Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Submitted by Observing

On December 27, 2021 a snap election was called. Previous threads speak clearly to this author’s view of the soundness of that decision. But, to say that we are in unprecedented time is to put it mildly.

First, we have never had a 30-0 wipeout. It is therefore inevitable that the DLP will receive opposing votes. The amount is still left to be seen but based on the apathy, frustration and recent criticisms of the sitting PM the opposition may actually be larger than expected.

Secondly, we have a very short election. Discounting Old Year’s night and the weekend campaigns there was essentially only 2 ½ weeks. To their credit the DLP seem to have been “almost” ready when others thought they weren’t. To their detriment though they still have a bit more to do to convince the electorate that they are a government in waiting. Criticism of the present government does not automatically get the support of the electorate.

Thirdly, there are divisions. Divisions in both parties, divisions among the labour unions, divisions in the civil service, divisions in the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, division in the communities. There is absolutely no way that a heated election with a popular but not as popular Prime Minister faced with a new opposition in Parliament will help those divisions. The spin about a need for a united country being the reason for calling elections was BS and we all know it. The PM should know better than to take us for idiots.

Lastly, Covid. The news that Covid positive people cannot vote was a shocker. For a government to make this call and not consider this eventuality is almost criminal and, yes, I believe should be punished with the relevant vote. Based on the current rate there are 3880 persons in isolation with an average of 300 being added each day over the last 7 days. We were told that it will get worse. This means that around 5000+ persons will not be able to exercise their right to vote.

In 2013, 20 seats were decided by less than 200 votes. Other elections in some constituencies over the years reflect this margin as a norm. Have we decided to gamble with our elections and votes?

This is a critical time in our history for many reasons but it seems that regrettably, a rash unnecessary political decision was made for a hopeful political outcome that has rendered the genuine national good as secondary to a selfish motive. In 2022 we should be better than this.

Whoever wins, whatever comes, we will have tough times ahead in all aspects and areas. Will the real leaders and thinkers please stand up???

180 responses to “Unnecessary Unpredictably”

1. Mia’s political overreach

THE CALLING OF the early poll by the Prime Minister of Barbados, along with her July 2020 Cabinet reshuffle, and her orchestrated by-election in St George in November 2020, betray her tendency to take big actions for small reasons.
    These actions were bewilderingly unnecessary especially since their main outcome has been to unsettle the country and the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in a context of little to no threat to the BLP or Mottley’s leadership from within or without.
    There is little doubt that the period between 2013 and 2018 was a very unsettled political one.
    Barbados faced severe economic challenges, with an evenly split Parliament, with internal political fissures in both major political parties, and with protest marches and strikes dotting the landscape.
    Resolving challenges
    Given this background, the result of the 2018 election represented a mandate for governmental, leadership and party stability. It was mathematically impossible to receive a more absolute mandate. It was anticipated that the Government would use the moment to settle the country and to focus on resolving the challenges of the global political economy, while solidifying the internal and external unanimity achieved in May 2018.
    However, in the years since the 2018 election, all the moments of political instability, barring the floor-crossing of Bishop Joseph Atherley, have been the result of the Prime Minister’s actions of overreaching.
    It was difficult to see the point of the Cabinet reshuffle. There were no acts of corruption, no ministers requiring disciplining, and by and large no shocking performance failures by ministers.
    The only outcome of the reshuffle was to create rifts between Mottley and previously loyal political associates, and perhaps to foster feelings of insecurity in the Cabinet.
    The same can be said for the St George North by-election. Was replacing Gline Clarke of such urgent necessity that it could not wait for the General
    Election? Has St George North faced such a political crisis to justify three elections in as many years?
    Similarly, it was clear from the Prime Minister’s claims of division and an unsettled political atmosphere, that her stated reasons for calling the early election rang hollow. It was like someone shouting in a canyon and complaining about the echo.
    Solidify resistance
    The only possible new outcome of an early election is the hastening of the recovery of the Democratic Labour Party. Currently with zero seats, only improvement is likely. With a Leader of the Opposition, a subvention and an energised mass base, far from quelling the pockets of discontent, the election will extend and solidify the existing pools of resistance. Further, Mottley’s early election has the appearance of a leader sacrificing her weaker candidates, unnecessarily.
    With the challenges of COVID-19, climate change and economic uncertainty likely to persist indefinitely, the political environment in Barbados is likely to be far more unsettled after January 19.
    Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, specialising in regional affairs.
    Email tjoe2008@live.com

2. 30-0 is old results old news
    current score is 0-0
    and results will be counted afresh

DLP were badly hurt and moaning about Mia and BLP
    but now they have the opportunity to make a challenge
    it seems they have gone quiet and are afraid and scared

3. Dlp has not gone quiet
    That is a wish want the the blp had hoped for in this coming election
    The dlp campagain has given meaning to the word Hope for the youth
    Unlike the present govt who believes cleaning up ash fall was a Creator giving policy for the youth and a necessary and well meant time for the youth to get a job

4. In 2018 Were BLP rewarded for their good deeds or were DLP punished for their bad deeds.
    Even if we don’t achieve a level of Biblical Figures and Spiritual masters, we can earn merits and a share for the world to come. We do our best, and the periphrastic way of speech and writing of God other than prayer rewards us according to our built vessel and the Light we drew with our good deeds. Each person according to their efforts.

5. There is a unification that never separates on the most high level. This is the secret of the unification of the supernal Father and Mother and the aspect of the upper levels is the location of the mystical state where all ten levels in the Tree of Life are united as one divine superconscious Will that is beyond conscious intellect. The next three describe three levels of conscious divine intellect. In particular, in its knowable form, the concept of knowledge. That those who have merits for the world to come, that is, understanding, would be part of this supernal unification.

6. Lastly, Covid. The news that Covid positive people cannot vote was a shocker. For a government to make this call and not consider this eventuality is almost criminal and, yes, I believe should be punished with the relevant vote. Based on the current rate there are 3880 persons in isolation with an average of 300 being added each day over the last 7 days. We were told that it will get worse. This means that around 5000+ persons will not be able to exercise their right to vote.

But are the cases local or imported?

If imported, why would this card be played?

7. the Holy One Blessed be He prepare everything to give pleasures to the righteous people in the future, as it is written
    the Holy One Blessed be He has many thousands and many tens of thousands of holy camps to serve under the command in the building of souls. Some with the supernal face, some with eyes, some with weapons, some with cries, some with trumpets, some with mercy, some with justice

8. People seem to be griping and moaning about anything and everything that is happening
    but this election should be about what is to come
    don’t look at the future as problems but as challenges

The Building of a Nation

Barbados vsn.1.0
    was a white mans heaven and a black mans hell
    blacks were inferior as per preamble in slave code
    whites were superior as per white supremacy doctrine

Barbados vsn. 2.0
    according to some pundits
    it was a duopoly
    for slavery

Republic of Barbados vsn. 1.0
    Is the new book to be written
    Chapter 1 will be about the next 5 years

9. Why call the election if things were looking so good ?

” In fact, said Greenidge, Barbados was on a track to continued growth.”

“We fixed the debt, we paid back the arrears, we fixed the reserves. The only thing remaining to be done was to continue the structural reforms that came out of the online survey we did with the public of Barbados saying what they wanted in terms of SOEs [state-owned enterprises] and the services delivered,” Dr Greenidge said.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/13/greenidge-says-focus-is-now-on-growth/

10. What this election suggest to me is that the current problems being experienced by this country will not be resolved within eighteen months. Were it possible to solve the financial and others confronting us within that time frame, there would have been no need to fritter away that massive majority in parliament after only three and one half years. So, what we are looking at is more of the same or worst, for five more years.

While acknowledged as an international star of unrivaled brilliance, who has brought global recognition once again to Barbados, there seems to be a lack of leadership on the local level reflected in numerous ill advised and unforced decisions craving visionary leadership. Be reminded that with thirty seats in parliament, an overwhelming Senate and consultants too numerous to mention, we are still adrift in an ocean of social and economic problems with no solution anticipated over the horizon (hopefully).

Regrettably, for ten years in the past, all we were repeatedly told (if told anything at all) was that there was light at the end of the tunnel. Apparently the vision of that light was based on faith as no one could see it.

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Around and around the mulberry bush we do go.

12. Our problems will take years and this is provided the correct economic prescription is applied.

13. “Our problems will take years and this is provided the correct economic prescription is applied.”

Proverbs

A Journey of a 1,000 miles begins with your first step

But, Bajans tend to take one step forwards and two steps backwards
    and need to turn around so they can walk backwards and go in the right direction

14. @ David,

Did you read the what I posted above at 9:06 AM ?

15. @Hants

Read earlier. Some economy related info on the blog below dealing with the economy.

16. angela cox January 13, 2022 6:19 AM #: “Unlike the present govt who believes cleaning up ash fall was a Creator giving policy for the youth and a necessary and well meant time for the youth to get a job.”

On Friday, December 9, 2016, former Health Minister John Boyce led off the debate in the House of Assembly on a resolution to approve $3,155,344 to supplement the Estimates 2016-2017, for the payment of a debushing programme from Monday, December 5, 2016 until Friday, March 31, 2017.
    Boyce said the debushing would’ve presented opportunities for employment in various areas and be a source of revenue also for small businesses in that field.

We all know that “cleaning up ash fall” and clearing bush were TEMPORARY initiatives that provided TEMPORARY EMPLOYMENT for people.

Therefore, in the interest of being FAIR and BALANCED, please explain to BU what are the significant differences in the concepts of both clean up campaigns?

Based on your argument, then, surely BOTH programmes should be EQUALLY criticized.

17. Governments grab the opportunities to create ” make work programs ” to combat unemployment.

18. There is no difference expect present govt lauded the ash cleaners up programe as if it was a better alternative than being jobless
    Given that present govt had made a promise to the youth that alternative programs would have been put in place to get the youth off the streets

19. “. This means that around 5000+ persons will not be able to exercise their right to vote.

In 2013, 20 seats were decided by less than 200 votes. Other elections in some constituencies over the years reflect this margin as a norm. Have we decided to gamble with our elections and votes?”
    1. Very good.
    2. 🐇/🐰and i paid attention to the same text, but our concerns differ.

Why should Mia disfranchise such a large number? Does she have polling data that we can only guess at? Was she told that those infected with Covid-19 are less likely to vote for the BLP.

Given her past history, we may see this as another item that was horribly bungled, but it could have been a wicked and precise calculation on her part.
    ——xx—–
    😃Meanwhile 🐇/🐰 is back there filtering drinking water through a N95 covid-19 mask.😀

20. RE: “There is no difference expect present govt lauded the ash cleaners up programe as if it was a better alternative than being jobless.”

You’re ‘scraping the bottom of the barrel’ to misrepresent the truth.

Maybe you should ask yourself if the clean up programmes under BOTH administrations were not “better alternatives than being jobless?”

RE: “Given that present govt had made a promise to the youth that alternative programs would have been put in place to get the youth off the streets.”

You’re essentially ‘saying’ ‘government’ fulfilled its promise to the youth by employing them in a temporary clean up program.

As usual, you’re MISREPRESENTING the TRUTH. Several people of VARYING AGES were employed in the ash fall clean up, many of whom are STILL employed clearing gutters, sidewalks and debushing in several communities across Barbados.

Those activities were previously undertaken by Beautify Barbados.

But, I’m sure you remember that Department was closed and its employees retrenched, with them having to WAIT almost THREE (3) YEARS before being paid their severance payments, while the work they previously undertook, was OUTSOURCED to a business owned by your then IN-LAW, Mark Maloney.

Perhaps the better option would’ve been for ‘government’ to organise those former employees, facilitate the process for them to create their own company, to which cleaning around the island would be outsourced.

Interestingly and ironically, prior to May 24, 2018 people, such as you, were singing Maloney’s praises because he was your IN-LAW, while Enuff and those of his ilk thought of him as an OUTLAW.

On May 25, 2018, he suddenly became an OUTLAW to your group and an IN-LAW to Enuff’s group, who are NOW singing his praises.

21. @ angela cox January 13, 2022 10:57 AM
    Given that present govt had made a promise to the youth that alternative programs would have been put in place to get the youth off the streets..
    (Unquote).

The present red administration- aided and abetted by your previous equally stupid administration- has a plan to replace those youths about to be taken of the streets and in long-lasting productive well-paying jobs to save the NIS and Treasury from collapse.

Where and how else would those projected 80,000 immigrants survive in a contracting economy with deteriorating social services and lack of affordable housing?

22. The problem is, successive BLP and DLP administrations have not done anything of significance for the youth.

I recall, prior to the 2008 general elections, the DEMS launched their ‘youth manifesto’ in Haynesville…… with a dub concert………. playing the SAME dance hall music they admonish private PSV operators for playing on ZRs and mini buses.

And, with the exception of the Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme (YES), I haven’t seen any positive policy initiatives for the youth coming from the BLP either.

Both political parties seem to be of the misguided belief that giving the youth ‘weed wackers’ and building kiosks for vending, as though they’re only interested in debushing, vending and washing cars……. or hosting village football or cricket tournaments is providing them with some hope for the future.

So far, the only progressive policies I’ve seen were from the NDP.

Perhaps you could ask Mr. Skinner to post them for your perusal.

23. Not going argue on.point which administration did what or did not implement job programs for the youth
    However the present govt did say that getting the youth off the street was of main concern
    I however recalled that one of govt first casualties was one of a social program that was sport defined call the David Thompson Tournament which was axed by present govt
    I do recall that program was put in place one of having a reason to keep the youth off the street and getting involved in gang related crime

24. The opening ceremony of the ‘David Thompson Memorial Constituency Council Football Classic,’ held on Sunday, September 24. 2017, at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex, Paradise Park, St. Michael.
    Since some matches were rescheduled, the ‘finals’ were held on Sunday, December 10, 2017, at the Kensington Oval.

So, we could reasonably conclude the ‘football classic’ was essentially a TWELVE (12) WEEK tournament.

Please EXPLAIN to BU, how a TWELVE (12) WEEK football tournament could “keep the youth off the street and getting involved in gang related crime,” ……… especially when consideration is given to the fact countries all over the world have been grappling with gang related crime for several years……. against the background of introducing progressive policy initiatives for the youth, and having several different law enforcement agencies and sophisticated crime fighting methods?

What will the youth be doing for the REMAINING FORTY (40) WEEKS of the year?

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

From one Observer to another.
    I cannot understand the continued bafflement at the election call.
    Different bloggers have been calling this for some time.
    In the North, with one Federal and multiple Provincial govts which operate under a Bajan type system, an early call is relatively common.
    Maybe the division one cannot see was within the party? We have seen two senators scatter? Possibly there was division on future alternatives.
    On the one hand we criticize when a decision is made without formal public input (Republic et Al), and now when the entire apple cart is put on the line, we complaining again.
    Politicians seek to keep Powah for as long as they can. The PM has given Barbadians the opportunity to vote her ass to the curb.
    So what are we really upset about? That opportunity? Or the change, something different from the past? Or….?
    I’m still at 23-7, wha bout you?

26. @ King David,
    In an earlier submission you claimed I was consuming medication. What did you make of the comments made by Greenidge, a Senior Economic Advisor to the government, who claimed “Barbados was on a track to continued growth.”
    ,…….
    “We fixed the debt, we paid back the arrears, we fixed the reserves. The only thing remaining to be done was to continue the structural reforms that came out of the online survey we did with the public of Barbados ……….”

Perhaps he too was heavily sedated when he made those comments. What say you King David? Please answer Hants cheeky question.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    “ Perhaps you could ask Mr. Skinner to post them for your perusal.”

I maintain that the NDP 1991 manifesto, remains the most progressive manifesto since independence. Our youth program was beyond anything the Dees and Bess have ever presented.
    The amount of money we were going to invest in youth is still more than promised today by the BLPDLP today.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Hants @TLSN
    READ the words again. The speaker, Dr.G is a paid consultant/employee. All he need say, if anything, in future is ‘ he was not aware of x,y, or z’ when he spoke.
    They have NOT taken care of the Debt. It is back to where it was. More importantly, the revised servicing costs are ‘kicking in’. Govt only cares about the cost of servicing the debt.
    They have paid back several arrears, kudos to them. Others they kicked the ‘paying back’ down the road. (Bonds)
    The IMF ‘loans’ in $US took heat off the reserves.
    The KEY is structural reform. He gave a hint to the tactic which will be taken
    ” to continue the structural reforms that came out of the online survey we did with the public of Barbados saying what they wanted in terms of SOEs [state-owned enterprises] and the services delivered,” Dr Greenidge said.
    Get it? This is what some online survey with Barbadians says they want.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“Politicians seek to keep Powah for as long as they can. The PM has given Barbadians the opportunity to vote her ass to the curb.”

i hope THEY SEE the opportunity and TAKE IT….knock that apple cart sideways or take chances that a lot of them will DIE and or be DRIVEN INTO SLAVERY…

let’s just ACCEPT that POWER IS OURS FOR THE TAKING…as the population when you have POWER IN YOUR HANDS FINALLY….you REACT..i like the FEEL OF POWER….how bout you..

30. @ NorthernObserver,
    Boris Johnson, the British Prime Minister,
    is on the verge of being removed from his post. The British media and his own party have had enough of his semantics, propaganda, and his penchant for being economical with the truth.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/jan/13/tory-papers-boris-johnson-liar

With six days remaining, the Barbados media must step up to the plate and stop defending the undefendable. We in Britain are fed up of Boris. Mia and her paid advisors should not be allowed to shelter under the shield of semantics, propaganda and being economical with the truth. The stakes are simply too high.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

TLSN
    Media? The media decide the election?
    Truth? Wha dat?
    You take care of Boris, we have Justin to deal with. At least you had the benefit of seeing him as Mayor, we were flying blind !!!

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, you know well enough it’s just a word game to continually debate less than a week before voting day the merits/demerits of calling the election !

I am intrigued tho by the numbers you offer … in the absence of any on the ground riding by riding analysis your guesstimate is as good as any and THAT final number is the real issue now.

1.It tells us a) how effective MAMs ploy was to further catspraddle opposition forces and b) how effective she was in neutralizing her internal opposition

2.Gives a very good glimpse to her (and us) of the mind space of Bajans re her ‘antics’ .

3.It also gives folks like Payne as an internal oppo and the external oppo voices better clarity on where and how to attack her

So all in all the WHYs of the election have been irrelevant since the die was cast but the juicy results are what we all waiting to bite into!

Should be quite a treat.

33. @NorthernObserverJanuary 13, 2022 2:47 PM

23:7 ???

Such a result would be a clear indication of election rigging by the opposition. As by the DLP’s sister party in the USA, the so-called Democrats. Or as by Mingo in Guyana.

Our Supreme Leader should request international election observers from the Carter Institute, CARICOM, EU and China to monitor the legality of election of opposition members. If I see it correctly, there are definitely parties other than the CP in China. However, they have no relevant voice in the People’s Congress. Why should it be any different here than in China, the model democracy no. 1?

34. This election result should/will prove if the last election result was a mistake or intentional

Politics is a Bitch Lady Dog
    Obama was an Underdog
    Trump was an Underdog and a dog
    Johnson was a dog

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“They know their readers balk at Johnson expecting us to believe he thought a party with booze, crisps and sausage rolls was a work event. ”

now that was really taking things too far….insulting people’s intelligence has the potential to do in any leader..

insult my intelligence and i tend to take it personal.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    Number was out there since October. All about the pendulum swing. Nothing else. An unscientific guesstimate.
    Her style is not conducive to having 28 reports. The cabinet size told you that?
    She will be better with fewer, plus it is also fewer complainers. If the elected reflect their electors, you know we could complain?
    Another story is an 0 for ?? in elective politics, lawyer, could become the second female PM. What is her style and bench strength. Do we care?

37. Artax can u please explain how not having a program of any kind one geared to building the skills and development of the youth is beneficial to the overall development of the youth
    Furthermore you asinine question is nonsensical and out of touch with the realties some of which can be a hindrance to youth
    Your question is so silly it shows your lack of knowledge to child development and why social programs are an asset and a source of knowledge in building a child mind

38. @ TLSN January 13, 2022 3:44 PM
    “Boris Johnson, the British Prime Minister, is on the verge of being removed from his post.”

It appears the B J bullshitter will be a goner this time. He will not be as lucky as Teflon Tony Blair.

Unlike Bajans the British voters don’t tolerate persistent liars and hypocrites to be their primus inter pares.

The Brexit deceit and now the ‘double-standards’ setting example during the Covid pandemic.

Even his own ‘Conservative’ buddies are now ready to stab him right in his lying face.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    Should? A rather indecisive stance from you. Should maybe too late?
    I hear there is private jet, scheduled to land in Bim on Monday. Apart from two pilots, both Barbadian, the only listed cargo is 3 trunks. I am informed $US. All 50’s. And the sender is not RiRi.
    Clearly a farce, as voters like their elected MPs cannot be bought.
    This is why when BT interviews voters, doing something fah we, means, finding us a job. Clark and the lady with a bat for the son, who added, he found me a job 25 yrs ago and I still there. A recent NCC employee as to how Dennis Lowe did sumting fah she, he got her that job.
    So the 50’s are a waste. The people want jobs. Not nasty $US, Grantley’s for life. Guaranteed Basic Income (another foreign invention). After the “guarantee” (loan) fiasco you will have to rename it, but I know you’re a BOSS at that, the BEST.

40. From BT
    “The intention, I believe, was to give the impression that these people would find it impossible to gain employment because of the inability to receive such certificates without blemishes. I want to clear the air on this because this is simply not true. Offences committed as juveniles in Barbados do not carry over into adulthood. I think that it is unfortunate that Ms Armstrong has not clarified that the real issue is one of discrimination on this island towards formerly incarcerated teens or adults after they have paid their dues to society,” she said in a statement.

This makes no sense. Saying two different things in the same sentence. Summary ‘Offences they do as a juvenile does not carry over but society will not forgive or forget’

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

You will have to put too much energy into that to even understand the dynamics, the level of hypocrisy in play is astounding, cause when the so called pedigree dog food people’s children commit heinous crimes, they can just walk into the police station and walk out with their criminal children and nothing happens, no dues paid to the society, no punishment, no record, nothing….stay clear of that one..

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Trying to save your sanity Theo…

43. @ TheOGazerts,

Politicians will be talking shiite and making promises for the net 6 days. Enjoy the comedic interludes and prepare for the winners fetes.

My current favourite Bajans muscians.

44. @NO
    We are probably upset at the callous disregard for the health situation. I am at I am at 24 – 6 for sure. 18-12 absolute best case.

@William SKinner
    Can’t seem to find that manifesto anywhere at all.

45. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved January 13, 2022 4:57 PM
    “They know their readers balk at Johnson expecting us to believe he thought a party with booze, crisps and sausage rolls was a work event.”

Don’t be so hard on poor BoJo. Some people are actually REQUIRED to attend cocktail parties as part of their work, and they get paid overtime for attending, and can be reprimanded if they do not attend, unless there is some valid reason such as “mummy just died” and they better bring in a death certificate to prove it.

46. @ Miller,
    No doubt you would have heard how the Queen’s son, Prince Andrew, can no longer use the term – HRH ( His Royal Highness ) due to his alleged involvement with Epstein.

Could you imagine such a thing happening in Barbados where titles are given freely to some terrible individuals.

47. . @Observing “The news that Covid positive people cannot vote was a shocker.”

Can you explain why this was a shocker?

Covid positive people are not permitted to go to supermarkets, village shops, churches, pharmacies, or to visit their dying mothers, so why are people shocked that thy are not permitted to go to polling stations? Is voting more important than any of these things?

48. @cuhdear
    “Covid positive people are not permitted to go to supermarkets, village shops, churches, pharmacies, or to visit their dying mothers. Is voting more important than any of these things?”

Really not sure if this is a rhetorical question. Seriously.

Just observing

49. Bajans will not forget the party that made them pay to go to the UWI. What interest in youth can this party show now. Already the promise of deficit financing using the Central Bank is making the rounds as being preferable to the IMF. It almost sank the currency in 2018. I do not believe Bajans are so silly as to move away from a confident, decisive, charismatic Prime minister with global standing for a product of the lucky dip. Ease of doing business and diversifying the economy cannot be held hostage by a bunch of verbiage leading to nowhere. I was astounded when this administration made it easier and more fit for purpose to get liquor licences, only to hear one debater proposing that we should return to the provisigns of the 1939 Act. That is the type of insanity that holds the country back. Show where the administration has erred with its policies and do not try to impede progress in this new Republic. I am sure there are some still seeking a way back to the Union Jack.

50. @Observing January 13, 2022 8:18 PM “Really not sure if this is a rhetorical question.”

It is NOT a rhetorical question.

Please explain to us why voting in an election is more important that visiting one’s dying, parent spouse or child.