bad was the beating really? What were the constituency numbers?

Oh dear!

I see my sista simpleton has held Fort Logic while I slept.

And Critical Analyzer again showed that his/her blindness is a confined to one blind spot.

Freundel Stuart magically caused any potential DLP seats to disappear with his magic word – GLORIOUS!

With that word he conjured up vivid memories of despair. Tired feet again felt the distress of bus stand and bus stop blues. Mothers again felt the fear of young ones on the roads at seven o’ clock p.m., their frustration with the mad scramble to finish homework and housework and the weary awakening at four o’ clock to begin the uphill battle all over again.

The sickening stink of street sewage returned to their nostrils. Their stomachs rebelled and churned nauseatingly in remembrance.

Memories of returning home to front doors rendered unwelcoming by weeks old revoltingly reeking overflowing refuse.

And those who presided over the torture had the gall to present themselves for further payment from the public purse!

Thanks to Froon the overwhelming stench of Cahill Corruption was rekindled and could not be ignored.

The rage returned! Thirty lashes in DEM asses!

Clean house or die, DLP!

BLP, take note!

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…those living in the diaspora are just as wary of the whole charade as those who understand the dynamics and living on the island…but the platforms are endless for distribution of news…everywhere….this is not a win but a TEST.

hope they don’t have regrets later when they erronously believe “they got this” and not the people who put them there.