Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Submitted by Observing

On December 27, 2021 a snap election was called. Previous threads speak clearly to this author’s view of the soundness of that decision. But, to say that we are in unprecedented time is to put it mildly.

First, we have never had a 30-0 wipeout. It is therefore inevitable that the DLP will receive opposing votes. The amount is still left to be seen but based on the apathy, frustration and recent criticisms of the sitting PM the opposition may actually be larger than expected.

Secondly, we have a very short election. Discounting Old Year’s night and the weekend campaigns there was essentially only 2 ½ weeks. To their credit the DLP seem to have been “almost” ready when others thought they weren’t. To their detriment though they still have a bit more to do to convince the electorate that they are a government in waiting. Criticism of the present government does not automatically get the support of the electorate.

Thirdly, there are divisions. Divisions in both parties, divisions among the labour unions, divisions in the civil service, divisions in the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, division in the communities. There is absolutely no way that a heated election with a popular but not as popular Prime Minister faced with a new opposition in Parliament will help those divisions. The spin about a need for a united country being the reason for calling elections was BS and we all know it. The PM should know better than to take us for idiots.

Lastly, Covid. The news that Covid positive people cannot vote was a shocker. For a government to make this call and not consider this eventuality is almost criminal and, yes, I believe should be punished with the relevant vote. Based on the current rate there are 3880 persons in isolation with an average of 300 being added each day over the last 7 days. We were told that it will get worse. This means that around 5000+ persons will not be able to exercise their right to vote.

In 2013, 20 seats were decided by less than 200 votes. Other elections in some constituencies over the years reflect this margin as a norm. Have we decided to gamble with our elections and votes?

This is a critical time in our history for many reasons but it seems that regrettably, a rash unnecessary political decision was made for a hopeful political outcome that has rendered the genuine national good as secondary to a selfish motive. In 2022 we should be better than this.

Whoever wins, whatever comes, we will have tough times ahead in all aspects and areas. Will the real leaders and thinkers please stand up???

180 responses to “Unnecessary Unpredictably”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, “The EBC could stop the election?”

On WHAT legal basis, boss!

You looking for jail for some big shot lawyer or something.

Who would be Haynes or his Deputy and that crew to contravene a duly enacted constitutional act by PM in calling the election?

You looking fah trouble!🙄

2. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved January 14, 2022 7:14 AM “Cuddear…be prepared to take a 4th 5th, 6th and maybe 7th to 10th shot…ya just started.”

I have no problem with taking an annual covid shot if needed. Since childhood, since I have always worked in the soil, I have taken a tetanus shot every 10 years and I have no problem with that either.

Thing is I don’t take the flu shot, and I am not sure why, except it maybe that I rarely seem to get the flu, open windows and plenty of fresh air and sunshine helps perhaps??? I don’t know.

Not boasting but my lat flu was in January 2009.

3. @ David
    The EBC cannot call an election. However it could have been instructed to put proper provisions in place to make all citizens rights to vote guaranteed.
    This is a calculated political risk that has achieved its intended objective of creating chaos within the process.
    With this kind of chaos , rigging of the elections is possible by any party.
    Let us hope, that in the interest of our beloved country, that no such possibility actual takes place.
    Should there be any widespread dissatisfaction with the process, there could be widespread disaffection with the results leading to social and political unrest.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    Are advance polls not legal in Barbados?
    How many people need to be accommodated?

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“Not boasting but my lat flu was in January 2009”

flu shot is useless, does not stop the flu, took it once, but it gave me a cold every two weeks for at least 60 days, it takes me up to ten years to catch a cold sometimes, shark oil, whale oil, vitamins, Wonder World etc does the trick.

We may not have much of a choice with vaccines though. Cyprus just claimed to have a new variant which they say latched on to the current one….given the source, all of it is beginning to sound a little too convenient.

“Scientists in Cyprus have identified a new ‘Deltacron’ Covid strain in 25 patients that combines the Delta and Omicron variants.”

6. PM: No hand in conduct of polls

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley says that she has no intention of wading into the controversy surrounding those with COVID-19 not being able to vote in this election, due to being confined to isolation.
    With Barbados recording four consecutive days of cases above 500, there are now close to 5 000 people in isolation, with still five days to go before Barbadians go to the polls.
    The matter has been compounded by the findings of the most recent modelling by the University of the West Indies’ George Alleyne Chronic Disease Research Centre, which projects a worst-case scenario of a COVID-19 surge peaking at 3 500 cases daily as a result of the Omicron variant.
    Responding to the question during a press conference yesterday, Mottley said the issue was out of her purview and that any decision at this eleventh hour rests squarely with the Electoral & Boundaries Commission (EBC).
    “A Prime Minister of Barbados has no locus standi in the conduct of General Elections, that is a matter solely for the Electoral & Boundaries Commission,” Mottley said.
    ‘Argue a case once’
    When pressed further about the potential legal ramifications and its possible implications for Wednesday’s election, the Prime Minister said: “When I became an attorney at law at 21, my father taught me one thing; you argue a case once, in court. If they bring the matter to court, we will argue it.”
    On Friday the Weekend Nation reported that one lawyer was at the ready to sue authorities on behalf of those stuck in isolation and unable to vote.
    Attorney-at-law Michelle Russell, who was one of those who sued the Electoral & Boundaries Commission in 2018 in order to be allowed to vote as a CARICOM citizen, said she had been in discussion with another lawyer who was willing to challenge the EBC.
    Russell said she was aware of a number of people
    in isolation and believed that action should be taken but by someone “who believes their rights” were being infringed. She added that she knew one attorney willing to take on the action but I wouldn’t name names at this point”.
    This newspaper made several attempts to reach chairman of the EBC Leslie Haynes QC, but was unsuccessful. However, last week Haynes said that the only way those who were COVID-19 positive and in isolation could vote in the 2022 election would be through a change in the directives under the emergency powers.
    He said contrary to what some persons are suggesting, the hands of the EBC were tied in this matter, noting the law does not permit them to make any adjustments to the manner in which ballots could be cast.
    (CLM)

7. Too late to file election case

It is too late to challenge the sudden election call that made no provisions for those in isolation to vote.
    While an attorney, who did not want to be identified, was willing to advance a case for anyone isolated and therefore ruled out of casting a vote, time has run out.
    Attorney Michelle Russell had revealed that there was a colleague poised to take on the challenge but yesterday she said that time was against anyone attempting to file suit. She explained that between Thursday and yesterday morning several people had come forward willing to test the matter in court but with the election due on Wednesday, there just was not enough time.
    “Even with a best-case scenario we would have had to file last week . . . We are in crunch time,” she said.
    She explained that, though not impossible, with a week and a half for taking instruction and filing the case it was difficult to get the matter heard in time.
    She said the timing of the announcement was another negative as it limited the ability of anyone who opposed the time to seek legal redress.
    Corrected article
    She corrected Friday’s article which said that 10 000 could be affected, saying that she had said “when thousands” could be affected. In that article Isolation Suit Call, Russell outlined that
    there needed to be someone who was affected to put their name to the action.
    The automatic barring of those in isolation from voting on January 19 was a source of contention for members of the public and, along with Russell, Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson, said he believed the Government could be sued for depriving some voters of that right.
    “No Government can freely ignore the law and because the right to vote is enshrined in the Representation Of The People Act, which The Constitution mandates must make provision for every qualified voter to have a reasonable opportunity of voting in an election, then it means the actions of the Government are certainly amenable to judicial review,” Patterson had said on the Nation Publishing’s State Of The Nation online discussion. ( AC)

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They could look into suing after the election for having their constitutional rights violated…depending on the outcome next week. This is such an ugly farce, as long as they keep their embedded stupidity ISOLATED to Barbados ONLY, because everyone is WATCHING THEM..

..and no one who has even a modicum of intelligence is impressed.

9. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Imagine creating an issue and then saying they are not “ wading “ into it.
    That’s what an intelligent, highly educated people are supposed to accept.

10. The blogmaster is not an admirer of group think.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…it get’s worse, some of the things coming out people are actually wondering WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON…..but know it’s in their best interest to STAY CLEAR for safety reasons…and make sure if they try to SPREAD ANY OF THAT POISON anywhere else….they will see themselves STOPPED IN THEIR TRACKS…

there is not much that can be done for Barbados, we know that, it’s been going on for far too long, centuries and THEN DECADES long, and the people REFUSE TO RISE UP and CAPSIZE them, talking shite but they are conservative = mindless Slaves..

, but should they attempt to carry that destructiveness anywhere offshore that is not already a part of it, they will surely see what can be done TO and ABOUT THEM IMMEDIATELY..

12. RIP Ronnie Spector

Died 12 January 2022

13. So on top of no provision for the 5000+ Covid positive patients, the EBC is also saying that it did not have enough time to process change of addresses for over 1000 people. Added to that is the recent change in the location of a number of polling stations.

Clearly an election like no other is upon us.

Just observing

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

When put into its proper perspective….in Black and White…as we type….the now more dead than dying COLONIAL system was expertly designed to SACRIFICE Black/Afrikan lives without deviation..for thousands of years, but unforeseen circumstances and unintended consequences put a DIRECT STOP TO THAT… …..so to keep it LIMPING ALONG….more Black/Afrikan lives must now be sacrificed….and those who are soft in the head are the best targets…

..William…just make sure you and yours are not part of any voluntary self-sacrifice..

that’s why they are being WARNED, attempt to take this evil elsewhere and there will be A VERY STEEP PRICE TO PAY….isolation is the only cure.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

another LIE from EBC…thousands and thousands of erroneous addresses are on the list…..and those who know they are impacted, whose names should not have been dumped in cyberspace to begin with, should NEVER VOTE AGAIN or add their names, register, for another voters’ list.

16. Using a random quote as a springboard

“When put into its proper perspective….in Black and White…”

there is no racism with very young
    and oldies can get along too

issues seems to be when young reach adulthood are of breeding age and compete in work and business environments then they are deemed enemies and threats to their races

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Unfortunately all the recent progress being made has become unsuitable for dissecting on a political blog.

We have reached a place where the Afrikan family MUST BE PROTECTED AT ALL COST to save our YOUNG/YOUNGER and FUTURE GENERATIONS from thisDELIBERATELY wicked onslaught of poverty, prison and death…not everyone cares about them….but that’s their opinion and i will NEVER try to change it…..everyone is entitled to one..

RA is on the move.

18. If one were to take the population of the US at 400M and that of Barbados at 300K, then 5k in Barbados would be similar to 6.6M in the US.

Even with our high number of illegal immigrants, a possible disfranchising of any subset of our population would cause an uproar.
    Since covid-19 in Barbados seem to be a problem of the elderly, that 5k-6k is full of eligible voters.

19. Wura,
    It appears that you are no longer in hiding. I can see that you are on high alert.
    Nice.

20. Woman dead 21 years on voters’ list; EBC vows to clean up

EBC head maintains ‘no vote’ rule for COVID-positive patients

More than 1,000 requests submitted to EBC ahead of January 19 polls

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/15/ebc-head-maintains-no-vote-rule-for-covid-positive-patients/

21. Hant,

Your summary is very misleading.

One dead person signifies only that humans are HUMAN. The official vowed to clean up that ONE mistake not the whole list.

EVERY VOTER’S LIST HAS AT LEAST ONE DEAD PERSON ON IT. Probably more, even excluding recent deaths which are unavoidable discrepancies.

The 1000 applications were for change of address. Seems to be mostly people who did not previously submit and recent movers,

NTSH.

Seriously.

22. Nonsence!

23. Also voters have to produce valid identification to vote and or have credentials to vote validated. It is not a case a person can easily vote by adopting the identity of a dead person. Sometimes the blogmaster gets tired defending these attacks on an electoral system that has been modeled by other countries. We are our worse enemie.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, I am not clear re your “Are advance polls not legal in Barbados?” Maybe u are being rhetorical … as of course no type of polling is ultra vires our laws, as far as I know.

@David, going back to that earlier debate of what the PM and EBC could or couldn’t do I found MAM’s remarks to be exceedingly CALLOUS and amazingly DISINGENUOUS.

How the badword can a PM who calls an election almost 2 years before next due date have the gall to BS Bajans with “If they bring the matter to court, we will argue it.”

She basically is saying ‘LOL, as PM I gine wait to see if wanna got any balls atall. Since I did 21 pops tell me to keep my powder dry for de courts… so see yah there”

But of course she is representing ALL Bajans now … NOT some client. She deliberately THUMBED her nose at over 5,000+ of us voters with a callous disregard for a fundamental almost sacrosanct right we hold dear (whether we exercise it or not) and is smirking about it!

THIS is our avowed leader who we big up as some international celebrity.

SMH!

BTW @David what do YOU mean re “The blogmaster is not an admirer of group think” re this blog!

25. @Theo
    “Even with our high number of illegal immigrants, a possible disfranchising of any subset of our population would cause an uproar.

Correct!

But yet we consider ourselves “first world country”

@Donna
    “The 1000 applications were for change of address. Seems to be mostly people who did not previously submit and recent movers,”

True. But, those persons did not call the election. Why should they now be disadvantaged????

26. @Dee Word

We have a few who always agree doesn’t matter the point. The blogmaster as you know will take many positions to coax as many perspectives as possible.

27. @observing

This is a moral issue re: number of covid related people who will not be allowed to vote. Unless it was tested we do not know if it is illegal. The blogmaster finds it instructive not one opposition political party or some other has pursued the matter in the court.

28. Though I agree that provision should and could have been made for persons in isolation to vote in these times, I am not prepared to ascribe nefarious motives for this omission.

How the RH would Mia know who will be disenfranchised by election day?

It could even cost her some closely contested seats.

29. Observing,

Disadvantaged how? They vote according to their old address. The officials are investigating to confirm the changes of address since this could easily be manipulated to affect the outcome in closely contested constituencies.

NTSH

30. Now…. what is of interest to me is the election circular I received this morning from my representative.

It lists no accomplishments or even projects STARTED OR ENVISIONED for her constituency.

While I understand and actually consider the national perspective to be the means for nationwide empowerment, a respresentative for a constituency must advocate for her constituents’ piece of the pie and must also do some grass roots empowering in the community.

My representative is invisible like The Phantom, except that she is a Ghost who DOES NOT walk!

My plumber still walking. My handy man still walking. Covid has not stopped them from fixing stuff.

Where is the doctor?

31. @David
    The blogmaster finds it instructive not one opposition political party or some other has pursued the matter in the court.
    ++++++++++++++++
    Don’t make me laugh, seems that you always hoping that some politician or political party would challenge some Gov’t process or directive. I am racking my brain to see how often that happens and I can remember Commissiong challenging the Gov’t re Hyatt and I think GP tried a thing about the Republic but Bajans by and large are the compliant type, we like to grumble and complain amongst ourselves but in the end the meekness comes to the surface.

Meekness is 40 years after Gabby sang “Jack”, he was on the beach telling a tourist “that the beach belong to we”

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re “The blogmaster finds it instructive not one opposition political party or some other has pursued the matter in the court.”

That there are a bunch of limp lillies’ instructive, fah damn sure … steeupse.

Phillips WASTED time, money and effort taking the NO WINNABLE Republicanism issue to court but did NOTHING on this significant civil rights issue.

Hal Gollop is a DLP operative, SENIOR lawyer and Deputy at EBC I believe … he was thus at the fore front of this and has the legal knowledge to appreciate ALL the technicalities but he encouraged his party to do NOTHING, it seems.

Lynette Eastmond is an attorney … what did she do! Nothing.

Games @David … freaking, stupid incongruous GAMES they playing! Alas.

And we expect oppo parties to make ANY difference to anything.

Steeupse!

BTW, was Franklyn not distracted I believe this would have been more vehemently prosecuted … and note that Ms Michelle Russell who apart from Patterson offered the best analysis of this affair is even NOT Bajan. SMH.

33. @Dee Word

Exactly!

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Not that it matters, other than the fact that Bajans appear timid in dem own place … but isn’t Patterson also non-Bajan!

Dem better becareful MAM don’t pull Tom v Gonzales pun dem backside!

@Donna, there is a very clear alternative to ur position that “[you are] not prepared to ascribe nefarious motives for this omission.”

And true dat “It could even cost her some closely contested seats.” … therein lies the deliberate, callous disregard because she filly accepts that in order to possibly cull her dissenters.

She doesn’t care about Bajans and our right to vote .. something her grandfather would have fought vigorously for (in principal anyhow) …she is all about self!

That’s disgustingly wrong … she can proselytize her BLP policies vigorously in a partisan way but on voting rights she MUST defend that right for ALL Bajans.

So you can be sure she knows many “will be disenfranchised by election day” but you are right she cud give a RH … she gine still win BIGLY regardless.

—- ok on a technicality, so to speak.

So unless things have changed drastically since I played around at polling stations invigilating way-back-in-time the address thingy is relevant to ensure you are at the RIGHT vote ‘booth’, not so!

Follks have been know fo visit multiple pol-booths in their constituency trying to vote multiple times if they can mamiguy well enough …
    Not often successful but some have tried.

But the flip side of that is being ‘disadvantaged’ when you now live in Cottage and turn up to vote there and can’t be found … then only to remember your mum told you that you still registered in Checker Hall.

You are upset as hell as you don’t feel to tek that drive … so all that type of conniption can be a real effort at voter suppression … NOT saying that anyone is doing that deliberately here …BUT with our small vote pop numericks… all of that is REAL politricks.

Lists should be ready when the call is made!

You are absolutely right “this [and covid restrictions] could easily be manipulated to affect the outcome in closely contested constituencies.”

All hail MAM!

35. And even more interesting is the independent candidate who this morning spotted my male cousins, whom he knows well, setting up my composter in my garage.

So…. he reverses his car, jumps out, walks up my driveway… and without acknowledging my presence at my own house, proceeds to address those whom he knows does not live there. It was left to me to ask my cousins who it was standing in my driveway.

Fancy that!

No manners, no vote!

36. @david
    It is quite legal. But legal, right, moral and just are four completely different and distinct concepts!!!

@Donna
    As mentioned in another thread I am not inferring any nefarious, dubious or conspiratorial motive to the PM. Never have and never will even if it might be true. I just don’t know.

Also you said “Disadvantaged how?

Confusion and uncertainty when voting, especially if only given an hour during a working day to vote leads to not voting. The question is, did EBC have enough time, resources and officers to do what is legally required under normal circumstances????

Too sorry to hear about the disappointment with your election circular. I think it may reflet the sitting MP but I’m only guessing.

37. @dPd

Amen

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Meekness is 40 years after Gabby sang “Jack”, he was on the beach telling a tourist “that the beach belong to we”

and getting beat up by their dumb 8 dollar an hour security guards at these racist apartheid hotels.. too…lol

Thanks Theo..

39. Now….if you have not submitted a change of address and the election caught you by surprise that is the luck of the draw. That is a problem you have created for yourself.

If you have submitted a change of address and no change has been made, you still had ample time to check the register and have that change made.

And as far as I know, barring recent submissions, the list was ready and stupidly published along with our blasted NR numbers two weeks ago.

There will always be errors and discrepancies. Plenty up your side.

NTSH.

PLUS…. I don’t see your logic wrt not caring about losing some votes to get at her dissenters. I am truly baffled.

This was obviously one of her decisions made without thought. An unforced error which she cannot now correct as parliament is no more. So she talking shite rather than acknowledge her error according to what is written in your political bible, The Prince.

40. A new year campaign seems to generate very little interest
    and it looks like voter apathy will play a big part
    at least there is less political fighting and biting

41. Nobody is in the mood for an election
    Has BLP HQ made a colossal miscalculation

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

More and more deceased are being disturbed, someone else’s Mom deceased 16 years got a notice from EBC..about voting…steuppppsss.

43. We used to be taught that voting in Barbados is a responsibility and a right.

Now some ah wunna implying that it ent nuh big ting.

wha happen ?

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    My point was…simple and easy ways to show accomodation to all. An effort was made in difficult times to be inclusive.
    There maybe cussing after something didn’t work, there always will be.
    No system is perfect.
    Mekking a bariffle of sausages today, so gone to mek love to my new (to me) grinder.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, OK 👍🏿

@Donna, re “…. I don’t see your logic […] about losing some votes to get at her dissenters. I am truly baffled.”

I too was being quite simple.

MAM is VERY calculating and throughout her career has been seen as a micromanager … I have NEVER seen a political operative of that type make such egregious decisions “without thought.”

1.She had an UNASSAILABLE 28 seat majority …. 2) She also had a massive, untenably large cabinet as she tried to keep everyone as happy as possible. … 3) Some of those folks appeared to become unhappy and challenged her authority.

So this 4) Unnecessary and very early election placed her in a position to retain that unassailable majority with the very strong likelihood of a few seats for the opposing DLP…. giving her a better oppo foil and better fodder to engage her previously cumbersaome BLP backbench …. 5) Worst case, for her is probably a 20 – 10 split (unlikely) but regardless of outcome she can fully reset and shift those around whom she considers not loyal enough.

The Americans call it a ‘win, win’ … ‘dah fah lick wanna (we)’ in simple Bajan!

She would have paraded cat pissing and peppering de Island if Fuendel had pulled a stunt like this …
    cutting him to shreds as disenfranchising all we!

So more power to you if you perceive that she ‘mumbled’ unknowingly into this … de fellas up here does ‘tumble’ into their ‘did I do that’ moments too.

All according to the ‘bible’ fah sure: de end does justify de means, not so! 😇👍🏿

Lata

46. Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley says that she has no intention of wading into the controversy surrounding those with COVID-19 not being able to vote in this election, due to being confined to isolation.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/01/15/pm-no-hand-conduct-polls/

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If you have people double voting means this would have to be going on for quite some YEARS….no problem if 7 or 8 thousand quarantines/isolated people are banned from voting, just DOUBLE UP…

problem is that SCAM is now fully exposed…..was hearing about these irregularities FOR QUITE SOME TIME….the voter’s list dump which we can now put down as accidental/incompetence is just bringing it all into perspective..

48. an gave it to Dale.

“Attorney General Dale Marshall has warned that a day of reckoning is coming in the law courts of Barbados, as investigations have resumed into allegations of corruption under the last Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration.”

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

steupppss….that is for LYING TEETS…

just months ago he said that they could not arrest anyone, how difficult it would be to prove corruption or get a conviction…how it was so hard to investigate and how people were afraid to come forward with information………MORE LIES..